reviews for: listing #45836 - Austin, Texas House rental

Click Here! Big House 1 Minute to Downtown- No car needed!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Central East
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $795 - $2,000 /nt

sort by:

Great place

Review submitted: July 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 26, 2014

House is exactly as depicted in the photos.
Lots to do within walking distance.
Property was clean.
The house manager was very helpful before, during, and on check out.

I would recommend this to anyone with a big party looking to be close to the night life in Austin.

The terms of the lease contract are ridiculous. This owner has obviously been burnt a few times.....but our stay was perfect and I have no complaints.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great location // perfect for SXSW

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 11, 2014

The house is really nice inside and out and in a perfect location for walking to and from 6th street. I'd definitely book it again next year!

Owners response: Thank you so much! We were so happy to accommodate your group during SXSW! We hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for Large Groups

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

We had a great time in Austin. It was easy to get where we wanted to go e.g. Rainey St, 6th St., and Franklin's! The house is beautiful. We slept 17 guys with no problems after blowing up a couple air mattresses that were provided. I would recommend this house if you're planning on having a big weekend in Austin.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review! We hope that we can accommodate you in the future. Thanks for taking such great care of our rental!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing home in the heart of Austin!

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

For my bachelorette party weekend, my girls and I stayed in Lillie's GORGEOUS house and had the most AMAZING time in Austin. We had more than enough room to get ready and hit up downtown! Also, plenty of room to sleep after long nights of fun. This is the place to rent for a group of friends or large family. Quiet neighborhood and minutes from all the festivities that Austin has to offer. We will be coming back next year for another amazing weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay, plenty of room

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

Lillie was a great host for a party of 15 guys on a bachelor party in Austin. Location was perfect. Very close to downtown and we really enjoyed our stay. Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful experience

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

The owners are a true pleasure to deal with and the house was wonderful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable house, great location

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

San Marcos location is very convenient for all Austin has to offer. The house is very comfortable and appointments are top notch. Bathroom access requires everyone to be "good friends", but the beds, towels and furniture are very comfortable. The kitchen is top notch and complete. We definitely recommend this property to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect House for Big Group

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

Lillie was an amazing host and their house was awesome. Perfect location and walking distance to all the hot spots. We were a group of 12 guys in town for NCAA tournament. We went to the games, went golfing, and went to 6th Street each night. Modern house with great patio space. Thanks to Lillie everything was set up and ready to go for an perfect guys weekend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house for a group vacation in Austin!

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

We stayed at Lillie's house this past weekend with a group of friends from college and had a great time! The house is beautiful and they made great use of the space, so we were able to sleep 10 people
comfortably. It was either walking distance or a quick cab ride anywhere we wanted to go. I definitely recommend this house for a big group of friends vacationing in Austin.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful House

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Just stayed here for my Friend's Bachelor Party! Lillie was exceptional in working with booking this house. It is close to downtown and only a block from Franklin BBQ! House has plenty of space and has easy access to everything. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very nice house but not large and absolutely not a 5 BR house as advertised

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

This home is incredibly nice. It is completely remodeled and the location is great. However, it is completely overpriced for what you get. I would call this a 3 BR house that has had every possible space turned into "bedrooms" that have absolutely no separation and have large open space above every door. So noise carries throughout every room. The upstairs bedrooms also have no separation at all and are only broken up by solid glass doors. Again, not a 5 BR house and advertised incorrectly. This is not a large house for a large group.

Owners response: Thank you for the nice compliment about the house been incredibly nice! The house is 2700 square feet and considered pretty big in Texas. Because the house was built in "1910" the openings over the two bedroom doors downstairs are part of the historical architectural design. In the 1900’s these openings served to help circulate the air and allowed the air to flow thru the foyer and create a nice breeze to cool the house. These openings are called transoms. There were no aircondioners back in the day! I can see how staying downtown Austin in a house that has the 1900’s architectural design with 14 foot ceilings, the large rooms and the openness of the house would not be suitable for a family with 3 babies. Lillie and Dennis

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Graduation Celebration

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

This home was perfect for our group. We celebrated our son's graduation from UT. The house is beautiful and comfortable. The location is very close to nice restaurants and UT. We spent a lot of time on the front porch. Thanks Lillie!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent Stay

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

Dennis and I appreciate your review! We both work very hard to exceed every guests expectations. With reviews like yours puts a big smile on our faces kowing
that a clean, comfortable and organized house helped complete your vacation time in our city.
In return thank you and your group for respecting our property, respecting our neighbors and for leaving our home as if no one had been there! :)
Come back to see us anytime! Lillie and Dennis

