reviews for: listing #45732 - Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Condo rental

Casa Mariposita on 28th - Steps from 5th. and Mamitas Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mamitas Beach
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $850 - $1,000 /wk

sort by:

Great little package!

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

Just came back from a one week stay at Casa Mariposita with my brother and our mother - the condo and its location turned out to be a perfect package for us. The condo itself had everything we could have needed, and at a very fair price. We especially liked the pool and the garden, the two balconies and the free long distance calls! The layout of the kitchen needs some getting used to (limited room & lighting) but everything you need is provided. The beach is just a short walk away and offers surprisingly good snorkeling (go in the water just north of the 28 Norte point of entry, there a patch of reef right there); also there are days when there's quite a bit of wave action! Not to mention that the Mexican women on the beach are drop-dead gorgeous! On the downside the beach in that immediate area is definitely crowded. There are other, more remote beaches around - I recommend a beautiful beach on the north end of town, point of entry is around 112 Norte. The condo is surrounded by numerous excellent restaurants / bars and it is also a shopper's paradise. Be aware that some of the neighboring bars do get loud at night. If you wish for a quick change of scenery, Akumal and Puerto Morelos are just a short drive away and will offer some great snorkeling and some open spaces. Word of advice while driving in Playa Del Carmen: watch out for unannounced "topes" (speed bumps)!

Thank you to the owners who were very courteous and helpful with questions I had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Casa Mariposita was a lovely condo, and in a great location. We were literally steps from 5th Avenue and a couple of blocks from the beach. 5th avenue has a wide variety of restaurants and shops, and we enjoyed sitting in the open air cafes and watching the night life.
The owners are kind enough to provide plenty of bottled water for drinking, and there are several options for grocery shopping in the area.
I would certainly recommend the property and the area!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place in Playa!!

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

Thank you so much for renting us your amazing condo! We were very impressed with everything your condo had to offer... it was a lovely suite, comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, a very secure & amazing location. It really was a small slice of paradise and we had an incredible vacation in Playa! We hope to return again the same time next year. Thanks again. It was a pleasure dealing with you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

the intangibles set this property apart

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

The pictures of this condo do represent the way it is. However, the pictures do not give a feeling of how comfy and well laid out it is. This charming property has been maintained to the 10th degree! I still think of what my wife said when we first arrived...." This place is cleaner than new!" It is positively spotless. Casa Mariposita show pride of ownership everywhere.From the marble floors to the upscale bathrooms. The ceilings are tall, allowing one to feel honey, but not closed in. The windows let lots of light in, and space is well utilized. The two balconies are unique in that they have completely different views and vibes. The inner one looks over the pool and garden area, while the bedroom balcony allows you to watch the people parade that is 5th Avenue. It is still removed enough from 5th to be quiet and the second floor gives you even more privacy. To completely escape the outside world you simply go to the inner balcony where there is a Barb B Que and lots of space. This condo is well located in Playa. You can walk anywhere, and anywhere you walk you can find fun and intriguing things. The restaurants are a fasinating blend of cultures that never fail to please. Think Mexican blended with Italian......AND..these culinary delights are an easy walk away. (Its leaving thats hard!).For me to recommend a restaurant just wouldnt be fair to you...its so much fun to just try them all. Activities in the Playa region are plentiful. We are happy sitting on a beach. Ferries to Cozumel are within easy walking distance. There you can sit oceanside at one of Jimmy's Margaritavilles or better yet head to the "wild" side of the island to a place like Coconuts, where you can imbibe and count the many colours of blue that paint the sea on that side.Some people like ruins, some like culture, some like attractions like theme parks. (very near Playa there a few of these.....personal favorite is Xel-Ha near Tulum..swim in a contained area with LOTS of marine life) Casa Mariosita would be a great place to come back to after a day of discovery. The owners are without a doubt the nicest, easiest to deal with that we have ever had the pleasue of dealing with. The lines of communication are always open and responses come VERY fast. If they say something they MEAN it and their word is ALL you need. My wife and I both agreed that we got very lucky in our choice because of the ownership. Would I return??......We have booked 3 more times for this winter.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cute condo close to everything

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

We loved this place! It was so cute--exactly as shown in the photographs. It is small, but very cozy and comfortable. Everything was sparkling clean, and the beds were actually comfortable! The pool is small, but perfect for cooling off. The showers were awesome with plenty of hot water. And did I mention how clean?

There were plenty of cups and plates and everything we needed for cooking (which I know isn't a very exciting comment, but I've stayed in places that aren't well equipped enough to really appreciate that).

Location--this is close to absolutely everything you'll want to do. Just steps from 5th Avenue and all the fun there, and an easy cab ride to things off the main strip (like the restaurants the locals sent us to). We are divers, and the condo was just a few blocks from the dive shop and beach.

What I appreciated most though was how helpful the owner was. He recommended the dive shop to us, which we loved. And he arranged a driver to and from the airport, who was also wonderful. He was super responsive to every question I had, which was especially appreciated when we had a state-side glitch with passports and thought we might have to postpone the trip. His calm and courteous replies to my frantic messages kept me sane during those few days.

