reviews for: listing #47017 - Progreso, Yucatan Villa rental

La Casa del Xix / with spectacular palapa and mayan pool
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  La Casita de Chelem
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $400 - $700 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Safe, lovely & delightful luxury in Yucatan

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

This is my vacation home away from home. It is safe, lovely and a delightful luxury in Yucatan. My friend Mauricio is the proprietor and this is family owned. I had an injury to my foot during my stay, his dad, also an owner, made sure that I received excellent medical care. This family takes you as their own. -I trust them and hold them in high regard.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casita was our home.

Review submitted: February 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

Casita del Xix became our home for the month of January. It was very comfortable and we were able to relax comletely both inside, and especially, outside. The swimming pool and area under the palapa were where we spent much of our time. We felt very safe and secure in the Casita and in the area. Mauricio and Jose were welcoming and pleased to share their lovely home. They were within reach when we had questions or required guidance or assistance, yet gave us complete privacy.
The area is not without its challenges. English is not widely spoken, and some facilities (i.e. laundry) are elusive. A car is an abolute essential. With a vehicle, many amenities and world class attractions are within easy reach. The local people are patient and helpful, and a visitor needs to be accepting and patient in turn.
We are already considering a return as early as next year. We enjoyed it that much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

casa del xix

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 5, 2013

Chelem is a unique little fishing village 30 min from Merida. Our stay at La casa del Xix has been a wonderful experience, the house and its surroundings are just as nice as the photos. While at the house we spent most of the time in the pool :) We highly recommend not only this house but any of Mauricio's homes. The entire family is amazing. Yucatan is a lovely state, with so many places to visit and food is amazing, which was the primary reason of our travel. Eating pescado frito almost every day was the highlight. Merida is a must see town as well, but don't be afraid to explore other little towns such as Uxmal and Mani, its also a home to the best poc chuch restaurant Tutul-Xiu. If you want to get a true essence of Yucatan, it's people and culture this is a place for you, BUT if you need luxury and pampering then one of the Cancun hotels would be a better option.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

la casita del xix

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

la casita del xix es como un lugar de fantasia. la vista al mar, la alberca, es bien comoda para familias grandes. gracias a mauricio y su papa por facilitarnos su casa nos recibieron como si fueramos familiares bueno asi es todo yucatan mexico la gente bien amable desde que llegue al aeropuerto en merida la gente te recibe con los brasos abiertos. a todos mis paisanos en los estados unidos les recomiendo que visiten yucatan mexico ya que es como el paraiso y el lugar numero uno en seguridad. y si llegan a visitar la casita del xix se van a querer vivir permanente aqui. VIVA MEXICO'''

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

... Casi como estar en el paraíso !!!

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

Justo allí paso mis vacaciones de Verano y es como estar en el paraíso. Algún hechizo maya ha de tener la casa , que encanta a quien la vive...Saludos a las familias Pinto Escamilla /Pinto Carrillo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great secluded brach!

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at this house! The owners were really helpful and were available for anything we needed. The house has everything you need and the beach is really calm during the morning hour s to enjoy a nice swim. By noon you will start getting a breeze that is very welcome and it will just make the house fresh throughout the day.
They suggests to keep all your windows open so the breeze can come through and it really makes a difference.
You do need to make sure that you stock up well with groceries either in Progreso or Merida since this small town has very little to offer other than then small "tiendas" you find in every corner, which are fine for snacks or drinks but not much real food. There are also a few fish shops in Chuburna where we ended up buying a delicious fried fish thee times during our stay.
This is a great spot to just relax and enjoy miles of white sand beaches where you will seldom run into other people.
A car is a must since there is not much you can get to by walking. Also make sure you bring bug repellent since they get pretty "audacious" at dusk.
Thanks Mauricio and his dad Jose.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mauricio's place is fantastic and the best !!

