reviews for: listing #46219 - North Captiva Island, Florida House rental

Manatee Haven: Large Enclosed Pool, Hot Tub & Elevator
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Captiva Palma
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,350 - $3,950 /wk

sort by:

It doesn't get any better than Manatee Haven

Review submitted: August 21, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

Three generations of our family spent a week on Cloud Nine at Manatee Haven. The entire experience was fantastic and a perfect final week of summer vacation before the kids went back to school. The owners, managers, the home, the island - - all outstanding. Earlier reviews describe the specifics and I won't waste your time repeating them here. The bottom line, however, is this: if you are looking for a great place to have a truly luxurious, unique getaway, you MUST consider Manatee Haven. You will not be sorry!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SIX Stars

Review submitted: July 29, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

What else can be said that hasn't been said in the previous 31 reviews - all with perfect scores of 5! I bet you can't find that for any other rental home!

Here's the scoop as experienced by my wife and I earlier this month:

STAR 1 - The OWNERS are extremely responsive at any time of the process - from the initial inquiry through following up after your stay. I don't recall ever waiting as much a day for an email response. I am confident that their main objective is to make the experiences of their quests memorable and to continuously improve their home.

STAR 2 - The on island PROPERTY MANAGERS are top notch. They are extremely personable and respond immediately to a phone call if you have a concern or a need. They are very approachable.

STAR 3 - The HOME. You feel comfortable from the time your drive your golf cart into the driveway. It's extremely clean and neat - and has practically everything you would want. The pool and hot tub are outstanding. Once inside you feel like you belong there. Kudos to the cleaning crew. Read all the other reviews for more details on the amenities of the home - they are all accurate.

STAR 4 - The ISLAND - miles of soft sand beaches nearly desolate. A wonderful nature preserve that is an easy 25 minute hike through a sandy path ending in more isolated beaches away from everything. You must take this walk and be sure to wear your sneakers. Bring a backpack with some goodies and some cool drinks!

STAR 5 - The WILDLIFE - Do you like kayaking with the dolphins, perhaps a catching a glimpse of manatee. How about watching a gopher tortoise amble across one of the sandy paths (no black top on these roads). There are also various species of birds, bunny rabbits, and various fish in the gulf if you like to fish.

STAR 6 - RELAXATION - The five preceding Stars lead up to this one. If you're looking for crowds, night clubs, and load noises - this is not the vacation for you. If your looking to relax and have fun - look no further. Manatee Haven is the place for you. Do miss out on a vacation of a lifetime.

I have to rate Manatee Haven a "6".

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Wonderful!

Review submitted: June 19, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

The first week of June my sister and I took our kids (ages 7 thru 15) to North Captiva island, for 10 days. Choosing to stay at Manatee Haven is what made the entire trip perfect. This house has everything you could ever need. I'm still in amazement. It was so clean, great location and big private pool. Truthfully the combo of the beautiful, peaceful island, The care and expertise the owners of Manatee Haven give to just help organizing your trip to the perfect house with all you could ever need! And having Jane and Jeff there to help out made this by far one of the greatest vacations ever. We will definitely go back and no doubt stay at Manatee Haven! Thank you so much Kay, Jane and Jeff!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Family Retreat!

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

This was our second visit to Manatee Haven and it absolutely can't be beat for a care-free family retreat! This home is so well designed and prepared for a large family group. In our case, the elevator was priceless for Grandpa, and the pool provided hours of fun for the young ones. Everything is clean, comfortable, and well maintained. The pool is big enough for everyone, and having it screened and shaded is a big plus! The beach is so close that even our toddlers could race there in no time, and we love the absence of cars, stores, and crowds! We haven't found any other vacation spot that lends itself more thoroughly to relaxation and family time, or any home that we've enjoyed more. As others have attested, once you reach the island and Manatee Haven, life simply revolves around having fun together. Thank you for providing such a great home away from home!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Home, has everything.

