reviews for: listing #45777 - Amsterdam, Netherlands Apartment rental

Country & Lake 15 miles from Amsterdam
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Edam
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (EUR) €125 - €225 /nt
    €750 - €1,350 /wk

sort by:

Exceeding expectations....

Review submitted: July 1, 2008   Date of arrival: May 16, 2008

We enjoyed a wonderful and relaxing two weeks in the Country and Lake apartment - and we don't say that lightly since we travel with two small children (twin boys of 2 years old).... The actualy apartment, amentities and surroundings surpassed any expectations we had based on the descriptions on the Internet. The apartment is beautiful, clean, tastfully decorated (including beautiful bouquets of fresh flowers), and the view (typical Dutch) is magnificent. Many of the days we were there, we just stayed "home", with the kids playing in the big garden (including sandbox), and us, adults, enjoying the quiet and the view. Or we hopped over the dyke to play on the beach. Or we rode our bikes along the dyke to the quaint little town Edam. One of the days we went to Amsterdam to visit the zoo (Artis) and this was only a 40-minutes drive.

Saskia and Onny were wonderful hosts and they helped us make the apartment child-friendly (they had two cribs for us available, put up a gate on top of the stairs, and even lent us some toys for the boys!).

We were/are so pleased with our stay at the Country and Lake that we are considering coming back there for next year's vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Danke, danke, danke!

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

Danke, danke, danke! Ein traumhaftes Ambiente in wunderschöner Landschaft!
Vielen Dank für die Gastfreundschaft!
Wir kommen bestimmt wieder!
Gruß

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Positive *****

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 21, 2012

We (2 adults and 1 baby) just returned from a wonderful 4 day, 3 night stay in the large apartment. The apartment was perfect for a romatic, relaxing vacation. The pictures on the website do not do it justice.

The apartment itself is truly luxurious. It is fully appointed with almost anything you could need. The furnishings and deocrations are beautiful and high quality. The owners are warm and welcoming, even adding the extra touch of decorating with fresh flowers throughout the apartment. The master bedroom is fabulous - it is more romantic, relaxing, and comfortable than a 5 star hotel room. The surroundings are goregous and there is plenty to do in the area.

In summary, our stay exceeded all of our expectations. I highly recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation :)

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Dear Saskia and Onnie,

Once again a big thank you for the wonderful time we had at your place.
We stayed with our dog in the small apartment which was large enough for the 3 of us, it is so romantically furnished.
The place is wonderful, Edam is a wonderful small city, we often went by foot or by bike. Also the location is perfect, very close to the wonderful Dijke :)
Onnie and Saskia also helped us with every single wish or question. Perfect vacation and location to be with a dog or to have a romantic stay. The garden and it's view is wonderful.

Thank you and hope to see you again

Fabienne, Jean-Paul and Tequila

Owners response: Dear Fabienne, Jean Paul and Tequila,

Thank you for this wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and Tequila was a very nice and well behaving dog. Even Fred (our cat) was relaxed with him!

Onny and Saskia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful country place accessible to Amsterdam

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

There's always something to watch from the large apartment's living room. The big Holland sky with the ever-changing weather. A large green vista of fields and canals, relaxing to the eyes. Horses pastured nearby, frolicking, gamboling, or just feeding. The industrious farmer who lives next door at his many tasks. Staring out the window at the canals and fields and farm animals feels like being in Holland of 150 years ago.
The apartment is modern and clean. We enjoyed cooking in the kitchen. The TV has an excellent sound system. Upstairs, the bedroom is a peaceful airy room with beautiful views of the lake nearby. It has a high ceiling and a wonderful bathtub. Downstairs, a sauna, hot tub, and outdoor patio where we ate when the weather cooperated. Also a computer/laundry room. The owners are super-nice. They gave us rides from the bus station.They also provided us with working bicycles and locks so we could do our errands in nearby Edam, or take the bus to Amsterdam. Most important, they gave us privacy.
If you want to spend a week in the Amsterdam area, consider this little slice of heaven, and take the bus when you feel the need to be in the city. Otherwise, enjoy Dutch country life or the charming small town of Edam.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The location and quality of your apartment are among the best we have ever rented.

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

We are writing to thank you for your wonderful hospitality during our recent one-week stay at Country & Lake. The location and quality of your apartment are among the best we have ever rented. In the immediate area we so enjoyed walking on the lakeshore, the fields with the sheep and horses, and the quiet. But the location is also within easy reach of Amsterdam, Keukenhof, and other towns.

The apartment is so spacious, with its wonderful views of the lake and the canal. We spent many restful hours simply enjoying those views. And the apartment is so light and airy, with comfortable furniture in the lounge, and the huge dining table in the superbly equipped kitchen. The bedroom, with its ensuite bathroom and balcony overlooking the lake, is truly luxurious.

The fresh flowers in the bedroom and the on the kitchen table when we arrived set the tone for wonderful holiday. Using your bicycles to ride along the dike to Edam for the market and to enjoy local shops and restaurants in such a quaint village was very relaxing and great fun. The use of the computer room, laundry and sauna made for a very comfortable stay. Onny, a special thank you for advice on how to eat smoked eel. The meal we made with that and also with smoked mackerel and fresh vegetables from the local market were delicious.

