reviews for: listing #45978 - Lahaina, Hawaii Condo rental

Affordable Condo at Lahaina Shores
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Lahaina
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $115 - $150 /nt
    $805 - $1,050 /wk

sort by:

My Magnificent Maui Vacation

Review submitted: March 19, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in this wonderful mountain view condo for 10 days and nights. The owners were great hosts and went above and beyond to accomodate every need. The murphy bed was awesome as it gave us added room and the full use of a living room during the day. It was very clean and nicely decorated in the Hawaiian theme with beautiful local art. The added bonus of the many music CD's was much enjoyed and there is a large library of current DVD video's as well. (We didn't watch any because we were too busy having fun.) I felt more like a guest in someone's home than a client in a hotel. There is an abundance of kitchen essentials, big, fluffy towels, comfy pillows, everything you could think of and more. The convenience of this codo was also a huge plus. The Lahaina Shores is within a 15-20 minute walk to anywhere in Lahaina, no car is necessary and it takes 5 minutes to get downtown. The town is wonderful, I much prefer it to Ka'anapali. There is beautiful local and international art galleries, wonderful restaurants, nightlife, every shop imaginable without being cheesy and touristy. Do Banyan Tree Park - stunning, plus art/craft festivals on Weekends. Most amazing, watching the Humpback Whales play all day long right from the resort. I highly recommend you come here during whale season (mid-Dec to end of April). Do a whale watch tour, also fabulous Luau's - we did Feast at Lele`. Expensive, but well worth every penny - Also it is right next to the resort so if you have one too many Maitai's or Pina Colada's from the free open bar, you merely need to stumble a few feet to get back. Also, snorkeling was at Molokini was great, swiming with the Sea Turtles at Olawalu - fabulous!!! (my personal favorite). Definitely see concierge MK or Anushka to get the best deals for tours - they'll tell you the best ones for your needs & will save you money. Don't forget to ask for coupons - lots of 2 for 1 dining deals & free deserts. If you do bring a car, drive the coast - stunning, visit the Iao valley - see the Iao needle - breathtaking. Of course Haleakala Crater & Road to Hana - highly recommended, we never did do either of those - that's ok, something to go back for. One caveat! Very limited parking - if you rent a car, be aware. Convenient if travelling away from the town but not needed locally. If we go back, (and we plan to), I wouldn't stay anywhere else. My personal little secret, and now yours too.
cj

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

A place to lay your head...

Review submitted: March 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 11, 2014

The condo was good value for the affordable (for Maui standards!) nightly rate, but could really use a bit of love. Carpet is not exactly "new" as the description states (some stains, etc.), the dish washer is brutal to use (bottom rack doesn't slide, extremely loud), cupboards have a bit of a musty smell as does the air-conditioning unit, bathroom ceiling has had some obvious water damage, and bathroom vents are in some serious need of cleaning. As long as you're not expecting luxury, this place does fine - Especially if you're planning on spending most of your time out adventuring and really just need a place to lay your head. The bed is comfy, the view and location are phenomenal, the extra snorkel set came in handy, and the kitchen has whatever you need. Bring some extra towels - We were only provided 2 full-size towels (but 3 hand towels!?) for two of us for a 10-day stay so ended up having to do laundry a couple times and it's pricey. Parking was convenient in the parkade next door for $3.50 / night so pretty reasonable, and the concierges downstairs are super helpful. Top Recommendations: Road to Hana (rent a motor bike if you can - so fun!!!), Haleakala Crater, Old Lahaina Luau, and dinner at Star Noodle (AMAZING food!).

