reviews for: listing #457220vb - Carlsbad, California rental

Carlsbad Beach House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 150 - $ 180 / night
    $ 1,050 - $ 1,260 / week
    $ 2,464 - $ 4,200 / month
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Great stay

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

Great house for our family of 6. We, the parents slept on the living room couch. Enjoyed the common living area outside. The train seemed to be more frequent than we expected but overall was a great place to stay. The house was at the end of a dead end and nice walkable distance to the beach.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Home

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: April 22, 2014

We always enjoy our time at Todd's!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, great landlord

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

Easy walking distance from the center of town but on a quiet street, off the beaten path. One block from the ocean. Todd is a great landlord, helpful, friendly yet non obtrusive. In his description of the property he says a lot about the nearby train but it was never a problem. You don't see it at all and although the trains are steady throughout the day the sound never bothered us. I'm not disabled but saw no impediments to someone who might be. No steps.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

visit

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

We had a great time at this Carlsbad beach house. The beach was only a few blocks away, but only problem was no dogs were allowed at that beach. Luckily for us a great dog beach was only a few miles away. Kitchen was stocked well, loved the ping pong table, and felt like home. The new heater worked great! Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: thanks for the kind words. I haven't lived here in quite a few years, where is the dog park? I thought the closest one was Del Mar.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great bargain

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

Loved the house. Stayed with my husband and 3 kids and it was just the right size. I thought the train noise would be a problem, since I am a light sleeper, but it was not bothersome at all. Nice walk to beach, neighborhood is very nice. The kitchen had all the basics we needed for cooking our own meals. Because we stayed in early October, we had no need for heating or cooling, so I can't speak to that. There were a few issues: the upper bunk did not have enough slats for even an 8-year-old's weight (we went to Home Depot and got two more boards for it); no mattress pads on any of the mattresses (not sanitary); the house needed a thorough cleaning (cobwebs, some grime on walls, carpets and upholstery stained or in need of cleaning, outside laundry room dirty). Todd was very helpful and nice, and asked to be left a list of items that needed tending to. If these issues were remedied I would give it 5 stars for the price. DON'T use the ceiling fan in the second bedroom if you have a child on the top bunk--it is too close to the ladder and will hit them in the face or head. Overall I would definitely recommend and will very likely stay again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Recent stay near legoland

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

We had a terrific time and the Beachhouse was very centrally located in carlsbad California. It so close to legoland we came back every day to Beachhouse to eat lunch. We enjoyed the beach bikes and spent a little time at the beach.Vons grocery store was only about a mile away. Very fun place to stay and the owner is nice and very helpful. Very kid friendly at least my four kids enjoyed it very much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very good rental for the price

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

We started off on the wrong foot when we showed up at the home hours before our check in (my bad). The owner however was very responsive and helpful. We really enjoyed our 4 night stay at the house. It's a very easy walk down to the beach, and the outdoor shower is perfect for when you come back. Love the patio/terrace area, it's a great hangout spot and the fire pit was perfect for the chilly evenings. Only recommendation would be the kitchen could use a few more cooking utensils and and extra skillet, strainer etc. We cooked most our meals in, and that would have been helpful. Overall this has is very worth the rental cost. Perfect for a beachy getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Well appointed, great for multiple families, walking distance to beach

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We rented the whole property (both two bedroom houses, plus the 1-bed surf shack) and it was the perfect house for families with kids, with the central courtyard and fire pit, outdoor tables/ping-pong table etc, basketball hoop out front. Very well-priced for the quality of the property and location. Easy walk to the beach/lagoon. Houses were pretty well appointed, and very functional and clean. Good TV's - most rooms had a TV with cable, internet worked etc. Todd the owner was excellent to deal with and available to field questions, deal with anything that came up and very accommodating. Trains are pretty loud but you do get used to them and really didn't worry us (my kids loved it). Definitely recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice house

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

The house was nice and clean. The bathroom layout for the master bedroom was a little odd, since the master is in the front of the house and the bathroom is at the back. The house totally worked out for what we needed it for, but a few changes to the house would make it a little more comfortable, like adding trashcans and mirrors to the bedrooms. Also, we couldn't find an outlet in the master, so we couldn't charge one of our phones overnight since we used it as an alarm. Overall, we would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love this beach house!!!

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

My family stayed here for the winter, and our only regret is not being able to stay for the summer! The home itself is very cozy...has everything you need for your stay. The backyard is private, and there is plenty of room for kids and pets to play. The surrounding neighborhood is the real selling point, however. Upon arrival to the home, you are greeted with beautiful views of the coastline. The lagoon (which you can walk around) is at the end of the street, and you only have to cross Coast Highway to get to the beach. It's about a mile walk to the Village. The walk is flat, and along the ocean, so very pleasant. The Village is filled with restaurants, shopping etc. Lots to do! You will enjoy your stay here very much. I know we did!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review