reviews for: listing #46058 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii Studio rental

Whimsical Oceanfront Studio with Breathtaking View!
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Kona Bali Kai
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $180 /nt
    $1,055 - $1,160 /wk
    $3,800 - $4,300 /mth

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 21, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

We spent four wonderful days and nights on the Big Island and had a fabulous time!The condo at Kona Bali Kai was the best!It came complete with everything thing we could possibly need.The veiws from the lanai were awesome and the sunsets were beautiful!We will definitely stay here again on our next visit. Thank you Holly and Mike!

Owners response: Thanks so much for the great comments and we're so glad that you enjoyed yourselves!! Look forward to your next visit!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Nice studio

Review submitted: November 21, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

We were happy with the studio. The lanai is spacious and comfortable. The unit felt open, large and loft like. The kitchen is well equipped and we liked having the washer/dryer inside the unit. We ate on the lanai most nights as we were addicted to the sound of crashing waves - can't beat that!
I would recommend this unit

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal honeymoon enviornment

Review submitted: October 12, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon enjoying the ocean and the kitchen of this intimate studio. The location facilitated visits all over the island and a good mix of meals cooked in the studio and dinners in town. The parking situation was easy, and the small restaurant downstairs (da Poke Shack) was fantastic.

The property manager was very responsive to the small issue we had while there and replaced the broken coffee grinder within a few hours.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Place to Stay

Review submitted: October 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

This condo was amazingly perfect. Very beautiful, updated, and comfortable. The condo had everything we needed for our 8 night vacation. Rental costs were extremely reasonable. Felt private, yet had a view of the ocean and sea turtles. Very convenient no matter what your plans on the Island are. Whenever we are able to make our return trip to Kona, we hope the Condo is still for rent then.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SUPER

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

We loved this condo and plan on returning asap. Beautiful. Comfortable. Convenient. The kitchen was awesome. The views superb.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kona Re Treat

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

We loved it here. The location was outstanding - so close to downtown yet on the ocean!! The condo itself was amazing (I could live there). It had all the amenities, great views, modern kitchen, cool bathroom. We were on the last leg of our trip and I even did laundry there. Even the outdoor facilities were nice - CLEAN grills and covered parking. It was a real treat staying there.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Place!

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

This is an amazing place, all the amenities to have a wonderful vacation. This is our second time here we will be back.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect experience

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

We found this accommodation way above our expectations! Whimsical, yes, but beautiful and ultra-comfortable. The kitchen is very well supplied for people who like to cook, as we do. Gorgeous view, great loungers on the lanai, fantastic location. We'll be back. Holly was especially helpful, even when we left items behind - she retrieved them and met us to reclaim!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Studio on the sea

Review submitted: November 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

The suite was very comfortable, clean and well-equipped. We enjoyed the tidepool turtles, and the surf crashing on the rocks below the lanai!

You definitely need a rental car, nothing is too far away, but not much really close. We walked to the village one afternoon (enjoyed dinner and the best Margarita ever at Pauncho and Leftys) and walked home, it's not that far if you have good company (3 miles?) Good snorkelling 2 miles south, great white sand beach 1 mile south.

We enjoyed two dinners at Anthony's by the Sea and two dinners at Biannellis, would recommend both. Dinner at Royal Kona was a real disappointment, and the Mai Tai was undrinkable (the waiter didn't care that I only took one sip). Day trip to Hilo was a highlight (it was sunny!) as well as the day trip to Volcanos park. We rented kayaks and paddled to the Capt Cook monument on 2 different day; snorkelling there was exceptional, and we paddled with dolphins going out one day.

Holly is an excellent manager, we recommend her highly. We would be pleased to return to this unit again, and if it wasn't available, would still book with Holly.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Condo #425

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

Had as incredible time as Hawaii always offers. The condo unit was perfect, just enough space for two and all the amenities we needed. The sound of the ocean tide from outside out unit is now my "Happy Place". Thanks again for the accomodations and know we will contact you again for our next visit, which is hopefully soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Honeymoon Condo

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in this beautiful condo.
The booking process was easy and Holly was really helpful and kind all through our stay.
The condo itself is a wonderful studio with all the amenities and more. The room is very comfortable with new kitchen appliances, a beautifully updated bathroom, etc. The view from the lanai is spectacular! We watched the sea turtles having breakfast and the surfers in the afternoon and had cocktails during sunsets.
The location of the condo is great, too. Very close to the farmers market where you can buy fresh fruits and also close to Kailua-Kona as well as great beaches. Also the Poke Shack downstairs is yummy!
We really had an unforgettable time and are hoping to come back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Private with Fabulous Ocean Views

