reviews for: listing #46348 - Hocking Hills, Ohio Cabin rental

Mesa Vista Lodge
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Hocking Hills, Ohio
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $485 - $785 /nt

sort by:

LOVED Mesa Vista Lodge!

Review submitted: November 25, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

We had a group of 7 women that have been friends for a very long time spend the weekend at Mesa Vista Lodge. We could not have enjoyed ourselves more than we did there.
The lodge is beautiful, clean, well taken care of and fully equipped with everything you may need. The owners are great and are sure to see that everything is perfect for you. They have really paid attention to detail and gone the extra mile to make your vacation the best it can be.
The hot tub is amazing...especially on a snowy evening.
I would not hesitate to go visit Mesa Vista again. It would be wonderful for a large family get together but also serves well for a Girl's Weekend Getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us & being such awesome guests! We certainly will look forward to your next stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break with family & friends

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

Mesa Vista Lodge is truly a gem! We came during Spring Break 2013 (my husband and several of our close friends are teachers). The group was 8 adults and 5 children (ages 5 and under). The lodge was perfect for all of us. The older kids loved the loft spaces. It gave them a "private" place to play school and house while the parents could still keep an eye on them. The youngest (18 months) had plenty of room to run around for hours on end. He also loved Ozlo, the giant stuffed orangutan :) There is so much room in the lodge. It was great to be able to put the kids to bed and still be able to hang out with all of the adults without worrying about the kids waking up. The owners really took everything into consideration. The kitchen is fully stocked with all of the pots, pans, cooking utensils you could need. Even a roaster and crock pot. It really made meal time a cinch! There is so much to do right at the lodge. A great fire pit out back, tons of trails to hike around the property, lots of indoor and outdoor games, not to mention the heavenly hot tub for the adults. We even had a "pool" party for the little kiddos in the huge bath tub in the master suite.

It's also in a great location. Just a short drive to any of the local Hocking Hills hiking trails, waterfalls, caves. Also fairly close to grocery stores for the random things that we forgot to pack. The guys also found a great disc golf course at the college campus a few towns over. One day, we had massages right in the lodge. So relaxing!!!

It's also great to have the owners right there on the property. We were assured that if we ever had an issue, we could easily reach them. Cathy stopped by daily to make sure everything was good. She even offered to pick stuff up at the grocery store when she was heading there. What hotel would ever do that for you??? :)

We always prefer to rent a home/condo while on vacation instead of staying in hotels. The Mesa Vista Lodge was, by far, one of the best we have seen. Do not hesitate to stay here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My 50th birthday family gathering

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

Steve and Cathy,
The only way I know how to describe this "home away from home" is WOW!!
My husband and family decided to give me a wonderful family weekend for my 50th birthday in Feb. 2010. All of my children and their "significant" others made the trip in a horrific snow storm. The surprise at the end of the trip was a beautiful cabin with so much warmth and space that soon the trip horrors melted away as they all huddled around the enormous fireplace.

When we arrived and walked through the front door and saw what awaited us, we were all in awe. Perfect in every way, with a super location and abounding amenities. The hot tub of course was at the top of the list for my 2 nephews. This well-maintained, home is a must see, must stay, property.

Upon arrival we met our gracious hosts: Steve and Cathy and still to this day, maintain a friendship. These two are such a giving and loving people. Steve told us that the next day there would be sleds waiting for us on the porch so that we all could enjoy the snowy day. All but myself (due to a spinal surgery), enjoyed the time of their lives sledding down the hill in the back of the home. Even my 73 year old mommy was filmed sledding down the hill, on her own, that day. A true memory all of us will treasure. She even made it back up the hill!

Every detail was considered with the traveler in mind. Every bedroom had it's own rustic theme and every window you looked out of had a spectacular view! Just ask my 93 year old grandma who would every day walk from one window to the next taking in every site.

With 2 fireplaces, one up and one downstairs, huge kitchen with every utensil you could think of, huge table for all of the family to sit at, comfortable furniture, beautiful bedrooms, sitting areas, front porch, hot tub and space to roam, walk and hike, who could ask for more. This cabin is an oasis you cannot miss! One stay and you will be hooked, I assure you.

