reviews for: listing #46916 - Playa del Coco, Costa Rica House rental

Estrella Del Mar
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Las Palmas
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $150 /nt
    $700 - $700 /wk

sort by:

Private duplex near Playas de Coco

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

We rented the bottom half of this duplex for the month of February 2013. The layout was perfect for two couples to easily spend a month together. With two ample size bedrooms and two bathrooms on either side of the house there was good privacy for each couple. The ability to walk out the back door to a lovely patio and then up a couple of stairs to lounge in a very private and lovely pool was heaven.

The place was a bit dirty when we came in but was rectified by the property management company very quickly. We enjoyed the management company very much. Very welcoming and accommodating. We have booked for January and February 2014. That says it all!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pittsburgh, PA.

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 6, 2012

Upon arrival I found the condo to be more than I expected. You can tell the owners take great pride in their property. I would diffinately recomend this property. I plan to come back here next time but with my husband LOL :) ENJOY

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

What a great house, neighborhood, town, province and country! This was my first visit to Costa Rica and I loved everything about it. We (five ladies) rented bicycles from the neighborhood office and often rode our bikes or walked to the nearby restaurants downtown. Also at that neighborhood office is a wonderful travel coordinator named Sylvia who booked us into every adventure we mentioned, including a day trip to Nicaragua! We also rented a car and enjoyed day trips on our own. Driving was NOT a problem anywhere. Many of the roads are dirt roads and most are not clearly marked, but if we were unsure, the Ticans happily helped us find our way.
I am definitely going back, and I hope this particular rental unit is available when I return. The location was ideal, the rental agent was exceptionally welcoming and helpful, and the private pool and backyard were a real bonus. An added surprise to all of this was finding we had own howler monkeys and flocks of beautiful parakeets there as well.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: January 25, 2008   Date of arrival: January 25, 2008

This is a fantastic property. It is in a very safe and well kept gated community.
There were four of us who stayed in the condo with lots of space for all.
The pool and yard are looked after daily so there are no worries about that.
Everything is within walking distance. The grocery store was the furthest away at 2 km.
There is plenty to see and do right from Coco with plenty of restaurants to choose from. The pizza at the casino was our favouite.
We would not hesitate to stay here again should we return to the area.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 17, 2008   Date of arrival: January 17, 2008

It was our first time to Costa Rica and not being familiar with the area and only going on the advice of close friends we headed south. When we arrived at the house we had rented, our vacation started at that moment. The house was spotless and very well kept with a lot of space for two people.The pool was inviting and the sounding area gave us peace of mind. Needless to say,our accommodation sold us on Coco Beach and we're planning a return trip in the very near future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 9, 2007   Date of arrival: April 9, 2007

We stayed for a week. Parents and three kids. The place is clean, comfortable, excellent A/C. Seating is limited in the living room for a family of 5, but the dining table and bedrooms worked fine. The pool is very nice. The area is secure with armed guards in the complex at night.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 18, 2006   Date of arrival: July 18, 2006

We stayed here in November 2005. The apartment is well-decorated with the decor mimicking local artisans, locally crafted furniture and terra cotta tile throughout. The master bedroom and its
adjacent bath are spacious. It's within walking distance to town, the beach and shops in Playa del Cocoa. We liked the apartment and locale so
much we doing a repeat trip in February 2007.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 1, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

We rented the unit in February. The unit was great - it was like having our own apartment. In addition, the pool in the backyard is fabulous!
Playa del Coco is a nice town with a safe feeling as you walk around. The restaraunts were good, there was one in town that had Louisiana in its name, we ate there several times. There is also a good restaurant in Guanacaste named Bahia Pez Vela that had great view and a good food but be careful driving home at night - there are no street signs.
There are several beaches nearby to choose from for sunbathing, fishing, scuba diving, etc. Theare is fishing and scuba diving at Playa del Octal. You saw mostly rays and marine life, but the visibility was probably only 30 ft. or so without the vibrant colors one would experience in the Caribbean. You need to rent a car. The roads were decent but it is very difficult to get around without a car. We also had a good time at a pottery village nearby and the Canopy treetop tour.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 26, 2006   Date of arrival: June 26, 2006

Hola everyone,

We stayed here the last week of May 2006 and found the unit to be clean and wonderfully cool with 4 A/C units. Cool environment at night is good for us Gringos!
We also have the place booked for the first week in August 2006 for return visit. We recently sold our small condo unit at Las Palmas and needed a place to stay while our new unit is being constructed up on the hill (Vista Hermosa).
The next trip to CR will be #10 in three years for us. Yes, we love Coco and Costa Rica.
To whomever reads this: If you have never seen CR then just go. It is that simple. Great Tico's who are friendly and helpful. Beautiful scenery with lots to see for adventure minded folks. Wonderful beach at Coco with just the right amount of ammenities downtown. This rental is just far enough away from downtown to not have the traffic and noise of downtown.
You can drink your wonderful CR coffee early in the morning and listen to the monkeys and birds up in the hills while relaxing in your private pool just a few steps out the back door. There is quite a bit of construction going on at this time all around the unit but this will not last much longer. Not a bother to us, even while enjoying the private pool.
Harvey Hoffman, of Better Homes & Garden Realty, is in charge of this rental. Harvey is a good friend and takes very good care of his clients rentals and the renters as well. He will do you a good job.
If you need a vechicle. I deal with Roger Solano at Dollar rent a car, just outside the airport gate at Liberia. Tell him that Kentucky Dennis told you to call. He will also treat you right and speaks good English.
Love to talk about Costa Rica. Send me a email if you so desire.

Dennis Seltsam
Debbie Hinton
Grand Rivers, Ky 42045 USA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 14, 2006   Date of arrival: June 14, 2006

Great unit, great town! You can walk to the beach (Playas del Coco), or take a short ride to Playa de Hermosa or Playa de Ocotal. We took a ride to a waterfall about 15 miles from the airport as well, it was amazing. Friendly locals, and very reasonable pricing at restaurants and bars. Grocery store in town. I also recommend going on one of the many local party boats, its a great day trip and cost less than 40 bucks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review