reviews for: listing #45784 - Napa, California House rental

Napa Vacation Bungalow: walk to nightlife and wine tasting
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $295 - $495 /nt
    $1,950 - $2,970 /wk
    $7,000 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

Napa Vacation Bungalow

Review submitted: March 31, 2009   Date of arrival: February 27, 2009

We had an incredible time in Napa - and this vacation bungalow had a lot to do with it. The description and photos on the website were very accurate. The home was extremely clean and had every ammenity that you would need. The owners responded to email inquiries promptly; they provided great suggestions on things to do in Napa and surrounding areas. This was a girls getaway - we toured during the day and came home at night to cook dinners, sip wine, listen to music, and relax on the deck or in the jacuzzi. It is within walking distance to town where there are great restaurants and shopping. I would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

Three of us stayed at this property for a special birthday and it was perfect. The feeling is elegrant yet comfortable, and the house has lots of extras. Having the guest house was great for the member of our group who likes a little more privacy. The house is in a quiet corner of town within easy walking distance of historic Napa, biking and hiking trails, and Oxbow Public Market. Our hosts made us feel right at home in every way!

Owners response: Thanks so much for the wonderful review. I agree totally!

It turns out we finally got to stay in our house, our vacation rental in Napa, for the first time in about a year this Thanksgiving. I am happy to report, as a guest now, that this property is awesome! I'm seeing it with fresh eyes and realize what a fantastic job we've done creating a very special, serene, attractive space.

I'm now jealous of our guests!

Happy holidays to everyone out there and be sure to rent early as we're almost half full for next year.

Paul and Bill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

Three of us stayed in this darling bungalow style property for a three-day weekend to celebrate a "zero" birthday. It is elegant but comfortable with lots of extras -- hot tub, patio, big screen tv, wifi, hair dryer and spice rack. We loved the location, which is easy walking distance to town and hiking or biking along the river -- but the neighborhood is quiet. The kitchen and dining room are great for dinner at "home". Our hosts obviously want their guests to be happy and provide lots of good information about the area. And Napa has become quite a food scene -- don't miss Oxbow Public Market!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect location!

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

Dear Paul and Bill:

What a wonderful house! Mad our trip so enjoyable. What part of Napa is not wonderful? Nothing! The food, the wineries... everything was picture perfect.

What a great Napa Valley bungalow! Perfect location and well worth the drive from San Francisco. Your home is well-equiped with all the necessities of home.

Downtown Napa is like a hidden treasure. Wonderful restaurants and friendly people and can't beat your wine!

Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Attention to detail is apparent.

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

Paul and Bill:

We enjoyed our getaway to wine country immensely. You home is very comfortable and your attention to detail is apparent. The patio was our favorite - we enjoyed many delicious glasses of wine while sitting in the comfortable adirondack chairs.

We especially enjoyed the Oxbow Market and everything it had to offer. We would highly recommend the Napa Gourmet walking tour, the wine trolley tour and having Kent from Squire Delivery take you to the most beautiful off the beaten path wineries.

The food was yummy and abundant. Oh, my!

Can't wait to come back!

Thanks,
Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The ability to walk to town each day...

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

The week was very relaxing and the house very well appointed. The ability to walk to town each day allowed for us to see all the quaint homes along the way. The bedrooms were very comfortable and your kitchen set up satisfied our culinary needs. Thanks for much for the spa which we should have used more often.

Thanks again for a wonderful vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house felt like home!

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

We had a great time! The house felt like home and was so comfortable.

Thanks and hope to be back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved exploring Napa by foot.

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

Thank you for allowing us to enjoy all the comforts of home. We loved exploring Napa on foot - felt right at home. Many thank for all the attention to details.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A unique component to our vacation.

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2013

We could not have asked for better accommodations! We thoroughly enjoyed this lovely home and garden. The proximity to tasting rooms, market and restaurants was exactly what we'd hoped for. The kitchen and beautiful landscaping added a unique component to our vacation. What a wonderful time we had together celebrating birthdays and friendship.

Our trip was totally 'off the charts'. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A first-class celebration!

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: September 24, 2013

We had a wonderful time in your beautiful paradise! Love everything from the accommodations to the surrounding wineries, restaurants and shops. A first-class celebration of our 59th birthdays!

Thank you! Amazing trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home away from home in Napa!

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

The accommodations were excellent - not detail left undone. Aside from the wineries and wine train, a trip to Muir Woods is a must! The drive is scary - but well worth it in the end. Thanks Paul and Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

As a professional travel writer...

