reviews for: listing #46636 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

Waterfall Cottage - Mika Mizu -Last Minute Opening
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Reeds Island
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $119 - $129 /nt
    $833 - $903 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Gorgeous!

Review submitted: April 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 7, 2014

Mika Mizu is gorgeous!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Vacation!

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 4, 2014

Thanks -- the vacation was fabulous and Mika Mizu is one of the best places I've stayed in over 30 visits to the islands. I look forward to a return visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Loved Mika Mizu!

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 9, 2014

Just want to convey our sincerest gratitude for opening your beautiful Mika Mizu to us. I knew I was in love with her the second night, Terri too. It feels like we visited the Fountain of Youth. We absolutely loved Mika Mizu.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tropical Paradise!

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 23, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary on the Big Island. We stayed four days on the Hilo side before visiting the Waikoloa Beach area. Our time in Hilo was amazing because of the Mika Mizu. It felt so tropical and we loved being lulled to sleep by the frogs. The place was very clean, the amentities are plentiful and the amazing welcome basket was so thoughtful! I cannot think of one thing that was missing! It was simply magical. Thank you so much for sharing your piece of paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Time!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

Sometimes when pictures are posted - it is the best angles to show homes - so I was a little skeptical, but this place goes beyond my expectations! I feel at home and comfortable. The space is so usable. Very peaceful. We have had a great time & wish to return. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved Our Stay!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: December 16, 2013

We loved our stay in Mika Mizu. You have a real interior decorator's eye. Great attention to detail. This is our first visit to the islands. People told us that we should stay on the "dry" side of the island. We chose to explore instead and we have to say we were pleasantly surprised with our stay on this side of the island. Our only regret is that we can't stay longer in Mika Mizu to further enjoy all that Hilo has to offer. We will be back! Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Tropical World!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: November 17, 2013

What a wonderful tropical world you have found! The house is beautiful, comfortable with such thought put into decor and details for your guests! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and exploring the Hilo area and this side of the Big Island...it's like stepping back in time!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Beautiful Week!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

So...we're leaving our "tree house"! We'll miss the "gecko races" on the deck every morning & falling asleep to the night time symphony of critters. Thank you so much for the thoughtful welcome basket! It's been a beautiful week - thank you for such a unique home. See ya next year @ the "lagoon house".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly Paradise!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

Thank you for letting us stay at Mika Mizu during our time in Hilo! This is truly paradise and had everything we could have hoped for... We really enjoyed our stay here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

Thank you so much for letting us stay in such a beautiful place, and on such short notice too! We both really wish we could've stayed longer, but still had a fantastic time in the rainforest - especially loved the geckos!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Extremely Comfortable & Private

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: October 7, 2013

Thank you so much for giving us such a beautiful place to reacquaint ourselves with Hilo - after 20 years. We have eaten most of our meals on the lanai - the scenery is beautiful. Your kitchen has everything we needed. I loved using the noodle when snorkeling. And, it was great to have a washing machine to throw our beach clothes into at the end of the day. Your house is extremely comfortable. We loved the privacy. The frog & forest sounds made our stay interesting. And, having our very own waterfall is quite unique. Appreciate your welcome basket. It was very thoughtful of you. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place for a Honeymoon!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

Thank you so much! This could not have been a more perfect place to spend our honeymoon. We also loved all the food and attraction recommendations. We are so sad to leave this little paradise but are so thankful that we got to begin our marriage here. We hope to one day come back maybe for an anniversary some years down the road. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Honeymoon Getaway!!

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 days at Mika Mizu to finish out our honeymoon (we had spent a week prior in Kona). What a fabulous property! Jamie had everything (and more!) stocked that you could possible need for your stay in Hilo (towels, coolers, snorkel gear, fully stocked pantry to name a few things). We enjoyed the close proximity to the Hilo farmers market, as well as great dining options around town. It was also a short 45 min drive to Volano National Park. The views from all rooms of the house are spectacular, and you really do feel like you have complete and total privacy from the rest of the world. We especially enjoyed falling asleep to the sounds of rain falling and the frogs singing (a big change for us city folk). I would absolutely recommend this property to anyone looking for a romantic getaway. Also - working with Jamie is such a pleasure, you will not be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Delightful!

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

We just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed staying at Mika Mizu! It was delightful, so very spacious and had all the amenities one could ask for. We appreciate your attention to detail and all of the thoughtfulness you put into making sure your guests are comfortable and have everything they might need, down to the flashlights and umbrellas! We especially enjoyed listening to the birds and insects chirp all night, as well as the privacy of the cottage and jungle views! Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

If 5 Stars is the Top Rating-I Would Give You a 6!

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

Aloha Jamie!

Our stay at Mika Mizu was absolutely amazing! The location is perfect with proximity to downtown Hilo, Akaka Falls, Rainbow Falls, Volcano National Park and so much more!! You have the space so wonderfully decorated and equipped that we felt like we could live there! Everything was clean and comfortable. The welcome basket was such a thoughtful touch, with enough coffee to take us through our stay!! The coqui frogs sang to us every night and the geckos kept us company while having breakfast on the beautiful lanai.

If 5 stars is the top rating, I would give you a 6. I can't think of a thing you could improve.

Thank you so much for your hospitality. We couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations and hope we'll have the chance to stay in one of your places again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely home!

