reviews for: listing #46382 - Newport Beach, California House rental

the "Sandcastle": Impeccably Maintained/1 House off the Sand
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Balboa Peninsula
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $550 /nt
    $2,000 - $3,800 /wk

sort by:

Dream Beach House

Review submitted: August 22, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

This was the 4th summer in a row that we've rented The Sandcastle. Why do we keep coming back? It is simply the most beautiful, clean, well furnished and supplied beach house available in Newport Beach. (We have rented others...) The location can't be beat - steps to the beach, a very short walk to the supermarket, restaurants, the Newport Pier. Beautiful ocean view patio for outdoor meals and grilling. The owners, Janice and Bill, are excellent hosts and have thought of everything you might need for your beach vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family vacation spot!

Review submitted: August 21, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

Our "Sandcastle" vacation was great. The location was perfect for our family. We had 5 adults and a 5 and 3 year old. The close access to the beach was great, there were several days we never used a car! The space was impeccably clean and very well equipped. Janice and Bill were excellent hosts and were easy to contact when we needed something. Lots of good recommendations of things to do in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, comfortable, steps from the beach, a perfect vacation here - again!

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

This is our second stay at this wonderful vacation home. Kudos to Bill and Janice, the owners, as they really have made the house so comfortable and inviting. Since our first stay, they have made more upgrades - and how they maintain the house is second to none. A new laundry room shower and master bath shower, new bedding and wall art and new carpet are the latest improvements we noticed since our last visit. We are very particular and have rented in other areas, but we came back because the house was so comfortable the first time, the beach was just steps away, the front patio is so great to barbecue and relax, and most of all, cleanliness is real important to us. Janice & Bill deliver it all, and then some. Thanks too for the new restaurant recommendations! We love the Sandcastle, and no doubt we will return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay here - again - at the "Sandcastle". The biggest compliment you can give us is that you have chosen to return and vacation with us again! We so appreciate hearing back from you that what we are doing is on track, that our home is comfortable and that your stay met (or exceeded:-) your expectations - again! We love it here, and we are so glad you do too! Best, Janice & Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The "T's" Vacation

Review submitted: July 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

If your looking for a place with ocean breezes, steps to the beach, a well maintained place to stay then choose the "Sandcastle". The craftsmanship, its surroundings, the interior, exterior, & of course the owners Janice & Bill……..well it is just absolutely beautiful & a perfect place to spend family time. Thank you Bill & Janice for sharing this beautiful home, the family vacation was perfect!

Owners response: Peter & Kim, sorry for the delay in responding! We hope you're enjoying your East Coast summer - and we appreciate the nice things you wrote about your stay here at the "Sandcastle". We enjoyed having your family here too, and we hope you'll come back for another family reunion before too long! Be well, Janice & Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sandcastle is Amazing!

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

After hours of research on "where to stay" in Newport Beach, my husband and I finally decided on "The Sandcastle" and so glad we did! It is not only beautiful inside, so clean and well kept, but comfortable and has every amenity you could imagine! The kitchen is definitely set up for the "cook", it has anything and everything you could possibly need to create any meal. The bedrooms are wonderful, spacious and plenty of closet space. There are extra pillows and blankets for those chilly nights or just to cozy up on the couch.
We couldn't be happier about our stay at "The Sandcastle", Janice and Bill are so accommodating and are quick to respond to any issue, not that we had any.
It is all about Location, Location, Location and "The Sandcastle" is the perfect Location! Outside patio is huge, with a grill and plenty of space to hangout with friends and family. The beach and boardwalk is about 30 steps from the front door of the "Sandcastle", so you are close to everything! You can walk to restaurants, the grocery, store, coffee shops, etc... It is the perfect locations and a wonderful place to stay. Our vacation was fabulous at "The Sandcastle" and we will be back! Thank you again Janice and Bill, we had a blast!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Julie, we so enjoyed meeting you and your family! And we're thrilled you chose the "Sandcastle" out of so many others area rentals - and were so happy with your choice! We do try hard to think of everything you might need, and thanks for letting us (and others:-) know that we're definitely on track, delivering a super comfortable vacation home, steps from a terrific beach. That's why we love living here too! Please come back and stay with us again! Best, Janice @ Bill @ the "Sandcastle"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything you could hope for and more

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 22, 2014

We have stayed at many VRBO properties around the world and the Sandcastle is one of the best. It is perfectly appointed with everything you might need for a comfortable stay. The Newport location and proximity to the beach can't be beat. And Janice the owner could not have been more helpful. We hope to return many more times!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: And we hope to see you many more times! Really enjoyed having your family stay here for your daughter's college graduation! And thanks for the personal note you sent about how we take care of all the little details to make your stay extra specie...We try hard:-)! Hope to see you on your next visit down here to the beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Even better in person!

