reviews for: listing #46486 - Key West, Florida Condo rental

Oceanfront Condominium - Key West's Crown Jewel
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  1800 Atlantic
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,100 - $3,300 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful oceanfront condo

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this condo with our 2 young adult daughters. It was even better than we expected. The condo is beautifully furnished, very clean and in a great location.

We rented bikes (there are bike racks in the parking lot) and were able to ride all around Key West, which is very bike friendly. Smather's Beach is a 2 minute walk, or if you are a pool person there is a large swimming pool with dedicated lap lanes. There are plenty of lounge chairs in the pool area and some shaded areas if you need a break from the sun. It was also nice just to relax on the large balcony with a great ocean view.

The condo is only a 10minute car ride to the Duvall Street area and all of the restaurants/bars. We enjoyed some very good meals and heard a lot of good music while there.

We definitely want to go back to Key West and we would definitely rent this condo again. It's absolutely perfect!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Winter Break!

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

This was our first trip to Key West, and the accommodations made it just that much more enjoyable! The condo and property were first rate! All furnishings, appliances were like being at home. Spent lots of time on the deck, where we enjoyed the great views of the ocean!

Very secure location, with garage parking made it easy! The pool area was well maintained, and used it daily. Easy walk to Smather's Beach, and ten minute drive to Duvall Street.

Just need to figure out when we can go back!

Tom & Annette C.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Property and its location was better than the photos depicted on the VRBO site!

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 29, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the time spent at your property on Key West [although we spent most of the time out-of-doors enjoying the weather].

When we left our home in Minnesota en-route to the airport the ambient temperature was -28 degrees F; the wind chill was -56 degrees F. Arriving to encounter 77 - 83 degree temperatures was a wonderful start to an even more wonderful week.

Your property and its location was better than the photos depicted! The accommodations were excellent; the grounds and pool and spa very well maintained. We were pleased to see the pool water being analyzed and the deck area being sanitized each morning along with barbeque grills [all six] also being cleaned each morning.

Having a secure, covered, parking garage with a private space was also a large plus [we had a rental]. The spacious balcony/deck with comfortable up-to-date furniture, overlooking the Atlantic, was the perfect perch to have morning coffee before starting the leisure of a day in the warm Florida sunshine!

Many thanks for the chance to enjoy tropical temperatures and the charm of Old Town in a home away from home.

Michael & Vanessa

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceeded Our Expectations

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

This beautifully furnished apartment contains all the amenities you need to make it your Key West home away from home. We had some good sleep on a wonderful bed and enjoyed the beautiful view of Smathers Beach from the huge balcony. The kitchen had all the appliances and lovely dishes we needed to entertain. This complex includes a lovely pool, garage, and wifi.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

The Condo was beautiful and very much enjoyed our time in the Keys. everything was clean and well maintained. The light in the common room was on for us when we arrived which was nice. We found we were closer to the ocean than the website pictures appears which is a plus.

The security is great at in and around the Condo. We found the person in security making several rounds to make sure the grounds were safe. The parking is gated.

The interior of the Condo was exactly as pictured and was very impressive. The water pressure in the guest bath was a little low but nothing to be concerned about.

Leslie was great to work with as she stayed in touch with me throughout the rental process.

We very much enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay at this condo again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Patti & Cliff

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

We found Key West's Crown Jewel to be exactly as, if not better than, described. Everything we needed for our week's stay was there. It was beautifully decorated...with a tropical theme. The balcony overlooking the pool and ocean was a perfect retreat for morning coffee and an evening glass of wine. The location was perfect, with the beach steps away. We either drove, took a taxi, or walked to Mallory Square every day. The walk was a little over 2 miles, but enjoyable at this time of year...early November. We plan to return! A big "thank you" to the owners for thinking of every detail to make their condo the perfect home away from home!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

THE PERFECT PLACE

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

I consider myself to be a hotel/condo snob, so when I say this place was "the perfect place" you can rest assured if you stay here, you will not be disappointed. Myself and four of my girlfriends visited KW for a girls weekend and to celebrate a 60th birthday for one of the ladies. The fact it was Fantasy Fest was just a bonus for us. The pictures on line don't really do it justice, it is much better in person, especially the view. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Key West Crown Jewel

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

This proved to be wonderful, relaxing retreat for my family of 4. The condo was beautiful and the balcony was just a perfect place to relax and enjoy the sea breeze!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Beautiful!

