reviews for: listing #4657 - Yosemite, California House rental

Yosemite Executive Mountain Luxury Ranch
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $165 - $495 /nt
    $950 - $2,750 /wk
    $2,500 - $9,500 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything in the outside Yosemite Scenic by way

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

January in Yosemite is a lot nicer than folks know. The nighttimes might be nippy but with a wood stove fireplace and central heat, a 30 degree night is warm to us compared to Minneapolis in winter. The views from the home
made us feel like we didn't have to go out to find nature. Plenty of different types of things to do as its one mile to a small town making it easy for us to shop groceries and cook in the gourmet layout kitchen. The feng shui of the kitchen made it so we could talk while some ate at the table and others of us visited in the living room. There was also a post office and bar and grill and a river we could walk to as the owners indicated, making it easy to picnic without long drives. The home was elegant and clean with new upgrades. Last year we insisted on inside the park but wound up driving for
every little thing, it was colder and bad roads and nothing to do. We recommend off season to come here and its quiet and easy to relax, no crowds but all the things the sierras and yosemite have to offer. The owner was kind and easy to work with. Thank you Liza and Mike.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to stay while enjoying Yosemite Park and surrounding areas

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

My wife, my 7month old puppy and I recently stayed at this property. I read all the reviews and I just want to say, don't read in to them too much. There is nothing wrong with the driveway or the surrounding property. Your in the mountains, its not a suburb. It's peaceful, it's quiet, it's perfect for relaxing. The drive to Yosemite is not bad at all. We made it there in 37 minutes and the scenery on the way there was awesome. Liza ( an owner) was fantastic and communicating with her was flawless. She was a big help to us since we had never been there before and recommended quite a few great places to visit. The grocery store, which is about 7 minutes away by car is probably something your not used to visiting to buy groceries, but it's AWESOME. Again, your in the mountains, you have to go with the flow. If you want peace and quiet and just want to relax, this is the place to go. Thank you again Liza for all your help. We'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful home in an amazing location

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

This past weekend, my husband and I stayed at this property with another couple and our 3 kids. The home was absolutely beautiful and cozy. The views from the large windows were spectacular. We are told that Yosemite was only about a 45 minute drive away, but there are so many other beautiful places to visit in the area that we did not feel the need to make that drive. We saw waterfalls, visited Bass Lake, and just went driving through a literal forest, exploring. All of our interactions with the property owner were great. She was so kind and full of all sorts of helpful information. Both my friend and I that went on this trip are pregnant, and this was somewhat of a "baby moon" for us. I could not have asked for a more perfect weekend. We would love nothing more than the chance to come right back to this property during the winter and experience it during another season. We absolutely recommend it to anyone who may be interested.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay, Good Value with Minor Negatives

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

All things considered, we had a great time staying at this location. It was reasonably priced, large, comfortable and fairly priced as compared to other rental properties. I won't repeat some of the details already described by previous reviewers, but would like to offer my take on some of the criticism and areas of contention:

1. Paperwork - It took us 3 iterations to get the lease right. The prices were incorrect and the dates were wrong. The owners also double booked the property at the last minute. They eventually cleared this up for us, but it would've been nice to get it right the first time around.

2. Outside Property - The pictures are deceptive. The pictures shown make it appear as though the land is flat and clear with plenty of open running space. In reality, the backyard is a steep uphill slope with trees. The area to the left of the driveway is a steep downhill slope, and the area in front of the house has a medium grade slope with some tall grass. These issues weren't a factor for us, since we just needed an open space to let the dog run and didnt have any children that could run around. With all this aside, we still had a nice view of the mountains.

The driveway is "loose" gravel. This was also not an issue for us, but could be an issue for smaller cars.

3. Inside Property - Plenty spacious with a very nice kitchen and bathrooms. We did find some long female hair in the bedding, but aside from that, the property was clean. I understand that sometimes washers/dryers may miss some long female hair, so we wont hold this against the owner.

4. Distance to Yosemite - We found that the 30 min estimate drive to Yosemite was a little over zealous. At best, it took us 45 min to the front gate, and another 45 min from the front gate to the valley. This wasnt a big deal for us. You cant do much better without renting properties in the actual Yosemite park.

All in all, we had a great time here. We didnt have any major criticism, but wanted to provide a fair unbiased clarification of some of the other feedback previous reviewers had provided. These things werent a big deal for us, and we'd definitely consider staying again. The property was large, spacious, comfortable and conveniently located.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 34 / 34

 

WONDERFUL!

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We just finished our stay at this house and had a great time! There were 8 of us, 4 adults and 4 kids, ranging from 4-13 years old. There was plenty of room for all of us to do what we needed for R&R. We didn't feel like we were on top of each other at all. The house is nicely appointed and has wonderful views from the large front porch... we moved all the back patio chairs around and started each morning and ended each day out there. Very peaceful. It was a bit of a drive into Yosemite, but the views on the way in more than made up for it. Bass Lake is a short drive for boat rentals and restaurants. If we were to go back to Yosemite, we would definitely stay there again and I highly recommend it to any and everyone!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BEST YOSEMITE STAY PLACE HOME !!!

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

The house is HUGE!!! At our church member meeting yesterday, we're already planning to stay at this house again.

The home is very clean and very modern. It is a very good combination of modern convenience - washing machines, kitchen, utilities, dishwasher, tv etc - it's all very high tech. COMBINED with a very natural, beautiful design. The home is very very tall with beautiful large windows. Every day, you feel like you're actually outside because the house design has these great windows.

