reviews for: listing #45835 - Silverthorne, Colorado Condo rental

Awesome Spacious Condo, Spectacular Views, Great Clubhouse
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Snowscape
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $290 /nt
    $750 - $1,850 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Condo

Review submitted: July 13, 2009   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

We used the condo as our "base-camp" for our vacation adventures. We had 6 adults and 3 kids and we had plenty of space. Very well equipped with everything we needed - the washer/dryer was a life-saver with the kids (especially after having some very muddy hikes). Very nicely decorated and clean. Sharon was excellent to work with and even called to see how our trip went once we were home. We even saw a moose our last day in the marshy area off the deck - it was so big! We've rented a lot of condos in the past, and this is by far the nicest one we've stayed in.

We had a wonderful vacation - hiked to some beautiful waterfalls & lakes; 4 of us bagged our first 14'er,Quandary Peak (1 more made it to 13,500 feet or so before altitude sickness stopped her); saw a lot of wildlife (moose, elk, fox, ptarmigan, pika, marmots, mountain goats); rented Jeeps and went over the mountains and down a stream; played around in Vail, Keystone & Breckenridge; and had a great time "relaxing" in the mountains.

The beds and couches were comfy to fall into after our hikes and the kitchen was perfect for cooking our meals. The kids had a blast swimming in the club house and we were thankful it was right across the parking lot. Thanks for renting your condo to us - we will be in touch again for our next vacation! Thanks again - we had a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Smiling Moose Condo - Great Ski Get-Away

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

This place was great for a group of adults wanting to get away from family and pets for a few days of skiing and fun. There was plenty of rooms and beds for a fabulous price. There was a well stocked kitchen and we found it more fun and relaxing to stay in the condo and cook than to go out to dinner. It was a wonderful place to stay and we will do so in the future if our plans bring us to Copper, Breckenridge, or the other nearby resorts.

This would also be a great place for family or a couple of families. Adults downstairs, kids in the loft.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

Thank you for such great accomodations. Your place is very nice and we had everything we needed. We love visiting CO. The hiking is gorgeous in the summer. Some of our family members climbed their first 14'er - Mt. Quandry. We hope to do many more and would love to stay here again! We saw a huge moose our last night. It was so cool.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

We had a great time skiing during the day and relaxing at the condo at night. We loved the fireplace! Thank you and see you next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

You've got quite the slice of heaven here, McNeil family and thank you so much for sharing it. This was our 9th girls' weekend away and it was very enjoyable. The massage bed was the BIG HIT and we were practically fighting over it!! Thank you for sharing that as well. Also couldn't help but notice your good taste in art . . . Thomas Mangelson is one of my favorites.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2009

This is the nicest unit we've ever rented. Your decorator did a fine job. You provide everything we need.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2009

This is one of the very best condos we've rented (over 20+ years of renting throughout the west). It's so well stocked and set up for skiers. We also had perfect 8 days of skiing! P.S. Used the massage bed a lot and it worked!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2009

Happy B'Day Dr. King! We've had another wonderful weekend here at the Smiling Moose. Great friends, food and skiing. Thank you for sharing this cozy place with us. It feels like home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 25, 2009

Once again we very much enjoyed our stay in your well-appointed and hospitable condo. The views are spectacular and the proximity to downhill and X-country skiing makes the location ideal. Thanks again for making the condo such an inviting place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2008

We had a great time. Plenty of room for the 10 of us. The condo was very homey and clean! A very enjoyable time with lots of snow for skiing! The grandkids had a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2008

In between much talking and eating we relaxed and fully enjoyed the lovely accomodations! We loved your moose decor and the fresh mtn. air. P.S. We really appreciated the cleanliness too!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2008

Sharon, Your condo is wonderful!! The view from the balcony was the best view in all of Silverthorne. The mountain reminded us of the Paramount Picture logo! We came with two of our adult children and spouses and our two grandchildren. The grandchildren loved the games. What a wonderful, homey place to spend with family. The snow was amazing. I'm impressed with how well maintained the road to this place is. We'd love to come back sometime in the summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2007

Thank you so much for the use of your lovely home. Everything was perfect. Enjoyed the homey touch of your place including the board games. Loved the quiet setting. My family enjoyed the uniqueness of the spiral staircase and my son loved the futon room. Loved the moose too! Thanks again. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2007

Enjoyed our family get together! Well stocked kitchen was a plus. Beautiful view and nice pool.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2007

We had a great time. We enjoyed all the comforts of home. We like to cook and we were impressed with the well stocked kitchen and the gas grill! Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

