reviews for: listing #46055 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii Condo rental

Luxurious Upscale Oceanfront Condo with Fabulous View!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Kona Bali Kai
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $275 /nt
    $1,475 - $1,825 /wk
    $5,000 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 7, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Pack your swimsuit and shorts and your ready to stay in the most relaxing, romantic condo. Nothing and I mean nothing has been left out for the quests.The bed is amazing,the kitchen equipped for a chef and the view is picture perfect with dolfins , turtles sunsets and local surfers to entertain you all day long. Definately ,we will return to Kona's best.

Owners response: Thanks for taking such great care of the place!! It was really a pleasure having you as guests and nice meeting you both! Look forward to next time!!
Holly

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Our stay

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

Holly,

My wife and I wanted to take the time to say MAHALO from the bottom of our hearts. We had, by light years, THE BEST VACATION we have EVER had. Not only was it really good for our minds and bodies, but it was felt all the way to our souls. From playing with lava, to recording the sunset from Mauna Kea's Summit, to snorkeling, to the best surfing, by far, that I have ever enjoyed, to the most romantic dinner we could have ever hoped for for our anniversary. It was truly a magical vacation. It's not often that folks have a vacation that could change their lives, but this one very well may have. We are very grateful for the excellent accommodations as well.

The condo was absolutely wonderful and sleeping to the sound of those waves crashing was truly hypnotic and relaxing. You have done a great job of ensuring that it had all the conveniences and also a homey feel. Thank you so much for everything and we will stay in touch as we will definitely be back

Are you a realtor? We aren't selling everything tomorrow and moving, but the 5-10 year plan has probably just changed from North Carolina to you know where.

Thank you so much,
Tim and Michelle from Ohio

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Turtle ponds from Lanai!!

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

The condo location was perfect for rest and relaxation, complete with fabulous view and turtle ponds directly below the lanai! Perfect for a couple! Great king bed and updated kitchen made for cooking, every appliance or dish you would need.
Beautiful bathroom, tropical woods throughout the condo.
We would definitely stay here on our next trip to Hawaii!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PERFECTION!

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 23, 2014

If waking up to ocean sounds, and being able to have a cup of coffee while watching whales and dolphins play, and sea turtles basking in the sun, is what you dream of, than this unit is for you!

Everything you see in the pictures is what you really get. The unit has everything you need, plus!

LOVED IT!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A piece of paradise

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

This is a wonderful condo and we thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay. The photos accurately represent the property. The condo is very clean, well equipped and beautifully appointed. The ocean view from the lanai is spectacular. The condo is very quiet and private. An outdoor market is a short walk away as were two beaches... one with good swimming and the other for snorkeling. Hollie was very welcoming and helpful. This was a perfect choice for our stay on Big Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Yes Oceanfront Luxury!

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 5, 2013

The title describes this condo perfectly! This condo is every bit as wonderful as the pictures and more! The view is absolutely spectacular and the condo has everything you can imagine to make your stay wonderful! Holly was very friendly, helpful and easy to work with during the entire booking process. The only negative is the pool at this facility could be updated and is in between the street and the parking lot. But we went for the view and luxury of the condo not the pool! More than satisfied with this Condo!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WOW!

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 29, 2013

Everything about this place exceeded our expectations. The pictures we saw on the internet were absolutely accurate! Inside, this condo has everything one could need. Outside, the view from the balcony was breathtaking. To be able to lie in bed and listen to the surf each night was incredible and oh so relaxing. The building isn't the newest one on the block, but it is nicely maintained and frankly, who cares? We didn't sit and look at the building, we sat and gazed at the ocean and when we were inside, the decor was rich and well-appointed.

Holly was delightful and so easy to work with and we would highly recommend this property. We wish we could have stayed much longer, it really felt like home and we enjoyed it very much.

As far as attractions, we enjoyed a great day snorkeling at Kealakelua Bay and it was absolutely unbelievable! Volcanoes National Park is about 2.5 hours away, but well worth the trip. We enjoy cooking, so we didn't eat out much, however, if you want a great taco or burrito, Killer Tacos was maybe 5 miles away, near the Target, and we loved it.

We hestitate giving such a glowing review, because we might not be able to get this wonderful place the next time we want to come to Kona, but we sure appreciated the reviews that caused us to choose this incredible condo so it seems only fair to share our experience with others who are looking for a lovely, perfect place to stay. This is it.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Bob And Pam's Stay

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

The condo was much more than we could have hoped for. It was equipped with everything we could have wanted and the kitchen was truly a gourmet's delight! The description provided on the VRBO website was totally accurate and, if anything, fell short of fully describing just how top-notch this unit is!
We will definitely consider Kona Bali Kai property # 30790 whenever we return to Hawaii!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Found!

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2013

Wonderful! Wonderful! Wonderful! This beautiful condo exceeded all our expectations! We are now spoiled regarding the type of condo we will be vacationing in the future. This place is exactly like the pictures; unobstructed view of the ocean. Plus there is a small protected area where we saw sea turtles, reef fish and a large eel from the lanai. We left the lanai doors open every night and enjoyed the ocean sounds and breezes.
The interior is beautiful and the amenites were well thought out. Even plush beach towels, beach umbrella, small tote cooler, sun hat... I could go on.. were provided.
Holly was the best! Very gracious and attentive. We had one issue, a neighboring unit using a table saw, one phone call to Holly and the intermittent noise stopped for the rest of our stay. Thank you Holly!
Thank youfor making Tony's 50th Birthday so special. We look forward to returning, as iwe do not think we could vacation better than your place at Kona Bali Kai.
Tony & Tracy

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 9, 2013

Just absolutely loved this condo. It is everything you could expect, it is beautiful inside and out! We spent most of our time on the lanai in the comfy chairs just drifting away listening to the waves. The condo has everything you could need on your vacation, so just pack your swimsuit and you are good to go!
Holly is a delight to deal with so have full confidence in the process of renting this condo.... The only problem is that it looks like it fills up fast so you need to be quick to reserve!
I will certainly be staying here again next time I'm in Kona....

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

By far, one of the best condo we have stayed in.

