reviews for: listing #45929 - Waikiki, Hawaii Condo rental

NOVEMBER Special****2 Bedroom****Sleeps 8****OCEANVIEW
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kuhio Plaza
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $245 - $245 /nt
    $1,450 - $1,450 /wk

sort by:

Beware!!! not what you see in the pictures

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 18, 2012

We arrived and found the unit needs cleaning really bad! my two year old grand daughter ran around for 5 minutes without shoes on, and her feet were "Black". so I mop the entire condo right away, wish Tina can see the color of the only two wet wipe in the unit, as dark as it can get....I then clean the one and a half (not 2 as advertised) bath,kitchen and living room. there are dust everywhere! all the door locks were loose, had a hard time opening the front door, the lock just spins around. faucets in bath and kitchen are also loose, they can come off any second. like other reviews, there are only 3 rolls of toilet papers for the 5 of us for 7 days, one roll of paper towel, no garbage liner. on the third night, a burned out light bulb tripped the breaker, so there goes the lights and AC in both bedrooms. I called Tina at least 10 times, but she did not answer, her voice mail was full so I cant not leave a message. I found a written local phone number in the only info binder,decided to give it a try, not knowing who will answer, a guy answered and said he is a friend of Tina, after I reported the incident and ask where I can find the breaker to reset, he said he does not know and it was too late for him to come out, but he will come over next morning and check it out, he advised us to open all doors and windows that night, located on the main street of Kuhio, you just can't sleep with the noise from the street. Long story short, it was not a happy vacation......Until today October 25th,2012 one month after we checked out, she has not refund my deposit, she said she forgot to mail it out. Wonder what happened to the cleaning fees she charges? This place needs work, only looks pretty in the picture. Does Vacation Rental ever read any of the reviews?

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Good location, but....

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

The location of the condo is great: close to the beach in the hub of Waikiki, BUT...when we got to the rental we were disappointed in the condition of the sofa sleepers being a little dingy. It got even worse when we pulled them out for our kids to sleep on and one of the sleepers was completely BROKEN! I rented this place because it would accommodate 7 people. We had to prop the sofa sleeper up just so my son could sleep! Next, the bathroom door on the main bedroom door is a pocket door, but the track gliders are broken. We had to lift and move the door. It really pissed me off because something like that only costs $10 to fix. Is that asking too much?! Once I got into the bathroom and lifted the toilet lid, the ENTIRE toilet seat fell off! It only costs $20.00 to replace a toilet seat! There were only 3 rolls of toilet tissue for 7 people for 3 days. Tina never sent any more over so we used the kleenex. There was NO DISH SOAP, there were NO GARBAGE CAN LINERS. There were NO DISH TOWELS. Tina never called me back about the repairs, but she had her repairman call us to set up a time to come and fix all the broken issues. I told him I was on vacation and had no intention of spending it in the condo waiting for a repair man to fix things that should have already been repaired. Tina owes me refund.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Bedbugs

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

A few issues we noticed initially: no kitchen towels, only 1 beach towel, only 1 blanket, and the main bathroom rug was extremely dirty. Tina wasn't apologetic but did respond that evening with all of these items, except a new rug. (She told me to throw out the rug.) We appreciated her quick response, but thought it odd to have those items missing and the rug not washed in the 4 hrs housekeepers had been there.

There were no garbage bags (although we had to take out our own trash), no paper towels, and little toilet paper. We didn't complain, just resolved these issues ourselves. The tile floors were also filthy, and the television was taking up space on the bar (not mounted to the wall as pictured).

After 4 nights, to our great horror, WE FOUND BEDBUGS IN BOTH BEDROOMS! The bed I slept in was quite OBVIOUSLY infested. If we'd just taken time to check ON ARRIVAL, we'd have seen that it looked just like the photos you see on-line. Tina didn't seem shocked but asked what she should do about it. I told her what I had learned on-line before calling her: wash & dry ALL bedding at high temps; vacuum ALL beds, floors, and floorboards; spray beds and floorboards; and treat with heat (which I understood she wouldn't be able to do); and cover mattress & boxsprings with bedbug-resistant covers. (BOTH had covers on when we arrived, which we'd never seen before=>Should have been our first clue, but we had no previous experience with bedbugs.) Later that day we found beds unmade. Tina asked if WE could finish washing the bedding and remake all the beds. She hadn't vacuumed the hide-a-beds; said they wouldn't have been affected. The plastic mattress covers on the fold-outs were shredded...how would they be immune to bugs?

Our initial response was to leave, but we all felt our belongings had probably already been contaminated by this time, and we didn't want to be responsible for spreading bedbugs to another building. We bagged our luggage on arrival home prior to loading them in the car. 10 days later I found baby bedbugs in my belongings, confirming our worst fears. Fortunately we had taken precautions to prevent contaminating our homes.

Tina has not compensated us in any way and does not intend to. The state of HI doesn't inspect privately owned properties. If we'd been in a hotel, they would have inspected immediately.

ALWAYS check for signs of bedbugs! This put a huge damper on our vacation and we are all now hesitant to travel.

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Amazing Location

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

The property location was amazing. Only one block away from the main strip of Waikiki. For your convenience there are two ABC stores only half a block away and a Food Land just 2 blocks away. The city bus stops almost right in front of the property heading east or west. Conveniently located near shops (International Market) If your trying to place this condo near a major hotel, it is located almost directly behind the Grand Hyatt. Which is perfect because most Tour buses for other activities throught the island pick up at the Hyatt. The Condo itself was clean and very spacious. More than enough utensils to cook and plenty of supplies such as dishwashing liquid, extra blankets, pillows etc... The owner was extremley responsive to all my needs and inquires and was extremley accomodating when we needed to stay and extra day. I would highly recommend this condo. It is not one of the newer condos but it will meet all of your needs. Great for families. I went with my 3 children and felt safe at all times. It was a pleasure to stay at this location and we will definatley rent again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice Condo

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

This Condo worked well for us..It was much cheaper than the Hyatt and came with a parking space..With 6 people the kitchen saved us by far the most just with being able to make coffee and breakfast in the morning. Everything was there that we needed but we bought beach towels for everybody when we arrived to take home as gifts..My grandaughter found all the beach goodies in the storage on the patio that we needed..The cable tv is there and worked for those who like to catch up....We wish we had done this when we were there in 2009..

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Disappointing

Review submitted: April 28, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

Firstly the location and view were good.
There wasn't enough linen to make up the sofa beds, there was only 1 beach towel and no tea towel for drying dishes.
The sofa's are not those in the photo's.
The cleanliness of the condo was bad the carpet and the bath mat very dirty, we had black feet from walking around on the tiles.
There was only 1 set of keys which was hard, with a key needed to enter the building and use the lift.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What a great location!!

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 15, 2011

Thank you for such a wonderful stay. The condo was perfect and in such a great location. My husband, being a chef, loved the fully equipped kitchen & I loved cocktails on the balcony while watching the world go by. We really appreciated the use of your beach equipment which we made use of each day - the beach umbrella the most practical for us! Thanks again for a memorable stay. We will be back soon!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review