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

The condo is absolutely beautiful and feels very much like home. Thank you for sharing your vacation home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LOVED The Condo!

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

We loved the condo! It was very nice and had just about everything! Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First Class accomodations with a spectacular view

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

The condo was amazing. The balcony alone is worth the price. Extremely clean, updated, with everything you would ever need for a comfortable stay. The owners are very professional and cordial, and kept us informed throughout the rental process. Would be nice if they converted the whole property security access from keys to swipe cards like modern hotels. This would have been easier to get around at times as there were more of us than keys to go around. But overall, a great condo in a spectacular location right next to the beach, and a short bike ride to town. Highly recommended. Our favorite restaurant was Louie's Backyard, and we loved the jet skiing and snorkeling adventures. Awesome vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Well-Equipped

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2013

We enjoyed your unit very much. It was well-equipped for our needs. Next time, it will be a full week in Key West.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Condo!

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

Beautiful Condo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise!

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

Leslie and Bruce,

Just wanted to thank you for sharing your
beautiful condo with us. It is everything it says it
is and more, we can understand when you refer to
it as paradise!

Thanks again and will be certain to return should
we visit Key West again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Condo

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

Awesome condo, from the beds to the decor. Thanks much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't Wait to Come Back Next Year

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

Great Place - Can't wait to come back next year :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful condo - Perfect! for what we needed

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

WE want to thank you Leslie and Bruce for sharing your beautiful condo with us! It was Perfect! for what we needed!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love the Location and amenties

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

Bruce and Leslie,
Thanks so much for the use of your beautiful condo! We had a fantastic week and hope to be back. Love the location and amenities. Thanks for sharing your beautiful beach home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just what we needed

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your condo with us this summer! It's just what we needed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Recommend it to all!

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2012

Thank you so much for allowing us to use your beautiful condo! We loved everything about it and would recommend it to all!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Condo

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

Beautiful condo. Owners definitely put lots of thought and heart into making it feel like home. Thank you for sharing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Condo

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

Awesome Condo - Fantastic Vacation. Thank you for sharing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Who came as 2 and left as 1" - Married on Beach

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

We enjoyed your beautiful condo and plan on coming back for many years to come. The "Crown Jewel" will always have a special place in our hearts!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Holiday

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

We spent 6 nights at Crown Jewel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The view from the balcony was amazing and the perfect place to relax and soak up the wonderful atmosphere. We had every comfort and amenity we could have hoped for .... and more!

Communication from Leslie was prompt, clear, honest and friendly, so she was a pleasure to do business with.

Great places to eat/drink. Key West is a chilled place with a relaxed atmosphere - perfect for a holiday.

We will highly recommend Crown Jewel to friends and aquaintences

We would love to go back some time, we have great memories of our stay in lovely Key West - thank you very much for a fantastic experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The View, The View, The View !!!

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

This was the most beautiful view in town !!! We were elated with the comfort of the Condo, amenities at the facility, cleanliness, courteous neighbors, and easy of travel into town. We will most definitely use this Condo again and again. We will also recommend this property to freinds and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Property In Key West!

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

A wonderful property in Key West! The condo was spotless and very comfortable. We especially enjoyed the large balcony, well-stocked kitchen and island decor. The pool was spacious, well-maintained and in a beautiful setting. We enjoyed being away from the craziness of Duval St, but still within a close drive of everything we wanted to do. Truly felt like a home-away-from-home, and we'd absolutely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Condo Was Everything We Had Hoped For!