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

As a professional travel writer, I spend countless days each year flying around the world and inspecting vacation destinations like hotels and boats for reports in magazines. It never ceases to amaze me how many of these places are nothing like their advertisements. So many properties out there are all marketing and no substance.

I was thus both relieved and pleased to see that the Napa Vacation Bungalow was exactly as advertised--cute, safe, comfortable, and a short walk to town. The rental process was handled professionally, the house was fantastic, and my vacation was terrific.

I was in Napa for my 40th birthday with a group of female friends, and everyone absolutely loved the place. We had a great time touring the wineries up in the county by day, walking to gourmet restaurants in town at night, and then enjoying a nightcap in the bungalow's hot tub. Even the people who slept on the pull-out sofas were comfortable. It was an absolutely superb experience, exactly as I had hoped it would be.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Professional and honest. Very refreshing.

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

From the first email I sent to inquire about the property to the last email I rec'd notifying me of my deposit refund Paul was responsive, professional and honest. Very refreshing. The pictures are exactly what the place looks like...everything was in working order, the hot tub was super clean and the women in our group loved it. If you like what you see on the website rent it...because what you see if what you get and the owners are incredibly easy to work with. I give the owners and the "Bungalow" 5 Stars because there wasn't a choice for 6 Stars.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The property was everything described on the web.

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 9, 2013

This property was everything described on the web site. Clean, comfortable, nicely decorated and had everything we needed. There are many great places for food and drink within walking distance. It was also nice to have a grill and fully equipped kitchen to prepare a couple of meals there, relax, hang out and enjoy each others company after a day touring wineries and shopping. And there is nothing like relaxing in the hot tub to top off the day. This was our first experience with a "Home Away rental". I was a bit apprehensive about it but Paul's communication was always prompt, clear and professional and put all of my concerns to rest. This is a great place to stay, home away form home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We could not have been happier!

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 11, 2013

What a joy this trip has been. Downtown Napa is brimming with activities, but more important, the Napa Vacation Bungalow was a stunning surprise. The photos from the website don't do it justice. No detail was overlooked. The owners are obviously very engage and know how to manage and create a wonderful atmosphere. All our interactions with them were incredibly simple and professional.

We HIGHLY recommend you stay at this lovely home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...everything we were looking for.

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

Upon choosing a house my top priority was finding a space that worked well for three couples and for our purposes your house worked beautifully. Each couple was comfortable in their own bedroom/bath space. The layout of the main house bathrooms is especially clever. And of course Mike and I were in supreme comfort in the studio. That plus the wonderful common areas provided everything we were looking for.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We reccommend your sweet bungalow.

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

Paul and Bill:
We had a wonderful week at your beautiful home. It truly felt like a home away from home for all of us. We especially enjoyed all the different areas to relax - we hung out in the Adirondacks and had fun candlelight dinners on the deck. We wish you both the best and will highly recommend your sweet bungalow.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You have a beautiful, adorable home.

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Thank you for our wonderful stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. You have a beautiful adorable home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It's the details!

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

It's the details! We appreciated all the little details which set this vacation rental apart from all the rest. It accommodated our party of 7 adults and 1 todler well and we enjoyed cooking for the crowd in your well equipped kitchen. Thank you for your attention to detail.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a lovely house!

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

What a lovely house. We had a very comfortable and enjoyable time. The house was very welcoming and a great place for families to reconnect. Thank you very much, Paul and Bill.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We've stayed in places all over the world...

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

Outstanding! We've stayed in places all over the world and we must say you're right up there with the best. Everything we needed you thought of. Great hosts, too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place!

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

Great place, very well decorated, beautiful courtyard and proximity to El Centro.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Fabulous!

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Absolutely fabulous! We came from Colorado to meet our friends from Vegas. We enjoyed every minute of our vacation here.

Your bungalow was perfect. Very warm and welcoming and equipped with everything you might need!

The wine country was so much fun. All of the Napa restaurants were delicious, Carpe Diem, ZuZu, Tarlas...

We will be back!!! Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5 stars because there wasn't a choice for 6!

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

From the first email I sent to inquire about the property to the last email I rec'd notifying me of my deposit refund Paul was responsive, professional and honest. Very refreshing. The pictures are exactly what the place looks like...everything was in working order, the hot tub was super clean and the women in our group loved it. If you like what you see on the website rent it...because what you see if what you get and the owners are incredibly easy to work with. I give the owners and the "Bungalow" 5 Stars because there wasn't a choice for 6 Stars.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We couldn't have picked a better place to stay!