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

This is the first visit to N. Captiva Island for my family and I. We had a great time and staying ay Manatee Haven was the best. The house has everything you would ever need and much more. Our Grand daughter loved the pool, the many toys and riding around on the golf cart. When we plan next years family vacation Manatee Haven will top the list.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Simply the best on the island

Review submitted: April 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

This was our 4th trip to North Captiva, and our 3rd time staying @ Manatee Haven. As others have said, this house has everything you need. Simply pack your bathing suit, a couple t-shirts, your food and beverages - and that is all you need! What I love about this house is that it is 100% livable space. Four spacious bedrooms, really comfy living room/screened patio overlooking the golf, awesome kitchen, updated furnishings, and in "like new" shape, and a fantastic location close to everything. While there are 3 full baths, we only used the extremely nice outdoor shower by the pool. The pool/hot tub/dining/shower area is much larger in real life than photos show. We found we spent a ton of time here. And because the pool is screened and tucked back behind the house, it's an excellent choice on windy days or if you want "filtered" sun. We cannot find another house on the island that has quite this setup. The owners, Kay and Jake have clearly put a ton of hard work and love into this home. Everything is so personalized and themed towards manatees. We've been going long enough for our daughters to be napping in diapers, to now being tweens and teens asking to take the kayaks or bikes out to explore. The folks who manage the property, Jane and Jeff will be sure you have no problems and are quick to respond to any questions you have. Kay is the best to work with during booking your trip and questions. All emails were replied to within one day. Simply put...we crave this place and everything about it. No words or photos are good enough to convey how perfect it is - but I hope this helps! We can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fell in love with North Captiva Island and Manatee Haven

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

We have been back home for a week and are already counting down the days until we can go back. This was our first time to the island and your home but our friends have stayed there many times that we were with. When my friend said your home had everything we would need, I didn't realize she really meant EVERYTHING! We had the absolute BEST time! From coffee on the observation deck, the kids swimming for hours in the pool, lunch on the patio, and evenings playing cards and board games, we are suffering from post-island depression! We can't thank you enough for sharing your beautiful home with us. We will definitely go back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: It is wonderful to note that a first time visitor of a previous guest wrote this review and captured what we try to accomplish to our guests, i.e. provide "everything" they need to have a memorable vacation experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Family Spring Break!

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Manatee Haven and certainly look forward to a return trip. The layout of your home is wonderful and it was fantastic to have a screened in pool to enjoy. Your house is extremely well stocked and maintained. We were blown away by the organized manner of your DVD collection. We have visited North Captiva a few times before and always stayed on the beach, so we were reluctant at first to move to a location not oceanfront. We quickly learned this was not an issue and found it simple to transport our family to the beach.

Your home provided us with way more space than we needed and having so many comforts of home without having to drag them to the island was perfect!

Thank you again for the opportunity to rent your lovely home – we look forward to a return trip.

Owners response: We very much appreciate the review and especially the statement, "blown away by the organized manner of your DVD collection". There are over 700 movie DVDs in 13 3-ring binders organized by G, PG, and R. It's a quick way to for a guest to look through the movie name index pages to select a movie to watch.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT VACATION PLACE

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

WHAT A GREAT VACATION PLACE ! THE HOUSE WAS AWESOME-IT HAD EVERYTHING IN IT...THE BEACH SUPPLIES WORKED OUT PERFECT,WE SPENT ALOT OF TIME THERE (30 SECONDS AWAY). WE USED THE HEATED POOL/HOT TUB ALMOST EVERY DAY...WE RENTED A BOAT FOR A FEW DAYS AND ZIPPED AROUND TO THE OTHER ISLANDS (GETTING LUNCH) AND FISHING. THE VIEWS FROM THE CROWS NEST WERE BREATH TAKING IN THE EVENING . WE WERE ABLE TO SPOT LOTS OF DOLPHINS AND A PAIR OF MANATEE IN SAFETY HARBOR ...JANE AND JEFF MADE GETTING TO THE HOUSE FROM THE DOCK AND LEAVING A BREEZE . OVER ALL A GREAT RELAXING TRIP-WITH LOTS OF ADVENTURES AND A SUPER HOUSE TO STAY AT !! THANKS

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are pleased that our guest confirmed what we strive for, by stating "the house was awesome - it had everything in it", in the first sentence.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Escape back to the simple times