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

We visited Key West with our 2 daughters aged 21 and 23 from 5/16/12 to 5/23/12. Condo was everything we had hoped for. It is extremely well equipped and the decor is very tasteful. Being on the fourth floor the views of the beach and pool are awesome. We walked into Duval Street most nights and sampled some of the countless restaurants and bars. We parasailed and did the jet ski tour of the Island with Fury, whose staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely choose Crown Jewel again if we return to Key West.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lots of Nice Touches

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

We stayed at the condo over the holidays and had a great time. Condo is large and nicely decorated. Lots of nice touches. Even added a pillow top to the pull out sofa! Had a great time on a jet ski tour around the island with Barefoot Billy's. Condo had nice patio with great views. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Real Crown Jewel

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

We had an awesome time. Your condo exceeded our expectations, and we would love to stay there again if we return to Key West. Your condo is for sure a Crown Jewel.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Condo

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

Condo was fantastic - plenty of space for everyone, absolutely spotless and so well stocked. Great pool! Enjoyed the large balcony. Thanks for sharing your lovely condo - we had a great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Well-Appointed

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Wish we could've stayed here longer. This has the most well-appointed kitchen we've had in a vacation rental. Love the balcony and ocean view.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of the Best Rentals we've ever enjoyed

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

To the owners - We felt like we were home!It was so homey - one of the best rentals we've ever enjoyed. We will Definitely Be Back Next Year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderfully Decorated

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

Your condo is wonderfully decorated. We really enjoyed our short stay. And we will definitely consider your unit for our next visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas Present

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

The condo was well situated close to the beach and water. The 4th floor provided an excellent view. The condo was appointed comfortably and very up-to-date. It felt like home. Combined with the Christmas season, this made for a wonderful getaway. We'd like to do it more often.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Heaven

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

Loved the hours on your porch - Heaven - But three days is just a tropical tease. We will come back for more!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

I recently stayed with another couple at the Crown Jewel for a perfect Key West vacation. The condo has everything you would ever want. It is absolutely beautiful with a breathtaking view of the water. The amenities are top notch. We enjoyed eating breakfast every morning on the balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. We loved the book put together with food recommendations for the island. We hope to return to Key West and would love to stay and Bruce and Leslie's condo once again. Thanks for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven!

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 26, 2012

I can't say enough great things about this condo. I have rented a few places over the years and nothing is more disappointing then when you find the pictures weren't accurate. This condo will exceed your expectations! The location is perfect with a great view of the pool and ocean! The interior is flawless and the beds are the most comfortable I have ever stayed at. I can not think of one thing I would change. Thank you Leslie for your hospitality and your suggestions for local attractions. My boyfriend Kenny was right ... Blue Heaven was great!! LOL Thanks again and look forward to returning!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

1800 Atlantic Oceanfront Cono

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

I would highly recommend this unit for anyone visiting Key West! The furnishing were beautiful and everything was very comfortable. The master bath was great. Both bedrooms had balcony access and water front views. The one and only downfall to the unit was the low water pressure in the main bathroom shower. This condo is a great find!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEAUTIFUL VIEW AND LOVELY CONDO UNIT

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

Enjoyed our condo in Key West. Everything we needed was already there. The furnishings were very comfortable, and the view was as good as it gets! We were right next to the beach and away from the noise and frantic activity of Duval St, yet only a five minute drive or half hour walk to Duval restaurants and shopping. Only difficulty was getting our keys to the unit, as we arrived after 5 PM. Once that was resolved, we had a lovely week!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: The check in procedure for an arrival after 5PM is to
call the security office from the phone on the wall outside
of the common area. They then come to the door to let you
inside the common area and check you in.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Fab!

