reviews for: listing #46326 - Santa Monica, California Studio rental

only $104! Cozy Casita ~ 8 blocks to beach!
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ocean Park
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $104 - $115 /nt

sort by:

Lovely quaint room

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 16, 2014

My six year old and I had a lovely 5 night stay at the Casita. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it isn't fancy and I didn't want to mislead people who are looking for that kind of lodging. However, it's clean with a comfy bed, a perfectly nice kitchenette and a good shower. The room is small but there are several chairs and a table outside in the backyard (the yard is secured with a gate that locks with a code which will give parents with wee ones peace of mind). It's definitely basic -- the carpeting isn't new and the finishings are homey -- but it is a great place to sleep and have breakfast before heading out for they day (there is also a good TV with cable and internet). We did not have a car this trip (our friends picked us up for our adventures together and we spent most of our waking hours out with them). The property is in a very sweet neighborhood and is an easy walk to the beach and Main street and close to bus lines. Charley the Cat is a delight and Kelly and Wendy are attentive and warm with very quick response time.
We'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: Ellen, thanks for the kind words -- and for the charming photo of Charley cuddling with your son you sent me! We'd (Wendy, me and especially Charley!) would love to have you back!

~ Kelly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amaaaaaazing Casita

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

I can't even begin to say how amazing this little place was, I was so in love with it the minute my boyfriend and I walked through the gate! The studio was roomy for the both of us and the kitchen had everything we needed, the bathroom was a decent size and the bed was amazingly comfortable! This place also has keyless entry, you just put in the code and you're in, which was great so you don't have to worry about losing keys!

Parking on the street was normally never a problem and even when we had to park a bit away, it took two minutes to walk back, no big deal.

We pretty much walked everywhere during our stay because that's how close the beach, restaurants, shops, the piers, everything, it's all close and within walking distance and such a safe neighborhood! I walked by myself at night a few times and never felt safer.

The weather was beautiful and the little yard outside was so adorable, we sat out there every night and drank wine.

Oh and the cat! My boyfriend fell in love with the cat Charley, so much he wanted to take him home! Such a friendly little cat with a great personality.

I just can't say enough good things about this place, we looooooved it so much that we already want to book it again for next year!!!

Lastly, Kelly, the owner is super fantastic, she responds quickly to emails and is very informative and makes you feel comfortable, which was key is us booking this from the get go. Can't wait to come back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Location

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

My girlfriend and i went to the casita for about 5 days. We fell in love with the Santa Monica aera.The beach is at a short walk from the casita,you have shows on the pier every thursdays from 7 to 10 p.m.If you want to surf the waves are perfect,if you want to eat or go shopping you are close to the great shopping streets.The shared backyard is nice and comes with a friendly cat.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great time and convenient spot!

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

My wife and I chose to stay here for a vacation because of it's value considering the location. We have been to Santa Monica before and knew this place was near everything.

It was a perfect spot, we were able to walk to main street & Venice easily and check out all the restauraunts, stores, etc. We normally able to find parking on the street with our rental car, so that wasn't much of a problem. The place itself was cozy, had a little kitchen area, and was safe.

They also had a cat who we fell in love with. We were missing our dog at home and Charlie made it a lot easier. He also took a liking to us and we kept our window open for his company.

We had a great time and will stay here again.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Gary, what a sweet review, thank you! I'm so glad my Casita could be part of your holiday -- and that Charley, my cat, helped! He sure is a funny guy, isn't he?

Please feel free to come back any time!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Stay

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

We LOVED the Casita.
It has a great location-- we walked to almost everything. We loved the beach, the Pier, and the Promenade. We also enjoyed relaxing on the comfortable patio with Charley the kitty.
Kelly (the owner) is very informative and attentive to email-- excellent communication and follow through.
WIFI, cable, and washer/ dryer (detergent provided) were easy to use, and the Casita was stocked with everything we needed. It was a relaxing, quiet, clean, attractive home away from home, complete with a sweet kitty to borrow. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: DeDe, thank you for the sweet review. So glad you had a great time and that my little Diplo-Cat did his thing! Come back any time...

Kelly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

One word...Awesome!

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Casita in Santa Monica and had a wonderful stay. Kelly if very friendly, and helpful. The Casita is warm, inviting, and comfortable. We cannot wait until our next trip to California and would stay here again! This is the way to travel. Don't be stuck in a motel again, we won't. Kelly had many helpful suggestions, please consider them, we did and it helped out a lot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Joseph, it was such a pleasure meeting you and Melissa! I'm glad you had a great time. It was fun talking writing with you!

Come back anytime -- Charley (my cat) and I would love to see you both again!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Very cute and affordable. Great location!

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in the Casita over the weekend and had a great time. The Casita is a small studio with all your basic amenities (coffee maker, dishes, mini-fridge), perfect for saving money on breakfast and enjoying a cocktail while getting ready to head out. We didn't spend a lot of time in the Casita itself (aside from sleeping, napping and getting ready), but it makes a perfect home base for exploring Santa Monica. My favorites include:

The courtyard--perfect for sunning, reading or catching up with Charley the cat who is very sweet.