We anticipate visiting you again in the years to come.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic property

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

My friend from Hawai and I sprend 5 lovely days in this fantastic property this spring.
We simply enjoyed everything. Communication with Saskia is always prompt and friendly.
The daughter picked us up from the bus station in Edam, because we had no car and the house is just a dream.
I travel professionally and be on the road for about 35 weeks a year and this is one of the nicest properties I have ever been.
Thanks so much.
We will absolutely contact you again one day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Picture do not do it justice

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2010

Our family stayed here for a week in June as a home base during our visit to The Netherlands. The owners were very welcoming and accommodating. We enjoyed being away from the city and taking day trips around Holland, both nearby and further away. We were driving so every place we visited was very accessible. The atmosphere both in the house and outdoors was very relaxing. Wonderful view of the ijsselmeer from the 3rd floor and of the beautiful green pastures all around from every room!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We had a wonderful stay at Country and Lake

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2010

We were there in June 2010 and our family of four (two teenagers) loved it and happily would recommend it for individuals, couples or families. The house was extremely well-built and comfortable. Its unique 3-level design reminded me of things one sees in magazine articles. The views of the surroundings were relaxing and beautiful and we enjoyed them at all hours of the day. And the location made it easy to get to everywhere we wanted to. Places like Amsterdam, Edam, Volendam and Hoorn, often on bicycle as the house is located on one of the major bicycling network routes. We also rented the adjacent small apartment which provided extra space for our teenage children who sleep and wake at different hours. There is a sparkling hot tub and dry sauna. And last but not least there was Fred (“Fret”) the cat who made himself available as a companion for those who wished and did not for those who didn’t. (We all did.) The house came with bicycles that were great for pedaling to the adjacent towns (and if you want to do longer rides on bikes more precisely fitted to you there are two good rental shops in Edam). Onny and Saskia are wonderful hosts. We look forward to staying there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Fred is very fond of the guests, probably because they have so much time to stroke him. But as mentioned, Fred is never annoying. If you want to be left alone, he feels that. Thank you for this very nice review!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A terrific place to rent1

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

Our family stayed here for several days in May 2010. This rental was TERRIFIC! Very clean and neat and a great value. It is located in a beautiful setting and is quite comfortable. We enjoyed being away from the busy city and out in the country. Saski and Onny were very hospitable and took good care of us during our visit. We greatly enjoyed using the spa and sauna and slept very well in the comfortable beds. We would certainly not hesitate to stay here again and really enjoyed our visit here. I highly recommend the Country and Lake!

Doug, Renee, Haley (5) and Henry (3)
Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you all! Maybe some more stars...:)?

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 14, 2009   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

In May 2009 we stay for a couple of days at Saskia and Onny's beautiful apartment in Edam was a wonderful way to explore the beautiful Holland countryside. The apartment was deluxe - great views, comfortable beds and a spacious living area. Edam is a lovely town, close to many sights. We’ll come back.Christiane Brauns & Astrid Josten

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for a business trip too!

Review submitted: April 4, 2008   Date of arrival: March 5, 2008

Dear Saskia and Onny,

David and I would like to thank you both once again for your kind hospitality during our recent stay. Both apartments were more than comfortable and the facilities were excellent - it really was a home away from home. As we were staying for work purposes, the quiet and peaceful surroundings were truly appreciated.

If our work brings us to Europe in the future, both David and I have said that we would like to stay with you again - and hopefully next time it would be when the weather is warmer!

Thanks again,
Deb

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Best of the Best

Review submitted: March 24, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

This is a hard act to follow...My first experience in Europe was at the Country and Lake property and it exceeded my every expectation by far. Do not hesitate about staying here, my recommendation is book as many nights as possible. I will be back!
Thankyou Saskia and Onny for all your hospitality.
Marilyn, Matt, Asher and Lyndsey

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: August 20, 2007   Date of arrival: August 20, 2007

Wir haben nur kurze 3 Tage in dem kleinen Apartment verbracht, aber es war sehr erholsam und ruhig. Die Einrichtung ist sehr liebevoll und schön und die Landschaft mit den vielen Pferden, Schafen und Kühen absolut idyllisch. Auch Edam ist ein sehr gemütliches Örtchen, die Restauranttips von Saskia haben uns sehr gut gefallen. Wir werden sehr gerne wieder kommen.Stephanie & Volker aus Trier

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 20, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Wir haben nur kurze 3 Tage in dem kleinen Apartment verbracht, aber es war sehr erholsam und ruhig. Die Einrichtung ist sehr liebevoll und schön und die Landschaft mit den vielen Pferden, Schafen und Kühen absolut idyllisch. Auch Edam ist ein sehr gemütliches Örtchen, die Restauranttips von Saskia haben uns sehr gut gefallen. Wir werden sehr gerne wieder kommen.
Stephanie & Volker aus Trier

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 12, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

We enjoyed a most relaxing 4 day weekend here the first weekend of last December as a Christmas shopping trip to Amsterdam with our 2 young children - and still have great memories of a wonderful stay. Onny & Saskia were in the States but we had a wonderful welcome from one of their friends. It was a perfect base for Amsterdam shopping by car (about 30 mins out) - I recall reflections of the garlanded white lights everywhere over the canals and Edam was a beautiful place to visit / eat out. The 3 storey villa was well heated and insulated - it was 4 degrees celcius outside - we enjoyed both the sauna and the 39 degree celcius hot-tub snuggled down below the sides with the underwater lights on drinking a glass of red wine and watching clouds racing by overhead in December was memorable fun. Everything else was well-appointed too: elegant wood / chrome / white and black tones in open plan kitchen / diner / lounge on 1st floor with a 'good for the soul' top floor enjoying views on all four sides (including the lake) from the open plan main bed / bathroom. So if you were wondering what a December trip would be like here - it's great! Hence - me returning to vrbo site to look for a villa for a trip to the amalfi coast and thinking I should post a thankyou message here.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: May 23, 2007   Date of arrival: May 23, 2007

20-23 April 2007

Dear Onny and Saskia,

We could not let the opportunity pass to tell you again how much we enjoyed our stay in your upstairs apartment outside of Edam. We thoroughly loved the quiet, peaceful and beautiful setting it provides. Our walks along the dike and beach in front of the house, the bike rides in the evening to Warder, and time spent in Edam with its cute canals, tiny bridges and quiet restaurants were the highlights of our trip to Europe. We had no idea how truly wonderful our stay with you would be, and we will never forget our visit! This is a place to discover the romantic in anyone!

