reviews for: listing #45987 - Petoskey, Michigan Chalet rental

Awesome Beachfront Chalet Vacation Lakefront Rental
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Chalet
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Watersedge Resort
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $135 - $325 /nt
    $850 - $2,250 /wk

sort by:

This is the place to stay!

Review submitted: June 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

I was planning a family gateway up north, and the biggest decision to make was where to stay. I wanted to go to different places, including Mackinac, Petoskey, Harbor Springs, Travel City... so the location was very important to us.
Once I saw the add for this Chalet I initially thought: "This is too good to be true". (Actually it turned out to be even better than expected). The first thing I did was to contact Jim; he was extremely nice, very reasonable, helpful, enthusiastic, and efficient. It was a pleasure to make business with him.
Once I got to the Chalet, it was exactly what I expected... actually it looks even better than the pics. It is gorgeous! Just by the lake with a private beach. The Chalet is equipped with everything you need. Four bedrooms with ceiling fans and an amazing balcony in the second floor, two bathrooms with enough supplies, very nice fireplace in the living room, brand new plasma, big kitchen with everything you need. But the best part is the view! Gorgeous view... to seat by the lake, bonfire, some grill, and relax. Everything the add says is there. The property is in perfect conditions. Jim makes sure that you feel at home, and actually provides you with a Binder with all the activities, dinning, Marinas of the area. I felt I was in a Resort. We were there late May and actually were able to swim in the lake. I am from Dominican Republic and you would imagine that I am used to great beaches with white sand. But this was actually very nice. The Crooked Lake had very clean water, sand up to ~1 mile, calm.... it was perfect.
The location was one of the best things. It was really central. Just took us 25mins to get to Mackinaw City, 10mins from Petoskey downtown, 15mins from Charlevoix, about an hour from the Dunes (Traverse City). It made our lives easier. We spend all mornings traveling and knowing these amazing places, and in the afternoons enjoying the Chalet.
I am a physician working at the Detroit Medical Center, and I can guarantee that you will not regret renting this property. Jim is amazing and he will make sure that you have everything you need.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 17 / 18

 

Perfect Up North Cozy Cabin

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

Can't say enough good things about the place. Suited the group perfect for a weekend winter getaway. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Chalet

Review submitted: February 7, 2014   Date of arrival: January 29, 2014

Took the family for snow and skiing in the Boyne area recently, and stayed at Jim and Elizabeth's wonderful chalet. Was really a great value, very clean, and well appointed - even a couple logs for the fireplace. It was only a short drive to the supermarket and ski hills, and had everything we needed. Adults and kids loved the place. Rank 9/10 Highly recommend!

Owners response: Thank you, we hope to see you on next next ski adventure!!
Regards,
Jim & Debbie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

The place was perfect. Easy to clean and entertain along with a great location. The view of the lake is beautiful!

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us and you are always welcomed for your next ski vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing,cozy,spectacular

Review submitted: December 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 12, 2013

We rented this place for a weekend away for Christmas with family. There were 10 of us including a 2 year old(who loved the stairs) and we all fit perfectly. Very spacious. Very clean and organized. The wood burning fireplace was our favorite part. There was a lot of snow and the fireplace made it feel even more like Christmas. I highly recommend anyone in the area reserving this place. I can only imagine what it is like in the summer when you are able to use the beach. Very nice. Jim is also a great guy to deal with. Couldn't have asked for a nicer place or owner. Hoping to go back next year for our Christmas celebration.

Owners response: Thank you very much! We are so glad that you enjoyed yourselves and you and your family are always welcome back.
Warm Regards,
Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic!!

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

This was our 2nd year at the "Beachfront Chalet" celebrating our annual "Beer Camp" and this year was even better than last year. There were 9 of us this year and we all agree that it is well worth the money.Thanks for the updated bathroom upstairs. Honestly can't think of anything that would make our visit more enjoyable. Unless of course you can control the weather. Hoping to try to make a girls weekend over the summer so we can really enjoy the lake. Would recommend this property for any occassion. Thanks Jim :)

Owners response: Thanks for the awesome review Dana! I'm glad your "Beer Camp" turned out to be an enjoyable one. you and your friends are always welcome back.
Warm Regards,
Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Comfort on Crooked Lake ...