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: We were disappointed in this review. We clean the condo ourselves and take pride in keeping it spotless. Nonetheless, we took every comment to heart and went over our condo with the proverbial "fine tooth comb." The carpet is no longer brand new but it is plush and in excellent shape. Those 3 stains returned after professional cleaning when the carpet dried, another provider finally eliminated them. We simply were unable to detect any musty smell at all but every single drawer and cabinet was recleaned and both filters in the air conditioner were replaced. We don't agree that the bathroom vents were in serious need of cleaning but they were cleaned again anyway.
The water damage bubbles in the bathroom are common throughout the complex and beyond our control . The complex is scheduled for a complete plumbing overhaul next April, including all kitchens and bathrooms.
Yes, the dishwasher is noisy and the bottom rack is difficult to slide. We will replace it during the plumbing project as well as remodel the bathroom.
The bath towel issue could have been easily solved by calling us and requesting more towels. We leave a note with our telephone number and ask to be called if there are any questions, problems or concerns. Anyway, the amount of bathroom linens has been doubled.
We would like to emphasize that we are extremely conscientious and responsive owners.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise

Review submitted: February 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

Fabulous location for scenic walks up and down a tropical beach that had limited numbers of walkers. The grounds and hotel were very charming and meticulously maintained by friendly staff. This hotel represents the Hawaii that you have envisioned before you ever have made a trip to Hawaii. Very easy walk to the heart of Lahaina. Spacious room for a studio and very well provisioned with kitchen needs and beach toys.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful property right on the water.

Review submitted: February 7, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

We had an amazing time at this condo. They were accomodating and the property was beautiful. The condo was clean and comfortable. The worst part of it was that we had to leave! If we are ever lucky enough to go back to Maui, we would definitely stay in this condo again! Highly recommend it, couldn't have been any better!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Maui paradise

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

This unit delivers everything it advertised! The building's public areas, except for hallways in need of new carpeting, were well kept and being steps from the beach is a real plus. Walking distance to everything in town made the evening dinner trek really fun. Local bar as well as a luau next door, viewable from a beachfront restaurant/bar, for no charge except for a drink or two, was a treat. View of the cloud covered mountains reminded us of the perpetual sun over Lahaina. Driving north to North Shore luxury resorts and beaches, south to Kihei and southeast to Hana were all convenient from here. Snorkeling/kayaking at Olawalu Beach was 15 minutes away.
Murphy bed was comfortable and easy to operate and everything we needed was provided for, including, beach towels and mats, boogie board, raft, snorkel gear, washer/dryer on the same floor(expensive though).
Safeway grocery just up the road for breakfast foods to start the day, and a gelato shop for after dinner treats to end the day made perfect bookends. What more could one want?

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Lahaina Condo

Review submitted: April 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

We just returned from 2 wonderful weeks in this condo.
The condo is great and the location was fabulous! Very convenient to access a lot of Lahaina.
The description here was very accurate and I would not hesitate staying here again.

My favourite, Feast at Lele right next door. The food was unbelievable.

Thanks again for letting us stay in your condo!! Barb and Wayne.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lahaina Shores

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 29, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at this condo for 9 days and loved every minute. The studio was very well stocked in the kitchen and pantry area and the murphy bed was a great addition! Studio was very roomy when it was folded up. CD and DVD collection were an additional plus.The staff at the complex were also very helpful and Carol and Candy were a treat to deal with! The weather was fabulous during our stay and we even took in the Doobie Brothers concert with special guests at the Maui Arts and Cultural Centre in Kahalui. One of the best concerts that we ever attended so future guests check out their schedule before you come.
Thanks you again Carol for a wonderful holiday.
Rachel and Bob Garies

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Well worth it!

Review submitted: November 27, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

Spent a week here & was very nice, close , quiet & conveinent to most everything. Staff friendly & helpful. We would recommend it & would go again sometime. One food for thot...slight pun intended.......go to Foodland store in Old Lahaina Center & get your things for breakfast, snacks, etc. Food can be expensive so we felt it was just as cheap to eat & enjoy dinner out most of time rather than cook & wash dishes since you are supposedly on vacation anyway. Thanks! Carol

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay!

Review submitted: July 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

We stayed at this condo last week for 6 nights and thought it was wonderful! The owner was extremely helpful and the condo was clean and comfortable. This was our first time in Maui and were really glad that we stayed here. It's in an awesome location, with a ton of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. We'd defintely stay here again on our next visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

We recently stayed in this condo which had everything we needed - even beach towels. It was clean, neat and conveniently located. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would come back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

home away from home

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2010

The customer service was excellent. They met our needs to the fullest always being there to help out with the room. I would definately recommend the cottages/condos to everyone. We plan on going there again next year to get married since that is where we were engaged :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

Hi, Carol!