Review submitted: April 29, 2014   Date of arrival: March 26, 2014

This house is like new - the pictures do not do it justice honestly. Everything was perfectly clean and very comfortable (comfy beds/couch and beautiful new shower in master!). The kitchen is better stocked than my own! The house is right across a side street from the beach and boardwalk. The beach is huge and beautiful (and was not even crowded over spring break!) and the boardwalk is amazing. Its about 2 blocks down the boardwalk to several restaurants and a bike rental shop - so convenient! And the house is a 5 min drive to a large grocery store. Not far from the airport either. The parking spot was a bit tight but we managed okay with a medium sized SUV - it is definitley a good thing to have a parking spot! I highly recommend this lovely home - the owners were so organized with everything and very friendly and helpful! I would not hesitate to rent this house again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Bonnie, we so enjoyed having you and your family - from far and near - stay with us here at the "Sandcastle"! We love the new shower in the Master bathroom too:-) Thanks for the lovely review...so nice that people will think that we wrote it ourselves! We hope to see you again when you visit SoCal the next time! Best, Janice & Bill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Randy and Grace Allen

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: September 18, 2013

this was a great property. our family stayed there for 7 days in Sept 13. the owners were very hospitable. the location was a real plus. close to the beach, boardwalk and other areas of Newport beach. we will definitely stay there again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Randy & Grace, we enjoyed having your family stay at the "Sandcastle"...and we'd love to have you stay again, during a future visit to SoCal! We'll be here:-) Janice & Bill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous getaway spot in the sun!

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

We loved staying at the Sandcastle. It was in a perfect location (a couple of houses away from the beach, a walk to the grocery store and to restaurants, but still quiet). It was incredibly well equipped and our hosts were available for questions, yet never intrusive. The house was clearly well loved and cared for and didn't have the feel of a generic rental. I would return in a minute!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Susan, so glad you enjoyed your stay here at the "Sandcastle"; Wish you could have stayed longer to enjoy more of our surrounds! We do hope you'll return...and we'll look forward to it! All the best, Janice & Bill

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

It's simply the best!

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 29, 2014

The site was extraordinary. Everything in place, tidy. neat, with an awesome view,very close to the beach. The apartment was very well maintained, with all new appliances. Heating and AA worked well through an indoor thermostate. The outdoor showers helped a lot in getting sand out of the house. The location is perfect. 20 minutes to Disneyland and California Park of Adventure, 50 to Universal Studios and 90 to Sea World at San Diego. Great boardwalk just meters off the house made a perfect place for strollers and bicycles. If you like barbecue, you have to try it at the outside patio. The photos show the exact condition of the place. The owners take your vacation seriously and are very friendly and extremely helpful, great people. Try Fashion Island and South Park Plaza for shopping and dining. We were a family of 6 with four children 5 to 13, they loved the place. Excellent nearby restaurants within an easy walk (the Bluewater grill, the crab´s house) and Pavillion's market two blocks away. We will definitely recommend it !

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Diego, it was truly an honor for us that you chose the "Sandcastle" for your family's trip all the way from ARGENTINA! You have a delightful family, and it was wonderful to hear and see how your children really enjoyed all the sites of Southern California. What a terrific vacation, as you told us you had, and we're so glad that we could be a part of it. Hope to see you in Buenos Aires, unless we see you here again first!!! With kind regards, Janice & Bill

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great spot!

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

This was a wonderful spot for a reunion of our immediate family. We planned it over Thanksgiving and the owner went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed to make our dinner. This owner has thought of EVERYTHING you might need during your stay and you are 1/2 block from the beach. I've already recommended the Sandcastle to friends. Renting bikes to ride along the beach was a highlight.
We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Cami, so glad you and your family enjoyed your Thanksgiving holiday here. Yes, our kitchen is so well stocked that we often boast that "you could make Thanksgiving dinner here" - and you did! We would love for you to return...and we'll look forward to it! All the best, Janice & Bill

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Location and Experience!