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

The homes accomodations were lovely. It was comfortable and spacious for the two of us. And the view from the lanai was truly tropical. We would have liked there to be air conditioning, but, understand the high electric prices.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just what we needed!

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

Mika Mizu was the perfect place to celebrate my boyfriend's 30th and the end of the summer months. From booking to check-out, Jamie was amazing! Not only was the attention to detail much appreciated, but the location of this cottage is just outstanding. It's so close to downtown Hilo, but once you're on Reed's Island, there you are smack in the middle of the rainforest with a symphony of coqui frogs singing you to sleep each night.

From Mika Mizu we were able to experience so much of the Big Island with our rental car, and came back each night to a tranquil getaway. I highly recommend this cottage for those looking to get away from the big city or "touristy" spots, but don't want to lose the amenities those locations have to offer. Mika Mizu is the best of both worlds!

Thanks again, Jamie!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best alternative to a hotel!

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 29, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay. Mika Mizu was in a perfect location for us to explore the east side of the island. It had everything a person could want in the kitchen although the most elaborate thing I made was a salad with fresh local produce from the Farmer's Market. The welcome basket was lovely and we enjoyed the treats. We toasted our anniversary with the good wine.Thank you Jamie. The sub-tropical jungle noises (coqui frogs)at night were rather alarming but we had fun recording the sound on our cell phone and replaying it to family when we got home.We would stay again in a heartbeat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magical Jungle Getaway - We Don't Want to Leave!

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

Mika Mizu was a wonderful, private little dream cottage. My husband and I loved coming home to this place at the end of the day. We especially enjoyed falling asleep to the night sounds of the jungle you're surrounded by. My personal favorite about this place was the shower which has a glass wall facing the jungle. Also nice is how everything you might need is there - water shoes, snorkeling and beach stuff, condiments, and even the first aid kit came in handy when I got a cut. We were in love with Mika Mizu and would certainly return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A little piece of Heaven

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2013

I am more than happy to write a review Waterfall cottage/ Mika Mizu. From the minute we drove up I was thrilled with how private and charming it was, yet literal minutes from town. It is even nicer that the pictures. When we walked in the front door I was ready to stay forever! It is so well appointed and beautiful done. The floor plan is very open which makes it feel even bigger. Then there is the wonderful balcony that looks right onto the rainforests. If you have never taken a shower looking out on to a rainforest, you don't know what you are missing. We are just so happy that we found this wonderful place to spend our 10th wedding anniversary. I also want to mention that Jamie leaves a wonderful basket of goodies, including great coffee. I was a little sad the the grinder didn't work and I mentioned it. We had a new one for the very next morning! Jamie was so considerate. Many times we have stayed in Kona so we wanted to try staying in HiIo. I loved the the entire area.I live in Oahu and I was ready to move there. There are no fancy restaurants just to let you know. We went to the Pond for our Anniversary and the people were very nice but the food was just OK. The best place we went to eat was in the Hilo farmers Market food court. It was called Hapa Mama's. Take your food to go and head for the beach. It was cheap and really good. That will be my next review:) If I had to say anything that might catch you be surprise it would be the Coqui frogs. If you are not use to the sounds of nature they can get a little loud to say the least. LOL It took a couple of nights and some ear plugs to get use to them. Not a big deal. I can't say enough about how wonderful our experience was and we will stay there again someday:)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't Wait to Return

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

Harlan and I just wanted to let you know that we had a wonderful time on the Island, much due to the fact that we had such a lovely place to stay. We really did enjoy it as if it were our own home! We had a lovely time, and I hope that for the most part, we left the place in satisfactory condition. Every aspect of the property was enjoyed and we greatly appreciated all of the accommodations, especially the helpful guidebook that you have set up. We can't wait to return, and we have sworn that we will! Mahalo, again, for all of your graciousness and help in making our visit to Hawaii something my son and I will always remember!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A Correction to Our Previous Review

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

We want to correct the "Recommended For" portion of our review for our stay at Mika Mizu (5/31/13 to 6/9/13). First of all, pets are not allowed. So we don't recommend for pet owners, unless you keep your pets at home. Secondly, you definitely need transportation (a car) to see all the beautiful sights around Mika Mizu, Hilo, the eastern side of the Big Island and the whole Big Island in general. So we don't recommend for tourists without a car. That being said, we highly recommend Mika Mizu and we are looking forward to our next opportunity to stay at this paradise property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Tropical Paradise, Great Ahi, Many Adventures

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

We had a memorable nine days at Mika Mizu and the beautiful Big Island. Saw a lot, did a lot and it was nice to have Mika Mizu to come home to relax and unwind in a lush, tropical setting. We ate in every night using the grill to cook ahi, the best we have ever had. We recommend Suisan for buying seafood and poke. It’s located on the bay on Banyan Drive by the Japanese gardens. We often packed lunch for our day trips and utilized the cooler, mats and beach towels at Mika Mizu. We liked the location of Mika Mizu since it is close to many things and central to seeing the sights on the east side of Big Island. It’s great to have Internet access as we planned each day depending on the weather. We appreciated the well stocked pantry and the gift basket with champagne (25th wedding anniversary). Do try lunch at Nori’s Saimin and don’t miss breakfast/lunch at Ken’s Pancake House. We will recommend to friends and we will be back. Special thanks to Adan. Try not feeding the cat (good luck). If you do feed her, she likes grilled ahi. We named her Lotta because she ate a lot.

