reviews for: listing #46862 - Lake Placid, New York Cabin rental

The Icehouse
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Whiteface Mountain
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $380 /nt
    $1,200 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

A disappointment

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Perhaps our expectations were too high, but we were disappointed by the Ice House. We arrived on a very warm Saturday afternoon in mid-June to find that the interior of the house was swelteringly hot (our baby’s monitor has a thermostat which read 28 degrees Celsius or higher at 7:30pm each night in the bedroom, which decreased slowly to a low of ~25 degrees by 4am). There are very few windows, and those that open are the awning style that have very small openings - providing insufficient airflow to cool the house down even when the outside temperature at night became nice and cool. We were also unable to contact the owners for assistance as the telephone and internet did not work. We finally managed to contact them by pay phone the next day and, to their credit, they took steps to send us three fans from Walmart (which were, unfortunately, loud and ineffective) and to have the phone lines repaired (on Tuesday). As a result, our first night was unbearable, and the subsequent nights were all uncomfortable. The surrounding lands were also not what we expected - the land is being actively logged, which means 18-wheel trucks pass the front of the house at various times each day and large heavy logging equipment and piles of debris are scattered along the trail.

Perhaps most disappointing has been the very unsatisfactory response to our polite requests for a partial refund for the problems we had with the phone/internet and ventilation. We provided the owners with a detailed account of our concerns, with photos, more than three weeks ago and they have, to date, failed to provide us with any response. As an earlier delay in their response to our initial complaint was adequately explained to us we can only hope that there is some reasonable explanation for the present failure to get back to us. We will of course update this review regarding the service issue if the owners finally respond.

Helpful votes: 16 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The lovely Heidi reviews the Icehouse on her blog

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

I couldn't help but share (with permission, of course)Heidi's review of the Icehouse. She took some brilliant pictures (I am not allowed to post her web address on vacation rentals but am happy to send it along to anyone interested), too! What a talented gal!!!!
We were so happy to hear about the great time they had - we love the house and it's such a pleasure when people share our enthusiasm...

We'll be posting more guestbook reviews soon, so watch this space!

------------------

I was lucky enough to escape the world for two wonderful days of bliss. I was in dire need of some r&r! Sometimes I forget how important it is to take some time to myself. I had this place in my mind…a place I really didn’t think existed. Well guess what? It does! Only 2.5 hours away from home. A REAL MIRACLE!

I managed to find the most perfect little cabin hideaway. Sitting on 1,000 acres inside the great Adirondack State Park in Upper Jay, New York. Just 20 short minutes from Lake Placid which prior to this trip, I had never been. Living in Upstate New York has it’s perks. Especially when you live so close to something like this place.

We arrived on Friday evening and it was pitch black. Luckily, I thought of this prior and brought along my flash light! I was surprisingly spooked when we first pulled up. It was sooo dark and quiet! Don’t get me wrong, I love the outdoors and camping. It just felt strange to be in an unfamiliar place with only the moonlight and my tiny LED flashlight leading us up the driveway.

We awoke on Saturday morning to a dusting of snow that had covered the woods throughout the night. Truly making this place even more dreamy. Usually, here in New York, winter is ROUGH but this year we haven’t seen much snow come through. It was nice to see… even if I don’t particularly enjoy an abundance of it.

Both mornings we made an epic breakfast on the most BEAUTIFUL stove I have ever laid eyes on. Honestly, cooking is a trade I need some practice at but, even I could admire the greatness it was. This thing was life changing! After breakfast we set out on a hike to explore the park. We walked for what seemed like hours with hopes of reaching the top of uhhhh… something. No such luck. It really just came down to us walking trails endlessly and me falling through what seemed to be, a very large mud puddle that had frozen over. Oh! And of course taking a bazillion photos.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

lovely hide-away

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

We stayed at the Icehouse for a week in September and had a wonderful time - my kids (9 and 12)and our labradoodle thought it was very special, and they all loved being out in the woods!
It's nicely decorated and has all that you'd expect from a stylish cabin. The caretaker was very helpful and it was good to be greeted by him and shown around.
We'll be back in the winter for some skiing hopefully.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 12

 

Nice cabin in the woods...

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

Our family rented the Icehouse for a week in August 2010 while attending the 2010 Lake Placid lacrosse tournament. We enjoyed the house immensely. The ride to Lake Placid was about 20 - 25 minutes in the summer time. An easy drive. Whiteface was about 10 minutes. The location of the house is ideal for people visiting Whiteface and looking for a historic property to stay in. We had no problems during our stay. The house was ready and clean. All amenities listed on the website were present and in good working order. We used Pay Pal to pay for our stay. You can book this property with confidence. We have stayed in various places in the Lake Placid - Saranac Lake region for the past 30 years and really enjoyed the experience at the Icehouse. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is the place for you. We look forward to our return to the Adirondack region in August 2011.
Pete

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review