reviews for: listing #47058 - Islamorada, Florida House rental

Islamorada Waterfront Paradise Getaway
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lower Matecumbe
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,200 - $2,100 /wk
    $4,000 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Perfect location

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

Rental was exactly as shown in the pictures. Clean beautiful surroundings, with lush garden right in the back yard. Great owners who respect your privacy, but helpful if you need them.
Location is perfect for a daytrip to anywhere else in the Keys. Loved it!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

J from TX

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

We had a very relaxing time at this beautiful property. This is the perfect location for anyone wanting peace and quiet, but also plenty to do if you would like. We did a fantastic 1/2 day fishing trip with Peter and Ewa, they are wonderful hosts! The availability of a paddleboat, kayak, bicycles and fishing gear is a big plus. A visiting manatee with her nursing calf was a big highlight.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Fishing Experience

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 24, 2014

We would have liked to stay with Ewa and Peter, but they were booked! What a beautiful hideaway they have. Thankfully we were able to go fishing with them. Our fishing trip was very successful. We caught several meals of different species of fish, (too many to mention), and they took great care in seeing they were well taken care of. They also packaged them so they would stay frozen as they made their way with us back to WI. On the way out fishing, Ewa spotted dolphins in the distance. Captain Peter patiently snuck over to their area and we had a phenomenal dolphin show! What a bonus! Ewa had healthy snacks and water to add to anything we brought on board. They were willing to stop and snorkel in their secret spot or do hard core fishing. Whatever we wanted, they were willing. It was like visiting friends in the tropics on their awesome boat! We heard several other charters talk about 8-10 on a boat and feeling like they were on a boat ride. If truly good fishing, (where you can actually touch the pole!), sun, snorkeling, laughing, good food, drinks, great conversation, and feeling like you are with friends sounds like a good plan, contact Peter and Ewa. You won't be disappointed! Thank you so much for great memories!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One of a kind

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

This place is unbelievably beautiful, the studio apartment is very clean and tastefully decorated. Outside, there's a little tiki bar overlooking a pretty little lagoon. There are two kayaks, so you can paddle out on the lagoon whenever you want to. It's quiet and private. It's fun to just lay in one of the hammocks overlooking the water and read a book. The fridge is small, we kept salad and sandwich fixings in there, and ate lunch on the table at the tiki bar, and went out for dinner each night. There are a lot of nice restaurants nearby, we particularly liked Wahoo's at Whale Harbor. You won't find many places like this.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Property!

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

The pictures were almost as beautiful as the real thing. I have NEVER stayed in a place that was as clean as Peter and Ewa's property. Ewa and Peter are the best of hosts, always available for needs, but constantly aware of visitors' privacy. The area was peaceful and totally relaxing. My husband enjoyed the shade of the tiki hut and I enjoyed the sun. When we became too warm, we had the lagoon all to ourselves. First vacation that I have ever felt so totally rested and relaxed. We also went fishing with Peter and was able to bring fish home. There is plenty to do if one chooses, kayaking, snorkeling, wildlife watching, fishing, riding bike...it is available. In the evenings there were also plenty of excellent restaurants to choose from. We will recommend this property and area to our friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Your own private slice of paradise!

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

My husband and I were fortunate to find this amazing place to celebrate our 20th anniversary. The property is exactly as it's pictured...and better! It was immaculate, quaint, cozy and had absolutely everything we needed for our week long stay. The rental process was smooth and Ewa provided a detailed email in advance of our stay that was full of precise directions and a list of places and information we'd need to get our stay off on the right foot! The property offers the utmost in privacy and is incredibly peaceful with the most beautiful sunsets over the lagoon! My husband loved catching fish right off the dock and many of our evenings were spent lazily swinging in the hammocks. I would recommend this property to any couple and certainly hope to have the opportunity to visit again!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tranquil Paradise

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

We spent an amazing week at this beautiful and tranquil oasis! It is everything and more that your see in the photo's and reviews. From the moment we stepped on to the property the busyness of life just melted away! The studio is beautifully appointed and immaculate, french doors lead you to a private patio with lush tropical plants everywhere. We spent many many hours simply relaxing, fishing, conversing, reading and enjoying our meals in the secluded Tiki Hut. We utilized the paddleboat and Kayak's provided to explore the lagoon. We had a wonderful charter with Peter & Ewa who are experienced and seasoned fisherman/woman. Every cast resulted in a different catch! We learned so much from them about the reefs and different sea life and recommend experiencing their charter. They are warm and caring hosts always available yet invisible during our stay. Their love and care of this property is evidenced in the many thoughtful details and things provided for your fun and comfort. This central location is perfect for couples looking to explore nearby Keys. While we did venture out for a day of sightseeing adventures we could not wait to return to our island oasis! Our time spent here was the most mentally and physically rejuvenating vacation we can ever remember taking. Thanks Peter & Ewa..we will see you again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing honeymoon week, perfect retreat