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

A truly lovely home away from home ... Gorgeous views and fresh air, together with a spotlessly clean, well-equipped and roomy cottage make for an "up north" getaway to remember! This warm and inviting vacation space is perfect for singles or families to enjoy. I am a Michigan transplant living in Florida, and I came "home" to the Petoskey area for a 50th birthday celebration. Several days were set aside as a "girls' weekend", and my friends and I had a blast hanging out, cooking, eating, drinking, and talking late into the night. It was like being at our own private autumn camp for grown up girls!! :D I stayed an additional four nights on my own, and was supremely comfortable, secure and happy to putter and pad around the house. With a cozy fire as a backdrop for fun hobbies like doing puzzles, reading, photography and, of course, cooking and eating, I really made the best of my solitary time in paradise! :D I'd like to thank Jim and Debbie for providing such a beautiful respite for the weary, as well as for the birthday bottle of wine and card that awaited our arrival. This sanctuary is within close proximity to shops, restaurants, state parks, and much, much more. What a great way to welcome the next decade ... I'm so grateful that my entire experience on Crooked Lake was soul satisfying and definitely "Pure Michigan" at its very best. I'll be back!!! :D ... Lisa C.

Owners response: Lisa, thank you for the awesome review. We are very happy that you and your friends had a good time in our little retreat. It's guests like you that make sharing our up north get away so rewarding! You and your friends are always welcome.
Warm Regards,
Jim & Debbie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

To celebrate our 30th birthdays, my wife scheduled a weekend getaway in Petoskey with my best friend's family. The accommodations left nothing to be desired. We had a great time. But I think a bit of context can help describe just how wonderful the cottage was.

It rained each day we were here (probably because it's mid October). I watched the Tigers lose game 5 of the ALCS, and currently they trail Boston in game 6, 1-0. And yet I'm still happy!

The lights in the cabin all seem to be on dimmer switches. It's awesome. They create a very cozy and welcoming atmosphere. The dishes provided are clean, usable, and much higher quality than we are use to in rental cottages. In all, the cottage is much cleaner and well maintained than any we have ever stayed in.

Further, the gentleman we rented from was very professional and very accommodating. We actually needed to switch our arrival to a later weekend because of an unforeseen conflict, and with a quick phone call he generously agreed for no extra cost!

For families with young children, having four bedrooms with two full bathrooms is a blessing. We cannot wait to come back.

Usually I don't write reviews. In fact, this is my first. But our experience was simply too enjoyable not to share with other people. Thank you for renting to us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Well, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! I wish I would have known it was a special weekend. I'm sorry you had a wet weekend but it sounds like you made the best of it. We welcome you back anytime and next time I will have something "special" for you.
Warm Regards,
Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Doesn't get any better!

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

We have rented this place for 8 consecutive years and enjoy it more every year! Great location and amenities. New this year, just across the street, is access is to a 32 mile long walking, jogging, biking trail which adds to the already many activities to do in the area. The boat slip is a plus for boat owners. The chalet is clean, modern and very comfortable. No matter what your interests are there is something for people of all ages to enjoy here whether it be swimming, boating, fishing, golfing, biking, shopping, sightseeing or just plain wiggling your toes in the sandy beach. It doesn't get any better than this!

Owners response: Dave, you and your friends caught some awsome fish while you were there. You guys definitely know the fishing spots on the lake. Thanks for the gracious review and you, your family and friends are always welcome back. See you next year!!Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Crooked Lake - "Water's Edge" Resort

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

This chalet was located right off of the freeway, which made for a very noisy and loud stay. You could not leave the windows open at night since the traffic was so loud. Additionally, there was no A/C which made it quite unpleasant given our weather was in the 90s. The only ceiling fans in the place were in the two bedrooms upstairs. So the two bedrooms on the lower level were somewhat unbearable! (Not to mention the smell of natural gas coming out of the leak outside one of the rooms.) If you are elderly or have issues taking scary steps, do not plan on sleeping upstairs! The "internet access" was sporadic as best, so if you have hopes of getting online, your best bet is to go into Petoskey (about a 15 minute drive). Also, if there are ANY ISSUES (something broken that you would expect the owners or cleaning crew to take note), you better inform the owners as they are not keen on providing back your security deposit. Overall, we would not recommend this place. You would be better off staying in Boyne or Petoskey.

