reviews for: listing #46545 - Whiteface Mountain, New York House rental

Windsong Cabin - A Secret Hideaway in the High Peaks
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $220 - $311 /nt
    $1,162 - $1,645 /wk
    $2,464 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Great Location! Great Vacation!

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Windsong Cabin for almost two weeks and there are not enough good things that I can say about the experience. We were in the area for Ironman Lake Placid and I could not have asked for a more comfortable and restful location. We were close to town and area attractions but far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet.

The cabin was clean and the kitchen well stocked with utensils, pots, pans, dishes, etc. (In the past we have stayed in other cabins and had to go out and purchase proper cooking supplies.) The bedrooms were clean, comfortable and cozy.

Both my wife and I would highly recommend the Windsong Cabin to future Ironman competitors or anyone who is just looking to get away.

Owners response: Bill and his wife arrived with 2 well behaved dogs looking for that perfect Secret Hideaway for their vacation here in the Heart of the High Peaks and to compete in Lake Placid IronMan 2012. They enjoyed their stay at our "Just For Two" special rates.

Experience Windsong Cabin for yourself; visit our website for more details on that special "Just For Two" vacation of your own during any one of the 4 great seasons in the Adirondacks Mountains of Upstate New York.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect vacation cabin

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

Bunch of us stayed at the cabin and went ice climbing and snowboarding. It was just minutes away from everything we wanted to do. Cabin is decorated tastefully with all the comforts of home. We all enjoyed our stay at the cabin and highly recommend to anyone that's planning a visit to the area. We are looking forward to coming back to the cabin next ski season.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Windsong Cabin ski vacation

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed at windsong cabin for a ski vacation at Whiteface mtn. We found the cabin to be very comfortable and cozy, less than 10 min to mountain, and only 15min to Lake Placid. The cabin was very clean and well stocked with towels. The kitchen was well appointed with updated appliances with plenty of dishes, etc. We would highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: At Windsong Cabin, we believe that your vacation rental should be a cosy, comfortable home-away-from-home. That is why we strive to provide a first-class ambience during your time here in the Adirondacks. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return in the not too distant future.
Joe Kostoss

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time in the Adirondacks

Review submitted: November 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

The Windsong Cabin is gorgeous. It is very well maintained and just beautiful on the inside, it really gives you the cabin feel but has everything that you would ever need. The pictures on the website really don't do it justice. It has a great feel with the fireplace and the open living room kitchen area, and it's very comfortable. Not to mention the owners will do anything that they can for you to make your stay better. The location is great to you are only about a 15 to 20 min drive away from everything. We had a great time and would do it again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: At Windsong Cabin, we pride ourselves in providing a comfortable, relaxing, first-class ambience during your stay in the Adirondack High Peaks. We are so please to have succeeded in making your weekend with us a memorable one. Please do come back; we would love to see you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: January 28, 2010

We all had a holiday of a lifetime, great location, great local people. We really enjoyed Wilmington, neighbouring towns particularly Lake Placid. We got change to ski at the beautiful resort of Whiteface Mountain. The facilities in the cabin were superb, the little touches like the Christmas tree made it all the more cosy. We intend to return for another vacation Christmas and New Year 2011.
All the very best to you all for the coming year
Best wishes
Alison and Adrian

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 15, 2009   Date of arrival: November 15, 2009

The following comment is from our in-house Guest Book:

Purpose of trip: To celebrate our 3 year wedding anniversary & relax.

What we did: Walked through the town of Lake Placid. Bought lots of stuff and took many pictures. Visited the awesome Olympic Ski Jump and took the elevator to the top, tried to go to the top of Whiteface (closed), tried to visit Santa's Workshop (closed).

Places recommended: Olympic Ski Jump site, Jimmy's (great view), Grill 211, Candyman Chocolates, Price Chopper for big shopping, the Little Grocery Store for basics.

Favorite moments: Relaxing by the log fire, conquering the wrought iron puzzle game! Playing games, reading by the fire, sleeping in the bunk beds!!

Notes: Best equipped cabin we've ever stayed in (and that's a lot). Soooo incredibly comfy & cozy - the pictures just don't do it justice! You thought of every detail! (Might be a good idea to mention Wi-Fi as an amenity).
Thanks for a wonderful getaway! We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 24, 2009   Date of arrival: October 24, 2009

Joe, Chris, Donna and everyone: I had a wonderful time at Windsong this October. The cabin was very comfortable and convenient to hiking, sightseeing and Lake Placid. I hope to visit again.

Best regards,
Paul Wickline

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 6, 2009   Date of arrival: October 6, 2009

We stayed the last weekend of September 2009.
Beautiful setting, and the cabin is immaculate--not
a speck of dust anywhere!-- with a very well-
equipped kitchen and cozy fireplace. The entire
rental process was smooth and handled in a very
professional manner. Joe and staff do a wonderful
job of making you feel welcome!

Owners response: The following is an e-mail that I received from this guest who wishes to remain anonymous:
Hi Joe - Just wanted to tell you what a wonderful time we had at your cabin. The setting was, of course, gorgeous. And the cabin is immaculate. Kudos to you and your family for keeping it in such beautiful condition. It was spotless--and I'm very picky! Donna does a wonderful job.
We also loved that the kitchen was well-equipped ... and not with junky mismatched flatware, plates and pots as you find in so many rentals. Thanks for making it such a pleasant experience. We will be back!

