reviews for: listing #46606 - Maggie Valley, North Carolina Cabin rental

Creek 'n Woods III - GREAT CABIN - minutes to Ski Slopes !!!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Maggie Valley Country Club
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $160 /nt
    $1,120 - $1,120 /wk
    $4,480 - $4,480 /mth

sort by:

Top of the line

Review submitted: April 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 17, 2014

The Creek and Woods cabins are all fabulous. I have stayed in three of the four available, and been so pleased with each one. This one is in a beautiful spot. Tom and Sue are so personable and had such homey touches to the place. They are super responsive to any requests, and the place is always spotless. They have become friends over the ten years my friends and I have been going there; next fall will be our twentieth trip. We had tried many cabins over the years, but once we discovered these, have never looked again. They are clean, well stocked, and you feel the owners are always available to you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Creek N Woods III

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

So sorry to take such a long time to write this review. We had a family get together on this occasion and had a wonderful time thanks to our great accommodations. Tom was so gracious in welcoming us to our destination and we had no complaints whatsoever. Loved the view, the hot tub, the close proximity to everything, and we certainly would recommend this place to any of our friends or family. We hope to visit again in the near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

You finally found the one!

Review submitted: March 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 4, 2014

A last minute decision to include a family ski trip to Cataloochee for spring break had me searching late into the night for a cabin that had it all but was within my budget. I have stayed in quite a few cabins/chalets and have been greatly disappointed-hello one spatula!-but I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED and in fact, I was VERY HAPPY at how well stocked and comfy this cabin was. My husband even commented it felt like someone lived there because it was so homey. This cabin had the BEST STOCKED KITCHEN (think of your own home), plenty of space to spread out, a large HOTtub, and a convenient, beautiful location. My five-year-old and seven-year-old loved all the games, books, and family friendly movie choices. Add all this to QUICK and thorough responses from Tom, the owner, and you can stop reading reviews for all those other cabins. You finally found the BEST ONE and can now start planning other aspects of your getaway or finally go to bed and get some sleep.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful cabin; private yet centrally located; great owners!

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2013

This cabin (Creek n Woods III) was fantastic! The view is unsurpassed and the cabin was impeccably clean and stocked with everything you might need except for your food and clothes (from a full kitchen to plenty of towels). The hot tub is a major plus. The property is beautiful and extremely clean. The neighborhood is very quiet and is definitely private, even though there are some neighbors. Location is great: centrally located in the region and a close drive to most of the major attractions in the area.

Tom and Sue are great people and they ensure excellent customer service. Their website is accurate and informative, and they are very easy to reach if you have any questions before, during, or after your rental. They were also prompt with the deposit refund.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyable

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

The owners made our stay very enjoyable. Tom and Sue thank you for the personalize service you all extended to our family. We enjoyed staying at your place and we will stay again with you all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FANTASTIC PLACE

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2013

The property was located in a very nice and quiet neighborhood, had a beautiful view and close to the town Maggie Valley. The house was spotless and the beds were quite comfortable. Tom had a great personality, hospitable and kind. Sorry we did not have the opportunity to meet his wife Sue. Maybe we will get to meet her the next time we go up. The cookies were delicious which really hit the spot with our coffee and hot chocolate. My daughter, interior designer and owns her own business, really liked the coffee table and wanted it but I, her mother, decided she could not have it. We loved the man made pond with the frogs. The home was very comfortable. Better than staying in a hotel. Would definitely recommend this property for anyone looking to stay in the Maggie Valley area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Creek'n Woods III Cabin

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

This has been one of our favorite vacations! The beautiful surroundings, adorable cabin, with attention to every detail, was perfect. Tom and Sue were excellent hosts. Anytime I called, they answered immediately or called back right away with answers to my questions. We are definitely going to try and come back to Maggie Valley soon and stay at one of Tom and Sue's cabins.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved It!!

