reviews for: listing #46478 - Waikiki, Hawaii Condo rental

Next to Ocean, 1 bdrm, $99/nt (2/wk rate) Free WiFi & phone
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $148 /nt
    $693 - $994 /wk
    $2,772 - $3,285 /mth

sort by:

Wow!!! Great enjoyable experience

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

My young family stayed here for a week and enjoyed themselves. My 2 young boys were excited to come to Hawaii and when they came back home, they were equally excited to go back. The owner was recommended to us and we were not disappointed. The suite had everything we needed and more . It was clean, organized and the recommendations were excellent. I would definitely recommend this to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Value and Great Location

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Fijay's condo for 8 nights at the end of October, 2012. When we were looking for a place to stay in Waikiki we looked at a number of spots on line. What sold me on this one was the location and value for the dollar. We like to walk but do not want to be right in the middle of the entertainment area so this gave us the best option. The condo was clean and everything we were promised. The communication with the owner was great and he was extremely helpful in ensuring we had a trouble free stay. He was honest with his description of the unit and although there may be other units that were more recently updated this one was clean, in good condition and well equiped. The WiFi worked great and it became a very pleasant home for our stay in Waikiki. Our money was well spent and we would gladly return to the unit on our next visit to Waikiki. More importantly we were dealt with respectfully and honestly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We want to thank our guest for writing a wonderful view. We are thrilled to hear that all our communication with Glenn was "honest and extremely helpful". We are very happy to hear that they found the location of our unit ideal. We do get a lot of nice comments about the location of our unit. We are happy to hear that they found our unit to be of "good value" for the dollar and that the unit is in good condition, well equipped, and clean. And lastly, we are so happy to hear that you were treated with respect and honesty.
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
maureen/fijay

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just Right

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

Strongly recommend!! Talk about an excellent location, exceptional pricing & excellence in customer service this is the place. The condo was perferct for us (2 adults). To have a full kitchen area complete with accessory was wonderful. The condo is clean and efficent. The Ilikai itself has the "Old" Hawaii feel, but is maintained well. The staff is very helpful and pleasant. The owners of the unit....THE BEST I've ever dealt with. Now if your looking for the real fancy hotels with all the glitz, then you will disagree with my rating. I, for one, would perfer to spend the day out and about and come back to a sensable, usable, CLEAN and undisturbed place. This is it. You don't have to worry about housekeeping coming in and out on a daily basis. You can stock the kitchen with as much or as little as you want. This condo was truely a great find. My only complaint is that I didn't find it six years ago when I started my visits to Hawaii. Thanks for allowing us to "hang out" in your condo & hope this unit is available for future visits.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Oh Wow, We would really want to thank this Guest for taking the time to write an absolutely Wonderful "Guest Review". It is greatly appreciated. We try hard to keep our pricing low and still offer our clients a wonderful place, next to the beach that will not put a big dent in their wallets. We are happy to hear that this client agrees with us fully.

We try hard to deliver good customer service to our clients and feel wonderful that you found us to be "the best you have ever come across". Thank you again and we look forward to having you back in Waikiki in the near future.
maureen

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Oceanfront 1 Bdrm Condo

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

A friend and I stayed in this unit for 16 nights in July. Had a great experience. Booking was easy and Maureen was very helpful. Checkin was a breeze. We loved breakfast on the balcony in the morning and sitting out at night watching the lights of the city. Condo had everything we needed for a great vacation. The ocean was just steps away. The hotel was so convenient as buses stopped out front and a huge mall is 10 minutes away and can be seen from the balcony. We loved our first experience in Hawaii. Thanks so much Maureen for letting others use your vacation home.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We would like to thank Linda for entering a review. We are very happy to hear that checking in was a breeze and the location was perfect, just a few steps away from the beach. It was our pleasure to help them plan their first Waikiki trip.
Yes, the bus stops right in front of the condo which is very convenient and as you mentioned that largest shopping center in Hawaii is only a 10 min walk. We also enjoy breakfast on the large Lanai and sit there with a glass of wine and watch the world go by.
Linda, thank you so much for this review.
maureen/fijay

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Hosts! Great Location!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

Just returned from a wonderful 10 day stay at Maureen and Fijays' condo at the Ilikai in Waikiki. Prior to my arrival, the hosts were great about providing tips for my visit along with being certain that I had everything I needed for access, emergencies, etc. So even before I arrived, I already felt welcome and comfortable. The location as mentioned in previous reviews, is outstanding. Shopping, sightseeing, beaches, parks all all right outside your door. The Hilton Hawaiian Village is right next door with great entertainment, restaurants and fireworks on Fridays. The lagoon, located right behind the Ilikai is a perfect spot for getting a little sun or for a quiet evening stroll. The condo comes fully equipped and provides a beautiful city lights view from inside the condo as well as on the spacious balcony. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are thrilled to hear that our clients had a wonderful time at our unit. Also they enjoyed the location, close to everything including the Hilton, shopping, restuarants and off course the Friday Night Fireworks.
We thank you so much for your review.
maureen