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

This was our 2nd time to the Island & our 1st time staying at Manatee Haven. This home has EVERYTHING! If you plan on renting, you only need to bring your clothes, main food staples, & very personal items like deodrant & toothbrushes & toothpaste. The house is completely stocked with everything else. The kitchen is stocked with oils, vingers, spices, utensils, & gadgets glarore. It even has an automatic ice cream maker so be sure to bring heavy cream & milk. Nothing like ice cream while sitting on one of the screened in porches watching the sunset. Jane & Jeff were great. Any issues that may arise were taken care. Sorry for the many phone calls & texts the first few days. The pics of this house do not do justice to the beauty of the home. It is much more. Kay has a closet full...literally..of games for old & young, a drawer full of books for bed time reading for the kids & every item that a manatee can be put on from pics to towels to night lights & lamps. Our family refers to this vacation desrinarion as Gilligans Island. It is pure, clean, and a true work of Natures beauty. You will not be disappointed if you chose this home. Kay was wonderful to work with & always answered my mamy emails. She even called to make sure her home met our needs. Hoping to rent again, unless we bring more people. & would need a bigger home. Manatee Haven is truly a haven to be shared by family for memories that last a life time. The elevator was perfect & made sharing every level care free for some family members that required assistance with mobility issues.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: We appreciate the point of view from a guest that has stayed on the island before by spelling out the salient points of Manatee Haven. Namely, that our home has EVERYTHING, i.e. well stocked kitchen, helpful managers, beauty of home, many family games, and an available elevator. What we appreciated the most was that they, "shared their memories that last a lifetime".

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

North Captiva "Manateee Haven" VRBO #32606

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

My family spent the Christmas week here in 2013(all 10 f us including a 2 and 4 year old) and had a great time/ Location was ideal being close to both clubs, stores, etc as well as the beach and the nature preserve. we brought too much with us because everything was provided and the home was so organized we found it all. The gang loved the pool and the view "from the top". We'll come again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are pleased that our guest mentioned in his review that our location was ideal, that we provided everything they needed, and they had a great time, especially the pool and the observation deck.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Visiting in August: like visiting a great resort that's all your own.

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We stayed for a week in August. At night, lights on in just two houses. At dinner, the cook doubled as the waiter ("If you'd made a reservation, I might have called the waitress.") In short, very much like the Garden of Eden before the snake arrived. Our days were simple: pool, hot tub, reading, a movie during the afternoon shower, a short walk to the beach. And repeat. By day two, the world had, blessedly, disappeared. The house? Everything you need for total comfort (all it lacks is a milk cow). And the mantatee art and objects? Sweet. Would we do it again? In a heartbeat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We very much appreciate how our guest described their stay in such a unique, clever and funny way.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

Thank you so much for renting us your home for our family vacation. Everything was perfect for all the ages - from 60's, to 30's to teens and an 11 year old! Because of the rain & thunderstorms in early a.m. & late afternoons the movies really kept the kids happy. We never thought we'd use the hot tub in July, but it was cool enough in the evenings to be really welcomed - after such strenuous beach walking. We had a wonderful time and as usual, Jane & Jeff Henderson are the best to work with.

Thank you, again,

Cindy & Roland

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate the words, "everything was perfect" and the recognition of the fine work our managers, Jane and Jeff Henderson, carry out for every guest.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Manatee Haven.....IS HEAVEN!!

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

We cannot begin to tell you what a wonderful time we had residing in this home. The special touches Kay and Jake place everywhere is so homey and helpful. So many needs met that I cannot begin to name them. But simple things, like condiments you forgot to order, shampoo, body wash, band aids, peroxide, Bactine just to name a few. I could go on and on.

We enjoyed the beaches each morning and hiked in the State Park. We saw Manatees, baby Eagles, baby Osprey, Porpoises jumping, Sandpipers....so many special and unusual animals. For the beach there were umbrellas, beach chairs and plenty of sand toys.

Every afternoon found us in the pool relaxing and there were so many choices of floats, including children's arm floats. We don't have children, however, I was so impressed with their supply to be certain their needs were met as well. The pool set up and the deck is fantastic! And if you have anyone sensitive to the sun there is plenty of shade while they watch you or your children frolicking in the water!

Evenings supplied contentment. After watching the beautiful sunset on the roof top deck we made our way to the hot tub! Perfect ending to a day!