Did I ever tell you what a fantastic time that Joe and I had in Lahaina at your place? The condo is a near-perfect place; the only thing better would be ... hmm, I can't think of anything to improve! (You can quote me on that.)

I am bringing my daughter to Lahaina at the end of April. (April 23 to May 2, to be exact.) It's her 15th birthday. (Aw.) I'd love to stay in your condo again; it's my first choice. It looks like, from the calendar, that those dates are available.
Just let me know! And thanks.

Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 16, 2008   Date of arrival: April 16, 2008

this was copied and pasted from another electronic guestbook:
My Magnificent Maui Vacation
cj and marty Grand Rapids, MI, USA.
Date Submitted: March 19, 2008 Date of Stay: March 2008
My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in this wonderful mountain view condo for 10 days and nights. The owners were great hosts and went above and beyond to accomodate every need. The murphy bed was awesome as it gave us added room and the full use of a living room during the day. It was very clean and nicely decorated in the Hawaiian theme with beautiful local art. The added bonus of the many music CD's was much enjoyed and there is a large library of current DVD video's as well. (We didn't watch any because we were too busy having fun.) I felt more like a guest in someone's home than a client in a hotel. There is an abundance of kitchen essentials, big, fluffy towels, comfy pillows, everything you could think of and more. The convenience of this codo was also a huge plus. The Lahaina Shores is within a 15-20 minute walk to anywhere in Lahaina, no car is necessary and it takes 5 minutes to get downtown. The town is wonderful, I much prefer it to Ka'anapali. There is beautiful local and international art galleries, wonderful restaurants, nightlife, every shop imaginable without being cheesy and touristy. Do Banyan Tree Park - stunning, plus art/craft festivals on Weekends. Most amazing, watching the Humpback Whales play all day long right from the resort. I highly recommend you come here during whale season (mid-Dec to end of April). Do a whale watch tour, also fabulous Luau's - we did Feast at Lele`. Expensive, but well worth every penny - Also it is right next to the resort so if you have one too many Maitai's or Pina Colada's from the free open bar, you merely need to stumble a few feet to get back. Also, snorkeling was at Molokini was great, swiming with the Sea Turtles at Olawalu - fabulous!!! (my personal favorite). Definitely see concierge MK or Anushka to get the best deals for tours - they'll tell you the best ones for your needs & will save you money. Don't forget to ask for coupons - lots of 2 for 1 dining deals & free deserts. If you do bring a car, drive the coast - stunning, visit the Iao valley - see the Iao needle - breathtaking. Of course Haleakala Crater & Road to Hana - highly recommended, we never did do either of those - that's ok, something to go back for. One caveat! Very limited parking - if you rent a car, be aware. Convenient if tra

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 15, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

Just arrived home must admit we were quite sad to leave. The condo is in the BEST location possible. Nicely furnished with all amenities needed. We left 2 beach mats & a large nylon cooler (which came in very handy for day trips) for future guests.

Jane & Carol, we thank you and will surely return.

Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 11, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Very comfortable accommodations, quite reasonable cost. The condo has everything you need, including beach towels. We really enjoyed our visit to Maui, and the condo was one positive part of the visit. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 3, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

We really enjoyed staying in your condo. The beach access was great and the easy access to the shops and restaurants of Lahaina was perfect. We look forward to staying again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 26, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Carol's condo in Lahaina for 4 nights in mid July. The first thing we noticed was the beautiful mountain view from the deck! The condo was spacious, clean, and had a well-stocked kitchen. Lahaina shores is located right in Lahaina, so were were able to walk to all of the shops. There was even a small grocery store around the corner. I highly recommend staying here during your trip to Maui!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 22, 2007   Date of arrival: July 22, 2007

Hi Carol,
We had a comfortable stay at your condo. It was very nicely furnished. The mountain view from our lanai was wonderful and we loved the walk along the beach to the harbor and into Lahaina Town . The sunset view was breath taking. Thank you for accomodating us.
Thanks again and regards,
Thanh & Tien

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 7, 2007   Date of arrival: May 7, 2007

Hi, Carol, Thanks a lot for all your great effort! We loved your condo sooooo much and Lahaina shores are beautiful! Your condo is cozy and well equipped, both my parents and I feel it looks like a HOME! We did some cooking and were able to make everyday’s breakfast, eat it while looking at the beautiful mountain outside, such a pleasure! Thanks a lot for providing such a nice place for us! Jing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 7, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

Hi, Carol,

Thanks a lot for all your great effort! We loved your condo sooooo much and Lahaina shores are beautiful!