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

Paul and Bill:
We can't express how amazing celebrating my big 30 has been! Your place is amazing and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. (Heart) always!

We love Napa!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our perfect place after walks around downtown Napa

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

From the views in the backyard to the summit of Spring Mountain, this escape from the Midwest was unforgettable. Our perfect place after walks around downtown Napa or drives through the valley. Thank you for sharing this beautiful home and the true delight of Napa with our group. Cheers!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The home and yard is filled with positive energy.

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 6, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend when we ran (and won!) the Napa Marathon. Our group ate, drank, played games and laughed the whole weekend. The home + yard is filled with positive energy and we added a little more! Thanks for sharing it with us. We'll carry these memories forever!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our first college reunion couldn't be better!

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

From our first night grill in the backyard to our fantastic meal at Adhoc, this vacation has been fabulous. We love the backyard, the light in the living room - the vaulted ceilings are amazingly designed and the neighborhood cat! Our first college reunion couldn't be better!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely charming!

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

My sisters and I have rented properties before through VRBO and have had great experiences. This one was no different. We came to Napa for the Napa Valley Marathon - and the house was perfect. It sleeps 6-8 (we had 8 for part of the stay), and while it is a bit better suited for 6, we had no problems at all with the extra 2. The location was perfect for the race as well as for getting to local wineries. Paul was kind and helpful during the rental process, as well as when we arrived, making sure everything was as we expected. The bungalow is absolutely charming; the property is beautiful, especially the backyard. We filled the house with great stories, good feelings and lots of laughter. Thanks so much, Paul!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much!!!

As one of the 43 legal vacation rental homes in Napa (Vacation Rental Permit # VR09-0023) we're proud to offer a safe, legal home-away-from-home for our guests.

The 44 licensed vacation rental homes participate in annual safety inspections conducted by the city of Napa Fire Department and abide by a comprehensive set of guidelines developed in collaboration with the city, resulting in a safer, superior lodging experience for guests.

The city and county of Napa works to identify and close illegal vacation rentals. Therefore, if you choose to book a vacation rental in Napa other than ours, please ask for a permit number and, if in doubt, check the permit number with the city of Napa Business Department. This will ensure that your reservation will be honored and available when you arrive.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

Our overall experience was 100% - The property is beautiful, convenient, comfortable and family friendly. We would return to the Napa Vacation Bungalow anytime! We can recommend this property to anyone. Nothing bad to say :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much!!! As one of the 43 legal vacation rental homes in Napa (Vacation Rental Permit # VR09-0023) we're proud to offer a safe, legal home-away-from-home for our guests. The 44 licensed vacation rental homes participate in annual safety inspections conducted by the city of Napa Fire Department and abide by a comprehensive set of guidelines developed in collaboration with the city, resulting in a safer, superior lodging experience for guests. The city and county of Napa works to identify and close illegal vacation rentals. Therefore, if you choose to book a vacation rental in Napa other than ours, please ask for a permit number and, if in doubt, check the permit number with the city of Napa Business Department. This will ensure that your reservation will be honored and available when you arrive.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't wait to come again!

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

Yours is a beautiful home and we spent a very special time in it with life-long friends! We cannot wait to come again. :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5-star meals

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

We chose the Napa Vacation Bungalow as the location of our annual family girls trip. The house is beautiful and allowed us the opportunity to spend so much more time together than staying in a hotel. With two gourmet chefs in the family the well-equipped kitchen came in handy and turned out 5-star meals worthy of a Michelin Start. Best of all was the cozy time spent around the table drinking the wine we purchased on our day trips, laughing and making memories that will last us a lifetime. The Napa Bungalow will forever have a special place in our hearts.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All the new touches.

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

Thank you both for another great trip! The house looks great will all the new touches and we can't wait to come back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A "Special" home.

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

Napa's reputation is very well known. But to truly enjoy all that it has to offer, you need a 'special' home base. If you are reading this, then you have found it! Congrats to Bill and Paul on creating a beautiful home for the wine seeker in all of us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving!

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

Paul and Bill: What a special place! We all truly enjoyed the bungalow. Quaint, comfortable, homey, well furnished and well thought out. Great location, too! Loved the ferry recommendation for a fabulous day in San Francisco.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Place to Celebrate Our Friend's 40th

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 5, 2012

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. Your home is really beautiful. It was the perfect place to celebrate our friend's 40th birthday and enjoy our Ladies' Getaway! I have a feeling we'll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for bringing this amazing family closer!