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 27, 2014

We stayed at the Sandcastle over New Years, and were very impressed with how clean and impressive this house is. We have a family of five with young children and I would highly recommend the Sandcastle to anyone that wants to be steps to the beach, walking distance to the boardwalk and pier and still have a very relaxing stay without any of the noise and commotion that is seeing in other areas. Janice and Bill were first class hosts; they make you feel like you have friends nearby as they helped us with recommendations on a number of activities. We WILL be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Andrew, glad you could escape the cold and enjoy some decent weather here over New Years! Thanks for the kind words, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the "Sandcastle". Hope to see you again! Regards, Janice & Bill

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

perfect vacation home for my family

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

This home is absolutely beautiful and very well maintained. We were very comfortable and pleased with the extra luxuries and comfort provided, like satellite television, nice appliances, a bottle of wine chilling in the refrigerator. The beach access is literally one house away - very close, very accessible, and beautiful.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Mara, thanks for the nice comments. We so enjoyed meeting your family and it was great that you were able to enjoy the beach and our local area. It's important to us that from the moment you arrive, you feel comfortable and "at home", and have good relaxing family time...and we hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Karen G.

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We have rented this property several times and have never been disappointed. It is clean and well maintained. The owners pay attention to the details here, particularly where the kitchen is well stocked with anything you might need. The patio is fabulous to use for meals, games or just to hang out. It is also within walking distance of a supermarket, restaurants and plenty of activities. We move our car as little as possible during our week. The outdoor showers are also really helpful to clean up from the beach and keep the sand out of the house. Our children, who are 5 and 7, had a blast and always look forward to their time at the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

The attention to deatil at this property is second to none. Rooms are VERY clean. All the cooking appliances you would ever want are provided and are up to date. Oustide shower, mud room/laundry room are a big plus. Having the owners up stairs provides for great service. We had a blast every day. Barbecue Grill worked great as we used it a lot after a long day at the beach. Thanks for the perfect stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Our second stay at the SANDCASTLE was even better than the first!

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

This is our second time staying at the lovely SANDCASTLE (It's been 2+ years since our first stay) and it was just as enjoyable, if not more, this time. The owners have really made it a "home away from home", and it is "impeccably maintained" as they claim. They have redone the kitchen, and added new artwork and 2 flatscreen TVs, and the house looks great, beautifully decorated! It is so comfortable - and we love their book of things to do! The house location is ideal, just steps from the sand, with a nice big front patio, and walking distance form some local restaurants. We rented bikes one day and toured around the area, went running on the boardwalk, and did day trips to San Diego and Universal Studios in LA too. It's a good central location for visiting Southern California.

Most important to us is how clean the house is. We are very particular, and this vacation home continues to live up to our very picky expectations. We periodically come to vacation in this area, and this is the best house we have found yet, so we need not look any further. It's a real "find" and just perfect for our family of five.

They say the second time's a charm - and it really was. We will definitely be returning to the Sandcastle the next time we come to Orange County.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

The Sandcastle was everything we had hoped it would be - and even better!

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

Just returned from a great family vacation at the Sandcastle. Janice and Bill were so easy to work with as we planned our trip. They arranged for flowers to be delivered in advance of our stay, and even hung a birthday flag out front, a perfect welcome for us since it was my daughter's birthday the day we arrived. We opened the front door to music playing and also were excited to see they had left us a bottle of wine to enjoy. The family was excited - from the moment we arrived!

The house was so comfortable and very clean, the beds firm, the shower water pressure great, the beach so close. Very spacious for our family of five. We wanted to bake cookies one night, and there was a mixer and a cookie pan. Everything we looked for in the well stocked kitche, we found! The barbeque worked great and we enjoyed cooking dinner out there and relaxing on the patio. We had one bad day of weather but it was easy for us to curl up on the leather couch and watch some current moves (lots of free movie channels to choose from). They do provide a nice book of restaurants and activities, and we found lots to do in the area. Everything on their website is just as it is - or nicer!

