reviews for: listing #46159 - Big Pine Key, Florida House rental

Captain Ron's Tropical Vacation Hideaway - Viisit Paradise
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Doctors Arm
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,600 - $2,800 /mth

sort by:

Great escape from the Great White North

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful month at Captain Ron's Hideaway. It is all it is advertised as. Clean, up to date, with a well stocked kitchen. Set in a quiet neighbourhood, it is within walking distance of the No Name Pub. Kayaking out to the channel can be accessed from the canal in the back, or access to a shallow bay on the other side of the key can be accessed just down the street. Key deer are everywhere! The key is great to exsplore by bike, as there are many dedicated bike lanes. Take your GPS and hike the unmarked trails of No Name Key. There is an old quarry where you can pick up some fossilized coral as souvenirs. A nice touch supplied by Captain Ron is the day pass to the state parks (their are a few on the mid to lower keys). Particularly enjoyed the self guided hike at Windley Key Fossil Reef Geological State Park. In Marathon, Sombrero beach at the end of Sombrero Beach Road is a much less crowded spot to enjoy the afternoon enjoying the sun and sand. Thanks Ron! It was nice to escape the snow this year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: These travelers from "the Great White North", discovered just about everything there is to see or do in Big Pine Key.

If exploring is not your thing, one of my guests prefer to simply bask in the sun on the south facing screened porch and recover from the cold of the north.

I appreciate the reviews from guests that confirm that the "hideaway" is as advertized.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It was perfect for us!

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We had a wonderful week at Captain Ron's place! Everything we needed was there and easy to find. All was clean and comfortable. We especially liked the fact that there was both an open deck and a screened porch. With two teenagers who like to move, the kayak and bikes were great, as well as the proximity to beaches, snorkeling, and Key West. The key deer walked past us every day and the huge iguanas relaxed with us. If we ever make it to the keys in the future, we will definitely stay here again. It was perfect for us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Hideaway

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

Captain Ron's has everything we needed. The location was exactly right, providing easy access to Key West and Marathon. The house is better than described and has everything to make it a home. Sitting on the deck in the mornings and late afternoons was marvelously relaxing. As FL natives, we appreciated the screen porch for those hours when the skeeters were divebombing. We can't wait to go back! (Don't miss the kayaking tours leaving from Old Wooden Breidge marina... )

Thanks Captain Ron for making our stay in the Keys perfect.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

The house and amenities were just as described. We could not have asked for a nicer home away from home.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Great Place

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Captain Ron's for three years in a row and have been amazed at how cooperative and extremely accomodating Captain Ron has been. He is close by and responds to any need concerning the house. It is comfortable and well located for walking and biking. It is close to the shopping center and convenient to Key West. It is very family friendly as well as being suitable for retirees or a romantic get away. It is a great deal and we would definitely recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Capt. Ron's Hideaway

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

This is ideal for just about anyone. The house was nice, clean and very accommodating. Everything was provided, except the food, I hugely over prepared. Very private and quiet. You can relax and have your coffee on the screened in porch. If you have a boat, it is right there, just out your door. Easy access to both the Gulf and Atlantic. Tarpon, dolphin and rays are almost always spotted. If you like to dive, Looe Key is a must. The Key deer travel through the property a couple times a day while the iguana's were a little shy but did show themselves a couple of times. No Name Pub is within walking distance, their pizza is very good. Winn Dixie is at the light on A1A so if you forget something, not a problem. Enjoy your stay, we will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Captain Ron's Hideaway

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

This is ideal for just about anyone. The house was nice, clean and very accommodateing. Everything was provided, except the food, I hugely over prepared. Very private and quiet. You can relax and have your coffee on the screened in porch. If you have a boat, it is right there, just out your door. The Key deer travel through a couple times a day while the iguana's were a little shy but did show themselves a couple of times. No Name Pub is within walking distance, their pizza is very good. Winn Dixie is at the light so if you forget something, not a problem. Enjoy your stay, we will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

we had a great time at capt. Ron's

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

Three generations enjoyed Capt. Ron's! My dad took my 4 yr old son on his 1st kayak ride and he caught his 1st fish in the cannal. We used the beach passes everyday and really loved the local wild life!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Everyone enjoys the magic of the Florida Keys.

The children like everything from the water, the fishing, the deer and iguanas, to painting the lobster trap bouys.

The adults of any generation comment on the quiet private atmosphere of Captain Ron's Tropical Vacation Retreat.

My goal is to assure that my guests truly enjoy their visit to the keys.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review