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Kona Bali Kai condo. It is a very beautiful, extremely well appointed unit. Everything you could possibly need is there for you to enjoy. Great king size bed, and a fully equipped kitchen. We were on the large lanai most of the time, enjoying the view and the sunsets.
A great to come back to.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful getaway in a perfect location

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

This lovely condo offers a terrific view of the ocean. Turtles swim right into shore and you can see them feeding in the tide pool in front of the condo. The condo is located toward the south end of Alii drive which helps avoid the hustle and bustle (and noise) of downtown Kona. The condo is also located right next to the Poke Shack which offers some great options for lunch! The condo is very tastefully furnished, immaculate, has up-to-date appliances, and even has a nice assortment of beach toys and coolers for guests to use. The owner was very thoughtful in making sure that our stay was as pleasant as possible. We would happily stay here again -- and again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful, romantic condo with fantastic view

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

We had a wonderful 40th anniversary vacation. Holly even surprised is with a bottle of champagne to celebrate. This condo is even more beautiful in person as it is in the pictures. Holly has done an outstanding job in decorating this wonderful condo from the luxurious linens to the top notch, name brand cookware. Everything you need is right at your fingertips. The best part of our day after sightseeing was enjoying a glass of wine and watching the spectacular sunsets from our private lanai. If we are ever fortunate enough to return to Hawaii, we will definitely stay in Holly & Robin's romantic condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

My husband and I spent a memorable week on the Big Island, and our time at the condo was a highlight of our trip. Everything about the condo met our expectations, and was exactly as presented on the website. While we had a couple of issues during our stay (hot water heater and clothes dryer), everything was taken care of with a minimum of inconvenience. The best part of our stay was enjoying the ocean breezes from the covered deck. The deck furniture was so plush and comfortable we often woke early in the morning to sit on the deck loungers and watch the sunrise, and ended the day in much the same way, watching the sunset. We never had occasion to close the sliding doors as the weather was perfect throughout our stay - we felt as though we were camped out on the beach! We highly recommend taking in the South Point, volcanoes, botanical gardens and every beach you have time for. If you enjoy preparing a simple meal in a well-equipped kitchen, relaxing with a cup of coffee in the morning or a cocktail in the evening while you watch the sun rise or set, and falling asleep to the sound of the ocean waves, this is the place for you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a great review!! I so appreciate you taking the time to write it! Glad that you enjoyed the place and your vacation time on the Big Island! Hopefully, you'll come back for another visit?!

Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Kona Bali Kai

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

When doing a search for a location to stay in Kona I found this unit, it measured up to everything listed. This unit was clean, quiet and very well maintained. This unit was on the fourth floor with a full view of the ocean. We enjoyed having coffee on the lanai, dinners at sunset you couldn't ask for a better place to stay. The owners went to no limits in stocking with amenities that you would need for a visit, especially if you eat in. Having the cooler was a blessing on our day trips and having beach seats was a plus. I would recommend this unit to anyone that is planning a visit to this area. The bed was very comfortable, especially when you could lay in bed and watch the surf.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much Melinda for your awesome review! So glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to a return visit!

Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely week!

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: January 23, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful week in Hawaii. I chose this condo from the pictures and reviews and we were not disappointed. Holly was so nice to work with and the condo was very well stocked. The bed was quite comfortable. We cooked in most nights so that we could enjoy the gorgeous sunsets and crashing waves from our lanai. We even got to watch a sea turtle in the tidal pool below us. I would highly recommend this condo.

Owners response: Many mahalos for your review!! I hope that you will be able to come back for another visit sometime!

Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

the five star experience at Kona Bali Kia

Review submitted: December 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

I have been staying at the Kona Bali Kia for 20 years and this room just took my experince up a couple of levels.....the place to stay in Kona.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Tom!!! SO glad you found my website/condos!! Hope that I get to see you guys next year too!

Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We hope to return soon!

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

My husband and I loved staying at the Kona Bali Kai again. I have been going to the Kona Bali Kai since I was a toddler. It has such a beautiful view of the sunsets and is close to shopping and wonderful snorkeling. The room is perfect because it has a full kitchen and a very comfortable bed. We can't wait to come back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: So nice to meet you both and I'm glad your return visit to Kona Bali Kai was a good one! Lots of memories there for you! I hope that you come back and stay in one of my condos again on your next visit!!

Mahalo,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Royalty

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 29, 2011

My Husband and I stayed 8 nights in this AMAZING condo. We felt like royalty! Holly was so nice and accomodating from the very beginning. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed, there was everything we could think of or need. The staff at Kona Bali Kai was very nice and we enjoyed the inside of our condo as much as the outside, from the pool, little deli, grill, to the breath taking view of the ocean. We have memories to last a lifetime. Thank you Holly for creating a heavenly place it was could be Heaven all by itself. Our first trip to Hawaii was just what the doctor ordered.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your great review! I'm very happy that everything was to your liking and you had a good experience here in Hawaii!! Hopefully, you'll be back again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

a lovely condo, lives up to its website pictures and description

Review submitted: May 7, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

We have just spent a week at Holly's condo and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The furnishings were really comfortable and the bed was perfect. It was great to eat on the Lanai and watch and hear the ocean.
The kitchen was really well equipped and we ended up eating most of our meals outside on the Lani.
I fell in love with this place after looking at the pictures t on Mary's website and I can say that it lived up to our expectations. Mary was very helpful and kind with suggestions of places to go and things to see.
This was a great place and I hope we can return in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was great meeting you both and I'm so glad that you were pleased with the condo and enjoyed your visit!! I hope that you can return again as well and look forward to hearing from you!

Aloha,
Holly (alias, Mary. . . lol!!)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happiest Man in the world

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

I went to Hawaii for the first time to propose to my girl frend, and came back one satisfied Fiancee. The view in the add photo didn't do the condo justest, because pictures may say a thousand words, but it don't give you the sound of the waves, and the fill of the ocean brease. Once I walked through the condo and made my way to Lanai I knew where I was going to propose to my girl frend , I could have done it in the moring brease , the evening sunset or the midnight wash and wisper of the ocean, any time would have been the right time. Only 3 miles from the verity of resterants, shops and beaches up and down the cost. And the Owner was so helpful with direction on what to do and where to go. I already recommend this condo to frends and family, I look forward to my return for my anniversary with my new wife.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Congrats to you and Yolanda! I'm so happy that it turned out to be the right place and the right time for your proposal!! Definitely cool as an owner to be able to provide an inspiring venue for good old fashioned romance!!! I look forward to see you again as a married couple!

Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One Satisfied Fiancee

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

I went to Hawaii for the first time to propose to my girl frend, and came back one satisfied Fiancee. The view in the add photo didn't do the condo justest, because pictures may say a thousand words, but it don't give you the sound of the waves, and the fill of the ocean brease. Once I walked through the condo and made my way to Lanai I knew where I was going to propose to my girl frend , I could have done it in the moring brease , the evening sunset or the midnight wash and wisper of the ocean, any time would have been the right time. Only 3 miles from the verity of resterants, shops and beaches up and down the cost. And the Owner was so helpful with direction on what to do and where to go. I already recommend this condo to frends and family, I look forward to my return for my anniversary with my new wife.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One Satisfied Fiancee

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

I went to Hawaii for the first time to propose to my girl frend, and came back one satisfied Fiancee. The view in the add photo didn't do the condo justest, because pictures may say a thousand words, but it don't give you the sound of the waves, and the fill of the ocean brease. Once I walked through the condo and made my way to Lanai I knew where I was going to propose to my girl frend , I could have done it in the moring brease , the evening sunset or the midnight wash and wisper of the ocean, any time would have been the right time. Only 3 miles from the verity of resterants, shops and beaches up and down the cost. And the Owner was so helpful with direction on what to do and where to go. I already recommend this condo to frends and family, I look forward to my return for my anniversary with my new wife.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Romantic Condo on the Beach

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

The name of this condo should be called "Romantic Luxury Condo on the Beach". The photos did no justice for this condo. We stayed the week of April 6th, and from the second we walked in, we knew we belonged. The property was Very clean and it had all the amenities and necessities you could ever need, we truly felt at home. The owner Holly, provided with all the information we needed to make our stay in Hawaii, very memorable. The most exciting part of my stay was that my Boyfriend proposed to me on the lanai. Thank you for making our stay so special and we look forward to coming back for our 1 year wedding anniversary.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Romantic Condo

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

The name of this condo should be called "Romantic Luxury Condo". The photos did nothing for the condo. We stayed the week of April 6th, and from the second we walked in, we knew we belonged. The property was was Very clean and it had all the amenities and necessities you could ever need, we truly felt at home. The most exciting part of my stay was that my Boyfriend proposed to me on the lanai. Thank you for making our stay so special and we look forward to coming back for our 1 year wedding anniversary.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Yolanda! And it is always very exciting to hear that something so romantic took place while staying at the condo! I look forward to seeing you both again . . as a married couple!

Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy, comfy as you listen to the waves

Review submitted: March 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

My wife and I spent 4 nights here in late February and loved every minute. The unit is every bit as nice as the pictures make it look. The kitchen was well equipped and the bed was super comfortable. When we were not out and about we spent most of our time on the large lanai watching and listening to the surf. While poking around on the oceanfront lava the first day we counted 11 turtles in the shallows, some just a foot or two away.
Another thing I REALLY liked about this unit is this...almost all of the other units had a window on the walkway side and the front door was aligned to allow visibilty into the living area if either was open. This unit does not have the window (which is fine, there is no view to miss) and the door is offset. So If you have the door open for air flow, passersby can't see into the living area. They see a utility closet door. You have ultimate privacy.
I am not sure when we will visit the Big Island next because we like to mix it up, but we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much Jim for your wonderful review! I'm really glad that you enjoyed the condo and the resort residents (turtles) and hope that you do decide to come back to the Big Island again in the not too distant future!!!

Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

february 2 - february 23

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2011

Thank you Holly for the wonderful vacation we had in your lovely condo. It was exactly as advertised, well maintained, and I certainly would recommend it to friends and family. We hated to leave! It was 10 degrees and snowing when we got home!

We so enjoyed relaxing on the Lanai and watching the beautiful sunsets, the sea turtles, whales, surfers,and listening to the waves. The condo is in a perfect spot for observing salt water fish, sea turtles, whales, and collecting sea shells. We saw a whale come completely out of the water the day before we left!! We enjoyed 7 rounds of golf on many beautiful courses, saw Volcano National Park, and toured the north and east sides of the Island--beautiful scenery.

The food was excellent. The book you prepared with recommended resturants was very helpful. We especially liked the Kona Inn, Bubba Gumps, Pesto's, and Keei's Cafe. Your kitchen in the condo was a pleasure to cook in and we made use of the barbeque grills outside as well.

These are just a few of the highlights of our stay. Thanks again for everything. We had a great time.

Bonnie & Jim

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your great and thorough review!! I appreciate it very much, and so will other potential guests!! It really sounds like you had a great vacation and I'm thrilled to hear it! You did the island up right, that's for sure!

Aloha!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A trip to paradise

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 23, 2011

Holly,

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your paradise for 9 beautiful days. The condo, amenities, beach, pool, ocean breezes were all fantastic. Every thing we needed and more was supplied at the condo. We enjoyed reading the books on sites to see and restaurant reviews.

We highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review!!! So glad you enjoyed yourselves and the condo and I hope you can come back for another visit soon!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great condo and location

Review submitted: December 30, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

The condo was very clean, quiet, and well-equipped. All the essentials were provided, the owner met us when we arrived and she made us feel welcome. The location was the perfect distance to the town/shops, while it still felt like you were away from it all. We enjoyed the privacy on the beach at the Kona Bali Kai and we loved the view from the lanai. Highly recommend the Lava Java for outstanding coffee, food, and service!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to post your review! So glad that you enjoyed the condo and the area and I hope you can make it back for another visit soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Kona Retreat

Review submitted: December 18, 2010   Date of arrival: December 7, 2010

We were looking for a special getaway for a significant celebration when this condo was recommended by a discriminating long-time friend. My husband likes to surf and as we are both active, Kona looked like a great spot to begin our acquaintance with the Big Island. The condo is perfectly appointed with every convenience of home as well as the beach accessories which make a beach vacation more comfortable. Our view of the Hawaiian sunsets and the tidepool with sea turtles was unmatched at any other location we visited. We prepared delightful meals with vegetables gathered at the farmer's market, and had the option to walk into town to see the latest happenings in Kona (including the Christmas Parade). Great swimming and snorkeling beaches are also nearby. All in all, it was a great location to launch our explorations of the island as well as be within the Kona community. We look forward to returning and highly recommend it for its comfort and conveniences. Holly and Robin have created a wonderful place for you to enjoy!!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Jacqui for writing your great review!! I'm glad you enjoyed the condo and Kona and hope that you can come back for many more visits! And maybe that discriminating friend too!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Superior condo and wonderful hostess

Review submitted: December 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

I don't know whether to start my accolades about this condo or about Holly, our hostess. Both deserve superlatives but I guess you are reading this to find out about the condo! We postponed a 50th wedding anniversary trip last year to go to Hawaii this year.
The condo is so well equipped that I don't know where to begin. The bed is heavenly (much better than ours at home); the kitchen has everything that you could wish for (designer dishes, Calphalon knives, all spices, crystal glasses (Holly provided chilled champagne for our belated anniversary). She left other "goodies", also! The bathroom has a wonderful, large shower; everything you need is provided. And surprise, surprise - there were 2 robes (palm tree design, of course, as the condo is done with them!) and 2 sarongs.