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Taras (Edmonton)

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

Thanks again for getting us into this condo for the 10 days we were there. Great location, close to everything, waikiki beach is just behind the hotel, lots of restaurants close by, 5 minute walk to Ala Moana Mall, car rental(Alamo) right across the street. The condo itself had everything we needed; nice bathroom, nice bed, great view from a huge lanai, large fridge, large big screen TV. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great Location!!

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

This condo is in a GREAT location. We were traveling with our 6 month old and it was really convenient being so close to the beach and Hilton lagoon in case we had to go back for a nap or feeding. Shopping is within walking distance as well as Ala Moana Park and beach. Can't beat the location for the price. The condo has a full kitchen which is also nice to save money on some meals. There's a great, huge flat screen and dvd player which also came in handy for the baby. Maureen is a pleasure to deal with and I recommend this property!

Thank you Maureen!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We would like to thank our guests for sending a guest review. We do agree that the location is wonderful and also the beach is just behind our building, a few steps away which makes it very convinient. We appreciate your feedback.
Thank you very much

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

good location!

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

We particularly enjoyed this condo. The central location and easy to go everywhere. There are also some good restaurants within walking distance. We have never used the AC, the breezes were enough to keep it cool. It was clean and had everything we needed Owner was very easy to deal with and quick to reply to emails and questions. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back some day. Thanks!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We would like to thank our guests from Japan for submitting this review. We are very happy to hear that your family had a wonderful time in Waikiki and in our condo. We want to thank you also for recommending our condo to your family and friends.
We look forward to your return trip to Waikiki.
Again, thank you very much, Keiko.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location in Waikiki

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2011

My wife and I spent 8 wonderful days at this Condo. The location is very near Ala Moana, and an easy walk to a ocean lagoon where my wife swam with her family as a child. The Ilikai has good food and a nice bar with live entertainment most nights right downstairs. You can also walk right next door to the Edition Hotel and Morimoto Waikiki and eat the cuisine of Iron Chef Masaharu Morimoto - truly a gourmet experience! We recommend this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We would like to thank our guest for submitting this review. Glad you both had a wonderful time. We look forward to your return visit.
thank you

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

2 weeks in sunshine-aloha

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

I enjoyed my stay in this suite -- however i found the kitchen appliances/dishes and laminate counter tops old and scratched up /unclean and outdated . Some of the pots and pans were terrible along with with dirty cutting boards.took me an hour plus to get it up to decent standard of cleanliness etc Also it is not 1 bedroomed at all .There is just 1 huge drape separating living room and sleeping area.Electronic stuff was great.We also had a problem with the phone and i am sad to say Fijay and maureen were not to helpful about this.Phone no and info displayed were all incorrect and it took some research to find out what the phone no actually was and which phone provider. I eventually called a no and asked if they had call display to find out our phone no !! A big hassle because we actually needed to be able to receive calls for messages but it took us a day or 2 to find it ??.The suite is in a very convenient location just behind the Hilton .Lots of restaurants,shops,good bus service and car rental agency in the Discovery centre opposite.Biggest mall on the island is 5 mins by bus and 20 minute walk.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Inernet & phone:
We are now providing our clients with FREE Long Distance to USA and Canada, FREE Internet & Wifi. You can also use your laptop on our patio and pool area. You NO longer have to phone the telephone company to get the telephone turned on. But we are still keeping our Special rate starting at $99.00/night

Pots & pans, dishes, cutting board, etc.
On a yearly basis, we go to our condo and replace damaged dishes, cutting boards, pots and pans, etc. We have already booked our flights this year to go and replace these items, as it's is done on a yearly basis.

One bedroom:
90% of our clientele are couples, only 2 people. We did a survey 3 years ago and asked our clientele what would they liked changed if anything in our unit. They mentioned to lower the rate and remove the wall between the bedroom and living. Since there are usually 2 people, they told us to remove it so the unit gives a more open feeling. But the odd time when there are 3 to 4 people, they can still have privacy by closing the movable divider. This works wonderful whether we have a couple or a couple with a child.

Granite Coutertops in the kitchen:
We told our clientele 3 years ago that we wanted to replace the kitchen countertop with granite but our daily rate would go up due to this expense. Their feedback was to leave the countertop the way it is since there is nothing wrong with it. But keep the special rate at $99.00/nt.

