reviews for: listing #46176 - Petoskey, Michigan House rental

Beautiful Walloon Lake Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $400 /nt
    $1,500 - $4,000 /wk

sort by:

Walloon Lake Rental

Review submitted: December 20, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

The property is beautiful and right on the Lake. It is remodeled in parts and very cozy. There is so much land to run around, play volleyball and just enjoy your family. I would recommend this property to anyonw.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 17 / 19

 

Great for winter fun!

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

We stayed at this house for three nights with our family of 9 (5 adults and 4 children). The house was very nice and convenient with the large remodeled kitchen and the spacious living room. The large dining table was a huge bonus as we were all able to sit down for dinner together! The sleeping arrangements were also fine and comfortably housed all of us. The kids loved sleeping on the bunk beds.

The location was just perfect! It was nice and quiet, right on the lake, but yet close enough to everything. We spent some time at Winter Sports Park and we all had a great time sledding and ice-skating. Boyne Mt. was close too for anyone who'd want to do some downhill skiing.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay and the owner was pleasant and responsive to our emails/questions. Would definitely stay here again...

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Wonderful Ski Vacation

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this loving home. The remodeled kitchen and dining area are wonderful and extremely spacious - had everything we could possibly need and tons of cupboard space. Property is large and beautiful. Brian the owner was wonderful - excellent communication, responded quickly to any questions we had. Location was wonderful - close to 3 ski areas and Petosky. Would highly recommend this place/owner to anyone!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Nicer than the photos and description

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

We selected this vacation rental for a week's relaxation with our son, daughter-in-law, and two granddaughters (3 and 10). This comfortable home could easily have included four more guests. We were especially impressed with the kitchen: yards of counter space, two refrigerators (a small one for beverages), two sinks, and an excellent supply of cooking knives and spices. The adjoining dining room was large and comfortable. What doesn't come across in the photos is the capacious living room, which looked like it could hold a party of 20-30 people. The living room opens directly onto a large deck, which leads down through a large lawn to a sandy beach. The water was shallow enough so that our 3-year-old could safely wade. We made extensive use of the wireless internet, although we took a vacation from the three flat-screen tvs. Our communication with the owner went smoothly. and he sent use detailed maps, instructions for the house and internet, and for his pontoon boat (which we rented). Overall, we felt that the property was nicer than we expected: comfortable, clean, and well-maintained. Oh, and there was even a fire pit by the lake where we made some-mores one night.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great place for a family to relax enjoy the lake

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

We stayed this house for 5 nights and it was just perfect place to hang out and relax with young kids. We were a party of 6 people and it was just perfect size for Grandparents and us (2 adults & 2 kids at age 6 & 4). We didn't use the room with 2 bunk beds since there was a room with a queen bed & two twin-size beds with a window facing the lake.

The main reason to stay here was to spend some time with kids' aunt in Petoskey, so we spend our day at the beach and mostly just hanging out in the property, then she will join us for dinner after her work. It worked out really good for us to relax in one place instead of wondering around the town with kids when we stayed at the hotel previous years.

Even though it rained most of days during our stay which is unusual in June, it felt so warm and cozy for everyone inside and there were enough room for everyone.

We could only tell there are some people around us only after late Friday and weekends. It was so quite during the weekdays. My kids were so excited to see a few jet skis or motorboats on weekend when people are arriving to their lake homes for the weekend.

If you're having a family reunion or a gathering of a several family and friends (up to 10 people), this house would be great to be shared and split the cost too since it could be a bit high in July & August.

We had an absolutely fantastic and comfortable stay at this place and the owner's within the easy reach of phone calls and emails before and during our stay.

The paddle boat (purple one in the picture) was fun to ride with kids (with provided PFDs) as well as a little canoe. Ducks were coming in and out of the little beach in the property which delighted our kids. When sun comes out it's so beautiful overlooking the ocean and green shore in the opposite side, you could just sit there on the patio or at the beach for hours.

A huge kitchen for a couple of people could prepare a meal together and there seems a plenty of plates, utensils and dishes for more than 15 people if I recall correctly. Also having a washer & dryer in the house was great when kids got wet from the beach everyday. Bring your bug spray or lotion if you want to stay outside at sunset.

We thought houses on this side of the lake (East arm of Walloon lake and the house/beach is facing East (West shore of East arm)) has more beautiful view since the opposite side (East shore of East arm) was developed very little, so more greenery to look above the lake.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

What a great house!

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

We are so pleased with that we rented this house for a week in September. We are a family of 5 adults and Roxie the Dog and this house was perfect for us! It was very spacious and clean and the view out onto the lake from the house and the deck was terrific. We finally got to see Mackinac Island and the Petoskey/Walloon Lake area is very nice. The road driving into the area where the house is located is beautiful. The leaves were just starting change up there and that was a treat to see. Thanks to the Deckers for sharing their great home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Relaxing and Lovely

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: September 15, 2008

My family has stayed at this property for the last four years and everytime we leave we can't wait to come back. It is a very peaceful location but close to Petoskey's charming downtown. The house and grounds are always very clean and well equipped. Can't wait to get back!!.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Family Fun

Review submitted: June 3, 2008   Date of arrival: May 23, 2008

A million dollar view. My family, including grandchildren, stayed here for a family wedding in Petoskey. We felt relaxed and at home here in this beautiful setting. The remodelled kitchen is fabulous. We loved the deck, the view from the family room and much more. There is a washer and dryer and 2 1/2 baths. There is plenty of room to roam and run around for the kids on the spacious lawn and no-one was crowded. The kids especially enjoyed the pedal boats. It was too cold to swim but the lake was crystal clear and we enjoyed the pontoon boat which we were able to rent very reasonably from the owner.
We had a bonfire,kindling was provided, we bought firewood in town.
Petoskey and whole area is gorgeous and has everything that you would want including movie theatre, casino and shopping. Wal-Mart, Lowes,as well as all of the special shops in town. Great place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review