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

Just returned from a short trip to Maggie Valley to visit with relatives. This was our second stay in one of the Creek 'n Woods vacation rentals. Tom & Sue are wonderful owners and make sure every detail is perfect. Once again, the home exceeded our expectations! It was beautifully decorated, well equipped, the beds were super comfortable and it has a large porch for relaxing. The Wi-Fi worked great which is always important to us. We even arrived to a fresh batch of chocolate chip cookies! We only wish we could have stayed longer! We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Great place to getaway and relax. Tom and Sue make you feel welcome from the start. Cabin is clean and well appointed and as described. Close enough to shopping and sight seeing to keep it easy! Private yet close to everything.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Tom and Sue do a great job of making you feel welcome from the start. The cabin is clean and well appointed and just the right place to get away from it all. The cabin provides plenty of privacy to relax by the waterfall pond. Short drives to beautiful views and shopping.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect, despite the circumstances

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

My grandpa, who lived in Waynesville, had a stroke and was dying. I contacted the folks at who listed this property to see if they could fit us on in short notice. They did, and were very accommodating. My parents were the first to arrive, and met with Tom, and were greeted with fresh flowers and homemade cookies. Even though we were grieving (my grandpa ended up dying before we could arrive) the beautiful scenic landscape, the wonderful cabin, and the ability to be with our entire family (9 of us with all of my children) help ease our pain. We even had a little time to squeeze in some visits to the hot tub to help with our stress.
Our favorite parts of this stay were: the gorgeous view on the amazing wrap around porch, the hot tub, and being close to the areas other attractions, restaurants, and hotels (where the rest of our extended family was staying), and being able to be together in one place, as I mentioned before.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Batting 1000 with Tom and Sue

Review submitted: December 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 18, 2012

This is our second stay in a Knapko Family Vacation Rental. Creek n' Woods III is a quaint, mountain delight with everything you need for utlimate relaxation. We took a short drive to the slopes and the rest of the days ate and vegged out. From movies to books for the adults and kids, to the family pantry and counting chickens, everything was just a delight. Tom and Sue offer the best concierge, personal touch service you will get from any cabin rental service. We will definitely be back (every year!). Thanks Tom and Sue for another wonderful family vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great property!

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

The property was located in a very nice and quiet neighborhood and had a beautiful view. The house was spotless and the beds were quite comfortable. Tom and Sue were very hospitable and kind. Would definitely recommend this property for anyone looking to stay in the Maggie Valley area.

-Patrick, Toqua, and Daisy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEAUTIFUL cabin and SPECTACULAR location!

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

We stayed with another couple for the weekend and it was fantastic! The view is simply breathtaking and the cabin was impeccably clean and furnished. It is conveniently located close to so many things....we especially enjoyed the Blue Ridge Parkway and Harrah's Cherokee Casino (and of course the hot tub!). It is perfect for familities as well, with Santaland and gem mining and train rides. We are looking forward to going back with our kids! Tom and Sue are just lovely people and give the best customer service imagineable. They were also prompt with the deposit refund (which is not always the case). I'd give it 10 stars if I could!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Creek'n woods

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

Michalik Family-this place is very clean and pretty quiet.Everybody who likes mountains should definately stay there.Love to be back

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5 stars all the way

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

Creek 'n Woods owners Sue & Tom are what first class hospitality is all about.
My wife & I, our children and grandchildren were treated like royalty while staying in this 5 star mountain cabin. The cabin had everything we needed and the location could not have been any better. Simply put, I would suggest to anyone to use any of the properties owned by Sue & Tom,
They are first class.
Sherman, Betsy, Katie, Scott, Aiden & Ava

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Soothing Sounds of Water

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

Cabin #3 is a delightful respite place! From the soothing bubbling sounds of the waterfall, ample wrap around porch with rocking chairs, to the warmth of the hot tub, this place whispers relax! Comfortable bedding and well equipped kitchen make this a perfect place to enjoy the surrounding Maggie Valley area.