Mahalo plenty

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

100% Happy Review

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

Excellent accommodations! We had stayed in another VRBO place in Kona to soak up the sun and waves before heading to Hilo. The Kona location was nice but the condition and feel was no way close to the "at paradise" feeling Mika had. The rain on the roof with the wonderful music Mother Nature created nightly was priceless! Location to waterfalls, parks, museums, and attractions (like lava flow) was a real plus.

Great condition!
Super clean!
Extra nice accessories (flashlights-used for our 9 mile hike to watch lava, binoculars - to watch all the amazing birds right outside the front yard & the lava), and nail polish remover!
Super soft linen (bed, bath and beach)
Great ceiling fans- who needs or would want AC?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wished We Had Stayed Longer

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 20, 2013

After we left the lovely Mika Mizu, Dick and I spent three wweeks at Kona. We now wished we had spent more time at Mika Mizu, even though the weather was a bit better in Kona. We rented a very nice condo in Kona within a 10 minute walk into town, however it did not have the same "feel" as Mika Mizu. After talking about the differences we decided that Mika Mizu had the "Aloha Spirit" while the Kona condo did not. when our friends and family ask about our vacation, we immediately talk about Mika Mizu. If we travel to the Big Island again, we will definitely book with you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise found!!!

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

How easy it is to give a 5 star rating for Mika Mizu! My husband and I vacationed here for a week and the whole experience was fantastic. Hosts Jamie and Noi went out of their way to ensure that our stay would be memorable. From providing countless valuable tips for our visit to surprising us with a lovely welcome basket upon arrival; the hospitality and care we received made this our all-time favorite rental experience! The cottage itself is a well-appointed oasis, surrounded by beautiful, lush rainforest. The setting is nothing short of magical. Morning coffee on the large lanai was a perfect way to start the day and we truly enjoyed returning after a day of exploring. Relaxing to the soothing night song of the jungle is one of our favorite memories! Thanks again to Jamie and Noi for sharing this precious gem with us and mahalo to caretaker Adan, who made sure our stay was as comfortable as possible!!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

OMG perfect!

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

We've been staying at VRBO's around this diverse big island thos past week and must say when we opened the front door and looked through the casually elegant living area to the expansive deck overlooking the tropical ravine, plus heard the jungle sounds of waterfall, frogs and birds, we both turned and looked at each other with our mouths open! It is indeed a wee bit of paradise...from the convection oven and crystal to the Egyptian cotton and well-stocked pantry! The Prosecco gift basket was a lovely generous act of kindness, so appreciated after a long flight and drive, thank you! The comfortable and thoughtful decor is good contemporary, Asian influenced design that lends itself to serenity and peacefulness. The 4 sweet kitties also stole our hearts and seemed grateful for the cat food we discovered and that we left each day. Every need was anticipated...the dressing area was lovely, kitchen bright and really well appointed, and the bed and pullows ultra divine. The waterfall below was enticing but the weather we had was wet and cool so we just hibernated and loved it. The Wed farmers market was the best we've ever been to, organic and reasonable! Crafts across the road were interesting and the fish market was a bonus. Mahi Mahi tempura on a stick around the back was a treat! The owners must be congratulated for offering unique Mika vacation homes that are just ideal. And when we complained about the wifi being down, they handled it immediately. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Honeymoon Experience

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights of our honeymoon, and we loved it. All of the pictures are accurate and you find much more that you didn't expect. The condo is so well-stocked that we didn't have to buy much beyond our main ingredients in order to make a nice meal at the house. We enjoyed keeping all the windows open and feeling like we were in the jungle, with all the amenities of a being inside a beautiful home. The shower looking out into the jungle was one of my favorite things, as well as the lanai. It was hard to leave the morning sun on the deck in the morning to head out on the adventures we planned. The owners are also excellent to work with. If we ever make it back to the Big Island, we will definitely try to book this condo again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely Wonderful!

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

We visited Hawaii for our 25th wedding anniversary. We are very particular in where we stay and were not disappointed by Mika Mizu. This house was absolutely perfect! Nicely decorated, very clean and the coffee bean grinder was a nice surprise. The bed was very comfy. The remote location and privacy was very welcoming but still, the lack of window coverings throughout the entire house was a bit odd. I am a very, very, light sleeper and was mortified when I heard the Coqui frogs and other jungle creatures make all that noise at night, but OMG I slept so peacefully! It was actually soothing if that makes any sense.

Jaime and Noi were a pleasure to work with and responded to all of our questions quickly. The welcome basket was delicious and the personal note and champagne for our anniversary was so unexpected and very sweet. We hope to return again soon.

Thanks again for everything and sharing your wonderful home with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was a wonderful & magical place

Review submitted: November 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

Date of Comment: November 23, 2012

Jamie & Noi,

Thank you for sharing Mika Mizu with us! It was a
wonderful & magical place to celebrate our 50th &
Thanksgiving. We just finished a Thanksgiving Hawaiian
feast that we made with fresh vegetables from the Farmers
Market & Hawaiian rice with coconut milk. It was the best
Thanksgiving dinner we have ever had. We have much to be
thankful for & Mika Mizu is top of our list. We truly fell
in love with the Big Island especially the lush clime of
Hilo! We look forward to our return to Mika Mizu very soon!
We return to lovely Lake Tahoe tomorrow, to a long, snowy
winter. Thoughts of peaceful evenings on the lanai &
magical memories of our Big Island explores will be sure to
keep us warm this winter.

