reviews for: listing #467433vb - Carlsbad, California rental

Light And Bright Beach Retreat
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 135 - $ 157 / night
    $ 899 - $ 1,099 / week
    $ 2,000 - $ 4,299 / month
  • sleeps  4
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Carlsbad Beach Condo

Review submitted: August 15, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed in this clean airy beach condo for a week. It's within walking distance to the beach and Carlsbad village which has numerous restaurants, stores, and surfshops. It's centrally located to all of the good surfing breaks within North San Diego. I would definitely recommend staying in this condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT VALUE NO SUPRISES

Review submitted: July 29, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

We have been staying in the Carlsbad, Oceanside, San Clemente area for the last 6 years, and this condo is by far the best value. Everything is new and everything works. Close to Carlsbad village, the beach, and the Coaster.

Will repeat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

1st of many future vacations here!

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 18, 2014

My wife, toddler & I loved this condo! The location is perfect. It's a very short walk to both Carlsbad Village & the beach.
We especially loved the grassy, flower-filled courtyard at the small condo complex. It was a nice, quiet place for our toddler to safely play. An unexpected perk of the condo was all the extra items on hand like beach chairs, a cooler, bucket & shovels, etc.
It wasn't needed this trip, but I appreciated the thoughtfulness of having both the air mattress & sleeper sofa in the condo. I can see this being useful on future trips.
The condo is very close to a commuter rail line, but this was not an issue for us. Our toddler loved seeing & hearing the trains & we were never annoyed by the occasional noise. At night we closed the bedroom windows & weren't woken up by the train. I suppose a very light sleeper could be awoken, but I sure wasn't!
We love this quiet, perfectly located condo & plan on coming back here in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean Lover

Review submitted: April 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 15, 2014

We have had the opportunity and great fortune to stay at some lovely properties
while traveling and would like to say your charming, comfortable, and
beautiful Bella Sirena is a delight and absolute gem.

The beach retreat was even more lovely than captured in the photos. Every detail and amenity was given thought and made our stay home-like from the fully stocked kitchen, gorgeous bathroom decor and amenities, splendid and comfy bedroom to the beach gear. The owners are kind and friendly, answering each query clearly and timely.

The property is immaculate, the grounds inviting, and the location superb. Though recommending this property will probably mean reservations will be more difficult to make, we do so wholeheartedly.

While vacationing, we had the opportunity to visit some terrific spots: Oceanside Pier - lunching at the Tin Fish (delicious), walking the beautiful and serene grounds of the Self Realization Fellowship Hermitage & Mediation Gardens in Encinitas, marveling at the blooming Flower Gardens in Carlsbad, reliving history at the Leo Carillo Ranch in Carlsbad, enjoying delectable dining at i Trulli in Encinitas, but most of all relishing the beautiful beach just a short walk from the condo.

Thank you for sharing it with us - we truly enjoyed our interlude in Carlsbad!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Value

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Excellent value. The codo was impeccably clean, neatly organized and within walking distance of everything we needed.
Minutes from the beach, park the car in the assigned lot and enjoy the local flavor. A must see is "The Flower Garden" which is less than a five mile drive from the condo.
Be aware trains go by often. The noise did not affect my sleep which it normally does, my adventures had me tired that I did hear them.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you! Our goal is to make sure everyone has a safe, clean, cozy and comfortable FIVE STAR place to stay and enjoy beautiful Carlsbad and all it has to offer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super Cozy, Great Location, Good Price -- what else can you ask for?

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

A lot of heart went into decorating this condo and it really shows. We had a very comfortable stay with our two daughters (a baby and a toddler), and the well outfitted kitchen and cozy linens were not lost on us. The location is FABULOUS and we enjoyed a very short walk to the beach and delicious food within a few minutes walk. (Try the Armenian Cafe or the Ceviche and Baja-Style Fish tacos at Las Olas-- yum!). The closet full of beach gear was super appreciated and a really classy touch. All-in-all, this is a lovely home away from home.

My only critiques are that the nearby train goes by several times an hour and the whistle woke up my kiddos several times in the middle of the night (boo, says the tired mama!), and in the condo there is poor natural light because the living room and kitchen look out to a wall (for some reason that matters to me enough to mention it, but I would totally stay here again anyway because it is otherwise SO nice).

Stay here -- you'll love it!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Margaret and I are very please to have so many satisfied guests. This really is a unique place ans our greatest wish is to provide everyone with a safe, comfortable and fun getaway!
In regards to the train, if you sleep with the windows closed, it dramatically minimizes the noise and most people don't really hear it after a few days. The weekenders will probably never get used to it. Regarding the natural light, just to clarify, there is an 8 ft. window in the living room that faces north, and 5 ft. window that faces west. The kitchen is a galley kitchen with a window in the dining room looking west.

