reviews for: listing #46015 - Chicago, Illinois House rental

Family Retreat Near Downtown Chicago, McCormick Place, Parks
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Riverside Homes
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $600 /nt
    $2,400 - $3,500 /wk
    $5,000 - $14,000 /mth

sort by:

Family Vacation in Chicago

Review submitted: August 1, 2014   Date of arrival: July 25, 2014

This place fit the needs of our extended family of 12 aged 2 to 72 years old. The kitchen counter and DR table allowed our family to all eat at one time. We also used the deck for dining.
The location provides close access to the CTA for museums, etc. but also means constant motor noise. The neighborhood is a mix of fairly new residential mixed with heavy industrial which is not pleasant.
We got take out from Chinatown and also ate dinner there one night.
Family members enjoying walking and running in the neighborhood: 3 miles to Lake Michigan, 2 miles Comiskey Park and former Mayor Daley's home.
The Wifi does not work well. There are lines across the TV.
The place lacks some basics like soap (bar soap, dish detergent, sponges for washing dishes, etc) and paper products (enough toilet paper and paper towels).

Note to owner: the place needs some painting, nicks on furniture repaired, and basement curtain rod tension repaired.

Owners response: Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Chicago and our house. I am sorry for any inconveniences. I wish I would have known you needed some instructions to find the dish soap refill for the counter bottle and the hand soaps in all the bathrooms, during your stay. We do not provide soap bars and we informed you before your arrival. The paper towels and toilet paper are always in the house with one extra roll. Since we have different number of people and different length of stays, we leave a standard amount of supplies and leave up to the guests to purchase additional supplies if needed. The basement blinds usually stays down for the privacy reasons and since it is not moved a lot, it gets a bit harder to pick it up. But you always have a choice to close and open the blinds with the control stick which works fine. The place gets the refreshing treatment every year after the peek season ( Jan, Feb). Thats when we paint, repair and change things if needed. I will keep your notes in mind when we evaluate the house and decide what needs to be done.
Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0



Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

Luv the place!
My college friends and I have used VRBO in the past for get- togethers: fom San Fran to MI every 3 months... and we fell in love with with this place! It has ample parking space, and the house itself was large enough that we didn't have to sacrifice our own individual space. The neighborhood was quiet, and it was a stone's throw away from all the parks and museums, and downtown. The kids went to the museums, while the adults went shopping downtown... eventhough that it was near in the center of the city, the house feels like "home". It was also accessible by bus and the El. Vaeda was very accommodating: she was very helpful in guiding us during our weekend get-away. We recommend this place to everyone who wants to come to Chicago, and experience city life to its finest!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Oh, Geraldine, I am so thankful for a nice word. I am glad you and your friends had fun and enjoyed the house. Thank you for taking a good care of the house. It looked very clean as my cleaning crew reported :).You and your group always welcome to our vacation rental.
Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Great place to stay in Chicago

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

We were a group of 9 adults, an executive coach and 8 candidates to MBA visiting MBA programs in Chicago and Ann Arbor.
Good: the house was gorgeous. the neighborhood seem a little out of the way at the beginning but when you are driving it results in the middle of everything and very convenient. A friend that used public transportation to visit us told me that it was easy to get there also by public transportation but I recommend having a car, not only for the house but for the city. It was very clean. The floors perfect. The living very nice. the dinning room great. The kitchen precious. Great china, cuttlery and rest of the equipment. the rooms were very nice. Great bedspreads, clean bathrooms, great towels, good lighting on the house.
Problems: there were not enough linens in the house. There should be at least 3 more complete sets of sheets and blankets. They did not leave a nice welcoming gift to us like in San Francisco (wine) so we missed it. We could never operate the alarm system, there should be better instructions. There was not any bathroom soap and that was not nice either. One expects soap at least if not shampoo and conditioner. There should be at least two additional chairs for the dinning table, as it can sit 10-12 people but there are not more chairs. I would have loved to find some place mats for the dining table to protect it. I missed some additional kitchen knifes and an icecream scoop.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Lovely property

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

We are a family of 9 from UK and stayed here in August . Lovely house and close to transport. Very clean and spacious and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would highly recommend.

Owners response: Thank you very much for a good word. I am pleased to know that you had a good time and enjoyed your visit as well as your stay.
Thank you

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Great Stay for Game at Soldier Field

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

We had a group of 12 guys looking for a convenient place to stay for a game at Soldier Field. This property was perfect for us for many reasons.

Perhaps most important for us, it is very conveniently located as it is located on the Orange Line (from Midway to Downtown) and a only short walk to Dominic's (full grocery store.) The train ride to town was cheap and easy and we used it liberally.

Also, the house was very clean and had everything we needed throughout the weekend. In fact, it was exactly as advertised, dealings with the owner/rentor were very easy, and everyone had a great time.

I would not hesitate to stay there again, especially with a larger group.

Owners response: Richard,

Thank you so much for a great words. I do appreciate it. It would be my pleasure to accommodate such a friendly group again. If you are ever in Chicago again, I would love to accommodate you any time.
Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9


A family wedding in Chicago

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

Our son was getting married in Chicago so our family of 12 needed a place to stay. After looking through the home away properties and reading the reviews we chose to stay here.

We needed a place to hold a reception the night before the wedding with the brides family. The open main floor plan was perfect. There were 18 of us who had a buffet meal.

