reviews for: listing #46895 - Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida House rental

Ocean Estate: - Best of the Best, pool, sleeps 14-16
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $700 - $700 /nt
    $3,200 - $5,800 /wk
    $8,000 - $19,000 /mth

sort by:

Great beach house

Review submitted: July 26, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

This beach house is gorgeous. We are very picky and enjoy nice amenities - this house does not disappoint! In between sawgrass and st. Augustine. Great location. We hope to return very soon"

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation! Didn't want to leave!

Review submitted: July 1, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

We loved our stay at the Ocean Estate. There were 11 of us and the house was very comfortable for a large group. The pool was large and very clean. The game room was an added bonus for the few rainy afternoons we had. The kids loved it and it kept them happy. To be able to walk just a few steps and be on the beach was heaven! One of my favorite things about the beach in this area, is that it is never crowded. We have stayed in other rentals in this same area, but this house was by far the best! The owners were very responsive and helpful. We can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ocean Estates-The Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: June 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

Our stay at Ocean Estates was the vacation of a lifetime for us. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. There were 15 of us ranging in age from 9 months to age 84. Never once did we feel crowded. Rick and Jenny were wonderful to work with. Always available if we had any concerns. The property was beautiful and well maintained. It was much more than we ever imagined. The layout was perfect for our group. We were in our own little world. My family says now they are spoiled to anything else! I would recommend this property to anyone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly a gorgeous Estate right on the Ocean.

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

Rick & Jenny provided excellent customer service, very responsive to my calls & emails from the earliest planning stages all the way to our departure.
The pictures and description depict the home accurately but do not portray the true warmth you feel and the beauty whether inside or outside we all felt so relaxed.
7 of us (3 generations) left Houston to go to my son's wedding in Jacksonville. We were going to stay at a beach front hotel in seperate rooms but once I came across the idea of staying at a beach house we are all so blessed that we did & especially this one. We were able to interact so much more together and at the same time the house is so spacious that we never felt we were on top of each other. The beach is gorgeous, walked it in the days & in the nights, plenty of sea shells!
I highly recommend the Ocean Estate to anyone that has family or friends and are looking for a great place to enjoy yourselves.
We drove between JAX airport, downtown and around Jacksonville with the beach house being our home base. Driving not bad at all, nice roads so made good times, beautiful scenery.
We went to St. Augustine, which was unplanned, once we realized we were only ~15 minutes away. That was an awesome surprise. Highly recommend going there especially since it is so close. The city is filled with history, we went to some great shops & ate there...so many places so close together. A thunderstorm blew through just before we could climb up the stairs on the lighthouse so they closed that portion of it but hopefully you will get to go up.
Parking is a bit tight at the beach house but we didn't care because everything else about the Ocean Estate was just so overwhelming.
We will remember our incredible stay at the Ocean Estate far more vividly in the years to come versus if we had stayed in seperate rooms at a hotel so don't think twice, pool your money together if you have to and book this place! Trebor.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ocean Estate a Great Location for Families

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

The Ocean Estate is a great location for a family reunion. We just stayed there with our 3 children their spouses and 7 grandchildren ages 6 and under! Even the 5-week old had a great time. The house is spacious and well appointed. The owners are very hands on and want to make sure that you have a great time. I would recommend this property highly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Fantastic Oceanfront Villa

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Our family of 8 adults and 6 young grand kids stayed at this wonderful beach villa for a week in June. The home is absolutely beautiful with large comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms. The swimming pool was in constant use. You just don't see many oceanfront villas with pools so this house is a rare treat. There is even a game room with video games and a pop corn machine. There is plenty of closet space and the washer and dryer worked perfectly.
The owners are terrific people who are in constant touch should you need something. There are plenty of beach towels and kids toys for the beach and pool. We will definitely plan or returning.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ocean Estates

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

Our stay at Ocean Estates was an incredible experience. We enjoyed the home so much. The pictures are a good representation of the property. There is no hesitation in recommending this property as a family vacation home. Rick and Jenny were very easy to talk to and addressed our questions truthfully. I would love to go back again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Yearly Getaway

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

We had a great holiday at this exclusive and truly accommodating location. The house was fantastic and had everything we needed. This secluded and private estate provided us with a much needed getaway. We were not bothered by anyone but were still very close to all the shops and restaurants in St.Augustine (only 10 min drive). We enjoyed the fantastic view from the sunset to the sunrise. The beach and warm ocean water were at our feet. We especially enjoyed gorgeous sunrise in bed of the second floor bedroom. We will most definitely come back alone or with our entire extended family as there is enough room for all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Epic Golf Vacation!

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

Booked this fabulous beachfront home with pool/hot tub as group leader for an annual golf trip with 16 guys. Great location for play at TPC Sawgrass (15 minutes), World Golf Village and Hall of Fame (30 minutes) and many other JAX area golf courses. Home is beautiful, well-maintained- as billed in every way. Owners were not only easy to work with, but really went above and beyond in terms of covering details with me to be sure that we had an enjoyable stay. Would rent this home again in a second if our trip returns to the JAX area in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ocean Estate

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

This vacation home and amenities were close to perfect for our family! Spacious wonderful place to stay just as described in listing and pictures. Pool was fabulous and greatly enjoyed by all especially our 4 yr. old grandson who begs each day to "go back to the beach house".Easy to contact owner when we had a question, Home was clean, neat and had pleasing decor. We all agree we'd love to go back next year. Marineland was our favorite day trip. We cooked some great meals in the large kitchen and enjoyed eating in the lovely dining room in the evening and breakfast at the big family table in the kitchen. The games in the game room were so handy esp. at rainy times.Fabulous week!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spring Break for Family of 6

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

The home and location provide the atmosphere for a great family vacation. The beach was where we started and ended almost every day - it helped that we had absolutely perfect weather. The home is located 10-15 miles from St. Augustine to the south or Ponte Vedra Beach to the North and there was pleanty to keep us entertained. We would not hesitate to rent this home again.

