reviews for: listing #46210 - Oxnard, California House rental

Magnificent Victorian Beachfront Estate on Mandalay Beach
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $950 - $1,500 /nt
    $5,500 - $6,950 /wk
    $19,500 - $27,800 /mth

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 8, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We celebrated our 50th anniversary with our family at this lovely beach house. Everyone--from 6 to 70--had a wonderful time. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great location; house needs some work

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: July 18, 2014

We stayed at this house for ten nights with a large, multi-generational family group, and had a great time. The pros were: great location-right across from the sand; kitchen/family room entertaining area with great views and plenty of room to accommodate us comfortably; the patio with fire pit which was great for evening. The cons: only two of the six bedrooms had adequate ventilation for our hot summer evenings; the house is a little “tired” – it needs some deep cleaning (i.e., the window ledge in the master bedroom) and sprucing up; the windows were so fogged with salt we could barely see the beautiful view of the ocean; and, although other reviewers stated it was easy to reach the caretaker, that was not our experience – he had a voice mail message in Spanish that said his voice mail had not been activated – it took multiple times to reach him about a garden hose that could not be turned off (this in the middle of a serious drought). The owner withheld $150 from our security deposit for a large wicker basket that may or may not have been damaged by us. As I could not say definitely that it was not damaged by one of us, I did not protest. I strongly suggest anyone renting there in the future do a careful inventory of the complete unit(s) and furniture to be sure you are not charged for someone else’s carelessness.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: In her comment, our guest states that she had a great time and enjoyed being right on the sand. Her main complaint was that the house was a little "tired" citing the fact that a windowsill was dirty as well as some of the windows. She also was not happy with the ventilation in the bedrooms.
All of the bedrooms have windows and most have ceiling fans. The weather is very comfortable at our beach, and evening temperatures are rarely above 70 F.
In maintaining the beach house, we go to great lengths to ensure that the house is not in fact tired. We have a maintenance man that is available at all times for emergencies and other issues. In addition, the windows are cleaned weekly but still get dirty due to our close proximity to the ocean. Our maintenance department reports after each cleaning on any damaged or missing items. These must be replaced or repaired in order to keep the property fresh.
Since our complete remodel of the house two years ago, feedback from our guests has been very positive. In fact we have many groups that return every year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

BP

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Outstanding accommodations; fabulous location; very well maintained and equipped; plenty of room for our large group; will definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Beach Trip Ever

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We have been renting southern California beach homes for the past thirty years. This is, hands down, the best property we've stayed in. The description and photos in the listing were a very accurate depiction of the property. It is a challenge to find a rental, especially at this reasonable price, for our extended family of 22. The biggest plus was the huge upper living area, which was spacious enough to accommodate all 22 of us for dining, visiting, games, or watching movies. Additional living areas provided space for an arts and crafts center and individual tv watching. We used only the penthouse kitchen for cooking meals, and it was more than adequate while also keeping the cooking and cleanup tasks manageable. The furnishings were very nice, as well as kid friendly, so we weren't constantly worrying about ruining anything. Having usually spent vacations on Orange County beaches, we were concerned about missing the lively vibe and many options for activities. We were pleasantly surprised to find that we really enjoyed the less congested and crowded beaches, traffic, and parking. We had a list of nearby attractions to visit, but we ended up being content to mostly relax at the house and on the beach. The kids were content to play on the sand and nearby playground and enjoyed dolphin and seal watching. We had a ball flying kites on the beach and found a fabulous park within 5/10 minutes walking distance. The beach was not the best (pebbly and steep) for swimming, but we drove up PCH to Zuma Beach for great boogie and skim boarding and also a shallower shoreline for the youngest in our group. Our grandchildren said this was the best beach trip ever, so we look forward to returning in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Beach stay

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Our group stayed at the beach house this past Feb. for our annual gathering and we had an amazing time! The house was clean and spacious. The penthouse living room was perfect for us with it's open floor plan and plentiful, comfortable seating. The kitchens all worked well and our stay was trouble free. The view was truly beautiful, especially from the Penthouse kitchen and main area! Dr. Steve, his staff, and Cassimiro were all helpful, easy to work with, responsive and kind. Definitely recommend for a stay for a larger group looking for a comfortable, relaxing, welcoming place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

The place was clean and very spacious with many beds. Even the murphy beds were comfortable! We had a problem with the internet not working, but it was quickly fixed by a very helpful and easily accessible owner. The location is right on the sand and water. Great place for large groups! Homey, comfortable, beautiful, modern, nice.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Perfect Family Reunion Spot!