Everything was as pictured. Vaida was excellent to deal with. We had trouble with one of the two hot water heaters and contacted her on Friday evening. She had a repair crew out on Saturday. Because of the two water heaters we were still able to get all of our showers in the two other bathrooms-( only the downstairs was affected.)

We enjoyed watching the Cardinals play in one of their playoff games in the media room.

We would definitely stay here again. It was more affordable than getting three separate hotel rooms, plus we were able to fix many of our meals in the kitchen.
There are two ovens. Also, note that there are two washers and two dryers if you have a large group.

We were able to go to the Field Museum on the morning before the wedding. It took us about 15 minutes to get there. We also had to pick up some guest from the Midway Airport. It was about the same. The wedding was at the Chicago Cultural Center and it was about 20 minutes.

We used the GPS to find the Dominics grocery store. It has everything.

Just a note- this is a four level unit with stairs going up to the front door. Though most of us in our party were agile my parents, both in their 70's would have preferred no steps. Not complaining, just an observation if this would present a problem for your group.

Have a great time in Chicago!!!

Owners response: I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the house and had a wonderful wedding.Thank you for taking care of the property like it was your own. I hope you will be coming back to visit us again.

Helpful votes: 10 / 11


Want to live like a king? Stay here!

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

This place is AWESOME! I stayed here with a group of friends over St Patricks day weekend. First off, the owner made the whole process of booking and checking in completely pain free. The owner's description of the place is entirely accurate. The pictures give you a great idea of what to expect when you arrive. The layout of the house was great, it's very open and spacious. Getting downtown was a short and cheap cab/train ride away. I enjoyed my stay here and would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

Owners response: Thank you very much for a great review and a great care of the property. I would welcome your group any time.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9


Spacious Vacation Abode

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

The vacation home mentioned above was well worth the convenience and near location to the city of Chicago's tourist destinations. The family retreat was cozy and the family especially enjoyed the living room fireplace. The check in instructions were hassle free and deposit returned promptly. I highly recommend this semi secluded vacation home for an enjoyable family stay in Chicago,IL.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7


Great guys retreat

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 14, 2011

The description is accurate. It is located in a "blue collar" part of town that we always felt safe in, and quite enjoyed. Vaida was very patient with my questions and was pleasant and trustworthy to deal with.
There is tons of room in this house, and the HD TV, sauna, deck are as advertised. We all felt very comfortable there and enjoyed our stay.

This is a great place for a big group that is close to downtown, and very close to the public transportation system.

Minor cons were: The main floor couch had a significant rip in it and the bottom floor couch was older and not inviting to sit in. The A/C system didnt seem to send air to the upstairs, and it got hot at night. There is signicant noise nearby as the freeway/train/and "L" are close by. Once inside the house the noise is close to gone except for the 2 upstairs rooms facing it could hear some in early evening.

This is a great place for a large group, and I would recommend it to others. Thanks Vaida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Rob,
As of Oct 13th. The ripped couch has been replaced with the new sectional and the ottoman.

Thank you for leaving the house clean. I do appologize for the concerns you had. There where couple things that I dont have a controle of. As I mentioned, the couch is beeing replaced. The previes tenants damaged the couch and it takes two months to get it delivered. We should have a new sofa by the mid of Oct. The noise outside is what we get with the city living and the convenience of public transportation with in walking distance. The air conditioning was working fine, since I found it set on 56 degrees. The upstairs was freezing when I came in to check the house. I most definatly will try to make the downstairs coach more inviting. I am glad you had a great stay and will welcome your group any time you will be coming in to town

Helpful votes: 13 / 13


Convenient location with room to spare

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

We needed a place to stay with space for 10 and this property more than fit the bill. The listing is accurate. The furnishings and amenities are clean and well maintained. There's plenty of room for parking outside. And we appreciated the easy access to the Ashland elevated train station. Communication with the owner Vaida was quick and clear. I think I appreciated the open communication the most. Thanks for a great stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for taking times to write the review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great time in Chicago. Feel free to contact us any time you come back and need accommodations for your stay.
Thank you

Helpful votes: 7 / 7


Bridgeport Beauty

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

My football teammates and I were in town for a weekend tournament. This was the perfect spot. All 12 of us slept comfortably. The place was very clean and Nicely furnished. We were initially concerned about the distance from the city.Not a problem at all. We had rental cars and the metro was close. We didnt get a chance to take advantage of the awesome deck, but some of us used the sauna which was very relaxing after playing football all day long. I have no complaints at all about this place. Overall, great experience and I expect we will try and occupy the place again next year. Thanks to the Owner for prompt communication and making the overall experience very easy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Trey,

Thank you very much for a great review. I am glad you and your teammates enjoyed your stay and had a good time in Chicago. I believe you even had the weather cooperating as well :). If you ever coming back to the city, please feel free to contact us again.
Thank you

Helpful votes: 7 / 7


It was all we hoped for - and more!

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

lovely home on the south side where new homes are being built in what was formerly a heavy industrial area. The traffic noise at night might be bothersome to some people who are light sleepers/easily bothered by noise at night. The listing photos are accurate. The house wsa clean and well-maintained. The owner was very patient with all of my questions and concerns. I would recommend this property to anyone. We drove the short distance to the Halstead El station, paid four dollars for twelve hours of parking and took the orange line to connect us to city sights.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your review. I do apologize for the noises that bothered you at night. Thank you for leaving the house in impeccable condition. I would be glad to rent my house to your group again.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7


Reviews are the subjective opinions of travelers and not of, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review