This is a great condo and you will enjoy your stay. We plan on staying here every time we visit Playa in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little Piece of Paradise!

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

Mariposta was a terrific place to stay. Very clean and the pictures posted on the VRBO site were very much the excellent appearance of what we found when we arrived. The location was perfect for what we were looking for, close to the beach and 5th Ave. but quiet for sleeping at night. We made use of the two decks whenever we were around the condo, the one off the bedroom was great for people watching and the one off the living room for more relaxing quiet time. The kitchen worked well for making a quick bite to eat when we weren't frequenting all the restaurants provided in the guests reviews. Lyle, the owner was very friendly and quick to respond to every question & need we had before, and during our stay. It is so refreshing to be promised so much and delivered even more than we expected! We will definitely be back! Thanks Lyle & Jan for sharing your little piece of Paradise with us. We will DEFINITELY be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

What a wonderful location! I stayed here last year with 5 friends and it worked out perfect. Such a darling place and 5th Ave is almost right out the front door. The owners are great to work with and would highly recommend. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Mariposita Playa del Carmen

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

This is a late review, but believe me, we will recommend your place ANYTIME!

Thank you Lyle, we had a wonderful time, of course, never ENOUGH time in Playa.
Your condo is adorable, just loved it, your beds are soooo comfortable and your location is perfect! It is located at just a perfect to walk the beach, 5th, enjoyable restaurants, shopping and the OXXO (for another twin pack) ! Slept 5 comfortably, the pool was easy access and your patio was most relaxing.
Will definitely look you up again when we go back and will make recommendations to those who are interested in your place.
Best regards,
Becky

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Christmas Stay 2011

Review submitted: December 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

We would highly recommend staying at this condo. The condo was clean and well maintained, with lovely outdoor spaces to gaze upon from the balcony. Location was great, convenient to the beach and many good restaurants. Plenty of fresh drinking water was supplied and refilled for us. The owners were exceptionally helpful. The local manager was helpful and friendly as well, checking in with us twice during our visit. We would gladly stay here again! Thanks for a great getaway!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 30, 2011

Wonderful condo. Great location. Quiet yet close to all you need in Playa....
Very clean - exactly what we expected! Thanks for a great place to stay....

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Spot

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

Great for two couples to share...25yards to 5th ave and Starbucks and great Dinning...5minutes to the beach...Modern and quiet...we had a great two weeks...thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Casa Mariposita

Review submitted: January 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

My wife and I recently spent our honeymoon at this condo in Playa. The condo was exactly what we expected from the listing. The location was perfect, right at the end of 5th Avenue and a really short walk to the beach. Everything was in walking distance (including the Mega Mart). The condo had everything we needed to enjoy our stay and we are already thinking about planning our next trip.

-Greg

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Honeymoon Heaven

Review submitted: October 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 11, 2010

The condo was awesome. My wife and I stayed there on our honeymoon. All of the places we wanted to go were with in walking distance: the beach, groceries, a ton of great restaurants and bars. The only thing that was not close enough to walk to was Aluje (spelling?) a restaurant/bar built into a cenote or cave. The property mangement was great and courteous, and the neighbors were quiet yet friendly. I'd recommend this to everyone, but I almost want it to stay our little secret getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was perfect!

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

Everything was perfect! We really enjoyed the condo and its perfect location. The condo is really comfortable and nicely decorated :). We left this morning at 4 a.m. and locked the patio doors and main door and left the keys on the table. Playa del Carmen is really the best place for vacations! We fell in love with the beach and eveything around. We will definitely go back to the same place in the near future.

Thanks for all, and congratulations, your place is great .

We will try to contact you for our next vacations

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Chanbahlum

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Chanbahlum. It was all it was advertised to be .... clean, comfortable and a perfect location. A quiet refuge less than half a block off 5th Ave, the heart of Playa del Carmen. Walk out the door turn left, walk a few yards and start your day with a Starbucks coffee before continuing on for two blocks to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your location was ideal for us

Review submitted: February 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

We loved your condo and your location was ideal for us. We could walk to everything we needed. Great restaurants just around the corner! Be back soon..
Roy S. Canada

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will Be Coming Back!

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

We love the location and our family is having a blast! Your place is beautifull and we look forward to additional stays with you in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casa Mariposita - a little slice of heaven

Review submitted: November 23, 2009   Date of arrival: September 30, 2009

We had an excellent stay...the condo is beautiful well & equipped. Walking distance to the beach, restaurants & shopping. The owners of the condo were great to work with! Very reasonable rates!

Check out Veronica's for Massages...great inexpensive massages.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Playa Rental- chanbahlum

Review submitted: June 28, 2009   Date of arrival: April 23, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the condo. It was clean and had plenty of space. The bedrooms are spacious and it has a nice deck. It is in a great location which is close to the beach club and many restaurants.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Outstanding accomodations

Review submitted: June 28, 2009   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

Roomy, clean, comfortable,beautiful inside and out, fantastic location, no-problem parking, great owners, neighbors very friendly. Will definitely stay here next time and the next and the next...

Absolutely no negatives - it rocks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review