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

We had a great time in Key West! The Crown Jewel was as beautiful as we had anticiapted and the views from the condo were probably even more spectacular than we imagined. The condo was spotless and beautifully maintained. I would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A true crown jewel

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 28, 2011

We have had a wonderful time staying at the Key West Crown Jewel. The amenities and personal touches truly makes this condo a five star property. We enjoyed the pool, Smather's beach (just outside the condo), cooking in a well equipped kitchen, and the close, yet far enough away, proximity to the old town. The condo is exquisitely decorated and well equipped for any family. We are refreshed and ready to hit the ground running at work. We would recommend this condo to anyone. Thanks for the great opportunity!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

Thank you for letting us stay at your beautiful condo. We had a great time and enjoyed our stay very much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Beautiful view! Enjoyed all of the beautiful touches in the condo (so well decorated).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We love this vacation home. Comfortable and welcoming. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Key West Adventure--

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Our hats are off to this beautiful home with the greatest ammenities and wow- the views are better than the photos representing them. We'll even give credit that the weather was ordered for us. A true adventure and evryone embraced our little family to make us feel right at home on the island. The food outstanding--Duval Street a carnival with a history lesson arounfd every corner. The chickens and wildlife are just an added perk to island life. The sunset sail with Danger Adventures is a must and hit the reef to snorkle--Danger will provide a intimate time for you and your family. Plan a little as you will need transportaion, you are a couple miles from groceries and most of the resturants. Sather's Beach is at your doorstep and water adventures with Sunset Watersports along with a great pool right under your balcony. Fun in the sun :). Praise the Lord!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Keys 2011

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

My husband and I made our yearly trip to Key West at the beginning of June. This was the first time we had the opportunity to stay in at Key West Crown Jewel, but the condo was absolutely beautiful and certainly exceeded our expectations. Clearly this condo was well thought out and planned to not only provide home away from home comforts, but a gorgeous ocean view. The unit was clean and well taken care of and we really enjoyed our stay there. I have stayed in many other units at 1800 Atlantic over the past several years and this one tops the list. The owners are friendly and helpful and the condo was comfortable, functional and beautiful. I will certainly be returning in the future. Thank you for the great memories.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Condo for a Girlfriend Trip

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

We six ladies celebrated our 10th Girlfriend Trip at this lovely condo. Very spacious, beautifully decorated and clean, it lacks for nothing and was perfect for us. The terrace is huge, and we spent much of our time sitting outside admiring the beautiful view of ocean and beach. In fact, we were torn between just hanging out at the condo or hanging out on Duval Street! The temperature of the pool was refreshing for cooling us down after a busy day in Key West. Location is excellent. Key West is great for a girlfriends' trip - we enjoyed para sailing, taking a sunset cruise, watching the sun set at Mallory Square, eating tasty seafood at the marina, learning a little history at the Truman White House, shopping, taking in some night life and touring Hemingway's home where the the six toed cats reside. There's plenty to do here, and staying at this oceanfront condo made our trip even more enjoyable. It was a pleasure doing business with Leslie and Bruce. It doesn't get any better than this! PS Scott was not on the girlfriend trip - only Jackie. He couldn't join because he's a guy!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

Favorite moments/special highlights: Morning coffee on the patio; evening wine on the patio. Walks along the beach.
This is our second time here at Crown Jewel. We love staying here, it is comfortable and well decorated. The view is spectacular. As last time, I don't want to leave to go back to the cold. I'm hoping by now the snow has melted at home! Thank you once again for sharing your 2nd home. We had a great 10 days! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Thanks for sharing your home. We really loved our time here. Hope to come back some day! You have a beautiful place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

We have stayed here at 1800 for 14 years! One of the best places yet! We will be back! Always stayed on the other side - So love the afternoon sun! Thanks for making this a luxury place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

Thank you for sharing your home with us. It is lovely!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

Definitely the nicest place we have EVER rented. Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home. We just wished we could have stayed longer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

crown jewel

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Great view, condo kitchen is well appointed. Too many plastic flowers and personal items for a rental condo. This condo has many extra charges that are not charged by other condo owners. Would suggest All Key Rental properties for better rates. They do not charge cleaning fees or a deposit nor do they require a 50% deposit at time of booking.