Your home is an ideal base from which day trips to Alkmaar, Amsterdam, Keukenhof, and even the northern islands are pleasant. We also sincerely appreciated your advice on things to do nearby. The windmills you told us about on the way to Alkmaar were far better than any others we saw on our whole trip. There we were given a personal tour inside the windmill by the caretaker. He took us all the way to the top where we saw the wooden gears and shafts that actually drive these real, working pieces of history. Even more magnificent were the tulip fields that are so prevalent in the areas around Warder. These working fields were incredibly beautiful, rivaling those of Keukenhof, but in a much more peaceful and natural setting. We felt that we experienced some of the most beautiful gems of Holland right in your backyard.

We stayed in the larger of the two apartments. It has two floors above the ground level, with the kitchen and living room on the second floor, and a very spacious bedroom and bathroom on the top or third floor. We were immediately surprised by the cleanliness of the entire place. We loved the smell of the new, solid wood furniture and floors. It felt as if we were the first guests to ever stay in this apartment! The bed was the most comfortable we have ever experienced, and we were completely content to sleep in each morning. When we did wake up, it was a wonderful surprise to find that we were still in such a beautiful garden setting.

Because it is the tallest structure for hundreds of yards, the views from our bedroom were unimpeded and spectacular in every direction! To the north, the endless horizon over the dike of the Mittlemeer (lake). To the east, endless green fields and pastures. To the south, more beautiful pastures and canals, with cattle, horses and sheep grazing in the distance. To the wes

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 23, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

20-23 April 2007

Dear Onny and Saskia,

We could not let the opportunity pass to tell you again how much we enjoyed our stay in your upstairs apartment outside of Edam. We thoroughly loved the quiet, peaceful and beautiful setting it provides. Our walks along the dike and beach in front of the house, the bike rides in the evening to Warder, and time spent in Edam with its cute canals, tiny bridges and quiet restaurants were the highlights of our trip to Europe. We had no idea how truly wonderful our stay with you would be, and we will never forget our visit! This is a place to discover the romantic in anyone!

Your home is an ideal base from which day trips to Alkmaar, Amsterdam, Keukenhof, and even the northern islands are pleasant. We also sincerely appreciated your advice on things to do nearby. The windmills you told us about on the way to Alkmaar were far better than any others we saw on our whole trip. There we were given a personal tour inside the windmill by the caretaker. He took us all the way to the top where we saw the wooden gears and shafts that actually drive these real, working pieces of history. Even more magnificent were the tulip fields that are so prevalent in the areas around Warder. These working fields were incredibly beautiful, rivaling those of Keukenhof, but in a much more peaceful and natural setting. We felt that we experienced some of the most beautiful gems of Holland right in your backyard.

We stayed in the larger of the two apartments. It has two floors above the ground level, with the kitchen and living room on the second floor, and a very spacious bedroom and bathroom on the top or third floor. We were immediately surprised by the cleanliness of the entire place. We loved the smell of the new, solid wood furniture and floors. It felt as if we were the first guests to ever stay in this apartment! The bed was the most comfortable we have ever experienced, and we were completely content to sleep in each morning. When we did wake up, it was a wonderful surprise to find that we were still in such a beautiful garden setting.

Because it is the tallest structure for hundreds of yards, the views from our bedroom were unimpeded and spectacular in every direction! To the north, the endless horizon over the dike of the Mittlemeer (lake). To the east, endless green fields and pastures. To the south, more beautiful pastures and canals, with cattle, horses and sheep grazing in the distance. To the west, in the distance over next door neighbors barn, the tiny town of Warder. Spectacular! We took pictures from every window!

Please accept our warmest thanks for a wonderful stay in your apartment. This has to be the best place to experience all that is most desirable to see in the Netherlands. Our time with you was the highlight of our trip, and we will definitely return!

Thank you!

Carey and Cindy Noorda
Las Vegas, Nevada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 29, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

We spent a wonderful spring weekend at Onny and Saskias beautiful lakeside/seaside apartment. The setting is really lovely, the apartment fantastic and the owners very friendly. Getting around is really easy here, just get on a bike and cycle to one of the delightful nearby villages, towns or islands. Edam and Volendam are both excellent little towns with great facilities. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to someone else and would definitely like to come again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 28, 2006   Date of arrival: October 28, 2006

Onze 5-daagse kennismaking met Noord-Holland was een reuze meevaller op alle gebied : prachtige streek, lieflijke steden en dorpjes, rustgevende en waterrijke natuur en ... niet te vergeten de hartelijke ontvangst. Saskia en Ollie waren de perfecte gastvrouw en -heer en immer bereid ons nuttige wenken en tips te geven. Het grote appartement bood ons alle mogelijke comfort en vanuit de ruime slaapkamer hadden we een prachtig zicht op het meer en de polders.Beslist een aanrader en vatbaar voor herhaling.Bedankt en tot ziens. Lina & Kris - Lichtervelde - België

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 28, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Onze 5-daagse kennismaking met Noord-Holland was een reuze meevaller op alle gebied : prachtige streek, lieflijke steden en dorpjes, rustgevende en waterrijke natuur en ... niet te vergeten de hartelijke ontvangst.
Saskia en Ollie waren de perfecte gastvrouw en -heer en immer bereid ons nuttige wenken en tips te geven.
Het grote appartement bood ons alle mogelijke comfort en vanuit de ruime slaapkamer hadden we een prachtig zicht op het meer en de polders.
Beslist een aanrader en vatbaar voor herhaling.
Bedankt en tot ziens.
Lina & Kris - Lichtervelde - België

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 5, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

What an amazing time we had over the nine dayswe
spent in Edam. There was some rain but it did not
stop us from biking, shopping, eating great
cheeses and restaurants, sightseeing in Edam and
surrounding areas and of course spending some
time enjoying the nightlife in Amsterdam.

The house is so relaxing with the indoor spa room
sauna and outdoor hottub with the horses and the
cows and the vast fields as far as the eye can see.

Onny and Saskia are the consumate hosts... and we
are pleased to say now also we consider them
friends! Their attention to detail in taking take of
our every need was unparalleled.

