reviews for: listing #46010 - Princeville, Hawaii House rental

"The TIKI Tower" 3bd/3ba Ocean & Mountain View Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mauna Kai
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $220 /nt
    $1,155 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 24, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

This was our first trip to Kauai and we could not have asked for a nicer home to play and stay in. This place was very clean and met all our needs. My family of 5 plus 2 more were very comfortable and loved the North Shore area. We are so hoping to come back to Kauai again someday and will certainly look you up for a place to stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great family place

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Just got back from a week in paradise and we enjoyed the Tiki Tower immensely. The place was perfect for our family with two kids aged 6 and 4. Although Princeville is not as "authentic" as Hanalei Bay, it's a great location for families with the main food store and various restaurants nearby.
The Tiki Tower was fully equipped for home cooked meals and spacious enough for everyone. The views on the ocean were just right. Access to the pool was ideal in between beach outings. In the house there were two wooden cat statues, that we have now baptized Charly and Boo-Boo. They are very well behaved!

For parents who need real strong coffee, don't miss out on "Lei Petite Bakery" in Princeville. Scones and waffles were also a hit.

Mahalo!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lynne and Gene Parents of John and Kathleen

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

WOW! This is a terrific vacation rental and an excellent value. Gene had never boogie boarded before and was enticed by the ones provided with the rental. He is now a boogie board maniac. Lynne enjoyed the beautiful pool and the close proximity to Anini and Hanalei beaches. Thanks for all the tips and info provided by the owner. The house literally had everything we needed. We enjoyed the storybooks in the kids' room, the many DVD movies, the wonderful breezes, and the sun. We had a fabulous time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise in every aspect

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

The Tiki Tower was every thing we had hoped for and more. Excellent accomodations with every item we needed to enjoy our vacation in the sun. Breathe taking scenary, comfortable beds, fully stocked kitchen, located conveniently close to shopping, beaches and other local activities. We loved every minute of our stay and can't wait to go back and will most certainly stay at the Tiki Tower again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Fun!!

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

Tiki Tower has everything a family could need for a fantastic visit to Kauai...Boogie Boards, sand shovels and buckets, tons of beach towels, beautiful pool! Tonya was a great hostess, sending us a ton of information. Her best tip was the Hanalei Farmers Market. Seriously may never eat a store bought Mango ever again. The house was ridiculously clean and very tastefully decorated. The children's room, complete with storybooks really made my 5 and 8 year old seem very welcome. Just one warning, it has a lot of stairs and the living quarters is on the 3rd floor. It wore my parents out a bit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mrs.

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

The Tiki Tower is in a beautiful quiet location and was very clean and wellmaintained. We could use the surfboards and other beach staff from the Tiki Tower. There is a nice walk way from the Tiki Tower to the shopping center.
The owner was very helpful with all my question and I recommended the Tiki Tower to my friends already.
We had a wonderful relaxing time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfort in Paradise

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: May 3, 2011

This propery definitely lived up to our expectations! The descriptions and photos are very accurate and I wholeheartedly agree with the numerous favorable reviews. This house is just lovely, clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. We took full advantage of the kitchen and enjoyed cooking many of our meals there. The view from the upstairs kitchen, dining area, living room is stunning! My husband and I were traveling with our three and a half year old, and while traveling with children a house is especially desireable. That way we were able to go upstairs in the morning and pour her a bowl of cereal while we relaxed, sipped our coffee and took in the view. No need get dressed and rush out for breakfast, we had it all there. The walk to the nearby town center is very enjoyable, and our daughter loved the playground at the community center that is right on the way. Great playground, highly recommended if you have little ones! The house's proximity to the pool is very convenient as well. Overall we will definitely stay at the Tiki Tower again if we have the oppurtunity! It is an absolutely lovely home in a lovely area of Kauai. I also wanted to note the attentiveness of the owners. They gave very helpful recommendations on places to eat, things to do, etc., and specific directions. I had a question about the wireless internet and recieved two prompt and friendly calls back. As it turned out, I simply had to reset the router, duh! But I appreciated their quick, concerned response. This house absolutely lived up to our high expectations. Do not miss out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

All That Was Promised - And More!

