reviews for: listing #46041 - Hood River, Oregon House rental

Panorama Lodge
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $445 - $565 /nt

sort by:

Second stay just as enjoyable!

Review submitted: August 22, 2014   Date of arrival: July 28, 2014

We held our family reunion here for the second year in a row and found it just as charming and comfortable as last year! There were 14 adults, three toddlers and an 8 week old and we used every bit of the space. The large tables and deck seating and the large well-equipped kitchen made for ease of meal preparation for the dinner teams. There are many wonderful hikes within a reasonable drive of Panorama Lodge and in Hood River we had two playgrounds for the toddler outings. Rosauer's and Safeway are great grocery stores not too far away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: The lodge is most content when it can hear the laughter of friends within. I am pleased we could host this family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couples Retreat

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

We recently stayed @ Panorama Lodge for several nights. There were 12 of us couples from our church who are friends & also on an planning committee. The lodge is quaint, & full of charm. There was more than enough room for all our needs. The kitchen was great, living room wonderfully large. We played card games alot & the table was a great size for 12. The view is absolutely incredable. It's amazing. We didn"t want to leave because the weather was perfect for sitting on the spacious deck, enjoying humming birds & Mt. Hood. There is plenty of sleeping room but going into this you must know there are only 4 bathrooms. So there is sharing. We knew that before hand so it was fine. We worked around it. The view makes up for it. The owner Linda lives next door & is great if you need her but other than that you don"t know shes there. Wonderful stay

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm glad you all enjoyed the Lodge. And I am always making improvements. I hope you can come back sometime. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great spot for small family reunion

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

We had thirteen adults and 3 toddlers here for five nights. It was an ideal floor plan for our group, with plenty of beds, a room on the main floor for the oldest group member so she didn't have to climb stairs up or down.

Recommendation: air conditioning on the lowest level. It was very hot, even with portable fans.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for choosing Panorama Lodge. The sound of laughter here is one of the Lodges favorite summer sounds. I have already procured one more AC unit for lower level and should have a shade sail for the deck within the week. I'm afraid that blistering summer days will certainly be back. I hope you can return next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful View Wonderful Service

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

We stayed the weekend at the Panorama Lodge with our 16 month old baby. It's a wonderful location with beautiful views of Mt Hood and the Hood River Valley. Close to town for a quick dinner out. But quiet and relaxing. Very clean with great breakfasts. We loved the lodge log home feel. It was warm and cozy and easy to feel at home. We felt welcomed and had a blast hanging out with the other guests. :o)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: That's how those "extended families" are created. Thanks for bringing the little guy. He is destined to be an entertainer, no doubt. He sure stole my heart!

(By the way, we have many return guests from B&B days. Though breakfast may be available, the price of catered breakfast is not included in listing.)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Polar Express weekend with Family

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

This was a great house for our Polar Express train trip. We had 19 people and felt very comfortable, with room if we had more. The house had a great views and a very welcoming feel. It was very close and convenient to downtown Hood River, but you still felt like you were away in the woods.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Santa's elves create a lot of magic in the Valley. The Polar Express goes by near the Lodge and stops over by The Fruit Company in Pine Grove where Santa himself makes an appearance. This family had kids with smiles ear to ear after making that little excursion. I love the fact that we can be a part of that magic. I hope you can come back in the summer when Thomas the Train comes to town. And, of course, there are the trains that get robbed by masked persons on horseback. Great fun in the Hood River Valley.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful rustic lodge

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the lodge and had an amazing experience. The view from our room of Mt. Hood was breathtaking. The lodge was clean and the staff are very friendly. I would highly recommend a stay at this lodge!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is a joy to host people dedicated to living life to the max. Bring that puppy back (after it is fully housetrained.) I want to watch your "family" grow. There might just be room for an iguana in that mix.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect family getaway

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

I spent the weekend at the most warm and welcoming lodge in Hood River! I surprised my family for a weekend away and was pleasantly surprised by finding this gem. The Lodge is enormous and has the best views when the weather allows.
The price was affordable and the company was delightful. Linda, the caretaker, is the sweetest woman and welcomed our family like one of her own. The lodge is about 3 minutes outside of downtown HR and that suits me just fine. The wildlife and the view of the mountain are simply outstanding, as there are swarms of beautiful finches and humming birds around to greet you whenever you want to gander at the beauty surrounding this space. The fire pit was exactly what we needed to warm up on a brisk night.
We will surely be back.....thank you for such a wonderful time. ;)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hey, I realize some part of your hearts never really left the Lodge. It is the groups that fill the place with all that love and laughter who leave the most items behind. Tee hee. Your belongings are on their way to your home via USPS . . . Be sure to come back. Bring bicycles. The nearby Twin Tunnels Trail feels a little abandoned when happy feet are not enjoying it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love this place!

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

We had a family reunion at Panorama Lodge this summer, and it was wonderful. Plenty of room for 19 people, beautiful view from an awesome deck, ample kitchen space and plenty of charm. We would definitely return, if our travel plans take us back to Hood River.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have hosted several reunions this summer. They have all been quite active. White water kayakers, lots of hikers and a few couples rented bicycles. Our little part of the world has a lot to offer.

Thank you for staying at Panorama Lodge! And please come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

We had a large family gathering at this location the Winter of 2012. The lodge was amazing. Plenty of space for our large group, the view is breathtaking. Very accommodating. I will be coming back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

We just had our family reunion at this location with 12 children 9 and under and 12 adults. It worked out very well. We took one trip away from the lodge for a portion of each day and then returned to relax on the deck, talk, and enjoy the scenery which simply can't be overstated. We cooked breakfasts and dinners at the lodge and the kitchen was open and equipped sufficiently for several of us to cook & serve buffet style.

There were plenty of nearby places to visit and many more that we would liked to have visited. We have already discussed the possibility of returning for our next reunion in 2013.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Our Lodge works well for extended families, whatever their roots. The sound of laughter from the deck is always a joy to hear.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun and quirky

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

We had our annual family get together at the Lodge this past weekend. The lodge's setup was ideal for us: kids on the bottom floor with easy access to run outside, a large gathering area and well stocked kitchen on the middle floor, and bedrooms for the "quiet" crew upstairs. One of our group wandered around for the better part of an hour just looking at the decor. She dubbed it "ye olde curiosity cabin", with something to look at around every corner. The view was peek-a-boo with the pouring rain and rolling fog, but we remained warm and cozy in the lodge. We greatly enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect for a large family

Review submitted: December 20, 2010   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

This is a lovely log cabin, comfortable, great floor plan, lots of seating in the great room and handled our rather large family perfectly. We used all 7 bedrooms for the adults and put kids on pull out or other extra beds. Linda, the owner, was extremely helpful, especially when we had a little snow storm and several 2-wheel drive vehicles to get down the hill. We hope to stay there again--maybe next Christmas if we can get the family all together again. I highly recommend the lodge. After it snowed, it was so beautiful and we felt like we were sitting on top of the world.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is always good to see the old sled getting a workout. This was a resourceful group. We hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

What a wonderful place to spend a vacation with friends! We all work hard and have rented this lodge three times just to come to the gorge for wind-surfing, hiking and bicycling.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review