reviews for: listing #46421 - Waikoloa Village, Hawaii Condo rental

Aloha Spoken Here! Ask for October SPECIAL, 100 Reviews!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Waikoloa Villas
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $160 /nt
    $693 - $1,150 /wk

sort by:

A wonderful week in Waikoloa!

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

What an amazing week and how wonderful to have a lovely condo to come "home" to after our daily adventures. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to spend our mother-daughter trip. We ate many meals on the beautiful lanai and so enjoyed all the thoughtful touches. We didn't need anything...not even beach towels and beach chairs. What a delightful week. Many thanks to Sylvia and Denis for the aloha spirit we felt in their beautiful home. The grounds were spectacular, the views were amazing and all the amenities were superb! Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Place to Stay!

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

We stayed at this awesome vacation rental from April 26 to May 10th, 2013. It was our first time staying in a vacation rental and not a hotel, and after our experience, we will definitely do a vacation rental again!

We had the pleasure of actually meeting the owners, Dennis and Sylvia, at the beginning of our trip as they were leaving paradise to head back home. Sweetest and most accommodating couple you will ever meet! They made us feel welcomed and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. We brought our 18 month old son and they even provided a high chair, pack and play pen for him to sleep in, and even swim diapers! Very baby friendly place.

This place is truly a home away from home. The unit itself was clean, comfortable, and cozy, stocked with everything you would find at home. You can really tell that the owners put their heart and soul into upkeeping their unit, and it shows. Did I mention they have an extensive collection of DVD movies to watch, and an amazing selection of Hawaiian music to relax and listen to?

Great place to stay, and the owners themselves were a delight to deal with! Very prompt in replying to all emails and inquiries, and again, super accommodating! Made the whole thing, from emailing to inquire to the end of our vacation smooth, worry-free, and problem free.

Thanks again Dennis and Sylvia for an amazing stay! God bless you both! :)

Mahalo,

Gary, Tiffany, and Micah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 10, 2012

Hale O Mele La'i is located in Waikoloa Village, about a 10-15 min drive inland from the beaches and all of the busy resort areas. The village has a great supermarket, a gas station and a few restaraunts (Dave's Coffee Shack aka Kau Kau Depot has great food, great prices, and great people; Banjy's at the golf course has really good pizza). All of the people we met here were very friendly, including the residents at the condo complex.

We really enjoyed our stay at the condo. It was well equipped in every way, which makes for a very comfortable stay. It truly felt like a home away from home. You will find the kitchen stocked with all the supplies you could ever need (incl. storage containers & re-sealable bags - so handy for bringing snacks on your adventures!). And even better, there were tons of beach supplies - chairs, coolers, boogie boards, etc. etc.!!

Even if you are on a business trip, Sylvia and Denis have that covered too - free high speed wireless internet, free local calls, and a desk stocked with basic office supplies. If you are staying in on a rainy day - there are tons of dvd's, books, and games!

They have thought of everything - we really appreciated the binder filled with information about the condo, local beaches, and other sights on the island. And let's not forget the beautiful Hawaiian artwork displayed throughout the condo... that you can enjoy while listening to music from their extensive collection provided for your listening pleasure!!

Sylvia and Denis were a pleasure to deal with. They were always available through email and were always extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely be staying here on our next visit to the Big Island!
--------------
Owner response:
There is not much more I can say, you have pretty much said it all. We do enjoy hearing about the enjoyment and comfort that staying at Hale o Mele La'i brings.

Mahalo,
Sylvia and Denis

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Month in Paradise

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

The description of the property is accurate. The condo is well equipped and comfortable. The furniture in the living room is very comfortable and the bed gave us a fabulous sleep each night. It is quiet, relaxing and peaceful. The salt water swimming pool was practically our own. If you enjoy golf you will like the convenience of playing the most reasonably priced course in this part of the Big Island. We loved the location with its access to Waimea, the beaches on the coast and other site seeing and recreational opportunities.
The owners take pride in their home and do their best to ensure that your holiday stay is a great one!
Neil & Betty
Canada
-------------
Owner response:
We like to give our guests a good idea of what they will see when they walk in the door of our House of Happy Songs by showing a large number of quality photos on the web site. There are no surprises, only that some guests say that it is even better than the pictures. Being in Waikoloa Village does give easy access to the island activities and sights in all directions, kind of like the spokes of a bicycle wheel and being in the center.
Mahalo and a hui hou.
Sylvia & Denis

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hale O Mele La'i, Loved our stay

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

It is truly a place of happy song. We enjoyed your condo very much, you can feel the Hawaiian charm.
It is in a convenient location. We loved your place, you can see that you have put your heart in every room. Everything was just right. You have thought of everything that a guest would want. From the time we inquired about the condo till the end of our trip, you were always there for us. We would highly recommend your condo. Clean, charming, great location. We would love to stay there again.
Mahalo.
Ann & Artur
California
--------------
Owner response:
Aloha Anna and Artur, Your comments and enjoyment of Hale O Mele La'i make it worthwhile to do what we do to provide the nicely appointed decor and special atmosphere for our guests. We also were happy to be able to help you out when needed and we look forward to your next visit.
Mahalo, Sylvia and Denis

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Waikoloa Villas Christmas Vacation

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

We had stayed in 2006 at this same condo and were so excited to return to the comfort and luxury of this Peaceful Piece of Paradise. Located in Waikoloa Village, it is away from the the hubub of the resorts at the beach. We made daily treks to the beaches nearby, Hapuna, Spencer and 2 new beaches we either had recommended by locals or fellow travelers. All great beaches and certainly had fun in the sun.