Note from Joe: We all take pride in keeping Windsong Cabin as clean and comfortable as possible for our guests. But Donna is a tough taskmaster when it comes to cleanliness! Dust and dirt won't even think about coming into Windsong Cabin when she is around. Yes, we would certainly love to see you back again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Windsong Cabin during Labor Day Weekend. The cabin is well cared for and a great place to go to relax. Would definitely come back again! ...maybe in the winter time for skiing at Whiteface :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

The following comments are from the in-house guest book:
Purpose of trip: Vacation/watch wildlife
Weather: Fine, mostly sunny. One wet morning. Saturday wet but cooler.
What we did: Walk, explore, read
People we met: Friendly folk on trails
Places recommended: Little Supermarket, fine for basics. Owens Pond, Beaver Pond nearby, Woodland lovely - Kingfisher. Coopers Pond - Osprey. Whiteface Mountain well worth a visit. AuSable Chasm impressive.
Favorite moments: Osprey at Coopers Pond. Northern Harrier in Marshland. Many frogs. Great Northern Diver. Mirror Lake and Placid. Deer seen by road side. Flume walk - beaver dam - beaver seen in evening.
Notes: Wildlife: Large deer seen out back on day one from the deck. Flycatcher in apple tree (Eastern Phoebe). Blue jays and woodpecker. Ruby-throated hummingbird. Great blue heron fly over. Sparrow. In evening 2 sizes of bats from about 8 pm. Raven often calling in the morning. Saw Northern Flicker, red squirrel in pine tree by Windsong road sign.
Really enjoyed the break and stay here. Best wishes to all.
Pat & A. Bellamy (from England) & Nora Comiskey

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 23, 2009   Date of arrival: August 23, 2009

The following Comments are from the in-house guest book:
Purpose of trip: R-E-L-A-X !
The weather: Very hot 1st part of week - 90, unusual up here! 2nd half - warm, off & on rain.
We divided our swimming between Mirror Lake public beach (clean and never too crowded), and the AuSable River, Thursday night free outdoor music to enjoy while kids swim - lifeguard on duty till 8:00 pm (colder, but very refreshing & fun). Our kids (9 & 7) loved it and had to be pulled away to go into town. They loved High Falls Gorge and the Gondola ride to the top of Little Whiteface.
People we met: Nice proprietor of Adirondack Yarns.
Places recommended: Mirror Lake beach, AuSable River Beach, High Falls Gorge, Gondola ride - fun & great view from top, Knitters, visit Adirondack Yarns.
We loved the quiet & privacy here at Windsong Cabin. Lovely cabin - clearly you've put a lot of thought into appointing the place (wow - matching dishes - in a rental cabin!) We'd love to return - maybe in the winter!
Bob, Ellen, Daniel & Jane

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 13, 2009   Date of arrival: August 13, 2009

The following comments are from the in-house guest book:
The weather was warm & humid - 80's but sunny - clouds at times.
We climbed Marble Mountain and Catamont (very steep). We golfed at AuSable Golf Club and Saranac Lake Golf Club (great courses)
We met people along the trail & the owner of Pizzaria in Town.
Places we recommend: Wilderness Inn, Lake Everest Pizza, MacDougal's, Tail o' the Pup.
Favorite moments: When our son and his wife came over (they were staying in Gabriels) for a cookout. Climbing Marble Mountain.
Thanks to the Kostoss family for another great vacation at Windsong. This is our second year here and we want to come up for a long weekend either late Fall or late Spring. The cabin was clean and comfortable as always.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2009   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

The following comments are from the in-house guest book:
Guests: Jorge & Raquel Madan, Bryan Madan, Rita Madan & Eric Daluz Sousa visiting from Westchester, NY
Purpose of trip: To relax and enjoy each other and the beautiful nature
How traveled: By car.
Weather: Sunny, cloudy, some rain, never humid! Yeah!
What we did: Swimming, Kayaking, Scenic Gondola, To Vermont - visited Lake Champlain Chocolate Factory - mmm! Horseback riding, wine tasting - superb. Lots of shopping on Main Street. Most of all - what we did was smile and laugh.
People we met: Lovely people in town, everywhere
Places recommended: Creperie - great sandwiches. Pizza shop in town. Whiteface Mountain, Mirror Lake, Lake Champlain and Lake Placid and all the amazing mountains.
Favorite moments: Enjoying each other in this most beautiful home - watching scary movies, boo! Homemade breakfasts & dinners. Again, we conversed & laughed at the kitchen table often.
Notes: Dear Holly & Chris: All of us would like you to know that we are very thankful for allowing us to enjoy your home. We enjoyed the privacy and the land you offered. By the way, we all slept like babies. The decor of the house is lovely. We thank you again and hope to return if we are welcomed again. The memories will be with each one of us always. Enjoy the rest of the summer!
P.S. - We really would like to visit some winter. - Farewell!
Note from Joe: Jorge and Raquel, you are most welcome to visit with us again. We would love to see you back in the winter.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 27, 2009   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