It's not just a vacation home - it's designed like a retreat or spa... spa? I almost forgot to mention the huge jet jacuzzi in the beautiful tile bathroom! The bathrooms all have two sinks and are huge bathrooms. I like the tiles in the bathrooms because their colors and lighting are the same you see at high end spas.

There's also fast wifi and digital cable.

There's a really nice porch that extends the entire front end of the house. And the backside has its own porch too. Screen doors let you feel like the home extends past the house - but keeps the insects out.

The hose mechanism works great so it's easy to rinse or wash your car after your outdoor / off trail excursions.

Fishing is nearby at many places and you can get an annual license easily.

I like how the house is a bit off the main road - not so far you'll be driving forever - but far enough to get away from everything and feel like you're out in nature.

There are all sorts of beautiful trees with multicolor bark all around the property.

At night you can lay down and see the stars - that's what I did outside.

There's also electrical outlets outside the house, so you can run devices off the house in the car, or enjoy electrical usage on the porch easily outside.

There are fresh bathroom towels in abundance.

When you go into the house, you'll feel immediately at home. There are no problems at all with the house - but if you had any questions, the owners are really nice and easy to work with - they'll be like your friends and guides for your yosemite trip.

The only reservation I had about posting this is that if everyone knows how perfect this location is - it'll be hard for us to book again!

If u read this far to see how awesome this place is - you can request from this website or the owner for my personal info. I'm happy to vouch for the owners and the vacation home via cell or email.

Expect to get recharged, inspired to go back again, and to feel energized for life again IF you decide to home :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

1 out of 100 love the Trees in Yosemite

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

We also stayed at this property and have stayed in a lot of vacation homes. WE loved the trees and this property is the one with the best views. There is a new patio out back and a wrap around deck. both front and back. The trees are wonderful and have blooms and in no way block out the deck or make the front or back areas unusable to our children. We do know in May the greens grow really fast as we lived in the Madera Yosemite area in the 90's. The owner clipped while we were here as the front yard grew very fast. There is a cute sitting area in front with a meditation bench and bird bath fountain. We were able to picnic right in front of the house. Most rentals have no acreage and no views as we have stayed in bass lake 5 miles north many times and never had more than a tiny lot. Yes there are rolling hills, but its 5 acres in the mountains so not sure why someone would except flat with no trees, that seems out of character for the mountains. Also the back hill is nice for privacy and quite and our dogs loved roaming it. Just a 100 feet above is a track and playing field out of view and swing sets at the school. We also read the note that the swimming river 3/10 of a mile from the house, is the owners neighbors that owns south fork motel and locals can use anytime, including us, the vacationers. It is not locked up, just a sign to keep to many strangers out. Maybe if they had read the forms both in email and on the desk, they would have seen what to do as well as the ranger station is 1/2 mile from the house with many lists and maps of things to do right out the door. This is the nicest house and close to everything at your fingertips in the moutons we have stayed at. Including grocery store, eating dining, and cute stores 1/2 mile away and hike right out the door to two rivers in less than 5 and 10 minutes. The house of course is absolutely beautiful and the outdoors a winner in my opinion. And we are in the legal field and now when someone is being slammed because someone is just not happy vs a home that is 4 to 5 star every time if you compare anything in the area. Hands down this is best amenities of the vaca rentals listed in Yosemite scenic by way and the park and local cities surrounding. JLC

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

May Guest With Raving Opposite review

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

I was planning on doing a review. We absolutely loved our 8 days at this luxury home.
The owner asked if we had the same experience as a posting for the day after we left and we had to rebuttal the following renter. We loved the lot, the yard up front had a shade tree, bird bath and was cut nicely for our dogs and kids. The trees did not block the view from the house at all. We could see the mouton tops and ridge throughout and having stayed at other vacation homes we were pleased to have five acres. We spent every day at the river, only 3/10 mile from the house and walk or drove in minutes. The neighbor owns it, that has the motel and there is no barring of locals or this vacation rental from using it. We just went right on in. The home was highly upgraded and it had a great back patio. It has many trees but you can easy go up the hill behind the house and have access to a track and outdoor activities in 100 feet. The fencing is obvious at the end of the hill. Trees provide needed shade and are beautiful. We travel to yosemtie yearly and had no problem finding the rangers station just as posted it is one mile from the house behind the north fork grocery store with a second river, with trails. We are already booked for a second fall trip and loved both the inside and outside and not being so isolated. The water is a plus in this area. THe owner sent us a list of all the water lakes, in 2 to 5 miles and several rivers and lots to do. We fully recommend this for kids, pets and spacious property with outdoor areas to hang out. Dr. Mary Wilson and 8 family occupants.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A nice stay

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

The house was nice, comfortable, and clean. Both bathrooms were nice and felt out of the ordinary from my shower at home, so it was a luxiourous change. Towels were soft, bedding very comfortable. There are all different kinds of pillows in the house, so if you don't like one kind, just go switch with another. We were supposed to have access to the garage to wash clothing, to our suprise it was locked and off limits. We speculate that a broom might have been in there as well. We needed to sweep the porches off to clear the thick layer of pollen on the steps, porch, and patio furntiture. My mom had very bad allergies,so we were disappointed not to have access to a broom. Some of the windows had bad seals, so hornets were getting in the house. The radio in the house works, but only has treble, no bass. It needs to be replaced.