Owners response: It is obviously apparent that this guest is very upset considering that the Petoskey Beachfront Chalet has received a five star rating from every guest in the past 45 reviews since inception. The cleaning crew did find damage to the unit after the stay of this guest, (which he did not want to take responsibility for) and an "extremely reasonable" amount was deducted from his security deposit for the repairs.

I find no reason to address the comments in this review as the prior reviews speak for themselves.

Regards

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for families with children!

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

This little retreat if perfect for families with small children. The beach is nice and the water shallow for care free playing. The docks are great and taking a trip up the Inland Waterway is highly recommended. We rented a pontoon boat from Ryde Marina just up the road. House of Pies was awesome.

The owner sent information in a timely manner and the kitchen was well stocked with utensils, linens, and towels. Not to mention little things like dish soap and paper towels. The two bathrooms fit our needs perfectly.

We will definitely be coming back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing, Fun, and Perfectly Placed

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Upon arrival it's hard to resist the urge to drop your bags (unpacking can wait) and instead pull up a chair and have an ice cold drink while you sink your toes in the soft sand while taking in the beautiful lake before you.

This cottage delivers. Clean, comfy, and well equipped inside. Charming, beautiful, and fun outside. There was plenty of beach chairs, fire pits, horseshoes, swing set, even a basketball court, and ample space to play volleyball, croquet, or just kick up on the beach and relax.

The location is perfect!! Minutes away from Petoskey (charming town on the Lake Michigan shoreline) with a great downtown shopping district. You are also only 30 minutes from Mackinac City where you can hop on a ferry to Mackinaw Island. You can easily spend a day there. This was the highlight of our trip. I highly recommend it.

During our stay we rented a boat at Windjammer Marina. We spent many afternoons anchored in on the sand bar in the middle of Crooked Lake. With a depth of about 2 feet it made for great fun in the water - frisbee, football, and super soaker fights. However if renting a boat is not for you, no worries, the shore at the cottage is also about 2 feet deep for about 300 yards out. Ideal for those, like us, with young kids. You can sit and relax knowing that they aren't going to get themselves in deep water.

A short half block down the road is the House of Pies ... Delicious!! And if you get a rainy day like we did, there is a Kilwin's Chocolate Factory in Petoskey where they give free tours, and of course a sample of their fantastic goodies. In Petoskey there is also Pirates Cove which is has a great mini golf course.

Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay at this wonderful place. The beds were comfy and plentiful, and although the shared living space is a tad small, especially when you have 6 adults and 5 kids, we would still come back. After all, we weren't there to be inside and everything offered in the great outdoors kept our family happy and well entertained.

And the breathtaking sunsets over the water each night was just icing on the cake.

Owners response: Thank you for the awesome review. You and your family are ALWAYS welcome back as you have had many years of memories at the Beachfront Chalet! Regards

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Girl's weekend

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

This was our second girl's weekend trip to the chalet, and we had a great time. The chalet is perfect for a girl's getaway, it exceeded our expectations. It is fully furnished, has very comfortable beds, and a nice sandy beach with beautiful views of Crooked Lake.
It feels like a home away from home. We spent an afternoon in the sunshine lounging in the beach chairs sipping cold libations; and one evening we had a campfire on the beach; this is the ultimate place to relax. If you want to cook there is a fully equipped kitchen; and there also is a Weber grill. If you don't want to cook, there are several nice restaurants in Petoskey and the surrounding area. We ate at Teddy Griffin's Irish resaturant and the Dam Site Inn- a quaint supper club. We highly recommend both restaurants.
If shopping is your thing, the chalet is close to Petoskey and Harbor Springs and Charlevoix is a short drive away. Our days were filled with shopping the speciality stores in Petoskey, there is something for everyone.

Owners response: Thank you very much for the kind words and I'm glad that the "girls weekend" was a sucessful one. We welcome you back in the future.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Girls Fall Weekend

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

Enjoyed a nice long fall weekend in this beautiful and nicely appointed chalet. It was on a nice beach and pennisula with everything you could need, especially for summer getaways. Such a great location - visit Petoskey, Harbor Springs and if you want a short road trip - Mackinac and Traverse City. Great amount of towels, pillows and kitchenware so you don't have to bring a thing. Highly recommend and would consider staying again.

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your "girls weekend getaway." You and your guests are always welcome back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great week!