The following comments are from the in-house guest book:Guests: Gina & Sean Mee + 2 kids & Milly and Adolph Velee visiting from Cleveland, OH and Galveston, TXPurpose of trip: Sean competed in his first IronManWhat we did: Watched IronMan, Went fishing, Grilled out, Visited the GorgePlaces recommended: The Hungry Trout RestaurantFavorite moments: Sean completing the Iron man and hearing his name being announced.Notes: We found a snake in the yard. Note from Joe. The snake would be Willy or one of his relatives. They are common garter snakes and they do enjoy the warm sun in the summer.The following is from an e-mail from Sean:We all enjoyed the stay at Windsong Cabin. It had everything that we could have possibly needed. The kids really enjoyed the bunk beds and had a blast sleeping on the top bunk. The IronMan was a success….in that I finished, which was my goal from the start. I came in at 13:45:00 and was pleased with my performance. I knew that it was hilly there, but I didn’t realize that it was THAT hilly. Living in Cleveland, I am not use to all the rolling hills. As for the future, I do plan to compete in another IronMan, but it might not be for a few years. Thanks again for your hospitality and we will definitely keep Windsong Cabin in mind if we make it out there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 20, 2009   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

The following comments are from the in-house guest book:
Guest: Ofer & Naomi Efrati and our three children
Purpose of trip: Part of a family trip in Canada and the U.S.
How traveled: By car
Weather: A little cloudy, few showers, but all-in-all nice weather.
What we did: Visited Lake Placid, AuSable Chasm, Whiteface Mountain. Enjoyed the Mountains, forests and all this water - a rare thing for us! - Played games in the evenings.
People we met: Chris
Places we would recommend: We loved everything - AuSable Chasm was great and the kids liked the "gem mining".
Favorite moments: The fox we saw crossing the road
Notes: The cabin is very clean and comfortable. Chris was extremely helpful with all our trials and tribulations. Thanks a lot, we had a wonderful time and we hope we'll be back some day!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 14, 2009   Date of arrival: July 14, 2009

Purpose of trip: Hiking & relaxation
Weather: Partly sunny, cloudy, rainy
What we did: Lots of hiking, including up Algonquin, Wright, the Crows, Whiteface
People we met: Other hikers
Places I would recommend: Aki Japanese Restaurant in Lake Placid. Algonquin for the wonderful views and great exercise.
Favorite moments: Just the surrounding in general and trading our outdoor BBQ for dinner in front of the fireplace.
Notes: The cabin was very clean and definitely way nicer than we expected from a cabin in the woods. Love that it mixes rustic with modern! Also loved the book collection.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

This is such a wonderful cabin. It is the cleanest rental that we have ever come across. It feels like home and the proximity to Whiteface skiing is great! The rental process is great and everyone is so nice. Anytime we visit the High Peaks region, this is where we love to stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 22, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We were in between seasons but had a wonderful time. The cabin has everything you would need to make your stay. A lot of attention to detail and VERY clean. It was great to get away.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 9, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Our second stay at Windsong was just as enjoyable as our first. We love this cabin and how comfortably and stylishly it is decorated; we love the setting, the deck, and the wild forest all around; and we love the easy drive to Whiteface's great skiing and the town of Lake Placid.
Our boys were so happy to be back here and to rediscover all the games that you keep stocked in the cabin (it really felt like a home away from home for us all), and we swear that Tilly (our black lab) could remember our old morning running route from our stay last year!
Many thanks Joe, Donna, Chris and Holly - we will be back...
The Solheim family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 19, 2009   Date of arrival: January 19, 2009

We came here to ski and have a few days "away" together. Temperature was -30F (-22C) when we arrived --- brrr! But a balmy +28F (-2C) when we left. We skiied, even at -20F! Whiteface was empty (no one else was fool enough to ski in such cold) --- beautiful snow conditions. We walked/ran in the forest with Tilly, our black Lab --- lots of exciting animal tracks in the snow for Tilly to sniff. We ate well and played games (good ol' Mancala).
People we met on the Whiteface lifts: Carl, the talkative eight year old; a nice family from DC; ski patrol guys checking for frost bite!
Places recommended: Whiteface, for the best skiing on the Eastern seaboard; Windsong for a relaxing retreat.
Favorite moments: Arriving here again --- the boys' excitement at being back at Windsong; our delight that it was as lovely as we had remembered; Tilly remembering her running route from our last visit.

Thank you again for providing such a comfortable "pet-friendly" cabin. As we said last time, we will be back again---!
With thanks,
The Solheim Family ... Jostein, Rebecca, Jakob, Isaac and Tilly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 6, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We came to Windsong Cabin to spend Christmas together -- with our three grown sons. They wanted to snowboard, as well. While we were there, my Mom, sister, and two nieces joined us for several days -- making 9 in the cabin! Thanks to Donna, there was a tiny tree, and just enough greens to make things look Christmasy.