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay! The room was very comfortable, clean, and well equipped with anything you may need. Ewa and Peter have thought of everything. It was wonderful to have such easy access to a beautiful outdoor space, we enjoyed being so close to the water. We loved using the kayaks and paddle boat for exploring and fishing. We saw a manatee, bald eagles, and so many interesting fish and birds. The location was perfect, and so close to many great restaurants. We experienced some great fishing in the area, and made it home with a few bags of fish to share with friends and family. What a great time. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise in the Keys

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

We could not have asked or imagined a better spot to spend the week. We were a little unsure of what to expect since we normally stay in hotels but knew we had made the right decision when we first saw the dock with the two hammocks overlooking the lagoon where the sun was just starting to set. From the private setting with the kayaks and paddle boat to the great location and info on the local restaurants and notes on other forms of activity we could not have asked for more. Don't miss your chance on this place, there's a reason they're always booked.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Property 213752

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

We had a great stay. Very quiet and private which is perfect for a relaxing get away with my husband. We enjoyed fishing off the dock and seen a variety of marine life in the lagoon. Everything was very comfortable including the beach and deck chairs for relaxing in the sun. We would definitely love to come back again.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Spot to Relax

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves! Ewa and Peter have thought of everything that a person may need. The studio was very clean and comfortable. My husband loves to fish and right off their dock he caught the fish that others go out 30 miles to catch. We would recommend this spot to our family and friends and we would love to go back ourselves!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Romantic Get-Away

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay. The apartment was so clean! It was nice in the evenings to sit in the hammocks in the tiki hut and just relax. We enjoyed swimming in the lagoon and kayaking through the canals. The owners were very pleasant and helpful. It was only a short drive to some great restaurants. We would totally recommend this to our friends - in fact, we already have!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A little piece of Heaven!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from spending 10 days in this idyllic get-away! The studio is absolutely perfect for 2 and has everything that you could think of for whipping up a snack or meal if you like! We cooked big breakfasts and fresh snapper on the Gas BBQ. The bed is great - a proper super king size! There are all sorts of little things in the studio, maps, extra bug spray (you will need this!!) books and games and DVD's!

Our favourite place however was the amazing Tiki Hut! I could have spent many many more days in those beautiful hammocks watching our own private aquarium of parrot fish, snappers, nurse sharks and our favourite the manatees! The wildlife is just incredible and what better way to watch it than from the comfort of a hammock!

Ewa and Peter were fantastic hosts and really do value your privacy. There were there if we needed them for anything, but hardly knew that they were there!

It’s all the extra things with this studio rental that make it special. The use of the single and double kayak - perfect for a trip around the lagoon and into the beautiful bay, there's a secret snorkelling spot too! Also use of the pedalo and snorkelling equipment is great!

The area is fantastic for exploring the keys - pretty much half way between Key West and Key Largo. Islamorada is a lovely island and lots of great restaurants, shops and art galleries nearby.

We'd never been to the keys before but were so so pleased that we discovered this beautiful holiday rental. We would recommend this without a doubt! Get booking & enjoy!!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A relaxing Couples retreat

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Imagine a Caribbean getaway....but much closer to home! Ewa and Peter were incredible hosts. We loved the Tiki hut with hammocks overlooking the Lagoon. We went Kayaking, had fresh coconut fallen from the tree, and chartered a fishing trip with Ewa and Peter. It was a first class operation! I highly recommend this peaceful retreat and would love to visit again in the future.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

John and Donetta (SC)

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We stayed in this lovely studio over the Fourth of July holiday week. The accomodations are immaculate and you have everything available for a very enjoyable stay. Located in a quiet residential area, it offers a very relaxing getaway for couples. The tiki hut was a wonderful place to relax, have meals, and read. (The area had been sprayed for mosquitos and we didn't have a problem.) Must say the high point of our trip was the all day fishing trip with Peter and Ewa. It was AWESOME!!!! We caught lots of fish and they are wonderful accommodating people. If you stay here you should do the fishing trip with them. Would definitely rent this studio again.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful and quite spot