Waking up to the outstanding views from the large
apartment bedroom makes an ideal romantic
getaway spot. There are 4 windows - once faces
the lake and the other 3 provide views of farmland
and animals as far as the eye can see.

We were able to travel with 3 people -- one stayed
on the second floor on the pullout couch and she
liked her views and accomodations as much as we
did one flight above!

We would recommend this for a family or even a
smaller group. We plan on returning to visit Onny
and Saskia again since there is so much to do and
see in the surrrounding areas!

See you in Edam!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 29, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

We are a family of four from Scotland, with 2 boys
aged 9 and 12, and we stayed for a week in the
small apartment (as the large apartment was
already booked out). Although we would probably
like to stay in the large apartment next time for
reasons of space, we nontheless spent a very happy
week in the small apartment and feel very attached
to it! Its interior is simply and stylishly furnished,
with a few special touches that make it utterly
memorable. The sun shone all the time, so we ate
on our terrace, lazed in the hot tub, swam in the
lake and cycled to Edam and Volendam. We
borrowed 2 bikes from the house for us adults and
really appreciated riding Dutch bikes for a change.
(We had taken our children's bikes along with us.)
The immediate environs seemed to offer the most
beautiful, unspoilt vistas of countryside we came
across in the Netherlands. From our window we
watched a white pony grazing all day; next door the
farmer trained horses wearing clogs while his wife
conducted daily checks to rescue sheep that had
slipped into the canals/drainage ditches (a funny
sight!) The grass was lush, the breeze was warm
and the skies were huge. Edam was a delight in
itself: quiet, not overrun by tourists, and with the
old town architecturally interesting and complete.
Onnie and Saskia were away travelling during our
visit, but their friends and house-sitters, Joss and
Effert, made us feel most welcome and offered
suggestions about where to visit.
Having arrived somewhat tired and stressed (the
adults), we soon felt cared for and restored. Alas, it
was just very sad to leave,
In conclusion, this is an enchantingly beautiful spot
and, despite their absence, we could appreciate the
grace and creativity of Onnie and Saskia who have
worked with nature to make it so.
We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 27, 2006   Date of arrival: August 27, 2006

We came to Saskia & Onny`s Country&Lake for the first time in August 2005. We picked that place after extensive internet research.

Looking back, we firmly believe we made the best choice we possibly could have made. The large appartement,in which we stayed for four nights, was even more impressive than we had anticipated from the web-photos. Plenty of space for us, our three girls and our small dog and especially the elegant teak-wood floors and stairs and the huge windows all around with the phantastic views were really amazing.

All furniture and equipment in the appartement are top of the line items and altogether really tastefully assembled. Thus a perfect ambience for feeling home away from home (actually we felt even better than home ;o)is created.

Despite bad weather, we still had a wonderful time, with the kids (as well as myself) enjoying our spa sessions on the back-yard terrace even in heavy rain. The girls also loved their huge top floor room in the tower, which made them feel like real princesses. The huge, comfortable King-bed accommodated all three of them.

We did not use the sauna and exercise room, but still the availability of such facilities contributed largely to the impression of total luxury and comfort.

While the comfort of the accommodation and the hospitality of Saskia (Onny was travelling while we stayed there) alone already made us want to come back, all the North Holland region has to offer still comes on top. There are beautiful widely originally restored old villages like near-by Edam, Monnickendam and Broek in Waterland, where you could have nice strolls before and/or after dinner, interesting and vivid cities like Alkmaar and Amsterdam, where you could do all the shopping and plenty of amazing landscape and nature with all the canals, geese, swans and herons, not to mention the millions of cows, sheep and horses and miles of picturesque canals all over the place.

So we returned to Country&Lake in July 2006, this time for a whole week. This time we were blessed with perfect summer weather and thus experienced, that this place is a perfect bathing and swimming location also! The small beach across the quiet street outside the front-door and the dijk, which we often had entirely for ourselves and the water were perfect: warm sweet-water (!) and very shallow. This was the perfect spot for the kids to swim. In total absence of drifts and with a very gentle, soft surge we even dared leaving the kids swim and play

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 27, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

We came to Saskia & Onny`s Country&Lake for the first time in August 2005. We picked that place after extensive internet research.

Looking back, we firmly believe we made the best choice we possibly could have made. The large appartement,in which we stayed for four nights, was even more impressive than we had anticipated from the web-photos. Plenty of space for us, our three girls and our small dog and especially the elegant teak-wood floors and stairs and the huge windows all around with the phantastic views were really amazing.

All furniture and equipment in the appartement are top of the line items and altogether really tastefully assembled. Thus a perfect ambience for feeling home away from home (actually we felt even better than home ;o)is created.

Despite bad weather, we still had a wonderful time, with the kids (as well as myself) enjoying our spa sessions on the back-yard terrace even in heavy rain. The girls also loved their huge top floor room in the tower, which made them feel like real princesses. The huge, comfortable King-bed accommodated all three of them.

We did not use the sauna and exercise room, but still the availability of such facilities contributed largely to the impression of total luxury and comfort.

While the comfort of the accommodation and the hospitality of Saskia (Onny was travelling while we stayed there) alone already made us want to come back, all the North Holland region has to offer still comes on top. There are beautiful widely originally restored old villages like near-by Edam, Monnickendam and Broek in Waterland, where you could have nice strolls before and/or after dinner, interesting and vivid cities like Alkmaar and Amsterdam, where you could do all the shopping and plenty of amazing landscape and nature with all the canals, geese, swans and herons, not to mention the millions of cows, sheep and horses and miles of picturesque canals all over the place.

So we returned to Country&Lake in July 2006, this time for a whole week. This time we were blessed with perfect summer weather and thus experienced, that this place is a perfect bathing and swimming location also! The small beach across the quiet street outside the front-door and the dijk, which we often had entirely for ourselves and the water were perfect: warm sweet-water (!) and very shallow. This was the perfect spot for the kids to swim. In total absence of drifts and with a very gentle, soft surge we even dared leaving the kids swim and play unattended. Just bring your beach-shoes, since it is not a sandy beach, but all small shells.