The listing photos should be edited to remove any indication pictures of water, as should the description. There was no water 'accross the way'. Water access was one reason we wanted to stay at this property. We passed up others because it seemed clear that water was easily accessible. We were given unclear directions and did not find where the water was. The community center was gated and locked up both days we attempted to go there. Seems you need to pre-arrange a visit to the community center and can't decide to go when you feel up to it. I would recommend for the owner to have map and typed directions at the house for your guests to know where to go to find 1) the ranger station, and 2) any near by water. Also, the 5 acres is deceptive. It's unclear, filled with shrubbery, unable to walk the property, or even see where the property ends because of the endless shubbery. Even the front yard was plagged with tall unkept grass, so there was no where to play in a yard. I do not recomended this property for children. The main photo from this listing is shot from the back yard up on a hill. I couldn't beleive this picture. Today, the plants and shubbery would completly block out the sight of the house and it looks like you could plan on the lawn, but the incline is so steep you have to concisouly watch where your stepping to keep your footing.

To sum it up, the house was nice and functioned well, but if you like spending your time out doors (hence the reason why you visit this area of CA), better outdoor spaces need to be created for recreation.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

WONDERFUL TIME!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

I was there over Easter/Spring break for a much needed get away. As promised, the house was secluded and quiet, not to mention beautiful and well kept. Immediately upon entering the home I was very impressed with the decor and furniture, but my favorite feature?... The beds...I have NEVER slept so well. I don't know what type of mattress/sleep foam Dr. Liza uses, but the first night I laid down I was out like a light!

As an avid visitor to Yosemite, it is common knowledge that you will have to drive between an hour to hour and a half to get to most locations...that's pretty normal. Unless of course, you stay in the "valley," which I don't recommend because of the crowds. Because of the lovely property, I didn't mind driving at all! In fact, there was one day I spent investigating some of the local hot spots and found the monument for the "Exact Center of California." How fun is that?

Seriously, the store down the road has everything you will need (okay, they don't carry feta cheese), as well as fishing gear, etc. The ranger station recommended the fishing at "Mammoth Pools," and we drove down for the day. We didn't fish, but it was beautiful. If you go to the campground, stop for lunch and hike down to the rocks and running water...glorious! There is a Chevron gas station in the small town of North Fork, and absolutely everyone I met in the city was super nice.

We cooked at home every night...the kitchen is gorgeous! Everything you need for any type of meal...fun to cook after a day in the forest!!! We found a lot of our own firewood on the road, as well as brought our own, which I highly recommend (hint, pinecones are a GREAT fire starter). If I had any "complaint," it would be that there were no trash bags or toilet paper, but that was easily remedied. The other thing that confused me were the "5 acres." It was really difficult to try and walk around the property, due to the amount of trees and brush. There is a home right off the entrance road to the right, and I was scratching my head wondering where the "5 acres" were.

All in all, I had an amazing time, and would HIGHLY recommend this place! Dr. Liza is an absolute sweetheart, and working with her was very easy (payment transaction, etc..). I look forward to returning again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Thanksgiving Peace and Beauty With Awesome Views

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

We arrived in November and loved all the colors. The House was decorated very cleanly and with beautiful oak floors throughout and slate and travertine stone in bathrooms and kitchen, The granite made us feel luxurious and the gas stove was wonderful for baking and cooking with entertaining. It has
glass counters and granite to serve plates and dialogue with guests in the dining area,, so you are not cooped up cooking but connecting with the dining area and living room. We stayed in alot so the views of the living room with vaulted floor to celing windows let us bring the outside in and we could see snow capped yosemite moutains. Things were still green because they had rain. We also walked to the track and field behind the house hidden but a few minute walk and got our exercise daily as well as going to the local river about 1/2 mile from the house. My husband fished and got some catch! WE also ventured to nearby Bass Lake and to Yosemite. We saw recommended Whiskey falls close by and hike Angel Falls at Bass Lake. Lastly Manzanita lake was only 2 miles away and water easy access enough to picnic right at the shore and fish again. The house was warm, well decorated, and peaceful with deer in the dawn by the picture bedroom master window! We were very comfortable and pleased with the service of owners and caretaker from begining to end. We even had a wood stove fire and central heat, so never cold, and we took hot jacuzzi baths at night, where you can look out the tub and see the moon and hear and see nature out your back door. Town was one mile away so we could grab groceries, had our dog groomed and got some local fresh eggs. We are coming again next year in the spring to see the wild flowers. Highly recommend spot if you like easy access and peace.
We couldnt understand the road complaints as its very short and not steep of the main road and as teh owner said grated, but maybe as they said it was the rain, and they obviously took care of it. We were happy, rested and well toured.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