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

Islamorada served as the halfway point in our Tour De Keys. Having come from Key West and with South Beach on the horizon, this studio apartment in Islamorada provided my husband and I a wonderful refuge from the cacophony and nonstop night life of the other legs of our trip. Ewa was accommodating and helpful from our original email query and, having met her and her husband, I can gladly confirm what others have already said: they are a wonderful and thoughtful couple who have created a welcoming space for travelers. We took the provided kayaks out for a day of exploration and, upon our return, skimmed through a three ring binder full of helpful tips on where to dine and what do during our evening hours. We were impressed with the many details and thoughtful items placed throughout the space. From extra sunscreen and deodorant to a bottle of wine and Key Lime Coconut snacks, Ewa's generosity is on display everywhere you look. We loved going out to the Halfway Cafe for breakfast (espresso!!!) and lunch and Marker 88 was gorgeous for a quiet dinner ON the water. Lorelei's was also a great spot for a happy hour cocktail. Our only complaint? The bugs! We sat out in the tiki bar one night and took in the quiet of the mangroves. It was beautiful and truly relaxing, but we woke up the next morning covered in what appeared to be mosquito bites. So, if you indulge in the tranquility of the tiki hut at night, wear long pants and bug spray! Also, while my husband was thrilled by the firm mattress, I am a lover of soft mattresses and needed to put some pillows under my body. A small problem with a simple fix. Overall, staying in this home alongside Ewa and her husband was a treat and we highly recommend it to couples looking for a quiet stay in the Keys.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Jo (UK)

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We had an amazing stay at Ewa and Peter's studio - and would recommend it to anyone! They were always willing to answer questions we had about the local area, were great hosts on a day out fishing on their boat, and keep up an excellent standard of accommodation. Thanks very much!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Spot in the Upper Keys

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

I have to say everything is as advertised. In fact it looks a lot better in person than the pictures. The room itself is great for two people and has everything you will need. It is a great location to explore the keys. It is very relaxing and quiet. We loved the tiki hut. We spent several hours each day relaxing and reading in the hut. Peter and Ewa are the perfect host. The weather was great during our stay except the day we left it rained.
We did a fishing trip with Peter and Ewa and it was great. We caught fish right from the get go. We had action the whole time. The variety of fish you can catch reef fishing is amazing. We took some of the fish we caught down the road to a restaurant and had it prepared for us and it was really good. Ewa put the rest of the fish in the freezer and we wrapped it in newspaper and put it in our suitcases and took it home. It was still frozen when we got home.
We highly recommend this property. We will recommend it to friends and family.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Location for a Keys Getaway

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Peter and Ewa's place in mid January. We chose Islamorada for its central location in the Keys and it was a perfect jumping off point for our one week stay. From here it was an easy drive to Key West, Marathon and even Miami. We enjoyed Sombrero Beach in Marathon, having drinks and watching the sunset at Zane Grays as well as some fine dining at The Cheeca Lodge. We covered all theKeys from Key Largo to Key West with ease.

The room itself is the perfect size for a couple, well equipped and very private. While you are sharing the property, you hardly know that anyone else is around. The tiki hut is one of the property's best ammenities. We enjoyed breakfast and quiet time there at night almost every day. We relaxed and watched the manitees and wild life in a perfect setting. A great bonus for us was the use of the kayak and paddle boat. We took some short trips in the surrounding channels and enjoyed seeing the manitees, colorful iguanas, fish and birds. We also took a longer trip into the adjacent bay and out to Lignumvitae Key and saw osprey, sharks, rays, barracuda, jelly fish and many other interesting sights.

Peter and Ewa have done a great job putting together this vacation getaway and are the perfect hosts. We highly recommend this private, waterfront property and will not hesitate to stay here again when we visit the Keys.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

relaxing and fun!

Review submitted: December 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 9, 2011

Sorry my review is kind of late. We stayed here Nov 9-13, 2011. Ewa and Peter are great hosts and their place is amazing. We spent a lot of time in the tiki hut area which was so great overlooking the lagoon. During our stay, a huge manatee and a sting ray came right up to the dock and said hi to us and there are plenty of fish hanging around too. The room was clean and had everything we needed.

We did a fishing trip with the couple and it was a great time and very worth it. Even though I (the wife) was sea sick for the first hours. I recommend taking dramamine the night before or at least 4-5 hours before going out if you have a sensitive stomach. My husband had a blast catching a wide variety of fish, even a shark! I think they even prolonged the time a bit since I started to feel better towards the end. They also clean your catch for you so we were able to grill and eat our fresh catch right at our room. I highly recommend the fishing trip. Again, they are great hosts and this place was well worth the money.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Courtney Sucher

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

My husband and I loved our stay at this location! everything was so very nice and right at our door step.Ewa was so very nice and helpful with any tips on what we might have needed in the area! I would strongly recommend staying atthis location for a nice romantic getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tropical Honeymoon Getaway!

