reviews for: listing #46876 - Queens, New York Studio rental

One stop from Manhattan! Restored Townhouse
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hunters Point
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $145 /nt
    $875 - $1,015 /wk
    $3,000 - $3,300 /mth

sort by:

Excellent place!

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Excellent place during our vacations in NY, great location near by subways, grocery stores and a couple of restaurants. A couple of block you will see the graffiti building, MoMa, etc.
The host Orestes was very helpful, and also provided great tips to enjoy better our trip. We felt at home during our stay.
The place and bathroom was clean and well-maintained, and the place was always heated during our stay, which was greatful due to the cold weather. The Backyard was a plus also.
I would definitively recommend this property!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your recommendation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, location .......

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

The location alone of this apartment is the main reason we chose to stay here. Centraly Manhattan is only ten to fifteen minutes away. The price was a pleasant surprise. Very cosey and also very quiet, specially at night. The host, Orestes, is very obliging and readily willing to offer advice on local attractions and customs and also has many tips that ease the stress of newcomers to unfamiliar surroundings, making the stay even more memorable.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect NYC stay

Review submitted: October 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

My partner and I very much enjoyed our stay at this lovely townhouse in New York City.

The accommodation was much more spacious than we expected and clean and tidy too. The bedroom we stayed in was large and the bathroom and other quarters were all modern, inside the 1890's era building.

Most of all we loved the company of the residents, they were more than willing to point out places to see and things to do during our stay. We've decided to stay in touch with them and hope they'll visit us in Australia sometime in the future.

The garden out the back was a welcome surprise and was an extreme rarity in NYC - it was a perfect spot for eating breakfast.

The location was perfect too - walking distance to an excellent diner and the subway station, which is only one stop to Manhattan.

We would highly recommend this vacation rental to anyone who's looking for an affordable and quality place to stay.

Jason & Michelle
Gold Coast Australia

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Im glad you enjoyed your stay here! Looking forward to seeing you again very soon!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very nice, but lacking in privacy

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

The owner could not have been nicer or more accommodating, and the room and bath are beautiful and comfortable. And indeed, the house is very conveniently located to the subway and Manhattan.

However, please be aware that this is simply a bedroom and bath in someone's private house. That fact is not very clear from the description of the accommodations. As such, it may not provide the level of privacy that you might expect and require. The entrance is NOT private. It is also used by the owner, the cleaning lady and sundry visitors. The room and bath are located on the ground level of the building. The owner lives on the floor above AND uses the rest of the ground level floor on which the accommodations you are renting are located, an open area, as his office. He is pretty much there all day and most of the evening, with music playing. On one occasion, the owner had a visitor in his office into the middle of the evening and both were talking very loudly. I had to ask them to please keep it down so that my daughter and I could rest after a very busy day of sightseeing.

Although the bath is supposed to be reserved for your use while renting, I am pretty sure that when we were out, it was also used by the owner and/or visitors.

If the above does not bother you, you will love the place. As I said, the owner could not be nicer or more accommodating, the room is very comfortable and the building is very well located and beautifully renovated.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: As the guest said, I couldnt have been nicer, but she read the description incorrectly.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Clean, Comfortable and Affordable

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

My trip to New York was great. I enjoyed staying at this lovely brownstone patio home. It was clean, comfortable, affordable and perfect for my family of four. Since the price was reasonable it allowed me to spend money elsewhere..shopping, dining and tourist attractions.

In just four days we visited just about every land mark in Manhattan. We took the subway daily and it was just a quick subway ride to our tourist attractions. Everyday we came back to Queens to our rental home and took a good nap. We ended the evening going to the restaurants here in Queens. The food here locally was amazing and there was a variety of every food imaginable, due to the many different cultures here.

I enjoyed the shower. It was big, beautiful and had plenty of hot water. It was my sauna and my family liked it as well.

The owner of this site took the time to make sure that we had everything that we needed, he offered advice on the sight seeing and he made sure that we were comfortable.

I felt safe, well rested and enjoyed my trip. I would recommend staying here and I would definately return to this location.

The Miller Family
Houston Texas

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A convenient oasis

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 29, 2009

Just 1 subway stop from the heart of mid-town Manhattan, it couldn't have been a better a location to stay. We traveled in minutes to Times Square, Central Park, and Greenwich Village all from the subway stop on the corner.

And at the day's end, the quiet tree-lined street gave us a break from the fast pace of the city streets. The best of both worlds for us. Including cozy locally owned restaurants to walk to.

The studio felt like home and was large enough to have both a sitting and sleeping area. But we never wanted to leave the amazing shower.

This is a MUST stay! We're definitely coming back.

DJ, Boston

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: thankls for your input!!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Location Location Location

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

What a beautiful place to stay when visiting NYC. It is just a hop to Manhattan (5 minutes on the train)and Brooklyn for my favorite bagels and deli sandwiches. The room is spacious and clean (unlike most of the hotels in Manhattan). My favorite is the shower. OMG!!!!!!!!! You have to see it and experience it to believe it. Relax with a cup of coffee or tea in the garden...it's beautiful and so peaceful.

It is situated on a picturesque New York street, lined with beautiful trees and rows of townhomes. Everything you need is within walking distance or a hop on the train. I would suggest buying an unlimited train pass...well worth it. I had a craving for my favorite cream puffs from Papa Beard's (on 77th and Broadway) and it literally took me 15 minutes to get there. WOW...I had never been in Long Island City before and so I thought because of the name, that it was far away from Manhattan. I couldn't be more wrong. I loved the Diner around the corner (next to the subway station) the food was so good I had brunch there twice.

I enjoyed my stay and can't wait to stay here again.

Andrew
Atlanta, GA

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: thanks for your input!

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review