Our only comment for improvement would be that this appliances in the kitchen should be updated. The cost of new appliances in the kitchen would be money well spent.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We opened the door and stepped into paradise!

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

This gorgeous home far exceeded our expectations. Clean, spacious, and beautifully furnished...it was perfect in every way! It easily accomodated our family of 9 adults very comfortably. The location on the beach was ideal. In all, this lovely home had everything we wanted and hoped for. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND this wonderful property to all.

Thank you for sharing this beautiful home with us. Our warm, wonderful memories will last a lifetime...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Spectacular views, breath-taking home

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Ten of us, plus two four-legged boys, stayed at the Estate for Christmas 2011. The decor and design of the house is amazing. We had plenty of room to spread out, yet enough space to gather together. The owners were kind enough to have a large Christmas tree for us to put our gifts under and for Santa to leave surprises for all the girls. The spa is one of the nicest we have ever used and it's great not to have to climb up to get into it. The pool area was just beautiful, especially the fountain.

On the down side, it seems strange to have such a large, lovely dining room but not enough chairs or a large enough table to accommodate at least 10. Sharing meals is one of the things our group enjoys most, so it was a little sad that the children were in the dining room and the adults in the beautiful breakfast area. We also had some difficulty with the stove. It would heat up and then seem to cool down after a few minutes. A "quick" stir-fry" dinner took more than an hour to cook. The dishwasher also didn't do a very good job. We usually washed by hand and then put in the dishwasher. As with most rentals designed for large groups, we wish we could have had more serving bowls, but there was a great supply of tableware and dishes. A slow cooker would also be nice for putting on a pot of soup or chili. And, finally, we couldn't get two of the games in the game room to work. On the plus side, the washer and dryer worked great.

We were able to spend a lot of time in St. Augustine, where the food is pretty good and the shopping is great and the history is overwhelming. We took a walking ghost tour that was just O.K. because our guide was not as animated as others we overheard, but it was a good outing. The trolleys are a great way to get around and get a scope of places you may want to visit. We had a wonderful late lunch at Caps on the Water, and we highly recommend the gator tail and the tacos--the tuna taco is mouthwatering. The weather was wonderful and we were able to spend a lot of time on the beach which had an abundance of great conch shells.

Overall, this place is fantastic. It was very clean and the pictures are accurate. I would certainly recommend it to friends or family. The twins (8) say that this is the best place we have ever stayed and they want to go back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We certainly enjoyed having Joyce and her extended family stay at Ocean Estate...And we appreciated her nice comments and recommendation. Just to clear up some of her small concerns, the large glass dining room table seats eight (about as big as you can get) and the breakfast room has a large round table that another seats eight comfortably. We have checked the stove and it is fine. The dishwasher is new and works fine. We have hard water in this area thus the home has a large water softener to help as well as we leave specific soaps for the new dishwasher so our guests have clear clean dishes. One of the three game machines in the game room is out of order (with a sign) but the other two work fine. As with all of our guests, had we heard of any issues we would have done our best to correct them right away ... From bringing additional serving bowls to showing a guest how to work the dishwasher and stove correctly. We did not hear from Joyce ... But, we are always available to help our guests. Ocean Estate is truly the premier home on the beach in this area. Rick

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Wonderful Beach Home

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 25, 2011

Our family had a great time, and we hope to return. St. Augustine is only 8 miles away. Beach is very nice, and one hardly sees anyone else in either direction. We found 2 sharks' teeth without much effort.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Gorgeous Beach wedding

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

My daughter and son-in-law fell in love with Ocean Estate at first glance. They said their vows on the beach and their reception was both inside and on the pool deck for seventy-five people. The pictures turned out fantastic! They had the wedding party stay prior to the wedding and we had our siblings stay after the wedding. There was plenty of space and lots to do and just time to relax. There are several great restaurants in the area. Rick and Jenny were wonderful to work with and made the rental process worry-free! Thanks for some cherished family memories!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Fantastic Week on the Beach

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We were a little sceptical when we read the property description - no place could be that good! Well thankfully we were wrong, it was the perfect house for all of us. Lots of room to "disappear" if you wanted time to yourself, lots of things to do if you wanted to have fun together. Having the gameroom downstairs was great - the kids could turn the music up and we couldn't even hear them upstairs. And the bedrooms, it's awesome waking up and seeing the sun come up over the ocean. And having both the pool and ocean to swim in was great. It's a huge benefit.

Thank you - we are already planning our trip for next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our June 2011 stay at Ocean Estate

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We had 3 families staying at the "Estate" and really, really enjoyed the pool, it was so refreshing at anytime of the day! Everyone loved the flat sand beaches, with so much privacy, it was great for the runners and bikers in our group. Also for the sand castle creators! The house was quite comfortable and the supplies of towels, soaps, paper supplies were a plus and a big help for starting a great stay. Our weather was very hot so it made St. Augustine trips a challenge, but they still were interesting. Could recommend the Cap's restaurant, it was fantastic with wonderful seafood and service!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Will in Atlanta

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

For the second consecutive year, I have rented the Ocean Estate working with Rick and Jenny. I find they are professional and very helpful - making the transaction easy and user friendly. The home is lovely with everything easily at your fingertips. It's the perfect low-stress / no-stress vacation in a truly unspoiled beach location. I'd highly recommend this home to family and friends for a great Florida getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review