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Jim, Your home was perfect for our family with small children... Right on the beach - the kids loved the shallow lake and beach - and also loved the volleyball and basketball right next to the cabin! It was centrally located allowing us easy day trips to Mackinac Island and Charlevoix... We went in Petoskey a number of times too. Your house is wonderful too - very comfortable with beautiful views... We had a great week and can't wait to come back!

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words. You and your family are always welcome at out Chalet on the Beach.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Girls just want to have fun

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

This is the perfect spot for a girl's weekend trip. Our group of 7 especially loved the comfortable homey atmosphere of the chalet. The kitchen is fully equipped, the beds are very comfortable, there is an abundance of soft fluffy towels, and you can even hear the waves hitting the shore at night. All you need to bring is your clothes! We wish we could have had a chance to sit by the campfire, the rain stopped us from enjoying a night under the stars, but it did not deter us from having a great time. We are already making plans to stay again next year, and hopefully we can enjoy the beautiful shoreline in the beach chairs sipping a tall cool one. Nearby Petoskey, Charlevoix and Harbor Springs offer unique and eclectic shops, wine tasting and tours and many wonderful restaurants. We especially enjoyed an Irish pub in Harbor Springs, Teddy Griffin's, be sure to put them on your list of places to go, great atmosphere, great food and friendly bartenders! One last thing, working with the owner of this chalet was a delight, thanks Jim for all your help in making our extended weekend such a special one.

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words! you and your friends are always welcome back. C'ya!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Girl's Weekend 2012

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

This is the perfect spot for a girl's weekend trip. Our group of 7 especially loved the comfortable homey atmosphere of the cabin. The kitchen is fully equipped, the beds are very comfortable, there is an abundance of soft fluffy towels, and you can even hear the waves hitting the shore at night. All you need to bring is your clothes! We wish we could have had a chance to sit by the campfire, the rain stopped us from enjoying a night under the stars, but it did not deter us from having a great time. We are already making plans to stay again next year, and hopefully we can enjoy the beautiful shoreline in the beach chairs sipping a tall cool one. Nerby Petoskey, Charlevoix and Harbor Springs offer unique and eclectic shops, wine tasting and tours and many wonderful restaurants. We especially enjoyed an Irish pub in Harbor Springs, Teddy Griffin's, be sure to put them on your list of places to go, great atmosphere, great food and friendly bartenders! One last thing, working with the owner of this cabin was a delight, thanks Jim for all your help in making our extended weekend such a special one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

This house is a wonderful place to stay. We stay here for two nights and it is closed to Boyne Highland where we went to ski. The house is clean and has 6 double beds which is nice for a group of people. And the lake view is beautiful outside the house. I definitely recommend it to my friends. We really enjoy our stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent-Excellent-Excellent!!!

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

This home is absoultely perfect! Everything you need to enjoy time in the Petoskey/Harbor Springs area! We stayed in this home for a long weekend with our family and a friend's family---4 adults and 5 kids---and there was PLENTY of space. The home is less than 10 minutes from Boyne Highlands and Nubs Nob, and also conveniently located for a quick trek down to Boyne Mountain & the indoor waterpark. Even though we visited during winter, we enjoyed the peaceful lakefront and gorgeous sunsets over the lake. I can only imagine how spectacular it would be to stay in the summer.....

The layout of the home-- 2 bedrooms & a bathroom with shower upstairs, and 2 bedrooms & a bathroom and shower on the main floor---was excellent for 2 families to share. The kitchen was well appointed & the home was extremely clean and obviously well cared for.

Last but not least, and perhaps most importantly, the customer service was excellent. Jim is extremely responsive and helpful. The home had a binder with pages and pages of local attractions & activities. And, Jim went above and beyond when one of our 5 year olds forgot his pillow at the house----finding it and getting it shipped home. It was a pleasure renting this home. I would highly recommend it to families and friends, and we will return for sure!

Thanks again for a wonderful vacation!

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words. You and your family are always welcome back for another vacation stay. Yes, you have to try out the summer months, it is wonderful!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Winter Ski Trip

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

This was our second year renting this property and yes, it is truly awesome! The cottage is fantastic, roomy, completely equipped, and they even let you use the fireplace! All linens and towels were provided, toilet paper, paper towel, wow! This year we had 7 people stay and everyone LOVED the cottage and they want to book it again for next year. Also, the cottage is right on the lake (we were able to easily see the ice shanties) and I bet it would be great in the summer too. Furthermore, it is conveniently close to Nubs and Boyne, Petoskey, Harbor Springs, and I75. Very easy to get to. The owner was very easy to work with, property was clean. I would definitely recommend this rental!