The cabin is lovely. Set in the middle of the woods, it was great for our dog (German Shepherd) to wander around pretty freely. The cabin was clean, with a wonderful fireplace and lots of firewood. The kitchen was well-stocked with dishes and pots and pans. I still brought lots of my own stuff because I wanted to bake, but there was enough there for most things one would want while on vacation. The washer & dryer worked well -- and often! The Internet was wonderful -- the boys played quite a few computer games, and we saw many movies through their computer collections. The fleece throws were WONDERFUL!

One suggestion: If staying in the winter, 4-wheel drive is nice! The driveway is a bit steep, and -- when icy -- can be a bit difficult.

I have to say -- Windsong Cabin gives you a real feel for being in the Adirondacks, yet is close enough to everything you need to keep it easy. We hope to return someday, although probably not with as many people!

Michelle Kozlowski

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 26, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

We have visited the High Peaks many times over the past years, and had never found "the place" to stay. Hotels were expensive, even B&B's were a bit high priced, and neither offered the peacefulness of the Adirondacks (with other guests only a few feet away).

We found Windsong while looking for a get away that would make the perfect "home base" for a winter photography trip. We hit the jackpot this time, for weather to shoot and the PERFECT place to stay! Warm and cozy, the fireplace was wonderful, and the web access was invaluable for uploading images from the day rather than waiting to get home. The kitchen was great too, it was nice not to have to drive into a town to eat. Plus it's located at the base of Whiteface right in the heart of the High Peaks, one of the most scenic places in the Adirondacks.

We would certainly recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful and cozy get away, and will definately return the next time we visit the north country.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 13, 2008   Date of arrival: October 13, 2008

We come up every fall. We stay in many places and sometimes bring our camper. The weather was probably the "Best" weather we have ever had in all these years. Bright blue sky and sunshine every day. Temps in the 60s - 70s. Beautiful fall colors!
We took some small hikes and went to AuSable Chasm. We met some wild screeching coyotes or something.
We recommend R. F. McDougals next to the Hungry Trout, Wilderness Inn and the Boathouse for waterfront.
You have got to visit the "Alpaca" Farm in Jay. Just ask around. Your kids will flip out and want to take one home.

*This place is one of the "best places" we have ever stayed!*

Signed: Ken & Laurie Guarino, Dave, Amy, Meredith & Jensen Nicholson - Van Nostrand

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 1, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Purpose of our trip was to have fun, relax & enjoy. We rented a Chevy Suburban that fits the seven of us
What we did:
Day 1 - We relaxed, chilled out with beer and BBQ, played music, danced, played soccer and volley ball and roamed around!
Day 2 - We went to AuSable Chasm - trail, tubing! Whiteface Mountain - hiked and enjoyed the castle - Lake Placid!
Day 3 - High Falls Gorge, Lake George & Saratoga Springs
Places recommended: AuSable Chasm - Go for tubing & rafting, Lake Placid, Whiteface Mountain! You know what? Everything!! It's just too beautiful and 3 days are not enough!!

This place is so cozy! Very much loved by all. The cabin is awesome!! Has almost everything. This is a home away from home!

Just two recommendations:
1) Some more lights on the patio
2) One more bathroom so that we could save some time in the morning and also so we don't have to skip our baths!!

Signed Rashi, Shweta, Shilpi, Mahesh, Tushar, Manish, Tarun

Comments from Joe:
1) The lighting on the deck is Solar Powered and quite subdued. Your comment for more lighting is a good one; we will look into it.
2) Boy, would I like to add a 2nd bathroom! The house as it now stands is not that easy to add a bath. Great suggestion! I will continue to try to find a way.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2008   Date of arrival: August 17, 2008

Purpose of trip: Peace & Quiet!!

How traveled: Plane, rental car

Weather: Perfect! Cool (for us)

What we did: Enjoyed the beautiful countryside. Weather and surroundings were like heaven compared with Houston summer.

Favorite moments/Special highlights: Staying in your beautiful cabin. What a lot of care and work you've put into making such a lovely place. Thank you!

Ellis & Susan Freitog and Jim & Lois Carpenter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 9, 2008

Purpose of trip: Relaxing, hiking

Weather: 70's - mostly sunny but rain usually in P.M.

What we did: Biked Bloomingdale Bog, saw High Falls Gorge, hiked Scarface Mountain, Cooper Kiln Pond trail from Bonnie View Rd. (difficult - don't recommend). Hiked into Owen, Copperas & Winch Ponds - very nice - went to the Candy Man - Adirondack Interpretative Center - Paul Smith's, NY.

Places recommended: Steinhoff's, Wilderness Inn, Donnoly's Ice Cream on Route 86 above Saranac Lake village - Evening Hatch Pizza - Casa Del Sol - Saranac Lake.

Favorite moments - Hiking, relaxing in front of the fire - grilling and dining in on the deck.

Notes: I would recommend three things to enhance this cabin - a fire pot out back so people can roast marshmallows & have a fire at night - and a screen door in the front - also - a couple of plastic containers to make iced tea or lemonade - otherwise - it's very nice here and cozy. Lots of amenities - the beds are very comfortable.

