reviews for: listing #46858 - Hendersonville, North Carolina Cabin rental

Homestead 1800's Log Cabin, hot tub, fireplace, wifi
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $105 - $155 /nt
    $725 - $895 /wk

sort by:

Comfortably Rustic

Review submitted: March 7, 2014   Date of arrival: January 22, 2014

I spent two days at the Homestead log cabin and had a wonderful time. The owners were easy to deal with and were pleasant and helpful. The cabin is truly a showplace, and the setting is beautiful. I stayed by myself but the cabin could easily support several people. Everything was well-maintained and the modern elements were up-to-date. There was cable TV and wireless internet. It was, in essence, comfortably rustic. Without question, I would stay there again, and would recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to see the snow fall!

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 24, 2014

We were surprised by the snow when we arrived. The cabin was perfect for us! It was close to town and easy to find. Our favorite part was sitting in the ho tub and watching it snow. The cabin was well appointed and the staff was very kind and helpful. Will return again.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Our favorite Mountain Getaway

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2014

We always like to stay close to town but rarely find such a unique place as this. The Homestead had great character and a ton of space. There was room for 8 of us and 3 full baths was a huge bonus! The décor was very nice and fit in well with the historic cabin and the cabin was very clean when we checked in.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

1800's living about right!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

This cabin is very old and infested with bugs. If you have sinus problems like I do, you will be suffering. If you don't mind the bugs this place is not bad, but it's just very old and I worry about fire safety as all the windows were sealed shut. Would not recommend this cabin.

Owners response: I regret seeing such a sweeping statements of my Homestead Log Cabin.

With in Cranmore Cottages I strive to make all my guests happy and comfortable with their property choice. I welcome guest comments and concerns as often issues will go unnoticed if not for the guest. If a guest calls with any concern the reply is always, "What can I do to make this better for you?" and then we do it. That question was asked of these guests as well. If one isn't satisfied with the property once arrived I am pleased to move them to a different one, if available. This particular guest had no concerns other than the ants and flies that they spoke to me about.

The Homestead Log Cabin's original structure was built in 1830, yes it is old. We have tried to keep the integrity of the structure and it's eventual additions that were added over the years. Some of the doors are much shorter than standard, walls are not plum and the original windows wavy. All of this is written in the description of the property on line. We do not encourage guests who prefer new build or all sheet rock walls to stay in this particular property as it is quite rustic. Most guests who choose this cabin are completely thrilled to stay in a home with such Appalachian heritage.

The guest phoned me the day after they arrived letting me know about the tiny aunts in the back bathroom... we addressed that with in an hour of their phone call. They also complained of flies, and the house was sprayed for those as well. Each of my properties are sprayed on a three week rotation, more if there is a guest concern.

All of the windows are not sealed shut. The window in the living room has an air conditioner unit in it so it would have to be pushed out in event of a fire. Both windows in the Master bedroom and in the Master bath are in proper working order. One window in the back den has an air conditioner unit in it and the other is in proper working order. There is a window in the queen bedroom that is in proper working order. There is a door in the dining room leading to the outside as well as one in the kitchen. There is also a door leading to the outside from the back den. I do not believe there is a fire hazard in the home as far as proper working exits in each room.

Warm regards,
Sandra Cloer

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Awesome Cabin!

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

Our stay in this cabin was excellent. It is private! It is comfortable! It is clean! It is close to town! When we started looking for places on the VRBO website, it seemed like we looked at 100 places. We narrowed our search down to a few, and this one appeared to be the best match for us. After our vacation, I can confirm with enthusiasm that we made a a good choice. It is off the main road. However, it is very convenient to get to any place you want to go, and the roads are all well paved and easy to traverse. We are planning to come back to the mountains in the near future, and we will certainly stay in this log home away from home again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Love the Cabin!

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week and loved every minut!. The cabin is wonderful and it is the first time we didn't have to clean upon arrival....the place was spotless. The house has everything you need and is very large. The location is also great. Much closer to Asheville than we expected (about 20 minutes) and 3 miles from Hendersonville. We cannot wait to come back next year. Thanks so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Convenient Romantic Valentines Getaway

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

We reserved the 1800s Log Cabin for our 3 nights away for Valentines Day. What a treat. The place was way too big for us, but it was nice to spread out. The fireplace in the living room was perfect at night when we relaxed from the day. We also enjoyed the hot tub! Cant wait to return in the summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Coolest place I've ever stayed!

