reviews for: listing #4574 - Rockport, Massachusetts House rental

Always-Summer! – Walk to Everything! Swim, Shop, Whale-Watch
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $45 - $279 /nt
    $314 - $1,950 /wk
    $1,450 - $7,812 /mth

sort by:

A wonderful stay in Rockport

Review submitted: May 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

Having moved to the North Shore to start a new job, it was no easy task to find an off-season rental that was affordable but also in a great location. Always Summer was that place - ideally situated in scenic Rockport, it is within easy reach of 128, a half mile walk from the commuter rail line into Boston, and a great base for exploring the island of Gloucester.
All required amenities were modern, well maintained and the landlady very attentive to my questions on things. I found the house exactly as described on the website, and would heartily recommend it to anyone looking accommodation in the Gloucester area (or beyond).
Rockport itself is quiet offseason, however Gloucester, Essex and Manchester are all within easy reach for dining out. Also ideal if you are a runner, or a cyclist - 127A provides some great routes.
In short, a great home and a great location.

Owners response: Thanks Kirk! It was a pleasure to have you!! Jane

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Visit from Finland!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

We stayed with our family at 9 Summer St. in October 2011 and enjoyed it very much. Everything was clean and well organized, and all the possible utilities and appliances were provided. Both floors have a bathroom and the one upstairs has a Jacuzzi that was our kids'
favorite! Jane, Joyce and Miranda were very friendly and helpful, and we had no problems whatsoever, although we came from the other side of the globe (northern Scandinavia), and this was our first real touch with the United States. The kitchen is huge with an island in the middle that makes it very convenient for family gatherings.

The location of the house was excellent: the nearest beaches and downtown are within 10 min walking distance. Hence, we managed without a car, although a car is surely recommended to reach the nearest supermarkets in Gloucester (there is no proper grocery store in Rockport). There were brochures and maps with clearly marked directions available in the house. Every weekday I was commuting to Boston with the commuter rail that has a station at 10 min walking distance from the house. This was very convenient as the train was always on time, has a WIFI, and the ocean views are very nice. We also found cheap (~$1) local buses (CATA) that go from Rockport to Gloucester along different routes, e.g., through the Halibut State Park.

Overall, we were extremely happy with our experience at 9 Summer St and would warmly recommend it to anyone, including international visitors, families with children of all ages, and people working in the Boston area! Thank you Jane!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Delightful Winter Rental 2010-2011

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

I was so comfortable and happy at 9 Summer Street that I think back on it as one of my homes.
I stayed at Jane’s cottage for the “winter rental” when I relocated back to New England. I chose it sight unseen other than the website and was thrilled to see it was just as pretty as the pictures.
It was spacious but cozy, modern but charming and … immaculate!
Jane has experience as a landlord and it shows: she is quick to respond to any problems or concerns, but definitely gives you privacy. She has the whole renting process down to a science.
During my stay I enjoyed lovely walks from this ideal location. Both the ocean and quaint shops are only about ten minutes away, yet the neighborhood is quiet and residential. The commuter train into Boston came in very handy.
I would recommend 9 Summer Street as an amazing winter rental and can’t wait to return one day for a summer vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We look forward to returning each year.

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

We visit Rockport because we enjoy its slow quiet pace and village atmosphere and we found this is the perfect home for our visit. The home is very comfortable with all the amenities you could ask for and a spacious Kitchen where the whole family can gather to eat or plan your day. The location is excellent. It is a nice easy walk to either the shops at Bearskin Neck or Front beach depending on if you choose a lazy beach day or shopping day. We have young children and there is also a local playground which we walked to after Dinner so that they could burn off any extra energy they might have in reserve before bed time. The home is very clean, updated, fenced in yard and located on a quiet street. We look forward to returning each year.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Winter 2009

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

I had an absolutely amazing time in Always-Summer, Rockport for the six or so months that I lived there. It was great to do a short-term lease like that since I had never lived in the Boston area before. Just knowing that I could live comfortably for six months while I looked for a long term place to stay for the remainder of my four year coast guard tour here was a huge lift off my shoulders. Jane made it super easy to get everything set up even as I was stationed overseas when I first made contact with her. At one point during my stay I had to leave for a month due to work. Jane looked after the house for me, checked my mail and was nice enough to let me pay certain bills after I got back. Not only is she a great landlord to have, she's a wonderful person. I couldn't be happier with my decision to stay at 9 Summer St.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Everything was perfect