Our second stay once again was as perfect as it could have been. So we just made our reservation for another week in summer 2007 the day we left.

We are already looking forward to getting back to country&lakes next year.

Thank you, Saskia & Onny, for creating such wonderful place for your guests!

Joerg, Andrea, Marnie, Emi and Carlie with Frieda the dog

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 17, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

We had a wonderful stay at the Country and Lake the first weekend of June. Even though this beautiful place is only a one-hour-drive from our own house in Utrecht, it felt like we were on a real holiday! The place has a personal touch and you can feel the warm welcome of the owners. Fresh flowers all around, cows and horses nextdoor and the bikes in the garage made our stay complete! We recommend this place to everyone: this is where you sense Holland!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 19, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

Our week long stay in the large apartment was
wonderful. When we arrived, fresh flowers and
warm smiles greeted us. The apartment was so
luxurious and lovely that we worried a bit that it
might be too sophisticated for a family with two
active young boys. However, Onny and Saskia
treated our whole family with such warmth that our
worries quickly faded. We definitely would highly
recommend this lovely apartment. Sitting in the
spa watching the snow fall on the canals was an
experience we won't forget--nor Saskia"s help in
finding a remedy for crayons in the dryer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 11, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

Staying at Saskia and Onny's beautiful apartment in Edam was a wonderful way to explore the beautiful Holland countryside. The apartment was deluxe - great views, comfortable beds and a spacious living area. Edam is a lovely town, close to many sights. Thanks for your terrific hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 4, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

We stayed at the wonderful large appartment for a long weekend in April for the occasion of my mother's 60 birthday. The appartment is very well equipped and the views from all sides are impressive. It is so quiet, really a perfect place to get away and relax. It is close to the most important tourist sights in Holland such as the Keukenhof, Volendam, Marken, Edam and the Zaanse Schans. We would definitely recommend this place to anyboday and enjoy holidays in a wonderful environment. We even did not find time to enjoy the wonderful Spa...

Best regards from Belgium

Patricia and Company

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 29, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

Excellent site. I recommend his friends.

Owners response: I can't remember this guest and don't quite understand the comment. Maybe I am wrong and did I miss a name (sorry for that!). Since it is positive and it is not an offensive comment I did aprove.
Saskia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 17, 2005   Date of arrival: September 1, 2005

I'm from warm and sunny India. Along with a friend,
Juergen, from Hamburg, Germany, I had occasion to
stay at Saskia and Onny's villa by the Ijsselmeer
Lake. For nearly a week.
We were on a visit to the IBC in Amsterdam, so it
was a business visit.
Still, staying in a quiet place far away from the
hustle-bustle of an international media event is a
great relief. The villa is not too far from Amsterdam
and the commute is about as much as most city
dwellers do each day.
Eating out at Edam is also pleasurable, far from the
crowded restaurants of Amsterdam. The people in
Holland are very friendly and most speak English
very well.
At the villa itself, there are facilities to cook and
wash. And there's a lovely whirlpool bath out in the
verandah. With ducks swimming by a small stream
and cows grazing nearby. Just like postcard
pictures.
And a sauna and gym for those inclined to use it.
There's a bus connection to Amsterdam, and taxis
are on call. You can even rent a car as there's
sufficient parking at the villa.
Finally for those who suffer from "internet
withdrawal" there's a computer with a high speed
internet connection.
So, even if one is doing business in Amsterdam this
is one great place to stay in.
And Saskia and Onny make it really feel like home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 2, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

We wish we could have stayed longer. Used both apartments, there with our son and his family. A marvelous way for us to introduce them to our roots, even had a small family reunion while there. Great location, lovely surroundings and Saskia is a gracious hostess. We recommend it highly.
The Vander Mooren family,Ray,Florence,Ron, Tammy,Dana.Brent and Tyler

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 10, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

Not only a fantastic place to stay for vacationers,
but for business trips this is 1000% better than dull,
overpriced, impersonal, cold hotel rooms.
A great place to relax, to work (fast internet
connection and close to Amsterdam and Schiphol)
and to enjoy the surroundings.
10 days staying here was a pleasure.
I'll be back soon again.
Robert

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 24, 2005   Date of arrival: May 1, 2005

We stayed with Saskia & Onny during our two week visit in April 2005 and had a very a nice experience. The apartment was clean, spacious and filled with lovely personal touches, (such as the beautiful tulips). We recommend them without hesitation. Many thanks for such a memorable stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 22, 2005   Date of arrival: May 1, 2005

We just stayed at Onny and Saskia's beautiful large apt in May/05. The
apt. is stunning, with amazing views,
lots and lots of windows and very modern decorating. The deck and
hot tub were very nice to watch the
sun set and admire the lovely horses
next door. Our children (age 5 and 9
loved the place, also!
The drive from Amsterdam airport
was easy, at under an hour, always
a concern when you are jet lagged.
The nearby city (5-10 mins.) of Edam
is very beautiful, and has some nice
restaurants, but we found a strong
tendency to spend at least some
evening time at the apartment.
Last, but not least, Onny and Saskia
are warm and hospitable. They were
also a great information resource.
We were in Holland for 9 days, and
this accomodation was the best we
found, and have not hesitation giving
it a very strong recommendation.

John, Alison, Madeline and Meredith Martin

Delta, B.C. CANADA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 9, 2005   Date of arrival: May 1, 2005

A beautiful house, a green garden, sheep along the dike, the chimes of Edam, water all around, the memories of the Zuidersee, Saskia and Onny's hospitality: who could ask for more?

We had a beautiful stay at Country and Lake. We had already come before but time it was with our son (who enjoyed the spa very much !). We spent beautiful days. It was a very relaxing and highly recommendable break from Parisian "stress".