Don't stop at WalMart (or wherever) until you check to see all the things that Holly has provided - much more than most rentals.

I was sold on this condo when I saw the pictures of the lanai. It did not disappoint. We watched the turtles in the tide pool (which Holly showed us the first day) and the surfers in the adjacent inlet. The lanai was my spot for Kona coffee in the early morning. But sitting on those huge chaises at night and listening to the surf while watching the palms sway - it doesn't get any better than that.

I don't want you to think that this condo is just for old folks - it's a perfect, cozy condo for young couples - a great honeymoon spot. Just sit on the chaises, hold hands and enjoy!

Back to Holly - have you ever met someone with personality plus? Well, she is better than that! Our arrival was delayed because our luggage didn't arrive when we did but she waited to personally show us everything that we needed to know about the condo (and those fancy light switches needed some explaining!). I even called her later for help with my Internet connection and she came back to the condo. I learned a lot from her; I will use it in our own condo in FL although, living in TN, I am not able to provide her personal touch!

I could go on, but I am near my allotment of words. This condo may be more expensive than other one bedroom oceanfront units but go for it and tell Holly hello for us when she greets you upon arrival. You will be glad that you chose to stay here.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Well, Lee Ann, I don't think I've ever had such a wonderful and complimentary review!!! I appreciate all your words pertaining to me and the condo very much. . . .you guys were a delight. I'm so happy that you chose our condo to spend your 51st wedding anniversary in and I know you said that you doubted that you'd be making the trip again. . . you never know, right?
Take care of yourselves and have wonderful holidays!!

Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Highlight of the Trip!

Review submitted: June 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

416 Ali'i condo was the best! Beautifully furnished and the view is to die for. Did a ton of exploring on the island, driving more that 500 miles, but coming home to this pristine abode each day may have been the highlight. Lanai has the prefect view. Bed is the most comfortable that I have slept in in years. Wood and tile is gorgeous. Will visit again for sure. Spend the the few extra bucks folks, it is well worth it.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

416 Ali'i condo was the best! Beautifully furnished and the view is to die for. Did a ton of exploring on the island, driving more that 500 miles, but coming home to this pristine abode each day may have been the highlight. Lanai has the prefect view. Bed is the most comfortable that I have slept in in years. Wood and tile is gorgeous. Will visit again for sure. Spend the the few extra bucks folks, it is well worth it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful condo during our week long vacation in April 2010. The view from the lanai was amazing and the perfect backdrop to breakfast every morning. Anything we could ask for was provided to us in this beautifully furnished space - from beach chairs to a flashlight. During the week we explored every corner of the island, and every night we looked forward to returning to this lovely condo, taking a hot shower, and falling asleep to the sound of the waves. We truly felt at home. Thanks Holly!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Tina & Peter for submitting your great review! I'm really glad that you liked the place, and I hope you return again soon!
Mahalo,
Holly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: January 18, 2010

It's pretty hard to improve on Penny's
comments......High quality condo, all
the upgrades, all the necessities,
fully equipped kitchen, not to mention
the fabulous view and location on Alii Dr.
I would not hesitate to return, hopefully
the next time for a month. Many thanks,
Holly!! Jean

Owners response: Thank you Jean! I hope that you are able to return for a month maybe next year!? I'd like to come and check out your place in Yountville as well! It looks fabulous!(Bordeaux House Bed & Breakfast)
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

We loved this place, right on the ocean and on the top floor - a real 'penthouse' experience. Like everyone else we found the decor, appliances, furnishing and loved all the details like cookware, utensils, and towels (even beach chairs!) right at our fingertips. We'll be back!

Owners response: Thank you so much for writing the comments. . .and for staying in the condo! Hope to see you again soon!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 23, 2009   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

People always make the comment you don't spend time in your room anyway so it does not matter what it is like. That is not true for us, we love nice surroundings and a place to feel comfortable. The quality of this condo is above and beyond any we have stayed, the decor is warm and cozy the kitchen encludes beautiful dishes and glasswear, any appliance you could imagine. The towels are abundant and good quality, Tommy Bahama beach towels!
The sheets are soft and cozy. This is the perfect romantic spot for a couple, large lanai...bed over looking the ocean ...I could go on forever. Everything about this condo is high quality not the run of the mill every condo type.
Enjoy !

Owners response: Thank you so much for a fabulous review!! I'm so glad that you enjoyed the place and it's very nice to hear that folks really notice and appreciate the 'extras' and such in the condo. Look forward to your next visit!!
Aloha!
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 29, 2009   Date of arrival: October 29, 2009

We enjoyed the condo very much as it is a beautifully decorated and appointed with everything needed for a great stay. The view was outstanding and conveniently located.We enjoyed having breakfast on the lanai watching the turtles as well. Also, thank you for being great to work with as well.

Owners response: Mahalo for the great comments! It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope to see you again!
Aloha,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

The condo is beautiful. The view from the room is simply amazing. We enjoyed our morning coffee sitting on the lanai watching the sun rise and listening to the ocean. The condo had everying that we could have wanted/needed. It was very clean and beautifully updated!

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for posting your comments. . . we appreciate it!! Hope to see you again!
Aloha,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

Thank you so much for making our vacation so much more special. The condo was very comfortable, super clean, and furnished to meet all our needs. We loved having breakfast on the lanai. What a spectacular view of the ocean. The sunsets were incredible, too! The location was convenient to so many places. Thanks again. We look forward to returning in the future.

Owners response: So glad that you two enjoyed your stay!! Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and I hope to have you back for another visit soon!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 3, 2009   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

We had a great time in the condo. Everything you could possibly need is provided. Beautifully decorated and great lanai. Thanks for the great condo.
Mike and Kelly

Owners response: You're so welcome! Glad you enjoyed your stay! I hope you'll decide to stay in our condo again!
Mahalo,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 28, 2009   Date of arrival: June 28, 2009

You always wonder whether the beautiful condo you see online is going to turn out to be the real deal in person. Well, in this case the answer was a resounding yes. Holly has thought about and provided many niceties including romantic candles, Hawaiian music, blender for drinks, fully equipped kitchen that we enjoyed cooking in, etc. We loved this place and highly recommend it to others.