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

This place is absolutely gorgeous. The pictures do it no justice, its so much more beautiful in person. When we arrived everything was spotless. The owners couldn't have been more accommodating, any time we went to them with questions they greeted us with giant smiles! This is the perfect romantic getaway, whether you want to paddle around the lagoon, take naps in the hammocks(we sure did!), lay around and watch tv or go out to explore. At night the tiki hut has the cutest lights inside that you can plug in as well as a fan, very relaxing. And if your not the type to stick around there is PLENTY to do in town, weather you want to go shopping (there is tons of places!)dive, snorkel, kayak, jet ski, go fishing(at channel 2 is the best land spot we found), diving museum, theater of the sea, or even the dolphins research center to swim with the dolphins. This is the perfect location in the Keys! We will be back for our anniversary! Can't wait! I would definitely recommend this place!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxation, Fun & Adventure

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

It's been five days since we returned from our week in Islamorada and the "Paradise Getaway" ... I think my mind and heart are still there gently swinging in the hammock over the lagoon. It was a wonderful vacation. The studio is all that is described and more. Everything you could possible need is there. Though small, there was incredible storage space...room enough to put your things away and not feel cluttered. We spent most of our time outside, under the tiki hut--enjoying icy drinks, meals, games and even some hula hooping...the fan and breeze from the bay perfect...never feeling too hot, not a mosquito in sight! And if too warm, we were able to quickly cool off with the outdoor shower or a dip in the lagoon. As first time kayakers, we enjoyed exploring the lagoon and even headed out to the bay to see the sunset one evening. The paddle boat was fun as we loaded it up with a picnic and snorkling equipment and headed out for an afternoon adventure. We were entertained by the many fish and underwater foliage that can easily be viewed in the clear waters.

The Getaway is conveniently located to many resturants and attractions. We recommend Robbies Marina where you can be entertained by the folks feeding the hungry tarpon and pelicans while you eat a yummy meal. We went out on a night partyboat fishing trip from Robbies and caught lots of Yellow Tail and Snapper. We spent a day in Key West, a little over an hour away, and enjoyed a day of boating, jet skiing, snorkling and parasailing, followed by an evening stolling along Duval Street window shopping the art gallerys and stopping in to a few bars for a cold beer and live music.

The property owners, Ewa and Peter, were wonderful...always willing to answer any questions we might of had and have obviously thought of everything when creating the Paradice Gataway.

I have already recommended the place to friends and I'm thinking of when we might be able to return again!
Thanks Ewa and Peter for a wonderful time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Enjoyed our little slice of paradise

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend in February and absolutely loved our time in Islamorada. I think the description and photos accurately represented the lovely little guest house we occupied. The property was very well-maintained, our hosts were gracious and we would highly recommend this to friends. The only down side is the limited kitchen amenities (specifically the lack of a kitchen sink). On the upside this gives you a great reason to check out the great local restaurants. We loved the kayaking, fishing, and great yoga near by. I would have been happy just lying in the hammock and marveling at the manatees all weekend- heaven! But the paddle boarding, proximity to other keys, and food and live music at Morada Bay made this a winner! It really is a slice of paradise- the tiki hut, the pier, and the setting were lovely - and a perfect home base from which to explore the area. We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: As an update to the comments about the lack of a kitchen sink, we are pleased to announce that there is now a large deep sink with a pull out spray faucet for our guests to use! We would like to point out that there is only a mini kitchen setup in the rental and not a kitchen that was missing a kitchen sink as some people had wondered about in their inquiries. :) When you see the additional pictures all this information will make sense!

We have also added additional storage area for foodstuffs with spices and even more cooking supplies. Our motto is if our guests ask for it, we make it happen and as such, the rental just keeps getting better and better! We encourage all of our guests to make requests in advance for anything that you may want our need during your stay.

Thank you so much!