It is good to know such a place and dream of going back, again and again. We hope to do so in the next future.

We shall also recommend it around us.

Thanks to our hosts.

Amicalement

Marie, Anton & Maxime

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 3, 2005   Date of arrival: May 3, 2005

My wife, Jan, and I recently spent 24 wonderful days at the Onny & Saskia’s “Country & Lake” Apartments. The location, just outside of Edam, is a great “home base” for exploring Holland. There are quite a few good restaurants in Edam, and Amsterdam is an easy 20 minute bus ride away. In addition to bus trips into Amsterdam, we used our rental car for many day trips to the tulip fields, windmills, Keukenhof Gardens, Bruges Belgium, the Hague, and many small towns in North Holland. Country & Lake is great for two couples traveling together. Our friends, Lynn and Bob Newman, were there the first two weeks. The two apartments are each completely self-sufficient and allow total privacy, yet are close enough to each other for easy access back and forth between them.The first two weeks we were in the small apartment and the last 10 days, after Lynn and Bob left, we were in the large apartment. The smaller apartment has a cozy and warm feel. The large apartment is open and spacious. Both are great in their own way. It’s really hard to say which we preferred. We loved them both. Each apartment has a private shower, tub, and toilet, with the large apartment having an extra toilet downstairs. It’s hard to find houses or apartments in Holland for rent with two complete private bathrooms, so for us that was a real plus.The common areas are a real bonus. I used the computer with it’s high-speed broadband connection extensively to print out local maps, from Mapquest, of restaurants and places I wanted to go. Jan found the laundry facilities indispensable for a 3 week stay. The hot tub was very nice also. And I can’t say enough about how nice Onny and Saskia are. They really made us feel at home there. They are very gracious and wonderful hosts. I’m just sorry we live a continent away. Leaving (after only 3 weeks) felt like we were leaving old friends. Jan wanted me to be sure and tell you, Saskia, how much we enjoyed the fresh bread you baked for us. It was wonderful. Thanks again.It should be obvious from my comments above that I wholeheartedly recommend Country & Lake to anyone visiting Holland who wants to see the “real” Holland but with the comforts of home. We do hope to return.Lew and Jan LivelyTampa, Florida

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 3, 2005   Date of arrival: May 1, 2005

My wife, Jan, and I recently spent 24 wonderful days at the Onny & Saskia’s “Country & Lake” Apartments. The location, just outside of Edam, is a great “home base” for exploring Holland. There are quite a few good restaurants in Edam, and Amsterdam is an easy 20 minute bus ride away. In addition to bus trips into Amsterdam, we used our rental car for many day trips to the tulip fields, windmills, Keukenhof Gardens, Bruges Belgium, the Hague, and many small towns in North Holland.

Country & Lake is great for two couples traveling together. Our friends, Lynn and Bob Newman, were there the first two weeks. The two apartments are each completely self-sufficient and allow total privacy, yet are close enough to each other for easy access back and forth between them.

The first two weeks we were in the small apartment and the last 10 days, after Lynn and Bob left, we were in the large apartment. The smaller apartment has a cozy and warm feel. The large apartment is open and spacious. Both are great in their own way. It’s really hard to say which we preferred. We loved them both. Each apartment has a private shower, tub, and toilet, with the large apartment having an extra toilet downstairs. It’s hard to find houses or apartments in Holland for rent with two complete private bathrooms, so for us that was a real plus.

The common areas are a real bonus. I used the computer with it’s high-speed broadband connection extensively to print out local maps, from Mapquest, of restaurants and places I wanted to go. Jan found the laundry facilities indispensable for a 3 week stay. The hot tub was very nice also.

And I can’t say enough about how nice Onny and Saskia are. They really made us feel at home there. They are very gracious and wonderful hosts. I’m just sorry we live a continent away. Leaving (after only 3 weeks) felt like we were leaving old friends.

Jan wanted me to be sure and tell you, Saskia, how much we enjoyed the fresh bread you baked for us. It was wonderful. Thanks again.

It should be obvious from my comments above that I wholeheartedly recommend Country & Lake to anyone visiting Holland who wants to see the “real” Holland but with the comforts of home. We do hope to return.

Lew and Jan Lively
Tampa, Florida

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 6, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

Our recent trip to the Netherlands and our stay at the "Country and Lake Apartments" near Edam were nothing short of fabulous. E-mail communication with Saskia prior to our visit was easy and cordial, so that making arrangements for our stay was no problem whatsoever. When we arrived, we were greeted by Saskia and Onny, who were wonderfully warm and gracious hosts. We stayed in the "large apartment", which was really quite extraordinary. It is very tastefully decorated, spacious, and well-appointed. The kitchen is excellent and the view is outstanding in all directions. We greatly enjoyed the grazing sheep on the dike pasture across the street. Watching the neighbors excercise their horses in the evening was an almost mystical experience. Our day trips were much fun - Amsterdam is a very interesting and picturesque city. It is easy to take the bus from the Edam bus station to downtown Amsterdam, and there is so much to see. The Van Gogh Museum was a definite highlight for us. Our children particularly enjoyed Madame Tussauds. We also had a wonderful bike ride in the Amsterdamse Bos park. Over the years, our family has visited Europe several times. The facilities and gracious hospitality of Saskia and Onny rank among the best we've ever experienced. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 18, 2005   Date of arrival: January 1, 2005

We rented the small apartment and have spent a wonderful 1 week at your cottage. Clean and tastefully decorated cottage was very comfortable for the 2 of us and we did spend some nice time in Edam itself. Not to mention having a spa treat in Winter !! Was certainly a nice experience.
We certainly will plan another trip there and would recommend it to my friends.