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words and you are definitely welcome back anytime. You will have to visit us during the summer months sometime!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ski Rental House

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

The rental house was beautiful. Plenty of room for everyone. Property was very clean, organized and maintained. The owner was very easy to work with and provided a lot of communication with us prior to us picking the house. The location was great - less than 10 minute drive to boyne highlands and downtown Petowski. Also, the cleaning crew (after we left) found my little charm from my bracelet. The owner contacted us with this information even before I had a chance to ask him if it was found. We for sure recommend the property and hope to get to go back - next time in the summer to enjoy the lake.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location, great amenities!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

The cabin is spacious, clean, extremely well maintained and has wonderful amenities. It is very well located with awesome views over the crooked lake and within a few minutes of two good ski resorts. A very good deal for a winter weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, you are always welcomed back for sure!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lakefront Chalet in MI

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

We stayed for three nights between Chistmas and New Years. Although we didn't get to enjoy the beach & lake because of the season, (they look great though!) the house was very nice, clean, well maintained, and had all the ammenities for a cozy stay. The upstairs is particularly spacious and attractive. It is well located - within 20 minutes of the ski hills and downtown Petoskey. I would definitely recommend this property and would stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Owners response: Thank you and you and your family are always welcomed back and especially during the summer months!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stay at Waters Edge

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Our family had a wonderful time, the chalet was just as pictured, nice sandy beach, beautiful lake. The lake is great for young children as you can go out quite a ways before the water gets deeper. Lots of things to do in the area. Jim was wonderful to work with. I would recommend this to other family members and friends. The chalet was very clean and well stocked with linens, pot & pans,etc. Jim even has a entire binder of things to do in the area & resturants and all the phone numbers. This was the first time we had rented a lakefront home and we couldn't of been happier. So glad we found this one.
We also met some very nice people that were staying in the other cottages at "Waters Edge".

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Lisa. We are truely glad that you and your family had a good stay at our Beachfront Chalet. You and your family are always welcome back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Cottage with So Much to Do!!

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Our family (8 ADULTS 4 KIDS UNDER 8) had a great time here this past July 4. The property was just as described. There was so much room and things to do right on the property. Petoskey is so convenient and also beautiful. We appreciarted being just 40 minutes to Macinac Island.

The water and beach were fantastic, and the kids especially loved it. (nice shallow sandy bottom also great kids play area) Camp fires with gorgeous views of the lake ended most nights. We also enjoyed rafting, biking and ice cream! In short this place makes for the perfect summer family vacation!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: You and your family are welcome back to enjoy the wonders of a northern Michigan vacation. Thank You!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great for winter activities.

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

We stayed for a week with 2 families to enjoy snow skiing and some snowmobiling. The location was great, within 10 minutes of the ski slopes and snowmobile trails close by. The home was very clean and nicely appointed. With its location right on the beach, it seems like it would be a great summer vacation spot as well. The owner was also very nice to work with and accomodating. I would recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lori and Kevin, We are glad that you had a good time and welcome you back for your future vacation getaway.
Thank You,
Debbie & Jim

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Time Was Had by All

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

This cottage was just as discribed. The owner was very helpful and provided lots of information on both the property and the area. We had six adults and had plenty of room for both privacy and group time. Great time to connect with my two sisters and husbands. We found the golf to be spectacular. The beach at the cottage would be ideal for a family with childern. Lots of sand and no sharp drop off in the lake. Scenery was wonderful. Can't wait to come back for more fun and memories.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words John. We hope that you can stay with us in the near future.
Warm regards,
Jim

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very nice vacation home

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 28, 2010

My mom & my sister spent 3 days at this vacation home and had a very nice time. The house is spacious and inviting. Our only complaint is that the sofas are not very comfortable, but everything else is great!