Owners response: Despite the 4 out of 5 star rating, as this is our first non-glowing review in the entire 6 years of renting our condo, we will address this guest's comments:
This couple has rented our condo directly from us 3 times. First in 2007, then again in 2010 and again in 2011. The last two times they have stayed for a month at a time. Our extra fees - all actual expenses to us - include a cleaning fee, condo association mandated fee and a key fee that is charged to us by our rental management company for handling the check in/check out of each guest, are clearly outlined on our VRBO listing, and have not changed since we first began renting our condo in 2005. We do require a fully refundable security deposit, but refund it within a period of 2 weeks provided there is no damage. In the entire 6 years of renting the condo, not even one time have any monies been deducted from a guest's security deposit for damages. There are other rental condos at our condo complex by both private owners and other rental management companies. We have been told numerous times by some of these same owners AND rental management companies that ours is overall the nicest condo in the complex that is on the rental market. Our rates are competitive with comparable properties in the complex. The condo that is next to ours, but is further away from the oceanview, is rented by the rental management company that this guest specifically references in this review - the advertised nightly/weekly rate for that condo is higher than our nightly/weekly rates.
Our decorations (including the silk plants and photographs) have not changed significantly since we first began renting the condo 6 years ago, and are as pictured on the VRBO website. We have updated with new furniture, linens and bedding during this time frame, but again, are as pictured on the VRBO website.
This same guest posted this positive review after their stay in 2007 (this review is posted in this list of 106 reviews below)
Guest: Donna and Robert
Date of Stay: April 6, 2007 Review Submitted: April 6, 2007
We have stayed at many condos in the 1800 Atlantic complex and this is, by far, the best. We appreciated the owners attention to detail. We always enjoy our trips to Key West, but this stay was particularly enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Spring Break

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

My husband and I and another couple spent a week at the Key West Crown Jewel and had the most relaxing time imaginable. We were able to see and enjoy Key West and then retreat to this beautiful space. It was very difficult to leave.

We all agreed that we want to return in the near future.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This guest also entered in the condo guestbook: "After several trips to Keys we have finally sound the perfect place and we will be back - soon we hope!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 30, 2010

Loved your home; we felt very relaxed and are thankful you have graciously allowed us to stay here awhile!
Key West is our favorite place! Hopefully we'll be writing in this (guestbook) again next year. It's so hard to leave :(

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

Thank you for the wonderful stay! We hope to come back very soon! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Beautiful Place To Stay

Review submitted: September 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Redler's condo for a week in August along with our 4 children and we were very pleased! The condo was gorgeous and very well equipped. I was impressed with how beautifully decorated it was. It looks like it was professionally done, If not Leslie and Bruce should go into the interior design business!! I am also a stickler for cleanliness. In fact, I hate to admit it, but I always bring along my own cleaning products just in case, but the place was spotles !! The balcony is huge and the view over the Atlantic is beautiful. You will not be dissapointed !!!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home away from home! Your decor is beautiful and we so appreciate you sharing. Such a warm and inviting condo. Thanks again for making my mom's and our stay so wonderful!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2010

This was our second stay at the condo, and it was just as great as it was the first time. We love the location, the view from the balcony, and the pool. The condo is very nice and offers every convenience one could ask for. When we return we hope to stay here again!

-Dave and Penny Sokol, Rochester, MI

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

This was our firt visit to Key West and we couldn't have been more pleased with the condo and it's location. It was beautiful inside and out. It was equiped with everything you could possibly need and then some. It was nice to see the security personnel walking around throughout the day and evening. The view from the condo was beautiful, being able to see the ocean and the pool at the same time was great. Watching the stars at night on the patio was awesome. A short ride to Duval Street and Mallory Square was great. I would recommend taking the Conch Train Ride first, you have the opportunity to hear and see the sites before you choose what to do first. "Bruce & Leslie, thank you for sharing your home away from home"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

BEAUTIFUL Condo

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

Our family traveled to Key West for the 4th of July week. We have 2 young daughters ages 8 and 7. The condo was wonderful!
It is very clean :), everything you need is there, the master shower is A+, and the beds/sheets are so comfortable. Many times we have rented a condo, and didn't sleep well due to older bedding.

We loved the pool area.... it also was well maintained, quiet, and huge! We were close enough to walk to the beach and enjoy it for a few hours. We used the grill and patio area at the condo one night also, and it too meet every need for the evening.

The owners were very helpful in answering questions before out trip about the condo and the Key West area.