Your condo is cozy and well equipped, both my parents and I feel it looks like a HOME!

We did some cooking and were able to make everyday’s breakfast, eat it while looking at the beautiful mountain outside, such a pleasure!

Thanks a lot for providing such a nice place for us!

Jing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 11, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

Jane & Carol:
Jayne and I had a wonderful time! Should have listened to you years earlier and went to the condo then! Probably should have gone 20 years earlier! With the town starting next door, the ability to walk the streets, see the sights, eat at wonderful resturants and SHOP kept us busy (actually Jayne doing the shoping). The conceirge (sp) in the lobby was wonderful in steering us to trips, tours and sights on the island.We thank you again for the opportunity and for allowing us to use your condo.
Jayne & Rick Butch

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 28, 2007   Date of arrival: March 28, 2007

Dottie sent this to us by e-mail:

We really liked your place. I can't think of a single thing that we could have needed. It was so comfortable and your kitchen was set up for some serious cooking (of which we did very little); that is rare in beach condos. The people at the reception desk were very friendly and accommodating. We really loved the location as we walked downtown every evening and sometimes during the day as well. We did the Friday evening art gallery walk and the Sunday art and craft show/sale under the banyan tree. The whales were everywhere! One evening we took a sunset sail and we were so close that we could hear them through the haul of the sailboat. We did the sunrise at Haleakala -- which was awesome -- and we took the trip to Hana with a Maui woman guide/driver who made the day absolutely fascinating. So we had a very fun time on Maui.

We would definitely recommend your place for anyone going to Maui. Perhaps we can return again in a few years.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 4, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

Dear Carol and Jane-
Thanks so much for the accomodations at your condo in Maui. The condo was great and definetly in a great location. We will definetly be back soon. Thanks again for all your help. You both made our trip to Maui much less stressful!!
Thanks-Charlie and Alicia Sperr

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 10, 2006   Date of arrival: August 10, 2006

Dear Carol,
Thank you for letting us stay at your apartment in Lahaina. We had a
wonderful time on Maui and found the location to be absolutely
wonderful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 21, 2006   Date of arrival: July 21, 2006

Anyway, I just wanted to drop you a note to let you know how much we enjoyed ourselves over in Maui. You are right, the location is just fabulous. Very close to walk to everything. We only rented a car for our last 2 days so we could do some exploring of the island.

I hope we are able to return again some day.

Thanks again for everything

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 19, 2006   Date of arrival: April 19, 2006

by e-mail Gladys wrote:

Finally getting around to sending you a big mahalo for the use of your
great condo. It was just perfect in location, comfortable, with a
great view, and took care of all our needs. We spent very little time in
the kitchen which was so well stocked with dishes and utensils. Didn't
catch any fish so had to eat out. Too bad, so sad. Ha!.............

Well, don't want to talk your ear off. But, I do want you to know how
much we liked your home away from home. Hope we get a chance to return
again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2006   Date of arrival: April 3, 2006

Susan wrote:
Dear Carol and Jane,
Just wanted to thank you for the use of your condo.....we had a wonderful time and hope to go back often. Your condo was perfect for our needs and you couldn't ask for a more ideal location........Please accept this small gift as our thanks and to have a little Maui around your Ohio home.
Thanks again,
Susan and Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 16, 2006   Date of arrival: January 16, 2006

Hello Carol,

Sorry I havent replied sooner but things have been a little crazy since
getting back
from Maui. The condo was perfect! Alice and I had a great time. By the
way,
I asked her to marry me at Balwin Beach on Christmas day. The answer
was
yes, and the date is set for 21 June of this year. Thanks again,
everything was
perfect, easy to get to, and lots to see and do.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 8, 2006   Date of arrival: January 8, 2006

I really enjoyed your condo. The location was such an easy walk into town. The set-up of the condo with the well equiped kitchen allowed me to eat some meals in which is handy for someone travelling alone... I enjoyed having some meals out but three meals a day would have been too much. The Murphy bed was quite comfortable, I slept like a baby. I guess the only down side was the noise from street construction in front of the condo that started very early every morning and lasted all day. The only benefit to that is that it encouraged me not to lounge in bed. Instead I was up and out of the condo for most of the day.

