reviews for: listing #460480vb - Lake Arenal, Costa Rica rental

Top Rated 5 STAR!!! 2 Bedroom with Adjoining Cottage And Pool.
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 175 - $ 240 / night
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Paradise in Costa Rica

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 26, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at "Pie-in-the-Sky" from 6/26-6/30. What a beautiful location. The view and the solitude at this place just can't be beat. You can sit out under a gazebo by the pool and watch the clouds roll over the volcano and the lake, all while enjoying the peace and quiet. We did hear howler monkeys in the mornings and there were always many different types of birds. The home is very nice with beautiful Guanacaste wood cabinets, furniture, trim and doors. The kitchen is very large and well appropriated with everything you might need. The two bedrooms each have their own split AC systems so we were always comfortable.
Nancy was very helpful at arranging a lot of the aspects of our trip. She arranged our rental car (Adobe Rental Car), a private driver (Platinum Tours) as well as reservations to the Sky Trek Zip Line and the horseback ride with Lelander to the private waterfall. Both of these are minutes away from the property and I highly recommend them. We have two teenagers (17 and 14) and they both loved these as well. For those of you who like a little exercise I recommend making a visit to the Arenal Observatory Lodge for the hike to Cerro Chato. This is about a 4 hour hike up to a water filled volcanic crater that you can swim in.
The driveway to the property is steep and if you have a standard transmission get ready for some excitement. I did stall out several times but eventually got the hang of it. Be sure to check out "Howler's Bar and Grill" which is just at the base of the driveway. We were able to enjoy beer and burgers while watching Costa Rica get one of their World Cup victories in soccer. Do your main grocery shopping in La Fortuna before heading out here because it is long drive back (30-40 minutes each way on bumpy roads). There is a small store just down the road that has a lot of basic things in case you forget anything at the supermarket.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family of five - traveling with Grandma and two Nina's

Review submitted: April 18, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

This place is amazing. Probably one of the most spectacular locations in the Arenal area. We had five in our party and it worked out great. Morning coffee by the pool with the kids swimming, howler monkeys howling and birds of all types flying by is not to be missed. Highly recommend four wheel drive for the piece of mind. Nancy is great and very helpful. Amazing views of volcano and lake. Close to sky trek and arenal park - both should also be on your itinerary.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad that you enjoyed our place and our village! You were wonderful guests and we are so glad to have had the chance to meet you!

Nancy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enjoyed every minute of it!

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the "Cottage in the Sky" for almost a week and didn't want to leave! I don't have 'one' favorite thing to say about this location, I have many. The sounds of the birds in the morning, the smells of the flowers that surround the whole property, the humming birds darting in and out of the flowery hedges, the beautiful wood work, the cool pool, the ever changing sky around the volcano, and the lake as it changes colors with the sky. And the Manager and her family were terrific! What ever we wanted to do, they planned for us, gave us directions, and sent us on our way. We went zip lining, hiking, horseback riding and to the hot springs. I have to say that the horseback ride with our local host Leelander was my favorite. He took us on a 3 hr ride over the mountains and through a couple rivers and around the bottom of the lake..... what views. Besides, we go to see a new born foal, only a few hours old. The Manager and her family were awesome and made us feel so welcome. When we left, it felt as if we were leaving behind old friends. I would recommend this place to anyone and would return soon if I could!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us! We are so grateful to have had you as guests! We appreciate you taking the time to write this beautiful review, as I am sure it will help others in the quest to find the perfect vacation place in Arenal. I do hope that you will return again someday.

Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Basically the most gorgeous view you will ever see

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few days during our honeymoon. The view of the lake and volcano are breathtaking to the point of being beyond description. I can not tell you how amazingly gorgeous this location is. We stayed in the smaller cottage (fair warning, it is very small, but it has everything you need and in La Fortuna you won't be spending a whole lot of time inside) and both buildings are beautifully made and the stonework including the pool are amazing. The managers were so wonderful and took care of every little need we had. They recommended activities that were perfect, and sent us horseback riding through the hills to a beautiful waterfall, which was one of the most amazing experiences I've ever had. The owner of the ranch they sent us to has even become a friend I think will be lifelong for us. The internet was not working properly one day and the manager (who assured us that there usually aren't any problems) went to extreme lengths to fix the issue for us. I don't have anything negative to say at all, but be prepared for the fact that the driveway is VERY steep. My wife and I travel extensively in Latin America and we rarely stay in the same place twice because we like new experiences, but this is a place we will definitely go again. One last note, the restaurant right at the bottom of the hill, howlers, is one of the best burger joints (if not the best) I have ever eaten at, and the owner is a just plain cool guy. Go here, and have fun!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Exceptional

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We were a family of 7 (five children). My wife and I stayed in the small cottage, and our 5 children stayed comfortably at the 2 bedroom house which has a very nice living area.

The private pool was spectacular! We woke to howler monkeys, a morning swim, before we began our activities.

We had a small issue when the rains came (and does it rain!). And Nancy corrected the problem immediately, even thought she was in the hospital.

If you want seclusion, this is the place.

Downside: the drive up to the cottage scared my wife to death. I took it as a challenge and somewhat enjoyed it (not bumpy, like many of the other roads in Costa Rica, but very steep, and slippery when wet). And the drive two-from El Castillo from the main road was about 30 minutes on a non-paved road, albeit not too many pot holes. But that is the cost of 100% seclusion in a jungle paradise (pictures tell the story).

Make sure to go to the eco zoo at night (we ate at the restaurant next to it and were able to hold the famous costa rica frog). and even the butterfly farm gave all of our children enjoyment (which was a surprise). and of course, the zip line is a must (only a few minutes away). But the greatest activity was Lelander and the horse outing. I told Nancy that of all the activities we did in Costa Rica, this was BY FAR the most exciting. Don't think that you are simply going on some dusty road. This is a true adventure, with fabulous horses and wonderful guides.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review