reviews for: listing #47416 - Sonoma, California House rental

Sonoma pied a terre
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $130 - $150 /nt
    $850 - $950 /wk

sort by:

Beautifully quiet and beautifully appointed

Review submitted: May 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

Beautifully quiet and beautifully appointed. 5 min drive to town centre. Woken at 7am Sunday by the farmer across the road with heavy, squeaky machinery, but that was the only time so think it's rare and we were just unfortunate. Saw deer several times. Sitting on the balcony was lovely and peaceful. Cool inside. Could just about get a weak xfinity wifi signal if you put your phone above the fridge, but sufficient for checking mail. Very efficient fridge freezer, ice trays. Lots of little extras like jams, sauces, tea, coffee, washing up liquid, soap, shampoo, conditioner things you don't want to have to pack. There's even a washing machine and tumble drier. Didn't use them or the dishwasher but they were there. Also a TV and DVD player, coffee machine, toaster, microwave. Bed and sofa's were comfy. Would stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The squeaky tractor is used twice a year, if necessary, by the organic vineyard across the street. When wind is projected for later in the day Jacques uses it early to avoid stirring up dust. He told us of it's use a few days before. We have added a signal booster for the wifi. Thanks for the review & we are glad you enjoyed yourselves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great find!

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding in Sonoma. The apartment was wonderful and exactly as charming as pictured! There is a lot of space to relax and it's located relatively close to downtown. Even in record-breaking heat, the apartment stayed nice and cool. Also, especially relative to other accommodations in Sonoma, it was very well-priced and I felt it was a great find! Would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great accomodations with a beautiful backdrop!

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful property and enjoyed waking up to a beautiful view, very well located in Sonoma. The owner was very accomodating and we wouldn't hesitate to return. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Hoome away from Home

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

This was our first trip to California and one of the reasons we would come back is the great time we enjoyed at this vacation rental. The location is great, very close from myriads of wineries, gas stations, and much more. The apartment has all you need and even beyond expectations. As we arrived from the airport, we followed all the instructions provided and we enjoyed a smooth process. The view is great, on top of a mountain and right across some family owned vineyards. The place is perfect for relaxing after a day exploring Sonoma/Napa. Like I mentioned on the title "A Home away from Home".

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Mother And Daughter Get Away

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

Loved this!!!! Very clean, loved the layout of the apt, kitchen was well stocked with all cooking utensils, pots, pans, dinnerware, etc. The apt is up on a hill and gives you some awesome views of the mountains. I have to say, one of my favorite things was the sound of the water as it constantly rushed downstream. Peace and tranquility! Oh, and the wineries were great too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Mother Daughter Get Away

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

Absolutely loved this rental. Very clean, really liked the layout of the apt. The deck had awesome views of the mountains far away. My favorite has to be sitting on the deck and listening to the water making its way downstream. So peaceful and relaxing. Oh, and loved the wineries too!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A nice view and really convenient to everything.

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: January 17, 2012

I stayed here for 30 days during Jan-Feb 2012 (1 person). Myrna was very accommodating in arranging for the stay and responsive in dealing with questions and problems during my stay. The accommodation is much better than described: there is a nice view of the valley and mountains in the distance (at least during the winter), uncluttered by views of nearby rooftops. The apartment is well outfitted for short or long stays and includes a washer/dryer that was not mentioned in the listing details. It is well situated for visiting downtown Sonoma and all the features of the wine country in both Napa and Sonoma. I would recommend it for anyone, except perhaps small children. Don't miss The Girl and the Fig/Fig Cafe or the tour/tasting at MacLeod Family Vineyard in Kenwood (reservation required).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Anniversary Trip

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

My husband and I went to Sonoma for our one year anniversary and had the time of our lives! The location was perfect and views of the valley were spectacular! The apartment was so accommodating and very cozy. We loved this place and will definitely be coming back as soon as we can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely and spacious in an excellent location

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

My husband treated me to a trip to Wine Country to celebrate my 50th birthday. This accommodation was beautifully decorated with a lovey view in a great location. The only reason for not giving the apartment a five star was due to the limited TV channels. We started our days early and came in by eight o'clock or so and it would have been wonderful to be able to relax into the apartment to catch up on the day's news or our weekly television shows. The selections were limited to the three major networks and several Spanish speaking channels. The only reason I mention this is because it would have made a difference in my decision to stay there. Other than that, the place was lovely and very accommodating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We had not been advised by previous guests of their disappointment with the limitations on the TV. Now that we are aware, we have upgraded the cable channels so that future guests can now access over 70 channels.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Beyond my expectations

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 7, 2011

An absolutely delightful place to stay as a single person! I agree with all the reviews written before mine. Ned and Myrna have made this private apartment a comfortable oasis amid wine country. Hope to return again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Sonoma Retreat!