Mahalo for sharing your corner of paradise with us!
We shall return!
Aloha.

Guest city-state/province: North Shore, Lake Tahoe

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We shall return to lovely Mika Mizu very soon!

Review submitted: November 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

Date entered: 11/23/2012

Jamie & Noi,

Mahalo for sharing Mika Mizu & for our basket of Hawaiian
treats. This Snap Dragon is just a small thank you! We shall
return to lovely Mika Mizu very soon!

Aloha!

Guest city-state/province: Incline Village, NV

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will recommend Mika Mizu to our friends.

Review submitted: November 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

Date entered: 11/22/2012

Aloha Jamie,

Mika Mizu was very nice. And we had very good weather in
Hilo. It was our fourth stay on Big Island and we think, we
did see nearly everthing there.
We will recommend Mika Mizu to our friends.

P.S. best wishes to Adan!

Guest city-state/province: Germany

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mizu is soooooooo much more wonderful

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

Date entered: 11/15/2012

Jamie,

We are here and could not be happier. Mika Mizu is
soooooooo much more wonderful than we even imagined. We
stopped at KTA on our way in yesterday and got provisions.
We are enjoying sipping tea (TY very much for the big pot)
and soaking up the rainforest.

TY for your amazing hospitality! We shall enjoy our
escape and am already planning our next visit.

Mahalo!!!!
MIM

Guest city-state/province: Incline, NV

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We have not stopped talking about Mika Mizu

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

Date entered: 10/24/2012

Aloha Jamie,
We finished up in Honolulu for a few days before we headed
home.
We have not stopped talking about Mika Mizu since we left
the big island. Luckily, we still have some unfinished
business on the big island so don’t be surprised if we turn
up again.
We will certainly recommend it to our friends.

Cheers

Guest city-state/province: Australia

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Particularly appreciated the well-stocked pantry

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

Date entered: 10/15/2012

Jamie & Noi -
What can we say? It's all been said by your previous
guests! We had such a fabulous time and are very sorry to
be leaving. Your home is a beautiful calming place. I do
so hope we can return soon. We particularly appreciated the
well stocked pantry - such a blessing not to have to buy
absolutely everything!

Thank you, thank you, thank you

PS The markets at Maku'u were really fun!

Guest city-state/province: Australia

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Such an amazing place

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Date entered: 09/29/2012

Aloha Jamie!

Just wanted to say thank you for sharing such an amazing
place with us, (and thanks for the prompt deposit refund).
We wish we could have spent another full week there at
least, just to enjoy the house and the beautiful setting.
As you probably know, the house was clean, beautifully
decorated, and well stocked with everything we could have
needed. I'm looking for any excuse to make another trip to
Hilo and would love to stay at your place again sometime.
Thank you again, had such a great time in and around Hilo.

Mahalo,

Guest city-state/province: Honolulu, HI

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You've got a hidden gem

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

Date entered: 09/10/2012

What a lovely cottage - We loved staying here - Walking to
town for coffee & the farmer's market.
You've got a hidden gem.

Guest city-state/province: Denver, CO

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a lovely place - we will miss it!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

Date entered: 09/04/2012

Thank you for the welcome basket - it was much appreciated!
What a lovely place - we will miss it!

Guest city-state/province: Scottsdale, AZ

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will miss the sounds of the forest here

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

Date entered: 08/30/2012

Great Island! Wonderful way to celebrate 10 years
together. Will miss the sounds of the forest here.
Ocean Sushi was delicious. If you can go to the Volcano
make sure to stay past sunset. The view of a moon and magma
glow of the crater is awe inspiring. Black Sand Beach was
full of happy sea turtles. Akaka Falls was incredible &
Scenic 4 mi turn off (just north of Hilo) was worth the hike
down.

Mahalo!

Guest city-state/province: Buffalo, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tropical romantic hidaway

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

Mika Mizu was simply the best vacation rental we have ever experienced. With the lanai overlooking a natural verdant ravine, it was like living in a beautiful yet spacious and completely private jungle tree house. We could sleep to the soothing sounds of nature yet have all the convenience and comfort of a tastefully and beautifully furnished, clean and comfortable modern Hawaiian home. We were greeted with a lit candle and a generous and thoughtful welcome basket. It was clear that our host thought of and provided everything a guest would want--beach towels, snorkeling gear, cooler, computer with wifi, all kitchen and laundry appliances, an invaluable binder of information, many condiments, fresh juice, etc. We have already recommended it to others and would love to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your cottage was the cherry on top!

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

Date entered: 08/23/2012

We loved everything about our stay - the comfy home - the
farmers markets (Hilo, Maku'u, Kapalana) and the town
itself. Try the strawberry mochi at "2 Ladies and a
Kitchen". Snorkel at the Kapoho Tide Pools. Sample and buy
the "ghost pepper" cheese pulp! sauce at the Hilo Farmers
Market.

Your cottage was the cherry on top of our fantastic Big
Island adventure. We want to move here now!!

Mahalo!! Thanks for the welcome basket too!!

Guest city-state/province: Manitoba, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Listened to the sound of the jungle!

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

Date entered: 08/16/2012

We are preparing to leave after an amazing stay at Mika
Mizu. We are so in love with Hilo. We want to move here!
I thank you so much for sharing your beautiful space with
us. We felt truly connected with the Aloha Spirit living
here for a week. Every morning we did yoga on the lanai,
made fresh coffee, and listened to the sound of the jungle.
We love it! Than you again, and we hope to be back soon!