Ewa and Peter

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful Vacation Spot - Highly Recommended

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

Just got back from a week at Peter and Ewa's place and it was wonderful!! Very clean and nice and everything you could possibly need. Great location centrally located in Islamorada, which was by far our favorite Keys location. Manatee came right up to the dock looking for fresh water, plus caught lots of fish off the dock and saw a shark and a sting ray swimming in there in the evening. Great restaurants in the area - best happy hour was at Wahoo's. Try the Tuna Sliders - YUMMMM! Thanks for a great time - we will definitely be back in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Islamorada Waterfront Paradise Getaway

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

Perfect location and accommodation clean and well maintained. Owners were fabulous; enjoyed fishing trip. They even baited our hooks and cleaned the fish. We will and have recommended this location to friends. Nearby Green Turtle Inn good restaurant choice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 15, 2010

Very nice, romantic setting. I wish we would have had more time to stay! Perfect for two people!! Very comfortable and clean! Close enough to restaurants and attractions. The private fishing charter with the owner's was so much fun and worth every penny! Would recommend to anyone!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise with a touch of home.

Review submitted: November 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

Can't even begin to explain how cozy and relaxing this place is. We are hooked and plan to make this our destination for all trips to the Keys. I could live happily under the Tiki Hut lounging in the hammocks over looking the water. So many extras that weren't expected but very much appreciated. The owners went out of there way to make sure everything was absolutely perfect. Thanks so much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

GO SNORKELING!!!

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 20, 2010

Our experience at this rental was above and beyond our expectations. My husband and I spent our 10th anniversary there. The description was totally accurate, as were the pictures, but they didn't even do it justice. Having your own tiki hut on a quiet, private dock on a quiet, private lagoon is so peaceful and relaxing. The owners were awesome. We had everything we needed in the room and on the property, including paddleboats, kayaks, and snorkeling equipment. We chartered a fishing trip with the owners, and afterward, they took us to a snorkeling spot that was completely, totally, beyond words, gorgeous! We had the best time, and we are planning a return trip as soon as we can! We would highly recommend this rental to anyone looking to relax and stay off the beaten path. It is close enough to Key West that you can go there and party if you want, or you can stay local and just enjoy the solitude. Truly a one-of-a-kind gem. We would go back in a split second.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Romantic getaway in Paradise!

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

This was a wonderful vacation spot located in a very nice, quiet neighborhood. What a beautiful place with the water just mere steps out the back door. We loved the beautiful tiki hut surrounded by palm trees, and just relaxing in the hammocks. Had fun going out in the paddle boat and fishing in the bay. Just across the main road was the ocean (We enjoyed Anne's beach)and we were just minutes from wonderful restaurants (highly recommend the Islamorada Fish company for great food and beautiful sunsets). We went deep sea fishing with Ewa and Peter and they are excellent and skilled fishing guides. When we got back that day, they helped us filet the fish and we cooked it that very night on the grill outside our door. Nothing better than fresh fish! We couldn't have asked for a better vacation and Ewa and Peter are amazing. They provided everything one could think of to make a memorable and enjoyable vacation. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Incredible experience!

Review submitted: August 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2010

What a wonderful and charming place. Ewa and Peter were wonderful hosts. We had a great time and was the peace and quiet that we much needed. Everything was immaculate and well maintained. We had a great time and are looking forward to returning

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Vacay Spot

Review submitted: July 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

Great place, clean and quite, perfect getaway!
Everything is really close by and easily accessible

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Beautiful, Cozy, Peaceful!

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2010

The vacation rental in Islamorada was beautiful! It was cozy and peaceful...we enjoyed taking the kayaks out, relaxing in the hammocks by the water, and the proximity to some amazing diving!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great couple's getaway

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

A great place for a couple, with or without a boat. The dockage easily supported our 30' boat with quick and convenient access from the room to the boat. There was a great Tiki hut overlooking the secluded lagoon where we ate our breakfasts and enjoyed a drink in the evening. The room was perfect for us with a private entrance patio area. The owners were great, providing everything we needed, and we hardly even knew they were there. Less than 10 minutes from the restaurant areas in Islamorada. We loved the place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

The perfect getaway!!

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2008

My husband and I had an amazing stay here. Everything from the location to our overall experience was fantastic. We had such a great time messing around with the water toys, relaxing with a cocktail on the hammocks and fishing off the dock at night. We even watched a manatee feed off the dock. It was incredible!! We swam almost every morning and afternoon, took the bikes for a nice ride to Robbie's down the road to feed the tarpon, used the charcoal grill every night on the patio and really felt like we were in our own little paradise. The home is tucked away in a nice secluded neighborhood so it feels private. The owners are incredible and will do whatever you need them to. They are very laid back and accommodating. The best is that they’re there if you need anything but you won’t even know they’re there. It doesn’t feel like you're staying at someone's home. We went fishing with them and had the best time!! We spent all day on the water and learned so much. We caught some great mahi, snapper and few other fish new to us. It's truly a remarkable place to stay!! We will definitely stay there again when we visit Islamorada again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: June 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2010

Perfect romantic getaway! Just what the Dr. ordered, very private & relaxing. Beautifully manicred property, loved the tiki hut equipped with hammocks and a view of the private lagoon, my personal favorite was watching the fish at night gather around the green light at the bottom of the lagoon, joined with the manatee.Highly reccomended. Thanks again for the wonderful hospitality.
Andy & Amanda

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Choose this Beautiful Place!

