reviews for: listing #46880 - Gulf Shores, Alabama House rental

My Blue Heaven! Gulfview 6BD Elevator Pier
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lagoon Pass
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $800 - $3,695 /wk
    $1,795 - $2,495 /mth

sort by:

Fantastic!

Review submitted: December 2, 2008   Date of arrival: November 22, 2008

SO enjoyed our stay at My Blue Heaven. The luxury - the roominess - the good taste in furnishings. It was fabulous. So bright and cheery. Everyone loved the extra icemaker and also the little fridge upstairs. And the elevator was perfect, really helped with our luggage and our great-grandparents.
Really loved it. We fished, we walked on the beach. One of our party even surfed! It couldn't be nicer, except if it was summer and we could have swum as well. Wait, two of our adults and one child did go swimming! In November!
We hope to return when we can all swim.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

vacation

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
overall satisfied, but I am not from Alabama. I am from illinois

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heavy Equipment Working in the Area at this Time

Review submitted: July 1, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
For the next several months the Little Lagoon Bridge is being replaced and under construction. Heavy equipment cranks up at 7 am each weekday morning. MBH is adjacent to this bridge and the construction work.

Understandably, the house is showing some wear. The commode in the Master Suite broke and was down for a day. Given the extent of the problem, management handled it admirably and expeditiously.

There is a negative situation on the second floor. The Jack and Jill bath has no entry from the hall making it difficult for guest staying in the 2nd floor 3rd bedroom or Crows Nest.

Overall, our very large family had a great stay. Aside from the bridge construction, MBH is well located to the beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Really is a little bit of heaven

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

There was absolutely nothing lacking in this home. We had so much room, so well furnished,and everything you need for the beach is already there. We had a faulty microwave, called and it was replaced that afternoon. Susan and Geoff were so helpful and friendly. Our family made so many wonderful memories!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Rental

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This house was about as perfect as a rental can be. It was a short distance from the beach, it was clean, and it was large enough for our group of 6 couples. Management was very professional and timely in response to any of my questions. There is only 2 things that keep it from being a 5 star in our opinion. The 2nd floor has 3 bedrooms but only one bathroom. It made it a little tough if everyone was getting ready at once, but we worked around it fine. The other, which may have just been poor timing on our part, is the fact that they were doing construction directly outside our window for the entire stay. This is nothing the owners can control, so hopefully next year we will have better timing. Overall, a very accommodating experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Springbreak 2014 at "My Blue Heaven" = Amazing!!

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
"My Blue Heaven" will definitely be recommended to a large number of people in the Midwest!! The property management team was outstanding!! The house was exquisitely furnished and supplied for beach vacationers of all ages and interests. Our family enjoyed being close to surrounding attractions, but also being able to relax at the house with space to spread out!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

very nice place to escape from reality

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
It was an almost perfect place for our group to get away from the daily grind and relax. The house was amazing and very comfortable even with a large group like we had.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Beach Experience

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
"My Blue Heaven" was a beautiful house,well situated at a mere 2 minute walk from the beach. The bedrooms were tastefully decorated, the beds were very comfortable, and the baths well stocked and roomy for our large family. We appreciated the roominess of the kitchen, as well as a table we could all gather around for meals. The elevator was a nice luxury to have for moving luggage! The outdoor shower was wonderful to get most of the sand off of our little beach bums before going inside! Fishing gear and extra boogie boards insured no one had to share, and we loved having the big wagon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Spring Break!!

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Plenty of room for myself, children and grandchildren. Loved every minute. Short walk across the street to the beach and short walk to the lagoon. Kayaked in the lagoon and it was wonderful. Far enough, 3 miles, from the busy tourists but close enough to join in the fun. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a place to make wonderful lifetime memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun family beach time

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

Spent a week at My Blue Heaven with large extended family, ranging in age from 6wks-80. Lots of wonderful memories made!

Lots of hard tile flooring and stairs made the parents of little kids nervous, but no major accidents! The activity shed was full of everything we needed for outdoor activities, beach chairs, umbrellas, beach toys, kites, fishing poles, crab traps, golf clubs, and much more!

The only complaint which is not the owners's fault was the road/utility construction that went on all week outside the house with LOTS of noise from 7am-8pm everyday.

Would definitely visit again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

my blue heaven

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Fabulous house, fabulous location. We had a fantastic time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best House at the Beach!

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
A beautiful home that slept 13 of us with room to spare. Georgeous views, neighborhood pier for fishing, and easy access to the beach. Would definately rent again when coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Family Vacation Ever!!!!

Review submitted: January 12, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

Our children and grandchildren joined us for a Christmas/Anniversary celebration at 'My Blue Heaven'. The beautiful house was everything and more than advertised. There were 15 of us, ages 70 to 8 yrs, and more than enough room for all to enjoy their own space. The elevator was definitely a plus for getting baggage and groceries to the upper rooms. We have been coming to Gulf Shores for several years, but this was our first time in a vacation home rental--it won't be our last. Everyone agreed we must come back to 'My Blue Heaven'. Thanks Geoff for your quick response to our phone call on our arrival and Susan for helping with the booking details.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEST Beach House Ever!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Our family of 13, 8 adults and 5 granchildren, stayed at My Blue Heaven and it was truly Heaven! This was the best beach house we have ever rented. The elevator was great for carrying up food, luggage and sleeping little ones. There was an extra refridgerator in the room under the house. SO many sand toys for the children to build sand castles with. A wondefully stocked kitchen with lots of room to cook in. The bedrooms were spacious and we had more than enough room to spread out. The kids loved the pier to fish off of and we even caught a couple of crabs with the crab cage from the house. Access to the beach was easy and the beach cart available was great. I could go on and on about this house, but will simply say, the next time our family vacation is in Gulf Shores, we will definately try to rent this house again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My Blue Heaven Is Accurately Named