Owners response: I really appreciate your great comments and you taking the time to submit them! Hope to see you again!!
Mahalo,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 15, 2009   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kona Bali Kai. The condo was beautifully furnished, equipped and decorated. Everything we needed to enjoy our stay, including snorkeling gear, coolers and beach chairs, was here. We felt like we were at home. Sunset cocktails on the lanai were awesome. We appreciate Holly’s help in arranging our stay. She was very accommodating. We can’t wait to come back.Al & Cheryl Flynn (San Marcos, CA)

Owners response: Mahalo Al & Cheryl!! I'm so happy that your stay was enjoyable and that I was able to help!! Please come back and visit again!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 2, 2009   Date of arrival: May 2, 2009

If you want a "5 star" accommodation, this is it! This is a beautiful condo with every amenity imaginable - inviting, comfortable with the best view in Kailua-Kona. Eating breakfast or dinner on the lanai with the ocean surf lapping against the shore and watching the sun make its final journey across the sky every night was pure heaven. Can't wait to return. Peter and Louella Goetz, Calgary Alberta Canada

Owners response: Thank you so much Louella & Peter! Really happy that you enjoyed your visit and plan to come back! Thanks for all the 'extras' that you left at the condo! Future guests will surely appreciate them!
Mahalo,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 21, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Your condo was wonderful! Great view and location, beautiful decor and all the comforts of home. The floor to ceiling windows/screens overlooking the ocean and falling asleep to the sound of the surf were highlights. I wish we had been able to stay longer! The Keei Cafe was also wonderful. Thank you!

Owners response: Michael and Elaine,
Really glad that you liked the place and enjoyed your vacation time there! Hope the rest of your time spent on the island was great and I look forward to seeing you again!
Mahalo,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 12, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

The condo is perfect. You have made it into a beautiful space with waves always crashing in the background. The view and sunsets were perfect, and you thought of everything we could possibly need to enjoy our stay, including the great restaurant recommendations.

Owners response: Thanks for the great comments and so glad that you enjoyed your stay!! Maybe I'll see you next year!?
Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 2, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We really enjoyed staying in your condo. 4 star! You
have thought of everything we would need and then
some. The view was just perfect and we couldn't have
ordered better weather. We have been telling everyone
about your great condo.

Owners response: Thank you Marlo and Mary Jo! We appreciate the great comments and we're so glad you enjoyed the place! Come back and visit when you can. . the place will be waiting for you! Hope you enjoyed the Keei Cafe too!!
Much aloha,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 17, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

There may be better condos available somewhere but I've never seen any better than yours. We had a great time in an unbelievably beautiful place. Thanks.

Owners response: Thanks so much for your comments both here and via email!! I hope that you'll be back for another visit!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 23, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Holly:
Sorry I didn't post this earlier, I have been in a rain and cold induced depression since returning to Seattle.
Your condo was absolutely perfect for us. The view and the sounds of the pounding surf are wonderful, and the condo is tasteful and comfortable. The location was ideal for our day trips as well as visiting "downtown" Kona. We look forward to hopefully spending time there again in the future.

Thanks again,
John & Merilee

Owners response: Thank you for posting your nice comments! Hopefully, it helped pull you out of your depression a bit . . . just reminiscing about the ocean sound. .?!!Glad you enjoyed your stay and I really hope to see you again in the not too distant future!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 12, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Holly & Robin:

We had a wonderful time staying at your condo overlooking the surf and tidepools at Kona. Although it is in a multi-unit building, the view and sound of the waves made us feel like we were by ourselves. The kitchen was fully stocked, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner on the lanai was really special. We also enjoyed passing the time with the sea turtles in the tidepools; are they on the payroll? We look forward to returning soon.

Owners response: Those turtles should be on the payroll! They are such a delight. . . I just love them. Thanks for the great comments and for spending your vacation time at the condo and I hope to see you again soon!
Mahalo,
Holly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 26, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Everything was as advertised; great location and views,
wonderfully stocked kitchen, very comfortable unit.

Owners response: Thank you so much for staying in the condo and for taking time to post your comments! Hope to see you again!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 21, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Holly & Robin,
What can I say? The condo was absolutely fabulous!! It was our first time in hawaii and we are definitely spoiled now. We never heard anything but the ocean the whole time there and am still missing it dearly. We plan on returning as soon as possible. The location was great. If you guys ever want to come fishig in Alaska let us know.

Owners response: Thank you!!! And you're on for the fishing! I'll handle the crab baskets. . .
Aloha,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 11, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Thank you for a beautiful, comfortable well equiped vacation home. My husband I enjoyed our time spent in Kona during the Holidays. The location made it easy for us to travel into town, North of town or South. We are eager to spend time in Kona again very soon. Thank you

Owners response: Thank you Suzanne, and I hope that you can return to Kona in the not too distant future for another visit!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 8, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

A 5Star rating at best! Holly thought of every convenience/comfort that her customers' would need and provided it. The condo was neat, clean and literally soundproof. We never heard any of our neighbors. Can't wait to return.

Owners response: Thank you for a wonderful review! It was great having you as guests at the condo and I look forward to your next visit!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 19, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

What a great place! It was our second return to the Big Island. The spacious kitchen with fully equipped appliances was wonderfull. The place was large and very clean. The lanai has a wonderfull view. Thanks a beautiful and comfortable stay.

Owners response: Thank you Shawn! It was great having you! We appreciate all the great comments and the way you took care of the place! Glad you enjoyed the IronMan weekend too! Hope to see you again,
Holly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 26, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Holly,
Your place was amazing! We loved hearing the ocean, taking in the incredible view, and having our breakfasts on the lanai. You've done a great job with your place-- we had everything we needed. You were really helpful and we appreciate it!

Owners response: So glad that you enjoyed yourselves! We hope that you can come back for another visit sometime!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 19, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

The condo was absolutely beautiful! Sea turtles on the beach, calming waves to sleep by, close to dining and shopping! Great beaches! Thanks Holly & Robin! We had a great time celebrating our 10th anniversary! We hope to come back!

Owners response: Great to have you as guests here celebrating your anniversary! We do hope that you make it back soon!
Mahalo!
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 9, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Holly and Robin,

We loved our stay in your beautiful condo, everything we needed was there
and the view could not be beat. We
defintely would stay here again.

Pam Sandow

Owners response: Thank you again for choosing our place and we certainly hope to see you again!!
Aloha,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paridise in paradise

Review submitted: June 18, 2008   Date of arrival: May 31, 2008

This is a wonderful place, from the moment you walk in the beauty of the place stands out. There is everything one would need to enjoy themselves. The view from the balcany(lanai?) is spectacular, watching the sea turtles and an occasional fish is a real treat. This was a good base of opperations for everything we wanted to do. Listening to the surf at night and in the morning was areal blessing
Jake, Tempe, AZ

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 16, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

Holly and Robin, we sure enjoyed staying in your beautiful condo. It was our first stay there and the pitures and description don't do it justice! You have made it a wonderful place to stay. You went all out on remodeling and it shows! Kudos to you both!
We would love to come back and spend more time there in the future.