Comments from Joe: I would like to respond to these suggestions in reverse order. First, we have purchased some plastic containers, a very good suggestion. Second, we have been looking into screen/storm doors for both the front and back doors and expect to have them installed within the next few months. Third, we have considered a fire pot or a fire pit, but with regulations and insurance among other considerations, we are not ready to install these at this time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 30, 2008   Date of arrival: July 30, 2008

Purpose of trip: Sightseeing, relaxation

What we did: "We went on the Veteran's Highway. The drive was good. We took the gondola ride up the mountain. We visited High Falls Gorge. My husband, son & I went on the trek to Coopers Pond, (the most enjoyable part of my trip) We also went on cruise in Lake Placid. Awesome place!"

Places recommended: Jimmy's Lakeside Restaurant. Good food! Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream was good too! Good deals in Van Heusen & Geoffery Beene.

Favorite Moments: Drive on Veteran's Highway. Surely will visit in the Fall to see the colors. Windsong Cabin was well maintained & neat. We were very comfortable here. My kids enjoyed the bunk beds. We went for a walk every day. The cabin was great. We will like to stay in Windsong Cabin again during our next visit.

But one complaint I have is that the TV Satellite didn't work well and was always frustrating my kids as it keeps going back to 'acquiring channel'. So they couldn't watch any TV.

Comment from Joe: The problem is due to the fact that Windsong Cabin is so far north. All TV satellites are over the equator, so the satellite dish must point very low on the horizon. The problem is much more pronounced on the higher channels (above 100) and also more pronounced on cloudy, stormy or very humid days. We have had it checked by the satellite people. This is a typical problem all over the northern regions of the Adirondacks; it is not something peculiar to Windsong Cabin. We apologize for the frustration.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 21, 2008   Date of arrival: July 21, 2008

We arrived July 16 for IronMan 2008. Roxie & I drove in from Maine. Tiffany & Kristin flew in from Chicago.
Weather: Nice - 80's
What we did: We exercised a lot, yoga, walk, bike, run & swim. Shopped downtown in Lake Placid & of course, IronMan!
People we met: Chris
Enjoyed staying in eating, except for breakfast
Favorite moments: Going to bed & starting all over again.....seeing my daughters, Kristin & Tiff, together.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 14, 2008   Date of arrival: July 14, 2008

Joe,
Thank you for making things so easy for my stay at Windsong. Chris' calls to make sure everything was OK was really appriecated - and your notes on how to run the TV were perfect - even for a non-techy like me.
Thank you again and I hope to be able to stay at Windsong again in the future.
Sincerely,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 2, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

THREE OF MY FISHING BUDDIES AND MYSELF STAYED AT WINDSONG CABIN FOR 8 NIGHTS BEGINNING ON JUNE 12, 2008. YOUR FACILITY IS OUTSTANDING! WE WERE VERY IMPRESSED WITH THE HOUSE AND THE SERVICE WE GOT FROM CHRIS. WE HAVE BEEN FLY FISHING THE SARANAC AND AUSABLE RIVERS SINCE 1966 AND UP UNTIL THIS YEAR ALWAYS CAMPED. THE CAMPING IS OVER AFTER OUR EXPERIENCE AT WINDSONG CABIN. MAYBE THE FACT THAT WE ARE ALL NEAR 70 YEARS OLD HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH OUR DECISION. THANK YOU FOR YOUR HOSPILITY AND YOU WILL SEE US AGAIN GOD WILLING.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 30, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

What a wonderful time we had at Windsong Cabin. It was so nice to enter a nice clean cabin. We made ourselves right at home. We would definitely return. Sicnerely, Gloria Wagner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 29, 2008   Date of arrival: March 29, 2008

Purpose of trip: Spring break ski trip. Visit an Olympic games site.
How traveled: By car - 10 hours.
Weather/temperature: 20 - 40F. Great weather for skiing.
What we did: Hiking, skiing, snowmobile ride, gorge trail, ski jumping tower, bobsled run, Olympic Museum, good dinners.
People we met: Various friendly people in the Gondola ride to the top of the mountain.
Places we would recommend: Whiteface Mountain (great skiing).
Favorite moments/special highlights: Skiing, snowmobile ride. We enjoyed having our 1 year old Akita named "Nami" on the trip. She did get loose behind Windsong Cabin in the woods, and the chase was on. We eventually got her back, but not before losing site of her multiple times and wondering if she was gone for good.
Many thanks to the Kostoss' for the very good accomodations.
Mike, Cynthia, Ryan & Ian

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 24, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We were a group of 8 staying at the Windsong Cabin. We had the best weekend ever! We went skiing, Whiteface is so close by. We loved the furniture, the hardwood floors, the stainless steel appliances, the towels, everything is just so well thought. It is warm and cosy. I recommend the cabin to everyone. We will gladly rent it again next year. Thanks to our host.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2008   Date of arrival: March 20, 2008