Owners response: Creek 'n Woods #3 is our 'tree house'...at least that's the feeling you get sitting in a rocking chair on the covered porch...looking into the trees. The sound of the waterfall off the back porch adds to the peace and serenity of this cabin. Our focus for the past 11 years has been to provide cabins that are welcoming, clean, comfortable, and the perfect place for our guests to unwind and relax.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

OUTSTANDING

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

First, this place is a slice of heaven on earth. After reviewing numerous vacation spots in N.C. we decided on Creek n Woods because of how it looked. When we arrived we were not disappointed one bit. The place is outstanding!!! The cabin was very clean and organized, the place was immaculate. The pictures do not do the cabin any justice to how it actual looks and feels when you arrive and unload, it truly is fantastic. We arrived at the established meeting spot that Sue and Tom had made with us and within a few minutes we were in shock at the beautiful surroundings and this beautiful cabin tucked away in the mountains. We went through all of the amenities and rooms and received a very thorough break down on the entire cabin. Then Sue and Tom went and brokedown where everything was in town for us to get our food and supplies. They have a basket with all kinds of point of interests to review and chose from. We walked up and down the mountain several times and each time it was more special then they last. It was a great place to relax, reset, and recharge for our family. We had 3 adults and 2 children and we had plenty of room left over. We grilled out a few times and enjoyed a relaxing dip in the hot tub with the birds sining in the background. If you are going to plan a family vacation this is the place to go. Sue and Tom make themselves available for all the questions that you have.

T.J., Susie, Anya, Angela and Elizabeth from Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Nice property - Excellent Service

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

I'm in the service and sales industry and I've got to give the owners of Creek n Woods an A+ on thier customer service. The house was just as advertised and the master bed might just be the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in :) Thanks Tom and Sue for taking care of us and letting us stay in your property. Can't wait to go back. I have no reservations about recommending this property to anyone. It's maybe 2-3 minutes off the main strip in Maggie Valley. See you next time !! . . . . Signed....the dirt bike guys :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

More than we ever expected!

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 7, 2012

I have never seen North Carolina so I packed up my senior mother and made the trip down to Maggie Valley. Tom and Sue made the trip perfect. The cabin was spotless and comfortable. You can stay here and feel as if you are entering your own home. Everything you need is there for you to use. The views are beautiful and Tom was always available to answer all of our many questions about the area. I promise you that you will be comfortable and totally enjoy your stay at this location.

Owners response: This review reinforces for us that our mission of creating a cabin in the woods and on creeks or waterfalls with that cozy, sense of 'home' is working. It's important to us that our guests feel comfortable, and we are always available to give directions or suggestions on how best to enjoy this beautiful area. The Blue Ridge Parkway is no more than 10 minutes from any of our cabins, Asheville is 40 minutes away....nothing is too far away from Maggie Valley!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Memories

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Our stay was the most memorable vacation our family has ever taken. We vacation twice per year but this first trip to Maggie Valley was incredible. Tom and Sue went above and beyond our expectations from the homemade cookies, the bottle of wine and the birthday cake they had waiting for our son! The house was so very clean, the view from the hot tub was breathtaking and the information in the cabin directing us to some fabulous outings was priceless. Tom and Sue welcomed phone calls throghout our stay with questions we had about directions and activities. It was like having our personal concierge! I would highly recommend anyone stay at one of Tom and Sue's rentals. I will also ask them to share with anyone interested, our contact information, for a more personal referral. Happy vacationing!!

Owners response: Happy guests with great memories of their time in Maggie Valley-that's what we strive for with all of our guests. Maggie Valley is a wonderful place for a getaway-in the mountains, quiet, lots to do-or not. Our cabins are meant to be that cozy, clean 'home base' to return to after a day of exploring as well as a great place to spend the day together. Spring is a lovely time to come to the mountains for couples, girlfriends, friends, families for Spring Break-quiet, you have a front row seat to watch the mountains 'green up', and there is always more to do than time permits. If you're planning a vacation to celebrate a special occasion, we are here to help make it memorable. Do you hear that? It's the mountains calling.......