Mike and Lila
Pleasanton, Ca.

Owners response: Thank you for your quick entries into the guestbooks! We really appreciate the great feedback! And thanks for your good work down at the condo!!
Hope to see you again!
Mahalo,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 3, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

The condo is beautiful. Everything you need is furnished. The view from the lanai is just as advertised. When we return to Hawaii we would love to stay there again.

Owners response: Thank you so much, and we hope that you do return for a second visit!

Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 18, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

What a great place to stay! We were there for the first time 1 yr ago and worked our schedule around its availability this year so that we could come back. The kitchen--spacious, fully equipped with high quality appliances and utensils--is outstanding. The lanai is large, private, nicely furnished, and the view is to die for. Other guests have noted that everything looks just as good as in the pictures on the web, but I'd say it's probably even better in person. The place has class, it's obviously been fixed up to be nice for those who stay there, not just to squeeze out the maximum amount of profit possible. I almost hate to say these things because we hope to come back for a third stay and don't want to encourage the "competition" for available vacancy times! But you've done a great job, Holly and Robin, and deserved to be recognized for it. Thanks for providing such a beautiful and comfortable accommodation.

Owners response: Wayne & Linda,
It was really great to have you come back for a second stay, and we sure hope to see you again. . maybe every year! Thank you so much for such wonderful comments, and if we get flooded with inquiries and bookings, we'll still make it available for you!

Mahalo & Aloha,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 3, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

Holly,

We loved every minute of our stay in your wonderful condo. It was even better than we expected. It had everything we could have wanted, especially the kitchen. You have done a fabulous job in decorating and seeing to all of the comforts one could ask for. We loved the ocean, the sunsets, the turtles, the birds and the entire setting. We would definitely enjoy a return visit.

Owners response: So glad to hear that the place exceeded your expectations and that you had a great time! And thank you for the complimnets on the decor and such. . . .I really appreciate the feedback! Hopefully, we will see you again on a return visit!!
Aloha,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 4, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

If you like listening to the pounding surf, watching sea turtles, surfers, sunsets, and cruise ships entering Kona's harbor then there are two comfortable lounge chairs just for you!The condo is beautifully upgraded throughout with a kitchen that is stocked with everything you will need. The comfortable king size mattress comes with a view and just in case the sun and views get to be to much, the TV has terrific cable service! Enjoy YOUR stay :)

Owners response: John & Nancy,
Thank you again for choosing our condo to spend your vacation in! And, for the great comments in the guest books!! Hope to see you again sometime!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 27, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

What a great place to stay! We loved the condo - the furnishings were upscale and just as presented in the pictures on the website. Everything worked great. We spent a wonderful week counting the turtles in the reef 30ft from the lanai (11 the 1st day), watching the birds in the palms and the wonderful surf. I was super impressed that everything we needed was already in the condo, ie. paper products, detergents, even plastic baggies! Robin & Holly thanks for making it such a home away from home. We will certainly be back!

Aloha & Mahalo

Denise & Damon Daffron
Near the Twin Cities, MN

Owners response: So glad that you enjoyed your stay and found everything that you needed in the condo! And I'm really happy that the turtles came out in your honor!!

Aloha,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 20, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

My wife and I had an incredible week staying at this first class condo. Sunsets on the balcony watching whales, turtles,and surfers frolic below. Holly and Robin have made this place so elegantly comfortable. If you are looking for paradise...this is it!
Aloha
Mark Pressnall

Owners response: Thanks for the great comments and also for the great wine tips!! We'll see you in the not too distant future!!

Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 9, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Holly's unit was one of the most beautiful condo rentals we've ever stayed in (even compared to the one we stayed in on Kauai the first 5 days of our 20th anniversary trip to the islands). Other than a few inconveniences during our time there (pool wasn't open due to minor repairs being made; parking garage closed due to a roof collapse that was being repaired; and the dryer in the unit not working), we thought it was probably the best deal & right up there with staying at the Four Seasons! Listening to the sounds of the surf right beneath our lanai window every night was so relaxing, plus the central location to either side of the island made it extremely convenient to do all the sight-seeing that we wanted to do during our 5-day stay.
Just be sure to make sure everything is in working order prior to your stay, so you don't have any surprises is our recommendation. But it's a great place -- the decor is top-notch & Holly is a pleasure to work with.

Owners response: Thank you Peyton & Mary for your comments in our guestbook. . and again I truly apologize for the inconveniences that seemed to all happen at once during your visit! That was the first time that we have had problems like that and therefore, the first time that our renters have ever been even the slightest bit unhappy with their experience here. Of course, soon after your departure, all was repaired and open and working again, like usual, and the recommendation that people call prior to their visit is probably a bit drastic, as it certainly is not a regular occurance. Unfortunatley, things that are out of my control do happen, but rarely, and I'm happy that you two ended up really enjoying yourselves here in spite of it all!
Hopefully, you'll come back for a second stay sometime!!
Aloha,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 2, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Dear Holly and Robin -
Thank you for letting us enjoy the stunning views and beautiful amenities in your little oasis on the Big Island. It was a pleasure to call your condo "home" for a few all too short days. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return sooner rather than later. We have already and will continue to highly recommend your condo to all of our friends.

Much mahalos -

Christian and Dawn

Owners response: It was a pleasure meeting you both and having you make our condo home for a few days!! So glad that you really enjoyed it!! We'll look forward to next time!
Aloha,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 15, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We really enjoyed watching the surfers and waves from the wonderful lounge chairs on the lanai. Loved all the attention to detail in the condo - stereo, TV, books and binoculars.

Owners response: Thanks for your comments Joan and again, congrats on your 5th Ironman finish!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 15, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Our 1 month stay at your oceanfront condo at Kona was a delight. We heartily recommend this beautifully appointed apartment. Walt & Phyllis

Owners response: Thank you for your comments!! It was great meeting you both and we look forward to your next visit!!
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 26, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

We so enjoyed out time at Kona Bali Kai in your little
oasis on the top floor! The details and the design of
the condo are impeccable. What a beautiful
experience Hawaii is and only made more so by the
loveliness of your condo. We hope to be back soon!
Mahalo Holly and Robin!