It was a great stay, and we won't be looking for another choice of house now that we've found this one; It was really perfect! My family already is asking when we can go back to Newport Beach and the Sandcastle!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Sandcastle at Christmas

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We had a great stay at the Sandcastle. We were visiting family and friends and this was a great home base for the stay. As a family of four, the space was more than adequate, and each teenager had their own room! The house is very clean and wonderfully decorated to create a nice relaxing atmosphere. It is within walking distance to the grocery store and well nice restaurants. The beach is just yards away. We traveled about 30 minutes to visit Disneyland. You won't be disappointed with your stay here and the owners, Janice and Bill, are friendly and helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Peaceful and Relaxing!

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

Our stay at the Sandcastle was very enjoyable. Janice and Bill were great to work with, answering my questions in a timely manner while booking our vacation rental. The Sandcastle is very clean, nicely decorated, and spacious. It is conveniently located near a fun shopping area, nice restaurants, and is a "stone's-throw" from the beach. If you aren't familiar with this area of Newport Beach, Janice has created a reference book listing area activities, points of interest, and restaurants located within walking distance. Because my son lives in Newport Beach, I have visited the area often, staying in various locations. However, my choice will now be the Sandcastle when I visit! Thanks Janice and Bill for providing a lovely place to stay!

Owners response: Nancy, thanks for the lovely words. As we'd discussed, renting a home online can sometimes be problematic, but we do like to make it easy, and have you feel comfortable knowing what to expect. Regarding our "Big Book of Things To Do", there's so much I find that I want to include, that I keep having to hold myself back from making it too big! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Newport Beach and the "Sandcastle"!

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Absolutely Perfect! Pristine and so comfortable.

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

We are very particular in our selections in vacation homes. This one is perfect. We took our daughter and granddaughter with us and everything worked out as we had hoped it would. Cooking was easy, anything you might need was there and we just relaxed. The atmosphere was so nice. Very clean and well maintained. Beautifully decorated which made relaxing all the better. This is absolutely the most enjoyable home to stay in and enjoy the beach. You are steps from the beach. Most cities it would be equal to 1/2 block from the beach. Reserve this location if you want to be free from worry and please take care of it so my family can come back and enjoy it again. The owners were very easy to work with and were very helpful. Thank you for a marvelous time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Sandcastle Stay - Awesome!

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

We had a fantastic time in Newport Beach and the accomodations were spectacular. The owners did not overlook any detail. They had a special gift upon arrival that the kids and adults enjoyed. The home is absolutely spotless. The accomodations were spacious. The location is fantastic - steps to the beach, short walk to shopping and restaurants. The owners put together a binder loaded with information about the area and their recommendations for restaurants were FANTASTIC. We went to the ones they listed as their favorites and they were great.....Il Farro and Blue Water Grill are not to be missed! You will not regret your decision to stay here. We will be back again!

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Perfect place, perfect vacation.

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Together with our friends my husband and I stayed in the Sandcastle for 8 days in December 2011/January 2012. This was the perfect vacation in a perfect spot. The holiday home is very well maintained, very clean and very well equipped. The rooms have a good size with very comfortable beds and the thing I liked most was the kitchen/living room areas which had absolutely everything you could ask for. The Sandcastle is almost directly at beach - only 1 minutes walk and your feed touch one of the best beaches in the world. Restaurants and shopping are all in walking distance. My husband and I have been to Newport Beach a few times before, but never had such a great place to stay. In addition Janice and Bill are perfect host - prior to our holidays and during our stay they were always helpful and extremly responsive. We will definetively come back.

Ingrid & Andreas from Düsseldorf; Germany

Owners response: Ingrid & Andreas, we do hope you'll stay at the "Sandcastle" again the next time you visit the States, and our area! All the best, Janice & Bill

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Newport Dreaming

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

The "Sandcastle" provided the perfect base for our 2011 Thanksgiving family getaway. Everything was EXACTLY! as it was portrayed and communication with the owners was like a private concierge.

We opened the front door on a sunny 65 degree SoCal afternoon and seasonal music selections greeted us as we entered. My wife and family exclaimed their disbelief that we were staying somewhere "this nice"; I simply bowed and drank in the applause. This was our first visit to Newport Beach and the Sandcastle will be a fond memory, but there's a more subtle point to what the owners have done for those staying here. It feels like your private beach house and you've been coming here for years! The house just envelops you like a super-think terry robe and then it brings you a toasty hot chocolate - that's how we ALL felt.