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

We had a great family reunion at the Mandalay Beach House over the winter holidays! We are from SF and San Diego with an on-duty-over-Christmas firefighter working in Oxnard, so we decided to bring Christmas to the firefighter. We are 3 families with young kids (6 adults/4 kids <7), Grandma/ Grandpa, and Nana (who celebrated her 90th during our stay). The place was absolutely perfect for us - by far our favorite among the many VRBO spots we have visited!
Do not be deceived by the exterior—which shows signs of weathering from the sand/wind/etc. of the Oxnard shoreline. The interior is a huge 2 story home (with a roof deck) that has been nicely partitioned into 3 separate modern units – each complete with full kitchen, living space, and modern bathrooms. One downstairs unit is a 1 bedroom with a Murphy bed in the living room – this was perfect for one couple and their 5 year old son. The other unit is a 2 bedroom with a Murphy in the living room, a room with double bunk beds, and a master. This was perfect for couple number 2 and their 10 mo. old son (who got his own room). Grandma/Grandpa slept on the Murphy in the living room—but note that this room has a slider door and its own bathroom so they actually had their own space, too. Upstairs has a huge living space with couch seating for nearly 20! There is a table that seats 10 comfortably and a large modern kitchen with plenty of space for dueling chefs. There is also a “breakfast” room off the kitchen with a Murphy bed that we only used one night when auntie came up for Nana’s party—so most of the time this was where we did puzzles and played games. The other bedrooms up here include a master, a room with a twin plus trundle, and a-room outside of these rooms that is technically a den but has a nice leather couch/bed. My husband and I had the master, Nana got the twin room, and our boys slept happily in the den.
We had a real family Christmas here—complete with huge meals, lots of movies on the huge TVs that seem to dot every corner, games and puzzles, reading, and wonderful time on the play structures on the beach right in front of the house. Out firefighter got to visit a ton, and the serious surfers in the family enjoyed the local costal spots.
Steve, the owner, was very personable but not intrusive, andhe helped address a few glitches -- figuring out the heat and fire pit! He even brought a larger fry pan for the big unit when I suggested it!
This place is a real find!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Mom's 90th Birthday

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

The entire family enjoyed this very well designed, practical, high quality property. My Mom really enjoyed the great views and wonderful, easy to access beach. I would recommend this place for a large family gathering.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Beach Vacation

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

Plenty of room for myself, my wife, my four 20something sons with their wives/girlfriends, and my three year old granddaughter. We were all very comfortable. The two very large family room areas allowed for several simultaneous activities. Great views of ocean from kitchen and family rooms. Used the firepit almost every night. Walking and biking were great in this nice neighborhood. We used the volleyball courts, basketball courts and playground equipment everyday, too. The private garage was great with its second refridgerator.

Had great sushi at little place around the corner near Von's. Cold Stone Creamery had really good ice cream, too.

We did some geocaching both in the area and up above Santa Barabara which was also fun.

This place can easily hold two families or more. We had an excellent time there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A great time!

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

We stayed here for my parents' 50th anniversary. The grandparents, kids and grandkids all in the house and we had more than enough room. The beach access is wonderful and the grandparents were able to watch everyone play on the beach w/o having to walk down there.

A new house partially obstructs the view of the beach, but still a great view. We saw dolphins from the house most days and a pod of whales once.

Would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a large house on the beach. It is a beautiful house and well maintained. It was perfect!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family vacation!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Previously our family has opted to stay in an RV park for our annual family vacation. This year we decided to try something different, all stay in one house on the beach. It was wonderful!! This house is large enough to allow kids and adults their own space. We had five families represented and there was plenty of room for all. It was great to walk out the front gate to the sand. The front patio with firepit and bbq was very handy. Fabulous views from inside and outside the house! Lots of seating for relaxing and for dining. Totally fantastic family vacation!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We had our best vacation ever here!!!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

We decided to stay relatively local for our spring break vacation. Because the house is SO big, we paired up with 2 other family’s. WHAT A GREAT IDEA!!! It made it totally affordable. The house itself was so spacious, and it was easy for all 15 of us to enjoy ourselves and each other without feeling squished. There was a beach park with swings, a rock wall and basketball court right in front of the house, so we were able to watch the kids right from the patio as we bbq'd. The owner was totally cool, and called us back right away when we had questions. We will definitely do this again!!! LOVED IT!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Party House

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

My family of 11 adults and children had a wonderful time here over the course of a week. Lovely beach, close to stores, excellent location, great party house. We truly appreciated the house!



Best,

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved my stay here!

Review submitted: December 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

We used this beautifully furnished home for our family reunion. There is so much room there that the kids had an entire floor all to themselves, leaving the grown-up to have quiet time when we needed it. The beach is absolutely beautiful. You are on the sand when you step out of the front door. The newly constructed building doesn't take away from the beautiful views from within the home. It is such a treat to have your morning coffee and feast your eyes on the ocean just yards away. The owners are very accommodating making sure we all our needs were met. We are making this property a yearly excursion for our family to get together.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Huge construction site 4 feet in front...

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

We rented the house from August 20th for a week, the good Doctor who owns the house "forgot" to tell us that there is a massive construction going on right before the house, blocking the entire view of the ocean some 4 feet from the house... we left after 2 days after..

Owners response: The good traveler forgot that I told him of the construction at the time he made his reservation. In July, without having been informed, construction began on the beach in front of the house. The area is fenced in and is 10 – 15 feet from the house. Since that time all guests have been informed prior to finalizing their reservation.