The condo is equipped with every little thing you could think of including sunscreen if you forgot that. Lots of nice towels and coolers. Lovely pool and hot tub area. Great area to walk or run and not worry too much about traffic. The boys golfed. Nice course complete with wild goats and turkeys. Friendly residents and guests. Clean and well kept Cabana with BBq's!

Denis and Sylvia left a decorated Christmas tree on the Lanai for us which was really beautiful and made us feel at home. We cooked many meals and enjoyed the views every morning with our breakfast. This is a great condo, beautifully decorated and impeccably maintained.

Great place for active family or 2 couples.Lots of great places to explore. Over the course of 2 weeks we saw most of the Island. Lots of great restaurants in the Resort area's. Subway and several small cafes in the village, within 1 mile. Rainbows most days!

All in all I think this is a super value and enjoy staying here very much.

We have enjoyed the Whale Watching tour near the Kings/Queens Shops area very much. Also Fairwind tour in South Kona. There are many great Luau's nearby. All are great, we have enjoyed the inexpensive ones as much as the high end! Often there is also free Local Entertainment at the King Shops most evenings.

All in all great times and great holiday! We will return again to this little piece of Hawaiiana!

Pam, Tony & Joe
Washington
--------------
Owner response:
Wow, had to catch my breath after reading this wonderful review from these return guests! Mahalo nui! It is so helpful for our future guests to have some recommendations from past guests of things to do and places to go. We also help by providing a nice library of books with guidelines to make deciding what to do just a little easier. There is so much to do and see on the Big Island, it can't all be done in one visit. Waikoloa Village is centrally located and within easy reach of most of the places you might choose to enjoy.

Sylvia & Denis

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hawaii, The Big Island

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

This was our first trip to Hawaii, and my sister-in-law and I decided to try a condo vs. a hotel. I research different places on the island and finally decided on Waikoloa Village. Viewing the property on line was a true picture of what to expect.

The minute we arrived and walked in, we were transported into a Hawiian paradise. All our expectations were far exceeded. The peacefulness of the surroundings, the beautiful interior design, and the impeccable landscaping, why would you want to stay in a hotel. A plus for anyone who golfs, the course could be seen from the lanai. The pool is directly across the lanai, but not visable because of the landscaping. For those who like to cook out, the pool house has a total kitchen set up with the best grills I have ever used.

For those that don't want to travel into town, which is about 20 miles away, there is a small shopping area just before you get to the main road of the complex. Plus the grocery store was much better then the one in Kona. The beaches are about 6 miles away on Rt. 19. They were just beautiful and a good place to take sunset pictures.


If you should chose this condo, you will not be disappointed. The owners are within a phone call away, or email them, and they will immediatly deal with your concerns. They were just the nicest people as were the residents of the complex.
--------------
Owner response:
We enjoy helping to make our guests' stay comfortable and memorable, therefore we are always upgrading and improving Hale O Mele La'i each time we are there. It gives us pleasure to hear the compliments that say that it is worth our effort. Mahalo. Since Hawaii is called the Big Island, these guests are an example of seeing it from end to end, filling their days, and still leaving so much more to do another time. Our centralized location makes this much easier.
Mahalo,
Sylvia and Denis

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Haven of Aloha

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This was my 7th time on the Big Island but my first ever condo rental . Sylvia made this experience SO easy and straightforward and we felt supported every step of the way. The condo was super clean and had everything we needed and felt like we were home.

As two cousins travelling together, having separate bedrooms and bathrooms was fantastic. Would be great for two couples or larger family too, since the bedrooms/bathrooms are on separate levels. We were able to have our privacy and share the beautiful living space together. We enjoyed the sunsets and some dinners on the lanai and breakfasts there. The location is fantastic and we felt part of the Big Island community instead of staying at a hotel and feeling like a tourist.

It was fantastic to be able to really enjoy the Farmers Markets and bring home produce to enjoy, with the well appointed full kitchen.

We would highly recommend this condo, with its' lovely Hawaiian furnishings. The condo and complex are really well maintained (building and landscaping). Truly a haven of aloha to come home to at the end of busy or relaxing days on the Island. We would come back here again and again, whenever going to Hawaii.

Sharon and Enid
B.C. Canada
-------------
Owner response:We do so enjoy making our condo feel like home, as it does not have just a vacation rental appearance. Every time we ourselves visit we enjoy finding new and different ways to enhance and improve the experience. When our return guests come, we enjoy their comments on what has been added or improved since their last visit. Sharon, we hope that you will have the opportunity to return and experience another visit where we enjoy "speaking aloha".