We stayed at the maximum occupancy of 7 and every space in the house is designed to be uncrowded; Leather living room sectional and love seat; Big square dining room (pictures don't accurately depict how large this space is); Nice dividing door for the entire sleeping area (kept the noise out for those sleepy heads).

Linens were provide by third party service, and again in concierge fashion, arrangements were blissfully easy.

The best restaurant we visited? ----- The grill on the front porch!

With "The Meat House", "Bear Flag Fish Market" and "Growers Direct" close at hand, you can eat like a king and save your bones for wetsuit, surf / boogie board rental and lessons at TK's Froghouse. Pavilions can supply you the base staples, and you need not "GO" anywhere to get anything.

This time of year (Nov) the Sun sets directly through the beach access at the west end of 35th Street. Dropping slowly over the Northern section of Catalina Island, the set was perfectly beaming right onto the front porch. This was our dinner chime; everybody would catch one last glowing wave and we'd see their back-lit silhouettes walking out of the golden wash.

Bill & Janice are fantastic and the home is Top Tier! They maintain a wonderful "Things to do" 3 inch binder with completely up to date Periodical / Brochure / News / Map / Pamphlet data for all the notable locale and it's heavily footnoted. This was a great read!!!

If you're planning Newport Beach as a destination, then you must consider the Sandcastle as a premier location from which you can anchor your trip.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: THANK YOU Cal, for the very thorough and fantastic review! People will think I wrote that one myself:-) We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and the house, and as always, we'll work hard to make sure the "Sandcastle" is all that we tout it to be, clean, warm and comfortable, in a great location, "top tier" as you called it, and welcoming...so that you're ready to enjoy your vacation from the moment you walk in the door. Hope to have you return soon to the "Sandcastle"!

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Best and cleanest rental property in Newport!!

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We have been vacationing in Newport Beach for the past 25 years. Over the years we have rented many different properties. The Sandcastle is by far the nicest and cleanest rental property we have ever stayed at.

The house is well stocked with all of the essentials and is organized and comfortable. The locations is just fabulous!!

Bill and Janice are wonderful landlords.........they are there when you need them but otherwise rarely seen.

We are really looking forward to our return next summer!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

A Great Stay at The Sandcastle

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

This was our second stay at The Sandcastle after an interim of five years. Just as the first time, the beach house was immaculate and beautifully decorated. In fact it had been completely renovated. The owners have anticipated everything you might need during your stay; the kitchen is incredibly well equipped. The furnishings are of the highest quality, and the location can't be beat. So close to the beach, and a quick walk to the supermarket. Great restaurants and some bike rental places are also a short walk away. We didn't move our car once during the week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Shirley, we loved having you back at the "Sandcastle", and we're so glad we're continuing to live up to your expectations (which are our own high expections as well!). Thank you for the lovely comments about the house, the improvements we've made, and how we keep it, and for your overall review of the area. The great beach, the boardwalk to bike on, how convenient it is to restaurants, the market - and even the movie theatre - are all the same reasons we love it here too.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

The Sandcastle was truly impeccable and wonderful.

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

The house was so clean, well stocked, well situated, well maintained and has everything you can possibly need on a vacation. It has so many extra touches that are often not included in rentals. What we thought was a bonus, was to have quiet neighbors, (Janice and Bill - the owners) above us. It is a great place to vacation at the beach with a family with small children.
The listing description is right on, as are the photos. This place is truly a gem and a reflection of a work of love by the owners. We will recommend it and will return - I hope!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for sharing about the "Sandcastle". We do try hard to make sure our guests enjoy their vacation and have everything they need, and it truly is a "labor of love" for us, so thanks for the kind words. We hope you will return again: We enjoyed having you stay with us!

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

We had a WONDERFUL Stay!!!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Thank you so much for letting us use your Beautiful place to Vacation! This was the first time that we have ever used VRBO and it was a very pleasant experience! The Sand Castle was very clean and we had everything we needed from you all for a wonderful stay! The location was awesome, very close to the ocean, walking distance to the peer, restaurants and grocery store! We exercised everyday with a run on the beach! Janice, you were so sweet to take my daughter and myself to a Pilates class, we really enjoyed it!
Thanks again, and we will stay at the Sand Castle again for future vacations to California. I will also, spread the word and tell all my friends about your wonderful place!!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Kim, we would love for you to return again! And thanks for sharing your thoughts here and for the kind "thank you" note we just received from you. We'll look forward to having you stay with us again at the "Sandcastle"!