NEW ROAD, NEW LAYOUT, NEW KITCHEN Appliances/pots

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

We are Happy to have the chance to respond to reviews. We Asphalt grated our road for $2000 after this August guest, which is less than 1/10 a mile of the main hiway 225. It is highly functional for the moutains and more so than other houses on long dirt roads. We had historic rains in spring of 2010 that washed out a gully, but it is filled and replaced and grated for easy drive. We are 2800 elevation and the road only goes up aout 20 feet difference over 1/10 mile so it is not steep and even bicycles go up the road. We also took this opportunity in december to upgrade the house and kitchen with additional supplies and new toaster and coffeemaker and plenty of pots and pans and actually had a guest, that loved the house and posted a positive review, be so kind as to donate loving time to make labels for where all the pots and pans go and begin some additional design layout for the living room and house. AGain this is highly upgraded with granite, slate, travertine, oak wood floors, waines coat wood framed patio doors/windows, double pane windows and an awesome gourmet kitchen, Bass lake realtys carvan showings told me our house had the best ammenities and most upgraded kitchen of houses they show of up to 1.5 mill. Teh kitchen and views from kitchen, dinign and living room face out to the vaulted windows and views and with the living room change it really flows. Come see us you will be sure to be pleased.
We love our guests helping us improve our lovely elegant peaceful piece of moutain retreat get away to the sierras, Bass Lake in the yosemite scenic by way.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

spacious and clean house in the woods

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2011

We stayed here in August 2011 with 9 of our friends and dog for a birthday weekend. The cabin is easy to find during the day but very hard at night because there are no lights on the road. You have to drive up a very steep dirt and unpaved road to the cabin which we were warned by other reviewers. The cabin is very nice and the description fits well. The kitchen is well equipped and we were able to make and enjoy nice meals and used the patio for a night of bbq. The cabin is about 20-30 mins from Bass Lake and 1 hour to the center Yosemite National Park so it was nice to spend one day at Bass Lake and the other day at Yosemite. We also enjoyed the recreation area which is directly across the street (down the paveroad). When we were there, the water was low but we were still able to play with the rope which was super fun! All in all, this is a nice cabin. Great place for a quiet getaway and/or adventures in the wild.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Location and Comfortable Accommodations

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 15, 2011

The house was spacious and privately located with a very nice kitchen and comfortable tempurpedic beds. The floor to ceiling windows in the living room made watching the sunrise easy, and the wrap around porch gave us a good spot from which to watch birds. It was great to have a place that was nearby the things we came to visit. For last-minute grocery needs, there was a store about a mile away from the house, so we lacked for nothing. The drive to the South Yosemite entrance was beautiful, and the fall colors were spectacular. We ate at Ducey's one night and enjoyed every bite. Definitely a good place to come and bring your family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simple Beautifying Up grades, kitchen, $2500 bed

Review submitted: November 25, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

Dear Guests, We were pleased to see simple feedback with simple corrections we can make.
I personally went up this summer and brought up cookware and our caretaker was contacted to buy new cookware of which she did. It sounds like our drawers need better organization, as I know we have more than three new fry pans, nine pots, three of each size and a full set of casserole dishes, muffin tins, cookie sheets, etc. We are going to upgrade organization as the kitchen is very high end luxury with multiple oak roller cabinets, extra storage and wood wine glass rack. It is large and things get shuffled easily.
Therefore, I will have our staff maintain a new system of pots and pans that I put in place this week. Our property sleeps 8 in beds in four rooms, and we have two extra day beds in the living dining area, so we are removing them, as our furnishings are very nice and don't show well with extra sleeping. We did this to accommodate larger groups, but have decided to provide fold out futons, instead that can be stored away. We planted a yard, in the moutons, which is rare, we had some early heavy rains and definitely can handle working out the yard, but rain and snow are forthcoming so we can work out any mud as things dry out. We have one nice set of silverware but on my visit up saw it can easily get out-of-order, I have a nice wood slotted tray and it will keep things separated precisely. Our $2500 temperpedic Master bed is our best asset and is a nice frame we can oil. Lastly we can provide short one page contracts to flow easily, as now there is damage protection insurance for $39.
We are happy to make corrections and the home stands in the area voted number one luxury
vaca rental.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful place & beautiful weather

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

We had a terrific time up at your place in North Fork. Beautiful place & beautiful weather too! Just wish our plans allowed as to stay a bit longer.

Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

EXCELLENT Property/Had a blast

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

My husband and I and another couple and our kids needed a time out from our business. We also do vacation rental cleaning and windows. We have a good sense of properties and picked this property because it was very nice and looked clean and had things to do nearby for us and the kids. The owner asked us to give feedback on the house, the area and the kitchen stock and anything else that had been of previous concern. First of all this is the best kitchen and house we could find in the yosemite area and for the price, its a score for luxury. Liza asked us to give feedback on the kitchenware. We found plenty of nice white dishes, in fact, there were new dishes stocked in the back un opened if we needed more. There were plenty of pots and pans and at least 3 teflon pans. She had both older pots and new ones, which is why I think some past renters thought some were scratched. I personally need both as when I cook hard to clean things, I dont like to ruin only new stuff. We made all our own meals and found all that we needed and the cupboards and drawers were not empty but had all the basic needs. The owner had not added anything and there really is no need. Also the house is so well layed out to entetain between the kitchen and the diining and living room areas. There is privacy also since a door closes to the hallway to the bedrooms so one can stay up late while others sleep.
As far as food in town, there was a one mile away gourmet restaurant. It is related to the owners of the elderberry restaurant in oakhurst, voted 5 star. The food at the mexican place was clean and not greasy, but homemade and well priced. The grocery store was a plus and not to be complained about. dont the previous posters realize there are no grocery stores inside yosemite and the small towns sprinkled around the borders have small family run stores or vons in oakhurst. This is not the big city , but the country. We still found fresh farm food there, corn on the cob and watermelon from local farmers, much better than a regular grocery for some fresh local stuff. And even the DVD store man gives out fresh farm eggs from local grown.. amazing. There is plenty to do in the small town one mile , both shop at a few cute stores for souveniers, as well as hardward, pet groomer, dentist and two restaurants,as well as the ranger station and an adorable river to walk through, two of them with paths.
I would not complain,you have to just look or ask where things are and see they are right here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

