reviews for: listing #46405 - Pine Island, Florida House rental

Nellie's Nest
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $135 - $135 /nt
    $900 - $900 /wk
    $2,700 - $2,700 /mth

sort by:

Had a wonderful time - All advertised rental house information was correct with no surprises.

Review submitted: December 25, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

The house (Nellie's Nest) is very clean and organized with all the needed household items.
A boat ramp located two blocks away is excellent and waterway from the house to open water is short and easy to navigate.
Boat parking along the property seawall is perfect and you can park your trailer next to the house. Very convenient.
Property owners are great people and easy to deal with.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for staying at Nellie's Nest & for finding the time to enjoy our special bit of paradise. We hope you can return soon!

Best wishes to you & your family this holiday season.
Ellen & Robert

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nellie's Nest holiday weekend stay

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

House is beautiful and in great location. Owners are the nicest people in the world.....very accommodating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for choosing to stay at Nellie's Nest & we're glad you enjoyed your visit. With advance notice, we may be able to assist w a reduced boat rental rate too.
Best wishes,
Robert & Ellen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stewart's

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

We stayed there for a weekend with our kids! The house feels just like home! The kids fished from the dock and we grilled outside every night! I would highly recommend the place and can't wait to stay again!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We're glad that you & the kids had such a fun stay. We are staying out here right now to do ongoing maintenance so you will see some new furniture & paint at your next visit!
Best wishes,
Ellen & Robert

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Location

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

Had a great time at the Nest! Perfect location. Literally seconds from open water, gas and bait at the end of the canal. Five minutes to Lazy Flamingo for lunch or dinner by boat.

House was perfect, clean and comfortable. Best rental on Pine Island!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Steve, Thanks for your review & so glad that you & your fishing buddies had such a great holiday weekend! We look forward to having you back when your schedule allows. We just arrived home from our trip to visit kids & grand kids & can't wait to get our boat in the water!
Ellen & Robert

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nellies Nest

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

Nellies Nest was a great place to stay. It is conveniently located, well maintained, and exceptionally clean. Plan on staying there whenever possible. The owners were most pleasant and helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+

Owners response: Thanks for the great review Tom! We're happy you enjoyed your stay, especially after the weather was so challenging on your drive over. Thank you for taking some business cards to share with your friends & we look forward to having you back.
Best wishes,
Ellen & Robert

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent vacation finally!

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

Nellie's Nest is a nice quiet and beautifully furnished home with all the amenities right on a canal at the very end of Pine Island. We were able to walk the neighborhood and take a bike ride. It was a bird sanctuary. In fact, the resident Egret visited us on the back patio one day! If we wanted to we could have walked to the fishing pier but decided to drive around and check out the Island. We absolutely love the area. Thanks to the Owners for providing such a memorable vacation spot for us. We will be going back sooner rather than later.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you for your great review. We're glad you had such an excellent vacation at Nellie's Nest & look forward to having you return any time. The weather was ideal for boating, fishing & bike rides plus you made time to check out the local real estate. We agree, the bird watching is unsurpassed & the lanai is a great viewing location. We nicknamed that egret, Ernie!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pine Island Retreat

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

My husband and I have enjoyed each of our stays at Nellie's Nest.
The owners have made this home fresh and very welcoming. They provide quality appliances and just about anything one could wish for to use in a kitchen. The beds are extremely comfortable and include quality bedding. Both bathrooms are clean, fresh, and modern with quality linens.
There is ample living space and storage as well.
The patio includes a comfortable set of furniture. There are two kayaks available, as well as a long seawall on the canal for boat dockage. A fish cleaning station was added a couple of years ago.
There is an empty lot next door and another across the street, so it's a fairly quiet setting.
We enjoy watching the boat traffic and the birds in and along the canal.
Nellie's Nest truly is only 5 minutes to Shell Cut, the opening to Charlotte Harbor. It's only a five minute drive to the Lazy Flamingo restaurant, and just a couple of minutes more will take you to Capt. Con's restaurant. We watch nearly every sunset from the Capt. Con's pier, a pleasant bike ride distance from here. There is a bike path along Stringfellow Rd. that runs the entire length of the island. We also enjoy riding to the Raymary Street Grill for breakfast, the Tarpon Lodge for lunch, and the Saturday afternoon farm market set up across from the Raymary St. Grill.
The Bokeelia post office is nearby, as is the county boat ramp which charges just $5 per launch.
The owners are gracious hosts and maintain a lovely rental property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful review & we look forward to your return next March. Just think, you started 5 years ago staying for 2 weeks & renting a sailboat & now you tow Splash! and stay for a month. We love having you & sharing our love of Nellie's Nest in Bokeelia.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A time portal with all the amenities

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

Nellie's Nest is a trip back to vacationing in the 60s with all the amenities of today. We love this place. It's our fourth year and we hope to keep coming back for many more. The house is immaculate, has everything you could possibly need, totally peaceful and perfect for us. No complaints ever. And the neighbors were great too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: And certainly warmer than VT in January! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Nellie's Nest again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect hidden gem