The location. You couldn't be in a better spot for walking to the beach, or cruising down main street for local shops and delicious food. If you're up for a longer walk, you can hit 3rd Street Promenade in 30 mins.

The Library Alehouse - located on Main, 20 min walk from the house. Amazing selection of microbrews and the best dang quinoa salad I've ever had.

I would definitely recommend to budget travelers who want an authentic Santa Monica experience.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Laura, thanks for the great review! I do like my neighborhood a lot and love being able to walk everywhere. I appreciate your taking the time to post, and I know Charley appreciates the compliment (character that he is!)...

Come back any time!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Cozy Casita

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

I recently had the absolute pleasure of staying here for two weeks, apart from the amazing LA weather, the casita was fantastic, setup like a small studio with everything you need. Including Charley, the black and white cat who also lives on the property, he is ADORABLE and very chatty.

I was lucky enough to meet Kelly, the owner, as she was currently back in town on a short stint, and between her and Wendy (the site manager) it was so easy! Cab from the airport cost me about $35, very reasonable. However, next time I come back, I will catch the number 3 Big Blue Bus from the airport for $1! The bustop is a block away and I took that bus back to LAX. Can't beat that! Also the number 3 bus runs straight into Santa Monica, about a 5min trip.

If you enjoy walking as a I do, then you can walk directly toward the beach, about 10mins, then walk along the beachfront to the Santa Monica Pier, about another 10mins.

The placement of the Casita is perfect, close to EVERYTHING, transport, beach, grocery stores, busy shopping precincts. Could barely be in a better position.

The Casita is also very safe and private, tucked away behind beautiful trees and shrubbery, cannot hear ANY traffic noise whatsoever.

The convenience of also having onsite laundry, internet access, and a fully equipped kitchen was fabulous.

There is nothing more you could possibly want, I will definately be staying here when I return. Highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jo, so very kind of you to leave such a thorough review! I enjoyed meeting you, too. Come back any time!

Kelly (and Charley, too!)

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Cozy setting, great location right near the beach

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the casita earlier this month, and we had a fantastic time. It is a perfect, little place for a couple to experience Santa Monica! Very close to main street, bars/restaurants, farmers market, etc.

My favorite memory was enjoying the walk along the beach all the way down to the Santa Monica Pier. Its a gorgeous walk, plenty of opportunity to people watch, and everyone is outside keeping active. I recommend Kelly and her property to anyone!

Nick

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Nick, for taking the time to post such a sweet note! I do love the location of my home. When I'm home these days, I don't even bother getting a car.

I'm so glad you and Sarah enjoyed yourselves. Come back anytime!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Calm and relaxing

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

The proximity to the beach and strategic location between Venice and Santa Monica was perfect. The large Albertsons supermarket two blocks from the Casita ensured that within 20 minutes of arriving, I had the room stocked with goodies (wine, bread, fruits, yogurts, etc) for my stay. Wireless internet connection was strong and the mini-kitchen is very efficient. The bathroom was clean and spacious. The free (detergent included) laundry and dryer came in handy when I needed to re-wear a dinner shirt. Parking was not a problem. This is a place that sophisticated world travelers will enjoy. If you are the cookie-cutter Club Med/Disney cruise type.... it will work for you as well, but you might miss the point.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Billy, thanks for including my Casita in your visit! I've lived in this neighborhood for 30 years, and I love being able to walk everywhere. Sounds like you "lived like a local" while you were here. Come back any time!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

A slice of Santa Monica Heaven!

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

What a little gem! It was so much better than staying in some generic hotel - was like our own little "Home away from Home". It was so private, cozy, clean and cute and made us feel like we were experiencing real neighborhood life in Santa Monica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Russell & Joan, what a sweet note! Thanks for taking the time....I'm glad you had fun visiting your daughter. I meet so many wonderful fellow Santa Monicans when their relatives come to visit. Come back soon!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Sister's Birthday

Review submitted: November 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

Location was very convenient and cottage was cute--we had a great time, thank you!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Abigail, I'm glad you and Amanda had a great time! Thanks for including my Casita in your celebration...

Kelly

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Great deal in Santa Monica!

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

Kelly was prompt to answer our emails and very friendly. I could sense that this was going to be a good place for my friend and I to stay as we were on a limited budget. She answerered all of our questions and I appreciated that she had a rental agreement drawn up in order to protect both parties. The transaction was easy (we paid via paypal) and we were provided with a contact number to her property manager who was there upon our arrival to greet us and show us around the rental. Kelly even sent along recommendations for her favorite local activities and restaurants.

The Casita was well appointed and just right for 2. Although the kitchen was missing a few things (toaster and cutting board) we found everything we needed to make breakfasts and lunches. The place was clean and the bed comfortable and who can beat full cable and wifi on those evenings you just want to veg out! All in all a great experience. Location is convenient with a short walk to Main Street where there are tons of restaurants and shops. Try Oyako Sushi - we went there twice! Also, Whole foods is not too far of a walk.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review