reviews for: listing #46401 - Cayman Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

4BR Oceanfront "Kai Vista" w/ heated pool
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Cayman Kai
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $4,270 - $9,450 /wk

sort by:

The best vacation we ever had!

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

We had the most fantastic vacation ever. Kai Vista has it all - a beautiful and very spacious villa that accomodates your every need and is so family friendly. It is perfectly designed for comfort, relaxation and enjoyment. The kitchen is well equipped with modern appliances and plenty of counter space for preparing your meals. It was nice having a washer and dryer so we didn't have to lug home dirty laundry. Our family comprised of six adults and four girls ages 8 - 10 and we were never bored nor did we feel crowded - we had plenty of room inside and out. There is a wonderful sea breeze that is almost constant so even though the weather was 85-90 every day you don't really feel it. I think Kai Vista has the best beach and location on Rum Point. The inside and outside of the property is kept in pristine condition. The infinity pool is gorgeous as is the entire outside patio and beach area. We all enjoyed it so much we hardly strayed far to explore the island since everything is right there. Snorkeling was the best experience for all of us - we snorkeled every day with the girls. We saw all kinds of tropical fish and sea turtles too. We also kayaked and biked around Rum Point which is so pretty. There is a very nice gourmet restaurant on Rum Point within walking distance and also an outdoor grill right on the beach. We can't wait to come back to Kai Vista. The girls cried when our week was over because they had so much fun. I would highly recommend vacationing at Kai Vista.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular place, can't wait to go back

Review submitted: July 23, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

This was our first time to Grand Cayman and we loved it. the home was absolutely gorgeous. The 10 foot ceiling made it seem so bright and airy. It seemed much bigger than the photos on the web site. Great for 4 couples or a family. Good bedding and nice linens. The master bath was so huge you could play frisbee in it. I would definitely recommend it!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: July 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

This was our third visit to the Cayman Islands and we stayed at Kai Vista all three visits. It is a beautiful house with everything you could need for a week's (or more) stay. There were 4 couples in our group with plenty of room for all of us. I highly recommend Kai Vista!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Villa

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: June 25, 2014

I have mixed feelings about leaving a good review because I want the property to be available for me next time. Upon entrance my families jaws dropped, the house is stunning.

The snorkeling out back in wonderful. I saw turtles, cuttlefish, giant Parrot Fish and much more. I'ts not easy to get in and out of the water due to old coral but there are a number of spots that are easy if you scope it out, one being right next to the villa at the public beach.

Being in walking distance of Rum Point added another layer of stuff to do. There is no better spot in all of Grand Cayman. Away from the tourists but close to Kaibo and Rum Point. Let the people who don't know better go to seven mile beach.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house, but...

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

This house is great! Great outdoor area! Great location close to Rum Point. But, thankfully we were at the beach and didn't have to spend a great deal of time indoors. The TV in the living room area is super small, like probably a 19 inch flat screen tv on this huge wall entertainment center. The picture was very hard to see and hard to hear as well. The beds were not good at all. The master suite bed was super hard and squeaked if you did as little as sit on the side of the bed. The "headboard" is a bifold screen propped up against the wall with the mattress and box springs pushed up against it. The bedding was nothing to write home about and the hard beds in the other bedrooms weren't anything spectacular either. The oven didn't work, and the rental company seemed to be aware of it and told me that the kitchen was due for an overhaul. They did send someone out to fix it. The toilet in the master bathroom broke on our visit, and was fixed promptly. The tile in the showers in both the upstairs and downstairs bathroom was questionable. There is a step into the showers and the tile on the corner of the step is super sharp. We actually had someone in our party that cut their foot on the tile and required stitches. Our group has made Grand Cayman an annual trip, and needless to say, we probably won't choose to stay in this house again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for the comments; I wish we had been contacted during the stay instead of afterwards...

The oven has been an issue and a new one is on order, but has taken forever. I twill be installed prior to the holidays. The TV is actually 24" diagonal; but the owner wants a 42" or larger anyway-- the issue is the custom cabinetry and how to fit a larger TV in there and have it not look bad... so he is also working on that-- right now considering removing the upper TV cabinet totally for the interim just to have a larger TV at first.

Mattresses are a personal thing. We have never had anyone complain about the mattresses before or since your stay. The chinoiserie screen in the king master is actually pretty attractive...but had come away from the wall; so that is repaired already.

As for the sharp tile; we sent the manager in to remove any sharp tiles and he found 2 that were suspicious and inspected all bathrooms as well.