I couldn't have had better weather...no rain and a gentle breeze. Upon my return I kept thinking how nice it would be to make this an annual trip. It really recharged me. So next year you may hear from me again. Take care and have a happy new year.

Sincerely,
Kerry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 16, 2005   Date of arrival: September 16, 2005

On Sept 16, Woon Jin left this note:
Dear Carol,
It's been terrific days staying in your comfort, cozy, and beautiful room located in the best place ever!!! I, myself and my wife really felt at home here. I would like to thank you so much......I love this place and this will be my #1 choice if there'll be one more chance to visit here. I sincerely appreciate for your helps and this room. Many, many, many thanks! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 14, 2005   Date of arrival: August 14, 2005

Cindi through e-mail wrote:

Carol,
Thank you for the help with us staying in your condo. I cannot tell you how much we enjoyed being there. It was so convenient and the girls could walk anywhere they wanted for shopping and to eat. We didn't get into the car until we went to Haleakala and Hana. It was also nice to see pictures and try to put a face to your emails. Thank you for sharing your home in Maui with us and I look forward to the opportunity of visiting again. I hope you and yours are well and enjoying the summer months - I wish you peace -

Cindi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 2, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

We stayed in this unit at Lahaina Shores for 35 Nites in 2005. Because we have been staying at Lahaina Shores for quite a few years we were pleasantly surprised at now nice and how well equiped the unit is. The music (CD'S) and video's are a nice addition. The owners are pleasant to deal with and their representative there at the complex took good care of us. You can't find a better location on Maui if you are looking for the beach, shopping and resturants. The beach is right at your lawn, where you can sun yourself or sit in the shade. The rest is in easy walking distance to the town of Lahaina.
There is a hot tub and pool also. The unit with the Murphy bed gives you a lot more room than free standing beds do.We really enjoyed our stay and plan on renting this unit again in 2006.
Fred and Joan Lindeman

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 27, 2005   Date of arrival: January 1, 2005

A very comfortable condo with well equipped kitchen. GREAT location - on the beach, short walk to downtown and marvelous mountain view. Every thing you need for a perfect relaxing vacation.
We were able to have breakfast on lanai every morning. What a way to start your day.
We enjoyed our stay and hope to return to Maui, and we would definitely stay in this condo again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 23, 2005   Date of arrival: January 23, 2005

From: Fran
Subject: maui condo
To: cjmauicondo


Aloha Carol and Jane,

I'm really loving staying here at your condo. It's very comfortable and nice. Great shower, too.

Thanks again,
Fran

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 23, 2005   Date of arrival: January 23, 2005

Hello Carol,

We had a great time in Maui and thanks for letting us stay at your nice condo.
When I get a moment, I will add comments to the guest book as well as let our friends know.

Have a great 2005!

Kind regards,
Tony

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 14, 2005   Date of arrival: January 1, 2005

The first thing you notice upon entering the condo is the spectacular
view. My husband and I sat out on the verandah each night and just breathed
in the beauty around us.
The Murphy Bed allowed us a comfortable night's sleep. If we opted
to stay up late, there were numerous CD's and DVD's to choose from.
The kitchen and bathroom were stocked appropriately with all of the
basic necessaties readily at our fingertips.
The best word to describe the location is perfect! The activities we
needed or wanted to do were all within
easy walking distance. Swim, shop, walk
on the beach, eat out(at great restaurants), and the best Luau in town
right next door.
If we come back to Maui, this is the place we will choose to stay at.
Book early.
Bob and Lily Loewen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review