reviews for: listing #46441 - Santa Barbara, California House rental

$249.00 February Special 3-night Minimum*
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Downtown
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $349 - $399 /nt
    $2,443 - $2,793 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 28, 2013

I took my grandmother (96 years old), three of my aunts, my mom, sister and two cousins on a 3 day getaway to Santa Barbara. David was so gracious and provided us with all the information and things to do around Santa Barbara. The house was perfect for us. It had all the dishes, wine glasses and kitchen utensils. We had plenty of pillows and blankets. Just brought our clothes and food. We had a wonderful time at this property. It's close to downtown and the beach. We took walks every morning to the beach. It's about a 20 minute walk and less than a 10 minute drive to the beach. I would rent this house again. It was very clean and well kept. We sat outside and had our coffee. The backyard is great for BBQs.
Thanks David for making our vacation so special.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just like Home

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We (six people) really enjoyed staying here for a week in July. It is one of the best equiped rental homes we have ever stayed in. There are plenty of pots, pans, cups, bowls,utensils, knives, dishes, wine glasses, and anything else one would need to cook for a lot of people. The dinning table handles 8 people. Add to that: lots of towels, sheets, blankets and a washer and dryer. The wi fi is great along with the Dish network and TV which the kids really appreciated. (God forbid they are ever disconnected!) The fairly new backyard BBQ grill worked wonderfully and there is plenty of off street parking for 3 cars. So, yes, highly reccomended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our trip

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time in your beautiful home. My only suggestion would be to leave instructions on how to work the TV. We never were able to get to a channel we wanted. Maybe a TV guide as to what channel is news etc? Other than that...perfect place for children to safely play.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Campers

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

We, two couples, love staying in this sweet Craftsman. We had easy walks to downtown and to that excellent ice cream place a block to the east. This was one of the easiest vacation rentals I've had. Would happily return and send our friends or relatives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exactly what I wanted- as advertised

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

This was exactly what we wanted. Surfing trip for 8 guys. The garden area was perfect for us to relax in after surfing in the mornings. We would order a cab at night, $10 to downtown.

The furnishings were great. Comfortable living room fit us all in, speaker system to plug into, dining room was spacious (though un-used by us : ). The kitchen and bedrooms are a bit tight, just small really, but that was fine with us. In fact, he had all sorts of good cooking contraptions and even leftover condiments in the fridge and seasonings and so forth- would have been very easy to cook up some meals here as well.

So, I'd recommend this for a family with kids as well as adult vacationers. The enclosed lawn area is a great space to spend the afternoon, or between sightseeing. The road running alongside the property has some noise- it's not silent and quaint here- but it's nothing overbearing in the least.

I've stayed in about a dozen house rentals like this over the past few years- this ranks up there with the best of them. Great job David!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Good!!

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay in Santa Barbara in last minutes. The owner contacted us quickly and he was very kind and helpful. So we decided to stay in his property and next day we departed. The property was clean and well maintained. We went to Trader's Joe by 5 min driving, cooked dinner and used laundry. We visited Downtown and Mission by car very easily. We also asked him about Winery and he gave good advice. Thank you David for letting us stay!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable house, great service

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

This house was perfect for a 3 week stay last December. It's well-appointed, with a fast wifi connection, comfortable furniture and bed, and enough kitchen equipment to make complete meals every day of the week, if you so desire. Everything was
impeccably clean upon our arrival, amazing in a house of this age. The best thing was the level of service provided by the
owner, who responded immediately to every issue that arose, from a burned out ceiling light to our losing the front door key.
The house is located at a busy intersection. It's shielded from the street by very tall shrubs, but that doesn't block rush hour noise. After a couple of days, though, we no longer noticed it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable house, great service

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

This house was perfect for a 3 week stay last December. It's well-appointed, with a fast wifi connection, comfortable furniture and bed, and enough kitchen equipment to make complete meals every day of the week, if you so desire. Everything was
impeccably clean upon our arrival, amazing in a house of this age. The best thing was the level of service provided by the
owner, who responded immediately to every issue that arose, from a burned out ceiling light to our losing the front door key.
The house is located at a busy intersection. It's shielded from the street by very tall shrubs, but that doesn't block rush hour noise. After a couple of days, though, we no longer noticed it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice, large, private home near State St.