Every detail of the condo was perfect! Thanks for letting us rent and we will be renting again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic Condo in a dream location

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

We would certainly reccomend this fantastic condo to everyone, we had a fantastic vacation, it has everything you could possibly want, well appointed, amazing views from the huge balcony, ideal location, close to the beach, the pool and garden area is well cared for, this is by far the best place we have stayed in, we hope to return in the near future.

Thank you Bruce & Leslie for sharing your home with us, we have lovely memories to treasure from this vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2009

Great condo, great view, great TV, great everything. I've been coming to KW since 1976.
Always wanted to stay at 1800 Atlantic. Not only was your place terrific, but other owners treated my grandkids like welcome guests, not intruders.
Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

This condo was the 2nd one we stayed at in 1800 Atlantic and was far nicer than the first. There was plenty of room for the 4 of us. The beds were very comfortable, and the views spectacular!
We loved it so much we are booking it for next year even longer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2009

Great Condo and location! My husband and I and our 13 year old daughter stayed here July 16-19 2009. It was very relaxing, like being at home everything is beautifully decorated and very comfortable, including the beds, everything you need. The views are great and there is alot to do down town but is was nice to stay on the quieter side. We would definitely recommend this condo, I'm sure that it's the nicest one at this complex.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

The rooms are very nice. Also the kitchen is nicely decorated. Your condo is beautiful and we hope to come back again someday. The view is awesome and the location can't be beat. We've made so many memories during this week and I'm sure we'll be talking about this vacation for a long time. Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

My family and I very much enjoyed our stay at your beautiful condo. The view was gorgeous and the condo was sweet and comfy. We loved the pool and the street Duval. Thanks for letting us have an unforgettable vacation in your wonderful condo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

This was our third trip to Key West and second stay in this condo.
As always, this condo is the greatest! Very cool, "Key West" decor - I took pictures of the pictures! We took advantage of the pool and other amenities. Thanks for sharing such a lovely condo in such a great locale!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 23, 2010

Bruce and Leslie -
Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely home -
It is so comfortable and beautiful. Hate to leave tomorrow -
Wonderful place and thanks for sharing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

This condo is amazing. We have stayed in many places and this is the most appointed. The decor is great. Loved the beds, master shower! The kitchen has everything you need and some things you didn't know you needed! Love the size of the porch, the glider on the porch. What an absolutely wonderful place to stay. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

Condo is gorgeous! Food is great! Weather is perfect! People are crazy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 26, 2010   Date of arrival: April 26, 2010

This condo was the 2nd one we stayed at in 1800 Atlantic and was far nicer than the first. There was plenty of room for the 4 of us. The beds were very comfortable, and the views spectacular!We loved it so much we are booking it for next year even longer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 10, 2009   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

Great Condo and location! My husband and I and our 13 year old daughter stayed here July 16-19 2009. It was very relaxing, like being at home everything is beautifully decorated and very comfortable, including the beds, everything you need. The views are great and there is alot to do down town but is was nice to stay on the quieter side. We would definitely recommend this condo, I'm sure that it's the nicest one at this complex.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 18, 2009   Date of arrival: June 18, 2009

It is a beautiful condo. Beautifully decorated and well taken care of. We were traveling in a big Excursion, not good for parking at Key West. We rented a four-seater electric car and had a fantastic time riding around the island. We have traveled many places, and we would definitely go back to your beautiful condo.
Some suggestions: There are a lot of extra charges that seem to be a little unreasonable. Maybe you could add some of those charges included in the nightly rate. It seems like a better way to "turn people on."
Please check the microwave(which locks up and beeps often.) Also the sliding glass door from the living room needs some lubricant.
We had a great time! We would recommend your "paradise" to anyone.