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Great place, great price, great people!

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

My family and I spent our Spring break at the Sandcastle and had a wonderful time. The location is perfect, it's one short block over from the water, (you can see beach from patio). It's very clean and new which I loved. The owners are very nice and have a big Newport beach binder with any info you need, ie. restaurants, attractions, activities. I especially enjoyed the short walk to the pier every morning for a coffee and a beautiful ocean sunrise...We will def be back. Thanks again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Kristy, we're so glad that you chose the "Sandcastle" for your recent vacation in Newport Beach. We hope you'll come and stay with us again at the "Sandcastle"! We'll be updating that big binder with more good ideas...

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

First Stop - Newport Beach

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 12, 2011

Our first US holiday, coming from Australia, got off to a perfect start.

The Sandcastle was ideal for our party of 5 (2 young children, mum & dad and Nana). The kids loved being close to the beach.

The Sandcastle was wonderful, clean and well located. Janice & Bill were extremely helpful in the lead up to our arrival and prompt in returning the deposit.

We especially loved the folder of local eateries, etc. Saved us time and took out the guess work for finding a place to eat.

Ed, Elisa, Joan, Amelie & Ilaria - Melbourne, Australia

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Hello Ed & Family. It was great that we could be your first stop and we enjoyed corresponding/emailing with you, trying to make it easy for you - despite the distance - upon arriving into the US. With all the choices you had, we were excited that you chose the "Sandcastle" for your Southern California stay. And even more excited that it was all you had hoped it would be. We'll happily welcome any Aussie friends you have coming to the States with the same warmth and attention to detail - or yourselves when you visit next! Perhaps we'll reach out to you when we return to Australia next! All the best, Janice & Bill

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Amazing Vacation Home!!

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

Our stay at the Sandcastle was wonderful in every way possible!

The house itself was decorated beautifully, but still quite comfortable for a family with three young children. The kitchen was well-stocked in terms of cooking utensils and pots/pans, so cooking was a breeze and really enjoyable with the nice quality equipment available.

We absolutely loved being able to walk across the street to the beach with our little ones. The location was perfect for us with our children because it is a block off the beach so you miss the traffic of the boardwalk but you're still super close to the beach when you want to go.

Loved every minute of our beach vacation and will absolutely be staying here again on our next trip to Newport Beach!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Jane, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the "Sandcastle". It means a lot to us to read your feedback and to know that the comfortable space we've created for our guests is so appreciated! We'll keep trying to make sure we think of the little extras to keep the "Sandcastle" a great home-away-from-home, and we hope to see you again when you vacation in Newport the next time! All the best, Janice @ Bill

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Wonderfully equiped

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

This place is really wonderful. One house away from the beach and blocks from shops, restaurants and bars. Bill and Janice have made sure that everything you want and need is there. Everything is modern and meticulously maintained. Beautifully decorated and wonderfully comfortable. This is an A++. We can't wait to visit again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jenny & Christian, thanks so much for your thoughtful and kind words. We do "aim to please" and we can't wait for you to visit the "Sandcastle" again too!
All the best, Janice & Bill @ the "Sandcastle"

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Impeccably Maintained - this is absolutely true!

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

My husband and I have had several stays at the beach and never have we been in such lovely and clean surroundings. It's as if the owners have looked around and said now, here are three wishes but granted the wishes of everyone who had one. Every little (and big) detail was so special. As you look around, it is obvious how the owners have decorated and maintained this lovely beach home with love and thoughtfulness. Do not hesitate to book time here (if there are still bookings left), the reservations will go quickly, I am sure and you will not find an equal to this fantastic property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jill, thanks so much for your kind words. We're all about providing a truly comfortable "home away from home" and we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that you appreciate what we're trying hard to provide at the "Sandcastle". We're grateful that you chose the "Sandcastle" for your beach vacation this year, and we'd love for you to return for another family get-together! All the best, Janice & Bill @ the "Sandcastle"

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Soooo relaxing!

