reviews for: listing #47449 - San Diego, California Condo rental

Casa De Colores
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Downtown
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $350 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,900 /wk
    $3,500 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great place!!

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

My daughter, sister-in-law and I stayed here while I attended a conference at the Convention Center. I can't say enough good about it. We enjoyed cooking in well stocked kitchen, but Little Italy was so close we had to sample several restaurants-some of the best Italian food I've ever had. We rented a car to get furthur out (and the garage staff was fabulous), but you wouldn't need one. The trolley station is only two and a half blocks away and service is timely. We purchased Compass passes for 4 days and could travel very easily. Back and forth to the convention center was a breeze. We drove up to San Jaun Capristrano, but if I came back, I'd take the train up there. The condo was cozy, the beds very comfortable. We enjoyed spending time on the patio the first few days when the weather was nice. Unfortunately, it rained and was cold the last 2 days, but it didn't stop us from having a wonderful time here. We never used the computer, but having WiFi was great, as we all have iPads. Karen was great to work with and got things to us quickly, including returning our damage deposit. I would highly recommend staying here, and if I ever go back to San Diego, I will definately stay here.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hiker Girl

Review submitted: October 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

Great place to stay - close to the trolley, amazing food in Little Italy, Quiet and comfortable. Made leaving the car parked in the garage very easy. Walked everywhere!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from Scotland

Review submitted: October 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Hi Karen & Russ

Just a short note to say how much we all enjoyed staying at your apartment.

We found it an ideal location and within easy reach of all the places we wanted to go.

San Diego is now in my top 5 of places visited and I will highly recommend your place

to any of my friends visiting.

We had a week in Las Vegas and then came back to San Diego and had

a couple of days in Ocean Beach to finish our vacation.

Once again thanks for all the clear and easy directions etc
And if we revisit in a few years I will be in touch.

I receved your cheque and paid it in last week , said it could take 2 weeks

to clear but proably quicker Thankyou.

All the Best

Kevin and Mairi,Tam & Jacqui

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

My family of 4 came to San Diego for a week long vacation and rented this condo. We couldn't have asked for a better location for our stay. It was so easy to go anywhere on foot and taking the car from the valet service was simple and worry free. My children enjoyed the pool and after a busy day, it was nice to return to a comfortable home to relax and stretch out.

This home was comfortable, convenient to everything we needed, and became our home away from home. We will definitely come back to San Diego and will love to stay here again. I highly recommend it!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Transportation is easy in San Diego

Review submitted: May 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

This is my second experience with VRBO and I had no complaints. The condo was comfortable and had everything I needed, including a computer with Internet access. Near the condo were great restaurants, shopping, attractions, and transportation (Train, Coaster, Buses, Trolley). The transportation is excellent. For $11 return I took the Coaster to Oceanside, California and enjoyed lunch on the end of the pier at Ruby's. I also purchased an MTS pass for four days for under $20 and this gave me unlimited travel via bus and trolley. I took the Trolley to the malls, as well as took the bus to the San Diego Zoo. In addition, I took the Ferry to Coronada Island. This condo really is in an excellent location and had all the required amenities. Dealing with Karen, the owner, was a pleasure and I would stay at her condo again if in San Diego.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little Italy Annual Artwalk

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

This is the PERFECT place to stay in San Diego. The Salsa Casita is always clean, is well equipped with a full kitchen, laundry, swimming pool and every thing is provided. We stay here at least once a year and appreciate that we're getting what would normally be considered a grand hotel suite at a very reasonable price. Central to everything San Diego has to offer, we are within easy walking distance of the water front, restaurants, and shops. Since we both retired from the Navy, this is where we come to relax and renew near the ocean. It's a short ride to the Naval Station at 32nd Street, which has a fantastic commissary and Exchange. Naval Air Station, (located on Coronado) and the Marine Corps Recruit Depot are amoung numerous military bases nearby. The San Diego Trolley is a great way to get around the city and extends south to Chula Vista. We have also gone to Mission Valley for football games at Qualcomm Stadium (no parking required when you ride the trolley). Salsa Casita is the place to stay to explore San Diego.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Reunion Week