ROAD PAVED is GREAT and NEWS from Owners

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

HI, this is the owners, Dr Liza and Mike. We had a very successful summer, booked every day with cooler than normal but perfect weather. We had 100 year historic rains last winter/spring so waterfall were going all year this year.
We had many happy groups. We choose to upgrade our road because the weather had brought to our attention a pothole washed out so cars that were not trucks could feel those. We worked from May to August to secure someone in the moutains and we did finally get someone to pave our road, which most neighbors do not, we had it paved and filled with the tar bits to make it last ten years or more and be smooth costing us $2000. We also noted any comments, and it appears everyone loves the house and the ammenities. We found that we may need to give a map to get to the river, because if you go through the trees it is hard to find, but there is a road called north fork community center exit and its a 10 minute walk for us or 2 minute drive and you can park right by the park and river to swim all day at a neighbor who shares their awesome property for local events and neighbors. We also looked at our kitchen and found we have an abundance of pots old and new so maybe having them both posted will help you see we have a well stocked kitchen and its as all agree extremly nice. well we are already booked for all sept and into oct and holidays. we have thanksgving left so come on down.. have a blessed year and thanks for all your support. Liza and Mike

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

FAMILY GET AWAY

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 11, 2011

We came down from a long trip and needed a place for kids and dogs and nearby things to do. The owners were very helpful when we got lost and were late and easy to book. the property itself was really upgraded and the kids had so much fun local at the river and playgrounds. We ate in town at the mexican gourmet restaurant which was quick and easy and inexpensive. Our dog was able to be outside without a leash and we enjoyed the deck and star gazing at night. We were able to rest as well as get into yosemite for a day. Bass Lake with inner tubing and swiming picnic spots was a good time too. We would come back in a hearbeat the next time we are here. The trees were also very nice, all kinds on the property from pine, to oak and manzanitas with big towering shade. The road was fine and the owners let us know it is expensively being paved when first available end of August, but we had no problems. They asked us to respond to a question feedback about the house and property but we found all in order, including a well stocked kitchen pots and pans and dishes, including an oak wine glass rack. Kitchen is stunning. Thanks again Liza and Mike. See you next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LOVELY TRIP and PARADISE PORCH

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

HI Liza, Mike, Cathey thanks for a lovely trip! We had a great time in Yosemite and at Bass Lake and the house was a wonderful place to relax and regroup. That wrap-around porch is a paradise in the morning.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BLAST SUMMER COMING BACK NEXT YEAR

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We had a blast at this Property. Right above the home, just behind the house up the hill was a playing field for football, track, basketball, walking, and swingsets etc belong to the local school but was accesible to our kids to play their brains out. The Very best thing was the swimming at the local community center, a river dammed of for the Loggers Jamboree that they leave for all the kids and families to swim. We would spend the whole day with our picnic gear and almost forget to do other things. We also rented bbq boats and jet skis at nearby bass lake. We had 3 couples so the three bedrooms worked great and the beds were temperpedic or had toppers and were really comfortable. the kids (5) had the den bunks and extra day beds so we had our privacy. Views were great with vaulted windows and we cooked in the gourmet kitchen to save money and the grocery store was only one mile from us so we didnt have to rush around if we forgot something. THe house was very beautiful
and modern. Our last day we went to the yosemite scenic by way and Redinger Lake, which we would not have known about , except the locals informed us. We are going to come again next year and stay longer. The owners were great, and we enjoyed talking with the caretaker who owns the motel next door and is on the chamber of commerce, gave us great things to do local as well as in the park. less driving and lots of water sports local. A great vacation for our family and kids!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LUXURY VACATION full stars for us!

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

We were asked to post a review for the owner. We stayed the same week of a negative posting. We loved this property. We have come to the Yosemite/Bass Lake area many years. We have found the Yosemite Scenic by way both a Better price than Bass Lake and more peaceful with views that you cant find there. We did not find the short gravel yard to the house a problem. Every house around has a dirt road to it as its the MOUNTAINS. We know from coming here often and from living in colorado before. We did not come up in a truck or 4 wheel drive, just
a toyota camry that did fine. We did not find the trees scratching our car unless you did not stay on the road. In fact the trees are what make this property awesome. It has views, but privacy. The house is full stocked and the beds more comfortable than any place we stayed as they all had foam toppers on them and two of them temperpedics. There were all kinds of beds extra available for our large group and we were grateful for that as most rentals limit their sleeping. In room you can sleep 8 in four rooms here. Then they had two extra day beds available that we were able to bring two families and split the bill. The house was 2500 sq feet and much larger than other rentals we looked at. They also had portable futons you can put on the full deck at night to see the stars. There is nothing wrong with this home, in fact we found everything right. Immaculate, fully upgraded, granite, marble, hardwood floors and double paned celing to floor windows to view the moutains, not sure you can curtain these so whats to complain about, its the living room with overflow beds. All the rooms have expensive wooden upgraded blinds. The view picure 20 foot window should not have curtains! well kudos to the owners, we would come back anytime of year and we had the best time swimming at the river and it had a park for the kids and swings. Not sure why the others complained over two potholes that you can avoid if you drive slow like you are supposed to on dirt roads. The road is not an impedment by any means and normal for the moutains. In fact the road had been re grated, but a gully had a pot hole as you can see from heavy rains which looks to have been filled in but re driven out. I am sure the owners will address it and if not it does not cause a problem. The kitchen is fully stocked and the games are puzzles and life and were fine.. not that the owner advertised any games and we spent out time outdoors! we rate this 5 star Luxury.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Very dissappointing , wouldn't recommend!