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

What a wonderfully, hidden, away from it all gem! My husband and I enjoyed a great getaway at Nellie's Nest. We appreciated the location on the canal and the room to park our boat trailer. The house was extremely clean and well furnished with everything you could need! It is certainly a home away from home type place.The owners were lovely to deal with and accuarately/reasonably priced their home for your stay. You can't wrong with Nellie's Nest for a little laid back R and R!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lisa, thank you for your review. We aim to give our guests a home away from home and glad that we achieved that goal. I know that you have stayed at other locations in Bokeelia so are especially pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Nellies Nest. Please come stay again, Ellen and Robert

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Weekend Stay

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

Stayed at Pine Island for a long weekend. Excellent choice in lodging. House was everything promised. Very clean and well-maintained. Lots of useful information in binder located at house. Fishing very convenient in canal behind house. Plan to stay ther again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for staying at Nellies Nest and please come visit us again soon. It is a pretty quick trip from the east coast and really gives you a completely different view of Florida.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"It looks even nicer than online!"

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

"The house was spotless & comfortable & well equipped. It was great having the kayak. We liked that it was close to biking & fishing yet is very peaceful"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

"The weather was outstanding, the house is very comfortable - cleanliness outstanding. Loved the quiet & the patio. You have done an excellent job with the remodel work. Thank you for providing the reading material on Nellie & SW FL. It gave us a great appreciation of her & the area...During our visit we went to Lover's Key State Park, Sanibel Island beaches & spent a day at Cayo Costa State Park. We used the kayak & walked around Bokeelia nearly everyday. Thoroughly enjoyed everything

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a great time

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

"We had a great time. You & your husband have a beautiful vacation home in a place of great natural beauty...we all enjoyed very much Pine Island & look forward to coming back again for longer"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you once again

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

"Thank you once again for letting us rent Nellie's Nest. We had a wonderful time. We are interested in renting again next year. We tried to leave the house as clean as we found it."
(Owner note: Returned in Feb 2012 for 4th consecutive year)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved everything!

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

Great location - House was great & amenities were outstanding! I loved how you decorated it too!! You've left out nothing - even the night lights which I forgot to bring!! Honestly, we loved everything!! We've rented places in the Keys, but your place won our vote hands down!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would recommend your home to friends

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

Liked best: Peaceful, quiet location with boats, sea birds, water. Nearby walking & boating, restaurants, fish market, museums, parks.

House is clean, well equipped, and nicely decorated.

Suggestion: Sturdy metal tongs for turning BBQ oysters on the grill.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great accomodations

Review submitted: December 27, 2009   Date of arrival: January 24, 2009

"Great accommodations - clean, neat, fresh looking. Quiet, centrally located, close to everything. Grill worked great! We really enjoyed our stay. We saw Aunt Nellie in a lot of books & galleries & feel like were are a little part of Pine Island. Thank you!"

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Weather in Maine -25 degrees with 18-24" of snow!

Review submitted: December 27, 2009   Date of arrival: January 16, 2009

"Laid back, no busy traffic...well stocked home with beautiful patio....canal leading to bay with boat tie up...loved the decor" Weather better than home!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"I wish we'd planned for more time"

Review submitted: December 27, 2009   Date of arrival: April 18, 2009

"We liked all the birds - osprey, ibis, egrets, blue heron, funny pelicans, anahinga. The house had everything we needed, so relaxing. The kayak was a big plus. Liked the quiet location, beautiful decor, wonderful walking area. We enjoyed reading about Nellie's life and the history of the "fisher folk". This was such a relaxing place & week that I wish we had planned for more time."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Really enjoyed the house during our stay"

Review submitted: December 27, 2009   Date of arrival: August 4, 2009

"The way you restored the house shows great thought and TLC on every detail and your decorating is just right too. It is a perfect size for a few people. The back deck and location are great and the floor plan for the house is perfect. The kitchen is also very functional. Your information book, and helpful hints pages are also great touches. Having worked with my Dad on some big home improvements I know it is hard work but very satisfying when it is all done just right. I think you did it just right....the utility room shower is in a great spot also and the utility room is very useful for rods and stuff."

Suggestions: lounge chairs for laying in the sun, outdoor shower

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Can't wait to come back again"

Review submitted: December 27, 2009   Date of arrival: December 3, 2009

"Very clean & nicely furnished...had everything you would need in the kitchen. The pass in to Charlotte Harbor is right at the end of the canal. Can't wait to come back again."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Just perfect"

Review submitted: December 27, 2009   Date of arrival: December 24, 2009

We have a super time and would like to return soon, I will check your calendar and see if we could come again. Your home is perfect, could not ask for one thing different. Thanks for a delightful Christmas visit. My husband was able to catch about a dozen of the snapper fish and we had at least 20 birds visiting hoping to grab one of the fish. Great place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review