Purpose of our trip: Skiing and relaxing together.
What we did: Ski! Four wonderful days at Whiteface, with some of the best skiing we have ever had as a family - this beats the Alps and Scandinavia.
Walking/running in the forest with Tilly, our black Lab. Perfect silence - just the muffled sound of our footsteps in the snow.
Relaxing by the fire - lots of Manacola games, reading, talking.
People we met: Chris when we arrived, lots of people (and laughing) on Whiteface's Gondola, Tom in Ski Patrol, Ted with the volunteer hospitality team, other skiers, the school bus driver and local school children!
Places we would recommend: Windsong Cabin! Very well-equipped kitchen, so we rustled lots of dinners using the Little Supermarket's ingredients!
Charlie's in Lake Placid - delicious food, lively ambience, friendly service.
Favorite moments: Windsong itself - around the fire, mugs of tea and reading in the chairs on the Terrace while the boys and Tilly played in the snow; and walks in our 'very own' forest.
Notes: This is our first winter in the U.S., yet we feel we have found a home away from home. We have lived in the US for only six months, but have already found that we are usually relegated to fairly grotty and basic digs with Tilly, if allowed to stay at all...! So thank you, Windsong Cabin! We enjoyed our trip with Tilly, and Tilly enjoyed her 'down time' while we skied, and her walks in the snow with us. It was such a pleasure for us to be allowed (for a change) to stay with Tilly somewhere where the owners obviously take such pride in their business and in such a clean and 'esthetically pleasing' environment.
We all enjoyed the fire, terrace, books and games, and the high-quality finish and welcoming touches of the cabin - you all have an eye for detail and we appreciated the hard-wood flooring, slate tiles, high-quality kitchen equipment and lovely interior generally, as well as all those small welcoming touches, rolled towels, lovely bedding, night lights (our little one Isaac especially appreciated those!), plentiful supply of logs, etc.
We will definitely be back. After skiing on Monday and Tuesday in brilliant sunshine, we returned to the cabin to sit and sip tea on the terrace in our big down jackets while the boys and Tilly played in the snow as the sun set. It gave us a taste for what the summer months must be like in the Adirondacks, so we will be looking at our diaries and scheduling in a long weekend for May or June with y

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 5, 2008   Date of arrival: March 5, 2008

Our stay was absolutely wonderful! We loved your cabin. You thought of every convenience of home and made everything so cozy and comfortable. You decorated everything so nicely. The instructions to all the appliances - especially the satellite TV were a great idea. Our children loved the kids room - and really loved your fuzzy, thick, Disney blankets. They felt like it was prepared just for them. We would also like to say what a lovely kitchen you have with every item available to make dinner!
The cabin is so close to Whiteface that it makes half a day of skiing very easy. We would highly recommend Windsong Cabin to anyone. We were actually trying to rent it again for Easter weekend but found that you were totally booked for March!
We would also like to thank Holly for coming to our rescue. Our two year old decided to help us shut the door and locked us out!
We hope to be able to visit with you again in the near future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 24, 2008   Date of arrival: February 24, 2008

Purpose of trip: Ski
Weather: 20F - 30F (Perfect)
What we did: Dinner with lots of wine and food. Full day of skiing followed by drinks at The Hungry Trout, more food, wine, passed out at 10 p.m.
Places recommended: The bar at The Hungry Trout!
Favorite moments: Fun with friends, skiing and Windsong Cabin! It was perfect and cozy - we had an amazing trip....!
Amy, Venus, Yuri, Geoff, Ma, Mieu, Yanick, Yasmeen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 8, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

My wife and I just stayed at the cabin for 2 weeks in January 2008. We had a wonderful time. The cabin is conveniently located close to Whiteface mountain and to Lake Placid, but far enough to enjoy nature and quiet time. Just a 5 minute drive for skiing and 15 min for great restaurants in Lake Placid. The cabin is well maintained from a housekeeping standpoint. There was nothing we needed to buy. Everything was supplied. We rented many houses before and there was always something missing, when you needed it, cooking at night. Not so at this house. Even the garbage was picked up. We have nothing but good things to say about the house and the warm welcome we got from the owners. This is very rare and I can attest to this as a General Manager of a hotel in New York City.

Patrik Horstmann
General Manager
Hotel Gansevoort New York

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 23, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

My family and I spent one week in this wonderful cabin. The entire place looked like one of those scenes from a Winter wonderland postcard. It was very cold outside but warm and cozy inside. The house has all the amenties you might need. Although it snowed almost non-stop we woke up every morning to find out that the keeper (owner) had already removed the snow in our driveway, allowing us to get in and out of the place without worries. I have stayed at many vacation rentals but the excellent service received from the owners (from the snow removal to getting a new hair dryer in a few minutes after asking for it,) made our stay memorable. It was the perfect vacation for all of us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 26, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

This place is outstanding! We have a rustic camp north of Tupper lake but this was just right for skiing and having all the comforts of home right next to the slopes. We loved the place and can not wait to return. It made our holiday.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 25, 2007   Date of arrival: November 25, 2007

Purpose of trip: Thanksgiving getaway. No cooking this year!!
Weather: Sunny, cold, snowy, great.
What we did: Not die. That was a biggie. Watched the Star Trek Thanksgiving Marathon! Walked nearby trails; Drove all around and soaked up all this awesome beauty....oh....and did I mention not die!!!
People we met: A State Trooper & tow truck man (our new best friends).
Places recommended: This cabin! A very welcoming place, so cozy, so clean! We appreciate the TLC that went into making us comfortable! I loved the dishes & the plum/eggplant curtains. Oh...and the butterscotch chair!!).
Favorite moments: When we were rescued from nearly sliding into the Cascade Lake. Otherwise sitting by the fire cuddling up! Thank you for this lovely cabin; it is really special.
Signed: Henry, Deb Foglia, Zoe the doggie & her friend Nelly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 7, 2007   Date of arrival: October 7, 2007