Review submitted: March 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three weeks. We loved it. Top floor corner with lots of privacy. Cannot hear anyone else. This absolutely true ocean front. Love the sound of breaking waves? This is your place. Roomy, wonderful bathroom. Upgraded. We go to the islands every year and we loved it here. Nice grassy lounge area at the oceans edge, surfing right out front. Wonderful poki shack and snorkel + equipment rental right in the building. A little store across the street. Downside? You will need a car for almost any outing. Walking along Ali drive is not pleasurable. But it is a convenient drive to most sights and very close to snorkeling.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your great review Diana!! It was great meeting you both and I hope to hear from you again! I know you're coming back because you have a scheduled hair appt., right?

Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

EXCELLENT - HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

My husband and I had a GREAT time on the Big Island. The view was unbelievable (ocean, sea turtles, etc). We had a restful night sleep due to the sound of the ocean. My husband snorkeled at a place less than five miles from the condo. I am a knitter and knitting near the ocean was a little slice of heaven. The condo was clean with modern appliances and working with Holly was a pleasure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great review Judy! Thank you very much! Glad you enjoyed your time here!

Mahalo,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kozy Kona Korner Kondo

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

This condo was ideally situated in the corner of the top floor of an ocean-side building. As such, it afforded excellent views of the water and associated activities (surfers, boats, turtles, dolphins and whales). Listening to the surf at night was relaxing and also helped to drown out some of the road noises since the complex is right on a busy main street. The amenities provided were very good. We did have to drive a lot to get to the beautiful beaches and the restaurants in Kona and Kohala but the location is central for visiting some of the other attractions of the island, such as Volcano National Park, the southern beaches and the eastern coast with its abundance of rain forests and waterfalls. We would recommend this unit for anyone wanting an affordable, cozy and comfortable condo overlooking the ocean with all the amenities of home (and then some).

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much Robert for your review! Hope to see you again someday!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great amenities and character with view

Review submitted: December 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 5, 2011

This was our second trip to Kona and we had stayed at the King Kam previously. This time we wanted something less "hotel-like" and more intimate. This condo was definitely more intimate, and had a lot more amenities (washer/dryer, full kitchen, boogie board) than a hotel room. The condo also had a lot of character and was located at the very end of the complex, so it was very private and relatively quiet (except for crashing surf, but that is a nice sound). The view looked west to the ocean and the shoreline (including sea turtles sunning on the rocks) and was great for watching the sunset from the Lanai. The location of the condo was one of the only downsides, as we had to drive in order to go to any of the restaurants (except the Poke Shack, located right downstairs and voted the top restaurant in Kona!), visit downtown Kona or visit the beaches. The only other downside was the design of the Lanai, which felt closed in at times, due to the concrete ceiling and walls. We'd definitely stay here again, and it's a much better value than a comparable hotel room.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Matt for your detailed review! Glad you tried us out rather than the hotel this year! Hopefully, you be back again!

Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place

Review submitted: November 26, 2011   Date of arrival: November 15, 2011

We lovedalmost everything about this unit. There are some newer appliances and slate flooring and granite countertops. Top of the line cooking pots and knifes and dishes made eating in fun, The bathroom /shower fixtures are very cool. But the best thing about the unit was the lanai and the waves gently crashing all day and night. We saw turtles on the rocks right out front from the unit every time we looked out and saw dolphins further out in the ocean.It is an end unit so there was extra open balcony space overlooking a beautiful peaceful stone church.This building has the nicest parking spaces I have ever seen also overlooking the rocks and ocean.Holly was very accomodating and small touches like coffee beans and macadamia nuts made the experience very special. We highly recommend this unit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Sallee for your great comments! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed the condo and do hope that you can make it back for another stay sometime!!

Mahalo,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Affordable Oceanfront in Kona

Review submitted: October 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

Me and my new bride stayed at Kona Bali Kai for our Honeymoon on the Big Island...it is a wonderful little studio with an awesome view of the water. The rates for this condo were very reasonable, given it's proximity to Kona, and the lanai, which is a spectacular way to start the day, or finish. There were no suprises, the unit looked as the pictures told, and the view is just as stunning as the pictures tell you. The appliances, and the gas grill downstairs were much appreciated. I also appreciated Holly, the manager of the unit, who was very accomodating and welcoming. It also sits above Da Poke Shack which is some of the best poke I had on the Big Island hands down (the folks on Yelp agree as well).