Owners response: The "extra charges" (cleaning fee, condo association fee, and rental management company key fees) are all real and actual expenses and are as advertised on the website. Unfortunately, all are unavoidable fees. The microwave was defective and has been replaced.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 29, 2009   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

My husband and I, along with good friends, stayed in the Redler's condo for Spring Break (April, 2009). It was by far one of the most relaxing spring break vacations we have taken. We enjoyed all the great sightseeing Key West has to offer but we also liked just hanging out at the condo and pool. We liked the fact that the condo was not right down in the middle of all the activity of "downtown". I sat for hours on the deck looking at the wonderful ocean view, just soaking in the perfect Key West weather. The condo was fabulous -- we cooked several meals and had everything we needed. I would highly recommend a stay here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 19, 2009   Date of arrival: May 19, 2009

Our group of 4 stayed here May 12-16, 2009. The condo is beautifully decorated and appointed! It was like staying in a model home! It is on the top floor and both bedrooms and the living room have gorgeous views of the ocean. The patio had lots of seating and it was so pleasant to sit and look out at the ocean. The pool area is immaculate & the pool is Olympic size and very nice. Smathers Beach is just next door and only takes 5 minutes to walk there from the condo. There aren't many beach areas in Key West so it was nice to be so close to one. I would definitely recommend the Crown Jewel and we would stay here again! The only drawback is that you have to drive to go Duval area but if you are staying for several days I would recommend renting a scooter or bike! Key West is small and parking is hard to come by w/o paying so renting a scooter or bike would be very convenient and it's easy to get around. We rented bikes from A&M Rental and they will come and pick you up and then take you back after rental. Reasonable prices too. Have fun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2009   Date of arrival: April 27, 2009

Again! See you next year!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 4, 2009   Date of arrival: April 4, 2009

This condo is magnificent. My aunt, uncle and cousins were in a different
condo, but this one is much nicer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: March 28, 2009

We were very pleased with the condo and your excellent taste in decor and
decorating. We thoroughly enjoyed the fabulous view and spent time almost
every night sitting on the balcony enjoying a gentle breeze and watching the
stars. It was very relaxing. We hope we can do this again sometime soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 7, 2009   Date of arrival: March 7, 2009

Just wanted to comment on our stay at your Crown Jewel condo this past weekend(2/26-3/2). We were all just shocked when we opened the door…it is such a beautiful place! You’ve got excellent taste in decorating and the personal pictures of you and your family and friends give it such a homey touch! We could not get over the art work, or the comfy beds or, of course, the huge walk-in shower! Aside from the view inside, the view outside was just as surprising and wonderful! We loved watching the parasailing and fishing boats come and go from the balcony. It’s also a direct view to the pool, which always had plenty of room for everyone down there…it was never too crowded. This was my husband and my 3rd trip back to Key West. The past 2 times we have stayed at Ocean Key Resort on Duval, so this was our first experience on the Atlantic side…the quieter side and we absolutely loved it…we now “prefer” it!! Thanks again for sharing your condo with us! Not one of us have stopped talking about our perfect vacation to Key West!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 7, 2009   Date of arrival: March 7, 2009

We have been going to Key West in February for 8 years now. This is by far the best condo we have stayed at. Everything we needed was there, which is very important when flying now days! Friendly staff and neighbors. We will definitely stay again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 23, 2009   Date of arrival: February 23, 2009

I had the opportunity to stay at the Crown Jewel the first week of February and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The condo was beautifully furnished and had wonderful water views. We enjoyed spending time on the veranda, on the deck of the pool and walking to Smathers beach. It was hard for us to leave and go back to work, we definitely plan on returning again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 14, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

The condo was wonderful/clean/beautiful with a wonderful view. We couldn't
have stayed at a nicer place. We had all the amenities and comforts of home.
Thanks for a great place to stay. Hope we make it back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 29, 2008   Date of arrival: December 29, 2008

Great Condo! This was our second stay with you. Brought along our parents and they loved it too. Especially liked the master bath and kitchen. The view from the balcony was great! Will definitely come again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 21, 2008   Date of arrival: December 21, 2008

the condo was beautiful and had all the amenities to make the stay pleasurable in every way...the view was incredible and we couldn't have asked for more.. feel free to call with questions..jan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 2, 2008   Date of arrival: December 2, 2008

Comfortable beds, great view, wonderful location!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 24, 2008   Date of arrival: November 24, 2008