Purpose: R & R
Weather: Rainy Saturday & gorgeous Sunday.
What we did: Adirondack Scenic RR, shopping, Roomers, High Falls Gorge & gondola ride at Whiteface.
People met: Too many to name.
Places recommended: Northwoods Inn & Roomers for nightlife.
Favorite moments: Coffee on the back deck & games in living room.
Signed: Jessica & Todd, Karla & Mark

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 16, 2007   Date of arrival: September 16, 2007

Purpose: Brother home from service on leave, looking to get away.
Weather: Off and on rain and cool Friday & Saturday, beautiful Sunday.
What we did: Drove up Whiteface, walked around. Visited Lake Placid and the ski jumps. Climbed giant.
Places recommended: To travel up Whiteface, stores in Lake Placid. Windsong Cabin, beautiful!
Favorite moments: Top of Whiteface, playing Trivial Pursuit with the family. Sitting by the fireplace together.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2007   Date of arrival: August 27, 2007

Purpose: To make a weekend getaway out of a trip to a wedding Saturday night.
Weather: O.K. Nice on Saturday w/passing showers - no sun on Sunday!
What we did: A whole bunch of relaxing! We attended a wedding at the Crowne Plaze Golf House (beautiful) on Saturday. Otherwise we just drove around, sampled local restaurants and hung out here playing cards, games, and chipping golf balls in the yard.
Places recommended: This fabulous cabin - everything is perfect, from the decor to the dishes and cozy blankets aplenty! Holly's amazing consideration and hospitality is just the icing on the cake!
Favorite moments: The thunderstorm during the wedding ceremony.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 25, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

The cabin is so comfortable and well-maintained. It has everything you need to feel at home. It is also just private enough to feel like you're "away from it all" while still being convenient to all of the area's attractions. We would definitely visit again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 25, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Windsong Cabin was a superb place to stay, beautifully furnished,clean and very accessbile, we throughly enjoyed our stay. The Kostoss family was extremly accomodating. Thank you Holly, Chris and Joe - we couldn't have asked for anything better!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 12, 2007   Date of arrival: July 12, 2007

Purpose: Vacation
Weather: Partly sunny. Rained on the weekend
What we did: We went to watch the ski jumpers. We shopped at Lake Placid. We went mini-golfing at Pirates Cove. We visited the Wild Center Museum (Cool).
People we met: My dad met a family from Michigan at the ski jump competition. I met my cousins as well.
Places recommended: Lake Placid for shopping. Climbing Mt. Whiteface, Ausable Chasm for a spectacular view.
Favorite moments: Laser tag with my cousins, my dad and my uncle. Playing card games around the table. Seeing a dog jump in Mirror Lake. I like the children's room with the little TV in it. Maybe we will come back next year and have the same fun as this year. I like the little welcome sign. It makes me feel like I'm at home. Thank you for this wonderful cabin to stay at. We hope to come again.
(This was written by Shannen (with an E, not an O)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 2, 2007   Date of arrival: July 2, 2007

Purpose: Mini vacation
Weather: Very nice. It is summer now, but we did not need the A.C. at all.
What we did: We did what we came to do. Just relax & hang out. The cabin was great, it was cozy & clean; we cooked dinner, we grilled some steaks & watched a lot of DVDs. It was very relaxing & quiet.
Places recommended: Since we spent most of the time hanging out in the cabin, we would recommend the cabin.
Favorite moments: Going for a ride to look at the mountains.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 30, 2007   Date of arrival: March 30, 2007

Just wanted to say thank you again for allowing us to stay for just two nights. It was a quick trip - but it was very nice. We hope to come back next year for three nights and stay at the cabin again. We were very pleased. We did have trouble with the coffee maker - it went all over the place unless someone was standing there pushing it down. . .
Comment from Joe...We checked out the coffee maker and found that it had a mind of its own. It was delivered to the Department of Sanitation to be recycled where it hopes to come back as a hood ornament on a Buick. We have replaced it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 23, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

A great place to stay at a reasonable price. Caretakers
responsive and considerate. House has everything
one would need. Can't wait to go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 14, 2007   Date of arrival: March 14, 2007

Purpose: Skiing/snowboarding
Weather: Warm...50s
What we did: Skied everyday at Whiteface, went up the gondola and many other chairlifts. Sat on the deck and watched people go down the hill.
People we met: People in ski lessons and people on the chair lift.
Places recommended: The Adirondack Mountain range; the view is amazing.
Favorite moments: Going down from the summit and trying to do jumps (lol), playing board games in the cabin.
Thanks, Chris and Holly!
Signed: Jordan, George, Faith, Tink, David, Kiko

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 26, 2007   Date of arrival: February 26, 2007