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The perfect vacation ever!!

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

My family and my boy friend( now, Fiance) stayed at this cabin and celebrated New Year's eve. Tom and Sue followed up with us for the event in maggie valley before we arrived at the cabin. Tom made us feel comfortable in every way and even gave my boy friend some ideas on how he could propose to me in a romantic way. That was so sweet of you, Tom! Sue even made home made cookies for us and we loved it!!!! Their cabin was in wonderful condition and it was so cozy! Even the pillows were so clean and comfortable for us , especially for me who can be so overly sensitive. I really liked the cabin. It was in such good shape, and it was in a great condition, so cozy, and had a beautiful view! I didn't even notice the cabin had that great view until I arrived there! We are so happy that we chose to stay there and I really had romantic engagement because of it. Most cabins required so many things and extra fees, but Tom and Sue were so nice to provide such a great cabin with no specific requirements. They are so nice, sweet, and a gentle couple. Anyone will love them and be happy in choosing their cabin. I really want to recommend this cabin. No one will be disappointed with staying there.

Owners response: We were thrilled to be part of this surprise engagement, and delighted that the bride-to-be, her fiance, and her family, enjoyed our cabin at this special time in their lives. We value our guests, and are committed to making their time in Maggie Valley, NC, one to remember!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Cabin with nice people

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

My family and my boy friend( now, Fiance) stayed at this cabin and celebrated New Year's eve. Tom and Sue followed up with us for the event in maggie valley before we arrived at the cabin. Tom made us feel comfortable in every way and even gave my boy friend some ideas on how he could propose to me in a romantic way. That was so sweet of you, Tom! Sue even made home made cookies for us and we loved it!!!! Their cabin was in wonderful condition and it was so cozy! Even the pillows were so clean and comfortable for us , especially for me who can be so overly sensitive. I really liked the cabin. It was in such good shape, and it was in a great condition, so cozy, and had a beautiful view! I didn't even notice the cabin had that great view until I arrived there! We are so happy that we chose to stay there and I really had romantic engagement because of it. Most cabins required so many things and extra fees, but Tom and Sue were so nice to provide such a great cabin with no specific requirements. They are so nice, sweet, and a gentle couple. Anyone will love them and be happy in choosing their cabin. I really want to recommend this cabin. No one will be disappointed with staying there.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful Getaway

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

My boyfriend suprised me and brought me to this cute cabin in Maggie Valley! Once we walked in the door, it felt like home. We had plans to sight see and venture around the nearby areas, but the comfort and peacefullnes of tha cabin kept us contained. It was a great place to just sit and relax, and to put our worries aside. The hot tub was very relaxing on the chilly nights, and the sound of the waterfall could put me right to sleep!

Tom and Sue were great hosts-leading us up to the cabin, showing us how everything worked, and shared with us their favorite places to shop, eat, and see around the area. They let us know that we could call them if we had any questions, which made us feel very comforted. The cabin had every thing we could have ever needed, and more than we imagined-we surely did not want to leave. We will DEFINITELY be back soon!!!! Thanks Tom and Sue for the great getaway!

Kayla & Will - Mooresville, NC

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mountain Retreat

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

We have been staying at Tom and Sue's cabins for at least 8 years now. All their cabins are a home away from home. They have everything you need Starbuck's coffee to Kleenix. You can spend the entire time at the cabin relaxing in the hot tube,reading a book, or just sitting on the porch enjoying the peace and quiet.

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, relaxing place to stay then any of the cabins that Tom and Sue have will work.

