reviews for: listing #47356 - Gulf Shores, Alabama Condo rental

Gulf Front! Beautiful 2 BR Condo - Castaways in Gulf Shores
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Castaways
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $240 /nt
    $600 - $1,710 /wk

sort by:

Condo & Complex Did Not Meet Expectations

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

We we very disappointed in our stay here. The condo and complex didn't meet expectations. Here are the reasons why we were dissatisfied.

A review of the Castaways complex:

1) The parking lot is cramped and crowded. It is difficult to get in and out. Barely have room to open car doors.

2) Lack of luggage carts. During the course of the week, we were ony able to locate 2 for the whole complex. This was an issue at check-in and check-out times.

3) The trash bin for complex is directly across from elevator. Anytime you arrive or leave, there is a strong smell of trash. The heat & humidity compound the smell as you ride the elevator. The strong smell also carries over into parking lot.

4) The complex is close to the main public beach. I wouldn't recommend this area for families unless you enjoy the party crowd.

A review of the condo itself:

1) While the condo did have plenty of room, the balcony is small and cramped. Do not plan on relaxing in chairs from this balcony.

2) The master comforter was dirty and had not been washed. We asked the condo owner about this, and she confirmed that the cleaning crew had not washed it because of a time constraint. This was completely unacceptable.

3) The shower curtains were mildewed. This unacceptable considering that they are $3 or $4 bucks for a new one. There was a constant dripping from bathroom/shower faucet in master bath. The master bath flooring is weak. It felt like we would fall through the tub every time we took a shower. The master bath toilet seat was loose. The hand towel rack in the master bath was loose & falling down. All of these are easliy repaired, but had been neglected.

4) The DVD player didn't work with any disc.

I wouldn't recommend this condo or complex to anyone until changes are made for the better. It's worth spending a few more dollars of hard earned money and find a more recently built, better designed complex and a condo that is kept clean and in good repair. We will not be staying here again nor would we recommend to family or friends.

Owners response: I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Maintaining my condo so that guests have a pleasant experience is very important to me. All my emails and correspondence ask guests to please contact me if they have any problems so that they can be addressed immediately. Unfortunately, I was not able to do so with the items on your list that I had control over as I was not made aware of any problems until you emailed me requesting a refund days later.

Yes, I agree the parking spaces are tight for larger vehicles.

There are at least 4 luggage carts at the. I have no idea where they were when you were looking for them. Maybe guests did not return them to the area as requested. Locating a luggage cart is probably a common issue on the weekends when people are arriving and departing. That issue would be found anywhere you stayed as I have experienced it myself in other places, including hotels.

The trash chutes on each floor make it easy for everyone to dump their trash rather than hauling it downstairs on the elevator. The dumpster is enclosed in a room behind a door. The city does not offer a daily pick up service, which would reduce odor.

The balcony extends across the width of the living room as clearly pictured on the web site you booked from. It is large enough to hold a patio table with 4 chairs, plus allows extra room for standing to enjoy the view.

My cleaning crew said they had noticed the bedspread was dirty around the bottom edge, but there was no time to take it to a laundry to be dry cleaned. It could have been removed, cleaned, and then delivered the next day, but I was not even aware of the issue until I read your email.

They should have definitely changed the shower liner, but apparently missed this. They could have returned and changed it, had you called me. I always stock shower liners and light bulbs under the kitchen sink in case they are needed.

The annoying drip was taken care of after you emailed me about it, along with the loose toilet seat and towel rack.

I had no idea that the DVD player did not work. I would have had a new one brought to you within a few hours.

Between the initial discount and the refund I sent because you were disappointed, your 7 night stay during Peak Season totaled what a 5 night stay would have cost.

I know that after saving for a vacation no one wants to feel like they have been short changed. Again, I’m sorry and wish you had enjoyed a better experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach Bum Heaven!

