reviews for: listing #47011 - WaterSound Beach, Florida House rental

Spring Break Special! Home in House Beautiful Magazine
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $450 - $600 /nt
    $2,900 - $3,900 /wk

sort by:

Terrific Beach Retreat

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2014

This beautiful home became the backdrop for our first family vacation with our one year old son. The house is really spectacular with a countless number of high end finishes. We have stayed in a number of houses along 30A and in Watersound (various neighborhoods) and this house is by far the best maintained we have ever rented. The kitchen is amazing and the pool and beach are within close proximity. The owner is probably the very best we have ever rented from in our experience. We had to delay our arrival by one day due to a death in the family and he was fantastic to work with- and even checked on us during our stay to make sure everything was going well. This house will definitely be at the top of our list for future trips!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Destin every year

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

We stay in Destin every year and decided to try something different. What an awesome week away from the traffic and congestion! The house was amazing for the 8 of us, from ages 12 to 72. The beach was perfect - clear blue water, white sand, no crowds, sunsets, and crab hunting at night. We plan to stay here every year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paige

Review submitted: May 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

Beautiful house. Not on beachfront but nice walk to beach. Quiet neighborhood not busy with tourists. House has everything you would need and then some. Very nice bikes come with house. Beach club not necessary but very nice add on. Guests will need car. Matching master sites great for girls trips. Third bedroom has two twin beds that are very comfortable!! Fourth bedroom has pull out sofa. Every room has very nice bathroom attached. You will not find a nicer house on 30A for price. If you have small children do beach club and use car to drive there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Really Beautiful Home

Review submitted: November 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

If you are entertaining at the beach or want a place to take your family for the holidays this would be a great home for that kind of stay. We've stayed in South Walton for the last six years on our summer holiday. Usually we go to either Watersound or Blue Mountain Beach. The resort itself is very high end, the service is impeccable. (Pay for the beach club. Fantastic food and drink. Danny and Dave will see to it that you never want to go home.) Generally we do not have concierge service, which was available with this property. I appreciate the owner offering the service and they were there to greet us when we reached the door. The pros for this house are, it really is incredibly beautiful. The kitchen has won awards and with good reason. While it is not large, it FEELS large due to the open concept living area. The house is full of natural light and very soothing with miles of covered porch and decks with comfortable chairs. The master suite we stayed in had a very comfortable bed, nice linens, beautiful art and a ceiling fan that was whisper quiet. (Might not seem important but in a house with vaulted ceilings it counts for a great deal!) The owner left a few things for us to use in the pantry. (I truly appreciate not having to run out and buy every spice in creation when I am on vacation so that I can cook!) Also, the wine cooler was a very nice touch. The bathrooms, all of them, were high end, modern and spotless. The 'family' bathroom off the media room is remarkable and was deemed the favorite by my 24 year old daughter who claimed it quickly. There is shaded parking under a pergola covered space. The owner was easy to deal with and communicated regularly. He also checked to make sure we had arrived and were comfortable. The only additional information I think I traveler should have is that this house is not beachfront and three new homes have now been built partially blocking the view. The owner did tell us that there were houses there so the view had changed before we rented. The walk to the beach is five minutes (we timed it and were moving at a good clip). If beachfront is not important to you then rent this home before anything else at Watersound. Take your family and enjoy a great stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation base

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We had two families who stayed in the house in late July. This was our first visit to WaterSound, though we had been to other nearby properties in the past. We really enjoyed the home and found the community as a whole to be a great place to unwind. The owner was always quick to answer questions and called to check on us after we arrived to make sure we were settling in well. This house is located close to the lake, which was great for us as we took the kids fishing and crabbing several times while we were there. The nearest pool was also perfect for us, it wasn't crowded and we could take our lunch goods down to the adjacent pool house and then use the kitchen to prepare lunch. We usually packed our trucks and drove the short drive to the pool, rather than walking. Then we left some things at the pool while we went down to the beach, and then came back to the pool before heading back to the house. We felt comfortable letting our kids ride bikes and explore around the neighborhood of nice homes. At the house, all the decks were great for some "away" time late in the day or early in the morning, and our kids found the downstairs living area to be a good spot to get away from the parents while we visited in the upstairs kitchen/dining area. We all left earlier than we wanted to and had a great time in this beautiful home.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

My family stayed here for a week last summer and had a wonderful time. The house was accurately shown on the web site and it was very comfortable for the adults as well as the kids. The owners have created a beautiful place to relax and enjoy the scenery of the dunes and Gulf. We all loved Watersound and hope to return next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break 2011

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

My family and I traveled to Florida from Oklahoma and were thoroughly pleased when we arrived at the house in Water Sound. It had beautiful views, comfortable rooms and it was really quiet...the perfect break from our schedule at home. The owners were gracious and allowed us to use everything! The bikes were great fun and we even joined the club for the week so we could enjoy the pool and club house for meals. It was a perfect get-away.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful House.. great for relaxing

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

This house was ABSOLUTELY beautiful! The decor was exceptional and everything was very clean and comfortable. It was perfect for our family. Plenty of room for everyone to have their own private space. The pool and beach was a little further than we anticipated, buy trails made it accessible. We had a lovely time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are surrounded by a dune lake which is about 100 yards away and the Gulf is just beyond that. It is a short but very scenic walk on the boardwalk across the lake to the nearest pool and the beach. You can also drive 2 minutes to the pool or Beach Club where parking is never a problem.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 13, 2009   Date of arrival: November 13, 2009

We visited in July 2009 and had a wonderful family vacation. There were 2 adults and 6 children and there was plenty of space for all of us. From the beginning, Peter was wonderful to work with. He responded quickly to booking questions and made the entire process seamless. The house is amazing. FIRST CLASS ALL THE WAY. We especially enjoyed the bicycles that are provided. Such a quiet community. We also took advantage of the Beach Club and were so glad that we did!! Thank you for an amazing vacation. We are looking forward to returning in 2010!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 9, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

This is a wonderful house. It is beautifully furnished with an over the top, fully stocked kitchen. The owner is wonderful to work with - he was in contact with us several times before we left for the beach with answers to questions. He called while we were at the house to make sure everything was as we expected and contacted us when we arrived home to check again to make sure we enjoyed ourselves.

The location of the house is great - close to shopping and entertainment. The beach is beautiful and the pool was never crowded. The four generations of our family all enjoyed or stay - the layout of the house afforded all of us our own space and lots of room for spending time together. I would highly recommend this house.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 21, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

This home in Watersound is absolutely perfect in
every way. The owners have taken great care to
provide a very pleasant stay for those who choose
to rent from them. There is ample space, and you
can be with family or retreat to your own areas.
The porch is most pleasant, both day and night.
The area is great for children to ride their bikes
safely. Also,
the Beach Club is a straight shot down the road,
and is so much fun. Adults can sip cocktails and
the children can swim in the pool. You can also
walk to a private area of the beach, should you
choose to pay a small fee to enjoy the club. The
owners take the extra effort to stay in touch with
you, and to provide you with any amenity or
resource that might be needed. This beach home is
a dream escape. One is very lucky to stay in such a
striking place, both inside and out! We have found
our spot, and plan to return again this summer!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review