The only thing that bothered us was the weather (it was quite muggy at night, we're from Seattle), which had nothing to do with the condo, except that it doesn't have air-conditioning in the unit. No problem for us, we just went to sleep with the sliding door open (sleeping with the sound of the ocean was pretty cool if you ask me). In fact, I don't think that we closed the sliding glass door more than twice while we were staying at the condo.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this condo to a friend or relative. It was attractively priced for the location, and had updated amenities. For a couple looking to spend a romantic week away, you don't have to look any further.

Owners response: Thank you very much Austin for the great review!! So glad that you enjoyed the condo and Kona! Hope to see you again!!

Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Sunsets

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

The listing was accurate. Property was beautifully maintained, clean and welcoming. Holly was great and really helpful. We would recommend this property to any couple traveling without their children (only because it is a studio). We especially loved the snorkeling in the area. The lanai on this condo had such incredible sunsets views that we refused to be any where else during dusk (so we got take-out or had leftovers for dinner on the balcony every night). And there are turtles that are always feeding in the rocky bays just below the unit - simply gorgeous! We chose it because I wanted to be able to see the ocean when I was laying in bed - and I could! But the lanai is so nice that we spent most of our time outside. One note - being on the top floor has the best view and the best breeze, but it does not have air conditioning (it was not hot at the end July, but if you insist on having it really cool ...).

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Lynette!! I'm so glad that you enjoyed the place and certainly hope that you can make it back for another visit sometime!!

Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A True Gem!

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Wow, this place is amazing. Fantastic service (Holly was great), fully equipped with amenities--a little slice of paradise. I would definitely return and recommend this place to friends/family. The Poke Shack right in the building can't be beat--best poke (and great service) on the island.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many Mahalos for your review!!! And the guys at the Poke Shack say thanks too!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heaven!

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Unbeatable value, great location, and everything you'd ever want in an ocean-side condo rental. The kitchen is clean, updated, and has everything you'd need to prepare meals. The bathroom shower with the "rain" shower head is great. The lanai is perfect (unbeatable views, feels very private, and has nice furniture). The gas BBQ's are convenient and right on the water's edge. Da Poke Shack is right downstairs (need I say more?). A convenience store within quick walking distance. Last, but not least.... The property manager (Holly) is second to none and a great person. I can't rate my experiance highly enough and can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks M-bags!! You're the best. . . . look forward to seeing you in October!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One of our best vacations ever!

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

We stayed in this unit for our first visit to the Big Island from 6/16 - 6/25/11, specifically to go fishing for 5 days. This was the perfect place to come back to after a long day on the water. If (when!) we go back, we will definitely look for this unit's availability first. The pictures and descriptions of the amenities are completely accurate. Very clean / updated / and oh, the view (especially sunsets!) and the sounds of the waves crashing right under your balcony. You couldn't ask for anything more. Much better than staying in a hotel room. Holly is very prompt, responsive, and most accommodating to any questions or need you may have. I will definitely tell anyone I know who might travel there about this condo unit. IAnd be sure to go to the most southern bar in the USA, try the doors off helicopter ride in Hilo (flies right over the active volcano and you can really feel and smell it!), and climb to the summit of Mauna Koa. There is so much to do - can't wait to go back and do the things we couldn't fit in this trip. Thanks Holly and Mike!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your great review and recommendations!! Hope you can make it back soon to fit all those other things in!!

Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love the View

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

The condo was very nice inside. Its a studio size, but still much bigger than a hotel room and very comfortable. The large patio right next to the ocean (3 stories up) had a beautiful view, including sunsets, and you could hear the ocean clearly at all times. Covered parking and wireless internet access are free, which was nice. And they provide everything you need, including pots, pans, plates, glasses, spices, beach chairs and umbrella, beach cooler, etc. That comes in VERY handy and was much appreciated. There is also a nice Poke Shack (diced tuna ceviche style, kind of) connected to the complex which was very tasty. We had some Poke in Honolulu that wasn't near as good or fresh. Overall my wife and I were very happy with this place and easily recommend it.

Owners response: Thank you Mike for your review! Hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love the view

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

The condo was very nice inside. Its a studio size, but still much bigger than a hotel room and very comfortable. The large patio right next to the ocean (3 stories up) had a beautiful view, including sunsets, and you could hear the ocean clearly at all times. Covered parking and wireless internet access are free, which was nice. And they provide everything you need, including pots, pans, plates, glasses, spices, beach chairs and umbrella, beach cooler, etc. That comes in VERY handy and was much appreciated. There is also a nice Poke Shack (diced tuna ceviche style, kind of) connected to the complex which was very tasty. We had some Poke in Honolulu that wasn't near as good or fresh.
Overall my wife and I were very happy with this place and easily recommend it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Condo

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

We would like to thank Holly and Mike for sharing this great little condo with us.It is the ideal place for two, with everything that was needed for a great holiday. We even found herbs and spices supplied to help our cooking.We had no problems on checking in and out and Holly was so good to deal with from start to finish.The location was great with a lovely view of the ocean and the sunsets. Wandering over the rocks in the morning watching the turtles in the pools was a relaxing pastime.
We thank Holly for making our visit to Kona a memorable one.
Regards
Dave & Lyn

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You're very welcome and we hope that you'll come back for another visit! Thank you for taking the time to write your review!

Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very comfortable and perfect for 2!

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 12, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in your unit! Check in and check out was painless and very courteous. The condo was clean, comfortable, and had LOTS of towels. It is just the right size for two people for a week’s stay. We ate all our meals on the lanai and could hardly drag ourselves inside. And the view, the sunsets!, the turtles who live in the lava rock pools under the balcony--amazing! The artwork was also quite interesting. We have two beautiful David Lee reproductions ourselves and were delighted to see another one. We can’t wait to return to Kona for another wonderful holiday. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many Mahalos for taking the time to write a review. . . .and such a nice one!! I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and the condo, and I passed your appreciation for Mike & Sue's artwork on to them! Hope to see you again when you return to the Big Island!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay - March 2011

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

Hi Holly & Mike,

Just wanted to thank you again for the wonderful accommodations at your studio unit at Kono Bali Kai!

It was all we had hoped for and MORE during our two week stay in March of 2011.

We had a great two week visit. As this was our first trip to "Da Big Island" and it was awesome. Great weather, lots to see and do, and great food (and Costco of course:-)).

Thanks again,
Roger & Nancy

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks you guys!! Look forward to seeing you again in the future!!

Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Perfect Hawaiian Vacation

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

The condominium was perfect in every respect - nicely decorated, private, and complete in every regard (books, music, beach chairs, etc.). The lanai overlooks a rock formation, a tide pool and the surf. I will visit again at my first opportunity.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your guest comment post Judy!! I do hope that you can make it back for another visit soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

winter getaway

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

A place to call home, and such a treat to be on the ocean! Appreciated attention to the small details and
would not hesitate to recommend this condo to others. I plan to be back.
Thanks to Holly for all her help!

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your comments Kathleen and we'll see you again in January 2012!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous romantic getaway

Review submitted: December 16, 2010   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

Perfect little home away from home. Very, very private and the view and sound of the crashing waves provided an ambience that was unique and memorable. The listing description was accurately portrayed. The condo was exceptionally clean and provided everything we needed save personal items. Holly was delightful and very helpful with ideas and recommendations for spending our time on the Big Island. I will be recommending this condo to my friends for a really lovely place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was great meeting you guys (seemed like we met up about everywhere, didn't it?) and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay! Look forward to you next visit!! Happy Holidays!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Studio condo

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

The pictures of the condo were accurate. The view was gorgeous and everything was equipped as stated. We had a great time. It was quiet! Close to shops, restaurants and snorkeling.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Beth for posting your comments!!!

Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: September 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2010

I spent a long time looking for a place to stay on the Kona side of the island, and this studio turned out to be the perfect fit. It is literally right up against some pretty spectacular tide pools, and only 5 minutes from several wonderful swimming beaches. Holly is very nice to work with. Great find.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2010

My husband and I spent over a week staying at the condo and thought it was a great place to stay. Very comfortable and tastefully decorated, everything you need (e.g., coffee/espresso maker, pots/pans, dishes, washer, dryer, lanai with a great ocean view, and plenty of parking) are all on the premises. Located on the corner of the building it feels very private- awesome place for a couple! We had a great time.

Owners response: Thank you! You two were a great couple too!! Glad you had fun and enjoyed the condo and hope to see you come back for another visit!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2010

We spent 6 nights in the condo and it was great. Right on the water, very private and loaded with many extras that were not listed. We watched the sun disappear into the ocean, whales spouting just offshore and endangered sea turtles feasting on algae in the tide pools in front of the condo. For our first trip to the island, it couldn't have been better. A wonderful place to stay. Thank you Holly

Owners response: Thanks so much for the great comments in this guestbook! So glad that you enjoyed yourselves. . . .and I do hope that you visit again!
Mahalo,
Holly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 8, 2010

We stayed here four nights in February and it was fabulous. While it is a studio, it is very spacious and just what you would need for 2 adults. Lots of extra touches and stocked items that are not listed in the description. You are so close to the ocean that the waves are loud!! We saw whales playing every time we were out on the lanai. Holly was a wonderful and caring hostess especially during the tsunami warning. :) THANKS! Would easily come back again and recommend to friends and family.