Our family looks forward to our mountain weekend every year.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

What a wonderful experience

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Tom and Sue were the best. They thought of everything to make our trip special and make the cabin special. I was surprising my husband for his birthday, Sue made him brownies {and i mean home made} with birthday candles, balloons and even a card. She went way above and beyond. Any questions they both were there to help. You do need updated pictures because the pics did not do the cabin justice. It was so beautiful and soooo private, you can walk around in the nude if ya dare. I could go on and on and on. Thank you Tom and Sue, you are owner who really care. Alice and Randall

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fall in Maggie Valley

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

My husband and I spent our 39th anniversary at Creek 'n Woods III last October. We wanted to experience the beauty of the mountains in the fall.
Sue metus in the valley and drove us up the mountain to the house. She informed us they called #III "the chicken house" due to its cute decor. The pictures don't do it justice. The wrap around porch with rockers and tables let us spend time outside just enjoying the sun rising over the mountains. The hot tub and man made waterfall were so relaxing.
The kitchen was completely stocked with lots of staples and every pot, pan or dish imaginable. Sue had made us some wonderful chocolate chip cookies to welcome us. The house was very clean and supplied with everything you could possibly need.It is a lovely cabin with a "home feeling." We only used the bottom floor since it was just the two of us, but there is plenty of room upstairs for a larger family.
We spent the days exploring the beautiful mountains and in the evening we loved coming back to "roost" in the chicken house. When we return to Maggie Valley we will certainly be calling Tom & Sue at Creek 'n Woods.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome time

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

Our son just graduated from graduate school and was moving away so we did this family trip with our kids, their girlfriend and boyfriend and my parents. We had an amazing time. The home was very comfortable. We played cards on the wonderful deck, had a few cook outs and recuperated with a glass of wine and the hot tub. Could not get better than that. The house had all the little extras. We went hiking, white water rafting and tubing. Great vacation spot. We hope to do it again someday.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect vacation rental.

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

We had the privilege of staying here in June 2010, and trust me the pictures do not do it justice. The place was immaculately clean, the owners Tom and Sue could not have been more gracious. We have stayed at several cabins in the Smokey mountain area, but none of them were even close to the value we received at Creek 'n the Woods III.

Even though we were close to the city limits the place had the feel of seclusion and really added to the mountain experience. Sitting on the balcony early in the morning or late in the evening was one of the most peaceful feelings I have had and will never be forgotten.

If we go back to the Smokey's we will come back to here. Thank you Tom and Sue for a memorable vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Extremely Relaxing Atmosphere

Review submitted: July 15, 2008   Date of arrival: June 22, 2008

We actually stayed at Creek 'n Woods II, in Maggie Valley. What a fantastic experience!! Tom & Sue, the owners, have thought of EVERYthing!! Their website is very accurate, and their communication with you as a prospective guest is extraordinary. We are a group of motorcycling vacationers, travelling from Massachusetts to NC. The owners even offered to do our grocery shopping for us prior to our arrival, as it's sometimes difficult to carry lots of groceries on a motorcycle.
The property is extremely clean and well stocked with everything you can think of and then some. The neighborhood is very quiet, even though there are many homes. If you like privacy, you'll like it here. Our evening walks through the "hood" were very pleasant, and a bit of a challenge, as it is all on a mountainside, with a fairly steep grade. This felt good after spending the day on the bikes! And the fireflies lit up the road as they darted ahead of us. (There are no street lights, just front porch lights.)
The location of the property in relationship to all our destinations (Asheville, Cherokee, Deal's Gap, Blue Ridge Parkway, Gatlinburg/Pigieon Forge,etc) was excellent. Additionally, we were close to the Chamber of Commerce, Gas & grocery stores, Post Office, restaurants, and various little shops.
This was, by far, the perfect place for our vacation stay. The only way to improve upon this locaton is if the driveway gets paved. It is a fairly steep, loose gravel driveway that levels off just about 8 feet prior to the house.
And one last, but very important item: our deposit refund was immediate, a day or so after our return home, the check was there.
We will definitely return here our next time to Maggie Valley!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review