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

On the positive side, this is a nice house with a beautiful view, but that's about it. Owners' description is exaggerated and photos are deceiving. The swimming river,( which was a big part of us choosing this house) is not " across from us" but at least a 20 minute walk in a horrible terrain, and nothing like the picture, very disappointing.BTW, raft and kayak nowhere in sight, false advertising. We went to Bass Lake instead but leaving the house and coming back was an awful experience because of the horrendous access to the house. Numerous potholes are several inches deep, overgrown brush scratched our cars repeatedly; our tires were burning at one point. What makes it worse is that the owner lied about repairing the driveway after one bad review. We stayed there a couple of weeks later and nothing changed, it's just as bad as the previous renter said, or worse. "100 000 K " kitchen looks good, but not functional, lots of empty drawers, poorly equipped. Pots and pans we found have seen the better days, dingy and scratched. We stayed in many rentals over the years, this one rates very low concerning the variety and quality of utensils and dishes, especially for the price. Hood was so dirty, someone wrote "wash me" in the dust. Bathrooms are nice but none of the locks work. One of the bathroom sinks was clogged and there was no hot water the first day we arrived. We left messages for the caretaker, but she didn't return our calls until late next day .We were lucky that one of us knew how to adjust the heater. Sleeping areas: tempurpedic bed was nice, but the rest of the beds were really uncomfortable. Bedding was not changed on all beds since the last renter, as we found hairs and stains in couple of beds. We also found it odd that owner had two beds in the living room and bunk beds next to the entrance. Our group of eight felt very cramped. Outdoor furniture is really cheap, wobbly and uncomfortable, no outside table. Games in the bedroom were useless, none had all the pieces, and we found no brochures of local attractions as commonly found in rentals.
On the positive note, air conditioning works great, helpful for the people sleeping in the living room , as the sun starts burning early in the morning and there are no blinds on the window. I'm sure that is great in winter, not so good in summer.
Finally, do yourself a favor and rent a house on Bass Lake, closer to Yosemite and probably cheaper and more convenient if you like water access.

Owners response: Group Bullying is a crime!
AS the owner and Locals know it takes a few weeks to a month to get a Tractor to pave a road that has always been functional until 100 years history rains in Yosemite. Out of 3000, renters in ten years our only bad reveiw is about potholes, after the rain damaged our access road and both renters stayed only 3 nts each. All the other renters have been very happy with our stay and we have repeat customers, including renters using this same road in the last same month. I took the road 4 weeks ago and have no problem but if you bring a car to yosemite this year you will have problems anywhere of road. Houses are off road , except hotels. . It does need new grating but we have not been able to secure someone locally as it has to be scheduled one to two months in advance . I have had renters tell me our house is nicer than any property and in yosemite area or bass lake. Bass Lake luxury homes are more expensive and only 5 miles north. Our swimming river is a 2 mintue drive or 1/2 mile walk. I do not exaggerate as many love this property as we do. I notice that renters also bash based on the previous note. Caretakers are to clean not to be hotel servants. We maintain this property well and the road is only 1/8 mile off the main paved road. One can park at the bottom or take the dirt road which a river ran through due to rains first time ever. It is accessible by all means. Games are left by previous tenants and not on our listing. I also tell all that the kayaking & boat rentals are at bass lake 5 mi north. I do attest that this rental is luxury as stated with stunning views. Our kitchen has plenty of pots and pans and heavy nice glasses and at least a 12 place table setting in white porcelain. I am not sure how this bullying began but we are going to end it because we do not falsely advertise by any means. Our caretaker owns the south fork motel. she responded in less than 24 hours to a toilet that they overflowed and expected immediate results. It was fully functional on their arrival and depature. We are also the mountains and everyone is on septic. If you come from the city expect to drive to all water sports from any house and also to have septic which is sensitive so do not overload the toilet. Also no vacation renters have service or on staff other than wkly maids unless you go to a hotel. This complaint is of potholes not because the house is not accomodating or beautiful and fully functional. We do have the best swiming river

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Ok, but I wouldn't stay again

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

On the good side, the house is very nice and well maintained. The kitchen equipment and cabinetry are top notch (although the pots and pans leave a little to be desired), and the bathrooms are beautiful. The bedrooms are quite nice and comfortable. We used the air conditioning during the day, but turned it off at night and were very comfortable. Ducey's restaurant is nearby on Bass Lake, and we had some lovely meals there.

On the downside, the main family living area was very small, especially so because there were two beds right in the living room!! The beds had to be used for "sitting space," and there were only five of us in the house. I can't imagine how 12 people could relax. Most places we have stayed at this price level were well equipped with games and books, but this house was not. We tried to play one of the few games that were there on a rainy day, but pieces were missing. If you are a "foodie," you'll have a problem. We drove all the way to Oakhurst to get to a "good" grocery store, and it was very un-impressive. Bass Lake was disappointing to us - it is very small, and low, as a dam is being built. There are no beach areas that were appealing to us. Also, the road up to the house is in terrible condition - the ruts are 10-12 inches deep, and the brush is so overgrown it scratches the side of the car. This part of the property is very poorly maintained. The biggest problem was the lease - I returned it several times with obvious mistakes and carry over terms for other renters. There were conflicting references to pricing and dates all over it. Even at that, the final lease had the wrong dates in it and this turned into a problem for us.