We enjoyed beatutiful sunsets each evening and my niece and nephew had a wonderful time playing in the yard when they visited us. If we visit Petoskey again, this will be our place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, you and your sisters are welcome back anytime.
Warm Regards,
Jim

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ideal Vacation Home

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2010

This beautiful property is everything it is advertised to be. If I go back to Northern Michigan again, this where my group will stay! Clean, well maintained and a great view.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for the kind words. You and your family/friends are welcome back anytime.
Regards,
Jim

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Yudt Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We loved the location. It was close to Petoskey, Harbor Springs and Boyne City. The beach was perfect for the grandkids; it was shallow enough for such a long way out that we never had to worry about them getting close to the deeper water. Having the house right on the beach was very convenient and it was great having bon-fires right by the lake. The kids went river rafting which was close by. The house was clean when we arrived. It had everything that we needed. There was more than enough room for the 12 of us. The fresh flowers that were left for us was a nich welcoming touch. Some of us went to one of the fisheries and I would recommend people going. It was very interesting. We ate a Northwoods which is practically right across the street and the food was great. I would also recommend going into Indian River. There is a little restaurant called Inn by the River and it doesn't look like much, but you can sit down by the River and there is always plenty of boats coming in and out and the food is really good. My husband recommends the coney island pizza.

I would highly recommend this property and we would love to be able to return soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Cindy and Rich,
We are glad to hear that you had a good time and welcome you back for your next "getaway vacation."

Warm Regards,
Jim

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our Holiday Retreat

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

As first time renter's of the cottage, we were a little apprehensive as to whether or not the accommodations were going meet our expectations. This place exceeded our expectations! My grandchildren loved the beach and the shallow, sandy shoreline allowed for them to enjoy the lake. My son-in-laws loved the fishing and the close access to boat rentals about a mile up the road. Of course they caught some great sized fish. My daughters and wife were close to their favorite shopping sites. And I enjoyed the proximity of the great golf courses northern Michigan has to offer. This place allows you to lay back, kick your feet up, and enjoy and evening cocktail while watching the sunset with a beautiful view of Crooked Lake. We are looking forward to a return visit!

Paul & Jan V.
Shelby Township, MI

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Jan and Paul. I am glad that you enjoyed the Beachfront Chalet and were able to bring back some great memories from your weeks stay. We hope to see you again as you are always welcomed back!
Regards,
Jim

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place and location

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

This charming beach house is a perfect setting for relaxing. Excellent beach and views from house. Ample space and accomodations are nicely decorated. Very close to everything in and around Petoskey. We will be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Don't worry if you accidently leave something....

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

My wife and I were guests at the cabin, and while the cabin was great, the housekeeper was equally great if not better. We left our own pillowcase at the cabin and realized it after we were home. We e-mailed Jim who sent our e-mail to Kathy, the housekeeper. Not only did Kathy get our pillowcase back to us, she also washed it and paid for the shipping. She gave me details of when it was shipped and she also would not let us reimburse her. I would highly recommend the cabin and we are looking at booking another stay soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Six Girls - 50th Birthday Celebration

Review submitted: September 14, 2009   Date of arrival: September 9, 2009

I would highly recommend this place. The description was as stated and the location is ideal for day trips to Mackinaw, Casino and awesome shopping in Petoskey. We ate at Mitchell's Bar in Petoskey and the food and atmosphere were great. The place was clean and well maintained. We had also jjust enjoyed hanging out and taking in the beautiful lake view and bonfires on the beach at night. We enjoyed it so much, we've decided to make this an annual trip. Thanks for sharing your place with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

This place ended up being the perfect weekend getaway. The house had everything we needed, and far more space than we expected. This was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable weekends I have had all summer. I would definitely stay here again. The owner is also very easy to do business with.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Chalet for Families

Review submitted: August 24, 2009   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

This chalet is the gem of the resort. A great place to rent if you have kids. Many great things to do nearby and tons of amenities. Beautiful sandy, shallow beach with tons of sand to play in. Very helpful owner and a great rental expirence.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 9, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Had a great time. House was big enough for all nine of us. Kids played on the beach and in the water all day long. One grandson had the best time fishing over at the inland dock provided for guest. Everyone was so nice and everything was done to make sure our stay was great. Would recommend this chalet to everyone.
Sunsets great!!!! Right in the middle of everything. Easy to get to surrounding towns. Have rented this property years before and am glad I could rent again and bring everyone with us. Very clean and well maintained. Everyone had a good time playing volleyball, basketball, fishing and of course playing in the sand and water.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely rustic cabin, right on the beach!