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

Our stay at the Tiki Tower was certainly better than expected. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and fully stocked with extra bedding and towels for six adults. The kitchen held more gadgets and utensils than I have in my own at home! A very comfortable stay, nicely located and within walking distance to shopping and resort hotels. We have already recommended the Tiki Tower to all our family and friends and hope to re-visit again soon. Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The North Shore is THE place to be!

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Aloha - My husband and I rented the Tiki Tower for 8 days and we wish we could have stayed longer (like forever)! Although the house has three bedrooms, we thought it was perfect for just the two of us. It was the best home base for exploring the North Shore, which is the most amazing part of Kauai in our opinion! It does rain frequently there so we spent some rainy mornings or afternoons cooking in the well equipped kitchen, or watching Redbox movies that we rented right down the street at the Princeville Center, which is within walking distance. Some mornings we would take a quick jog to a little park that had work out stations or take the quick hike down to Annini Beach to get a little exercise in before starting the day. There is a playground at the park for children, if you have them. The Tiki Tower really is located close to everything you would need and had plenty of beach gear, snorkle gear, pool towels, and a cooler that we made use of daily as well as a bunch of floaties and things for kids. The Princeville Center is a 10 minute walk away and there you can find a few restaurants, a wine shop, a full grocery store with beer/wine/liquor, a gas station, and a few gift shops. At the end of Wyllie Road you can find the Westin Resort where we had dinner one night, and it was one of the best meals we had in Kauai! Also a great spot for a cocktail. Just two miles down the road is St. Regis, which overlooks Hanalei Bay and has the most incredible views at sunset! DO NOT MISS IT! The food was so-so, but the experience was worth every penny. Also within a few miles, you can find Queens Bath - where in the summer you can hike out on the lava shelf and snorkel with fish and sea turtles. The pool for the Mauna Kai units is basic but very welcoming after a day at the beach, and we took a dip every day before heading in. I would highly recommend staying here, as it was everything we wanted and Tonya is the most helpful in providing information about the area and providing a streamlined vacation rental. Mahalo, for a wonderful vacation!! We hope to return here, and hopefully sooner rather than later! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Wonderful accommodation for our whole family.Tiki Tower is a home within a gated community ,with pool , well maintained tropical gardens and onsite services.The living room and kitchen , on the second floor had views of sea in the distance. We ate in often, as the kitchen was well appointed but we also had access to numerous restaurants nearby.We loved our stay at Tiki tower and would recommend it to friends and family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Two weeks at Tiki...

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Our second year at the Tiki Tower was another two weeks of pure joy. From a nice coffee maker to beach chairs, everything you'll need is there. The weather is perfect, the neighbors are wonderful and the beach down the road (Hanalei) was recently named the best beach in the USA. Thanks for another couple of weeks in paradise...Randy & Mary H.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect home away from home in paradise!

Review submitted: July 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

The Tiki Tower was just perfect! It was super clean, beautiful, and very comfortable! We could not have asked for a better place to stay or a nicer family to rent from! Tonya, the owner, and her daughter Ahlea emailed us with many helpful tips and things to do on the island! The Tiki Tower was very quiet and peaceful with gorgeous ocean and mountain views. We walked to the beach and to the nearby shopping center almost everyday (for delicious shave ice)! We are already talking about another Kauai vacation next year and will be staying at the Tiki Tower again! Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guest Book Comment

Review submitted: June 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

Thank you very much for the wonderful stay. The Tiki Tower provided a wonderfully cozy accommodation for my wife and I, our two kids (ages 5 and 2), my wife's parents, her brother and his girlfriend. The amenities were all very nice and the main living space super light and airy.

Although the trail to the beach was a bit too steap for the little ones, the house was only a 7 to 10 minute walk for the grown ups. Both kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool.

All in all, the Tiki Tower helped make our stay one we will remember always. Thank you very much.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Tiki Tower experience

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

Lovely vacation, The Tiki Tower had everything you could possible need and more! Very accomodating owner! We loved Hanalei, keep going north passed FoodLand. Having the house # to get the discounts at FoodLand was a bonus too! The selection of DVD's kept my youngest busy at night...place is great for a gathering, as friends stayed in a condo, and didn't have nearly the space we had. It was very nice to be walking distance to the shops, my husband and I would escape in the mornings for coffee at the "gas station".....great homemade cookies and breakfast burritos...thanks for that tip Tonya! I love the Hawaiian's so very friendly! We didn't explore half the island...so we plan on coming back! We are pretty much in agreement that the Tiki Tower is the best place we've rented in Hawaii yet!! Though we did have rain and were warned that the North does experience rain, wouldn't trade it as the scenery in the South doesn't compare to the lushness of the North....hey, that is very appropriate since we are Canadians! Thank-you Tonya we appreciated the use of your place! Jacky/Cory/Graham and Patrick - Surrey, BC Canada