What more could we have asked for? We often said "what a life"!! It was the restful, relaxing vacation we both needed! We highly recommend this home for your time on a small island away from the hustle and bustle of life. We have already scheduled this again for next year!

Thank you Kay and Jake for making this a special memory. We look forward to our next visit and we will continue to mention you to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The primary goal of our vacation rental home is to provide a clean, organized, and well furnished home. We want their stay to be special that exceeds their expectations.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great House For Families

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Its a great house to rent with kids.This is the second time we had stayed here. It was very clean and well maintained. It has everything...the pool, pool toys,the beach is so close,the sand toys, the games, the tv channels and movies.The board games selection is impressive. We had some bad weather towards the end of the week and the kids discovered some new games. The movie selection is amazing. It was hard to pick one everyone would agree on.
We loved sitting on the screened in porch off the living room.
We had a GREAT time and would love to go back! I would recommend this to a friend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We try to provide everything a family with kids would need so that they would have a good time and enjoy their stay at Manatee Haven.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

We spent a week at Manatee Haven and did not want to return to the reality of the real world. On North Captiva we felt like we were away from all the troubles of the world. There is nothing Manatee Haven does not have. The house is better stocked than our home. The kitchen has every appliance you could need. Movies oh my, amazing. We played many games by the pool many we had not played before. We worked puzzles by the pool also. Ate almost every meal on the screened in porch off the family room. What a view to have while enjoying a meal. My son loved the telescopes and looking at the moon and starts at night. The beach was peaceful and beautiful. My son loved riding around the island with Grandpa on the golf cart. No traffic no smog no honking horns no sirens. As I said Paradise. Kay is a wonderful host and answered all my questions quickly. It was a last minute vacation for us and she was great at putting me at ease about the house and island. If you are looking for a relaxing peaceful laid back vacation Manatee Haven is for you. Our Miniature Australian Shepherd also loved Manatee Haven. He loved the screened in porches as did we.
On the ferry ride back my 7 year old was asking when we could go back. That is enough for me.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The review gives us great pleasure and boosts our confidence knowing that our goal has been met. Our basic goal is to provide a clean and well-furnished home so our guests have a memorable experience.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

TOP CLASS STAY

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

Everything and I mean everything is here just bring your bathing suit. The owners of this great home have supplied all you can think of. The kitchen is top notch-all equipment is clean and like new. TV's and DVD players everywhere. The pool is the biggest on island and comfortably warm in the November time period we were there. Shelling is a must on the state park area of the island. But, it was great to just chill and have our Thanksgiving at Manatee Haven. The house is extremely well stocked--- movies galore. I wish my own home was as organized as this one. Nothing was in need of repair.

LOVED IT!

Owners response: The review above confirms how we run our vacation home rental business. To provide a clean and an well-furnished home so our guests have a memorable experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Family Vacation!!!

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

For the past few years our family has vacation in the Sanibel & Captiva area, this was our fist time venturing to North Captiva Island, and must say it is the first of many to come.

First our most sincere gratitude to Kay, who is friendly, helpful and goes out of her way to make sure your family vacation is perfect. Also,to Jane & Jeff who make you feel welcome and at home the minute you set foot on the island.

The house is everything and more, it is a beautiful, radiant, cozy, comfortable and you will feel like your visiting a family/friend home.

Manatee Haven and its amenities exceeded our expectations.

The island is a must, it is quiet, peaceful, beautiful and great for children. My son who is four years old enjoyed going walking at the beach and taking our dogs for walks.

Having access to the Captiva Club is a plus, children and adults can enjoy bike riding and Kayak (Kay many thanks for this) and other activities.

In the words of my son, our whole family had an "awesome time" and look forward to staying at Manatee Haven for years to come!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I very much appreciate the above review which provides another helpful insight on what Manatee Haven offers. Our team strives to make every family's vacation experience memorable.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Manatee Haven...heaven!

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

This location is truly one of the best locations my family and I have ever stayed. We have stayed in many vacation homes and this by far has been the best! If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay and get away from it all this is it! What we enjoyed most about the home was the pool with numerous anmenities, the crows net to view the island, and enclosed porch to relax and lookout at the ocean. It was a short cart ride to the beach which was private and clean. Everyday we saw dolphins! I would highly recommend renting a boat for the day to visit Cayo costa and cabbage key! For a nightly outing we would go to the state park where we find numerous conch shells and sand dollars! The house is fully stocked and Kay makes you feel at home with the collection of up to date movies, board game, telescopes, and daily supplies. We will definitely return to manatee haven!