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent house

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

Great house close to central Austin. We were a group of 9 guys from all over the country who were long-time friends aged 29-31 who stayed here to reunite and experience Austin for the weekend. Yard, front and side porches, interior spectacular for a group of 10; more people than 9-10 could be somewhat crowded here but definitely doable. Home was extremely well-taken care of, clean, comfortable. Back patio was somewhat small but still provided nice venue to sit outside and enjoy fresh air. All needed appliances are available and in good shape. If you want a spectacular house that is in a convenient location, this is it. Don't let its location east of I-35 fool you; we always felt safe in the immediate vicinity of the house and neighborhood but would recommend walking to and from 6th street in a group (approximately 12 minute walk to entertainment district). Overall, fantastic house and we have no regrets. Would definitely consider staying here in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great House, Great Location

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

We travelled to Austin for a bachelor party, and this home was a perfect fit. 14 of us fit comfortably into the home, which is clean, well kept, and has working, much needed air conditioner.

The location is perfect - safe neigborhood, 15 minute walk/$5 cab ride to the heart to 6th street, $20 cab ride to/from the airport, and two blocks from Franklin BBQ, which lived up to the hype.

Lillie was great to work with - she's responsive, helpful if you're not familiar with Austin, and has a very "user friendly" system in place for ther rental.

I'd recommend to a friend, and would definitely use this rental again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home for graduation weekend

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

My family stayed here for daughter's graduation from UT. It was perfect! The location was wonderful. The house was beautiful and had everything we could imagine. The kitchen and dining room were so large that we all could sit together, which was really nice. The kitchen was better equipped than mine at home. The furniture, appliances and decorations were gorgeous! We love sitting out on the patios and cooking out. It was a lovely weekend. Thanks Lillie!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Austin's Best

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

The house was perfect in every way for our group of five couples to enjoy all that Austin had to offer. The furnishings and decor were eclectic, yet elegant, and was comfortable in every way. Each day we took advantage of the proximity to downtown to walk to the 6th Street entertainment area as well as the Warehouse District just to the west of Congress Street. We also enjoyed the close proximity to Franklin BBQ and other eateries just a couple blocks away. The owners were excellent to work with, offering suggestions for activities, and responded immediately to any questions we had. If you're looking for a fantastic place for a large group, this is it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home, great experience, highly recommend this house!

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

Our large family recently came to town for a family wedding & this house was the perfect set up! Incredibly close to the airport, close to 6th St./downtown, UT campus, etc. We rented a car and only tacked on approx 15-20 miles total (to and from the airport). The house was very clean and welcoming. The weather was outstanding so we spent most of our time hanging out on the great porch. The owner was always speedy to reply to my questions. You'll be happy with your stay here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Stay!

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

A group of us (guys in our 30s) went to Austin for a "guys weekend." We were looking for a convenient house to the Austin nightlife and University of Texas football stadium. This house was perfect for a group of 8, although it could handle several more if necessary. The house was conveniently located ... we could walk to the UT football stadium and Austin nightlife, although a couple of places we went were a short cab ride away. The house is in new condition, very clean, has a nice family/living room area with an open concept and a flat screen TV. Everyone in my group was really happy about the house and its location, and I would highly recommend it for any group of 6-10 people who are looking for a getaway in Austin. Further, the landlord was very accommodating and easy to work with.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for large groups

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

This house is great for large groups. You are located within walking distance of downtown and the UT campus. If you are looking to take a large group to Austin this is the place!

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing home

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

The 7 Canadians gals arrived at this wonderful home, it was spacious, clean, well furnished, great kitchen oustanding veranda and back deck. We were welcomed by the owner and told of some wonderful places to check out. We had a catered dinner which the chef came recommended by the owner of the home and it was terrific. If anyone is looking for a home in Austin this is the one. We went on a Segway tour, catered dinner at the home went to the famous 6th street saw the bats, listened to live music, went to Sullivan's for one of the best steaks. This was one of the best girls trip ever and a large part of it was because of this house and all the information Lillie provided to us....go stay at her home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Friends Reunion

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2011

This house was truly amazing! I planned a reunion getaway with friends to meet in Austin and the house made our trip great. Working with Lillie was easy and she was very accommodating to all our needs. The house itself was unbelievable, from the locaiton to the actual accommodations. Restaurants, grocery stores, and best of all, downtown Austin was just blocks away! I would highly recommend staying at this great house. I will definitely use this rental again. Thank you so much for your hospitality!!!!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great spot for a girls' weekend in Austin!

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

We rented this house for 11 girls for a three day weekend. None of us knew Austin well and we had plans for a mix of activities ranging from an Ice Cream Sundae Bar at the house to dancing at the bars on West 6th Street. This house was conveniently located, spacious, well-equipped and perfectly suited to our group. The air conditioning proved to be especially useful.

Lillie was super helpful. She provided suggestions for restaurants and activities to help us beat the heatwave, she called a repairman at 7:30am on a Saturday when the fridge wasn't cooling properly (100F can do that!) and she made us a very creative and useful diagram when we didn't understand how to work the TV remote.