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

Dear Karen, I wanted to thank you again for opening up your home to us. We really couldn't have found a more special place to share our time together. Please know that we have treated it as if it were our own. Sincerely Amy S

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

I just wanted to thank you for your beautiful condo. You filled it with beautiful things and we throughly enjoyed it. The grandkids especially loved the pool, it was a good fit for them! If we're in need of a place to stay in San Diego again, we will certainly contact you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place, ideal for downtown

Review submitted: July 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2010

I can't say how much I enjoyed our stay at this condo. The place is exactly as described on the web site and has everything you need but never usually have in a vacation rental. This means that you can actually cook things without having to buy all the ingredients, like full bottles of oil or jars of spices, and you can do your laundry without buying a full box of detergent.

The furnishings are lovely, the beds are super comfy and there's some books and DVDs if you fancy a quiet night in or run out of things to read.

The condo is really handy for downtown and the trolley (and Amtrak at the Santa Fe depot) but is on a quiet street so there's no problem with noise. Extraordinary Desserts is round the corner, as is Little Italy, so there's always food available with only a very short walk.

All in all I really loved it and would happily stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2/7/2010

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

Karen, your condo is one of the nicest we have ever stayed in through VRBO. It is bright, cosy, and so well equipped - even down to free phone calls, DSL internet access, a library and DVD/CD collection. The kitchen was equipped better than our own home!!
The two bedrooms are both 5 star hotel quality, and even though on a fairly busy downtown street, insulation is so good we had a hard time waking up in the mornings, and there was zero noise from within the building itself.
Being minutes walk from Little Italy and Gaslamp district was just amazing, and we managed to do 5 live theater shows in the week we were there.
Having all the San Diego Metro facilities (Trams, trains, busses, ferry) within 100 yards or so means that you can really get by without a car, but the included valet parking for the building looked perfect.
We will definitely return, because we think the cultural scene in San Diego is far better than San Francisco.
Robb and Mollie Wilmot

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

06/03/09

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

We recently stayed at Salsa Casita and had a great time. The owner is wonderful and very easy to work with. She is so accommodating and makes sure that you have everything that you need. The condo was clean, inviting, and an absolutely wonderful location. Right on the outskirts of Little Italy, and easy walking distance to Gaslamp, Convention Center, the harbor and the ferry landing. We had a wonderful time enjoying San Diego while staying at Salsa Casita.
Denver, CO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

11/16/09

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

We stayed in the Salsa Casita the weekend of the San Diego Marathon 2009. It is a wonderful place and hope to return again soon! It is in the perfect location - close to everything yet quiet and relaxing at the same time. I'm delighted we found this place as I highly recommend it!
Brian & Jen McCluskey , St. Louis, MO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

11/16/09

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2009

Salsa Casita is wonderful gem in a perfect location. The condo is cheerful, impeccably clean, and well-stocked with kitchen appliances, dishes and cooking spices; comfortable beds and high quality linens; washer and dryer; high definition television; and even a computer, printer and fax machine! The very private outdoor patio has plants and flowers and is perfect for dining and enjoying the beautiful San Diego weather. One of the best things about Salsa Casita is it's location. It is in charming Little Italy...a safe place to stroll day and night....a short walk to the ocean, harbor cruises, restaurants, shops, tourists attractions, parks, groceries, and all forms of public transportation. We could easily have stayed for weeks and never used our car. For those who do bring their cars...reserved underground parking is the ultimate in convenience. I can't wait for my next visit to Salsa Casita!
Lee Anna Simons , Tucson, Arizona

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

12/22/09

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 28, 2009

We stayed at Salsa Casita at the beginning of December 2009. The location was very convenient for walking. We were easily able to walk to Little Italy and the Gaslamp District. We had a function at the Convention Center and it was also easily accsessable. It was a great time of year to go and the ammenities in the condo were more than sufficient. Little Italy always had something going on. Karen was a great hostess, even though we never met her.
Jym Galand , Victoria, BC

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review