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful stay. The condo was comfortable and the beach was lovely. Had little mix-up with the parking pass,but the owner took care of that right away.Condo could use some updating, but its still a great value for the money. We walked to restaurants nearby and made good use of the fully stocked kitchen. Would recommend to friend and definitely stay here again

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Browns - Tuscumbia, AL

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We absolutely had a ball! We had never been to the beach in February before but it was very nice. We found tons of shells, every size, shape and color. The weather was cool, but we walked thru the water to a sand bar and it was great! We enjoyed the condo it was very clean and convenient to everything. You were very nice and easy to deal with. Your kitchen was extremely well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, glasses and anything else you could need. The master bed was AWESOME, slept so good! We would definitely stay there again and recommend to any of our friends!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

What a Vacation!!!

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay entirely! Everything was just as described. The property was clean and well kept. I had no trouble contacting the owner with any questions I had. The location is easy to find, well lit with good access to surrounding areas. I always felt safe. We had a GRAND view of the fireworks on the 4th of July. The beach was wonderful. The pool was always clean and has a great shaded area to hide away from the sun. The kitchen is very well stocked with everything you need to prepare meals. The balcony is a fantastic spot for breakfast, dolphin watching, or just enjoying the peace. I look forward to visiting again ASAP! Couldn't ask for a better vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Castaways condo

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

My husband and I certainly enjoyed our visit to Castaways and the condo was perfect for us. The balcony view was terrific and the location was ideal. We would love to return to Gulf Shores and this condo will be our choice again. It was a fun trip and having the condo made it so relaxing!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Castaways condo

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

We certainly enjoyed our stay in Gulf Shores at your Castaways condo. My husband and I felt so at home and comfortable there. We spent lots of time on the balcony, just relaxing. The gulf view is so nice! If we head to Gulf Shores again, you can expect a reservation from us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Awesome

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

The Condo was one of the best we have ever stayed in. It was our anniversary week and it was so relaxing. Views were perfect, location was awesome and the condo was perfect. We have already recommended others to this location. We will stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fall Getaway

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2011

Description was accurate and the property was well maintained and clean. I would recommend this property to a friend, especially due to its favorable location within walking distance to good food and other attractions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful view

Review submitted: October 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Castaways for our anniversary in Sept. It was a great stay! The beach was not crowded and the condo was quiet! The decor was fun and the balcony view was amazing! If you are looking for a place to relax or unwind this is it! Beachside restaurants are within walking distance. I would definitely recommend this property!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Awesome! Beautiful Ocean View

Review submitted: October 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

It was everything and more. The evening we arrived they were having a wedding on the beach right in front of our condo. It is as nice as the pictures. We loved sitting on the balcony watching people walk by, enjoying the breeze off the ocean and just relaxing. This condo is close to everything. The owner was absolutely wonderful to work with and very accommodating. A real treasure and plenty of room for 3 or 4 people.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to get away

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Our family really enjoyed the condo along with the shopping and restaurants close by. The view of the ocean was fantastic and we would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful condo,great location!

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2011

Had a great time on our stay! Beautifully decorated condo. Loved the master bedroom & the double sinks in the bathrooms. Great location. Beach clean & not crowded. Great view from the balcony. Swimming pool clean & never crowded. Would have been nice to have a tv in the 2nd bedroom. Dryer took a long time to dry things. elevator out of service a couple times & sometimes took a while to get to our floor. I would definatly stay here again

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Place!

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

This place was AMAZING!! The view was spectacular! We spent most of the time on the balcony just taking in the fresh air and watching the "night" crabbing. We walked to dinner 2 nights and we also walked to the stores and did some shopping. The Hangout is also just a few steps down the road or beach. The condo itself was really nice. The living area was a little tight but the master bedroom was HUGE! It had a king size bed as well as a very comfy recliner and a desk and chair. The swimming pool area was kept clean and the water was sparkling clear. Parking is a bit of an issue for larger vehicles and there is only one elevator but that is the only thing negative about this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing place!

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

This place was Amazing!! The view was spectacular! We spent most of the time on the balcony just taking in the fresh air and watching the "night" crabbing. The pictures just do not do it justice. We walked to dinner 2 nights and we also walked to the stores and did some shopping. The Hangout is also just a few steps down the road or beach. The condo itself was really nice. The automatic ice maker was a big plus and we never even had to buy a bag of ice. Everything was so convienient and nicely furnished. The living area was a little tight for my taste but the master bedroom was HUGE! It had a king size bed as well as a very comfy recliner and a desk and chair. It also had a door that led to the balcony for some early morning sitting without having to wake everyone up. The swimming pool area was kept clean and the water was sparkling clear. Parking is a bit of an issue for larger vehicles and there is only one elevator but that is the only thing negative about this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!!!