Owners response: Thank you for your great posting of comments! I'm so happy that we dodged another bullet with the tsunami, and that it didn't impact your vacation too much!! Hopefully, you'll be back for a longer stay next time!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 27, 2010

Fabulous condo and vacation! This condo is perfect! It has everything, not to mention a lanai with a spectacular view for watching whales, spinner dolphins, turtles and the gorgeous sunsets. We will definately be back!Thank you Holly for your prompt responses and attention to detail. We so appreciated everything!

Owners response: Thank you Lori for taking the time to write your great comments! Really appreciate it. I'm very happy that you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you again!!
Mahalo,
Holly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: January 28, 2010

We agree with all the positive comments. Everything was well organized for our arrival and ready for us to start enjoying our stay. The condo is well appointed and has all the comforts of home, with lots of privacy as the top floor end unit. The location and view are ideal and travelling to all the island's attractions was easy. It was relaxing to sit on the lanai and watch the surf pounding on the rocks below. We saw whales, dolphins and turtles from the lanai. The wireless internet access was a bonus.

Owners response: Mahalo for your comments!! Hope to see you both again!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good Value, Gorgeous Views, Great Hospitality!

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed in this condo in November 2009 and had a wonderful time! Holly was incredibly helpful and a very gracious host. The condo itself is right on the water & there were turtles out in front of the condo every day! We even saw dolphins once from the lanai . . . great location. The condo complex is older, but well maintained and the unit has everything you'll need for a comfortable home away from home. Overall we would highly recommend it! Special thanks to Holly for being so great! =)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2010

Dear Holly,
we had a wonderful time at your condo! It is one of the most beautiful and inspiring places I have stayed at so far. The condo is equipped with everything one could wish for and is so beautifully decorated, that I wish the person who's responsible for this would redo my apartment at home... You gave our trip to Hawaii a magical ending. Thanks so much for that!

Owners response: Thanks so much Anna & Olaf for posting your nice comments! The condo decorating was a joint effort, so a few of us may have to come and visit you in Germany and work on your apartment! Hope you make it back for another holiday soon!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

Stayed in #425 for only four days, but they were the best 4 we had during our 12 day stay on the Big Island. You can't beat the oceanfront location. The condo is very nice, complete with everything you need to have a good time. Loved the shower setup. Only real drawback is the closeness to Alii Drive and the traffic noise when the door is open for a nice evening breeze through the condo. After a few Mai-Tai's though and the sound of the surf, you hardly notice it.
Like the parking arrangement too. Looking forward to another stay soon.

Owners response: Thanks for posting your comments! Hope you'll be back for another visit soon! I know you can hear some road noise when in the kitchen area sometimes. . . .but mostly, it's just the sound of the surf throughout!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 7, 2009   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

Holly,

Chris and I had a really wonderful time in Kona, Hawaii and your condo. was such a fabulous place to stay during our visit!! =) The studio condo was just the perfect size for us and we loved the newly remodeled bathroom. It was really spacious!!

We hope to both be back again really soon and cannot wait!

Thank you for your hospitality and your great advice as to what restaurants were great to eat at, etc.

Mahalo,

Stephanie and Chris Bahr

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay!! It's my pleasure to be able to help! Do hope to see you again!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 29, 2009   Date of arrival: July 29, 2009

Holly, We had a lovely time in your studio/condo at Kona Bali Kai on the Big Island. The condo was comfortable, nicely updated and well supplied with everything we could possibly need. The best part, of course, was the great location- directly on the ocean, top floor, corner unit. Though there seemed to be other people staying in the complex, we felt complete privacy-- just us and the ocean. We are totally spoiled now and will be unable to stay in the many other condos which are not oceanfront! We enjoyed the lanai, the pool, the tidepools and turtles, and watching the surfers. Thanks for your hospitality and friendliness, you made the whole process easy!
Hope to see you again!

Sue and Rob Brown

Owners response: Mahalo!! It's always so great having guests take the time to write such nice comments on the site!! It was a pleasure meeting you and I do hope that you can make it back for many more visits!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 28, 2009   Date of arrival: June 28, 2009

We stayed in another condo down the way for the first four days. This one was very nice but not quite the top-shelf of the other place. Both are managed by Holly. The views and lanai here are terrific, and on the whole, the place was very clean and well kept. It lacked in a few details like a TV/DVR combo that didn't quite work right and slightly under-equipped kitchen. But on the whole a good experience!