The construction was a temporary situation, the bulk of which has been completed ..
It hasl resulted in obstruction of the ocean view only from the bedrooms. The views from the family room, dining room, living room, and patio remainintact.

Of note, the renter made no negative comments about the house itself. Mandalay Beach House is well maintained and has staffing available at all times should repairs be required. Recent upgrades include: a newly painted interior and exterior, tile flooring throughout, a 52”flat screen plasmaTV, new large kitchen appliances, and a Murphy bed with a privacy partition in the den.

I strive to make all of our guests comfortable so that they may have the fondest vacation memories of their stay.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great spot for a family vacation

Review submitted: July 29, 2008   Date of arrival: July 18, 2008

The ocean veiws from this house are spectacular! Every room has a great view. The home is huge for a famliy of 5. We invited CA family over one day to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday and my in laws 51st wedding anniv. We had plenty of room to sit and visit and to eat our meals. The pink marble coffee tables, and pink marble based dining table are sturdy and beautiful. We enjoyed a fire one night in the upper living room, Mandalay beach was windy/cool and the water very cold, unlike Fla
beaches we are used to. Once we got over the fact there were no shells, we made a game of who could find the most green colored stones. We loved having the beach side playground out the door, the kids spent alot of time playing there. The house is located in a quiet residental section, apartments on one side and big beautiful homes on the other side of house. This is not your typical beach town. However, Surfers and dolphins every day at 7 a.m. right out front of property, so there is plenty to watch and enjoy! The biggest seagulls and pelicans we have ever seen too. Sunsets off the upper decks, spectacular! The spacious master bedroom/bath complete with the stained glass is wonderful, the shower has 3 heads at various levels. Huge closet with bed inside. Private balcony, fireplace, sitting area with big bay windows to enjoy the veiws. This house has tons of cabinet space and a fully equipped kitchen, lots of counter space. 2 gas ovens, 2 gas stove tops. I spent alot of time enjoying the ocean views as I cooked our meals. We felt safe in this house. There are no keys, had to use the code to get in each time. Lots of beach toys, kite, chairs, and shower in garage. Sliding glass doors and sliding windows throughout the house. Lots of light switches to get familiar with and tile floors to sweep. Beware of the black tar on ocean floor, use nail polish remover to remove the tar from your feet or you will track it in on the floors/sheets. The ocean had huge waves and they were very strong. We enjoyd the full moon from the roof top each night. We were unable to get the fire pit lit on the patio, but we did use the grill. Overall, our experience was positive. We did not like having to provide our own bath towels since we came from Atlanta. Hand towels only were provided by the house. Go 3 miles to Ventura Harbor for shops, meals, Fun! Surfer's Point & Grant Park overlook in Ventura. Channel Islands Sportfishing day trip $55, $40 children.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

June Vacation

Review submitted: July 18, 2008   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

The location is perfect. Your backyard is the ocean. The home has everything you need for a beach vacation. Great ocean views from almost every room. Don't miss the ROOF TOP!

Note: BRING your own Beach and bath towels, they are not supplied with the linen service.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 21, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Our extended family spent the week together over New Year's of 2007. We had an incredible time!! There was plenty of room for all of us to relax, with the kids downstairs watching TV. The views were magnificent and the house was very comfortable. We were able to walk for miles and miles. We would certainly come back again. Steve, our host was very attentive and made sure that all of our needs were met. Thanks, Steve for all of your help!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 6, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

The house is absolutely beautiful and a wonderful place to be for a family get-together. The rental process was extremely easy and the people were very friendly. The floorplan is very accommodating and the home is nicely maintained. We had awesome weather - even in December. I highly recommend this vacation home to others!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 8, 2006   Date of arrival: December 1, 2006

great house with lots of living space
for family gathering in a fabulous location
owners are gracious and helpful

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 24, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

We had a family weekend in October. There were 8 adults and 3 children and we were very comfortable here. Lots of space to eat and visit. The beach here is great and the playground on the sand was perfect for my toddlers.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 7, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

We enjoyed a lovely, restful and relaxing 4 days at your home. The home is charming and warm and inviting.
We were able to accommodate all our guests. Great experience overall!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 19, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

We stayed at the house the week of the fourth of July. What a wonderful time we had. The weather was perfect,and as promised we could see fire works from many different directions. The house is big, comfortable and in great shape. The owner was very pleasant, making us feel very welcome. We had grandchildren with us ages 4 thru 12 plus parents and a good time was had by all. We would absoulutely rent it again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 18, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

Don and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniverary on May 19th. We had family and friends to help us.
We found this home to be everything we had hoped for. The owners were very pleasant and cooperative. If we needed anything all it took was a phone call and it was provided. They also gave us great tips on things to do and see.

The weather was clear, a little windy, but still pretty good for May.
There is lots of square footage and the home is in good repair.
We saw Dolphins run in the surf. Cooked lots of great meals with plenty of seating for all of us. Enjoyed sitting around the fire pit in the evenings.
It was a blast and we look forward to another visit.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review