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

David's house is a very private and large home. It's a bit older, but quite nice and taken care of. There are many nice features, but to me, the privacy and location stand-out. Just a couple of blocks from State St. (and a few more blocks to "downtown" stores), we could just go out and walk at night. And the house has a great sense of privacy, completely surrounded by a wood fence, with hedges. Would be absolutely perfect if you had dogs with you, as the large yard is fully secured.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome House!

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

David is great, and we loved the property. The weekend was not without drama (we experienced a plumbing problem on Saturday morning) BUT David had it fixed and cleaned up within 2 hours! He extended our check out time and offered us a credit. The yard, house and area were perfect for us and our dogs, we will absolutely be renting it again!

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house downtown

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 14, 2013

I stayed here with a colleague while visiting UCSB - we wanted to be downtown, but also within easy reach of the University. This house was perfect: it's spacious, the bedrooms and bathrooms are nice, wifi just worked, we walked two blocks to the daily grind each morning to get coffee, and it's right by the Mission St 101 freeway entrance (but we couldn't hear the traffic at night). We could also have walked to the bus stop no problem. There's offstreet parking for one car, and we had no problem parking the other one on the street. The owner is very helpful: key handovers were super easy, and they were very flexible about timings. I'd stay here again no question.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Be Careful: Pictures Don't Tell The Whole Story...

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

During our 4 month stay in Santa Barbara, Dec. 1/12 to March 31/13, we booked this place for 5 weeks in the middle. The pictures and reviews promised a lovely place at least on par with our other rentals in the same price range.

What a disappointment. This house is tired and worn. There was black mould along the baseboards in the office. Strong musty odor which never dissipated despite the purchase of room fresheners and two days of open windows. Light coloured shag carpet may not be ideal flooring for a rental home. Variety of stains included inexplicable orange ones beside the master bed. The dining room chair seats also have ring stains. We took pictures.

The pots, pans and various utensils are in rough shape. Can opener was coated in rust. We bought our own frying pan. The dishwasher has stains on the inside. The kitchen cupboards are in need of serious cleaning.

By the third day of our five week rental we started looking for other places. By day 5 we moved out, walking away from a 5 week rental fee - an expensive solution but a big improvement in our enjoyment of Santa Barbara.

We were made painfully aware that, as renters/tenants, we have no real protection against this type of experience, i.e. where the house is simply not up to the promised or implied standards.

We've had great experiences with VRBO both before and after this rental but we’ll be much more careful in the future.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

What a beautifully kept home. We really appreciated the privacy we felt with the trees surrounding the home. We had a retreat that weekend and the home was perfect for all the events we had. It's very centrally located to downtown and surrounding areas. Thanks for sharing your home with us.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming home

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

Our family stayed in this charming bungalow and the owner was very gracious and friendly. We would rent again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great trip!

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

Loved our stay at this property. The owner, David communicated so well with us before, during and after the stay that we were well prepared and all our expectations were met wonderfully. the house was just as described, very clean and in great condition. We only needed to bring our suitcases!
The property is walking distance to a cafe, a great ice cream shop (McConnell's), best breakfast restaurant (Cajun Kitchen) in town and also to State St one of the main attractions of downtown where a trolley can take you up and down the strip. Easy access to the freeway, halfway between beach and foothills for hiking. David was more than helpful in giving us tons of local knowledge, advice and genuinely cares that we had as good experience as possible. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great value! Wonderful Property!