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

We had a wonderful time during our stay at this adorable Sonoma apartment! The listing and pictures are accurate, but the place is even better than described. Myrna and Ned have equipped the apartment with everything you would need during your stay. Very clean, SUPER comfortable bed. The area is very quiet and beautiful with stunning views. We spent our time exploring as many areas as time allowed (Sonoma coast including Point Reyes and Bodega Bay, Napa and Sonoma vineyards, etc.) and and this place was a great central location. We definitely recommend this place to other travelers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location, wonderful hosts.

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

What a perfect place for a vacation in Sonoma. Myrna and Ned were gracious hosts who were happy to share their local knowledge with us while still granting us complete privacy. The apartment has everything you need if you want to stay in, and is only a few minutes to downtown Sonoma if you want to head out. The highlight is the deck where you can enjoy a beautiful view with the sound of a stream instead of the sound of traffic. Couldn't have asked for a better experience as a base for our vacation! P.S., Lucy, their dog, is a real joy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect combination for a stay in the wine country....

Review submitted: March 26, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

Our 4 night stay at this wonderful spot filled the bill for us. The combination of a nicely appointed apartment, with a wrap around deck, a great view and most welcoming hosts provided us with everything we wanted out of our stay in Sonoma..Even though you are just few minutes drive from downtown Sonoma, it felt like we were worlds away. No noise, except the soothing sound of a creek with rushing water....which was a pleasure to hear.

We have used VRBO to rent houses and apartments all over the world and our experience with our stay in this particular one was A+. I highly recommend staying here.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Serene getaway

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

What a perfect retreat! The apartment was more spacious than expected and very nicely decorated. It was also very well supplied with dishes, fresh fowls, washer/dryer, and even coffee. The view is gorgeous! The apartment is surrounded by nature and so quiet and serene it was hard to believe that downtown Sonoma was only a convenient one mile drive. There are also two state parks within a fifteen minute drive. To top off the experience, the owners were warm and welcoming.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean, quite with a wonderful view

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

This is a wonderful apartment. It's all new construction, with a fully equiped kitchen. There's a wrap around deck where you can look out over the tree tops and watch the sun go down over the Sonoma valley (and no views of the neighbors). It's located at the end of a road so there's very little traffic and very quite. There's also a private vineyard just across the road. The owners are very nice as was their young dog Lucy. I have rented many vacation homes and this was definitly a 5 star experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Spot

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

Everything about this property was exactly what my husband and I were looking for. The hosts were very warm and welcoming. The apartment itself was clean, comfortable, well stocked with all the necessities, and nicely decorated and furnished. We were very impressed with the quality of the apartment. The view from the patio is lovely. We felt that this was a much better choice for us than a hotel, especially since we were there for just over a week-too long to be crowded into one little room. The location is very convenient, just a few minutes from downtown Sonoma, but in a very quiet neighborhood, with its own amenities. We definitely preferred Sonoma to Napa-much more laid back and less blatantly touristy. For restaurants, try The Fig Cafe and La Salette. We would love to return both to Sonoma and this property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just perfect

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on our first vacation to Sonoma and we just loved it. It was perfect for what we needed. The apartment was very comfortable, and decorated beautifully. We loved having access to a full kitchen and the shower was very nice and spacious. The location is great, a very close drive to Sonoma Plaza. The view from the patio is gorgeous, and it was great having a private driveway and entrance. The owners were very nice. Myrna gave us a lot of great suggestions about what to do and where to eat. We couldn't be happier.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Perfect place!

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 4, 2010

My first question would be, why would someone choose to stay in a hotel over this? We only have good things to say! We stayed there for three nights (from May 4th to May 7th) - my husband, myself and our 9 month old daughter and it was wonderful. The location was great to see both Sonoma and Napa - right by everything in Sonoma and a short drive to Napa. We personally preferred Sonoma over Napa, and so are glad we chose to stay there over Napa - beautiful country side, more laid back, less pretentious and touristy) and was on a beautiful quiet street (ps: for restaurants in Sonoma, we went to Cafe La Haye and The Girl and the Fig and they were both fabulous!) The unit was clean, well decorated and furnished with everything we needed (toiletries, cutlery, pots, pans, glasses, dishes, oil, spices, flat screen tv, sound system, etc.). It also had a very nice large deck with beautiful views, which was so nice to sip a glass of wine in the afternoon or evening. Having a porta-crib and a highchair were also huge bonuses for us for obvious reasons :) We thouroughly enjoyed our stay, thank you to Myrna and her husband for their hospitality. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 26, 2009   Date of arrival: October 26, 2009

Ned,

Thanks again for the place this weekend. We are very pleased with the whole situation and had a great time. Sorry we were not able to touch bases before we left.
(This note was left by a couple from Sacramento)



Brian

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2009   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

Dear Ed and Myrna,We had a lovely time staying at your property last month. It was a great location and everything in the unit was perfectly set up to meet our needs – we watched the sunset over the valley and had dinner by candlelight. Thank you for your hospitality, we would definitely stay there again.Regards,Mel and GregNed,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review