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

I have such nice memories of Rockport. Staying at Always-Summer was perfect because I could walk to all of the important spots around in about ten minutes or less. When I was there, the yard was alive with beautiful flowers. More than once, I spent time sitting in the yard enjoying the quiet breezes in the chaise. Rockport itself is a lovely town with enough natural beauty to satisfy any nature lover. Our landlady was delightful and always available with information that helped us enjoy our stay. The only thing that might have made the stay better was another week at 9 Summer Street.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We will definitely be back!

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

I just want to say that our family’s vacation at your rental home
in Rockport was like a little slice of heaven. We loved the house, the
beach and the town. Not only that but as a proprietor you had such a
delightful combination of professionalism and genuine warm hospitality.
We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great place to stay

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

The stay was very enjoyable. The house was in a great, friendly neighborhood. We got to witness the Rockport Memorial Day Parade, which was quite the event. The port area was easily accessible on foot. There is a good bit of shopping available in the port area for those who like to shop. There are places where one can sit and enjoy the view. The Art Museum was enjoyable. There are many good restaurants and lobsta shacks; Moore 's was a good experience as one could actually see the lobsters coming in from the boat into the kitchen. The house provided easy access for excursions to neighboring towns. The weather was cool most days, which was much appreciated. There was rain, but it was seldom long-lasting and didn't really interfere with anything. Jane had absolutely everything in the house and was as accommodating as could be. There were plenty of towels, plenty of utensils, dishes, etc. in the kitchen. The yard was most enjoyable to spend time relaxing while admiring the beautiful flowers. It's a great place to stay for an extended vacation as well. Many thanks, Jane!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We felt so welcome

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2005

My family of 4 stayed at Always Summer as a winter rental for several months starting in October. Jane, the owner, made us feel so welcome. Her beachy decor is warm, inviting, clean, and very functional. Everything we needed, from the washer and dryer to a large selection of cooking supplies was provided for us to use. And we loved being able to walk to everything Rockport has to offer including Bear Skin Neck, beaches, restaurants, coffee shops, and galleries.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Erin! It was so great having you and your family. Jane

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful and Convenient Get-Away in Rockport!

Review submitted: December 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

Whether you are a couple looking for a romantic get-away or parents seeking a family-friendly vacation spot, “Always Summer” is an ideal place to take a break from life for a week or two. Located in scenic Rockport, MA, “Always Summer” is well situated within the town: It is within easy walking distance to beaches, restaurants, and local shops, yet just far enough from the town center to offer visitors peace and quiet. The large fenced yard is truly private and offers the perfect setting for a quiet morning coffee, a BBQ and Frisbee game with the kids, or a romantic drink by moonlight. The house itself is quaint and very comfortable. The large kitchen is great for cooking, the living room is equipped with a DVD player and cable TV (in case of rain!), and the bedrooms are comfortable and well appointed. Renters also have use of two parking spaces in the driveway—a must-have in Rockport, where parking is difficult to find. The house has all the conveniences of home without any of the hassles! The owner, Jane, is incredibly friendly, informative, and helpful. This vacation home also allows renters to bring pets (with advance notice). “Always Summer” compares well with other vacation homes: it is high-quality, and quite affordable for the many amenities or conveniences that are included. I really can’t say enough about it—we’ve had two excellent vacations there, and will return again many times.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great new england rental

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 29, 2010

My husband and I have rented this home several summers now. It is a great find in a beautiful neighborhood. The location is ideal, the home
itself well kept and I especially love the large eat in kitchen and fenced in backyard. We vacation with our teenage son who appreciates the privacy of the upstairs bedrooms and the ability to walk to just about everything in town. Our little Maltese loves the backyard. I highly recommend this home to anyone who wants to experience a relaxing summer vacation in a
idyllic new england town.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review