Sylvia and Denis

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, Perfect, Happy!

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

The house is beautiful! We are very happy here. We just wanted to tell you that we have had a great time in Hawaii and unfortunately it's time to go back...we were very impressed by your town house...perfect ...nothing was missing, it was just like being at home...thank you again. We will definitely consider coming back to the Big Island in the future and will try to rent with you if there is availability. Mahalo!

Antonello and Monique

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed Colorado cabin and now Hawaii condo

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Once again, you have provided us with a very warm, comforting place to stay. Being able to stay and enjoy your place in Colorado and also here has provided us with some very enjoyable times and lots of memories. A week is definitely not enough time to be here and enjoy the sites and scenery and to also find time to relax.

David & Pam, Bill & Teri
Nebraska

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Aloha from Modesto

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

Our vacation at Sylvia and Denis condo was truly enchanting. We enjoy the beautifully decorated condo and the tremendous hospitality in every little details and thoughtfulness. I contacted Sylvia off and on by email during our stay and I really enjoyed her enthusiasm. We can't wait to come back.
I am recommending this little piece of heaven to all my friends and relatives. I wish I can keep it a secret for me but it would not be nice to Sylvia and Denis.

We really had a good time in your Big Island hale. Your condo is way more than perfect. We enjoyed all the little details, and the tips you gave even helped in preparing for our trip. You two are very gracious hosts and Sylvia, you have class!! We will definitely be back. We will make reservations way in advance.
-------------
Owner response:
We do enjoy the relationships we build with our guests and the Aloha we share, as we feel that Hale O Mele La'i is more than just a vacation rental to us. We try not to be intrusive and yet always available to enjoy our guests experience vicariously if offered. For that reason, we too enjoyed the e-mails back and forth. You are so kind and we hope to hear from you again. Mahalo nui!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Peacefulness

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We so enjoyed your beautiful condo! The location and peacefulness were perfect after hiking, snorkeling, beaching, etc! Your home provided everything we needed to make our vacation superb! We will be back!

Patty and Page

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ideal Set Up and Location

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

We so enjoyed our vacation and are trying to adjust back into the swing of things (and weather) in Colorado. We would be glad to recommend your place to friends and family, as well as stay there when we visit the Big Island in the future. The set up and location were ideal. Here are a couple pictures of the kiddos and a turtle at Puako Beach (we loved that beach it is so beautiful).

Heather and Brett
Colorado

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our 3rd month at Hale O Mele La'i

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

Thank you for another enjoyable and relaxing visit! A hui hou!
-----------
(From last year's guest book.)

This was another wonderful experience. This was our second year here for a month and we're looking forward to next year, too! Mahalo!
Cathy and Bob, Illinois

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 10, 2012

Hale O Mele La'i is located in Waikoloa Village, about a 10-15 min drive inland from the beaches and all of the busy resort areas. The village has a great supermarket, a gas station and a few restaraunts (Dave's Coffee Shack aka Kau Kau Depot has great food, great prices, and great people; Banjy's at the golf course has really good pizza). All of the people we met here were very friendly, including the residents at the condo complex.

We really enjoyed our stay at the condo. It was well equipped in every way, which makes for a very comfortable stay. It truly felt like a home away from home. You will find the kitchen stocked with all the supplies you could ever need (incl. storage containers & re-sealable bags - so handy for bringing snacks on your adventures!). And even better, there were tons of beach supplies - chairs, coolers, boogie boards, etc. etc.!! Even if you are on a business trip, Sylvia and Denis have that covered too - free high speed wireless internet, free local calls, and a desk stocked with basic office supplies. If you are staying in on a rainy day - there are tons of dvd's, books, and games!

They have thought of everything - we really appreciated the binder filled with information about the condo, local beaches, and other sights on the island. And let's not forget the beautiful Hawaiian artwork displayed throughout the condo... that you can enjoy while listening to music from their extensive collection provided for your listening pleasure!!

Sylvia and Denis were a pleasure to deal with. They were always available through email and were always extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely be staying here on our next visit to the Big Island!

Maria and Gord
Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hawaiian theme

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 27, 2010

We have enjoyed staying this month in your condo. The Hawaiian theme throughout the home is perfect. This is our first extended visit to Hawaii and we've enjoyed every minute.
(The guests also included an extensive list of their recommendations to visitors of the things they enjoyed doing while here. You will find it in the Guest Book in the condo.)

Diana and Phil, Iowa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

3rd year

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2010

This is our 3rd year coming to your lovely condo for the month of January. This year we brought our 24 year old son and his 5 year old daughter as we really wanted to share this experience with them. Thank you and we plan on being back next year.

Shelly and Jeff,
California

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Big Island Secret

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2010

Lovely vacation condo in a peaceful setting on a golf course in Waikoloa Village. Decorated so tastefully with Hawaiian accents, and an extremely comfortable bed for a superb nights rest. A real surprise to find a vacation property that feels so much like home. This secret may cost me in the long run as the property may not be open the next time I try and book my vacation to the Big Island."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review