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

This place was perfect for me and my family. An amazing space so close to downtown where we celebrated many important occasions. The hot tub was amazing, too. Thank you so much for bringing this amazing family closer than ever.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We couldn't have asked for a better place!

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

We could not have asked for a better place for a family holiday! All eight of us, from all over North America, had a fabulous time in the perfect house.
P.S. Don't miss Deerfield, Kaz and Homewood for the best small vineyard experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was our second stay at your house.

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

This was our second stay at your house and I completely forgot how much we love it! Great house, great location and great hosts! See you next year! Thank you Paul and Bill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would definitely recommend this to others!

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

We had a great vacation and we loved this amazing place of yours. We would definitely recommend this to others!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fresh apple pie from the backyard!

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

THanks you for such a wonderful place to stay! We had a fabulous time and especially enjoyed the fresh produce from the back yard! We made an entire apple pie and loved the fresh figs. So wonderful! We'll stay here again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything it promised and more

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

It is obvious that the owners take great pride in their home. The location is superb; a leisurely stroll to downtown. We spent most days hunting down obscure wineries and came back to cook dinner and to relax in the delightful private backyard oasis. Absolutely everything you could need is here at the house! As the hosts, it was wonderful to escape to our private garden suite at the end of the day. We totally enjoyed our experience here and would absolutely return again for our next trip to Napa! The owners were accessible if you had any questions. Thank you again Paul and Bill.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Another happy guest! That makes us happy, too! We work really hard to keep our home updated - tossing out old stuff and adding new! It's always great to find out that guests notice the difference!

Folks love the Garden Studio which allows them to 'get away' from the Main House. It's always a pleasure when traveling to have separate spaces.

Downtown Napa has really changed since we purchased this home and we're thrilled to be part of it. So much fantastic dining, many wine tasting rooms, a farmer's market, nightlife, shopping, live music, opera and theater is a short walk from our house. It's great to park the car at the house and leave it!

Thanks for a wonderful review and say hello to Canada for us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relax, Renew and Entertain

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Great house. After 2 days in San Francisco this house allowed the 5 of us to take a break, unwind and enjoy downtown Napa as well as the surrounding area. Paul and Bill did a great job in tastefully decorating their home. From the time you walk in you can tell it was done with relaxation and entertaining in mind. We had a wonderful time; the beds were comfortable, the back yard relaxing and the kitchen offered everything you need to cook a dinner of just have a quick snack/breakfast. Downtown was easy to walk to or a 2 minute drive.

Owners response: Steve:

We are so amped that you enjoyed the house enough to take time out to post a review. Honestly, we put a huge amount of thought, effort, skill and money into everything - the Main House, the Garden Studio and the outdoor areas. It's really the best of all worlds: Walk to Napa's burgoening downtown nightlife, wine tasting, shopping, live music and both its new and well-established four-star restaurants, then come back home to a wonderful oasis of calm, tranquility and privacy. We do our very best and we're so glad you noticed! We are constantly updating things from the new brick patio to the new paint to the new artwork. Thanks for the wonderful review and please do return again!

Paul and Bill

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The home was TRULY clean!

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

It is always nice to walk into a home that is truly clean, not just a quick clean for the next guest. Plenty of towels, glasses, cookware,etc. Attention to detail, beautifully decorated, comfortable beds, amazing landscaping made this quite a find. The chance to unwind, spend time with family or hide from them in the back yard was wonderful.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest review of the Napa Vacation Bungalow

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Our stay far exceeded our expectations!

Service was first rate!

We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this to others!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great, Relaxing Vacation

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 30, 2012

Stayed here with my husband, sister and brother-in-law and parents. Having the guest cottage was a definite plus as my parents get up much earlier than we do! We all had enough space, location was convenient, it was very homey and clean. Best part for us was being able to come "home" and take turns cooking, eating together outside at table and enjoy a nice bottle of wine or two and relax. We very much enjoyed the ferry to San Francisco and also a balloon flight! Owners are very attentive and easy to reach. We would absolutely love to stay here again!

Owners response: Thanks so much for the review! Yes, folks LOVE the additional Guest Studio which provides 'getaway' space. I love my family, but when I travel with them, I love a little time (and space) away every now and then.

Please do come back again!