Niels Hilberink and Wendy Tan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 30, 2004   Date of arrival: August 1, 2004

Dear Saskia and Onny, back home we like to write also in your onlline guestbook how we enjoed those 2 weeks in August in your beautiful house. Everything was at first level. The two apartments very tastefully furnished - the little one as the large modern one - and all the comforts, the fully equipped kitchen, the Artemide lamps (beautiful Italian design, is'nt it?)...the marvellous landscape, the atmosphere you created all around, the white roses you choosed for the gardens, the friendly cats, the white horse and his friend the pidgeon, the never-tired neighbour and his cows...The little bay on the lake was also a very nice surprise. And, last but not least, the four strong bikes allowed us to make a real "Holland full immersion". We would like to suggest to other people coming to your Country and Lake: leave your car home, bike+bus+train you can go everywhere during the day... but be sure you will be looking forward coming back home enjoing the most beautiful sunsets in the polders. Four Italian friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 9, 2004   Date of arrival: August 1, 2004

This is one of the most delightful places that we have stayed in for a holiday. From the front window there is a beautiful view of the lake and from the back window the lush green countryside. The apartment is spacious and beautifully decorated. It is the perfect atmosphere for complete relaxation. The nearby town of Edam is fascinating with its architecture, its cheese market and cafes and very easy to for travailing to Amsterdam.

We had a very warm welcome when we arrived and enjoyed every minute of the stay. The owners were very kind and we were given help and advice whenever needed. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to see the Netherlands at its best.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 2, 2004   Date of arrival: August 1, 2004

We rented both apartments for ourselves and teenage children. We had a most magnificent vacation in this beautiful countryside location.The apartments are very comfortable and clean and having a nice kitchen was a big advantage for a family. The hot tub in the back yard surrounded by fields of cows and horses was just breathtaking as was the lake just across the street.Saskia and Onny were extremely helpful and pleasant hosts. The area of Holland itself is also very special and convenient. We loved the local town of Edam and enjoyed immensely riding our bicycles to the areas of Volendam, Monnikendam, and Marken,etc. It is also convenient to drive up north to the islands from this location and just a 20-25 minute ride to the heart of Amsterdam. I recommend "country and Lake" vacation very very highly and I plan to return with my family. Sincerely, Neal and Jodi Marder

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 9, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

We rented both apartments - one for my wife and I, the other for our two teenagers. We had a wonderful time and found the apartments to be comfortable, functional, and relaxing after a long day playing tourist. Bike rides along the dike road were great fun, and the small museums at Hoorn and Edam are outstanding! The bus to Amsterdam was very simple and quick (all day parking is available near the large church in Edam), with easy access to the train for expeditions to Delft, Haarlem, and Utrecht. Our hosts were gracious and helpful, and we enjoyed the many sheep, cows, and horses all around. We hope to return soon and highly recommend this lovely accomodation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 4, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

We stayed in the small apartment
which was very pretty and
comfortable. The surrounding area
is beautiful and great for a romantic
country break. We had a wonderful
time and hope to visit again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 4, 2004   Date of arrival: May 1, 2004

We are more than pleased with our internet find. The large condo is very well appointed and the hosts assisted us with helpful information. The trip into Amsterdam by bus is easy.

We found the location was great to allow day travel all around North Holland and to the flower fields.

Perhaps, one day, we will be able to return..it is such a long way from home. We will pass on your fabulous spot to other Canadians who are travelling to the Netherlands.

Jim and Linda Harvey

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 30, 2004   Date of arrival: April 1, 2004

Dear Saskia and Onny,

Heaven on Earth best describes our stay at your home, in the large apartment. We could not have expected such wonderful hosts, and such an exquisite residence.

The large apartment was so far beyond our expectations. You have created a "5 Star" home and spa for your guests, that can only be described as luxurious. We were in awe, just trying to absorb all the beauty, as we walked through all three floors. It is very spacious and tastefully furnished, replete with many fine and personal touches.

You have gone out of your way to provide everything a visitor could need and want. The house was filled with fresh flowers, beautiful fine linens, fluffy towels and aromatic items that made us feel we were at a world class resort. The whirlpool and sauna confirmed it!

The landscape, the lake and village of Edam are an ideal location for your visitors. It is quite nice to stay in the country and yet have a quaint town so nearby. It was so easy to take the bus to Amsterdam, just as you said!

You were both such gracious hosts, we thoroughly enjoyed your company and helpful suggestions. We have already recommended your home to many friends, a finer lodging cannot be found anywhere.

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your apartment home. We will certainly come back and stay in the peaceful ambiance you have provided.

Until next time,
Elizabeth and Scott Harding

Owners response: Elizabeth and Scott were the first guests in our new apartment. We couldn't have started better. Thanks, Elizabeth and Scott. We're looking forward to receive you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 29, 2004   Date of arrival: April 29, 2004

Some notes from the owners:
The comments we added ourselves are all about the small apartment that we rented now for a couple of years. These are reviews of a guestbook that we kept ourselves. In August 2003 we have broken down our old garage and build a new one with a two floor apartment on top. We still rent the small apartment as well as this new, larger and luxury apartment.
From April 2004 the new apartment is ready and we will ask the guests to write something in this rentors guestbook.
In that way you will have a reliable second opinion.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 5, 2003   Date of arrival: June 5, 2003