Owners response: Thank you very much for the comments and letting me know the couple of glitches in the place!! I will get both items taken care of immediately!! We want as close to 'top-shelf' as possible!!!
Mahalo and Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 16, 2009

This was THE best place to stay… We had stayed before in the same complex, but it was nothing compared to this condo. The amenities are second to none and I cannot think of anything else I would ever need or request. You can tell that quite a bit of thought went into every detail in the condo. I was jealous of the bathroom’s deep tub with jets and the nice wood furniture on the lanai. Will we ever be back? Oh yes we will… Holly – you are the greatest!

Owners response: Thank you Andrew!! You guys were great and I look very forward to your next visit here!!!
Aloha!!
Holly (Orchid Lady)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 31, 2009   Date of arrival: May 31, 2009

We enjoyed 10 fabulous days on Kona! Oh how we miss living in Hawaii. The condo was beautiful. The lanai was our favorite part of the condo. We so enjoyed the water front and amazing sunsets while relaxing on the chaise lounge chairs. Mahalo Holly!

Owners response: I'm so glad that you were able to come and visit your old stomping grounds again and really enjoyed yourselves!! Hope to see you back soon!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 20, 2009   Date of arrival: May 20, 2009

Holly we had the best time in the condo,we have never stayed in a place that is as nice and well equipped as this place.We love the Big Island and your condo was a perfect spot to begin and end the days.We hope to see you again.

Darren and Anne

Owners response: Thank you so much!! It's great that you enjoyed yourselves so much and look forward to returning soon! I certainly hope to see you again!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 27, 2009   Date of arrival: April 27, 2009

The best place to stay on the Island hands down! It was the perfect home away from home. It had all the amenities you would need. We ate breakfast on the lanai every morning as the waves crashed over the rocks below. The full kitchen made it nice to prepare our breakfast and lunch.
The condo is just a quick 2 mile drive to the main hub of town, away from the noise but close enough to walk or run. We would highly recommend staying here. We can't wait to go back! Thanks Holly and Robin! Aloha!
Brooke and Geoff Goodman

Owners response: What a treat to meet you both. . glad Chad has such good work buddies and friends over there! We're glad you enjoyed the condo and hope you can come back next year!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 1, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

To anyone wondering if pictures on the internet can actually represent a condo...YES! Everythng about this unit was wonderful. Everything you could need was there--we could have could have cooked gourmet meals if we had been that ambitious. Instead we used the condo as home base for exploring the Big Island(800 miles on our rental car.) We loved listening to the waves, watching for whales from the lanai, and climbing the lava beach to take some great pictures of the turtles. Do we recommend this ccondo? ABSOLUTELY! Maholo, Holly. Aloha till we can come again.

Owners response: Could a review get any better than this?! I don't think so!! Thanks so much for taking the time to send it in and for taking such great care of the place! Hope that you can come back again in the not too distant future!!
Aloha!
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 26, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

We loved our stay in this studio/condo. It was perfect for us. We felt like we were on a cruise ship looking out on the ocean. We enjoyed cooking fresh ahi on the community grill one night and eating on the lovely lanai. I've never stayed anywhere that EVERY item you could possibly need was there. This is a terrific home base for exploring the island and very private. We watched the turtles and waded in the tide pools, slept with the ocean in our ears and hated when it was time to move on to the next island! THANK YOU!

Owners response: Your comments make me want to put a
NO VACANCY sign up and go and stay down there for a couple of nights again!! Thanks for your comments and I hope you can come and visit again!
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 15, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Holly,
The condo could not have been better. It is centrally located and has all the amentities a visitor could want. The beach chairs and cooler were a great convience. We have stayed in other condos on the island and you can't have a better view and privicy than #425. Thanks again Kevin and Nancy

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks so much for spending your vacation in the condo and also for added maintenence duties! The expertly installed shower curtain is much appreciated, and seems to be holding up well!! Look forward to seeing you both again!
Mahalo,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 3, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

We, too, were very pleased with our selection of #425, Kona Bali Kai for our Kailua-Kona vacation. Holly was so friendly and helpful even checking on our safety when there was a winter storm visiting one morning! The view from the lanai was wonderful with the sound of the waves always present and wonderful sunsets and views of the full moon across the water. The condo was located at a good, central location for travel north and south along the coast. It was very well-equipped and comfortable.

Owners response: I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and it was really great meeting you both! Thank you for your nice comments and I hope to see you again soon!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 1, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Dear Holly,

Thank you for the great service you provided us. We really enjoyed the time we spent on the Big Island, the condo was great, we coudn't have asked for more. The sunsets from the lanai were spectacular. We can't wait to be back there in the near future. Thank you very much for everything!!

