reviews for: listing #46630 - Sebastopol, California House rental

Panoramic Views Private Wine Country Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $250 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,600 /wk
    $2,800 - $3,600 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful days at the little red house

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

We came to Sebastopol for Tribal Fest and spent a few wonderful days at the little red house! It's a nice and comfortable place to relax and we'd love to come back, if it wasn't so far away...

Bianca, Oliver, Lily, Svenja and Steve from Germany

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pure heaven - awesome surroundings!

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2012

I had the wonderful opportunity of staying at the Red House for two months this past winter. I enjoyed waking up in the morning and looking out my window at the fog in the lovely birches, drinking coffee looking over the beautiful meadows below the house. I set up my office in the upstairs loft and had glorious views of vineyards and apple orchards.

The house had everything I needed for a long stay. Candis and her family and helper, Socorro, made every effort to assure I was comfortable and had everything I needed, and by the time I left, I felt as though I had gained new friends.

The house was close to town, yet far enough away to feel I was really in the country. I could bike a couple miles and be Downtown Sebastopol. And the fantastic Sonoma Coast, with its cliffs and hiking trails, was less than an hour away. Wineries were right down the road.

Friends raved about what a wonderful, light and airy retreat the guesthouse was and were awed by the view.

I kept extending my stay, week by week, day by day at the end - I just couldn't leave, it had became so much my home. I hope to make this an annual winter getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aw, thank you Susie! And thank you for submitting the review about 100 times until it worked! We hope to see you again soon! Candis

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Little Red House

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

This was the perfect place for me and the girls to rest up after a day of wine tasting. Room to stretch out, great views(hot air ballon and deer(every morning), warm(loved the pellett stove use to heat the house)and so inviting. Full kitchen, we only made coffee. Shopping nearby in the quaint city of Sebastopol. Easy to find with GPS. We would stay here again and reco to friends and others.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sisters Getaway

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

My three sisters and I stayed for a long weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the
red cottage. The owners were so helpful in supplying information on the surrounding area
yet left us alone -- not hovering over us. The cottage is delightfully decorated and the layout
makes the cottage seem larger than it really is.We recommend this home highly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation with a little kid

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

We spent two nights in this cute, clean and cozy little red house over the weekend for 3-gen family vacation. As a new parent I'm still a bit nervous about traveling with small child, but this place was perfect - I especially appreciated that the house is fully equipped with baby gears - child proofing gates, pack n play, kids toys, etc, etc...my 1 year old totally enjoyed running around the house very safely and slept much better than in our apartment in the city. :) The view outside of the house is amazing, and we even could hear coyotes howling at night! Also downtown Sebastopol is just 5-10 minutes drive and we could go grocery shopping quite easily, and enjoyed grilling meat on the deck. This place is highly recommended for family with kids and we'll definitely come back for longer stay next time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A quiet restful setting - cozy, comfortable home with expansive horizon views!

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

This home is the perfect wine country getaway. From the deck, you can see fields, hills, and mountains against an expansive colorful sky. It's close enough to town but far enough away to feel the comfort of vistas and space. Candis is the perfect host, personally introduces you to all the amenities of the cottage and points out whatever in Sebastopol that might interest you. The cottage is clean and beautifully maintained, the deck is awesome. Extraordinary value!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wine country retreat, my new home away from home

Review submitted: October 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

This awesome little red house was perfect in every way. It is situated just outside of the city of Sebastopol where you have the experience of quiet country living, beautiful panoramic views, every modern convenience (the pellet stove kept us nice and toasty as we weathered three days of constant rain), and can get to excellent shopping, movies and Screamin' Mimi's fantastic ice cream within 10 minutes.

The house is bright and clean with beautiful artwork hanging throughout. The beds were very comfortable, the kitchen had every utensil or appliance needed. The living area in large with very cozy sofas. Just know that the only bathroom is accessed through the master bedroom.

The owners are great! They were very helpful an accessible.

This little red house is my new home away from home. I look forward to many more stays.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfectly pleasant

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

didn't spend a ton of time in the house but it was just what we needed: clean, comfortable and felt like home. down a winding gravel road with a beautiful view of farmland next door.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful and Tranquil Retreat

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

Thank you for a wonderful weekend retreat away from San Francisco. What a peaceful and tranquil little red house. We also had a really fun paddle down the Russian River.
Best,
The O. Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxation!

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

I had a great time- it's a wonderful place to relax. Thank you!
Ina C., Germany

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

A wonderful refuge from the frantic prep of a wedding. Very beautiful, very private, very centering. Wish I could have taken advantage of the great book collection! Thanks for the blessing of this place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

Thanks for a relaxing yet full weekend! This is a great home base location and such a cozy property.
Memorial Day Weekend, May 2010

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 31, 2009

We had a really nice stay and the house was extremely family-friendly. I highly recommend this as a quick getaway from the city to my fellow San Franciscans! We used to be avid Bed-and-Breakfasters until we became parents. Then it became hard to find a child-friendly place to stay. This was a perfect spot to take a toddler... It is a completely separate house, so when he cried in the middle of the night we weren't mortified that we were waking up other guests. And the owners have everything on hand you can think of for the little ones.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Quick Family Getaway from the City!

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 31, 2009

We had a really nice stay and the house was extremely family-friendly.  I really recommend this as a quick getaway from the city to my fellow San Franciscans! We used to be avid Bed-and-Breakfasters until we became parents. Then it became hard to find a child-friendly place to stay. This was a perfect spot to take a toddler... It is a completely separate house, so when he cried in the middle of the night we weren't mortified that we were waking up other guests. And the owners have everything on hand you can think of for the little ones.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Charming Retreat

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

Red House was a charming retreat. The high ceilings and lovely decor was inspiring to wake up to every morning. We had a Kestral (small bird of prey) sitting on top of the large evergreen tree by the deck greating us daily as we sipped our coffee. The owners were always available for questions and advice, but respectful of our privacy. The house was well supplied with kitchen and daily needs.