Thank you for your generosity. It’s been a beautiful introduction to the many facets of Holland. The piece, the quiet, the bike rides to Hoorn and Volendam, Marken. I could go on. Making our home here for 2 weeks was wonderful….Thanks for providing us with such a charming home away from home for our two weeks here. Your kindness and generosity is greatly appreciated, especially your itinerary suggestions (& guided tours!) tailored to our interest. We’ve had a great vacation discovering your part of the world & a very beautiful part it is. Whenever I see or hear the word green I’ll think of Edam……John and Bruce TorontoWe came in the sun – we depart in the sun. And in between, in the rain, we fell in love with Edam…Fam Gubitz Connecticut USA4 days, 6 days, 9 days…we felt so well here that we decided to stay. If asked to imagine 'our’ ideal home for holiday, it would be exactly this home. The colours, the smells, the atmosphere, the landscape, the animals, the dyke, the sky "La tout n’est qu’ordre et beauté, luxe, calme et volupté" (Baudelaire). Thank you for giving us ‘a distance’ those beautiful days and nights. We enjoyed biking and canoeing (De Paashaas in Broek in Waterland), walking and visiting the villages …..Marie and Anton Deketelaere We came from a hilly landscape on the borders of Wales to a place where the trees and houses are high points, towering over mounds of earth. We have wind too! Home from home….Rob and Sue Powell, Hereford, England …..it’s so peaceful here that sometimes one didn’t want to leave & tour , as tourists do. We enjoyed our meal at the Fortuna- the stained glass windows in the church are a wonder! We also recommend for those unschooled, as we have been, in the workings of dykes & windmills – to make a short trip to Schermer……Tom & Raye Haug USAWe want to thank you so much for allowing us to stay in this beautiful spot in Holland. We have had so much fun here. The bikes were awesome. The apartment itself is wonderful, we could not imagine anything nicer, from the fresh flowers to the great shower. It certainly has been a wonderful spot for a honeymoon.Pat and Bill Ingram. Ontario, CanadaYou really got a very beautiful apartment. We enjoyed chilling here after shopping and museum touring in Amsterdam. The flowers, the fruits, the animals (especially the cats), the candles….everything was really nice and we felt very comfortable, like home….Gitta, Ray and DanaEverything was simply

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 3, 2003   Date of arrival: June 3, 2003

We have immensely enjoyed your beautiful country. Staying in your apartment was like having a home away from home. Staying here added our enjoyment of Holland. Everything was perfect: the apartment, your friendly cats, the cows, sheep and horses…even the imperfect weather and of course- you!There’s nothing we could think to change about this apartment – it’s lovely and cozy. Thank you again for everything. S. and S and L. Lakhar & Jason D.The 8 days we spent here in Holland were like a paradise to us. You live in a lovely place, almost near everything. Thank you for your kindness and your tips (they were very useful to us!) Fam. Isidoro PortugalOur first time in Holland and we have had a really good time. Lovely countryside, a really nice part of the world. Excellent cycling. We made friends with your cats who paid regular visits. Thank you for the use of your lovely apartment, we have been very comfortable. We are sorry that we now have to return to England.Linda & Jerry Anderson.Lieve mensen aan het Familie Huisink Marriot Suites:Jullie gastvrijheid is uitstekend geweest. Bedankt voor alles. Dit was echt gezellig geweest.De Amerikanen die wat Nederlands konden-Kevin and Melanie DeYager, Sioux Falls, Dakota USAWe really enjoyed staying here. The apartment is cozy and. Beautiful. All the little touches (like the fresh flowers all over the house) made for the perfect honeymoon. Thank you.Janet & James Hare, Beverly, Massachusetts USA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 3, 2003   Date of arrival: June 3, 2003

A lovely start to or stay in the Netherlands. Very comfortable. Thank you. The Mc Kenna family Brisbane AustraliaWhat a wonderful place. We had it all, Great weather, Great people and a Great place to stay. Spent lots of time watching Daily life next door and at the fields. Met some KIND people at Kerkplein 1a in Hoorn. Can’t wait to return. T.n.T New Yersey USAA charming place with a delightful atmosphere…..A wonderful start for our grandson’s introduction to Holland and the Dutch. We most certainly intend to return if you would have us. Jake and Vicky van Beem, West Virginia USAWe’ve had a most enjoyable week. The accommodation is very comfortable, beautiful. We were impressed by the beauty of Edam and the surrounding countryside. We found the views from the dijkes spectacular. The food has been delicious. Most important of all: we found the people that we met very friendly and helpful – the busdriver from Amsterdam even extended his route just for the two if us! The drive across the Afsluitdijk and the day spent in Harlingen were well worth it.Vince and Jenny Edwards, Buckinghamshire, England What a quiet, lovely setting for our last few days in Holland. We are relaxed and refreshed- we hope it lasts! Thank you for being such gracious hosts. We enjoyed using your bicycles for a jaunt to Hoorn and your recommendation of the Fortuna was fabulous. We had an exceptional dining experience. Please let us know when you will presenting a play near Philadelphia. We love the theatre. Warmly, Jan Watson and Marian Read.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 3, 2003   Date of arrival: June 3, 2003

Een heel goed verzorgd en schoon appartement en heerlijke bedden. Heel goed geslapen en lieve poezen! We zochten de drukte en kwamen in de stilte. “Achter af” Heerlijk!!!Nous vous remercions de cet agréable séjours. La region est très jolie !Famille PeterStrasbourgWir wären hier gerne noch einige Tage geblieben… Das kleine Appartement am Deich gefill uns ausgezeichnet.E.u.H. BerkeHet was fijn om telkens na onze uitstapjes weer hier te komen. Ik voelde me hier thuis, lekker rustig en een smaakvol ingericht plekje.Tilly ReitsmaZuidhornHet was een hele fijne vakantie. Vanwege het prachtige weer was het niet mogelijk één van de interessante boeken te lezen.Greetje ReitsmaKeulenWe hebben een fijne week doorgebracht in het uitstekend verzorgde appartement (het enige wat onhandig was: de wel heel kleine sinasappelpers). Een bijzonder gevoel van welkom gaf ons het mooie boeket van hortensia’s en vlier.Philip en Ettie HuizingZu kurz war die Zeit für uns, um diese herrliche Gegend mit den gemütlichen Dörfern und Menschen kennen zu lernen. Die ‘Weltstadt’ Amsterdam hat uns begeistert, eine Atmosphäre wie man Sie kaum irgendwo findet, einfach Super. Das Appartement der Familie Huisink hat uns seher gefallen. Viele Grüße, Familie Deumelhuber aus Markgröningen/BRD Wir haben uns hier 4 schöne Tage gemacht. Das schöne Appartement und die super Terasse haben uns gut gefallen!Fam. Volze Schwerte

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review