All in all we could make do, and did. The place has a lot of potential, but all told, didn't live up to it. We wouldn't stay again.

Owners response: National Lampoons Family
We have an excellent luxury property. 99% of our renters are extremely satisfied.The tenant is intentionally defaming my property because her signed lease was not read for departure time and different than she anticipated. Why be there a week if its so bad without one phone call complaint to me during your stay and wanting to stay another day!
This is not about this house or the area.
The four areas of concern are clearly an attack and inaccurate and baseless. My living room has a suede great condition couch, loveseat and chair in the living room, with an extra day bed. People do not need to sit on beds. WE merely additional day beds so we can accomodate larger families when desired. One is in the living room with the couch, love seat and chair. The house is 2500 sq feet and a large living room with vaulted
cedar celings and two story high windows. The kitchen is fully stocked with over 20 pots, pans and casserole dishes and spices, great glasses and dishes and utensils.
Games are provided as courtesy and are in the side bedroom. Not sure why they say there are none. The grocery store and town are one mile away.
We are home STATE LOGGERS of California Jamboree. It has an amazing swiming river, none of which you will find inside the park. It is truly loved by all renters, ourselves and the community.
If there is one pothole it is because this last year even into June we have had 100 year historical rains. There are waterfalls unapproachable due to excess flow. Remember this is the mountains and if this years historical heavy rains have caused a pothole, we are totally able to repair it and did so last month. The road itself was just grated in June. IF that pothole is re worn we have no problem maintaining or attending to concerns reported to us.
As far as Bass lake, voted number one lake resort in US in 2008: I was there in june this year. There is the same great swimming areas, however you need to read the
SIGNS or ask ranger one mile from our house,for camping and beach areas which are opposite the dam side which the repairs have nothing to do with the swimming spots which are fuller than normal from the heaviest rains we have had since early 1900's.
We are sorry if the dates on the lease did not fit our renters initial inquiry
as I received it signed by renter as accepted.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Awesome 4th July Yosemite & Loggers Jamboree

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

WE had an awesome trip and it was not long enough! Especially great for kids.
We had 10 of us and the kids had their own rooms while we had a master bedroom
with a temperpedic bed we loved!
Great Swimming Lake was only a 5 minute walk from the house from this beautiful immaculate property. We enjoyed having the State Loggers Jamboree out our back yard, an event we attend every year, State wide championship. We couldnt ask for a better location as we could walk to it in 5 minutes. Afterwards we were able to swim in the best swimming around at the same park by the house. We are only one mile away from a small town to get everythign we needed for food and videos and even a dog groomer. The Ranger station is behind the grocery store and was extremely helpful with maps of local hiking and the park. We were not in long lines of crowds being the Yosemite Scenic by Way entrance. We also had time to get to Bass Lake for jet skiing and kayaking for our last day. Our first day was in the park, the second the Jamboree and the last the water sports. The owner asked us for our review because they said they got a bad location wrap and we were so happy to say this location served all our needs and we also as the owner indicated drove only 1/2 hour to the park entrance south gates. We had no problems with the road in our mercedes which is quite low. We like that we were at the top of the hill just off the main road, it was private with views of the yosemite mountains and no one could see in but we could see out. The house and the grounds were beautiful and we had access to all our needs. We have stayed in side the park at the Awahnee and found our experience of vaction homes better as we have more to do at our fingertips.
We even can get to local waterfalls around the corner,, we didnt go but will be back for Whiskey creek by the house. We highly recommend this house for not only its superb luxury home which is hard to find, but the location and many things to do and the owners graciousness and a great caretaker who owns the motel next door and ran the loggers Jamboree, A great community of people here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Awesome 4th July Yosemite & State Loggers Jamboree

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

WE had an awesome trip and it was not long enough! Especially great for kids.
We had 10 of us and the kids had their own rooms while we had a master bedroom
with a temperpedic bed we loved!
Great Swimming Lake was only a 5 minute walk from the house from this beautiful immaculate property. We enjoyed having the State Loggers Jamboree out our back yard, an event we attend every year, State wide championship. We couldnt ask for a better location as we could walk to it in 5 minutes. Afterwards we were able to swim in the best swimming around at the same park by the house. We are only one mile away from a small town to get everythign we needed for food and videos and even a dog groomer. The Ranger station is behind the grocery store and was extremely helpful with maps of local hiking and the park. We were not in long lines of crowds being the Yosemite Scenic by Way entrance. We also had time to get to Bass Lake for jet skiing and kayaking for our last day. Our first day was in the park, the second the Jamboree and the last the water sports. The owner asked us for our review because they said they got a bad location wrap and we were so happy to say this location served all our needs and we also as the owner indicated drove only 1/2 hour to the park entrance south gates. We had no problems with the road in our mercedes which is quite low. We like that we were at the top of the hill just off the main road, it was private with views of the yosemite mountains and no one could see in but we could see out. The house and the grounds were beautiful and we had access to all our needs. We have stayed in side the park at the Awahnee and found our experience of vaction homes better as we have more to do at our fingertips.
We even can get to local waterfalls around the corner,, we didnt go but will be back for Whiskey creek by the house. We highly recommend this house for not only its superb luxury home which is hard to find, but the location and many things to do and the owners graciousness and a great caretaker who owns the motel next door and ran the loggers Jamboree, A great community of people here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great house, everything else was sub par especially for the price

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

Let me start off the review by saying that this is a beautiful house, but that's pretty much it. The owners put $100K into the gourmet kitchen, but could have spent a fraction of that on the drive way. The house is about a quarter mile off the road and the drive way is just gravel, completely uneven. It was a nightmare every time we had to step out. The bottom of my Civic was scraped numerous times. Unless you own a truck, I would not recommend this place.

