reviews for: listing #46211 - Ocean Beach, California House rental

Beach Front... Dog Beach! Free Dog Sitting!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $345 /nt
    $1,350 - $2,085 /wk
    $2,700 - $2,835 /mth

sort by:

GREAT LOCATION

Review submitted: March 14, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

We've enjoyed everyone of our "get aways" at Sharron's property. The condo is clean and comfortable. We love the location and the walks on the beach. The yard is great and everything we need is available in the condo. We will keep coming back.
Our dogs get excited when we tell them we're going on vacation to the beach. We love Ocean Beach. Check this place out, you won't have any regrets!

Helpful votes: 18 / 24

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Heaven

Review submitted: August 21, 2014   Date of arrival: August 20, 2014

"What a wonderful slice of heaven!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Meditation Garden; Dog Sitting

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

We loved our time here! Great location - Dog Beach, River Walk, great restaurants! Close to major attractions, shopping. Sharon was very helpful & watched our dog when we were away for the day. Loved the meditation garden & the unit was very comfortable - Will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Coffee-Making Choices; Privacy

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

This was an ideal location for our stay. Visiting family who live in Point Loma, good eating at Bo-Beau, great times for our two mini-aussies on dog Beach. Your apartment is very comfortable and dog-friendly and we appreciated the coffee-making choices! I did miss more TV options at night, and the wifi was definitely "iffy", but still very usable. We appreciate your friendliness as a hostess while still giving us privacy. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fenced-In Yard; Egrets & Pelicans

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 18, 2014

Great place. My son and his two daughters and I all loved the place. The sand toys and fenced-in yard gave them a break from snowy Chicago. Loved dog beach, the egrets and pelicans, too. Sunrise Café (DayBreak Inn) has great sandwiches, too and I can't visit without getting some tamales from Ortegas. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

6 Dogs

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

Location, Location, Location! Thanks for welcoming us (3 people& 6 dogs) to your cozy property. Even though it was rainy, the dogs enjoyed their vacation...as did we. Thanks for the hospitality. Until next time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location; Dog Friendly

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 7, 2014

Great location and very dog friendly! Thanks so much for your hospitality and privacy. The condo is just what we needed, very comfortable and convenient to everything. The beach is such a great place for the dogs to be - we thoroughly enjoyed watching all the pups playing and swimming. Jake had so much fun- One suggestion would be to add more TV viewing options for us old folks - Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

No Worry About Dogs

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

I drove down from San Francisco with my 2 dogs. We had such a great time. Location can't be beat & loved how low-maintenance the condo was - no worrying about the dogs making a mess. Thanks Sharron!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Dog Beach!

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 27, 2014

Absolutely tremendous! The best dog beach in the world is right outside the back gate. Very dog friendly accomodations and very comfortable. Beautiful little backyard for the dogs. Looking forward to our next visit- can't wait!

Great place for everyone to spend with your dogs. So wonderful to spend these last few days in such a homey place and just a few steps to the beach. We will be back soon. Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Family Vacation...Peace of Mind About Dog

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

What a great vacation for the whole family. My dad & his dog Jake enjoyed the beach! Our three children enjoyed the nearby parks, especially Sea World, and my husband & I enjoyed the time away from our busy schedule to enjoy & relax. Thanks for watching Jake while we were away! It gave us such piece of mind to not worry about Jake while we were gone for a few hours! Thanks gain & have a wonderful summer, Sharron.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Convenient Location

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

Thank you for a great stay. We did not bring our dog with us this time but we still enjoyed Dog beach and the convenient location. Sharon was very helpful and sweet. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Birthday Week

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

Thank you, Sharron for being a gracious host and a good friend to our beloved rescue, Gypsy. I had a wonderful birthday here and hope to return next year for another. You have inspired me with those adorable gals Billi & Sadie so maybe next summer we will have another pup. Lydia (our 3 y/o daughter) doesn't want to leave, & quite frankly Vegas isn't looking all that appealing right now after this great weather. Thanks again?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy Place to Stay!

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

"I had a wonderful time at your home. The dogs and I had a lot of fun on the beach. I want to come again and stay longer. I have stayed at other places in O.B. but was never so happy. Thank you."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't be beat!

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 9, 2014

If you love your four legged friends stay at Sharron's. Step out the back gate and over the berm and you are at Ocean Beach's gigantic dog beach. No parking lots or streets to cross.

The accommodations are the entire first floor of the property. Clean, spacious, nicely decorated. Many of the other listings here look to be cracker boxes at best. Not here, I'd guess about 800 sq ft. Sharron is a gracious host. When we arrived she showed us around including the backyard oasis that is your backdrop from the wall of French doors in the living area. Complete privacy from the beach walk beyond. I thought she'd show concern about the dogs tearing up the garden which was very tidy. She didn't and they didn't. She made here self available to us but we had no need to see her and she dropped by quickly on the last evening to say goodbye.