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Everyone was excited to see the house and exploreit as soon as we arrived. The great room was a wonderful place for family get togethers in the evenings. The kitchen was beautiful like the rest of the house. It has everything one could want and was a pleasure to work in. I liked that the large dining table allowed us to have dinner together as a family. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. One was so big that we were able to use the two large closets as bedrooms for two of the toddlers. A small crib like a pack and play fits fine in each one. Their parents had their children close by and could still have a private room. There are porches galore and we used everyone of them. The grill was a popular way to cook and was well used. I should add that we were a group of eleven including the three toddlers and everyone fit in the house very comfortably. The elevator was handy when we had groceries and was a big hit with the tlittle ones. The crow's nest was a universal favorite as a get away spot to nap or relax. There's enough room to set up a crib. It would make a great place to sleep for a baby that's not mobile yet. We really enjoyed the kayak we rented for a week at an affordable price.. It was used almost every day. The beach was wonderful. We were even lucky enough to see some wildlife in the water. At one point two of our kayakers came very close to some dolphins. A mother dolphin and her baby came fairly close to the kayak which made our two boaters very happy. We loved staying in this house and would highly recommend it to those with a large group to accomodate. Thankyou Susan and Geoff
for a great experience!.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wonderful Time!

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

The listing was just as it described but the pictures weren't accurate. It was much better! The amenities were great, everything was clean and well-maintained. My family and I enjoyed our vacation very much. I would recommend this property to anyone. A few of our favorite restuarants would have to be Desoto's, Sea n suds, Ribs & Reds, and of course The Original Oyster house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Review submitted: September 18, 2009   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

Thank You, Susan and Geoff, for going above and beyond the call of duty to arrange last minute accommodations for our beach vacation. My Blue Heaven exceeded all of our expectations! We totally enjoyed the house, family atmosphere, and easy access to the beach and bay. We had a GREAT time! And, we absolutely hope to stay again in 2010. Thanks again for making our stay possible and completely enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 26, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We really enjoyed The Blue Heaven House, each room had a different setting and the layout was perfect including balcony at upper level. Seemed like the owners lived there making it a point to provide everything we might need. Plenty of room for our six adult one baby crew. Close to any shopping or resturants. Talked with a some friendly neighbors and really enjoyed the bay dock as well as the ocean. My son picked the loft room with 360 view....All beach item provided even a beach pull cart,surf board, skim boards, chairs, etc. We did have to make our own sand castles...

Not a bad way to end 2008 and start 2009.. Do it again Oh Yea.....

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 12, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

The descriptives that we were given did not begin to describe the amenities of "My Blue Heaven". 10 members of our family made our first visit to the Gulf beaches the first week of August. The house, the shore and convenience exceeded all our expectations.

Thanks for sharing this little piece of heaven with us.

The Collins Family
North Carolina

Helpful votes: 12 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 3, 2007   Date of arrival: September 3, 2007

Excerpt from guestbook: "The beach was beautiful and the house was just perfect for our growing family. We've already talked about coming back--specifically to this house.

We've tried to leave the house better than we arrived and hope your future guests will do the same--its such a GREAT place. Thanks Again"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 23, 2007   Date of arrival: June 23, 2007

From our guestbook: "Our week was awesome! We enjoyed our time spent on the beach and sitting on one of the three porches. For most of us it was our first time in Gulf Shores and we would love to come back. Thank you for letting us stay in 'My Blue Heaven'.

P.S. This house is so beautiful we decided to have a wedding here!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 16, 2007   Date of arrival: June 16, 2007

From our guestbook: "What a wonderful week! Clear skies and light breezes every day. The house is beautiful and accomodated our two families perfectly. The kids played on the beach (and moms, too) and fished on the pier everyday. The dads went on a 12 hour deep sea fishing trip Tuesday and it was an unbelievable experience: 425 lbs of fish. We highly recommend the "Jamie G" if you want to deep sea fish.

Thanks for your hospitality and your wonderful home."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 17, 2006   Date of arrival: June 17, 2006

From our guestbook: "This was our 5th time to Gulf Shores and this was by far the nicest house that we have stayed at! There was so much room for such a large clan to hang out in or separate if needed. The house was so well planned out and the kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. The ice machine was definately a plus.

Thanks for making this one of the most pleasurable vacations we've shared with our friends and families thus far. The memories will be sketched in our hearts forever!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

Excerpt from our guestbook: "What an incredible house! We loved every minute. ...We get to come to the beach once or twice a year but have always stayed in condos. We are definately spoiled now by staying in such a beautiful, quiet place.

We hated to leave! Thanks again!" The Wilsons

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 31, 2006   Date of arrival: May 31, 2006

Comment from our guestbook: "What a great house-lots of room! The weather was perfect. It was nice to stay where there are only houses instead of rows of condos and overcrowded beaches. It felt nice and secluded.

What a cool little area on the beach to the left where the Gulf flows into the bay (Lagoon Pass). We named it "the current". The kids loved it and they found lots of great shells."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 26, 2006   Date of arrival: March 26, 2006

Comment from our guestbook at My Blue Heaven: "There is so much to do in this home. The elevator has been a wonderful thing for my husband. In your planning you thought of everything and it was our pleasure to be here and enjoy your home away from home. We loved everything about this home! Thank you so much, The Alabama family from Gadsden"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review