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

I cannot rave enough about this property, the spaciousness, the cleanliness, the amenities, the decor, the 16 steps to the sand, and the the wonderful owners. We will be back as it was one of the most relaxing, laid back weeks off we have had in a long time. Thank you!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

Janice & Bill,
We are very happy we came across the listing for your lovely home and so appreciate being able to be the recipients of such a welcoming place to stay. Your binder was so helpful and we never had a bad meal or dull experience. Celebrating our mother Eileen’s 86th birthday here was a treat for all.
Thank you – we hope to return!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

Dear Janice & Bill,
So glad we found the “Sandcastle”. What a great place to stay and enjoy the So.Cal. beach. We enjoyed the Bluewater Grill, the Galley Café for breakfast, and the Beach House in Laguna. We visited Crystal Cove where our Mom stayed and played in the sea as a girl.
Thanks for the wine and your hospitality. It was so nice to meet you and we hope to see you again next time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

Dear Janice & Bill,
Thanks you so much for providing our family with a relaxing getaway from the everyday stress and strain. Your home is very lovely and it allowed us to hang out and visit with our parents, cousins and friends that live here in the area. It was such a huge decision to not stay in a hotel, we had not tried home rental before. We loved the kitchen and big dining table, and believe it or not, we never ate out. We just had too much fun enjoying family stories and playing cards around the table. I personally loved the beach more than anyone else. I could go every day. The kids loved walking to the Pier, and renting bikes was a highlight. We would love to return someday soon, although next time just for us and not with a family wedding (unless one of the kids surprises us)!!

Thanks you again for your beautiful home and hospitality.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

Bill & Janice -
Thanks so much! The best place we’ve stayed in Newport. So clean, so nicely decorated, it had everything we needed. And the lovely “winter” weather didn’t hurt, wither!
Your recommendations were great too. Loved Blue Water Grill and Il Farro for dinner, Harborside for “Happy Hour”, and got great manicures at your nail shoppe.
It was really a great vacation and a great change from the cold winter at home!
We hope to return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

What a fabulous week of R&R! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and appreciated the location/amenities/etc of the “Sandcastle”.

Til next time –

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

November 30, Dear Diary – Ah…Home…We are so excited to be here in Newport. We used to live here before Dubai- So upon entry we felt like we were home again – We will report back at the end, but if it is like our Beginning – PERFECT!!

December 11, Dear "Sandcastle" Diary – Well true to our thoughts, hopes and dreams for our vacation, this has truly been a home away from home and we have truly enjoyed ourselves. I cannot say enough to express our pure enjoyment and pleasure in staying here. We will return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 29, 2009

Dear Janice & Bill,
The perfect spot for the relaxing vacation we wanted! We purposely went “car-less” so we wouldn’t be tempted to go-go-go. There is so much within walking distance, and your many restaurant recommendations were a big help.
There are so many nice touches to this place, and we would recommend this to anyone looking for fun and relaxation!
Thanks for making such a comfy getaway! We had a great time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

We had a great time! Your place is wonderful. The weather was perfect. Your beach house was probably the best and nicest one we’ve stayed in. I enjoyed all the signs and artwork around the house! And the location was perfect! I enjoyed having the patio to relax with the whole family. Thanks for letting us stay here, hopefully we’ll be back!

PS The beds were very comfortable!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

Dear Bill & Janice,
Wow…this is our 4th year at the “Sandcastle” and it is just as great as the 1st. We had a wonderful and relaxing time. The weather this week turned out fantastic!
Thanks for another wonderful vacation and as always for having such a clean and homey place to stay. We hate to leave! See you next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Dear Janice & Bill:
Thanks for a wonderful week. Your apartment is so comfortable and homey, clean and inviting. Lots of extra touches. Everyone had a great time and we’ll let you know about next year!
Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

Bill & Janice,
Thanks you for the great place to stay. It felt like home here, but much cooler!
We appreciate how clean everything is. We had a great time, I’m sure we’ll be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

Dear Janice & Bill -
WOW! From the start when we first inquired about the “Sandcastle” you were so organized and responsive to our questions and inquiries. What a beautifully decorated and appointed house! It was perfect for us. We love the proximity to the water, boardwalk and store. The little things you provide from great washer & dryer, bike lockup area, BBQ, coffee grinder & a crockpot “on-request”! We’ll be back!
Lorraine Poggione, Folsom, CA

PS It was a wonderful house. I loved it. I almost fell when I saw the inside. You guys have wonderful art, signs, and other stuff that amazed me. From Harry (Age 10). I love Newport Beach!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review