We do realize that some guests don't mind paying $350/night at the Hilton next door for a 5 star hotel room with Granite Countertops but our guests and our return clientele don't want to pay that kind of money. Our clientele want a nice, affortable condo but also one that is steps away from the World Famous Waikiki Beach and one that has a great location, close to everything, close to many restaurants and close to the Island's biggest mall, just minutes away. (walking distance) Please do not judge us by this guest comment only, please read the other guest comments as well. thank you

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

We just spent 2 glorious weeks in Hawaii and had a wonderful time. We were lucky to be able to get the condo on short notice and it was a great vacation. In all our dealings with Maureen and Fijay everything was done quickly and professionally. Every email was answered promptly even when they were in Spain and Portugal. The condo was everything we could have wanted and the kitchen was well stocked. The king bed and pull out couch were very comfortable. We bought bus passes and went everywhere by bus which stopped right outside the door. Although internet is not provided Maureen gave us the name of somebody who rents wireless service by the week and we got that and it was fine. We walked to the Ala Moana Mall often and shopped for groceries at the Walmart just 1 block from the mall and then took a cab back to the condo with our groceries. We definitely recommend this condo to anyone and even though we have never stayed at this end of Waikiki before it is now our preference and hope to return. Thanks Maureen and Fijay.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Review submitted: August 17, 2009   Date of arrival: August 17, 2009

First, the owners are great and have been very helpful from the first email we sent inquiring about this rental. Second, the price is quite affordable, especially now that we've seen the location. Third, the location is very convenient; close to the beach, close to shopping, close to quite a few well known places to eat, basically close to EVERYTHING! Fourth, the condo comes with everything you could possibly need to make your own meals, way more than just the kitchen basics (which is a total bonus for anybody who wants to save some money enjoying their own meals!).

Other great aspects:
1. The TV and sterio system
2. The Patio (morning sunshine!)
3. A/C
4. Perfect for two people!

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Review submitted: November 15, 2008   Date of arrival: November 15, 2008

First of all I would like to thank you for renting me your lovely suite in Hawaii. AT first I was kind of sad, I thought that if I was going to Hawaii on vacation I would like to have a nice "ocean view suite" but when I talked to Fijay on the phone and with all the information that Fijay gave me and his sincerity, I said to myself, just take that suite, and the owner is a Canadian like me ...:) and he sounds so nice and honest. Since I have rent another ocean view suite and all of my other friend that came along with us got a "ocean view suite" , they kind of making fun of me having a "city view suite" , but I was amazed from the minute that I opened that 1723 suite facing the city at 9 PM. The view, wowowow that view....is breathtaking!!!!
At the beginning I was telling myself that since I brought my parents along to celebrate their 40st wedding anniversary, I will give them the nicer room & view, which is the "ocean view room" but I end up getting nicer room and view. Above all is the easy access to the room. After a long flight, I don't need to wait for the property manager to come and open the door. We just go directly to the room. I really like the concept of the lock. The room was very clean and everything was there, it was very convenient I fell just like at home.
My parents and friends came up to the room and they love it. The nice view, morning and especially at night, with the nice plasma TV and with all the gadget that came along ( ipod stand, surround sound system...and easy access to the internet, my friends got so much problem getting into the internet from their room).I like the divider in the room for privacy. Since I have seen 3 other room in the Ilikai. This room is good for a couple or even better for people that tavel with kids. This is a very clean room, compare to other room in the same hotel, the other room may look nice at first , but you can find some bugs, I did not find a bug in the 1723. The location is really good. You can easily find food right there. walking distance to everywhere. The best of all is I can reach the owner anytime, Fijay is really good at returning call, and help with anything. Sometime people think that is easier to get intouch with a property manager that lives in Hawaii, which is sometime not the case. I got into bit of a problem with the ocean view suite, we came there at 9 PM with no airconditionning, I have to call the property manager that never return my call, and finally I got it fixed by 5 PM

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 25, 2008   Date of arrival: September 25, 2008

Hi Maureen,

It was truly wonderful trip to Hawaii and I found the location of your condo very very convenient. 5min to beaches and free parking lots, 10min to Ala Moana shopping center, ABC store right in front, and shuttle buses stop frequently etc... I will definately recommend my friends to stay in your condo and surely I plan to go back to Hawaii.

I had to use the service elevator to take my surfboard ups and downs but it did not bother me at all. If concierge could hold my board that would have been excellent but they did not accept..

I am very satisfied with your condo and thank you for the discount offer for the next time.

Please keep in touch

best regards
Tomohiro Nakashima
Japan

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review