Paul and Bill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

40th Birthday in Wine Country

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

I rented the Napa Vacation Bungalow for a 40th birthday celebration. We were all women "of a certain age" taking a week off from the kids and stresses back home. Everyone was thrilled with the house, which made our vacation even more terrific. We got up each morning and went to the vineyards in Napa or Sonoma, then at night walked from the house to the fantastic restaurants in downtown Napa for dinner. Nightcaps were in the bungalow's backyard hot tub, which was private and fabulous as well.

I'm a professional travel writer, and I must add that I was very pleased with how the bungalow was "as advertised." So many times in my work, I find owners hyping their properties and leaving guests disappointed. That was not the case here. Everything was exactly as promised, and it was a delight to stay in this home.

I highly recommend the Napa Vacation Bungalow. I'd stay there again in a minute.

Owners response: Coming from a professional travel writer, I cannot disagree! (Actually, most guests say the photos on the web don't do it justice.) It's so nice to know that all our hard work gets noticed by guests, especially discerning guests who critique for a living. Thanks so much!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful property and great Bungalow

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

For group of 7 with mixed Napa experience, this was a great bungalow. Amazing backyard is great for relaxing and bbq. Walkable (half mile) to downtown Napa. Great house, would recommend.

Owners response: Thank you so much!!! As one of the 43 legal vacation rental homes in Napa (Vacation Rental Permit # VR09-0023) we're proud to offer a safe, legal home-away-from-home for our guests. The 44 licensed vacation rental homes participate in annual safety inspections conducted by the city of Napa Fire Department and abide by a comprehensive set of guidelines developed in collaboration with the city, resulting in a safer, superior lodging experience for guests. The city and county of Napa works to identify and close illegal vacation rentals. Therefore, if you choose to book a vacation rental in Napa other than ours, please ask for a permit number and, if in doubt, check the permit number with the city of Napa Business Department. This will ensure that your reservation will be honored and available when you arrive.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a lovely stay!

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

We had a lovely stay! the house fit our six ladies perfectly and provide a safe, comfortable home away from home during our stay in Napa. We loved having a hot tub for relaxing after a long day. Thank you again!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will definitely return!

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

Thank you for opening up your beautiful Bungalow for us to enjoy the Napa Valley. It was great to have the six of us in one place, to enjoy the evening's conversation about the day in the Valley. We will definitely return when we visit the Valley -

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful, wonderful & wonderful

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

Wonderful, wonderful and wonderful!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your home played a key part in our enjoyment.

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

Thank you for opening your beautiful home to us! Napa was wonderful and your home played a key part in our enjoyment. We ate at some amazing restaurants and had wonderful wine tours. Thank you again! We look forward to visiting your home again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was a memorable experience for all!

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful use of your home. We so enjoyed sharing great food and wine in the beautiful gathering room. It was a memorable experience for all!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very comfortable and stylish!

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

What a beautiful home! Very comfortable and stylish. We did an awesome Segway tour and went to Hopper Creek winery. Lots of wine tasting, touring and hot tubing with girls at night. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Fantastic Home"

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

Thank you so much for opening your fantastic home to us. This was our first time in Napa Valley and the accommodation made our stay very comfortable - just like home! Your home is beautiful and we enjoyed the relaxing surrounding... while enjoying a glass (or two!) of wine of course! Thanks so much. - London, Ontario & Vancouver, British Columbia.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly and home away from home

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

Thank you for a cozy, realizing bungalow. We had and awesome time celebrating our birthdays! (3 of us) Our family & friends enjoyed their time here as well. We especially appreciated the attention to detail making certain we all felt at home. (It truly was a home away from home!) P.S. We enjoyed the "Bungalow Music"!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy New Year!!!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

Lucky for us we found the most beautiful vacation rental property in Napa in which to ring in the new year!!! Our accommodations were impeccable and our stay could not have been more enjoyable. Your greeter's reccomendation to [local restaurant] was much appreciated.

Friends of ours stayed down the street at another vacation rental and declared that next year they will stay in your house, instead

Thank you, Bill and Paul and we'll definitely come again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 26, 2011

Our family from far and wide enjoyed our Thanksgiving here. The cottage is very comfortable and the kitchen and dining room was large and our guests appreciated being together and giving thanks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect.

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2011

Your home is beautiful and the perfect oasis for us to enjoy a long weekend of wine tasting, eating delicious food and spending fun times together. Oh... and the hot but is awesome, too! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A truly amazing place!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

This was our first trip to Napa and we had an amazing time! This bungalow is beautiful, peaceful and made our trip. Thanks for all you put into it - it's truly an amazing place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely peaceful!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

Absolutely peaceful! Just what we were looking for - Fabulous! Great house - had everything we needed! Wonderful!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Time is precious.