I cannot go without telling you about the start of my "Hockinite" family. When we got to Mesa Vista Lodge and got settled in, Cathy arrived with a basket filled with the cutest creations I have ever seen! Homemade, big eyed, big bellied, cute as can be, Hockinites! Any color you want, Cathy can make for you. I left with 2 for myself, "Kave" and "Valli". This past Christmas we have a new Hockinite family member; Kave and Valli's son Sprig. Ask Cathy about these handmade nature fun creatures.

Enjoy as a family as we did!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place To Stay!!

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

This place is everything, plus more than what it says to be. The kitchen is very well supplied with all your cooking and baking needs. Our large family of 16 were all very satisfied with our stay.
What a awesome, CLEAN house. We came prepared to do some cleaning, but rather were amazed at the extra clean place! Thanks Cathy for taking such good care of your property.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

family vacation

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

What can I say, it was just a fantastic place for our family of 18 to get together to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary and just celebrating our family being together. Everything was top notch and the grandchildren never ask for things to do from 5yrs to 23yrs. It was wonderful and we will never forget it. We were well provided for and the owners were at our beckon call. We thank you so much for giving us such a wonderful memory. Joann-Madison, Oh.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

I've stayed at Mesa Vista Lodge for a girls getaway weekend for three years. I've been there during the winter and during the Fall. Whether enjoying walks in the snow, singing karaoke, cooking in a well equiped kitchen with a great island and a table that seats at least 16, enjoying the wrap around porch for morning coffee, afternoon happy hours or dining under the stars, a fire pit out back or the hot tub the Mesa Vista Lodge has been a great place to stay.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful family reunion site

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

I can't say enough for how wonderful this lodge was last year. We are eagerly anticipating our return this year for a reunion of people from multiple sites in the USA. The owners couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. We had babies and people in their 60's there. The kitchen is gourmet stocked with dishes/utensils. The expansive wrap around porch was wonderful and relaxing. Our teenagers loved staying there. Lots of things to do in the area. It is great to have a clean, relaxing home to stay in while families gather together.
Can't wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home with friends!

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

We have been coming to Mesa Vista for years with our group of friends and would not go anywhere else in Hocking Hills! The house is immaculate, the beds are extremely comfortable, there are plenty of bathrooms and plenty of room for all. We enjoyed the karaoke machine (singing with the animated deer!) and the fireplace is phenominal!! The kitchen is equpipped with more than you could possibly need. There are two refrigerators for a large crowd! The hot tub is large and under cover and well-maintained. We enjoyed the great firepit at night and hiking on the property where there is no one around unlike many other crowded cabin sites in Hocking Hills. It is a short drive to all Hocking Hills attractions. The owners are attentive and only a phone call away. We highly recommend Mesa Vista for groups of friends, family reunions, any time you want to relax and get away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, Scenic, Clean, Gorgeous - Great Owners

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

As I am about to schedule my 4th Girls Weekend at the Mesa Vista Lodge, I felt compelled to write a review. Mesa Vista is beautiful, warm, clean, spacious,and is maintained by the owners, Cathy & Steve, with love, as all guests will be able to find out for themselves, immediately upon arrival. The attention to detail in every room cannot be missed, as well as the personal welcome they always provide. I have been staying in Hocking Hills for about 10 years, sometimes twice a year, and this location is by far, my favorite.

We've rented the lodge in the middle of winter and in the fall. We've enjoyed sledding out back on the big hill, sat outside by the campfire under the moon into the wee hours of the night, became professional singers with the karoke machine, sat outside on the most beautiful wrap around porch ever in our pajamas talking, laughing, and crying for hours, kept warm by the gorgeous fireplace in the center of the heart of the lodge, prepared and shared many wonderful meals in a kitchen that is set up better than my own kitchen, shared many hours in the hottub listening to oldies, sharing secrets, laughing with and at each other, took long walks on the property as well as other areas in Hocking Hills, played kickball in the huge side yard ....

Best get away weekends ever!! Wonderful, fun owners who we call "friends" at least once a year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation home

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

beautiful home in a wonderful location- a phenomenal place for our annual family vacation. Tons of things to do for family members of all ages. Owners were very friendly and incredibly helpful - even picked up some grocery items for us! Highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An Amazing Get-Away!!!