Namaste!

Guest city-state/province: Livermore, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WE JUST ARRIVED IN PARADISE!

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

Date entered: 08/09/2012


WOW!
WE JUST ARRIVED IN PARADISE!
AMAZING!

Guest city-state/province: Livermore, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Treetop Paradise...Exactly!

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

We absolutely loved our time at Mika Mizu! It was very spacious for being a one-bedroom condo, and more than anything, it was so inviting and peaceful. The treetop paradise was very close to town so we were able to get snacks and supplies for whatever our day had in store for us, and the people of Hilo were incredibly friendly. The kitchen was definitely useful in being able to bring our suppers home or enjoy coffee on the incredibly secluded patio.

We went down to the secluded waterfalls twice and swam one of the times...it was, as the Hawaiians call it, refreshing! It was a very nice way to wake up in the morning and get our day going. For us, the only problem with Mika Mizu was that we had to leave. Our stay at the treetop paradise was absolutely amazing!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your cottage brought back so many great memories

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

Date entered: 08/09/2012

Mahalo Jamie & Noi!

It was wonderful being back at home in Hilo. Your cottage
brought back so many great memories for me.

Guest city-state/province: Wisconsin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We can't imagine a better place to be.

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

Date entered: 08/09/2012

Our stay here was absolutely fantastic. This is what Hawaii
is (and should be) all about. We can't imagine a better
place to be.

Mahalo for all the comforts, warmth and Aloha spirit!

So sad to leave here... but we will be back.

Guest city-state/province: Wisconsin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

FANTASTIC!

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

Date entered: 08/06/2012

FANTASTIC!

This is a wonderful place, very comfortable and totally
relaxing. The cool evenings, nightly rain showers. I
haven't slept better.
I will definitely be recommending Mika Mizu and hoping to
return.

Thank you Jamie & Noi!

Guest city-state/province: Rocklin, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One word: WOW!

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Date entered: 07/27/2012

One word: WOW!

Online was nice to view, but being here in person...

AMAZING! I had a hard time leaving the tree house even to
go into town.

Got my R&R I came for.

Will be back
Thank you for sharing

Guest city-state/province: Santa Rosa, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You guys rock!

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

Date entered: 07/16/2012

Thanks so much for sharing your waterfall cottage with us!
Every detail has been thought through so carefully to make
our stay here magical! Your orange notebook book became our
BIBLE for our Big Island stay - Thanks so much for all of
your information!! Encouraging people to leave unused
supplies behind was awesome. Breakfast on the lanai was a
highlight each day. We left eager to see the next Big
Island delight and found ourselves returning earlier each
day because the lure to our little oasis was too strong. We
will tell everyone we know about your properties! We would
love to come back some day! Thanks so much for the care you
gave from the first email contact to the welcome basket on
the coffee table. You guys rock!
Warmly

Guest city-state/province: Denver, CO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for the great hospitality!

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Date entered: 07/09/2012


Thank you so much for the lovely cottage to stay in while
exploring your beautiful Island. Love all the great little
thoughtful details.
Your Island is a wonderful place to explore. So many
beautiful places to see.

Thank you for the great hospitality!

Guest city-state/province: Jersey Village, TX

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Es war wirklich eine schone Zeit

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

After a long flight from Germany, we finally made it to this
lovely place. Arriving at night, Mika Mizu provided us with
the home and rest we longed for. But it was only in the
morning when the light of the Hawaiian sun made us grasp all
the beauty of this quiet and peaceful place in Paradise.

The days that came, we used this place as a starting point
to explore the beauty of this part of the Island and every
night we felt home when coming back for rest.

We will surely remember this place and recommend Mika Mizu
to our family and friends at home.

Thank you ... and who knows? May be we will come back one
day.

Schuss und danke fur alles! Es war wirklich eine schone Zeit
bei Euch.

Guest city-state/province: Hamburg, Germany

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was terrific on all counts.....

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

Jul 2, 2012

Hi Jamie and Noi:

It was terrific on all counts.....

Thank you!
Steve N

Guest city-state/province: San Diego, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mika Mizu is Great!

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We loved Hilo. We have been to all the other Hawaiian Islands over time, but this is our first time to the Big Island. We really liked Mika Mizu. It felt like home. It had everything we needed and more. We spent a lot of time on the lanai when we were not out exploring the east side of the big Island. We had no problem falling asleep with the frogs singing every night. Wish we could have stayed longer. We hope to return soon.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thoughtful way of making us feel welcomed

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your cottage with us .... my
sister & I found the home & comfort in midst of dealing with
our brother's illness - the reason for visiting Hilo ....
We'll miss the sound of birds ... but most of all your
thoughtful way of making us feel welcomed.

Thank you, Jamie & Noi !!

Guest city-state/province: Los Angeles, California

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Makes me appreciate what a special place you have!

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 29, 2012

Thanks Jamie. We are over in Kauai this week. Visited Waimea canyon on a clear day so it was beautiful. But honestly I'm sort off missing Mika Mizu and Hilo since we are just one of the tourist resort herd over here. Makes me appreciate what a special place you have!

Guest city-state/province: San Antonio, TX

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mika Mizu was a great place to stay

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 29, 2012

Mahalo - Jamie!
Mika Mizu was a great place to stay on the Big Island. We
loved Hilo and the non-resort atmosphere. A glimpse of The
"Old Hawaii". Just packing we are already missing sitting on
the lanai and being a part of the rain-forest!