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

My husband and I booked David's place for a long weekend to celebrate his birthday with some close friends. We arrived at the property and instantly could see why he had received such great reviews in the past. the property was in immaculate condition, the house pristine, and extremely spacious. the house was stocked with all the basic necessities such as kitchen utensils, spices, and all cooking condiments, and all the rooms were stocked with towels and clean bedding/sheets. There were two bathrooms which were also stocked with shampoo, conditioner and soap. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Davids property. It was an extremely roomy and spacious house, and the yard was huge too. It was raining the entire weekend so we weren't able to utilize the BBQ and outdoor patio which we will definitely use the next time we stay. David was a pleasure to work with! He knows a lot about Santa Barbara, and insisted on contacting him if we ever needed anything at all. We highly recommend staying at David's property, and believe it is great value! Thank you David for your amazing house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great for groups and families

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

This is a very comfortable home for a family gathering. It is nicely appointed, but not fancy so you feel like you cannot relax. All the beds are comfortable, the kitchen is a good size for cooking for a group, the yard is great for dogs -- good side run -- and there is plenty of space to spread out. A consideration for some will be that there are no grab rails in the shower or tub areas, and no railings on the front steps. The location is very convenient and an nice walk down to shopping on State Street.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very comfortable home away from home

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

We had a group of 7 mothers and daughters stay at this rental and felt at home. We really enjoyed the home and it's location. We were able to walk downtown as well as walk one block for coffee in the morning and ice cream at night. We would definitely stay here again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Like Home

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

David has provided a classic Craftsman house with all the amenities of home. We enjoyed the large living room, dining area, well-stocked kitchen, comfortable beds, lots of linens, and many other needs that were well-anticipated by the owner. We enjoyed the great parking, sunny front porch, and convenient location to US 101. We were most places in Santa Barbara within 10 minutes.
Our busy family event kept us from dining around the area, but there were several places that David graciously described when he took time to acquaint us with the area and threw in some great history. We did enjoy cruising down State St. which was close and then hopped in the car to walk the ocean walking trail.
The greatest advantage was that our family could stay together and eat a relaxed dinner together. It was also convenient to have the kitchen so anyone could make food when they were hungry. We appreciated the filtered water system too.
We have a wonderful memory of our stay in Santa Barbara and would encourage others to take advantage of this reasonably priced vacation home which exceeded our expectations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

Wow! What a great house! We rented this house for a girls weekend and we couldn't have enjoyed it more. The house was fully stocked with everything we needed from dishes, pans, trash bags and paper towels to shampoo, soap and bath towels. We spend the afternoon in the back yard lying in the sun. David was great to deal with - very personable and very willing to provide as much information about Santa Barbara as he can. He even hooked us up with Mauricio and Caio who drove us all around town on Friday. This house is also in a great location - very close to a coffee house, ice cream shop and State Street. Thank you David for sharing your house with us!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

Thank you, David, for allowing us to stay in your Craftaman Home while visitng our favorite town. You made George's birthday week perfect with your wonderful home and hospitality.
The entire home is so relaxing, furnished with everything a person would need and the most comfortable beds. For a moment I felt it was our home. All of your great suggestions were so appreciated. Can hardly wait to return to share updates with our new friend. Thank you, David, for your many kindnesses. Maggie Lou (our dog) thanks you and says "David Rocks."
You are "the Best" along with the House on Bath.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: February 21, 2010   Date of arrival: February 21, 2010

The house is lovely -- super comfortable and well-appointed for our family (two adults, one teen and, for part of the visit, two additional adults). The beds are great; the kitchen is well
put together. David, the owner, is super helpful, providing everything from advice on the house to restaurant recommendations. The house is incredibly convenient to downtown, the bus line, and the 101, as well. Highly, highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

This home was inviting, comfortable, and in a fabulous location in Santa Barbara! My family was comfortable, as were our dogs, who loved playing in the grassy, fully fenced yard. The owner, David, provided excellent service, even providing recommendations for local restaurants and checking to make sure we had enough toilet paper! Appreciated all the comforts of home at a really reasonable price. Thanks for everything

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great location!!