Owners response: I very much appreciate the above review which provides great insight on what Manatee Haven offers. Our team strives to make every family's vacation experience memorable.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The perfect vacation

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

I am not going to use this forum to thank the owners of Manatee Haven. I have already done that. I want to let people who might be interested in renting this lovely home what they have to expect.

My husband and I took our 17 year old daughter and her boyfriend to North Captiva for a week in June. For an island with no shopping malls, theaters or other teenage haunts, it is never lacking for things to do. We had never been to North Captiva and did not know what to expect. What we found was an island of very friendly people, gracious and polite – always offering a smile. The island is lush and beautiful – filled with tropical plants and an abundance of wildlife – gopher tortoise, lizards, rabbits, bobcats (I had never seen one.. they are beautiful), redheaded woodpeckers, white ibis, dolphin and, of course, manatee – mom and baby.

Now about the house: If you are wondering which house to pick to rent on this island, you can stop looking and rent this one. I don’t think there is anything else you could want in a vacation home. My very first experience with the owners let me know I had made the right choice. They are quick to respond to my questions, very informative and so very nice to deal with on a personal level. They supplied me with every bit of information I might have needed about getting to the island and what I needed to take with me as well as what to expect when I arrived. They have the most wonderful couple who live on the island that help you get settled in and are there if you need them. Manatee Haven is the most well appointed vacation home I have ever found. It lacked for nothing – beautiful home, extremely well stocked kitchen (I am a caterer), very comfortable – it felt like home. While there is the beautiful beach, the home has a wealth of things to entertain as well – flat screen tvs, a VAST supply of dvds to watch (expertly cataloged), a closet full of board games, swimming pool, hot tub and, for watching the sunset, a deck on the roof of the house that allows you a stunning view. All in all a very relaxing vacation for us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place for a family vacation!

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Manatee Haven is a perfect place for a family gathering! We chose N. Captiva because of the solitude it provided, and having very young grandchildren we wanted to spend time in just one place. Both the island and Manatee Haven were just right! This home is very comfortable and has absolutely everything you need. The pool was big, warm and clean, and the screening made every bit of the house bug-free. With the elevator even Grandpa could move around with ease. We enjoyed hiking, fishing, riding around the island on golf carts, evenings on the lanai, and a week of relaxing together in a beautiful place and in a beautiful home. Manatee Haven can't be beat for kids, adults and grandparents!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

As comfortable as home

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Manatee Haven is that, a "haven" and more. The attention to guests is beyond description. This home of Kay and Jake provided more amenities than two families could hope for ( or know what to do with). We had ample room to both gather and to find our quiet niches. If you're looking for a quiet respite from your hectic jobs, communities and yet a place to reconnect with families and friends, Manatee Haven provides both. We are planning our return trip!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Manatee Haven

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

My family and I LOVED Manatee Haven. It was the nicest and best stocked beach house we have even rented. The owners truly have thought of everything you will need to make your stay fun and comfortable.We had many other friends on the island in different houses and they were shocked how many ammenities Manatee Haven had to offer. It also has an incredible pool/deck area that the kids really enjoyed. The owners are very friendly and try their best to meet your needs. The manager of the property lives on the island and is wonderful too. LOVED THIS VACATION!

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 7, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful vacation ever! Your home was very accommodating warm and cozy. There's such a great selection of movies, games & CD's to pick from. It is so nice to have a pool right out your door to swim in. FUN FUN FUN! Some would think you would run out of things to do on a island, but we don't. We love going on the quiet walks on the beach hunting for sand dollars & shells. Riding bikes, walking to the state land & beach(great exercise), swimming, and just riding around in the golf cart site seeing was lots of fun. We saw alot of land turtles, lizards, and the eagles that live on the island.
Again thank you for letting us enjoy your wonderful home. Looking forward to coming back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Piece of Heaven