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

We enjoyed our week stay at the Tiki Tower. Princeville is a quiet, relaxing oasis. We participated in some great activities - a sunset cruise along the Na Pali Coast, a helicopter ride over the island, snorkling at Anini Beach and drinks at sunset at the St Regis and Westin Hotels. Everyone enjoyed hanging out in the great kitchen where we cooked many meals. Hope to be back someday soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 17, 2009   Date of arrival: June 17, 2009

We all had a great time and look forward to returning to Hawaii. Your house was perfect, it was a great home away from home. It has everything you could want and was very comfortable, a great place to return to after a long day of playing. Our favorite things to do were Kipu Falls and snorkeling at Tunnels beach. Kipu falls is a bit of a drive from the Tiki Tower but if you need a break from the saltwater it is a great attraction especially with teenagers (and it’s free).Again the house is just great, you really have perfected the island vibe. With all your tips and info it would be hard to improve on anything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We all love the Tiki Tower! It was perfect for our family of 5. The weather did not cooperate on this trip so we were thrilled to have such a lovely place to stay. The top floor is the PERFECT place to hang out. We did a lot of cooking and it really had everything we needed. The DVD's were a hit with the kids (ages 15, 13 & 8). When the sun would break through we'd head to the nearby beaches. Mo'ola beach was our favorite place to just sit and relax. The grocery store was great (don't forget to take the discount card with you that is at the house!) and we hope to come back when the sun is shining. Thanks for a wonderful, beautiful, clean, well-stocked place to stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 5, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We were blessed to have spent two weeks of rest
and relaxation on Kauai at the Tiki Tower home.
This was our second trip to the island and the
accommodations of the house far exceeded our
expectations.

We had previously stayed a week at the Hyatt and
also rented another house in Princeville for a week
-three years prior. The Tiki Tower, by far, was
more well equipped for anything we needed or
could possibly have desired. The owners have done
an amazing job of capturing the peace and
tranquility of the island, while decorating the house
with an island feel, but with all the contemporary
extras. It was like having a home away from home.

The house is situated with a fantastic view of both
the mountains and the ocean, with access to Anini
Beach a short walk away. We loved being so close
to all the North beaches - a snorkelers delight. The
grocery store and a great ice cream shop are just a
short 10 minute walk away. The location of the
house allows you to see the sun rise just outside
the living room window, while enjoying that first
cup of coffee. The house was perfect for two
families (6 people) and was open with a very casual,
comfortable feel. The trade winds are captured
perfectly, due to the location and elevation of the
house. We were comfortable in every area of the
home.

Thank you Tonya & Steve for being so gracious in
your accommodations and in helping us prepare for
our vacation. Your tips, suggestions and all the
extras truly made our experience a wonderful one.
We look forward to booking our next trip and
staying in your home again in the future. Mahalo
nui loa!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 7, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

An amazing retreat with a funky vibe and great treasures from around the world. My family, 2 kids and 2 adults stayed with my parents so 6 of us in all for 7 days. This place is equipped right down to the last details. Our kids really enjoyed the beach toys, boogie boards, pool toys and the DVD's. We were never board. It really helped not having to bring a baby bed, baby gate, etc.... Thank You for the great memories. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 5, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

Wow! We had such a wonderful stay at Tiki Tower. It is well equipped and beautifully decorated, we felt right at home! We really appreciated the proximity to many attractions including Hanalei Bay, Anini Beach, the park (for the kids), restaurants and shops! We could not ask for anything more...except more time! Thank you very much for an unforgetaable experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 20, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

