reviews for: listing #46431 - Waikiki, Hawaii Condo rental

2BR Oceanfront, Stunning Views, Large Lanai!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Diamond Head/
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $295 - $385 /nt
    $2,373 - $2,373 /wk
    $8,850 - $8,850 /mth

sort by:

Exceeded our expectations in every respect!

Review submitted: February 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

What a find! We could hardly tear ourselves away from the stunning views in three directions. I would have been perfectly content to just relax on the large and comfortable balcony, staring at the blue Pacific. When we forced ourselves to leave this lovely, clean and spacious condo, we were delighted to find the bus stop mere steps away. We felt safe in our quiet neighborhood, but still easily able to walk to Waikiki Beach and local attractions. It was a sad day when we had to leave. Thank you again for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

All the comforts of home, but in paradise . . .

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

Our family spent a relaxing Christmas holiday in this delightful condo. The location was ideal, a close walk to Waikiki, yet far enough from all the crowds to avoid the noise.
The property was well-maintained, tastefully decorated, and had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable.
We hiked a lot, did some boating and enjoyed some terrific restaurants.
Not to be missed is the hike to Manoa Falls, and the nearby Lyon Arboretum.
We would happily return or recommend this property to others.
The Conrads -- Twin Cities, Minnesota

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A View Worth A Million Buck!

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 4, 2013

Amazing condo to rent! The view from the lanai left us breathless every morning and night! I especially loved being in the quieter end of Waikiki. Thank you for sharing your treasure!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Anniversary in Hawaii

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

Mike your condo was great.
We stayed here from 3/27/13 to 4/1/13 celebrating our anniversary with my sister and brother in law. What a wonderful vacation we had, exploring, walking the beach, and shopping. When we had enough, we had a beautifully decorated condo to come home to, and relax on the lanai looking out at the ocean.
The nice kitchen helped us save some money by eating some dinners at home. We all felt that we
would love to come back again. I would recommend this property to everyone. Thanks Mike
Dave and Peggy Robbie and Tom

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect 20th anniversary with family!

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

My husband & I took our 2 kids (15 & 11) to Honolulu for our 20th anniversary. After getting many quotes, we decided this sounded like a nice condo and location. We were extremely happy with our selection. The condo is decorated in tasteful island style and the balcony with tiki bar, table & barstools and "couch" is unbeatable!! Fantastic view. You can walk to San Souci and the Aquarium in 5-10 minutes, the zoo in about 15 and the heart of Waikiki in 20 minutes. So pleased and did not want to leave!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

This was one of the best vacation spots that we have ever stayed... so comfortable...with every amenity you could ask for including a full kitchen so that you can eat some romantic meals in instead of going out all of the time. This gem of an apartment is perfectly located in Diamond Head but on the edge of Waikaki... walking distance to EVERYTHING. Prior to leaving for Honolulu, Mike and Rick, the owners, did a great job in providing us a list of recommended restaurants, beaches, sites, etc all around the island...every one we tried was awesome! They had these recos in a binder awaiting our arrival as well. They were extremely organized and professional and the apartment was adorably appointed, extremely clean and very well maintained! What can I say... we felt like we were at home... it was such a relaxing trip and would recommend this place to EVERY friend and family member! In fact, we hope to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

LOVED our visit to this adorable one-bedroom/bath gem apartment where Waikaki meets Diamond Head... it is perfectly located (walking distance to EVERYTHING!)and comfortably appointed. I am going to recommend this property to every one of my friends and family members. The apartment was extremely clean, well maintained and handsomely decorated... felt like home away from home. Mike and Rick, the owners, provided great instructions on restaurants, notable sites on Waikaki and around the island, and other great helpful tips to make our stay in their little oasis a memorable one. They sent their recommendations on restaurants, beaches, sites, etc. to us before we took off and had them available in a binder when we arrived. We pretty much took most of their recommendations and every one of them did not disappoint!! We are definitely coming back and hope to bring more friends with us to rent out their two bedroom! We give them a huge Siskel & Ebert TWO THUMBS UP!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Reader please note: This review is for our 1 bedroom condo in the same building (see line 1 and reference at end about future rental of our 2 bedroom). Our 1 bedroom condo is Homeaway lisitng #168827 and this unit is listing #156652. But...keep reading and we think you'll like what you see...The Owners.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WONDERFUL PLACE

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2010

Me alojé junto con mi pareja el pasado mes de Noviembre en este maravilloso apartamento y mi experiencia no pudo haber sido mejor. Los propietarios son gente maravillosa, deseando satisfacer todas nuestras necesidades e inquietudes respecto a localización y demás. Las puestas de sol en el Tiki bar son sencillamente espectaculares. Desde luego que si vuelvo a Hawaii lo haré a esta propiedad.
I stayed here last November and it couldnt be any better. The owners were really friendly and very helpful with all my questions. The sunsets at the tiki bar were simply amazing; One thing is for sure, If I come back to Hawaii I will stay in this property again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Way over the top

Review submitted: November 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 2, 2010