The mama moose entertained us in the afternoon. What a special, cozy place. I took a bad fall right before we came up here and because of the massage bed, I am so much better.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 18, 2007

We had a wonderful holiday; sun, snow, skiing and so much more. Thank you for the use of your lovely home. What a view--especially with the moose!! Hope very much to return some day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2007

We LOVE the Smiling Moose. Thanks for the care with how well the condo is appointed!! All the best in the New Year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Happy New Year!! Saw 4 moose off of the balcony the first morning! Beautiful weather, great skiing, sweet condo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 28, 2006

Home away from home!! We all had a fantastic holiday here and look forward to returning one day. The condo was so nice we didn't even go out for Christmas dinner. We stayed here and enjoyed it! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2006

We had a peaceful, relaxing time and the massage bed was awesome! Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2006

Thanks for the condo use. Especially liked the massage bed!! Love the moose decor.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2006

The condo is great! You guys thought of everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 19, 2006

Thank you for a lovely stay and get away. We are never disappointed staying here. Love the view and the perfect setting. Skiing was awesome. We'll be back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2005

Thanks for an awesome time! The Smiling Moose exceeded our expectations! Snow conditions were perfect. It was a fun and memorable vacation. Hope to visit again next year. God Bless.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2004

We had the best time staying at The Smiling Moose. I think the stocked kitchen was the best. We made a ton of great food. The skiing was fantastic and the time with friends was even better. Thanks for the Christmas tree. It was a nice touch. Thanks again and we hope to come again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2004

Murray & Sharon - Wow!!! What a great and memorable time for us as a bunch of pastors. The place is awesome and so comfortable! Just perfect for us. The ATVing in Leadville was a blast. To get away from it all, to retreat to the mountains, to have womderful prayer and fellowship times, and to have Starbucks 7.25 miles away--it does not get any better than this on this side of eternity. Thanks so much. We love you guys and thank the Lord for our friendship.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2004

Thanks for all the special touches - binoculars, games, puzzles, information. Our daughter loved the guitar. We'll remember this place . . . would love to return for some more R&R! We skied & shopped.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2004

McNeils, Thanks for offering this place to my small group. The place is awesome and comfortably slept 11 guys! Thanks for giving our small group a great place to stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2003

Murray & Sharon - Thanks for everything. The place looks fabulous. I love the carpet, couches and overall theme you've created. We really enjoyed ourselves on "girls getaway". You guys are great! Thanks a million. God Bless.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 31, 2003

Wow! What a great trip. Everything was ideal - space, view, accomodations, location--could not have asked for more! Thanks for contributing to one of the best family vacations we have experienced so far. We'd love to come back!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2002

We all had a wonderful time. The condo was super--all the comforts of home. Seeing 2 moose in the parking lot was one of the highlights of our trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2002

Thanks so much. This is the best place we have stayed. We loved the hooks and great storage spaces. We left some puzzles for someone else to enjoy. We hope we can come again. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 28, 2001

The condo was great, big and homey with plenty of bathroom space. We had a great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: November 17, 2001

Awesome visit. Like coming home. Loved the views and clubhouse.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: March 31, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

Our stay at the Smiling Moose condo was perfect. With 2 families and 2 little ones, the place absolutely fit our needs. The extra room in the loft was an added bonus for us, and would be perfect for another family or more to share the condo. And Sharon was a perfect hostess in answering all of our questions...though she does still owe us an actual Moose sighting :)

Thanks so much.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: We will have to see what we can do to get the moose to cooperate when we have renters staying. It's amazing how elusive they can be for being so big!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Getaway

Review submitted: July 29, 2008   Date of arrival: July 20, 2008

Two families (four parents and three kids under 8) spent three nights here. The kids loved the pool and the loft room with the TV/VCR. The grownups loved the massage bed, guitar, binoculars. Everyone enjoyed the great views and spaciousness rooms. We had everything we needed to eat in, and we were a short drive from Breckenridge and other fun resort areas. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spacious and Inviting

Review submitted: December 18, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

This property was a perfect match for our needs. The spacious upstairs loft with extra bedroom and bathroom were exactly what we needed for our family. The unit was clean and had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The clubhouse was an added bonus. The property owners were very helpful in answering questions and making us feel welcome.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Dear Bonita,

Thank you so much for your nice review of our condo. It was wonderful working with you and hope you will be able to stay at the Smiling Moose again in the future. Be sure to tell all your friends about us. God bless you and your family.

Fondly,

Sharon

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review