The condo was great and the ocean view from the veranda was even better.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 10, 2008   Date of arrival: November 10, 2008

We celebrated our 40th anniversary in this fabulous condo! The ocean view from the veranda allowed us to see herons, ospreys and pelicans! The condo is beautifully furnished, and we enjoyed a couple of nights cooking dinner(try king crab legs from Windixie!) We loved looking at all the colorful paintings and family pictures. Each evening we enjoyed sitting on the chairs on the veranda and watching the lightning! This is truly a unique and special condo! Don't miss the garden in the courtyard. The variety of plants and flowers is amazing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 9, 2008

Amazing condo! It definitely felt like a home away from home. It had everything
we would ever need. Great pictures/paintings.
Thanks for sharing your home with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 12, 2008   Date of arrival: July 12, 2008

We were here for 3 weeks and there are so many things to talk about. The condo
is fabulous. It has everything you could want in it and served us well as our
temporary home away from home. We loved every minute of our time here!
Thank you so much for sharing it with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 16, 2008   Date of arrival: June 16, 2008

BEST-
This condo - great quiet location, wonderful view, nicely decorated

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 30, 2008   Date of arrival: May 30, 2008

We had a fabulous time in the Crown Jewell.This condo is amazing!. We couldn't stop looking at all the very special touches.The quality and detail put into this condo is first class and we loved it! It was a little challenging getting into the building and walking the halls( tropical murals are needed on those walls!) I was a bit nervous until I opened the door.........WOW. I was the first one to arrive and frantically figured out how to get the tropical music(great CD collection) on the stereo for the others.............it was perfect. Our favorite memory are the evenings on the expansive veranda overlooking the ocean.
We chartered a boat, "No Worries"...Paula skipper. We snorkeled out on a reef and learned alot about Key west We had a great time. Our husbands went on a tarpon fishing guided trip and had an amazing experience.(I have great photos of the fish)
The pool is very impressive and felt so good after a hot day.

We thought we would be spending lots of evenings downtown, but the best place was dinners and drinks on the veranda at the Crown Jewell!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 28, 2008   Date of arrival: May 28, 2008

This property exceeded our expectations. We loved it and will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 28, 2008   Date of arrival: April 28, 2008

We just returned from ten days in Key West in your terrific condo! We LOVED your condo -definitely KW style. So comfortable and everything we could possibly think of was available. Loved sitting on the terrace in the morning with coffee... perhaps my new favorite place in Key West. We look forward to next year in Key West! Thanks for making your beautiful space available! We look forward to returning!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 22, 2008   Date of arrival: April 22, 2008

The grandparents from South Africa were awestruck. This is certainly one of the best condo's we have ever stayed in and the owners are very organized when it comes to communication - there were no surprises. Wonderful views, great location, excellent amenities and very well equipped condo where everything works.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 14, 2008   Date of arrival: April 14, 2008

Great unit, well decorated, well equipted. Bike rentals a must

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 10, 2008   Date of arrival: April 10, 2008

What a gorgeous place to spend a vacation! Wonderful amenities! And the view is magnificent - Perfect for morning coffee and afternoon wine and cheese! The master shower is a vacation in itself. We will stay here the next time we visit Key West!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 15, 2008   Date of arrival: March 15, 2008

What a beautiful condo! It was comfortable and so well maintained. We had no worries and were able to relax and enjoy this fun town. We'll be back again! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 3, 2008   Date of arrival: March 3, 2008

We have had great luck with Vacation Rentals by Owner but this condo exceeded our expectations. It was beautifully decorated, fully stocked, extremely comfortable and located in a great area of Key West. We were away from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street where we could enjoy the view of the ocean and swim in a great swimming pool for relaxation. Renting bicycles also added to our fun.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 26, 2008   Date of arrival: February 26, 2008

Unbelievable! We stayed at "The Crown Jewel" Feb. 16th - 19th and could not have found better accomodations in Key West. The place is beautifully decorated, the balcony is awesome and the pool was top notch. Grilling poolside was also fun.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review