This is a great place to stay with a group. You can walk to the capitol building, Lady Bird Lake, and plenty of restaurants. It's convenient to the airport, South Congress, Barton Springs Pool and the most amazing Wholefoods I have ever seen. Go to Austin and stay there!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Memorial Day Weekend in Austin

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

Great place to stay in Austin. House is spacious, well maintained, and situated within walking distance to downtown. Chose to do this over getting hotel rooms for a 9-person group, and it was definitely the right call. More economical, and much more fun. Thanks Lillie!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly recommended!

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

The house is clean, well appointed and central to all downtown activities. Street and driveway parking was a plus. The owner is very helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Weekend Away

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

This house was amazing. I planned a bachelorette party for my sister in Austin and the whole is experience was fantastic. Lillie was incredably accomodating and shared so much about the area. The house is located blocks away from 6th street, so we did not need a car. Restaurants, grocery stores, and shopping is just blocks away as well. I would highly recommend staying at this lovely home. It was a great place to relax and hang out after exploring Austin. Thank you so much for your hospitality!!!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house for Austin Reunion

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

My grad school friends and I were look for a warm, fun city to get together in for a reunion in March, and we ended up staying at this house. Was a great size to comfortably sleep everybody in our group (we had about 14 people), and was close enough to downtown that you could either take a long walk or short taxi over to 6th st. Kitchen has everything you need to cook a big meal at the house if needed. Living room was a great space for all of us to sit down, share a glass of wine, and catch up. All in all, great house for a reunion weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal place & location

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

Had a group stay here in March 2011 and it was perfect. The home is spacious, beautiful and well-kept, and was in an ideal location for our needs. Lillie was very easy to work with and I would recommend this rental to anyone in need of multiple-bedroom accommodations in Austin.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Chad....and a special thank you to your staff. They were so respectful and
took such care of our property. This is so appreciated. Lillie and Dennis Artale

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thank you!

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

What an amazing weekend in an amazing house! My girlfriends and I wanted a long weekend getaway to celebrate a milestone birthday, run a half marathon, and explore a new city. We were so excited when we arrived at “our house," and felt right at home. The house was huge, had a welcoming décor, a beautiful kitchen, an outside deck where we shared many laughs, and was within walking distance to many places we wanted to visit. Thank you, Lillie, for sharing your house with us … we will always remember this trip!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mary from Minnesota

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

My brothers and sisters stayed at this beautiful residence for 3 nights. We had a fabulous time! This house was so comfortable with beds for all of us. We loved the convenience of being able to walk to all the sites of downtown Austin. We are definitely placing this home on our list to visit again in the future! Thank you Lillie for a memorable week end for us! Mary

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Dream Come True

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

As parents of the bride, we wanted a comfortable place for out of town guests that was located close to the reception.venue. This house was perfect! In fact, the photos give just a glimpse of the luxurious furnishings and fantastic floor plan. Everything about the house exceeded our expectations! It was immaculately clean with a well-supplied kitchen. The owner was a jewel to work with; we highly recommend this property and hope to spend time there again before too long!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Barb,
Thank you so much for being our guest, for all the nice compliments and for taking such great care
of our vacation rental. You are welcomed back anytime! Lillie and Dennis Artale

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular and comfortable; near downtown

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

My husband I stayed in this elegant, beautifully furnished, and comfortable home near downtown Austin. We enjoyed our 4-day stay and I can only say it was very clean, and it had all the amenities which included 6 beds, 3 baths, a washer and dryer and plenty of linens. It is located in a trendy neighborhood and close to local restaurants, the University of Texas and the Austin Convention Center. I highly recommend this big elegant house. We were so relaxed the minute we walked in the door!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for being our guest and for taking such beautiful care of our home. Glad to hear you were able to walk to the convention center, the wine bar and the local restaurants.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

week's stay in January 2010

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

Excellent property, genuinely within 5 mins walk of downtown/bars.
Easy access to rest of city by car, as is close to the I (but not so close as to hear traffic).
Huge living room, with open plan breakfast bar, dining table, good kitchen etc.
Four bedrooms, and there were four single ppl in our party, which was hard to find in the entire area, not just Austin.
Although not all the bedrooms are completely private - the smallest/least had glass doors and all round windows, but wasnt a problem for us. This would have been our only small minus in an otherwise perfect stay.
Even has a deck and BBQ, parking, air con, fans, great sofas, HDTV...

Thanks so much to Lillie and Dennis

Owners response: Thank you for your nice compliments and for choosing our home that is located right in the heart of Austin! Glad you enjoyed your stay after a long trip from London. By the way we upgraded the glass doors for privacy. Your recommendation helped us improve!

Lillie and Dennis

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review