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

We saw the poor review that was just submitted on Mar 9, 2011 and felt compelled to leave a review of our own as our experiences with Cathy, Steve and Mesa Vista Lodge have been nothing short of excellent!

We have been holding an annual women's retreat for 7+ years and have always selected a location in Hocking Hills for these long fabulous weekends. Year after year we selected a new property in the hopes of finding "the perfect" retreat location. Well, we found that location back in June 2009 when we rented from Cathy and Steve for the first time. We returned again in 2010 and we are very eagerly awaiting are upcoming 2011 weekend retreat at Mesa Vista!!

The lodge, both inside and out, is just as beautiful in real life as it is displayed in the pictures. Although I will say that the pictures do not do justice to the absolutely amazing wrap-around porch!! We have spent many, many hours on that porch drinking coffee, talking, playing cards, listening to the rain, watching the deer stroll across the property and even chatting with Cathy and Steve! :) We also LOVE the large and well stocked kitchen, the hot tub, the fire ring out back, the hidden trails throughout the property and the very comfortable and beautifully made log beds.

Cathy and Steve have always been incredibly gracious hosts and have always made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. They totally respect our privacy yet still find ways to surprise us ... such as stacking wood for us in the fire pit or buying us all straw hats and squirt bottles to cool us down when we complained about the heat!! :)

Our entire group, all 14 of us, highly recommend Mesa Vista to anyone looking for a beautiful, peaceful and very comfortable get-away!! Our 2011 retreat is fast approaching and we can not wait!!! Cathy & Steve: We'll see you soon!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mesa Vista - LOVE IT!

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2010

We have stayed at Mesa Vista several times with a group of friends. It is a wonderful place in a beautiful setting. The house has many great amenities and the property is very beautiful and spaceous. We love walking around the property's trails, spending time around the fire pit, sitting on the wrap around deck, etc. A great place to relax and enjoy the comraderie. And still close enough to the state park to get out and enjoy those trails. The owners are super...always accomodating and friendly. We have come to know them and enjoy our visit with them as much as staying at the lodge. They go above and beyond what we expect to ensure that we have a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mesa Vista Lodge

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

I was 100% satisfied with my stay at Mesa Vista Lodge. It was immaculately clean, had top of the line appliances in the kitchen, and was overall warm and welcoming. Our daughter graduated from OU and we rented it for graduation week-end. It was so nice to have the entire family together and not feel crowded. There was enough space for everyone. The owners were very helpful and attentive to our comfort and needs. The kitchen contained every appliance, pot, pan, and utensil I needed to make fabulous family meals. The lodge is as good as if not better than the pictures! Absolutely loved our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Get-Away Cabin

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2010

My group of 17 had such a wonderful experience in 2009, that we all decided to return in 2010! The large cabin is beautifully maintained, and never felt crowded. We loved hiking on the grounds, sitting around the campfire and just relaxing on the wrap-around deck! What beautiful scenery to enjoy! We also enjoyed zip lining too! If you are looking for a great experience and a relaxing time, this is the place for you!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2010

We can't say enough about our stay at Mesa Vista! We're currently planning our 4th trip there and from the first visit it always feels like we're planning to visit our friends who live out of town. Cathy and Steve are first rate host/hostess. The Lodge accomodations were above and beyond our expectations. Cleanliness, comfort and a kitchen to satisfy our culinary snobs were our priorities and boy were they met. From enjoying all of nature's beautiful snapshots in the early morning from those gorgeous porches, to being able to sit all 15 of us around the dinner table, the Lodge provided the perfect spot for our friends getaway. Thank you Cathy and Steve for your hospitality. Looking forward to seeing you in the fall! Lisa & Kevin

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful family retreat

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2010

this was our third visit to Mesa vista lodge and we have booked it for next year again. It is an outstanding place with first rate facilities and amenities. We have been there with over 12 people and had lots of space and the sleeping was great. Beds are very nice. We used the hot tub both in November and the summer and it was always clean and ready for use. I especially enjoyed the kitchen and all the appliances needed for large groups. I love to cook and make the meals into events. This place was wonderful for that.
The owners are very attentive if you need something but not overly so. This is a first rate place and I would highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion at Mesa Vista Lodge

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

Our family had their 8th annual family reunion at Mesa Vista Lodge last August.
Several of us had visited the lodge in the spring to check out the accomodations.We found the facility to be just great for our purposes. We tend to take our meals together and the kitchen was so well equipment you couldn't have found a better one if you went to a culinary institut. The quiet and privacy of the lodge was wonderful. We all all in our 60's and 70's and really enjoyed the tranquility of the place. The cleanliness and hospitality of Mesa Vista are a big reason why we are returning this August for our 9th annual family reunion. Cathy and her husband bend over backward to see the all is in order for an enjoyable sejourn.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice home, but bring your own maid service

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

Don't rent from here many other great property owners to choose from!!!!! Police Officers, Military, and Nurses were with us on our trip.