Owners response: It was great having you stay in the condo . and I'm SO glad that you enjoyed yourselves!! Hope to see you again!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 16, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Thank you Holly for having the cold champagne waiting to greet us newlyweds. The accommodations were simply outstanding, especially for two people who love to cook. We missed seeing what we can only imagine would have been spectacular sunsets due to weather conditions so I guess we'll just have to come back again next year. We did observe the sea turtles; one rather large fellow was taking a nap on the sandy beach below. Our snorkeling adventure at Kahalu'u Beach yesterday was truly amazing. One of the island's endangered monk seals was laid out on the beach (sleeping) for all to observe. We appreciate all you did to make our stay a memorable one. Mahalo, Hunter & Lisa

Owners response: My thanks to you for such nice comments and for being great tenants! Hope to see you for your 1st Anniversary next year!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 10, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

It was the perfect place to spend our last few days in Hawaii after being aboard the Kona Aggressor II for a week of awesome diving off the Kona Coast. Location was convenient to everything in Kona and driving to the rest of island. The condo itself was lovely, the lanai so relaxing with its teak furniture...perfect for that morning cup of Kona coffee. Even though we saw everything from hammerheads, whales and manta rays to the smallest nudibranchs underwater, it was still fun to watch the turtles from the balcony. Holly was wonderful in accomodating our needs and that was so appreciated.....thank you again! We'd definitely come back for another stay.

Owners response: Glad you were able to have some 'relax' time at the end of your vacation!! Look forward to seeing you again!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 26, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at this lovely condo. Good location, lovely decoration, and if we needed something, it was all there. All we had to buy was our food! From the lanai, you could see the dolphins and turtles! The wooden furnitures on the Lanai were also very nice (not plastic). We really enjoyed staying there and would love to come back!
Thank you Holly for making our stay so pleasant. Actually, even the communications by e-mail were so pleasant, we knew our stay would be great before we even went there ;-)

Owners response: Thank you so much for such great comments!! It was truly very nice to meet you both and I look forward to your next visit to the islands!!
Much aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 30, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

This unit at the Kona Bali Kai was great - very updated, clean, comfy bed/linens and a fantastic view. We were there on a working vacation and it was a perfect place for two.

Owners response: Thank you for your comments! I'm glad the place worked out well for you on this working vacation!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 21, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We had an absolutely fantastic time at this Kona Bali Kai condo! The unit itself was updated and luxurious, it had everything you could possible need to enjoy a quiet evening in or a day at the beach - and the view was unbeatable. Every morning we watched sea turtles swimming about below and we even saw some dolphins jumping in the distance; it was spectacular! The sound of waves crashing just below the lanai was soothing as we slept, too. We will definitely stay here again!

Owners response: Thank you so much for the great comments! I'm glad you enjoyed the place and I definitely hope to see you again sometime!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 12, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We truly enjoyed our stay at this unit at Kona Bali
Kai. They have truly paid attention to even the
smallest details. Anytime we needed anything, we
went looking and it was there. The unit is
beautifully updated! The views and the ocean were
beyond belief. We enjoyed sitting on the lanai for
hours watching the waves, the tropical fish, the
turtles, the gorgeous tropical birds, surfers, etc. We
hope to be able to return to this little piece of
paradise. Holly's helpful hints for places to help
celebrate our 25th were also wonderful. Thanks for
everything!!!

Owners response: I'm so happy that you had such a nice visit and enjoyed the condo! Thanks for spending your 25th Anniversary in our place! And I really hope that you come back again sometime. . . .maybe your 26th?!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 18, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

They thought of everything!
We loved this little unit - a well apportioned, classy set-up with everything you need and more. No cheap linens, here! Everything was top notch with a fabulous ocean location to match. We will stay there everytime. Holly was a pleasure to deal with - and gives great tips on yummy food in the area.

Owners response: What a great review. . .thank you!! It was fun to meet you both and I'm really happy that you enjoyed the calamari sandwich(s)! Look forward to the next visit!
Mahalo!
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 28, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

Holly, your website shows the studio exactly as it is - a great updated condo with wonderful ocean views. The unit has every convience we could ask for. We are going to recommend this rental to our friends. Thanks for all your help in making our rental experience so easy.

Aloha,
Bob & Judy
Sedona, AZ

Owners response: Bob & Judy,
You are both so welcome! I'm very glad to hear that your experience was a good one and would love to see you again someday! Any and all referrals are greatly appreciated!!