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2010

We just returned from our Thanksgiving getaway to the mountains with my mom and our 3 kids. We all loved the Homestead Log Cabin. I thought of all the families who must have celebrated Thanksgiving here over the decades. What a nice feeling to be added to the list. The cabin is very tastefully decorated and we had more than we needed to cook our feast. The kids loved the family room off the master bedroom. They felt like they had their own private place. My husband and I relaxed in the hot tub each night in the cold weather. We plan on returning again in the spring to see family again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Charming, but lots of problems

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

My sister and I have just returned from the Homestead cabin, which was charming and well located; however we encountered several problems.

When we arrived we found no corkscrew and when we started our dinner there was only one skillet in the kitchen - it was teflon and had big scratches and black lumps in it - not usable at all. Then when I went to unpack [in the green and red room] the closet floor was soaking wet and there was black mold all over the ceiling. Black mold is very dangerous. I could not use this closet at all - the floor was still wet when we left on Sunday so I had to keep my suitcase on the floor in the bedroom all weekend. There is no dresser and no nightstand or reading lamp by the bed in that room. Also when I went to bed I found that there was no mattress cover on that bed.

Later we went to the living room to watch a movie and the DVD player was broken. And in the master bedroom the hot water only stayed on for a few minutes; then it went cold. Is it on a timer?? And my sister found a burnt out light bulb in that room.

Your maintenance man resolved many of those problems the next day, but it was certainly not a good way for us to start a "relaxing" weekend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+

Owners response: As a concerned owner, we do take care of every guest issue as soon as we know about it. Our primary goal is for everyone to leave happy with their stay. As you stated, maintenance did respond to as many of the problems the next day as he could. We doo appreciate your comments. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 3 / 9

 

Great Historic Place to stay

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

We just returned from the Homestead Log Cabin and loved it. Close to town Hendersonville and Asheville. The decor was well planned out and comfortable. Heather did a great job helping us plan things to do. We will go back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Charming Experience

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 7, 2009

Dean and Sandra-
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful cabin with us! We love it! The decor is amazing and the location is so close to town. We enjoyed the hot tub and the game room. The kids loved the loft area. It has been a charming experience.
Thanks again!
Bert and Elaine
Birmingham, AL

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Historically Cool Cabin!

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2009

What a historically cool cabin! It was a great starting point for all our adventures! We went to Chimney Rock, Biltmore Estate, Downtown Hendersonville and the waterfall areas in Brevard. We can't wait to return again!
Derek and Bev
Coral Springs, FL

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Convinent Cabin

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

Dean and Sandra-
This was our first trip to the Hendersonville area and we are in love with it! The Homestead Cabin was perfect for us. It's convenience to everything was fantastic. We had hoped it would not be extremely secluded and this was just right. The hot tub was nice after long days of hiking. We would recommend your historic "quirky" cabin to anyone!
Thank you!
Steve and Dana

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Convienient Cabin

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

Dean and Sandra-
This was our first trip to the Hendersonville area and we are in love with it! The Homestead Cabin was perfect for us. It's convenience to everything was fantastic. We had hoped it would not be extremely secluded and this was just right. The hot tub was nice after long days of hiking. We would recommend your historic "quirky" cabin to anyone!
Thank you!
Steve and Dana

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Historically Cool cabin!

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2009

What a historically cool cabin! It was a great starting point for all our adventures! We went to Chimney Rock, Biltmore Estate, Downtown Hendersonville and the waterfall areas in Brevard. We can't wait to return again!
Derek and Bev
Coral Springs, FL

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Charming Experience

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 7, 2009

Dean and Sandra-
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful cabin with us! We love it! The decor is amazing and the location is so close to town. We enjoyed the hot tub and the game room. The kids loved the loft area. It has been a charming experience.
Thanks again!
Bert and Elaine
Birmingham, AL

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review