We will be returning.

Owners response: Thanks for your really great comments on HomeAway. I hope you'll come back and see us again soon!. Sharron V.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The unit was very comfortable and felt like home.

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 23, 2014

Enjoyed our visit very much. Have stayed in other rentals in the area but this one was perfect. The dog beach was literally the back yard. Our 2 Labs and Yorkie had enough room. The unit is very dog friendly. We did not worry that our dogs were going to damaged anything. The tile floor in the unit is sand and dog hair friendly. Sharron was available and very pleasant. Will return.

Owners response: Thanks so much for your nice comments. I hope you will come back soon and visit us again. Sharron V.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect week at Ocean Beach

Review submitted: June 1, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2014

We completely enjoyed ourselves and the place was perfect for the dogs. Two steps out the back gate and you are literally on Dog Beach. Had everything we needed and the location is perfect. Lot's of great places to eat all within walking distance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Gene & Kim, thanks for your really terrific comment on HomeAway. I hope you'll come back and stay with us again soon! Sharron V.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

visitors from vancouver island

Review submitted: March 29, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

location,location,location. unbelievably close to everything and dog beach was outstanding. The condo was great and Sharon was a great host. would rebook if we ever return to san diego. ocean beach is a mixture of quaint and eclectic and we really enjoyed it

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jim & Louise for your very nice comment on Home Away. Hope all is going well for you. I just adopted (from the pound) a 2d dog so Billi could have a playmate. She is a Manchester Terrier just 2 lbs. bigger than Billi. they are the same age (a month apart) and they are having a wonderful time playing, and playing, and playing. It was the right thing to do! Sharron V.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dog Heaven!

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We rented this property for three days on a last-minute basis and it was perfect for our needs. It's marketed as a dog-friendly property and boy is it! Sharron is a dog lover and is absolutely tolerant of normal dog behavior. The decor is necessarily sparse as part of its dog-proof nature (no carpets or rugs, fake plants, non-breakable or very heavy lamps, a selection of plastic cups) and the furniture is necessarily rugged leather. We didn't really use the kitchen other than the coffee table, but it looks adequate for the preparation of simple meals. There is a fantastic back yard with passionfruit growing in it.

The location could hardly be better. Right outside the back gate, through the marvelous and dog-resistant back yard, is the Ocean Beach Dog Beach. Once on the beach, dogs may be off-leash. There is a canal for calmer water for dog swimming and waves with surfers for romping in surf.

Sharron lives upstairs but I only saw her twice, although I knew how to reach her. She was friendly and professional and unobtrusive. The kind of landlord you like to have. Property was cleaned, photos were representative of the unit, and her directions were good, although the address correlates well with GPS programs.

One bit of important information about this neighborhood: it is right under the departure path from the airport (SAN) and some of the heavier takeoffs can be a bit noisy. It was never a problem at night.

Also, while not an issue for us, the entire unit is on one level with no stairs, although the carport is cramped. The unit is pretty disabled accessible, although the beach would not be accessible to a wheelchair guest through the back yard.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yes, we love dogs and dog-lovers. Anybody who loves their dogs enough to take them on vacation deserves a break! I'll do free dog-sitting for friendly dogs (and cats) so owners can take a longer day at Sea World, Tiajuana, or whatever. Just let me know in advance. I'm usually available. Ocean Beach is also a dog-friendly community. Come see us.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

San Diego Getaway, location, location, location

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

We had a fantastic month staying here. The home was very comfortable and nicely decorated. It was great having a backyard and backing onto the path to the beach and park. Whether hiking, biking or playing tennis this location is excellent. Our dog loved the dog parks and we enjoyed being centrally located for visiting attractions.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Fun with your Dogs in Dog Beach Correction

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

"We have spent our second winter with Sharon, Scooter and the Cats upstairs. You couldn't ask for a nicer "landlord" She is very helpful with pup sitting if you make arrangements ahead time to be out for the day. The condo is conveniently located and nicely furnished. It is also nice to have a car port for your car while you stay. With the walking path to the dog beach it is a dog's delight. If you have never stayed in OB be sure to go to the Bar B Que. place downtown OB right next to Cow CD shop and Shades makes a nice breakfast lunch or dinner. We can ABSOLUTELY recommend this condo for a vacation rental. Our owners were happy too. Maggie and Laci "the pups""

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun with your Dogs in Dog Beach