Many Mahalos,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 27, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

Thank you, Holly, for such efficiency on reservations, keys and communications. My husband and I spend Spring Break in the Studio. The balcony was 20 feet from the ocean waves, which were comforting day and night. The studio was clean, the bed comfortable and ambiance romantic. I will definitely refer to my friends.

Owners response: Cindy and Bob,
So glad that you enjoyed your stay! It was great meeting you both and I do hope to see you again in the not too distant future. . . maybe even at Shasta Lake!?
Friend referals are greatly appreciated!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 21, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

We had a great stay in the studio condo. Good
location just south of Kailua with easy access to
several nearby beaches. The condo has great decor
and every convenience we could ask for; we did a
lot of our own cooking and they had everything we
needed. The best part was the lanai with beautiful
beachside viewing of turtles and dolphins and
sunsets, and the sound of the surf to go to sleep
by. We'd highly recommend this rental!

Owners response: Robin & Jim,
Thanks so much for taking the time to send in your comments! Glad you enjoyed the place, and we'd love to have you back sometime!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 18, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Holly and Mike
Thanks for the great stay. Your unit was absolutely great. we had two great weeks of beautiful sunsets, whales and turtles from the lanai. Everything was top notch.

We hope to come back real soon and you will definitely be on our list.

Thanks again, Mahalo.

Owners response: Thanks so much for the nice entries in the guestbooks! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you'll be back!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 27, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Thanks again Mike and Holly for our stay in your condo it was spectacular the view of the ocean and watching the sunset every night was amazing. We got to see sea turtles, dolphins and whales what more can you ask for. We will definately recommend this unit and will definately be back.

Owners response: You are so welcome!! Glad all the sea creatures were out and about and the sun was putting on it's usual display!! Hope to see you again soon!
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 20, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

What a great studio condo for a nuetral location for seeing the island.
Wonderfull sunsets and always saw turtles down in the water. Holly was so helpfull with any questions we had.
Thanks again Holly and Mike for the use of the condo.

Owners response: So happy that you enjoyed yourselves and that the condo was a good 'base-camp'!! It was great meeting you and I hope to see you again in the future!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 3, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

We had a wonderful time at this condo. The view was breathtaking and we loved being a corner unit. The unit was nicely remodeled and a great location. Thanks, Marian

Owners response: Thank you Marian for taking the time to post a comment! Glad you enjoyed your honeymoon at the condo!! Maybe we'll see you on your first anniversary?!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 22, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Holly,

We wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed the condo. We have rented many over the last 10 years, on all the islands, and this one was one of the best. The flatware, the pots and pans, the dishes, the knifes, the lanai furniture, the bed sheets, all were of superb quality. The bathroom and kitchen were also of excellent quality and taste. As was the radio and TV. There was no comparison to the other condos. All the condos we rented were next to the water; but non showed so much class. Your service was also top notch from start to finish. We will gladly recommend this condo to anyone. Many thanks for making our short vacation so pleasant.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Boris and Veronika

Owners response: It was so great meeting you both, and thank you so much for the great comments! I will look for you next year!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 6, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

This was just perfect for us,being the top end unit made it so private and so easy to access by the stairs, The furnishings were top quality,the unit has everything anyone could need and more.The bathroom will really spoil you.We just loved our week here. Holly, when we were leaving we peeked in the other unit and oh my have you out done yourself. We must have this next time, talk about top quality,everything just makes you want to go home and redo your whole house. We love the way you didn't use any plastic outdoor furniture or scrimp on anything. Thank you so much for making everything so perfect.
Trisha and Ralph

Owners response: Thank you so much for the great comments! And I'm so glad that you enjoyed yourselves and the accommodations! Look forward to seeing you again next year!!
Aloha,
Holly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 19, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Wow! What can we say?! This condo in Kona Bali Kai was wonderful! The place is completely updated and the views are spectacular! Having an end unit made it very private and romantic. We loved the turtles swimming by the rocks, the sound of the waves at night and the peacefulness of sitting on the lanai. This was our first owner-direct experience and Holly made everything so easy and reassuring. We would definitely rent this unit again!

Owners response: Thank you so much for the great comments!! I'm so glad you enjoyed the place and that is was all a good experience for you!! Look forward to your next visit!
Aloha!
Holly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 12, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Just got back from staying in this condo. It was VERY nice. The complex isn't new or 5 star resort quality but the condo interior itself is definitely high quality and the ocean view is gorgeous. The location is prime - right on the water with a small lawn and sand beach for easy use. Plus, located within 5 min. drive of golf, snorkeling, and surfing. I'd definitely rent this condo again!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your comments Colin! I'm glad you enjoyed the condo and I look forward to another visit in the future!!
Holly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review