Thank you all for such positive remarks. Telling us you would return and stay again is the greatest compliment we could get. We hope to have you all back again someday! Merry Christmas to you all !

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful condo and great location!

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

This was a great spot for a getaway. We loved the condo and the location is perfect! You can walk to restaurants , the beach is amazing with pedestrian friendly sidewalks. We will look forward to future visits..thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SoCal Vacation

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

This place was absolutely fantastic and is honestly a gem for a couples getaway! The unit has a great location only being several blocks away from the night-life/dinning Carlsbad has to offer, but is also only a couple blocks from the beach! Once, your car is parked at the unit, no need to drive! Would certainly re-visit this location for future stays. Unit was very well kept up, clean, quiet, pre-stocked with towels and some beach going gear in-case you forgot your own etc... Such a delight if I haven't mentioned it already! ;-)

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your comments! Our goal is to give everyone a 5 star visit! We feel this is a little gem of a unit and a fantastic location. Glad you enjoyed !

Timtohy and Margaret

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A delightful stay

Review submitted: September 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

My husband and I took the train from Orange County to Carlsbad Village station and walked a couple blocks to the condo. We had a delightful stay! The condo is tastefully decorated and very clean. It is very convenient to restaurants, shops and the beach. Since we came down on the train it was great to have everything for the beach right there...beach towels, boogie boards, chairs, ice chest, etc. Upstairs and being the end unit was a plus.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Carlsbad adventure

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

Overall we had a great trip. It was unseasonably warm and the house doesnot have AC and there was minimal breeze in the air. Ended up going to Walmart and buying a utility fan ( the only kind they had and Target was also sold out of all fans). Super close to everything including the beach. House is super cute and very clean (looks just like the pictures). Has all things needed for fun at the beach (bring your own sand toys for kids). King bed very comfortable, sofa sleeper sufficient for kids (not so much for me). Kitchen fully stocked and grocery store .5 miles away. Lots of good restaurants to enjoy and everything in walking distance. Excluding the temp the only other downfall is the proximity to the train. We had to sleep with windows shut and download a white noise machine on our phone to cut down on the train sounds. Owner very nice and returns messages immediately.
Overall I would return and stay again.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I'd definitely stay here again!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

My wife, myself, and my 5 year old daughter stayed here and it was perfect!!! The location is exceptional! Close to San Diego, Legoland, and a very short walk to the beach and Carlsbad Village shops and restaurants. The unit is beautiful! Excellently remodeled and looks brand new. Very comfortable bed and plenty big. Having a closet full of beach goodies was a nice bonus as well! (cooler, beach chairs, umbrella, beach mat, beach towels, boogie boards, etc). If my future travel plans lead me to the area again, I will definitely seek out this unit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

467433 Carlsbad Condo

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

This condo was everything we expected. The description does not lie about anything. we truly did not need ANY beach gear as it was all there for us already which was fantastic as it saved room for the drive. We love visiting Carlsbad and are so glad we found a location that suits our family and is sooo close to the beach and some great shopping too. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a very comfortable beach condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome condo!!

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful condo that was just remodeled. We stay in this complex every year but this was our first time staying in this unit. It was beautiful!! We had our 2 sons with us and it worked great for our family!!! Would highly recommend this unit!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Let me say that your residence in Carlsbad is all you promised, then some!  It is a great little place, in the heart of Carlsbad.  From there you can do anything.  It is clean and well-decorated.  It has everything you need in it.  Gloria and I enjoyed our stay immensely.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Could Not Have Been Nicer!

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

The listing description and photos were an accurate description of the property, but fell a little short of doing it justice. It is beautifully designed, thoroughly equipped, and tastefully decorated. It's classy! The condo was sparkling clean, and meticulously maintained. The owner was very accessible, and responded quickly to questions. He was friendly and helpful. Everything was as represented or better. There was no "puffing" in an attempt to promote this property. I recommend this property with no hesitation or reservation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Nothing Short of Fabulous

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

This property worked perfectly for us...family of 3 adults. Description and pics on VRBO are spot on! Location in Carlsbad Village allowed us to walk the beach, explore restaurants, and enjoy hair, nail, and spa services at multiple salons.
Timothy was superb at communicating and available for some minor issues that occurred.
The condo is fresh and clean and well stocked with everything we needed. WIFi worked well and cable tv had good selection for movies and music. We used the courtyard shared grill and laundry facilities. All were in good condition.
Considering there is only 1 bath, I would only recommend 4 adults if everyone knows each other well because privacy could be an issue.
Caution for those who don't do stairs as access requires steps from ground level to second level. The only other possible downside are the train whistles that start early morning hours. We did get more accustomed to this as the week progressed.
We would definitely stay again and would recommend based on comments above.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review