Guest city-state/province: San Antonio, TX

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

With this house as the focal point

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

After a long flight, we walked into the cottage and found
the thoughtful welcome basket. Immediately Mika Mizu felt
like home - only much better! We've been planning our trip
to Hawaii for several years with this house as the focal
point and it exceeded our expectations. The rain-forest and
coqui's reminded me of my (Bobbi) childhood in Puerto Rico
total immersion.
We loved the little (not so little when you need them)
extras.
Thank you so much.

Guest city-state/province: Oklahoma

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Karl and I are in love with Mika Mizu!

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

Hi Jamie,

Karl and I are in love with Mika Mizu! Our stay so far has
been wonderful and you have truly thought of everything.

Mahalo,

Guest city-state/province: Oklahoma

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mika Mizu has added an extra dimension

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

We love Hilo. It's our second trips here together & being
at Mika Mizu has added an extra dimension to a place we
resonate with. Thanks for imbuing the house with so much
peace & hospitality... so much Aloha! I wish we could have
stayed longer.
Mahalo

Guest city-state/province: Petaluma, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved The Waterfall

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 7, 2012

We have enjoyed "The Waterfall Cottage" so much. We love
the design of your home. We now know what the coqui frogs
sound like and had no problem falling asleep to the sound of
the surf in Maui and now the frogs in Hilo. Wish we had
more time, with so much to do here we were not here as much
as we would have liked - Loved The Waterfall.
Aloha
guest name: Rich & Cathy
guest city-state/province: Spokane Valley, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really appreciated the little extras

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2012

This was our 15th anniversary trip & staying here made it
so relaxing despite having covered the whole island! Our
favorite memories were turtles on the beach at Punalu'u
Black Sand Beach, Snorkeling in the Kapoho Tide Pools & a
trip into Waipio Valley. We really appreciated the little
extras like the snorkel gear & reef shoes, sunscreen, beach
towels. We made extensive use of your bird & flower guides
as well. Thanks so much for trying to anticipate the needs
of your guests.
guest name: Adam & Nicolette
guest city-state/province: Weyers Cave, Virginia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the beautiful nature sounds!

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: February 21, 2012

Aloha Jamie & Noi,
Thank you for the use of your cottage - loved the relaxing
atmosphere & the beautiful nature sounds! Welcome basket was
a nice surprise - Thank you!

Guest city-state/province: South Bend, Indiana

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your place here is absolutely beautiful !!

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

Aloha Jamie & Noi
Your place here is absolutely beautiful!! Sitting on the
deck after exploring the island every day was so relaxing.
We found the peacefulness of the rain-forest, with the frogs
and the birds chirping away, music to our ears!!! We loved
the goodies in the basket (especially the cookies).
Your home here was very welcoming and very clean & it was
great to be able to cook our own meals as the kitchen had
everything that we needed! We arrived to find Adan working
away on the deck and he was so nice and welcoming. We left
the champagne as Adan gave us a bottle of white wine but he
really shouldn't have. He was absolutely no bother to us.
Take care & Thank you from the Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada.
We will definitely tell people to come & stay at your home
here in Paradise!!
Guest city-state/province: Winnipeg, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mika Mizu is the most thoughtfully equipped VRBO

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

I just want to tell you that our stay at Mika Mizu was the
highlight of “Steve and Terry’s Excellent Adventure
Celebrating our 40th Anniversary (Feb. 27, 1972-2012)”.
But our adventure in paradise really came true at Mika Mizu.
The house was as charming as the photos indicated, and the
extra touches far exceeded our expectations. Your surprise
welcome gift was such a pleasure, and sitting on the deck
listening to the creatures make music in the lush outdoor
surroundings was heaven!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Un petit coin du paradis…..

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

Chers Notes,
Quel beau depart pour une novelle annee et quel accueil:
champagne, café, fleurs, biscuits, increaible! Nous sommes
enchantes par notre sejour! Les baignades furent
rafraichissantes, les soirees sur la terrasse a faire rever.
Nous en sommes a notre 3eme location depuis notre arrive a
Hawaii et francrement les commodites auxquells nous avonson
les acces out ete vraiment appreciees. Merci de nous avoir
ouvert la porte de votre mangifique demeuve, un petit coin
du paradis…..

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was so nice to not have to buy everything!

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2012

Date entered: 01/28/2012
Our week at Mika Mizu has been delightful. The house is
conveniently located, thoughtfully designed, well equipped
and beautiful. It's really hard to leave; we feel quite at
home here.
We've enjoyed waking each morning to the gorgeous view
from the deck and we've even liked being "serenaded" each
night by the frogs (!) Gecko visits have been fun too.
Thank you for the welcome gifts and it was great to see
all the supplies in the kitchen.
Oakland, CA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house was lovely, and the area spectacular

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

Date entered: 01/09/2012

Mika Mizu was the most beautiful and comfortable "home" we
have had yet. The house was lovely, and the area spectacular.
This was our first visit to Hawaii. And I don't think we
could have been in a more welcoming place. Thank you so much.

