reviews for: listing #459636vb - Ojochal, Costa Rica rental

It Doesn't Get Any Better..Sunsets, Ocean Views..Paradise Found!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 1,499 - $ 2,000 / week
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Exotic & Luxurious Destination!

Review submitted: March 1, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

We just returned from 10 days in Costa Rica and 8 days at this fabulous home. Having used VRBO before and occasionally finding that descriptions and pictures don't quite match the actual property, this property is exactly as portrayed, and is perhaps even understated. The home has every amenity needed to unwind and enjoy the sun, views, and exotic wildlife surrounding the property. It is a 5-star property yet not so opulent that you can't feel comfortable and make it your home during your stay.

If you aren't an early riser, you'll want to change that. The jungle begins to "wake up" at first light, which was 5:30 am during our stay. The howler monkeys start first, followed by the many exotic birds on and around the property, and within a half hour you have a full jungle symphony orchestra surrounding you as the sun comes up over the mountain tops. Truly spectacular!

Heather is extremely accommodating and helpful with connections for adventure tours, beaches, restaurants, and anything else you want to know about the area. There are many world class beaches within a half hour of the house, but we found the closest one, Playa Ventanas (10 minutes from front door to the beach) to be our favorite. It is long, deep, offers some shade, and was nearly deserted.

I have some suggestions to make your vacation a perfect experience. You'll need a rental car to access the property, and a 4x4 is mandatory in Costa Rica for everywhere off the main roads. If you're not comfortable driving a stick, confirm with your rental agency that they will have an automatic for you. We rented through Vamos (I highly recommend them) and thought this detail was arranged, but when we picked our Rav4 up they didn't have any automatics available. I'm comfortable with a stick, but was the only one in our party of 4 who could drive the car. Second, heed the advice on sunscreen. At only 9 degrees north of the equator, the sun is direct, close, and you can get a bad burn in only a half hour without protection. We brought SPF 30/50/70/85, and by day 2 were only using 50 and up and still got fantastic tans. Third, Ojochal is home to several world class restaurants. If you want to dine at many of them you will need reservations - make them before leaving home. We saw many hopeful diners leave disappointed because there weren't tables. Lastly, add on the GPS for your rental car. Maps are useless in Costa Rica except for very basic navigation, and the GPS was flawless.

Pura Vida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Dream Vacation!!!

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

What a perfect house and location for our family (my husband and I and our 4 young adult children)! We woke up to fabulous monkeys every morning, a beautiful sunrise and toucans in the trees. The house surpassed our expectations and was just gorgeous...we didn't want to leave. The bathrooms were huge as well as the closets and the kitchen had all the necessities. The drive up to the house was an adventure...and a 4x4 is a must...but the view was worth it. The location is perfect - groceries close by and beautiful beaches a short drive away. Both Heather and Ben were a great help with suggestions regarding activities in the area and Ben went above and beyond...we loved his recommendations for zip lining and horseback riding places...can't thank him enough!! The internet was intermittent which we managed to work through. Can't wait to plan our next Cosata Rican vacation!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Your own bit of Jungle Paradise!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

As Heather guided us into our Jungle garden we just knew it would be good. She led us in by the swimming pool that straight away had our grandson, giving it a thumbs up. Heather showed us all around the commodious rooms and left us to fight over the bedrooms. That was easy, as they are all en-suite and large. The first floor balcony was a great view point for the jungle scenery and of course the bar!
Flora and fauna abound all around and take your breathe away. Monkeys, toucans of different species, vultures, frogs, humming birds, ibis, giant crickets, .......make sure you take wildlife book!
It was struggle to motivate everyone to go to the beach when it was so good at Ojochal,
The house itself is easily managed with lots of equipment, even a machete to collect your own coconuts and fruits. Night exploring with red torches was very interesting, even when we met our pool blowup crocodile that someone had left for us on the river trail. We can still hear the laughter!
A real chill out place with lots of things to see and do. We loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolute Paradise

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

My husband and I spent 12 days here. The villa description and pictures don't do it justice. The grounds around the villa are beautiful and the wildlife is amazing....toucans, parrots, monkeys, and a coati. Spent a lot of time just lounging by the pool listening to all the wildlife around us. The villia is located 3K up a hill off the main highway, so 4WD is a must. The best places to eat are Exotica, Citrus, and Ylang Ylang and you'll need reservations. Heather and Ben - thank you for everything; we had a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rain forest paradise!!

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

I was able to spend a week with my family in this lovely home. The home is extraordinary! The appliances are top notch. I was fortunate to have the upper suite with my husband. The bed was very comfortable. It was great that there were enough bathrooms to accommodate a family of seven. The view is gorgeous. Our first day we saw toucans. The second day while we were in the private pool we saw a sloth! You will definitely HEAR these guys before you see them,but we did finally see howler monkeys. Heather was very helpful. She met us at the gas station and we followed her up to the house. She made sure we knew our way around the house and the local area. I was sad to leave and would love to return again!. .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: I am so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay. It is truly a pleasure for us to manage this property. The jungle wildlife here is amazing. It is hard to pick a favorite from our jungle visitors, between the resident sloth, toucans, parrots, the numerous butterflies and hummingbirds, but the monkeys never cease to stop me in my tracks, to gaze and marvel as they fearlessly leap from treetop to treetop.
Pura vida,
Heather

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

IT TRULLY IS WHAT PICTURES SHOW FOR THIS ADD.

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

I was here for 10 days and did't want to leave this paradise. I slept in the " jungle bedroom"with my own clean bathroom.Every morning I was greeded by the humming birds that came to drink nectar from the flowers just outside my window.Inever got this kind of walcome & "good morning"anywhere alse.Here morning coffe was with the compony of birds,monkes,flowers and fresh breeze from the ocean.When I felt like cooking... clean,comfortable,kitchen was also equipted with the view of the mountains .Warm water in the big,clean swimming pool is just what I needed every time we came back from short trips to local villages.Owners gave us info about local restaurants,(ask about pizza place)shops(local bakery),beaches to visit.Book with information about natures sourraundings was enough to keep us busy in the evening.Time I spent here was very relaxing .I would very much recommend to my friends & familly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfectly Comfortable, Visually Stunning

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Me and my family(wife, 1 year old, 4 year old) had a blast here. It is as close to baby safe as you can get from outside of your own home. It was very clean, they had toys, kids books, we seen monkeys, a sloth, toucans and they enjoyed the pool for hours a day since it was like bath water. We went to most of the beaches, within 100 km distance but the most beautiful and the most kid friendly was Playa Ventenas about 3 km away. It is the most beautiful beach we had ever seen. It also has a fresh water stream with shade for the baby. The property pictures speak for themselves and there is no photo tricks on them(we have been to places that the pictures are amazing and then you get there and it is a dump). It's simply a gorgeous place surrounded by tropical trees and the garden is filled with the most beautiful local plants, flowers, and fruit trees.

We didn't have any problems except for the the sun. We lathered on the 70 spf on the kids every couple hours but they still got pretty good tans but no burns! It might seem cool because of the breeze coming off the ocean but the sun is strong like in all the tropical central American countries.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review