When my wife and I decided to vacation with some very good friends, the girls started looking on the internet for a nice place for the four of us. Boy did we get lucky! Nui Kai was just what the doctor ordered for a nice stress buster of a vacation. We made sure to catch every sunset during the 11 nights we were there. The unit had everything we needed. I think we might have gone out for dinner twice while we were there. With a fully stocked Kitchen and four people who can cook, there was no reason to. With two large bedrooms, there was more than enough room for the four of us. Thank you for making this unit available. Being close to Waikiki but away from the noise was exactly what we wanted. A nice mellow day and dinner, watch the sunset, then a short walk to Waikiki. Can't get much better than that in our book. We would most definitely recommend this to all our friends, and just may be back ourselves.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Highlight of my vacation

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

We only got the condos for 5 nights due to the last minute booking but it is a remarkable highlight of our vacation. Our family of 5 include 2 seniors and a preschooler so our outdoor time was limited due to their needs. Thanks to the furnished lanai and the incredible view, we can still have quality time even staying in the condo.

The owner is very nice and open to questions with fast reply. The transaction is smooth.

You can feel the property manager and owner tried their best to ensure your needs and the details are covered. Items I found userful include safeway card, umbrella, a decent size lunch bag we used as a mini cooler for the kid etc.

We rented the parking to avoid the hassle. There are plenty of free or meter parkings on the streets and nearby park if you don't mind moving it around. The parking space is very small and the limited spaces in the garage are fully utilized by the landlord so we had to use extra cautions every time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful Vacation

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: May 23, 2009

I booked the condo for my parents and their friends. The condo was clean, tastefully decorated, and in a perfect oceanfront location in a quiet building. In a nutshell, they had the best time in Hawaii mainly due to their stay in this wonderful condo. The reservation process was absolutely seamless, and the owner is very responsive to questions. I would highly recommend Nui Kai.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Condo on the beach

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: June 26, 2008

The condo was very clean. There was plenty of funiture to sleep six. T

he view from the balcony was breath-taking. The breeze on the balcony was present practically 24 hours a day, which at the end of June is greatly appreciated. The only recommendation I have for the owners: put in a screen door in the sliding glass door - to make for a better cross-breeze.This would allow for the beautiful breeze outside to enter into the condo

The elevator made it easy access to the unit. However, the amount and size of funiture would make it very difficult for a person with a physical disability to get around the unit.

The condo was a seven dollar cab ride to waikiki (3 out of 4 times), so very easy access w/o a car.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A perfect fit for our family.

Review submitted: May 9, 2008   Date of arrival: April 24, 2008

The place was beautiful and the pictures on the website do not do it justice. The 2nd bedroom was a real adult bedroom and was very private from the rest of the unit (great for 2 couples). Both rooms had plenty of closet and drawer space.

The view from the lanai was gorgeous and it was a very comfortable place to hang out. It was a great place to nap.

My only concern for another family would be if you are traveling with children who climb or rough house. The lanai cannot be seen very well from the main unit. This is a nice feature for couples, but it would be very stressful for some parents. The unit is filled with unique and beautiful things. Most of them were pretty sturdy, but it could make some people nervous.

We traveled with 3 children under the age of 3. After moving a few small things we felt very comfortable in the unit. We felt our children were safe and the owner's possessions were safe.

We could fit all three strollers in the elevator and there was plenty of room to park them in the unit's hallway. The access to sidewalks was easy and walking in the area felt safe. The parking spot was well worth it and one of the better ones I have had in Waikiki. Our minivan fit perfectly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Perfect for Us

Review submitted: May 6, 2008   Date of arrival: April 24, 2008

We loved this place. It was perfectly located for us. A nice walk to Waikiki, the zoo, Diamond Head, the park, the Outrigger, etc. It was exactly as described. Very clean and comfortable with beautiful views and convenient parking. Close to a nice beach just outside of Waikiki. We would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: January 25, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Excellent accomodations. Clean and very very well maintanined. The decor delivered that "island" feeling with plenty of room to stretch out and relax after a long hard day. Enjoyed the view but after a long day of sightseeing and adventuring the steps are a bit difficult to handle. Parking is not great and difficult to utilize. I would defintely recommend this residence to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: To whom ever is considering our condo.

We appreciate this reviewers comments. We put a lot into making a visit to Nui Kai a very special experience. But, we are confused by the comments about the steps. We are not sure what steps they are referring to. There are no steps to get to the condo. There is an elevator that runs from the basement parking level of the garage, about 40 feet from our parking spot, to the 14th floor. Our condo is on the 9th floor about 15 feet from the elevator. There are no steps. Even the access to our building from the street is an easy ramp to get to the lobby level of the building...no steps.

The only thing we can think of is that the elevator was down for some reason (which is very rare unless our elevator company is doing it's annual maintenance or there is some unusual area wide power outage). Other than that, there are two or three steps going from the wonderful makai lanai of our building down to the lawn area and chase lounges along the ocean.

There is an emergency stairwell at one end of the building and an outdoor staircase on the other end of the building...but the elevator eliminates any need to use stairs (except in an emergency).

As for our parking spot, there is nothing too unusual about it but may be more difficult for a large car. Our building has 21 spots (for about 50 units) and we are very thankful to have one that we can offer our clients.

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review