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Since we live so far apart, time with my grandson is very precious. Your home and yard made this time even more enjoyable. Thank you so much

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Napa Valley is an awesome place!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

Thank you for the most amazing place to stay during our 1st visit to the wine country as adults. Napa Valley is an awesome place to visit and your bungalow made it truly magical. We will always treasure our memories from here. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house was an oasis!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at your wonderful bungalow. You have truly made this place an 'oasis'. The gardens were relaxing and peaceful. Your attention to detail is quite obvious. Thanks for much for making our holiday stress-free and easy! (Enjoy the wine we left, too!)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great experience!

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our time in the Napa Vacation Bungalow. We were greeted by Dori for a personal tour of the home as well as information about Napa Valley. Dori is a great lady, we formed an instant friendship! Thank you for all your help before and during our stay.
The Bungalow is EXACTLY as the pictures show, and the reviews say – a little bit of paradise right on the edge of Brown Street. If you are looking for an adventure in Wine Country the Napa Vacation Bungalow is the perfect location and a real personal treat to come home to every evening.
Thanks to Paul and Bill for opening your home to us – we enjoyed the beautiful art work, the great landscaping and the convenient location. We will return and want to stay again in this cozy corner of Napa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tammy:

It was our pleasure having you stay at our home. Welcome back anytime!

Paul, Bill and Dori

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review from a young guest (9 yrs old!)

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2011

I love (heart symbol here) this place. To me it's like a mansion! I had a great time with my family. (I'm nine years old) :)

Parent:
We had a wonderful Spring vacation! We will be returning again. Thank you for sharing your home.

Another guest:
This is my first time in California and I have to say this has been the best place I've stayed in. The decor and feel of the place is fabulous. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love the art, peaceful setting and location!

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

Wow! What a great place. We were here for a Napa destination wedding and needed a place for our family to stay. What a treat we found in the Napa Vacation Bungalow! We all have enjoyed everything about our stay here. Even the bride and groom decided to spend one night with us! We love the art, the peaceful setting and the great location for all that was wanted to do during our stay. We will return to this area from Colorado and would WANT to stay here again. Thank you for opening your home to us - we feel like special family members!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love the art, peaceful setting and location!

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

Wow! What a great place. We were here for a Napa destination wedding and needed a place for our family to stay. What a treat we found in the Napa Vacation Bungalow! We all have enjoyed everything about our stay here. Even the bride and groom decided to spend one night with us! We love the art, the peaceful setting and the great location for all that was wanted to do during our stay. We will return to this area from Colorado and would WANT to stay here again. Thank you for opening your home to us - we feel like special family members!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love the art, peaceful setting and location!

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

Wow! What a great place. We were here for a Napa destination wedding and needed a place for our family to stay. What a treat we found in the Napa Vacation Bungalow! We all have enjoyed everything about our stay here. Even the bride and groom decided to spend one night with us! We love the art, the peaceful setting and the great location for all that was wanted to do during our stay. We will return to this area from Colorado and would WANT to stay here again. Thank you for opening your home to us - we feel like special family members!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love the art, peaceful setting and location!

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

Wow! What a great place. We were here for a Napa destination wedding and needed a place for our family to stay. What a treat we found in the Napa Vacation Bungalow! We all have enjoyed everything about our stay here. Even the bride and groom decided to spend one night with us! We love the art, the peaceful setting and the great location for all that was wanted to do during our stay. We will return to this area from Colorado and would WANT to stay here again. Thank you for opening your home to us - we feel like special family members!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love the art, peaceful setting and location!

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

Wow! What a great place. We were here for a Napa destination wedding and needed a place for our family to stay. What a treat we found in the Napa Vacation Bungalow! We all have enjoyed everything about our stay here. Even the bride and groom decided to spend one night with us! We love the art, the peaceful setting and the great location for all that was wanted to do during our stay. We will return to this area from Colorado and would WANT to stay here again. Thank you for opening your home to us - we feel like special family members!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Goddesses' GetAway

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 12, 2011

We (a group of six women friends) recently rented Paul & Bill's home in Napa and had a wonderful time. The home is spotlessly maintained, well-appointed and has a great ambiance. The garden and spa are especially nice. We had the opportunity to meet the owners who came out to fix a small problem and they were both very responsible, caring (and fun!) hosts who made sure our visit was all we had hoped for. Dori is a wealth of information about Napa valley history and spots not to be missed and we really benefited from her suggestions about the area. Overall - we highly recommend the accommodations and hope to visit there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: The pleasure was TRULY ours. Thanks for sharing your margaritas and thanks for being patient as we changed out the broken circuit breaker.