We stayed in the delightful Tiki Tower over my grandchildren's spring break and it had plenty of room for the 7 of us. Everything was very clean and very tastefully decorated. There were lots of beach toys and beach chairs which we really appreciated. The 2 sets of stairs were not a problem and its was hard to tell who was up first --- the grandchildren or the rooster. We love the location in Princeville and the Hanalei area but if you want to drive to the West shore it's not a problem. Thank you Tonya for our wonderful stay in the Tiki Tower.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 17, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We just returned from an 8 night stay at the Tiki Tower. This place is everything they claim it to be. It is beautifully decorated, quiet and immaculate. The owners have kept it well stocked with "the little things" such as plenty of dishwashing detergent, laundry detergent, plastic baggies, alum. foil, spices, etc. The kitchen has just about everything you could imagine and in fine working order as well. ALL of the dishes, glassware, utensils, etc. were SPOTLESS. The beds are very comfortable and the pillows were WONDERFUL! Beach accesories such as chairs, beach towels, beach mats and even some children's beach toys are provided. All of these items were in good shape as well. The ONLY negatives would be the presence local roosters (they are very common in Kauai) who like to crow at approx. 6 a.m. and the fact that the property is 3-tiered and has 2 flights of stairs. Other than that, this place is a gem!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 13, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Thanks for sharing your Kauai townhome with us...it was very comfortable for the six of us (three couples). We appreciated the concept of: use what is there, replace what you run out of. It's nice not to have to purchase things like salt & pepper and worcestershire sauce, etc. The free internet and long distance was a bonus and much appreciated. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-week stay on Kauai. We went on a helicopter tour, a boat cruise, zip-lining, hiking, to the lighthouse, the Fern Grotto, Queen's Bath, a luau at the Princeville Hotel, saw Waimea canyon, swimming at Hanalei Bay....and we found "Puff" & "the sleeping indian".....never did spot the "sleeping giant" though. We bbqd at the pool and swam & sunbathed there a couple of times. The scenery on Kauai is really quite spectacular.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 9, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Stayed from 6/30/07 to 7/07/07. Awesome vacation and excellent accommodations. It felt like a treehouse with the birds and the view.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 13, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

I booked the house for my family to day for my wedding at the Princeville. We loved the house! It was a great place to stay and every possible amenity was available. We will be back and look forward to staying there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 13, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

What an amazing vacation on Kauai. The Kauai Tiki
Tower was incredible. Everything we could ever
need or want on our family vacation. I highly
recommend Kauai and the kauaitikitower. The walk
on the trail, eating mangoes freshly fallen from the
trees, ending up on a private beach full of fun.
Anini Beach is heaven on Earth. Mahalo Tonya

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 3, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

My husband and I and our children enjoyed a wonderful week in Kauai. The Tiki Tower is extremely comfortable, well equipped and in a great location on the North Shore. We appreciated the very nice remodel. The kitchen is fantastic, with all the equipment you could need to whip up some wonderful meals. It was very handy having the beach mats and boogie boards there for our use. We definitely recommend a stay at Tiki Tower for visitors looking for a comfortable and relaxing home away from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 13, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

Wow, What a relaxing Vacation!! This was such a treat to stay at a Villa that was so clean and decorated so beautiful. The beds were so comfy. It was perfect accomodations for the 6 adults. We all had our own room to relax. The island of Kauii certainly has the tropical beauty we dream of and we loved the peaceful beauty of the north shore. We are planning our next trip back! Thanks Michelle & Mark Lies in Montana

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 13, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

My sister and I were in need of some serious R&R. We spent 5 wonderful days at the Tiki Tower. It was such a quiet, peaceful place. The home was so warm and inviting, and had every accomodation imaginable. The owners of this place thought of everything. I can't wait to go back this summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 7, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

This was our 3rd trip to the Islands, but our 1st adventure on the Garden Island of Kauai. The accomodations exceeded our expectations with everything we needed. The "hide away" villa was peaceful, spotlessly clean, and beautifully decorated - perfect for our group of 6 adults. We loved the tropical laid back feeling of Kauai, the beautiful beaches and the amazing scenery of the North Shore. We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 10, 2006   Date of arrival: December 1, 2006

This was the best vacation stay we have had in a long time. A lot of our group stayed at the Princeville Hotel but they all wanted to "hang" at our vacation rental. All the amenities you could think of and gorgeous surroundings to boot. The 3rd floor is set up so well for entertaining we had a dinner party for the wedding party. The scenic trail to the beach is worth the hike and the pool was perfect for the kids to enjoy. Thank you for a great time and for stocking the "little" things like bug repellant.
We hope to come out for a special anniversary trip next year.

Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review