Review submitted: April 28, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

I agree Amanda, Mauricio's place is fantastic and he and his family are the best! We send our clients to him all the time with the knowledge that they will absolutely love their accomodations and the family that owns them.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My Yucatan Familia

Review submitted: April 28, 2012   Date of arrival: March 6, 2012

If you are looking for a lovely vacation spot - get in touch with Mauricio. I had a Beautiful and Cheap ( I'm not kidding) week at his place. They took fantastic careful too. Total class act. He is the architect that artistically designs the vacation homes.
Message me with questions. I adore this family that is so professional yet hospitable. They are delightful.! And will take care of you.
I miss my Yucatan familia .please tell Daddy, " gracias por Sizemore por siempre tense do cuidado de mi. Much as gracias papacito!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My personal favorite house La Casa del Xix house

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 7, 2011

La Casa del Xix is part of three separate and different beach houses belonging to the same family, sharing the same large lot and the same entrance. La Casa del Xix, where we stayed, is behind La Casita de Chelem, but is is quite private and has direct access through a side gate to the beach, which is but a few steps away. Stunning beach house, you would be hard pressed to find anything better and more comfortable.
La Casita de Chelem is located in front of La Casa del Xix. It is more traditional in layout, but equally charming.
We also visited the third beach house, La Tintinki, which the occupants at the time really enjoyed as well.
You cannot go wrong with either one of the three beach houses, but my personal favourite was La Casa del Xix due to its outdoor living space first and foremost, the Palapa and the Mayan infinity pool, the second floor private terraces and the direct access to the beach. Go and safely enjoy!
Regards,
Greta & David McLean
CANADA
P.S. The owners are a delight to deal with. Nice people.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely stay at La Casa del Xix

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 17, 2011

We had a lovely stay at La Casa del Xix. The home was designed by the owner with much care and style. He was very accomodating. It was quiet and felt private. Chelem was a short car ride as well as Progresso. I would recommend staying here if you are looking for a relaxing get away. The water is beautiful and water warm. I know we are planning to come and stay again and rent all three homes!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The palapa area is perfect !!

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2007

We loved both houses. The one by the water has a nice lay out for my husband and I as well as our 6 and 9 yr. I loved tha the doors opened wide to the ocean, amazing view. The other house La Casa del Xix house sits back a bit from the ocean, but has nice views from the balconeys. We loved the pool and the outdoor living area.The palapa area is perfect !!
Both houses are a good choice. Mauricio and family were great, high intergrity and most welcoming. Any other questions feel free to contact me. We had a safe, wonderful time in the area and fun day trips to Merida!!

Angie Money/Director
Edmonton Academy of Music

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Mayan pool exquisite !!!

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 7, 2011

Hello Mauricio,
Thank you for the opportunity to spend a few days at your lovely beach house La Casa del Xix in Chelem earlier this month. My husband and I enjoyed our time in Chelem so much that we have decided to find an ocean front property in Chelem where we can spend our winters 2-3 years from now. Your casita was lovely, -we enjoyed the palapa area, could spend days on end there reading our books and your Mayan pool was exquisite! Our future property in Chelem has to have a Mayan infinity pool!
All the best to you and your family, - especially your charming mother and father!
Best regards,
Greta and David McLean
Toronto, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: December 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

Simply put. Fantastic!
My wife and I enjoyed the comfort's of Mauricio's home. From having breakfast under the Palapa to taking a late night swim in the Mayan pool. We enjoyed being steps from the beach and taking our early morning swims and taking afternoon siesta's in the hammock's. It was quite an peaceful. It was also reassuring to have either Mauricio or his father check up on us to see if we needed anything.
They made you feel like family. We enjoyed sharing a drink of Tequila with both Mauricio and his father upon arrival.
The hardest part was having to leave. But we will be back.

Joel& Vicky

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: December 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

Simply put. Fantastic!
My wife and I enjoyed the comfort's of Mauricio's home. From having breakfast under the Palapa to taking a late night swim in the Mayan pool. We enjoyed being steps from the beach and taking our early morning swims and taking afternoon siesta's in the hammock's. It was quite an peaceful. It was also reassuring to have either Mauricio or his father check up on us to see if we needed anything.
They made you feel like family. We enjoyed sharing a drink of Tequila with both Mauricio and his father upon arrival.
The hardest part was having to leave. But we will be back.