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 27, 2009

This home was inviting, comfortable, and in a fabulous location in Santa Barbara! My family was comfortable, as were our dogs, who loved playing in the grassy, fully fenced yard. The owner, David, provided excellent service, even providing recommendations for local restaurants and checking to make sure we had enough toilet paper! Appreciated all the comforts of home at a really reasonable price. Thanks for everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: December 2, 2009   Date of arrival: December 2, 2009

We stayed through the Thanksgiving Holiday. We cooked a delicious meal and enjoyed the nicely decorated and comfortable home . This was an absolutely wonderful stay. Our family truly enjoyed the house, the grounds and its location. It had everything that a family would need for a home away from home. The coffee shop and the ice cream place nearby were great and being able to walk to State Street was a treat too! No worries about parking. David, the owner was great too! Answered all our questions quickly and gave us great suggestions. Thank you for a memorable stay!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 12, 2009   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

This home is a pleasure to stay in. Plenty of room, comfortable beds and a nicely appointed kitchen. We loved sitting on the front porch as well as in the backyard. The grounds are beautiful and make for a relaxing visit.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 5, 2009   Date of arrival: October 5, 2009

We had an opportunity to celebrate our dtr.'s wedding in Santa Barbara and we made the home, our home away from home. We hosted several people at different times and the home was easy to get to ( a few blocks from 101 exit), in a great location, close to downtown and beach. The neighborhood provided great eats and coffee. (Within walking distance). In the house we loved the comfort of the beds. (The best sleep I've
had away from home).
The house is comfy. David gave us information that was helpful and was friendly. I would return and rent this home again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

This home was a perfect place to stay for our weekend getaway. David (the owner) is a great person to work with and provided everything necessary, including recommendations for local activities. The house is well maintained and has everything you could want to feel at home. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this home to others!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 3, 2009   Date of arrival: June 3, 2009

We loved the place! Never stayed in Santa Barbara before but I know where we will stay again. Perfect location, perfect size, comfortable everything!! David is a great host and we could not have asked for more!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: May 26, 2009

I am extremely pleased that we made the decision to stay at this house. We were traveling for a friends wedding. David came and welcomed us when we arrived and made sure we had everything we needed, as well as pointed out all the hot spots in town. The house is just a block from an amazing coffee shop, cafe, and bar, which was a great start to the day. We ended up shopping for food and grilling out one of the nights and the back patio and the yard space was perfect for us entertaining the wedding party - very secluded as well! The bedrooms were spacious and extremely comfortable... In fact, my wife and I are trying to locate one of the comforters for our own bed. Although we rented a car, we walked everywhere. State street was just two blocks away. We actually walked down to the beach... about two miles, but with alot to see on the way and with the beautiful weather and scenery, it was great exercise. Cabs were also reasonable and there is a shuttle that goes up and down State street. All in all, if you need to place 6 people in beds, and two more (total of 8) can deal with a pullout couch (which was also comfortable per my brother), this is your best bet in Santa Barbara. David went above and beyond to make sure we had a memorable trip. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: May 14, 2009   Date of arrival: May 14, 2009

We rented this home so that we would have a place to stay during our son's wedding. The house was clean, fully stocked, comfortable and just perfect. There were 6 adults and one infant and we all had plenty of room in the house. The owner checked with us daily to make sure we had supplies, etc. He was great. It is in a central location, which made it nice for us to go in any direction of Santa Barbara. I would highly recommend this home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 22, 2009   Date of arrival: April 22, 2009

Thanks, Dave for a lovely home and an even nicer host. You made us feel so welcome! We really enjoyed ourselves.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 9, 2009   Date of arrival: March 9, 2009

Staying in this house was absolutely fantastic. The location, comfortable beds, and overall beauty and coziness of the house made our trip amazing. It being so close to State Street, it can't get much better than this.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 11, 2009   Date of arrival: February 11, 2009

We met our friends here for a great vacation weekend. The home is beautiful, kept clean, fully stocked and in a great location for exploring Santa Barbara. Loved the house and the city, just perfect.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 15, 2009   Date of arrival: January 15, 2009

Staying at this home was a perfect place for us during the time we were here for a wedding in November. A number of the family was able to stay together in the lovely, craftsman home which had been remodeled and was efficient and sufficient for our needs. It was
clean, comfortable, affordable and enjoyable for all.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review