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

This getaway is just as beautiful as it is described. We were impressed with its setting, landscaping, cleanliness, and access to the water and all the extra equipment provided for our use. Owners are very friendly and helpful while at the same time giving you the space you need for your vacation.

Two local restaurants we enjoyed were the Islamorada Fish Company, and the Hungry Tarpon. The Hungry Tarpon has a great chef, and is an experience you don't want to miss! It definitely has an atmosphere and charm all its own, and is connected with Robbie's Marina, where you can have a reasonably priced fishing trip with friendly staff to answer questions. Anne's Beach is a great place to watch the sunrise.

We visited the Everglades on our way in, also snorkeled at John Pennecamp State Park from a boat, and then snorkeled off the shore at Bahia Honda State Park. Both places have beautiful beaches, and nice (short) hiking trails. Also went all the way to Key West and took the Adirondack II, which is a schooner for wonderful smooth sailing. Ate a delicious meal at Conch Republic Seafood Restaurant which we highly recommend also.

So much to do and so little time. There is not enough space to tell it all, but this is a super place for rest and relaxation, kayaking, biking, fishing, and also so centrally located for all your other adventures!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2010

What a treat staying at this property. It's really comfortable and well-equipped. The owners operative words to anything are "Yes" and "Yes". It's right on the water, very tranquil, a wonderful place to get away from it all.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Peaceful

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet place to relax, this is the spot. It has a nice lagoon in the back, and our room was clean and comfortable. The location for us was great because my wife and I wanted to see a lot of the keys and we did. We drove south about an hour to get to Key West, and up north about an hour to get to Everglades National Park. A couple of spots that we had a lot of fun were Robbies Marina and The Wild Bird Park, both just a short drive from Islamorada. Another thing that was convenient was parking right by your room. No stairs or elevators or long walks back and forth to your room.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2010

This is a very peaceful, scenic location with the large lagoon, the thatched roof hut that is large enough for entertaining guests, the comfortable hammocks, and the wonderful landscaping. Because of the weather, we were unable to use the kayaks and the paddle boat, but they are ready to go right on the dock. The owners were helpful and friendly. The large one room rental has a wonderful large hanging and shelved closet that held all of our week's stuff with room to spare. Everything was spotless. The bed was very comfortable and internet access was quick and clear. The house, just a block away from the main highway, is located in a very quiet neighborhood. There are many good casual restaurants within driving distance. We would visit again, if ever in the area.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Such a charming and restful place

Review submitted: March 15, 2010   Date of arrival: December 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed here while visiting friends in Islamorada. The accommodations were exactly as described - very comfortable, immaculate, and well maintained. We appreciated the use of the kayaks, which came with the accommodations. While kayaking in the lagoon and surrounding waters, we saw manatees, a nurse shark, even a pair of breeding bald eagles. My husband fished off the back dock one night, and to his surprise caught a small tarpon. You'll also find some resident parrot fish and angel fish lurk around the dock regularly.

I also enjoyed the hammocks found in the tiki area. It was such a relaxing place to read novels. We also realized that the wifi even reached out that far, so we could check our email while enjoying paradise, or eating breakfast in the tiki in the mornings.

The only thing I'd remind you is that this is a studio rental. The king size bed is oh so comfy (and the sheepskin rugs are bliss). Just remember that it doesn't have a full kitchen. But the convection oven works fine for heating up leftovers. We used the charcoal grill often and cooked up the snappers and hogfish we caught. We also brought an electric skillet to use in a pinch, which came in handy the one time it rained. The owners were also kind enough to let us use the washer and dryer so we could come home with a suitcase full of clean clothes.

We have recommended this property to several of our friends, and we look forward to staying there again the next time we visit our friends.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 6, 2009

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2009

Our stay here was perfect, thanks to your hospitality and great setup you have here. Thanks again for the extras and answers to make our stay a perfect one!

Best Regards!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review