Joel& Vicky

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You will not find better homes in the area

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

My husband and I just stayed at Mauricio Pinto's property for 2 months, Jan-Feb 2010. He has 3 houses on one property. All 3 are very unique and special. Our house was on the beach, pool seaside, shutters throughout, so we could hear the ocean all the time. Good screens too. We had a wonderful time, we had t.v., English channels, internet, comfortable futon, beautiful gardens, 2 bedrooms, 2 baths. The best part of all is that Mauricio, His Father Jose, and Sister Lizette, the 3 family members that own the Casas, are all very responsive, attentive, and gracious to all your needs and wants. They greet you on arrival and departure. The property is very safe and private. We loved our stay there, met many wonderful new friends that rented the other 2 houses, and would recommend Mauricio's properties to everyone. They are located just off Aricefes entrada. Lots of North Americanos own along that beach, so many potential new friends to be made.

Helpful votes: 31 / 32

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Delightful !!!

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

We loved both houses. The one by the water has a nice lay out for my husband and I as well as our 6 and 9 yr. I loved tha the doors opened wide to the ocean, amazing view. The other house " la caa del Xix house "sits back a bit from the ocean, but has nice views from the balconeys. We loved the pool and the outdoor living area.I loved, is spectacular...
Both houses are a good choice. Mauricio and family were great, high intergrity and most welcoming. We had a safe, wonderful time in the area and fun day trips to Merida!!
Both houses were delightful. We loved the one with the full length pool which had the palapa (or living room!!) outside. It is not as noisy as the one right on the beach. We liked the layout better on that one, but you have to be o.k with the constant crashing of the waves.It has a bigger feel and the view was amazing!! Hope that helps

Helpful votes: 27 / 28

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

amigos de chelém yucatan méxico

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: November 17, 2008

Hola Mauricio
Sorry it has taken me so long to reply.
We love what you have done to your casa's
Thanks so much for staying in touch

We really loved our stay with you and your family.
This year has been a very hard year but next year when
we come to Chelem we will get together.
We will return in Nov.

See you then
Take Good Care

Helpful votes: 25 / 26

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

La calle de pescadores -Fishermen Street

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

Mauricio !!
The boats are incredible. You men are soooooo talented! Good job!
Wow. !!
We will go see the boats today on walk with Abbey
Very beautiful . You are a PRO and it shows!
See you soon we hope

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Great House!

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 19, 2009

Mauricio, We loved the house and had a wonderful time. The living room palapa is a wonderful addition. Perhaps a partial palapa on the terraza del cielo would be another addition as it gets very hot there during the mid-day. We hope to return some time in the future. Please keep us updated on changes and additions. Hasta el tiempo proxima, Stephen

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Casa del Xix for a family of 3

Review submitted: February 17, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2009

Quite simply a stunning home and right on the beach. We were literally given the warmest of welcomes by the owner and his family when we arrived. Fresh flowers, the grand tour -- lovely. The house and pool are so well designed and so tastefully decorated that we often felt we were guests at a spa. We made the mistake of not renting a car, which we corrected on day 2 and from our gorgeous "home" we ventured to Merida, to the ruins at Uxmal, the the ruins at Dzibilatchun, and to see the flamingos at Celestun. Progreso is the nearest town -- with restaurants and a grocery store (but not much else, to be honest).
I ABSOLUTELY recommend that you have a car -- you're too far from everything otherwise. The weather when we were there (Feb) was lovely, especially if you like a breeze off the ocean in the afternoon. It is a very quiet spot -- a few Canadian and American retirees, but many of the rental houses seemed to be used only by local vacationers in the summer. Perfect for those who want to have a very peaceful location with opportunities for day trips throughout the Yucatan. Oh, and the shells! If you collect them, this is the beach for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

2 Wonderful week in Chelem

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: January 18, 2010

What can I say more than what he says in the description, It is beautiful, clean comfortable. The pool is a thing of beauty, Beach is steps away.If you looking for beauty and quiet this is the place for you It had everything that was stated on this site . The owner could of not been nicer , very quick to respond to any and all problems or questions.He was just a call away.Mauricio could have not been nicer.A Car is a must.
Tips
Stop at bodega food store in Progreso before you go to the home, it is the only market that has everything you will need.
Make sure your phone is hooked up to international calling plan the only way to reach the owner

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review