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

It's quite possible that North Captiva Island is Heaven here on Earth - and that Manatee Haven is a huge slice of it! It's hard to say what our favorite room was - the screened in pool would be my children's vote; the screened in third deck lanai would probably be my husband's vote; I would have to say the observation deck was mine. Every sunrise and sunset was AMAZING!!! The house itself feels like home - the owners make sure of that! Anything and everything you could ever ask for exists in this house! Cooking is a pleasure in the well-equipped kitchen. Rainy days are a breeze with the 100+ games and activities in the "game closet". Night-time relaxing is easy with their well-organized video collection or easy-to-use, portable telescopes. The whole place is magical - anything you wish for out loud to Jane & Jeff magically appears! We took our first trip this summer and within a week of being home booked it again for next summer! I believe it is safe to say that we just started a family tradition!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is reviews such as this that makes owning a vacation home worth while. It is our only location so we put our best efforts forth each time to assure that every guest creates a wonderful memory and has a great vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Place

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We have stayed on North Captiva numerous times and this house has it all. There are plenty of nice hime on NC but this one is somewhat uniqe in that they really do provide everything you would need other than clothes and food. Beach equipment and toys, pool equipment and toys, golf cart, a crazy extensive DVD collection (kid's favorite), etc. You do not have to bring anything, which is a big deal when traveling to an island by boat. The owners were honest and sincere and made the entire experience wonderful. As far as NC itself...if you have not been, you are missing something very special. Wildlife and beautiful beaches are everywhere. We were there during the hottest (and buggiest) part of the year and it was still "the place to be"! Thanks for a great vacation...we will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We appreciate the kind comments, especially the fact the guest enjoyed watching movies from our personalized extensive DVD collection. We put a lot of effort into purchasing new movie releases as they come out for our guests. Currently we have over 550 DVD movies in 11 3-ring binders located on the HD/TV stand in the great room.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxation and amenities - what more could you ask for?!!

Review submitted: June 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2011

We have stayed at Manatee Haven a number of times and we keep coming back, mainly because there are so many amenities; plus the owners, Kay and Jake, make us feel like we are going to our own home. Manatee Haven has an extremely well stocked kitchen with spices, condiments, and every kitchen aid that you'd expect in your own kitchen. One of the best features of this home is its screened-in pool and hot tub on the main deck. They have pool toys, floats, and lounge chairs along with a lot of beach equipment, chairs, umbrellas, and tons of beach towels. We eat most meals on the screened-in lanai on the third floor with a view of the Gulf. At sunset we take the 28 steps up the circular stairway to the Eagle's Nest (or is that the Osprey's Nest?) and watch the sunset over the Gulf. On those rare rainy days you won't be bored as they have a large flat screen TV in the main room with a DVD player and over 630 Dvds (indexed and organized in 11 binders). They get Direct TV with DVR capability so you don't have to miss your favorite program while you are taking that sunset walk on the beach or pitching in to help prepare the evening meal. Plus they have many board and card games, puzzles, a Play Station in one of the bedrooms, and flat screen TVs in each of the other bedrooms. Besides a standard refrigerator in the kitchen they have a small drink refrigerator and a wine cooler. On the pool deck they have another small refrigerator so that you don't have to go upstairs to grab a cold one while you are in the pool. With included privileges at the North Captiva Island Club you can play tennis on their 2 clay courts (Manatee Haven has 5 tennis racquets), swim in their Olympic pool, or take out complimentary kayaks for a paddle around the bay. Plus if anything goes wrong the managers, Jane and Jeff, live on the island and will quickly make everything right. Once we get to Manatee Haven we truly unwind and transition to Island Time. Try it, you won't want to go home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's submission such as this that make our effort to have a vacation rental home worthwhile. We want our guests to fully enjoy our home and the island in all aspects. This gives us motivation to do an even better job so that we receive more supportive reviews in the future.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Get-Away!

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

We stayed at this beautiful home in April and it was just what we needed. The owner, Kay made sure we did not want for anything. The home has EVERYTHING from up to date DVDs, CDs, and internet access. The managers meet you at the pier, escort you to this home and unload your luggage/groceries. We had never rented on the island, however Kay's detailed info made it easy. If you want peace & quiet with one of the most beautiful beaches close by do not hesitate to rent this home.