Guest city-state/province: Seattle, WA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This home is truly beautiful & well appointed

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

Date entered: 01/06/2012
Happy New Year! We had such a wonderful time staying at
Mika Mizu. We were in Hawaii on our honeymoon and chose
Hilo so that we could visit Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
Coming "home" to this place was so nice after hiking many
miles at the park. This home is truly beautiful & well
appointed. Thank you so much for opening it up for us to
enjoy a bit of Hawaii paradise!
Guest city-state/province: St. Paul, MN

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mika Mizu was absolutely wonderful

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

Date entered: 12/03/2011

Dear Jamie & Noi,
Our first visit at Mika Mizu was absolutely wonderful. It
is clean, comfortable, homey & beautifully appointed.
You & your team made me feel very welcome in this serene
cottage. We were able to enjoy the Hilo lifestyle in a
relaxing atmosphere.
We hope to make Mika Mizu part of our future Big Island
visits.
Mahalo Nui Loa,

guest city-state/province: Juneau, Al

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house is fantastic

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2012

Yes, we’re having a wonderful time. It’s clear we planned
WAY too little time here, but we’re trying to make the most
of what we have. We’ve explored along the coast to the
west, toured Volcano NP, watched sunset from Mauna Kea, and
this morning we’re headed to Akaka Falls and some other
attractions in that area. Then, sadly, pack and leave.
The house is fantastic, and the weather here has been fine even when it’s raining and dark just up the road north. The flowers are amazing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Own Private Paradise!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 31, 2012

We arrived at this lovely cottage and were totally amazed at the beauty here! It was sparkling clean, tastefully decorated, and equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We shopped at the Farmers' Market for fresh fruit and veggies, made smoothies, drove to Volcanoes National Park, over to Mauna Kea, toured the Macadamia Nut Factory, saw Rainbow Falls, went for runs along the bayfront and totally enjoyed relaxing on the deck of our cottage. We would love to come back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed cooling off in the beautiful Waterfall

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Jamie & Noi:
We had a wonderful stay at Mika Mizu. We enjoyed cooling
off in the beautiful waterfall. Mika Mizu is in a great
location and we were able to take many day trips to explore
this side of the island and return to such a peaceful place.
The house is well stocked and we enjoyed making smoothies
with fruit from the Farmers market.
Thanks for the welcome goodies

Guest city-state/province: Santa Cruz, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a magical "secret" place!

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

What a gorgeous hideaway this is! Mika Mizu is just as
beautiful as its name is mysterious. We felt as though we
were living in a picture postcard. The waterfall & pond are
even better than we imagined - what a magical "secret" place!
We hope to return someday and spend at least a full week
here. Thank you!

Guest city-state/province: Chester Springs, PA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Top of our list for places to stay

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

We had a great time at Mika Mizu! It was a great place to
call home while we were away from our home. It was nice that
the fridge had some items in it so that we didn't have to
purchase as much to complete a meal. If we are able to come
back to Hawaii this would be the top of our list for places to
stay.

Guest city-state/province: Iowa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful home in the jungle !

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

Jamie & Noi:

Thank you so very much for the use of your beautiful home in
the jungle! We had a fantastic time. Wish we could stay
longer! We had a great time at the farmers market and at
Volcano's National Park. Kilauea will forever glow in our
hearts. Thank you for opening up your doors to us. It has
been a beautiful start to our 11 day vacation!
Thanks again,

Guest city-state/province: Lake Stevens, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a unique cottage

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

Jamie and Noi:
Loved every minute! What a unique cottage. We were able to sight see in and around Hilo and come back here to relax. By
far the most amazing sight is the night time glow of Kiluea
Volcano Awesome!
Thanks so much,

Guest city-state/province: East Lyme, CT

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Couldn't have a better "home" for our honeymoon !

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

Dear Jamie & Noi:
THANK YOU SO MUCH for warm welcome gifts and all the
perfect settings! My husband and I couldn't have a better
"home" for our honeymoon! Weather was actually nothing like
forecast said, just wonderful Hawaii weather. MIKA MIZU is
just perfect place for a couple to relax and enjoy the time
together! This place made our honeymoon so memorable.
Thanks again so much! We'll be back!

Guest city-state/province: San Diego, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The perfect end spot

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

Wonderful time lazing around Hilo. Mika Mizu has been the
perfect end spot for our island hopping honeymoon. The place
is beautiful & the welcome was gracious.
Thanks for the hospitality,

Guest city-state/province: Louisville, Kentucky

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You really have thought of everything

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

Thanks for sharing your little slice of paradise! Loved the
cottage & the coqui sounds at night. We had everything we
needed here. You really have thought of everything. A
wonderful way to celebrate our 25th Anniversary.
Mahalo,

Guest city-state/province: Hobart, Indiana

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely wonderful!

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

We will return for longer than 6 days.

Guest city-state/province: San Diego, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Swam in the waterfall pool everyday

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

Jamie & Noi:

This is our second stay at Mika Mizu and we love it. This
time we were able to explore the grounds and I swam in the
waterfall pool everyday. This was a superb 65th birthday
gift.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

THIS QUALITY!

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

Awesome!

A really fantastic place, like a little paradise. The house of the little forest (at night) is like a relaxing therapy. We love the spot, the house is so clean and class. Never found a place like this one with THIS QUALITY! Thank you Jamie & Noi, you have helped us getting our trip so perfect!!
P.S. Thanks for the welcome treats!
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The greatest times of our life!

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 31, 2011

We truly loved staying in Mika-Mizu ... it provided the
ideal space for our honeymoon as we explored the island ...
we loved the sounds, the plants, the decor ... an overall
great vibe that really will be a big part of our minds and
hearts as one of the greatest times of our life!