Review submitted: March 16, 2009   Date of arrival: February 20, 2009

This a lovely rustic cabin, with a charming feel. Spiral straircase leads to the second floor where you will find two large bedroom. There are also 2 bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen, living room with comfy couches and a dining room with a large table on the main floor. We stayed there in Feb and went skiing to Nubs Nob (10 min drive). I would love to see it in the summer when there is no ice on the lake - it must be gorgeous. The only reason for not rating it excellent is the lack of dishwasher. The owner is very flexible and great to do business with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Treat Yourself

Review submitted: March 10, 2009   Date of arrival: March 5, 2009

It took me all of 2 minutes to be completely relaxed after arriving at this immaculate place. They have all you need here to feel like you are at home. Amazing sunrise over the lake in the morning especially for the winter, I can only imagine what it would be like in the summer. Nubs and Boyne are only minutes away. Plenty of places to get food if you don't feel like cooking, fast food as well as fine dining. Plenty of trails near by to so x-country skiing as well as snowmobiling, we took a ride up to Mackinaw on ours one day and caught a deal on their famous fudge. I'll be back next year for certain. The owners are great as well, I was well informed of the skiing conditions in advance from him as he knew it was a ski trip, no one goes that extra mile anymore, it was very comforting.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 7, 2009   Date of arrival: March 7, 2009

Last weekend to ski for this year. Slopes were empty but the snow was still good. First year up here but not our last. We had seven of us from Detroit & Holland. Love this place, was here for 2 minutes before I felt completly relaxed, great food, friends, good times till next year, cheers!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Highly Recommended

Review submitted: February 21, 2009   Date of arrival: September 6, 2008

We have been renting places for over 30 years and this cabin is by far one of the best we have found. We have rented it several times now and have always been very pleased with the accommodations. The cabin is clean, comfortable and sitting on the deck with your coffee in the morning overlooking the lake is very relaxing. The marina is a huge plus for boat owners as this lake can get rough at times. This place has it all!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 14, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

This was our second year at water's edge - great time again. Lots of fun skiing and some sore bodies from skiing & snowboarding. Weather was great this year compared to last year. Have this place & we will be back again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 14, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

Fabulous skiing weekend once again!!! Great company, great company, great food, great exercise, great times.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2009   Date of arrival: February 6, 2009

7 U of M & Eastern Michigan students that needed to get away! Had a blast! This was our 2nd time here and we enjoy our time more every year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2009   Date of arrival: January 22, 2009

9 U of M seniors! We had a blast skiing and hanging out here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

very nice

Review submitted: January 9, 2009   Date of arrival: December 30, 2008

we visited in december 2008 and we stayed there for the new years eve. it was great. very clean and cozy. location is great, right by the lake ( the guys enjoyed some ice fishing) and the skiing slopes are about 15 minutes drive. we all had a good time and we would defenetly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 8, 2009   Date of arrival: January 8, 2009

Great cottage, looking forward to another stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 30, 2008   Date of arrival: December 30, 2008

Lot's of fun! Great for ice fishing and for skiing at Boyne Mountain. Ski lift ticket is not needed for the night ski lift, it is free! The ice skating rink in Boyne Mountain is not as advertised, it is very small and the ice is not smooth. If you go tubing at Boyne Mountain it is very very fun but careful not to jump over the edges! Very tasty hot coco at the dock towe restaurant and only $1.50. So this cabin works in the winter too!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AMAZING

Review submitted: December 22, 2008   Date of arrival: February 29, 2008

I visited this cabin last winter and had an amazing time! It was VERY clean in a GREAT location. I had a great time and would Be back this winter too!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 23, 2008   Date of arrival: October 23, 2008

The birthday girls from U.P. are back for the second year. We gather from all over the state of Michigan, but we all graduated from U.P. high school & this is our yearly get-together. We had a fabulous weekend - full of laughs!! Can't wait until next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2008   Date of arrival: September 19, 2008

Wonderful location for lots of activities or just hang out.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 19, 2008   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

A perfect place for our family reunion. We had ages from 1-65 and all had activities and fun. We hope to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 12, 2008   Date of arrival: July 12, 2008

This was our last year at Water's edge #5. We all gathered from Mi, Alabama, & Florida to be together as a family. What a fun time we had as a parent of the family it was great seeing our kids enjoy each other.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 28, 2008   Date of arrival: June 28, 2008

This is our 4th year at Water's Edge #5 we had another great family vaction! We will see you again next year!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review