Thanks again for bringing these things to our attention; but if we had known about them during your stay; perhaps we could have headed off any injury or brought in a larger TV for your enjoyment.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Fantastic Vacation for the Family

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

This house was perfect for my family with 3 kids! It had everything you could possibly want/or need for kids - kayaks, bicycles, sand toys for the beach, etc. We were within walking and/or biking distance from Rum Point. The snorkeling was great right off of the beach! We hope to go back soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Kai Vista Spring Break Vacation

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

We had a wonderful time! The location was great - close to Rum Point, snorkeling in front of the house, kids enjoyed the pool and walks on the beach. We had 4 adults and 4 kids in our party and there was plenty of room for everyone. Having the kayaks, bikes and other kids toys was very convenient. Plan ahead on your way in - the closest full stocked grocery store is apprx 40 minutes away.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Kai Vista 2010

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We spent two weeks in Kai Vista July/August 2010. The house was very nice and clean, spcacious and well suited for our family (2 adults + four kids). We appreciated the furnished toys and bicycles. I'm convinced that the best snorkeling on the island is directly behind Kai Vista. We spent many hours exploring the reef, saw a variety of species including large eels and eagle rays. The proximity of this house to Rum Point is a big plus. We would definitely recommend Kai Vista to families.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

Kai Vista was a beautiful experience and we would visit there again in a heart beat. The snorkeling was exceptional, swimming with Stingrays was amazing and the home was clean and beautiful. The people in the Caymans are warm, friendly and we felt the island was very safe.
In closing, we would highly recommend Kai Vista and the beautiful Cayman Islands to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Austin family of 5

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2010

This house was incredible! We were there for 10 days...5 with my husband's family, 5 with mine. Our family of 5 stayed in the 2 downstairs rooms. Our extended family stayed upstairs. It gave us just enough privacy and separation.
The house was fully equipped with everything we needed...kids' beach toys, kayaks, kitchen equipment, even a highchair and pack and play. We could have never been this comfortable in a hotel. Plus the Cayman groceries have everything that we have in the states. We hardly ate out! The house was also beautifully and professionally furnished (unlike so many beach houses that you come across). The pictures don't do it justice. Trust me!
We spent most of our time in the pool because the ocean was a little rocky (especially for little kids). Regardless, the beach was beautiful and empty. It felt like our own private getaway.
We can't wait to come back and enjoy the new pool setup!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Incredible vacation

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

The house was so inviting and the floor plan was perfect. We traveled with two families and the floor plan allowed for each family to have a little privacy. The Master BR is HUGE! The view was perfect. Withing 20 minutes of checking into the house we were snorkeling off the beach and saw a 3 foot long barracuda, snapper, parrot fish...we can't wait to visit again. The location is so convenient to Rum Point that we walked on several occasions. Love the house. Thanks for a great vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family vacation at Kai Vista

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Our family vacation at Kai Vista was a wonderful experience. The house met all our needs including pac 'n plays for twin grandsons. The location was perfect. We especially liked sitting around the pool and yet still had beautiful views of the ocean. We would definitely recommend this house to families with children of all ages. We especially enjoyed walking down to Rum Point Beach. We enjoyed the seclusion of the house. Night life was on the other side of the island.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful vacation for 3 generations of family

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

We treated our grown kids and little grandkids to an island vacation and luckily chose Kai Vista. We travelled in August 2010 and loved it. The pool and beach are great and the home is lovely and well-cared for. The staff was so nice and helpful. The flow of the rooms makes it an easy house to live in.. The proximity to Rum Point was so convenient and we spent a lot of time there. The toddlers keep asking when we will return to Cayman. Soon we hope. We travel a lot and have high expectations and were very happy with Kai Vista.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

January Feburary Fun

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 27, 2009

This was a great house, snorkeling on the beach right out front, could drift down beach to Rum Point and an easy walk back to the house. Good kitchen facilities we really enjoyed our stay there. Close to couple good eating facilities.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heaven

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Kai Vista was like living in a dream for a week. The view is breathtaking, and you can snorkel right off of the beach, or swim in the private pool. The home is very family friendly and has a good supply of pool toys, games, movies, and a video game system for the kids to enjoy. The location is fantastic also- right down the road from Rum Point where they have water sports and a beach bar and restaurant. I recommend the Kai Vista to anyone who wants a good mix of relaxation and activities on Grand Cayman.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

magnificent property

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

beautiful home situated directly on the beach. Very spacious for our family of 8 adults. Kitchen is well supplied with pots, pans etc. movies, games, beach supplies. Home is open , airy, beautiful pool. master suite is private with a huge master bath. Property was immaculate on arrival. We arrived late due to flights from US, caretaker was easy to contact. Were able to view NFL hometown games , a plus for us. Rum Point down the street, (walking distance) enjoyed snorkeling , lunch, cocktails and swinging in a hammock. Would suggest having home stocked with food etc prior to arrival. Home is somewhat secluded, which we liked, Grocery stores some distance so have home stocked and enjoy your time there. would definitely recommend and would love to return some day. Very relaxing vacation. Property was just as it was represented.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Amazing!!!

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

We are 3 retired couples that rented this property for one week in February of 2011. We had a fabulous time. This property is truly one-of-a-kind. Great location within walking distance of Rum Point but away from all the tourists on Seven Mile Beach. The snorkeling right out front was great. Beautifully decorated, well maintained and equipped. We had not one complaint. Do not hesitate to book this rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review