Secondly, this house is not the best location for Yosemite. Its pretty close to Sierra National Forest, but its about a 75-90 minute drive from the South entrance of Yosemite. Add extra time if your visiting over a long weekend.

Also, this place is not meant for 10-12 adults. I would say this meant for 6 adults & about 4 children. Its has 3 bedrooms, a bunk in the den and couple of single beds in the living room (yes, oddly placed in the living room). Also, one of the bathrooms has a jacuzzi which is awesome for relaxing, but isn't the most comfortable for a shower. And none of the locks in the bathrooms work (I was told this is common for vacation rentals, but I haven't seen this before).

At the end, we were charged 32$ extra for over using heating(?). We only turned on the heater 1 night among the 3 nights we were there. Guess just another scheme to nickel and dime customers.

Overall, a fair experience. Not recommended unless you own a truck and want to visit Sierra National Forest. Definitely not recommended for Yosemite.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: We experience consistent Positive reviews. Yosemite Park is 90 square miles. WE are the FORMAL Yosemite Scenic By way access to Government borders of Yosemite even though outside government borders. We are 30 minutes from the south entrance government park Border, 1.5 hours is FALSE. It is one hour from any vac rental to the center Valley. The Park inside and outside IS VAST and a one hour minimum drive from any house or point. Our house was voted top Luxury vac rental by a recent real estate caravan. Vacation rentals are mostly (98%) outside the government owned borders of the national Park because building is now not allowed and the few homes are from the past. We send out a clear link address to all our rental inquiries to verify location and address before even beginning our negotiations with renters. It is clearly marked on the map for their viewing. Being inside the park is not necessarily better. as there are few houses inside as it is remote with no amenities and still an hour drive to the village from any house inside or outside the borders. Our road is drivable by both cars or trucks. It is 1/8 mile off the main road. INSDIDE park is government owned therefore has no amenities, no groceries, no gas, no restaurants other than TWO hotels that are more expensive than vacation rental houses. The THIRD Hotel is outside the park. My add clearly states four sleeping areas, 3bd. 2.5 bath plus den and extra day beds for those that would like larger groups, which pay only $50 more for 12 than for 6. .Because we have a larger home we are gracious to accommodate up to 10-12 which is about 70% of our bookings. We clearly explain the beds available upon inquiry and rental agreement. The beds are comfortable and we provide a $2500 Temperpedic in the master. We have had no scraped cars ever on our road reported. We charge no utilities except gas which varies extensively from renter to renter and indicated in our agreement. Our Rates are less than homes with less luxury and farther from the borders. River rafting, the Yosemite train, golf courses, boat rentals, water skiing, swimming holes and beaches at lakes, kayaking, etc are outside the park borders and the by way is well known off the beaten path for renters and is well enjoyed by our tenants. Whatever triggered this one review is not because this is not an ideal situation for summer or winter renters. The park itself is a series of tours and stops along the most pictured DRIVE in the world.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Week Long Family Get Away in Pristine Yosemite

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Hey Liza, thanks for everything. We had a blast. Again, thanks!

Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 

Simply Loved it

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

The owner has put a lot of thought into their beautiful home and it shows.
The place is very comfortable for large family getaways. The house has all the amenities of your own house in a great location. The approach was a little unexpected but overall a great experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely retreat so close to Yosemite!

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

We were there over Thanksgiving - and the home is beautiful. The owners are so gracious and worked with us on our schedule and requests (timing, budget, etc). We had an amazing trip and the house was perfect! The kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans, and dishes! My family was only there - but great for groups as well! Lots of bed and sofa space. We'll definitely be back!! It was so close to Yosemite, Bass Lake and great hiking.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Better than we imagined...

Review submitted: December 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

What would otherwise have been a stressful camping trip (with a child and elderly parents with disabilities) turned to everything but when we found this beautiful property. Upon contacting the property's owner, I knew this was the perfect place for our family's short vacation. Their rates are more than comparable and you can tell they truly just want people to enjoy their home....and Yosemite to boot! The south entrance is close, and the drive is amazing.

The home itself is in a perfect location, a small town with shops (grocery, too) literally 2 minutes up the road. The house is VERY well kept, the kitchen a chef's dream, the rooms are comfy (the tempur-pedic bed was amazing) and sleeps plenty without feeling cramped. You will have all the conveniences of home (washer/dryer, WiFi, etc.) right there with you. We're from LA, and being here made it feel like we were worlds away...a much needed retreat from the hustle and bustle. Bass Lake is very close and there is a waterfall nearby.

The property owners are great communicators and incredibly kind people. We've never felt more at home in someone else's house. They're easily accessible, trustworthy professionals that I guarantee will take care of you and ensure your comfort during your stay. A HUGE plus in my book! Another huge plus is that they're animal lovers and welcomed our 50 lb dog--he just LOVED exploring the property (oh yeah, you get 5 acres!).

I promise you won't regret staying here. We can't wait to return in the summer...everything was just perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review