Thanks so much for sharing your island home with us - Julie & Brian

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We very much appreciate the kind words. We strive to provide the necessary amenities so that the client can relax and enjoy their stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family vacation!

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

Manatee Haven & North Captiva Island made for a wonderful vacation! The house is perfect; absolutely anything and everything you could possibly need is provided. Kay, the owner, takes great care of everything and is amazingly organized, and very helpful with planning details. The house has a great floorplan and wonderful views (sunsets are amazing from the observation deck), and we found everything to work very well. Our 8-year-old son really enjoyed the heated pool (and all of the pool toys Kay provides) and collecting shells on the beach and watching the dolphins swim by. My husband and I found North Captiva and Manatee Haven to be truly relaxing and peaceful. A very family friendly vacation! Would recommend to anyone! We will return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We very much appreciate the kind words and plan to keep focusing on providing a family friendly vacation home in all aspects.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best Vacation Ever!!

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

Our vacation at Manatee Haven was wonderful!! The Stiegers have a beautiful home and are the most gracious hosts. The pool is great, the beach is only a few hundred yards away from your front door and we had dinner on the balcony each night while watching the sunset. After dark we would go up to the 4th floor observation deck and look at the stars and the beautiful night sky.
If you need a place to relax or to have a family vacation this is it. It is so family-friendly and there is nothing you need except for a bathing suit, shorts, and some food because Kay and Jake provide everything you could ever want or need. This was our best vacation ever and we plan to return soon and as often as Kate and Jake allow. We would recommend this vacation home to anyone – it truly is a haven!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely Fantastic!

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Every summer, we take a "girls only" vacation that includes 3 adults and 3 children. Manatee Haven was by far the nicest place we've ever stayed! The pictures don't do the property justice. It definitely felt as though you were staying in someone's home rather than in a rental property. The house was very clean and equipped with everything you could possibly need ... and more! We spent countless hours enjoying the pool, got to see dolphins everyday, and were lucky enough to see the tortoises on several occasions. The kids had fun taking showers outside by the pool, and they especially loved riding around the island in the golf cart. The elevator was great for transporting groceries and helping my mother get up and down between levels. Kay made sure we had everything we needed to be prepared for our trip. She didn't miss a single detail! I'm so happy she let us share in her little piece of paradise and can't wait to return to Manatee Haven again! Everyone agreed that it was the perfect vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great quiet place

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

We echo Amy & Brent's review- we had 4 busy kids for 2 weeks. Grandma, Grandpa, and Great Grandma joined for 5 days, and loved the convenience of the elevator.

We had an incredible experience North Captiva and the Manatee Haven home made our trip. The views from the observation deck are incredible and the quality of the house cannot be captured adequately in pictures. The massive screened pool deck has sunscreen strength - 5 hours out there in July and no sunburn! Small waves on the beach gave our 6, 4, 1, and 1 year-olds no safety concerns - never higher that 1 foot.

The beds were comfortable, the kitchen was very nice and well stocked and the other small touches (kids gear, beach chairs, etc) made our experience very smooth. The owner was very accomodating and helpful to us throughout our trip whether we had questions related to the house itself or anything regarding the island.

We would definitely go back and would not consider staying anywhere but MH.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect house for family with kids!

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

Hi Kay,

I wanted to thank you for a wonderful vacation at Manatee Haven this year! The weather was perfect and we had so much fun. We went fishing, snorkeling, shelling, swimming, boating and dolphin chasing! Your house is perfect for our family (4 adults and 3 kids!) with plenty of room to spare! It has everything anyone with children could possibly need on vacation! Potty seats, high chairs, crib, bed rails, baby gates, toys, games, books, puzzles, movies, a pool and so much more! I think your house is better equipped than our own! We all really enjoyed the pool after a long day at the beach or out on our boat. Usually, after lunch and swimming, we ALL took an afternoon nap! It was paradise! With three busy children, I can't remember the last time I had a chance to read a book and take an afternoon nap myself! Even our parents took a nap every day. Apparently, we were all in desperate need of some R&R! Manatee Haven was just what we all needed!

Anyway, we had a wonderful time again this year and we will definitely be back again.
Have a Happy 4th of July with your family.

Thank you,
Amy and family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review