Take care and come back soon.

Paul and Bill

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very Nice

Review submitted: January 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

We enjoyed the stay in this home in Napa 2010. Was just a short walk to downtown. Was very nice place the only downfall that I could point out was that although, the bedroom in the garage was huge,the design was not the best. The bath room was small and the toilet was so tight that your shoulders touch both walls while sitting on the thone! I know you don't spend much time on the throne, but it would be nice to have at least room to move. Sorry, but true. Everything else was top notch!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A big thank-you to Dori!

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We really enjoyed staying here at the Bungalow during our first visit to wine country. A big thank-you to Dori on all her assistance the day we arrived. Her suggestions were great we we all loved Mustards restaurant. Thanks!

Unfortunately, we were unable to leave behind any unopened bottles of wine sine we drank them all!

Thanks!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A well-appointed home.

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

Thank you for sharing your home with us. All of us enjoyed coming back to a cozy next in the evenings. Everything was in fine order and the home well-appointed. Having board games is a great idea. A heated Monopoly game in the evening is always fun. Thanks, also, to Dori. She is an asset to have and very knowledgeable. We certainly will consider a return visit.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for the quick response!

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 28, 2010

Your home is beautiful and well appointed. Thanksgiving dinner was a great success and the gourmet kitchen completely functional with 6 cooks dancing around each other!

Thank you for the quick response to the heater malfunction.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

No exaggeration!

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

Paul and Bill:

We discovered the superlative remarks from fellow guests were no exaggeration. Thank you for allowing our family to experience a Napa Christmas together in a lovely home and beautiful outdoors. You did a most wonderful job with both!

Every bit as appointed as your listing stated - and more! And Dore - a very special 'thank you' to her. She was so good to us - we were late from our expected arrival and she had to rearrange her Christmas Eve plans because of it. We apologize again!

The Christmas rain did not deter our stay due to this cozy, beautiful home. Now, we invite you to stay with us in Istanbul!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Never felt as "at home" as your vacation rental

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

We have never felt as "at home" as we have at a vacation rental home. Thank you for the small things like the tin foil and teabags and the big things like nice linens.

We loved exploring the area and enjoying the fabulous food. Brix was our favorite dining experience among the daily, fabulous meals.

Best wishes for a happy, healthy New Year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ladies Getaway

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

Many, many thanks! We love the house, yard & everything about Napa! Thanks for making everything so special for our ladies getaway weekend. We couldn't have imagined anything more perfect! Big thanks to Dori as well for all her suggestions both before & after our arrival. Have a healthy, happy New Year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Napa house! Highly recommended.

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 18, 2010

This house was perfect for us. Very nice place that actually looks even nicer in person than it does in the pictures. We had a blast and it was exactly what we needed for our trip. Quiet neighborhood, great location, clean, well furnished and a wonderful backyard/garden area.

Thanks for letting us stay at your home and we'll recommend you to all our friends!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Heaven

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

My family of five stayed here over Christmas. We are extremely picky and find fault with almost everything. I can tell you we could not find a single reason to rate our experience other than "excellent".

The property is well taken care of--sparkling clean and neat. There is enough space to give everyone privacy, all amenities are provided, down to diffusers for the hair dryers. Greeter/agent Dori is very helpful with both home orientation and local eating/sightseeing. All furniture is comfortable, as well as the beds. Wonderful use of space. The guest cottage allows a couple extra privacy--all included in the price.

Although we rented in dead winter, the landscaping is beautiful. The gathering room faces it and even rain did not spoil its beauty. The deck, divided into a grilling/eating area and sitting area, would be perfect in other seasons. Ditto the hot tub. Both outdoor and indoor lighting has been well thought out. This rental feels like home--and a well-planned home all of us would like to live in, at that.

It is within the city of Napa, allowing one to walk to downtown or ride a few blocks. We took in a local movie while there and ate at good Napa restaurants. However, sights of both the Napa Valley and Sonoma Valley are not far off, allowing day trips.