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

We have spent our second winter with Sharon, Scooter and the Cats upstairs. You couldn't ask for a nicer "landlord" She is very helpful with pup sitting if you make arrangements ahead time to be out for the day. The condo is conveniently located and nicely furnished. It is also nice to have a car port for your car while you stay. With the walking path to the dog beach it is a dog's delight. If you have never stayed in OB be sure to go to the Bar B Que. place downtown OB right next to Cow CD shop and Shades makes a nice breakfast lunch or dinner. We can hardly recommend this condo for a vacation rental. Our owners were happy too. Maggie and Laci "the pups"

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Please see correction below. Traveler inadverdently said she could "hardly" recommend this place. She meant to say "heartily" recommend this place. In the correction she says she "ABSOLUTELY" RECOMMENDS THIS PLACE.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 21, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

3/16/09-3/20/09 WHAT A WONDERFUL HOME and great location! Sharon is a wonderful host and the fact that she'll take care of your pets if you spend the day going sight seeing is PRICELESS! We are a family of 4 Humans and 3 Bernese Mountain Dogs and there was plenty of room for the whole family, the location couldn't be better, right on the beach, down the street from all the "OB" action and pier, yet a close drive over to Mission beach and all San Diego attractions! We have now found our new "OB" and truly enjoyed our stay! DOn't hesitate to contact me via EM if you would like some additional information! THANK YOU SHARRON and see you soon! I'll send you some photos of our stay! The girls all miss the beach already!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 24, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

This is our second visit! Krissy & Tyler love going to Dog Beach, sometimes
twice a day. We often think that coming here is more a vacation for them
than for us! Miss Tinkerball (cat) feels right at home here too. The
humans in this family appreciate all of the comforts in this beach house and
we love having our animals with us. It was a nice break for all of us.
Even our guest from Maryland loved this place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 21, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Great Location! Dog Beach is right outside your door! Koji was exhausted (& so was I) every night from our swimming and walking on the beach. Very comfortable condo with everything you could ask for. Sharron, Bo and Scooter are great hosts! We hope to return next summer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

"This is our second visit. Our dogs love it here and so do we. It's very
relaxing and the weather is simply perfect. We went to the beach daily, to
the Farmer's market on Wednesdays, to the dog park and out to lunch a couple
of times. Dogs are welcome at most places. It's a wonderful way to spend
time with the family. We will be back next year! And we'd definitely
recommend this place to anyone who wants to vacation with their dogs. Thank
you, Sharron. We had a great time! And we appreciate you letting us bring
our dogs. They are our greatest treasures!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 8, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We just returned from the best vacation we've had in a very long time. In fact, I would say it ranks as #1! Sharron is incredibly warm and inviting, and her charm made the stay even better than we expected. We were able to bring our dog, PJ, adn this was a first "dog friendly" vacation for us. It made it much more fun, and with Sharron's great house it felt a little like "home".

The location is great, 15 minutes from the GasLamp, Sea World, the Zoo, and all the main San Diego spots. The beach was not a big deal for us, but for those who love beaches, this house is ideally located. We did take our dog along the path at the beach a few times, and the path & beache are literally right outside the backyard fence.

The amenities in the house surprised us. For example, we almost brought our own coffee maker (we're huge coffee lovers), but she had one and a grinder. The TV had a DVD player for those times we just wanted to watch a movie and relax. The kitchen was ideal for us, and the backyard was perfect for us and our dog. The patio had a table and chairs to sit and relax.

This house is a charmer, and well updated. I would recommend this location to anyone!

When we returned from our trip, we told a lot of our friends about this house. It is really a great deal!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 6, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

My family and I had a great time staying at Sharrons for a week. The location is a nice short walk to both the dog and human beach. Great surfing area. The beachs were not crowded during the week and although our stay was on the 4th of July traffic wasn't a problem because we could walk or bike to where we wanted to go. Great place to watch fireworks! Nice little house very well kept. Sharron made sure we had everything we needed for a wonderful stay in Ocean Beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 7, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Sharron, thank you so much, once again, for our great vacation in OB. It was great! I told you we'd be back. We have found our yearly vacation spot. The dogs loved it, though they got to thinking dog beach was there own personal playground and didn't have to listen. That's what two weeks did to them, but they are home now in the smoldering heat. We can't thank you enough, everything was great. Say hi to Bo and Scooter. We will definately be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 19, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

We just returned from our great vacation at Dog Beach. Sharron was great, the condo was great, we had everything you needed and more. The perfect location, close to all of San Diego's best attractions. This was by far our best away from home vacation. Hope to return in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 15, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We just returned from a relaxing stay! It was a great location for both our dog Buddy and our kids. Thank you for the wonderful hospitality!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review