Thank you so much for allowing my family to stay at your cabin. We had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to come back in the future. The setting of the cabin is perfect, the rooms were perfect and the kids loved the fireplace, as you could probably tell by all the wood we went through! The distance to Whiteface at only 6 miles away was an easy 10 minute drive each morning and Lake Placid was only a 25 minute drive. We had great skiing with the 36 inches of snow the mountain received the week before we came and took two trips into Lake Placid to ice skate. One day we did the outside oval and another time we skated on the 1932 Olympic rink. What a thrill that was!! My kids loved it!!! Again thank you so much and I will be coming back in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 21, 2007   Date of arrival: February 21, 2007

Purpose of trip: Skiing
Weather: A little rainy when we arrived but cold and snowy when we left.
What we did: We skied & skied & skied. We did the Euro-Bungy - FUN!!!
People we met: Lots of nice locals, especially our hosts Chris & Holly.
Places recommended: Wilderness II Restaurant, Ski Jumps.
Favorite moments: Just hanging out and enjoying the fire and comfy surroundings.
Signed Andy, Crista, Charlie, Harley & Ski Mama!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 9, 2007   Date of arrival: January 9, 2007

Indeed, we enjoyed staying at Windsong Cabin very much. Thank you for the warm hospitality.We especially appreciated the perfect beds, which give a good night’s sleep after the day on the slopes! The kids’ room with two bunk beds was great! One little suggestion: maybe it would be a good idea to put a little nightlight in this room (some kids don't like to sleep in the dark).We certainly hope to visit you again.Comment from Joe...Thanks for the good suggestion, Svetlana. There are now night lights in all the bedrooms.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 8, 2007   Date of arrival: January 8, 2007

Just a quick note to tell you how much we enjoyed our short stay at Windsong Cabin. We left as the last of the snow was melting away on Saturday. We had four great days of skiing and site seeing in Lake Placid. The house was comfortable and had everything we needed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 1, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Purpose: R & R. Looking to ski, but not much snow.
Weather: Cold to moderate, mostly sunny, 1 day of snow.
What we did: Roamed around Lake Placid until the day of snow, then X-country skied the next two days. Drove up Memorial Highway - fun coming back down! Country road to Whiteface Landing was a great trail; the views of Lake Placid are awesome! Hiked High Falls Gorge - pretty cool.
Places recommended: Country Bear in Wilmington for breakfast, The Candyman for homemade chocolates.
Favorite moments: Watching the jumpers practice at the Olympic Ski Jumps.
Thank you, Chris & Holly, for a wonderful place to stay!
Signed: Jennifer, Erika and Hank Lee and Roger Keren

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 3, 2006   Date of arrival: August 3, 2006

Purpose: To meet up as families and have fun.
Weather: Hot! Thunderstorms at night - very humid.
What we did: Ausable Chasm, High Falls Gorge. Went to the top of Whiteface Mountain, ski jump complex for wacky Wednesday, swam at Everest lake
"Things" I met: Willy the Snake & friends
Places recommended: All the places we went!
Favorite moments: Playing hide & seek with the kids after dinner; all the time we got to visit (don't see each other often); Riding motorcycles through the mountain roads.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 26, 2006   Date of arrival: July 26, 2006

Purpose: Mr. Keenan has been in Iraq for 1 year; he came home for 2 weeks R & R. We wanted somewhere with cooler temps and unforgettable scenery so he can remember this when he goes back for 6 more months.
What we did: We went to many beautiful sites: Olympic Village, Olympic Ski Jumping Complex, Whiteface Mountain, High Falls Gorge, Ausable Chasm, Cascade Mountain and strolled the quaint downtown of Lake Placid.
People met: People from all over the world. It was very interesting talking to people who were planning to compete in IronMan06.
Places recommended: Jimmy's & The Cottage in Lake Placid and The Hungry Trout & McDougals in Wilmington.
Favorite moments: Too many to list! Great place to stay! Hope you have as much fun as we did.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 18, 2006   Date of arrival: April 18, 2006

Many, many thanks for the wonderful stay at your cabin. It was especially rewarding for me as I am responsible for choosing the place to stay. Well, all the family loved it…especially my wife!It was very clean and modern and very, very nicely decorated. We just had a great time despite the questionable weather for hiking.Chris and Holly stopped over the first night as we needed the heat turned up so we got a chance to meet them. I wish we had more time to talk ... They were both very helpful and accommodating and stayed in contact during our time there.Here are some of the highlights for us: our kids loved the leather furniture, the boys loved the hand crank flashlights, the ladies/girls loved the clean/modern "everything" ... especially the bathroom, the hardwood floors and beautifully matching rugs. I ( being a culinary trained chef ) loved the kitchen layout and equipment. My wife loved "the heat", having a garage to keep our car top in, beautiful lamps and light fixtures, the very cool flat screen/DVD/surround sound unit ( thanks Chris !!) etc.We just thought it was one of the best places we've stayed at in the Adirondacks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 2, 2006   Date of arrival: February 1, 2006

We had a very pleasant stay at the cabin. Though it is small, the windows are large, looking over a national forest which ends up in the back yard. The cabin is very tight, very cozy and everything is new and in perfect working order.
The location is great, a skip and a jump from the mountain and about twenty minutes from lake placid.
Last but not least, the owners Holly and Chris are more than helpful and just such nice people.
We certainly hope to come back next year.I would recommend a stay there for everybody.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review