Would we return? In a heartbeat. How can one go wrong with quality in both price and accomodation! Thank you Paul, Bill, and Dori.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Pat:

Thank you so very much! It's great for us to know that after sweating all the details, it really does make a difference to our guests!

Getting raves reviews about our garden in winter is really amazing, too! Please come back and see it in the summer!

Happy travels and come again soon!

Paul, Bill and Dori

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. It was great being able to walk downtown from here. We had a wonderful time in Napa and surrounding area. You have a great place!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

Guys, the place is amazing! We came here for a little rest and relaxation and the house far exceeded our expectations. Great dinners, great wines, great cigars and great surroundings made for a wonderful week. You have carved out a little slice of heaven here! Thanks for sharing it with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

Enjoyed our stay in your beautiful home! We loved the house, so well decorated and the back yard is a masterpiece. Very well equipped kitchen mad it easy to fix our own meals. Would love to come back and stay again. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

Once upon a time, there were two sisters from Illinois, who, along with their husbands and mother, traveled to a far away land called Napa. When they arrived, they discovered an enchanted cottage nestled in a peaceful corner of that land. During their stay, they ate great food, tasted fabulous wines and slept peacefully and comfortably in that enchanted cottage. Sadly, after seven days, they had to pack their belongings and return to Illinois, but they carried with them all the wonderful memories created in that enchanted cottage nested in that peaceful corner of that far away land called Napa.

Thank you for allowing us to use the 'enchanted cottage'. Everything was perfect.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

Paul:
We had a wonderful time here at your lovely home. It was better than pictured. The ferry ride to San Francisco was the best and we enjoyed our day in the city. We love Napa!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

This has been a wonderful week! The house was perfect and for all of us. Very comfortable and quiet. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home, gardens and hot tub with us. We love it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

Dear Bill, Paul & Dori:
What a fabulous house! It was the perfect place to stay for our Napa vacation! We loved that we could walk downtown from the house and really enjoyed the patio, grill and hot tub! Thank you for making our college reunion great!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

From the front porch to the hot tub - every detail and need has been taken care of during my 60th birthday celebration with my family. Your lovely abode was a perfect retreat for my first Napa Valley experience. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

What a great place! Wonderful times, great house, LOVED Dori! We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2010

To our hosts:
We have had a blast here in beautiful Napa. The house could not have been any better set up and stocked. No surprises! Especially thank you to Dori for setting things off on the right foot. She was professional and very friendly. We will be back soon. Best wishes.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

This is our second trip to wine country. The first was to the XXXX in Napa and the second was here. Can honestly say we will NEVER stay anywhere else. The website doesn't capture all the little touches - you seriously put so much attention into every detail. We loved every minute and truly enjoyed getting to cook meals together - both inside and outside - and then lounge in all the beauty of the back yard garden oasis. We are counting the days until our next trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

Great food, great wine, great house -- all shared with family was the best way to spend my 30th birthday. Thanks for all the great recommendations - we loved every minute of our stay! We will return again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

Dear Bill, Paul and Dori:
Thank you for providing us such a beautiful place to stay on our vacation! It made our 10th anniversary even more special. We would love to stay longer, so we'll just have to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2010

Thank you for one of the best trips we've had. The house looks like something out of a magazine. The moss garden - wow! Absolutely beautiful. Coming home to your house during our Napa trip, truly made our trip outstanding!!! We will be back!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

Thank you for a wonderful stay. Your home is beautful and was very welcoming after a long day of wine tasting, shopping, dinning, etc. This was our third visit to the valley and we will call you again when we plan to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

Bill, Paul and Dori:
Thanks for opening your home to us on our first (but not last) trip to Napa. The week has been full of incredible experiences and memories. The bungalow is gorgeous and comfy and did not disappoint! We loved the Home Grown Wine Tour - chauffeured tour of small, private, sustainable wineries.We tasted some of the best wines on this tour! Sonoma Valley Bike tour mad this trip a less guilty one...

Thank you again for your hospitality. We hope to return soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

This was our first time in Napa + definitely not our last. The house felt like home and we wish we didn't have to leave so soon. One suggestion for future guests: Enjoy each other's company - it is over too soon. Thanks Dori, Bill and Paul for all your help.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 9, 2010

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful home with others. We appreciate all the hard work and attention to detail and cleanliness that you give. Dori, Bill and Paul are all very warm and pleasant people. We'll tell others about your place. Happy 50th birthday to me!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 13, 2009

We had a wonderful experience and the house was gorgeous! We would definitely recommend this home to our friends and family. Thank you!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review