Owners response: Thank you so much! We look forward to your return and hopefully, your next visit can be an even longer one!!
Aloha,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 22, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

We stayed in this lovely condo May 6-11,2007 and could not have been more pleased! We wanted a nice place to relax and ejoy Hawaii and this condo was perfect! It was clean, beautiful, quiet, and had everything we needed. We spent most of our time on the lanai in those big comfortable lounge chairs and ejoyed watching the birds, sea turtles and surfers from there every day. Holly was wonderful to work with and we will be returning. We highly recommend this place!!!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your nice comments and for choosing our condo for your vacation!! We look forward to your next visit!
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 28, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

This condo is absolutely wonderful. It has everything you could need or want during your visit. This was our second stay and we'd love to return again soon. I can't imagine a more perfect setting.

Owners response: It was great to see you and Kevin again and we definitely hope that there are many more visits to come!! Mahalo!
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 20, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

We can't recommend this property highly enough. Holly and Robin have created an oasis; a place to feel completely private within. It's incredibly quiet. The attention to detail is remarkable. We have stayed in many condos in Hawaii in the past and I've never stayed in a place where there was such attention paid to details; ammenities in the kitchen, bathroom, etc. Truly a wonderful experience and Holly and Robin are a delight to work with and to meet. Most highly recommended! J. Riley

Owners response: We thank you both for your wonderful comments and for your patronage! It was a pleasure meeting you and having you as guests in our condo! Look forward to next time!

Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 3, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

You know those ads for the 5-star resorts that say “just bring your toothbrush” and prepare yourself to settle into bliss? Well, this is the place! Of course, you’ll have to put up with large servings of peace and quiet, world-class sunsets delivered to your lanai every evening, sea turtles grazing 60 feet from you, the surf lulling you to sleep in a superb bed, a gourmet kitchen in which to brew your morning Kona coffee and cook your fresh island fish, a refreshing rain shower, as well as the beauty of the southern Kona Coast all around you. Tough duty, but we’re willing to undertake it anytime. Mahalo, Holly and Robin, for creating such a lovely spot!

Owners response: What a wonderful review of our little slice of paradise!! Thank you so much! It was really great to meet you and we hope to see you again soon. . .either in your stomping grounds or back here in Hawaii!!

Robin & Holly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 19, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

A great place to stay! Right on the beach, so you can watch sea turtles and surfers from the lanai and go to sleep with the surf every night. Although the Kona Bali Kai isn't anything special to look at from the outside, this unit is exceptional and the real definition of "luxury."

Owners response: It was so great to have you guys back again!! And your bottle of BINK Sauv Blanc was really great!!! I can't wait to try the Syrah!! Hope to see you next year!
Aloha and Mahalo,
Holly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 19, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

The condo was very comfortable and relaxing with beautiful decor. We saw whales and turtles from the balcony and loved the time that we stayed there. Great location and great value. Thanks, Anita & Simon Marcoux

Owners response: Thank you for your comments! We hope to see you again sometime!!
Aloha,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 23, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Jan.11-18,2007
Holly & Robin,
Thank You so much for our wonderful and very relaxing 50th anniversary.Your beautiful condo is so comfortable and so very well done, top quality throughout, love the shower, awesome view,complete with whales,sea turtles.
We will be back! Hopefully.

Owners response: We're so happy you enjoyed your 'relaxing' part of your 50th Anniversary in our condo!! Thank you for deciding to spend it in our place! We look forward to your next visit perhaps on your 51st Anniversary!!
Aloha,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 10, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Just returned from my second stay in your gorgeous condo and already planning this year's (longer) trip. Everything is perfect, the condo, the view, the sound of the ocean, the (huge) turtle startling me out of a nap as he came up on the beach for some sun too. Attention to detail is impeccable -Thank you Holly & Robin!

Owners response: It was so great to see you again Karen and now we can look forward to your next visit in December!!
Aloha!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 29, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

The condo is absolutely beautiful and has a gorgeous view. It's also very well equipped with everything you may possibly need.

A favorite part of my day was relaxing on the lanai overlooking the Pacific every morning reading, watching the surfers, and listening to the ocean. I also enjoyed daily walks along Alii Drive. Beautiful scenery! The miles flew by.

If we ever come back to Kona, we will definitely stay here again. We also recommended it to our friends and family for future visits.

Owners response: It was so nice meeting you both and made the IronMan race all that much better knowing another participant, especially one with connections!! We certainly do hope that you make it back to Kona sometime!
Aloha,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 19, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

Absolutely the best unit at Kona Bali Kai, if not the entire Kona Coast! It's like a luxury suite at a 5-star resort. Excellent furnishings and decor, everything top-of-the-line. No complaints, not a one. Would (and will) return again.

Owners response: Thanks so much Scott for your comments and for choosing to stay at our condo!! Look forward to next time!
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 12, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

This condo is a beautiful and wonderful place to spend Week 2 of our honeymoon. We loved the ocean views and sounds (which can be experienced right from the lovely bed)! We loved the lanai where we spent most of our time and even spotted turtles from there (one was even sunbathing on the beach outside).
The condo is well-stocked with almost everything you will need, even binoculars to be able to spot those turtles or exotic fishes (saw some Moorish Idols from the lanai). I definitely recommend this condo! Mahalo to Holly and Robin!

Owners response: Thank you for choosing our place for part of your honeymoon trip!! It was great meeting you both and we look forward to an anniversary stay as well!!
Aloha,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 10, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

If you've never been here before...you're in for a treat! The condo is absolutely beautiful, fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. Beautiful sunsets and ocean waves lull you to sleep every night. We will definitely be back! Thanks Holly & Robin for a great holdiday!

Owners response: Thanks you two! It was great to meet you and we sure hope that you do come back soon. . . .so we can try some of that famous secret family recipe primerib out!
Robin & Holly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 31, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

The other renters all have it exactly right!!! This place is fabu!!! Let's see what words do we use--- awesome, georgeous, well-stocked, well-situated, dreamy, paradise, fantastic... all are very appropriate when talking about this unit at Kona Bali Kai. Every detail is so well thought out. The sunsets were fanastic, the turtles right on the rocks outside-- how fun. All amenities are carefully planned. Had a fantatic time (despite being in Hawaii during the rainiest March on record)-- didn't matter had a great place to spend time. Would highly recommend-- just hope on my next visit that I can stay there more than 3 nights. Holly was a great hostess.
If you are thinking of renting it-- you should!!!

Owners response: Thank you both for such a great review and being 'the perfect guests'!! We definitely look forward to having you come back and hopefully be able to spend even more time 'basking in the sun' with the turtles!!

Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 20, 2006   Date of arrival: January 20, 2006

Our first thought coming through the front door of this gorgeous tropical condo was - this is PARADISE! It's easy to see that great care was taken in designing and furnishing this apartment.. It's beautifully decorated .. a fantastic combination of all the conveniences of home blended with all the luxuries of a fine hotel .. and the location couldn't be more ideal! The photos don’t come close to doing this place justice. Vast unobstructed views of the Pacific ocean, the island breeze wafting through from the lanai .. what a thrill it was for us to see the whales breaching, the dolphins playing and the turtles basking in the sun all from within 'our' little island paradise...and the sunsets!! This place is TOTAL LUXURY .. only problem is dragging yourself away to see some of the surrounding attractions.. we just didn't want to leave. It was the perfect start to our long overdue honeymoon.The short time we had here just wasn’t enough and we will definitely have to come back to stay and to take in all that the Big Island has to offer.. Thanks Holly, you were a delight to deal with and it was wonderful!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 20, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

Our first thought coming through the front door of this gorgeous tropical condo was - this is PARADISE!

It's easy to see that great care was taken in designing and furnishing this apartment.. It's beautifully decorated .. a fantastic combination of all the conveniences of home blended with all the luxuries of a fine hotel .. and the location couldn't be more ideal!

The photos don’t come close to doing this place justice. Vast unobstructed views of the Pacific ocean, the island breeze wafting through from the lanai .. what a thrill it was for us to see the whales breaching, the dolphins playing and the turtles basking in the sun all from within 'our' little island paradise...and the sunsets!!

This place is TOTAL LUXURY .. only problem is dragging yourself away to see some of the surrounding attractions.. we just didn't want to leave. It was the perfect start to our long overdue honeymoon.

The short time we had here just wasn’t enough and we will definitely have to come back to stay and to take in all that the Big Island has to offer..

Thanks Holly, you were a delight to deal with and it was wonderful!!

Owners response: What a wonderful guestbook entry this is!!! Thank you so much for your very descriptive and complimentary comments!! I'm so happy that you enjoyed yourselves so much! I look very forward to having you as guests again in the not too distant future!!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 30, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

Lisa and I truly enjoyed our experience at your condo. it is exceptionally remodelled. there are no details spared. we would say it is better than any Four Seasons hotel room we have ever seen. with the kitchen and all the amenities it is fully livable. being right on the ocean and private, we didn't want to leave the room. we could have spent the entire trip on the lanai listening to the ocean, watching sunsets and eating!! this is a must stay

Owners response: Thank you both for your great entries in our guestbooks and we look forward to your next island hopping getaway!!

Aloha,
Holly & Robin (P.S. - Thanks Todd for your handyman work on the cable!!)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 21, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

Holly and Robin:

The condo is spectacular, five star decor and a wonderfully equipped kitchen. The ocean view and sunsets are beyond description !! We have never felt more at home, mostly due to your beautiful condo and warm hospitality. We would LOVE to come back !!!! Rob and Seanna

Owners response: Thank you so much for the great entry into our virtual guest book!! It was truly a pleasure having you as guests in our condo and we would love to have you back next year!! Also, congrats again on your Ironman finish!!
Aloha,
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 12, 2005   Date of arrival: September 1, 2005

What a wonderful retreat for us from the Big Volcano. The place was magically peaceful, and so well appointed. This was a first class experience from start to finish, and I have found my Kona home away from home. Thank you for taking such care to offer such a lovely place for guests to visit.

Owners response: Thank you Linden for the nice words about your stay at our condo. . . .and thanks for the beautiful vase!! We look forward to getting over to the Volcano area and checking out your properties as well!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 25, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

This condo was every bit of what I imagined. Beautiful granite counters and stone floors, warm wood everywhere, and a great shower. The view and sunsets are magnificent. The sound of the ocean and breeze will make you sleep like a baby. Holly is a wonderful person to do business with. You will not be disappointed

Owners response: Many mahalos Michael for your great comments on our condo and your plug on me as well!! It was great having you as a guest and I look forward to your next visit!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 11, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

This condo and everything in it is absolutely first class! The pictures just do not do it justice. Robin and Holly have made sure that everything you could possibly need is right there and the best sunsets we saw on the entire island were right from the balcony. We will definitely be back!

Owners response: Thanks so much for your comments!! It was great meeting you and having you stay in our condo....what a great couple!! We look forward to your next visit.

Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 11, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

What a magical place, I entered into a piece of paradise, sunsets were fantastic and the ocean lulled us to sleep,the bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up:}
Thanks again for the use of your absolutely beautiful penthouse.
Amy Davis
Orange County, CA
4/8/05

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 9, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

The view, comfort, luxury, and location is the best. Watching the turtles from the Lanai is the most spectacular thing! This last trip we were fortunate to see the whales.
We'll be back.
P.S: The Mai Tais at the Kona Inn are a must!

Owners response: Thanks Jane!! And you're right.....the Mai Tais at the Kona Inn are the best!!
We look forward to your next visit!!

Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 31, 2005   Date of arrival: March 1, 2005

Everything was perfect! Your condo is extremely luxurious and very well equipped with everything you could want or need. The workmanship is exceptional!! The oceanfront view is magnificant and it is wonderful to hear and see the waves every morning and evening. The location is great and we walked into the town every morning. Shopping and restuarants are nearby. We loved it! And we will be back, soon.

Owners response: Aloha Rock & Diane,
It was great to meet you both and we're so happy you enjoyed your stay at our condo!! You were great tenants and we look forward to having you back!! Mahalo!!
Holly & Robin

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 25, 2004   Date of arrival: April 1, 2004

Beautiful! You could spend all your time there and be very happy. The sunsets are gorgeous. The best of everything, the shower is out of this world. Just can't say enough,a great place.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 11, 2004   Date of arrival: February 1, 2004

We enjoyed your first class condo immensely. We enjoyed all the upgrades from the pedestal bed to the very comfortable patio furniture and the upgraded appliances and bathroom fixtures. Sitting on the patio and watching the sunset on the cushy furniture was wonderful, we stayed out there and watched the sunset every night and had breakfast every morning. Our only recommendation would be to install a front screen door and an extra fan in the kitchen for some cross ventilation. (That's just cuz us mainlanders get overheated pretty easy, especially coming from cold country!) Thanks again and we will be back! Greg & Lorraine Bishop 2/04.

Owners response: We have finally gotten our security screen door installed and it has created an even better cross ventilation!! Thanks for your nice comments and suggestions!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review