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

This place was AMAZING!! The view was spectacular! We spent most of the time on the balcony just taking in the fresh air and watching the "night" crabbing. We walked to dinner 2 nights and we also walked to the stores and did some shopping. The Hangout is also just a few steps down the road or beach. The condo itself was really nice. The living area was a little tight but the master bedroom was HUGE! It had a king size bed as well as a very comfy recliner and a desk and chair. The swimming pool area was kept clean and the water was sparkling clear. Parking is a bit of an issue for larger vehicles and there is only one elevator but that is the only thing negative about this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Condo

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2009

We stayed in this beautiful condo from Dec 21-26, 2008. The view is one of the best, absolutely beautiful! Condo is comfy cozy for the entire family.All the comforts of home, and very nice beds. We will be back, definitely! Thank you so much, Lou, for letting us rent your beautiful condo. See you soon, Deb

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is where we will come back EVERY time!

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2009

This is, by far, the most beautifully decorated and comfortable condo we've ever rented. The owners have excellent taste. This is where we'll come back every time we go to Gulf Shores. Loved it! :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will be returning -

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

Great Condo - beautiful inside and beautiful view outside this beachfront condo. This was our second time to rent this unit and will definitely be back. Great location, within walking distance of many attractions. Can't wait to return. Thanks Lou for maintaining such a nice condo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome View!

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2009

We had a great time here. The view is awesome! Very nice decor. The owner is very nice and easy to contact and willing to answer all questions. Thanks Lou

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful & Comfortable!

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2009

Thank you so very much for sharing your wonderful condo with us. It was the most beautifully decorated condo we have ever stayed at. Loved the color. Couch, chairs and beds were very comfortable. (I slept in the m/b recliner 3 nights and it was great) Eating places were close and the location of condo ideal. Best vacation place in Gulf Shores 5 stars We will be calling you again. Thanks, GG

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 21, 2009   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

Thank you so very much for sharing your wonderful condo with us. It was the most beautifully decorated condo we have ever stayed at. Loved the color. Couch, chairs and beds were very comfortable. (I slept in the m/b recliner 3 nights and it was great) Eating places were close and the location of condo ideal. Best vacation place in Gulf Shores
5 stars We will be calling you again. Thanks, GG
April 24 - May 2, 2009

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 25, 2009   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

We had a great time here. The view is awesome! Very nice decor.
The owner is very nice and easy to contact and willing to answer all questions. Thanks Lou!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great getaway!

Review submitted: September 25, 2009   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

We had a great time here. The condo was just as advertised and really well decorated. It was nice to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view! We also enjoyed a place called The Hangout, which is within walking distance.
Some people said they had trouble with the elevator, but we never did.
I wish I was there now!
The owner is very nice and easy to get in touch with. And she didn't mind answering any of my questions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 25, 2009   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

Great Condo - beautiful inside and beautiful view
outside this beachfront condo. This was our second
time to rent this unit and will definitely be back. Great
location, within walking distance of many attractions.
Can't wait to return. Thanks Lou for maintaining such
a nice condo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Condo

Review submitted: September 25, 2009   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

This was our second time renting this unit. Has always been in excellent condition, very well maintained. The location is great, within walking distance of many attractions. Would highly recommend this unit, the owner is great to work with. Can't wait until next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 29, 2009   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

This is, by far, the most beautifully decorated and comfortable condo we've ever rented. The owners have excellent taste. This is where we'll come back every time we go to Gulf Shores. Loved it! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 13, 2009   Date of arrival: January 13, 2009

We stayed in this beautiful condo from Dec 21-26, 2008. The view is one of the best, absolutely beautiful! Condo is comfy cozy for the entire family.All the comforts of home, and very nice beds. We will be back, definitely! Thank you so much, Lou, for letting us rent your beautiful condo. See you soon, Deb

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review