We enjoyed downtown Sabastopol and the many local restaurants and shops. The location was well located for winery visits and trips into San Francisco.

We especially enjoyed the pellet stove with it's warm friendly face and it worked quite well keeping the morning and evening chill off as we were renting during the cooler damper season.

I think any renter would enjoy a visit to this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

red house review by the gillilands

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 2, 2010

Red House was a charming retreat. The high ceilings and lovely decor was inspiring to wake up to every morning. We had a Kestral (small bird of prey) sitting on top of the large evergreen tree by the deck greating us daily as we sipped our coffee. The owners were always available for questions and advice, but respectful of our privacy. The house was well supplied with kitchen and daily needs.

We enjoyed downtown Sabastopol and the many local restaurants and shops. The location was well located for winery visits and trips into San Francisco.

We especially enjoyed the pellet stove with it's warm friendly face and it worked quite well keeping the morning and evening chill off as we were renting during the cooler damper season.

I think any renter would enjoy a visit to this property.

pam and rex

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

We stayed at the little red house this weekend and had a fabulous time! the house is so comfortable and has all the amenities we needed; we felt right at home. The views are spectacular and its conveniently located close to town but still feels so remote. We had a very relaxing weekend - Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We absolutely loved it!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the guest house (little red house) for an after wedding get-away. We absolutely loved it! It was so quiet and quaint, fully equipped with everything we needed for a relaxing and carefree weekend. It was clean and the view of the sun coming up was just breathtaking. Thanks Candis!

Anonymous

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The views from the deck are to die for!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

We had such a terrific time at the property. …. I had a last minute debacle with a different house that I had originally rented and needed to rent a new house asap. I was lucky to find the owner of this property and she was incredibly helpful and accommodating. We had great details and handbooks for the houses. It really makes a difference to be able to work directly with the owner.

The views from the decks are to die for, especially during sunset when you are grilling. We especially got a kick out of the goats and the wild turkeys! Location is perfect - very secluded and rustic, but just over an hour from SF and close to downtown Sebastopol and grocery stores.

I'm looking forward to coming back again soon!
-Jessica, San Francisco

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Away from it all" but close to everything!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

We loved our visit up here. …. No amenity is missed and the location is fantastic. Rural enough to feel "away from it all" yet close enough to everything to be convenient. - SF Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything you need to be comfortable!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 12, 2009

This home is an incredible vacation rental…. The house has everything you need to be comfortable. I would recommend staying here on your next vacation to Northern California.
-blume, lancaster, ca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The location is A+

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2009

We have been to this property 3 times in the past,
and have absolutely loved the experience…. The location
is A+; even though it is surrounded by vineyards,
orchards, and country roads, downtown Sebastopol
is only 10 minutes away -Wholefoods, Safeway,
etc. The location is also good for day trips, as it
close to the Russian river area, and top notch
wineries . If I could own a place in the countryside,
I would want a place like this one!
-Carmen of San Francisco

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 21, 2009   Date of arrival: October 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the guest house (little red house) for an after wedding get-away. We absolutely loved it! It was so quiet and quaint, fully equipped with everything we needed for a relaxing and carefree weekend. It was clean and the view of the sun coming up was just breathtaking. Thanks Candis!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

We had such a terrific time at the property. I organized a 14-person ladies getaway weekend/wedding shower. I had a last minute debacle with a different house that I had originally rented and needed to rent a new house asap. I was lucky to find the owner of this property and she was incredibly helpful and accommodating. We had great details and handbooks for the houses. It really makes a difference to be able to work directly with the owner.

The open living area in the main house is perfect for large group hanging out. As others have written, the pics do not do the house justice. The house is stocked with everything that you need. The guest house is a full 1BR house with high ceilings - way bigger than my SF apartment and can easily fit 4+ people. We had plenty of comfortable sleeping space with room to spare. There is a ton of parking which was necessary with our large party.

The views from the decks are to die for, especially during sunset when you are grilling. We especially got a kick out of the goats and the wild turkeys! Location is perfect - very secluded and rustic, but just over an hour from SF and close to downtown Sebastopol and grocery stores.

I'm looking forward to coming back again soon!

Owners response: Please note that this review refers -in part- to the use of the main house as well. That house is no longer available for rent.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: May 26, 2009

We loved our visit up here. The house was extremely family friendly yet still upscale to feel like you were at a nice resort. The home is well laid out and beautifully, yet comfortably, decorated. No amenity is missed and the location is fantastic. Rural enough to feel "away from it all" yet close enough to everything to be convenient.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: May 26, 2009

This home is an incredible vacation rental. It has plenty of space for 8 people, an incredibly beautiful view of a meadow full of deer in the evenings and vineyards beyond that. The patio is gorgeous and has a spa, fire pit, and gas grill. The photos of this house do not do it justice, it is even more fabulous than you can imagine. The house has everything you need to be comfortable. I would recommend staying here on your next vacation to Northern California.

Owners response: Please note that the reviewer had rented both the larger main house and this house; main house is no longer available. Parts of review refer to main house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: May 26, 2009

We have been to this property 3 times in the past,
and have absolutely loved the experience. We have
stayed both in the main and guest houses; they are
both beautiful and very comfortable. The location
is A+; even though it is surrounded by vineyards,
orchards, and country roads, downtown Sebastopol
is only 10-15 minutes away -Wholefoods, Safeway,
etc. The location is also good for day trips, as it
close to the Russian river area, and top notch
wineries . If I could own a place in the countryside,
I would want a place like this one!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review