With Gratitude
LA, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The sounds of nature are amazing & really tranquil

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

Thank you so much! We were here just a short 4 days, but loved how peaceful it was. The sounds of nature are amazing and really tranquil. You had everything we needed. What a great place to finish our honeymoon. Thanks again.

Niagara Falls, ON Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymoon - Greatest times of our life!

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 31, 2011

We truly loved staying in Mika-Mizu ... it provided the
ideal space for our honeymoon as we explored the island ...
we loved the sounds, the plants, the decor ... an overall
great vibe that really will be a big part of our minds and
hearts as one of the greatest times of our life!

With Gratitude
Chris and Lauren
LA, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You don't need to look any further...

Review submitted: July 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

We stayed here for three nights for our 10-year anniversary trip and had a great time. The place is up to date and very clean. The setting is out of this world. It is a few minute drive to downtown Hilo, yet it is in the middle of the jungle which made for quite a nice experience. It is also a great place to stay if you want to go to Volcano National Park (45 minutes), natural heated pools, waterfalls, and Mauna Kea (these places are a lot closer to Hilo than Kona, which would be 2.5+ hour drive each way). Going down to the natural waterfall pool made me feel like I was in an Indiana Jones movie. We even left our camera battery charger at the house, and she mailed it back to us very quickly. Thanks again for the stay and for the wine and goodies. Hopefully it will still be for rent when we come back in 5 or 10 years.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great, clean, welcoming, and beautiful place. 20 min walk to d-town Hilo.

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

We stopped at Mika Misu as our third and last stop while island hopping for our honeymoon. Could not have asked for a better last place to stop on the islands. 15-30 minute walk to most of Hilo town attractions. Short drive to many sites and beaches.

The rooms were wonderful. Clean, neat, nice decor. Offer sense of isolation, though you may here your neighbors in Mika Taka as they come and go, but no big deal at all. The landlords were available through email which is accessible through free use of computer in the room. Amenities are great.

We would stay in this place again without hesitation. We got to peek in Mika Taki (next door- 4-bdrm) and would love to stay their with friends and family if we ever take that kind of trip.

Can't say enough good things about it.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Back Again

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

Just as wonderful on my second visit & hope to come back again. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mahalo

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Mahalo! The place is beautiful. We had a lovely time exploring this side of the island. It was wonderful to come home every night to such a comfortable and private home! We hope to visit again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Visit

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2011

We had a wonderful visit to your beautiful island of Hawaii. Mika Mizu was a lovely home to come back to after each day of exploring. So peaceful and beautiful. Thank you for the gift basket, it made us feel so special after the long trip. Every day was special here, beautiful sights, delicious food.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simply Beautiful

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Simply beautiful, relaxing and enjoyable. I am looking forward to returning next year. Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 15, 2011

What a great place - private, quiet. The bird sound and coqui sound were very relaxing. Mika Mizu had everything we needed and more. Just perfect. Mika Mizu is truly a gift...the gentle spirit of the island people, flowing lava, tsunamis and whale counts. In our six weeks here we met some wonderful people, immersed ourselves in the beauty and power of the island and return to the mainland knowing we will be back. Special thanks to Carrie, to Adan and to Lola for making this such a fabulous time. Mahalo Nui Loa & Aloha.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything Provided

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

We were so fortunate to have wonderful weather, beautiful sights and most of all, a perfect, perfect place to stay. We were delighted to find our "home" above and beyond our expectations. Thank you for all the extra touches. There wasn't a thing we needed that wasn't already provided.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 10, 2011

What an amazing vacation! Your home is by far my favorite place I've ever stayed while on vacation. An amazing, beautiful home in such a peaceful and unique setting. We traveled a lot in our 9 days here (1,500 miles!) but always loved returning to our home away from home. The cottage had everything we could have needed for our trip. We will definitely be returning next year when we celebrate our wedding. Thanks again for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Honeymoon

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

Thank you very much for this pleasant stay at your condo! The apartment is gorgeous and we enjoyed very much our honeymoon here. It is perfectly equipped and has a beautiful surrounding! We definitely will recommend this condo to our family/friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

THE BEST

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

We cannot thank you enough for the lovely accommodations. We travel frequently through VRBO and this is by far the nicest, best appointed place we've encountered. What else can I say? It truly is paradise! We will recommend it to all we know. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great getaway

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

The place was just beautiful! Everything was clean and inviteing. We would love to stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 15, 2010

Our stay at Mika Mizu was truly wonderful. the owners really know how to "stock" their property. From beautiful furniture, big screen TV, the pantry etc. We love the "use what you see and replace the last of what you use". the cottage was clean and full of supplies. The welcome basket is over the top with wine and all. We have used VRBO for about 7 years now, and this property was the best by far.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We didn't want to leave

Review submitted: October 31, 2010   Date of arrival: October 24, 2010

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday on the Big Island, and were fortunate to stay 4 nights at Mika Mizu. It was simply lovely. So many little extras to make our stay special. I wish we could have stayed for 4 weeks, but work and wallet would not allow... Highly recommended

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2009

All we can say is "WOW!" We echo all of the praises that others have heaped upon this beautiful "home away from home." Having stayed in many vacation rentals by owner here on the Big Island, this is, by far, the most comfortably outfitted of them all. We felt that the owners/designers had us in mind when putting Mika Mizu together. Thank you for providing a wonderful spot for us to celebrate our 41st wedding anniversary.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review