Cathy,
I don't agree with a lot of what your saying, but it will be pointless to argue about it. We spent over an hour cleaning and straightening up before we left. I must have over looked the part of checking out with you, I will take blame for that part. In my opinion you are being over critical on the condition of the house. For not being professional cleaners I believe we did a respectable job cleaning. I personally swept the floor and used the motor-less vacuum on the rugs in the kitchen. As far as the prices your charging I believe they are high and unfair. For people not showering, I don't know how you would get that information unless you were there in person, as far as the tub not being covered, if you say it wasn't covered then I will take your word for it, but it doesn't cost $50 to reheat it back up, or $20 to move you the tv stand back, unless you can honestly say you paid your neighbor $20 to come over and move it half a foot.

This is unfortunate because I've have told people how nice the house was and the folks that run it. This is the third time I've stayed in Hocking in less than a year and have never had any complaints. We have already discussed a return trip this summer. I'm a very respectful person when it comes to other peoples belongings, so this comes at a surprise. The grill was used, I cannot say if was cleaned because I didn't cook, but it was covered (it was windy and raining/snowing) and their is no way of knowing how much propane was in it, and not that much food was cooked on it.
Never the less we had a great time and the house was very nice.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Feedback & reviews are always welcome and typically 99% of the time it's positive feedback. Unfortunately, any good business will also receive negative feedback such as this one, especially when they are assessed charges for neglect, misuse or damages & with all due respect, regardless of whether they were Police Officers, Military or Nurses. We honor all Military with a 10% Military Discount as we did for this group as well as made a one-time exception of renting 1-night only (2-night min. always required). Every guest is treated with the utmost respect regardless of occupation from electricians, plumbers, housewives, doctors to those retired or unemployed ... all are guests that honor & abide by rules & policies.

The hot tub fee was due to misuse which required a filter change from not showering prior to use but more importantly, due to the fact that it was left uncovered during the night with Winter temperatures down in the 20-30's. During Winter months this can be critical on any hot tub & it's heating element. It was covered by owners during hot tub maintenance at 8:30 a.m. The TV stand in question weighs over 300 lbs. and is a solid wood corner entertainment console approx. 4' wide x 6' tall. We did inquire as to why it was moved along with our findings of several cable wiring pieces/spliced, but received no response.

There are several items not mentioned that were all considered prior to assessing any charges. Please feel free to call us & we will be more than happy to give additional details/explanations. No names/addresses/etc. will be given so please do not ask .. only details.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A Beautiful Place Where Memories Are Made!!

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

I chose the Mesa Vista Lodge as the location to hold a surprise 60th birthday celebration for my husband. Guests came in from all over the country, and each and every one of them had nothing but high praises for the Lodge, the service, and the personal attention that the innkeepers (Cathy and Steve) provided! The Lodge is impeccably clean, well-appointed, and easily accessible. One actually feels like they are staying in a 5-star hotel but it has the warm feel of a log home! Cathy even helped me make reservations for the adventure activities in the area such as ATV riding and zip-lining. She went above and beyond to make sure that the long weekend was a huge hit! Everyone commented on the beautiful area surrounding the Lodge. We were there in the Spring just when the trees were budding and the flowers were starting to bloom, but every season would be breathtaking because the area is so pretty! The guests also commented on how comfortable the beds were, something you don't always get when you are away from home! All in all, I and 22 of my relatives would highly recommend the Mesa Vista Lodge in Hocking Hills to anyone planning a family reunion, small wedding, office or church retreat, or just a getaway from it all! If I had to comment on one negative thing about my stay there it would be that it just wasn't long enough!! Thank you, Cathy and Steve@Mesa Vista Lodge!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review